Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by iamatree 

16th November 2013:
This really does explain alot about the spread of magic and how the magical community actually became incorporated throughout the world.

 Report Review

Review #2, by tm_14 

30th December 2007:
This is really good. I love the way you incorperated the church and some real historical figures from the era. It made the story really believable. Just a tidbit of knowledge for you, though: Rowena said that she would only worship in a religion with a godess, therefore she would not become Catholic. However, in the Dark Ages, more specifically in the time they believe to be King Arthur's, many pagans (mostly Druids) believed that Mary of Nazareth was their own Godess in disguise and that all religions were connected. Just some random knowledge :) Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Weasley_Wizard_Wheezes 

22nd November 2007:
i expected a bit more of a story...it was really detailed but i just wanted a bit more of the meat if you know what i mean.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Book077 

6th October 2007:
I love it

 Report Review

Review #5, by Elf_ears13 

27th July 2007:
This was really interesting - well-written, yes, but historically intriguing. I really like the way you/Rowena described "today" as opposed to the time before that, and it didn't feel like a history lesson from my point of view as much as it did from her time, if that makes sense. I also really like the title, and the description of the effects of magic at the end; it was clever how you added small things to the list that I wouldn't normally attribute to magic, like teas and Arabic numbers.

 Report Review

Review #6, by pigwidgeon_hedwig_bff 

20th July 2007:
I ended up liking this, even though I kind of didn't think I would. I was really happy to see that you didn't show Christianity as being wrong, only the people who were in control at that time who were hypocrites.

Christina

 Report Review

Review #7, by Timechild 

10th June 2007:
Not bad at all...


 Report Review

Review #8, by I_am_ever_so_Sirius 

8th April 2007:
Confusing but great. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by MoonyIsMyHero 

6th April 2007:
If I had to choose a house to be in I would deffenitly choose Ravencalw. This isn't really how I would imagine Rowena, but you did a good job in developing her personality.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Belle_Rose 

22nd January 2007:
That was funny, but I agree with a lot of Rowena's views.

~ Leah

 Report Review

Review #11, by loony86 

9th January 2007:
Hygiene... hm, I never thought of approaching the topic that way, but it's a startlingly great idea! You did a most wonderful job introducing us to Rowena. Don't tell my Slytherin housemates, but I guess she's my favourite founder... *hides in shame* Great story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Mci2 

4th November 2006:
Great piece...I love the beginning graphic it's goregeous.again I love this whole piece...

Author's Response: And I'm so very glad you did! Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by U No Who 

2nd November 2006:
gd bt not wat i xpectd u no.bit well unactionful u no and well.there no dialogue but its alryt

Author's Response: No action, but thought provoking, I hope. But, thanks for th"gd" ;-)

 Report Review

Review #14, by killsdracowithspork 

29th October 2006:
I like how, throughout her story, Rowena's thoughts circle around the Church, but they lead into an explanation of how Hogwarts came to be (and why it aquired indoor plumbing). The plumbing has always been something that I've wondered about. I also liked that so much history is incorperated into this one-shot. It makes it so realistic... almost like all this really did happen... (Not that Hogwarts isn't real or anything...) ;)

Author's Response: Hey! Who says Hogwarts isn't real??? TeeHee. I always wondered about the plumbing too, so I decided to create my own reality. So glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Seamusfan1 

28th October 2006:
Wow! This was truly wonderful! Great job reasearching and incorporating historical accuracy into the wonderful world of Harry Potter! I so enjoyed learning a little about history while reading your rendition of Rowena! I must say that you did a truly spectacular job!

Author's Response: Wow!, what a truly spectacular review. Thank you so very much for your kind words.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Potterholic 

28th October 2006:
Great chapter! I love the fact that it was written with historical background. I can’t imagine what it’s like to bathe only once a year. *shudders*. Anyway, well done!

Author's Response: I found this quote when I was doing research: "Europe during the Middle Ages, it’s often been said, went a thousand years without a bath." I just HAD to incorporate that info in my story...and it took over! Thanks for your generous review.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aisu Hoshino (not logged in) 

21st October 2006:
Well, i have to say I enjoyed the History in this, as it is my favorite subject. You don't really see that much in fanfiction. I also think you captured Rowena well in her intelligence and tolerance, and I loved the little bit in her disagreeance with Slazar and the reasons behind it. This was also written well.

Author's Response: I loved learning about the dark and middle ages too. I'm very glad you got to know Rowena without me 'telling' you about her. That was my goal. Thank you so much for your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pheobs61 

19th October 2006:
Well, I always wondered why they obsevered Christmas and Easter since they have no religious customs...:) This was a great story and really showed the persona of Ravenclaw! Good Job!

Author's Response: Yeah, Rowena would have been delighted to secretly add the Pagan holidays to the Church's celebrations just by changing their names. It worked out very well for them both! Thank you so much for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by jenniiiiii 

11th October 2006:
Gorgeous chapter picture, by the way.

This fic read a little like a history text, but in a way that I wish all my textbooks had been written! The little glimpses of history are something I love to see in fanfiction; it shows that the author has really thought about their writing and it often gives the fic such a poignant feel.

Then there was Rowena in the background of all the history; not too overpowering, just a wonderful sense of an educated, caring witch. I think this is exactly what Rowena would be like in canon!

I think it might be a little heavygoing at the start for some people, because there's a lot of information packed into those first few paragraphs, but it didn't really bother me.

One small typo, I think. Where the Romans truly excelled, in her opinion, was they way they treated females. That should be 'the' instead of 'they'.

Fantastic job; I thorougly enjoyed it!

Author's Response: So glad you liked the research! I had just finished reading 'Pope Joan' about a supposed female who became Pope and I did a lot of research. I really had to hold back on some of the things I learned, but wanted to give enough credence to Rowena's thoughts without becoming, shall we say, strident?

I can't believe three of us let that typo through! LOL! I can't edit, but I hope the rest of the readers overlook it too! Good eagle-eye there jeniiii! Thanks so much for the review!

PS: Lena (sauerkraut-poet) did the fantastic...perfect...graphic. Smooches to her!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mrs Insane One 

11th October 2006:
Wonderfully written! I loved the way you presented the problems of the time from Rowena's point of view and the fact that you tied in several historical facts made the story even more plausable! Congrats on a story well written! - Jenn

Author's Response: Thank you, Jenn, I really loved researching that period and had to stifle my innate tendency towards lecturing.

A comment from you always makes my day...especially such a complimentary one!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Infairi 

10th October 2006:
What I really love about this piece is the insight shown in the first segment. I think you've captured the heart and spirit of what Rowena really would have been thinking, to an extent. The HP books don't say a whole lot on the matter, but I'm fairly certain you did the character justice. :)

Author's Response: The way women were treated back then makes my blood boil, but I had to leave it with small references or it would have turned into a 'feminista' tirade! NOT what we want to read at HPFF! LOL!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by andharrywokeup 

10th October 2006:
What a truly striking piece of work. Absolutely beautiful and heart-warming. I do no think I can express how much powerful and evocative this story in many more words. Simply wonderful. 10/10 ~ andy x x


Author's Response: Thank you so much. Really, what I hoped this piece would do was to make people think! Just imagine what her world was like...and how (if it were truly real) what Hogwarts would have meant. Too bad we didn't truly have that, but I surely loved imagining it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jessi_Rose 

10th October 2006:
Wiccan, I was so moved by this story - I can't even tell you how powerful it was to me. And, to think, this story gave us much to talk about - we found a common thread! I loved the idea of Rowena being very clean kempt and how you wrote her intellect with a sturdy background in nobility. Very nicely done! Truly marvelous, my dear. I really enjoyed this story, so much! *hug* Jessi

Author's Response: I can't thank you enough for changing my views on Beta's! You were a delight, an insight, and I thank you so much for your help and your kind comments! Muaaaah!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review