Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for V, Chapter 1: The Curfew
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Phoenix_feather123 

16th July 2012:
wow. lots of V's
is he Vodlemort? because that is the only hp name i know that starts with V

 Report Review

Review #2, by Reyes91 

5th February 2011:
Hello,

Now, this is definitely the start to what I believe is an incredible story. Reading plots about if Voldemort actually won is very interesting. This is much different to what I have read, and a great difference at that.

I've never seen "V," but always wanted to (I'm absolutely in love with Natalie Portman right now), and reading this just makes me want to see even more. V seems very interesting so far.

Now, for Hermione, it's perfect. She reads like the character we saw in the books but more mature yet...possibly scarred by everything that's happened. It's refreshing to see that she leaned first on Seamus and then went to Neville instead of Harry and Ron. Usually, it's the Trio 'till the end. I like the flip on this.

Another main reason why I enjoyed this chapter so much is that you didn't force in the information. You mention that Hogwarts fell, but you don't describe how it happened. You mention Neville being deformed by Bellatrix, but don't explain each and every detail of the fight. You mention Hermione losing Ron and Harry, but you don't go any further. I honestly think it's perfect. Adding too much info in the introduction can make it very boring and tough to go through. You added just enough to snatch on to my interest. Now, I need to read on to find out exactly what happened to turn Britain into the mess that Hermione (excuse me, "Mary") lives in.

Wonderful start. Definitely going on with this.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Hello Reyes91! Wow, such a big review!

It's so good to hear you enjoy my take on Voldemort winning. If you haven't seen V for Vendetta, you should, it's a great movie! Don't fret about not seeing it yet though, the story explains enough that's needed!

As to Hermione, it's good to hear that her character comes off as believable. And yes, a move away from the trio, as it's been done pretty well to death.

The information has its time to come out, and I didn't want to force it. It's good to hear I give just enough to make you come back!

Thanks again for the wonderful comment, and I look forward to hearing more from you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Kate 

1st August 2010:
Brilliant start and looking forward to the rest of the story. Well written, well done

 Report Review

Review #4, by Amazed 

14th March 2010:
Wonderful concept. It never dawned on me how seamlessly these two stories could be crossed. I am going to enjoy reading this story.

 Report Review

Review #5, by lacrymose 

11th September 2009:
V for vendetta. yeah

 Report Review

Review #6, by draco14 

1st September 2009:
this is really good so far and i love it

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mud 12 

3rd May 2009:
i like it so far it is really cool twist

Author's Response: Cool twist eh? Glad you're enjoying the crossover!

 Report Review

Review #8, by writers_anonymous101 

22nd April 2009:
Whoa! How many 'V's' in one sentence! lol! :) I've never seen 'V for Vendetta', but I really want to watch it!
Anyway! Back to the story! I think it's amazing! A very good plot! Very descriptive and easy to understand, flows so well. I think you have a natural talent for writing!
This story is definitly being saved into my favourites! :)
Michelle
xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by Amy 

10th March 2009:
this was great, dramatic, and awesome yay

 Report Review

Review #10, by PhoenixRoseQueen 

19th December 2008:
That guy, V? Yea, he needs to add some more words to his vocabulary, preferably ones that do NOT begin with the letter 'V.' But I think he's Draco. I dont know why, but I do. I highly doubt that it's Neville because Hermione is going to see him... I am totally bookmarking this...

Author's Response: Hey there PRQ! Nice to see you here!

Oh, all those V's are meant to be there, you should see that! Draco? Hmm, interesting guess indeed. Now of course I won't be telling you who V is, you just have to keep guessing. As for Neville, me thinks you should read on and rethink that possibly.

But hey, bookmarking is awesome! I'm hoping if the writing goes well, to update in the near future, so keep an eye out! Hope to hear from you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Zireael 

19th October 2008:
Congratulations for nice first chapter :-)
I'm curious this fic is based only on movie verse or mix of comicmovie verse?
I know V is wizard now and have wand but what about his daggers? Hope he still have them.
And one more think - please don't tell us who V really is.
bye

Author's Response: Hi there!

This is actually based on the movie version, which is probably not as good as the novel, I know. But I liked the movie, and figured to weild the story is a sort of same fashion. Unfortunately the first chapter really doesn't divert much away from the movie, but after this one it goes in a different direction and more into the hp universe.

Daggers, I've had a few people ask if V will have them or not. Of course being a wizard you wouldn't really need daggers, but who knows . . . they may make an entrance. :)

And yes, I've had a few people asking who V is. Now I've given them hints, but I'm not entirely sure myself if I'm going to reveal his identity. See, I really liked that in the film version, you don't exactly find out who he is, or what he looks like. It humanises the hero when you see under the mask, something (in V's case) that would have ruined the film in my view. V stays as V until the very end. V does not get relabelled as some disfigured lab rat with psychological issues; he maintains his strength as a character, and we only ever know him as that mask. I mean, everyone at the beginning had a hard time seeing the mask and hearing him talk, but by the end, it would be weird not to, right?

So yeah, it's up in the air right now whether to spoil that to people or not. I've dropped hints, but admittedly, they have been bad hints. :)

Thanks for your comments and suggestions! Hope to hear from you again another time!


 Report Review

Review #12, by notenoughpotter 

15th May 2008:
I've never seen the movie, so I don't know if it follows or not. This is a really interesting beginning, though. I look forward to watching the story progress.

Author's Response: notenoughpotter eh? :) Like that name.

Well, don't fret if you haven't seen the film. The story will explain everything. Seeing the film might help the imagery of it, but really seeing the film would give away things that might happen here.

But regardless, I do like that you enjoy the story so far. Let's see what you thought of chapter 2!


 Report Review

Review #13, by painfullygone 

23rd March 2008:
Really attention grabbing introduction. I'm impressed. Sorry it took me so long, but I'm glad I waited until I had the proper time to read it. Beautifully done, and great ideas introduced.

Author's Response: Hey there pfgone! I'm glad you liked the beginning there. Don't fret about taking your time either, believe me, I'm not one to rush people (and I should be last one to do so).

But thank you for your comments, and I'm glad you like the beginning!


 Report Review

Review #14, by AnnaKay 

14th March 2008:
Good start! I really like it, seems very interesting. As I have never seen the movie, it has a different quality to it. It also has me wondering what is going to happen.

Great job so far.

Author's Response: Hey there Anna! Nice to see you again!

Glad you like it so far! Don't have to worry about not seeing the film, the story'll explain everything. :) Glad you like it though, and are interested in what'll come!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by momoe 

9th March 2008:
I've never seen the movie, but I liked this chapter. I like Hermione "Mary". This story looks to be very dark...

Author's Response: Hey there momoe! Thanks for coming by!

Don't fret, you don't have to have seen the film. The story tells everything.

Hermione as Mary . . . well, I felt it was close enough, plus I think Hermione would like a simple substitute. Plus, it's pretty generic, which'll help her hide her name better.

But yes, pretty dark. Not intensely dark, but dark enough!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Snufflesx3_loveyou 

18th November 2007:
hello, this is ashli from the forums. I'm terribly sorry that I haven't got to reviewing. I've been very busy lately.. but here I am. Now lets get to the review. Seeing that you have many chapters up, I will only review the ones that I see need to be changed of fixed. Now to the review...

Alright. First off, I think you should take more time at the starting of the story to tell what Hermione looks like now. I'm sure she has aged over the years, so explaining what she now looks like would be a good help to the story, maybe take some more time for details. I believe details can be a great difference between a good story and a great story. That being said, don't go all out and go into details about every little thing, but here and there. You know? Other than that, I think your good.

9/10

Author's Response: Hey there ashli! Thank you for coming over and reading/reviewing! :)

Hmm, that is a good point about describing Hermione. It hasn't been too long, only 2 years, since we've really seen her last, so I don't think she would have changed incredibly. But, it might help to go over how she looks.

Details are usually very important to my writing. Read "Fix You", and you'll see lots of details. But perhaps a few more details in Hermione's look would help.

Thanks for the advice, and your comments!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Erized 

31st October 2007:
Wooow, I must say this is one of the longest and best well-written stories I've ever read. No seriously I had never read this kind of story and well even though it's not my idea of a favorite story it is a good way to entretain me a little bit.

Please keep on writing about this because it has very good stuff and I think there should be more complex and original stories like yours and not just the same plot over and over again... Thanks for writing this!

Author's Response: Hey there Erized! Nice to see you!

Longest stories? It's only 4 chapters so far! I'm guessing you read smaller stories, or at least stories that have short chapters. :)

But it's wonderful to hear you like how the story sounds so far. To entertain is good, so thank you there.

Complex and original, well, thank you! I will keep going, though as I've told others, updates will come as soon as I can, but I'm very very busy with school. It's my last year of university, so the workload is quite steep. Still, I've already started the next chapter, and it'll be a fun one. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by LittleBookworm 

29th October 2007:
Hello there! :) This is LittleBookworm from the Forums. I want to apologieze for the delay, before reviewing the actual chapter. My life has been pretty hectic lately and I didn't have the time to sit down, read and review stories. Everything is back to normal now.

Now, back to this chapter. The first thing I want to say is: good start. It's interesting. I never actually tried reading Crossover's and didn't plan to but you completely changed my mind about them. I have watched "V for Vendetta" two times before and, at first, it was difficult to understand. Hermione can really relate to Evey(or maybe that's because I see Natalie Portman as older Hermione :P), especially if Voldemort would have won in the end. This story seems a little more realistic and far more detailed than the movie but, then again, a book is always better than a movie. :)

I love your characterization and detailed description of everything. It really makes the reader feel as though he or she would be right in the middle of the story and it really helps us, the readers, envision everything (the places and such).

Keep up the good work! :)

-LittleBookworm

P.S: Don't you think that V is hot? :p

Author's Response: Hey there LittleBookworm! Thanks for coming over and reading/reviewing!

Believe me, I know hectic, so no worries there. Even just responding to reviews has been a challenge for me, but I'm getting it done! :)

Oo, changed your mind on Crossovers eh? This is sort of a genre cross more than an entire cross over, 'cause the only character that's really transplanted into the story is V, and even he is changed into a different character. It's more the environment and situation that's crossed over here.

It's great to hear you find the writing here easier to understand compared to the film, though having seen the film has probably helped you understand some of the visualizations in the story.

But of course, I'm glad you enjoy my writing style and characterizations. Of course I'm trying to get the reader into the story, so it's great to hear that works well.

Thank you for reviewing! And as for V, well, I'm a guy, so I'd rather say I find Evey rather attractive. :) But it's odd you'd say that, 'cause you never see V's face or anything else. But I guess it's all that poetry and dark manner of voice. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Romina Stephanie 

15th July 2007:
A very enthralling and interesting first chapter! You covered the relevant background information very well, and the explanations about Voldemort and the goverment were believable and realistic.

I've never in my entire life read a crossover; usually, they just don't appeal to me. But - this crossover just struck me and since I'm a big fan of both Harry Potter and V for Vendetta, I simply had to read this. And I'm glad I did - you drew me into the story more and more as it progressed and I loved the whole scenery, which you painted exceedingly well inside my head.

Now, turning to Hermione; from what I read here, I really like her portrayal. We see in her a bit of who she was as a student, but you've added so much more and show her as a matured woman, in the middle of a reign of terror.

I really liked the fact that Seamus and she had a close relationship after the second war. I also liked the idea of her meeting Neville, although it's sad she didn't got the opportunity to meet him. But... she met V! I'm very curious about his identity... Anyways, loved his portrayal (again, from what I read!) But I'm sure you'll keep doing an amazing job with the characters.

All in all; intriguing and detailed. A very good first chapter on what I believe will turn out to be an excellent crossover fic! Keep it up!
- Stephanie

Author's Response: Hello there Steph!

Glad you like the opening explanations, and that you're trying out a crossover. I'm usually not a fan of crossovers too, but I watched this movie (I own it), and just seemed to notice a lot of points that could cross over.

Wonderful to hear you like the scenery that I put with the story.

Also glad to hear you like how Hermione is here. And of course how Seamus had a close connection to her. And yes, she met V, but the big point, we get to start guessing his identity. :)

It's great to hear you liked this first chapter though, thank you! Hope to hear from you again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by musicmaineac 

9th July 2007:
I 10% love it! I was not sure if I would be able to follow it because I have never seen V for Vendetta. Your story was easy to follow and I love how you set up the muggle world. I love 1984 so I think I am going to love the rest of your story!

Author's Response: Hello there musicmaineac! Nice to hear from you!

I hope you meant "I 100% love it!", 'cause 10% isn't that much. I got that on a midterm once, and yeah, failed the class.

But don't fret, you don't have to see V for Vendetta to understand it, it'll all be explained! Seeing V might just help with the visualizations, though some would say it's better to imagine it yourself.

Glad you like the basis for the story though. I've had several people say it's a bit like 1984, and it's funny 'cause I've never read that book before. :)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by _twilight_star_ 

21st April 2007:
First, I really like the quotes you used. The curfews reminded me of history, because only certan people with passes were allowed to be out during the night. It took me a moment to realize why he said he couldn't tell her his name, and then when he explained it, it made sense. I don't find any errors really in your first chapter. But I really did enjoy it.

Author's Response: Hello there twilight! I see you decided to read this story eh? Awesome! :)

I'm glad you enjoyed the quotes and the curfew that's imposed on them here. As to telling her name, yeah, it is a bit complicated there, but I'm glad it made sense in the end. :)

Of course I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this first chapter! On to the second!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Violet Gryfindor 

21st April 2007:
Very good beginning! I was wondering how you were going to merge the two worlds, but you did it in a realistic way that fits both the movie and the Potterverse well. The suspense was kept up throughout and the characterisation of Hermione was perfect. There isn't really anything here for me to criticise - the grammar and spelling were great (there were a couple awkward sentences, but they weren't big issues) and I look forward to seeing what you'll do next with this. It's similar to the movie so far, but perhaps with the integration with the Potterverse, some really interesting things will happen. ^_^

Author's Response: Violet! You came, wonderful! I must say, getting a review from you is quite the honour! I don't get reviews from some of the longer-running authors here, so I come to really enjoy the ones I get. :)

It's wonderful to hear you like how I intergrated the two worlds. It's great you find Hermione fits well into Evey's sort of character. She's still Hermione here, but she'll go through a lot of things Evey does. I mean, when I watched the movie with the idea for this crossover, I found a lot of traits between Evey and Hermione, aside from just their physical similarities. Both are fairly outspoken, well educated (Evey knows enough, that's clear), and are in a sense hiding away from what they should be (I mean, could you imagine Hermione working in a place where she just files, organizes, and stamps reports and articles? And Evey was an assistant, which wasn't too glorious either).

Sorry about the awkward sentances. Some of my stories are beta'd, some aren't (this one isn't, at least not yet). I do have a beta who is starting to go through my stories though, and she's a very good beta too, so those awkward sentances should get fixed up in due time.

The only thing I dislike about this first chapter, is how much is parallels the movie. It's very much like the movie, hence why I reassure people it'll take on a different path as it moves along. I wanted a good starting point to relate it to the movie, and also it is the way Evey meets V, and I felt the way they met was very important.

Thanks again Violet for coming over and reading and reviewing. It means a lot. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by serenity 

31st March 2007:
okay so im reallly confused here. didnt this used to be harrypotterfanfiction.com it was under my faveorites whats going on could you email me at cvicino@gmail. co cause honely im lost


Author's Response: Hello there serenity!

Alright, well, to give you the quick answer, this is the April fools joke on the site. Every year the staff pulls a joke, changing the entire form of the site, and messing around with everyone. Fred and George would be very proud I think.

But as to the story, if you come back in a day or so, the site will be back to normal, and you can read the story without trying to decifer Hermyknee every time you read her name! :)

I do hope you come back once the site's back up to normal!


 Report Review

Review #24, by U No Who 

18th March 2007:
This is the 3rd of your stories that i've read,
all of which are really good,
good chapter,
it's really well written and i like the plot,

~U No Who~

Author's Response: Oh wow, here you are again! :)

It's funny, all the stories you've chosen so far, yes, they are in succession in the list, but they're all away from my norm. Emerald is a new try for me, Three Spiders is my first based on OC's, and V is my first crossover, and it was (and is) my first try at a dark story (though Emerald will be much darker).

In anycase, of course I'm glad you are enjoying all my stories so far, and yes, this one too. :) The plot will be very complicated here, yes, so it should be fun. :)

Thanks again for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by RogerDaviesBangedFleur 

12th March 2007:
Hey cool chapter. It is very cool for me having never read the comic or the seen the Movie so I was suprised. Who exactly is Guy fawkes. Hopefully a little more back story will come in to play but as always great writing I am excited to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello there RDBF! It's great to see you on another story of mine!

Glad you liked the chapter. Don't worry too much if you haven't seen or read V for Vendetta, 'cause the story will explain everything as it goes.

Guy Fawkes was a catholic who, in 1605, was in on a plot to blow up the Parliament Building in London and kill King James I. Called "The Gunpowder Plot", Fawkes was mostly in on the execution of the plan, but it was foiled. They caught Fawkes, and he was executed a year later. The failure of the plot is remembered every year in England on November 5, usually called "Guy Fawkes Night" or "Bonfire Night".

More backstory will come as to V and his persona as the story goes though, yes. :)

Thanks for reviewing RDBF! Oh, just letting you know, you're listed in my Reviewer Appreciation section in the Forums. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>