Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by iamatree 

3rd December 2013:
Best part: konputar. Made me chuckle.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Elf_ears13 

31st July 2007:
Lena, this is just fantastic! I love Ogg's tone and his clipped sentences - I really feel like some grumpy old squib is talking to me. And his back story! I really like the way his memories go back in time ... but they don't really feel like memories, they feel sort of disconnected from him. So I liked that in the end, he was affected by them and that he could accept Hagrid - I felt sorry for him.

I know if I'd taken on this character, I would've made his story sort of Hagridish, so I can't say how amazing I think it is that you've tied his story into a familiar scenario, but still made it completely his own. I completely forgot about your canon comment at the beginning, so I was surprised by the end - it just fell into place seamlessly. Oh, and I love the chapter graphic. =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by I_am_ever_so_Sirius 

9th April 2007:
A... a Black? Wow. Awesome theory. 10/10

Cheerz!!

~Sirius

 Report Review

Review #4, by Potterholic 

18th January 2007:
That was amazing! I love Ogg’s character and how he was shunned because he was a Squib. The part with the goblin and the disowning were brilliant. I was rather shocked when you revealed his former identity. Anyway, loved it! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by Raymond Spruance 

27th November 2006:
yeah... wonderful... you developed a character whose name was appeared only ONCE in the canon! great!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Ogg. It's always fun to speculate on the lives of the characters we know little about.
~sauerkraut_poet


 Report Review

Review #6, by Rebekka 

14th October 2006:
This story is so special. It has so much heart in it. I love your Ogg and I could read the story over and over and over again and I would never get bored. I knew you can write, that you have magical words, but you outdo (is that even the correct way to put it?) yourself in this.

I love the last paragraph the most. It still makes me cry a bit. ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review, Johanna! And thanks again for betaing this for me. I have to admit it's probably my favorite chapter of the three I wrote for this project... It means alot to me that you still enjoy reading it every time. xoxo ~ Lena

 Report Review

Review #7, by Wiccan 

13th October 2006:
Although, understandably antisocial...I love the fact that Ogg is intelligent, somewhat educated and an insightful being. The name, alone makes us want to think of him as less that human, but you have given him a persona far beyond what we skimmed over. You have made him a real person with true emotions. Thank you so much for this story. It adds so very much to a few casual mentions that JKR made and have given us so much more...another character that we can come to know and love.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Jacki!!! And thanks also for all your help with this fic. His "educated and insightful" voice, as you so eloquently put it, would never have come across without all your edits and suggestions. Thanks again for taking the time to do that for me. I'm glad you're still enjoying the story. ~Lena

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mrs Insane One 

11th October 2006:
I was very moved by this chapter on Ogg, his hatred of witches and wizards reminds me of Filch in some ways. His slight change of heart towards the end is something I can't see Filch ever doing though. The flash backs of Ogg's past provided a deep insight to who he had grown to become too. I must say that I was not expecting him to be a Black - that really threw me at the end, but it made sense too. Great work! - Jenn

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review, Jenn! I'm glad you saw the differences between Ogg and Filch as well as the similarities. It's interesting because I'd originally wanted to write something about Filch's childhood as a Squib, and how that made him into what he is now, but then Filch was taken, so I decided to try that idea out on Ogg. But of course i wanted to make my own character - not just a Filch replica - so that's why I'm glad you saw the differences. I suppose the reasons he became gamekeeper set him apart from Filch too though. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the flashbacks - they were fun to write. Thanks again for the great review! ~Lena

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jessi_Rose 

11th October 2006:
Oh. My. Goodness! Lena, you've completely stripped away any relative thought in my head and all I can say is: Woah. Absolute brilliance with Ogg. I loved how you subtly compared Hagrid and Ogg at the end. The two outcasts. Very nicely done. I loved the style you wrote in - the flashbacks were amazing. Everything was simply perfect! 10/10 - no doubt in my mind. ~Jessi

Author's Response: Thanks, Jessi! This is probably my favorite chapter of the three I did for this project, so I'm glad you liked it too, particularly the flashbacks - I wrote them before anything else. Isn't it funny though how the plots of my first two fics for this both seem to revolve around the young Hagrid, even though one's from Dippet's POV and the other from Ogg's? I was just thinking about that the other day - but in any case, I'm glad you think it's fitting. Thanks again for the wonderful review!!! ~Lena

 Report Review

Review #10, by andharrywokeup 

11th October 2006:
Apart from those of Ron and James, this is the story I have most been looking forward to reading! And it sure lived up to all my expectations. A truly heart-warming story - there isn’t much else I can say. Just, wow. 10/10 ~ Andy x

Author's Response: Wow, I never expected anyone to be particularly excited about Ogg... but I'm really glad you are - he was perhaps my favorite to write of the three characters I chose for this project. Anyway, I'm so happy you liked this chapter - thanks so much for the great review! ~Lena

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review