Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elf_ears13 

30th July 2007:
I really, really enjoyed this. It's interesting to see such an honest narration about a character; he wasn't particularly fond of teaching or students, as far as I can tell, but I suppose he did it well enough. I can't get over how surprised I was to read how much he wanted to be remembered beyond all else. It makes sense, of course, and your story in a way serves a double purpose, but it was such a fresh look at ambition and desire that I was taken aback. It certainly makes Everard stand out more as a human rather than a name.

Some of the story transitions were abrupt, and although you eventually came full-circle after every abrupt change, it still felt a little choppy, like you couldn't think of a good way to move to the next thought (not the case, I presume). I think the use of a few italicized words helped join the story together, as they really were effective that way.

 Report Review

Review #2, by I_am_ever_so_Sirius 

9th April 2007:
Amazing with details. But I would have liked to know who was his successor. 10/10

Cheerz!!

~Sirius

 Report Review

Review #3, by IWannaPlay 

2nd February 2007:
That was really well done. I completely agree with your take on how the portraits would be done. It makes perfect sense to me. The last line gave me chills I can't quite explain.
I have a feeling I will be going back through these stories to find the other stories from the various authors I enjoyed here.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ginny and Harry Ship Fan 

30th December 2006:
who is Everard??i didn't have time to actually read this chap. but i saw the title and i cant remember an Everard... prob will later lol. i think what you guys are doing is great and i love this. some of my fav authors are involved:)yay!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Potterholic 

7th December 2006:
Great chapter! I love how you wrote Everard’s personality and his ambition to be remembered. It wasn’t hard to feel for him even though we have only known him here. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pheobs61 

24th October 2006:
Wow I love how you put it in the context of the Portriats and how it is a big cycle! Es Fantastico! But who, is the new headmistress?

Author's Response: JKR said at some point that there's an equal number of male and female staff members, but we seem to know more of the male headmasters than female. Basically, I don't know who she is, I just wanted a woman. Thanks a lot for reviewing and I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by andharrywokeup 

11th October 2006:
This story was beautiful. I remember, six months ago, when I first looked at the list of characters to choose from, I though - I pity the person who is left with the difficult job of turning the name Everard into a story. I realise, now, that I was wrong to pity - but instead I really should admire your creativity and daring. You have done a fantastic job with a character we all know so little about and have created a story that will never leave Everard forgotten again. Very well done! 10/10 ~ andy x x

Author's Response: Thanks Andy! When I looked at the characters list, I thought exactly the same as you, but I love a challenge like this and I didn't think anyone else would take him. It's embarrassing, but it makes me happy to hear that you won't forget Everard because he does seem to be almost completely forgotten by everyone in the HP books. He deserves so much more! Thanks for reviewing and I'm pleased you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Mrs Insane One 

11th October 2006:
A splendid story indeed! You've painted a very believable portrait of a little known character and brought him to life. I really liked how you made his one ambition to be remembered - it made him all that more human. Congrats on a well written story! - Jenn

Author's Response: Aw, thanks a lot! It's very difficult for me to write a fic about a character whose name is the only thing we really know about him, although I suppose you get more leeway. I got quite sad when I wrote this, because he wants so much to be remembered, but he's mentioned about once in the books! I doubt Harry knows anything other than his name. Thanks for R&Ring and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jessi_Rose 

10th October 2006:
I couldn't wait to review this!!!!! Jenni, you did soooo well with Everard - when most were scared to take him on! I love the idea of the pre-made portraits. It makes a message that life doesn't go forever, and duly noting that a Headmaster's place will always remain in the school. Amazing story!! 10/10! ~Jessi

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Jessi! You really helped with the beta reading on this so I'm sure it wouldn't have been half as good without you. I was actually quite worried about Everard, but I love a challenge and the portrait plot bunny was really something I just couldn't ignore. I'm really quite proud of this one now! Thanks for reviewing and I'm really pleased you liked it so much.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review