Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thesnakecharmer 

21st September 2007:
i enjoyed it.
you have a way with words

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Emmy 

14th August 2007:
I was wondering, who is the women in your banner picture? she looks really familer to me.

Author's Response: Natalie Imbruglia. She had a very popular song so many years ago called "Torn" - now she acts periodically. I recall her in a Mr. Bean movie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Paloma Patil 

30th July 2007:
I think the ending is quite pretty, actually. I like your subtle style. It's MILES better than a heavy-handed Epilogue, eh?

Fine work - this has been an absolute pleasure to read - a joy from beginning to end.

Rest, relax, and then bring us more beautiful prose. We'll be waiting.

Paloma

Author's Response: Do I detect a level of disappointment in the latest book release? :P

Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Alas, i'm afraid the next story I feel up to penning will be somewhat less beautiful prose and somewhat more mockfic :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Romina Stephanie 

27th July 2007:
It's hard to believe that this is the closing chapter. Not because of its content, but because I was never really prepared for it to end so suddenly. It made me a bit sad as I read this and understood that this was it.

Overall, I really liked this chapter. The beginning, which was heartwarming and highly amusing. As I've told you before, I love your characterization of both Remus and Tonks. You've made them extremely believable, and that's one of the things I've loved about this story.

I loved the ending. Scanning to the end, you found the faces you were searching for, the Potter's - Lily, James and, beneath them, Harry. The article directed you to page seven where you were certain there would be a flowery remembrance, prose akin to that of Robert Frost. Still, you couldn't bring yourself to read it. The date, May 16th, floated serenely beneath his photograph and, for you, that was eulogy enough. It was a perfect, yet very sad, way to end this. I really liked the relationship between Remus and Harry, and how he was determined to help him, no matter what. The scene in the previous chapter (or perhaps the one before that one... I'm not sure) when Remus, Arthur, Kingsley and Moody were in Dumbledore's office was proof enough to show that they'd do everything to help Harry conquer the Dark Lord.

I wanted to review the other chapters as well (the ones I'd been waiting for so eagerly), but I couldn't stop reading and I had to find out what happened to them all. My only complaint is the one of the battle - I would have loved more of it, and I never really understood they were off fighting (but, I do tend to be a bit slow to catch on things sometimes :p) I would have loved to read more about it, more details concerning the event. Other than that, I really liked it.

Well, as said, hard to believe this was the closing chapter of Extempore. It's been a wonderful read, realistic and bittersweet. And it was not only the plot that enthralled me, but also the way you've written this. Nothing I'm used to, which made it even more fun to read. You're a great author and this piece of work is, without doubt, one of the best stories I've read on the site. Great job!

-Stephanie

Author's Response: Thank you!

The ending of a story is always very difficult for me - not because it's particularly hard to write, but because there is always so much more ending in my mind - I never seem to properly finish any story and this one was, alas, no exception. There were a lot more things I wanted to say - a lot more things that needed to happen but what I realized was that, faced with the deadline of getting it done as soon as possible (due to the release of DH) it was going to have to end without some of those things and the easiest thing for me to cut through was the red tape of backstory that would be required to explain the losses, the wars, the battles and the resultant deaths...plus, I sort of figured JKR would have that under control herself :P

I really do appreciate the review - thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bright Green Eyes 

25th July 2007:
Great story i really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by DAC 

24th July 2007:
It wasn't a lame duck ending at all. It was amazing. I went on vacation last week, and I just came back today, and BAM! 4 new chapters. I was amazed and more than a little excited, since I have nothing new to read for a while

(My copy of DH has been read, and half re-read already)

This has truly been an incredibly enjoyable story, and the only thing I've ever read quite like it.

Thank you so much for brining it into our lives and I will happily go back, and re-read this as well.

--DAC

Author's Response: Thank you so much for sticking with me! This story has been a labor of...something...and ignored and picked up more times than I can count thus, it was always nice to know that, even though you mgiht not show up the day it was posted, I had a loyal reviewer out there who would come back and read it anyway :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by tonksloveswerewolves 

22nd July 2007:
May 16th? I'm confused.:S.10/10

Author's Response: May 16th was a wholey arbitrary choice for a date on which he (and i say "he" for the benefit of anyone reading this before the story) died :)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #8, by GoingRoundTheBend 

22nd July 2007:
Lame duck ending?
Never.
Very good story.
Very VERY good.
I loved all of it.
10/10
And one final word: wow.

Author's Response: Well, i'm glad you enjoyed it. I didn't feel like it was quite up to scratch with what the ending could have been, but I couldn't forsee a way to do it that would keep with the timeline. Thus, it came out as it did, but I really am glad that you liked it!

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Green Sky 

21st July 2007:
Congrats on the finished story. I'm glad you did, because a lot of people may give up what with the seventh book running rampant off the shelves.

I really liked the last paragraph and the 'eulogy enough' comment. The rest, about Tonks and her ankle, did seem a little incongruous with Remus reading the obits...but maybe that's just your way of saying things have returned to normal, eh?

Author's Response: I know I would have if the seventh book weren't so bad :P

The last chapter - short though it may have been - was a trial for me. I realized, at the end of twenty-one, that to end it the way that it should have been ended - to write the war - would take me far more time than I was looking to put forth, and I dont just mean in terms of laziness, I mean in terms of the sheer number of chapters necessary to writing the war and i didn't have time to do that, in light of the release of DH. Naturally, poor planning on my part, and all. So, I went with the next best thing and tried to end it the way that I did. I wanted the chapter to read like things were back to normal for them, but also that they had changed some and gotten more comfortable within the confines of their relationship. Lupin visiting Charlie Weasley in St. Mungo's and Tonks a little bit more solemn...but that, on the whole, the world was back to normal and, perhaps, in a better place.

Plus, i wanted it to be over :P


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review