Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by iamatree 

16th November 2013:
Amazing. I love it. An excellent glimpse into the quality of Godric. I can see now how for someone like that could set up a school.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Book077 

6th October 2007:
Fantastic chapter

 Report Review

Review #3, by Elf_ears13 

27th July 2007:
I read this before - back when this was published, back when I was in a OMG NEVER REVIEW state of mind =P - and thought it was fantastic, and just looking it over again, I know I wasn't wrong. The dialog sounds just right, and even if it isn't accurate, it sounds like it should be. I love the way magic is portrayed as such a terrible thing, as that really shows what the founders had to juggle when they were forming the school - the secrecy, the prejudice, the fear, etc. You had such an interesting plot, too, and I love the role that Godric played. He was a good choice for you. =)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Timechild 

9th June 2007:
Very Nice



 Report Review

Review #5, by nidhogg 

17th April 2007:

Wonderful. My faith in HP fanfiction is restored: e-chocolate and e-champagne for you! :D

You managed to write an eloquent, intelligent fic about a character with little or no canon information, without making said character 2-dimensional or a Marty Sam. *cheers*

Oh, and yours is only the second medieval fanfic I've seen where the language is done perfectly (and the other one's a LotR fic).

9.5/10 with a 1/2 mark off for a few tiny little mistakes.

 Report Review

Review #6, by I_am_ever_so_Sirius 

8th April 2007:
Awesome. Perfection. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #7, by MoonyIsMyHero 

6th April 2007:
Really great idea! I could really believe that this happened. I want to read more of the stories Godric has encountered!
~CJ

 Report Review

Review #8, by Bonza87 

3rd April 2007:
Brilliant! The whole concept is fantastic! This chapter is by far my favourite, so well written and so engaging.

What a fantastic idea, a look into the history behind our beloved characters. very well done to all who participated in this fic, and you have won a dedicated reader.

 Report Review

Review #9, by IWannaPlay 

2nd February 2007:
Extremely well written, from start to finish. I wish I had found this sooner.
10/10 for sure!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Belle_Rose 

21st January 2007:
Ah, I see, no Harry Potter because we already know so much about him. That was so sweet.

~ Leah

 Report Review

Review #11, by loony86 

9th January 2007:
Absolutely amazing, Sue! What more can I say? I never thought of Godric that way but then, I hardly ever thought about him at all. You definitely changed my attitude towards him (and, at that, his entire house) to the better. He's an amazing character really... and now you make me want to write another Founders' fic myself...

It's scary to see how people can honestly teach their children to hate something that should be a wonderful gift for all the good it can do - no matter how much harm may come from it. I suppose it's programmed that way somewhere in human nature, but what more does that mean than that we should overcome it as soon as possible? You certainly made me think about that, and that alone is enough of a reason to read the story again. =) *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #12, by Mci2 

3rd November 2006:
WOW.I think that this is great becasue it's so in depth about Godric asopposed to the tidbits we recieve in the novels.great job.

~MC

 Report Review

Review #13, by U No Who 

2nd November 2006:
its gd, bt not as gd as i would of hoped. bit long but still gd not as much info as i mite of liked bt still gd

 Report Review

Review #14, by killsdracowithspork 

29th October 2006:
Amazing one-shot. The details and description really set the scene and made me feel like I was standing there, watching Godric myself. I loved the part about Jenny Greenteeth (which might have something to do with my strange fascination with evil water-dwellers). I should have been expecting someone to witness Godric's magic and make a commotion about it... but what happened caught me by surprise. Merewen's story was powerful (and another little unexpected twist). Again, amazing job.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Potterholic 

28th October 2006:
I loved it! You wrote Godric just the way I imagine him to be, and the way the people talk was so real, with the accent and all. The description is brilliant too!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Seamusfan1 

24th October 2006:
Wow. No, really. Wow. How did you ever write such a long and detailed story?! I absolutely loved it. Fabulous job with the language here--I never would have been able to write it so consistintly for so long!
Jenny Greenteeth sent chills down my spine! Wonderful description---wonderfully suspenseful tale!
I also loved the sheer sreativity that it took to write Merewen and the other children's story!
I absolutely loved this story---so creative and it show Godric's character and the schools roots wonderfully! I really enjoyed reading one of the other founder's stories, what time in their life you chose tow rite about....great job! I can't say it enough! Simply stunning!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aisu Hoshino (not logged in) 

21st October 2006:
I have to say this was definitely a touching piece. I found the village history so interesting, and ironic how they created exactly what they ran from - hatred. I also loved how it gives a bit of motivation to Godric about later starting a school, or at least seems like it would.


I also loved the little mention of Helga in there and his mother's schemes. it made me smile.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Pheobs61 

19th October 2006:
This is Wonderful! This gives us a great veiw of how Godric Gryfindor started out! I think this could have been a starting point for him wanting to teach others so that they can defend themselves as not to be helpless like these people in the story, so that it mite not happen to others in the future. Also, a little something something....Helga? Helga Hufflepuff?

 Report Review

Review #19, by cool 

18th October 2006:
i loved that one too you guys should write a book and tell me bout when you do cause i be the first one to buy it loved it

Author's Response: WOW! Write a book, eh? Thanks so much for stopping by, Cool, and thanks for the lovely comments. You should go ahead and read some more of the chapters -- they're loads of fun!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Wiccan 

11th October 2006:
Oh, what an original, novel point of view. Totally refreshing after so many cookie-cutter founder fics. I'm not sure they had tobacco in England circa 1000, wasn't that discovered in the New World around 1492?

I especially love the way you used the language of those times and worked it into a form we could understand today. The whole thing made me feel I was present during this story. The texture of the dialogue was outstanding. Oh, so wonderfully done. I am impressed...truly! How you implied so many 'back stories' without actually fleshing them out was masterful. It's almost like there were six stories we were almost told here in a one-shot! I, personally, would LOVE to read more of them! Wonderful, marvelous job, Prop! But, then, I've known from your first effort you were this good.

Author's Response: Wull, get a red crayon and color me embarrassed! I had no IDEA that tobacco originated in the New World. Sheesh, I guess that's another bit of nastiness we Americans have brought to the world, along with nukes and MTV. ;-) I was especially tickled that you liked the language/mood I tried to create, which was a bit of a challenge for a modern-day US farm country gal. I also liked your comment about the backstory issue; I think too many people get caught up on providing too many details when just a few hints are often enough (I think I learned that from timeturner). It's a useful skill too cuz you can get lazy and not write so much! I'm glad you liked it, Wic, your words mean a lot to me!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by jenniiiiii 

11th October 2006:
What impressed me most about this wasn't your spot on characterisation of Godric, but your incredible depiction of a long ago era; how they thought, how they acted, how they spoke, everything was perfectly described and felt so natural. Usually when I read a piece set in the past, it falls rather flat, but yours was an amazing exmaple of how this kind of fic should be written.

Godric was wonderfully written, although I felt that the focus wasn't on him as much as the village in general. I would have liked to see a little more of him, but having said that, I think it's perfect the way it is. I loved the glimpses of the community, as well.

And Jenny Greenteeth! Great use of old folklore there.

Basically, absolutely fabulous job!

Author's Response: Oh wow, you've hit the nail on the head there. I, too, have been rather dismayed when I read some other Godric fics to find him talking like any other modern guy, or that he's single-mindedly been focused on erecting Hogwarts. I wanted to show a time before all that, but portray a series of events that MAY have given him a start on pursuing the passions he did later in life. And I really wanted to focus the readers eye on how really different life was back then. I'm glad you picked up on that. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Mrs Insane One 

11th October 2006:
Brilliant! The whole tale drew me and seemed so real. The way the events flowed were very realistic and very close to what I'd imagine magical folks to think during the time period that this falls in. I loved the way you wrote Godric too - you brought out his bravery very nicely. - Jenn

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I tried really hard to give a flavor of the era, and I actually did quite a bit of research on the time, which is one of the joys of being a writer, I think. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed this so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Infairi 

10th October 2006:
Wow! Sue, you did an amazing job capturing the feeling -- one you've created by yourself -- of the era. It's exactly how I would've wanted to imagine it, yet didn't because this is your creativity shining through, not mine. Really, you did an amazing job. The graphic is great, too!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I tried really hard to give a flavor of the era, and I actually did quite a bit of research on the time, which is one of the joys of being a writer, I think. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed this so much!


 Report Review

Review #24, by andharrywokeup 

10th October 2006:
You have pinned Godric down so wonderfully here - I am amazed. He seems like a character with so many layers that I don’t think I have ever seen anyone capture his true essence…until now. I think in writing such a complicated character with such simplicity, you have created a masterpiece. This was such a fantastic insight - 10/10. Once again, very well done! ~ andy x

Author's Response: Thanks, Andy. You have really valid insight into his character here. He's such a bigger-than-life icon that I wanted to peel all that away to a time when he was just forming his own personality and personal mission in life. Absolutely fascinating how you honed in on that. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Dobby101 

10th October 2006:
Sue, I love this story...it was so well thought out and written. Having Godric have to show his magic to save children is perfect. It really shows how brave he really is. You really did contribute to this project in more than one way. Thanks, Sue for your contribution!


~Dobby

Author's Response: It was absolutely no problem -- you guys did all the work; I was just there for the fun ride! Thanks for your nice comments. I really wanted to hone in on his relationship to children and his 'savior-complex' (seen generations later in Harry). I'm glad you liked this.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>