Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AndrinaBlack 

9th October 2007:
This chapter made me feel so sorry for Sirius and Regulus and for that matter for all kids who don't have parents who take care of them properly. First they don't get Sirius from the station and as you write it it makes it easy to understand how Sirius can later relate to Harry. He has someone else than his parents who takes care of him and he is almost like he had no parents. I almost feel like analysing their similarities more, but that's not exactly relevant to this story or chapter. Then later Regulus has been able to get some alcohol because their parents don't really care.

I also loved the sweet moments in this chapter. How Regulus and Sirius had this little brotherly moment. And then earlier how Cat had her girly moment when she admired all the beautiful things.

 Report Review

Review #2, by susuwatari_sumi 

19th December 2006:
If Regulus is younger than Sirius and Sirius just started school at most Regulus would be 10... and getting drunk on whiskey? And lusting after girls? Dude, his balls haven't even dropped yet! He hasn't even gone through puberty! There's a fine line between edgy and ridiculous...

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Noblevyne 

9th January 2006:
Lucius is creepy. Seriously. He's such a recognisible figure though, I just...ugh, the idea of people like Lucius gives me the heebie jeebies.

Narcissa is awesome, I really like how you;ve written here. Again, kudos for the excellent atmoshere, very rich.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kimberly 

25th December 2005:
Sorry I haven't reviewed in a while life's has gone a bit crazy. Anyway the chapter was good. I like that Sirius agreed to help out Regulus despite the fact he practicaly hates him. You captured Lucius Malfoy character perfectily and I thought it was funny that Lucius thought it was ok to offer Sirius a ride after having almost beat him to death. Glad cat and Sirius had a moment.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cor_Leonis 

2nd December 2005:
Oooh, you're introducing more characters, which is nice. Narcissa is so shallow, which I guess can be expected, but I liked the casual mention of Regulus's feelings for her. Lucius also seemed very...one-dimensional. It was a nice brotherly moment between the Sirius and Regulus, but...Regulus drunk at ten?! Poor boy, what has living in the Black house done to him?! I have to admit that I thought that was a little odd. Liked the moment, however brief, shared between Cat and Sirius. I hope there is more of that to come.

Author's Response: I'm so far behind answering reviews that I feel guilty jumping in and answering yours but your comments brought up a lot of points...Lucius is one dimensional on purpose here, as Sirius isn't yet giving him a second thought (so I'm rather glad he came off that way!). As for Regulus being drunk, that is not his normal behavior and is addressed in a later chapter because Sirius as well is worried about his actions. Thanks so much for coming back and joining me again, you always make me think so carefully about things I need to clarify or change as the story progresses!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hiduras 

8th November 2005:
Cat was a bit "teenage" in this chapter, but I kind of liked it, she always seems so grown up and it is nice to see her get exited about the little things sometimes... Lucius was perfect in this chapter, how he just brushed over the fact that he had done something so horrid to Sirius was great... I am glad Sirius chose to help his brother, I wouldn't have expected anything less of him... I have been wondering; what kind of timeframe do you tend to put this fic in (if you even know...?) Is it only going to be his first year or is it going to be catching up to Reckless at some point?? On that note; it is really nice to get some backstory on Cat!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Rebekka 

22nd October 2005:
Aah, I'm just mesmerized by your writing abilities. This was an excellent chapter and I'm completely in your hands. I love this story to death. This is amazingly well-written. Just so very beautiful. Argh, these words are like in every review, but I hope at least some of my feelings come through them. I can't begin to explain how much I enjoyed the interaction between Lucius and Sirius and then, Cat and Sirius and finally, Regulus and Sirius. You are perfect with interaction. You know exactly the right amount of words to use, how much to reveal... this is great. No critic at all. :) Keep writing, dear. This story is absolutely fabulous. :)

Author's Response: Rebekka, you brighten my day, do you know that? Whether its truthful honesty on things that need to be fixed or happy comments about what is going right, I love to hear from you. Thanks so much for the kind words...especially the ones about Lucius because I am so uncomfortable with any Malfoy writing at all. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lucid 

20th October 2005:
I have to say for the first time, some of this chapter didn’t sit right with me. By that I mean Lucius Malfoy, right up to the point where he makes the comment about Narcissa (about a certain part of her anatomy) I was riveted, the back and forth, and barely concealed contempt Sirius had for him was like watching something simmering, threatening to boil over. Then Lucius says what he says (I wont repeat it here) and I'm just felt it wasn’t right. I mean who I am I to say what’s likely to come out of his mouth or not, but to me it felt wrong. I see Lucius with much more dignity and reserve than that; it seems such a crass thing for him to say. I can see that he is treating Sirius more like an equal, or at least more worthy of talking to. There were several things I loved in this chapters well - the bond of brotherhood you re-affirm when Sirius sees Regulus again is heart warming, and so touching and unexpected. They are brothers after all, and even when brother hate they too, on some level must love, which you show beautifully here. I particularly love the Uncle (the one you never seem to name…mmm… Alphard?) but then you know I like him already, he’s an Island in a sea for Sirius, and it's always pleasing to see him, and his subtle wit :) Then there is Cat, who has rebelled against her bad treatment by becoming mischievous which amuses me no end. I liked Sirius’s realisation of certain aspects of Cats physicality. I love the way this shows the subtle ways he has changed over the time while he has been gone. It seems to me that she has grown to understand Sirius better, while he wasn’t there. Another wonderful chapter :)

Author's Response: You know what, you're right. It's completely out of character for him. Hm, that really was one of those instances where my loathing of my character shined through. Thanks so much for pointing that out and I would love to hear any suggestions you might have as to how he would have phrased it in a more dignified manner but still retain his nasty tone....any help you could offer with that would be apapreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed the Regulus part I was concerned about how that would go over. It's odd, everyone seems to love the unnamed uncle...I only have him appear here and there but people have seemed to just grab a hold of his character so much. I'm glad Cat is coming off so well...she is rebelling a bit like Sirius will in the future I think. :) She is understanding Sirius more and I think that has a lot to do with things she's learned in his absensce (with will also come to light in later chapters). Sirius is changing and I'm so glad you found it subtle rather than I slap in the face (which was what I was afraid was going to happen). Thanks so much, Lucid. You are just wonderful and I'm so glad to have you back and get to read all your thoughts about this story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Nina_wife_of _Fres 

19th October 2005:
Something I noticed, when you say "Unable to could stop himself"I'm not entirely sure this is what you meant to write ... did you by any chance mean to write either unable to stop himself, or before he could stop himself? Trust me its something I do constantly when my brain is working to fast fo my hands so I type a mixture of 2 sentances.

I liked the interaction between Sirius and Cissy, very 'normal' if you get my point. Oh and don't you just want to punch Lucius and his smugness!!! Grrr!! And what is this Regulus drinking? ......

well this chapter was great, but I find it kinda scary that Sirius is noticing Cat in the way he did … that prob has more to do with me imagining the 10/11-year-old boys that I know noticing girls in that way …… it seems strange to be because the are still babies in my eyes which I know they would kill me for saying but still .... what they don't know won't hurt them)lol…… off to the next chapter and then I shall be all caught up =D

Author's Response: That is exactly what happened...stupid brain cells. Thanks for pointing it out and I'll get it fixed as soon as I can. Thanks for mentioning Sirius and Cissy...I got frightened there for a minute that I had unintentional done something there (if you get MY point ;) ). Drinking isn't normal for Regulus. This is a very odd thing for him which will be talked about in an upcoming chapter. I agree about them seeming like babies in our eyes but, you know what? It's sadly realistic on that point. I've checked around to make sure when things like that do start happening and unfortunately he's the right age. Rather scary thought, isn't it? Thanks, nina, I appreciate you reading through them and giving me your honest thoughts on each chapter. It really does help me and I appreciate it tremendously.

 Report Review

Review #10, by kz 

19th October 2005:
The first paragraph was the best of the whole thing...I could see, smell and almost taste everything there. Regulus surprised me as did his relationship with Sirius. A good surprise though!

Author's Response: thank you

 Report Review

Review #11, by robyn 

18th October 2005:
I really liek Cissy..she's so much different than the one we see in HBP. Will you be showing how she changes through this story too? I like this whole coming of age thing that you have going for so many of the characters

Author's Response: Thanks, Robyn

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lizzy 

16th October 2005:
Great detail! I really enjoyed this chapter. I found it interesting that Narcissa was one of Sirius’ favorite cousins and Cat was hilarious playing pranks on Regulus. I like how your chapters seem to each have a theme, it creates a nice uniformity to the story. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thanks, Lizzy. I did take a bit of liberty here with Narcissa but since we now so little about her as a child I'm hoping to use that to my advantage. Cat is just a handful! She's getting into all kinds of things even without Sirius around which tell a lot about her. And, as for Regulus, well, he might have a bit of Sirius' trouble streak in him as well...only the future will tell ;)

 Report Review

Review #13, by laughable_black_storm 

15th October 2005:
First off, I would just like to say that this chapter had so much description in it it's unbelievable. You are an amazing writer, you know that? I like how you used Narcissa's nickname in this chapter, although I was a tad confused when Regulus told Sirius that she was marrying Lucius ... for some reason I thought they were already married. Your grammar and spelling are good, though you have some comma mistakes here and there. The dialogue was good in this chapter and I had a clear image in my mind as I read. The opening sentence drew me in and I was lost in the writing. One thing you can work on though is saying the character names a bit more often than 'he' or 'she,' just because it might get a bit confusing for some. When you were describing Lucius in the beginning you were saying things from Sirius' mind, then it says stuff about Lucius' movements, and the reader might get mixed up with who is doing who. What I'm basically trying to say is that if two characters are in a series of sentences, make sure that you put down the name of the one who is doing the next action. And I'm sure that sounds confusing, I confused myself. I hope it helped though .... Happy writing!!!

Author's Response: I'm terrible at commas...just terrible. Can't get them right for anything. And, that is such a kind thing to say about me be an amazing writer. I certainly haven't felt that way lately and your words have helped strengthen my resolve to complete this story come hell or high water. Narcissa is only a fifth year here so she isn't married...I may have confused readers by having them appear together at the train station. Hm...I'll have to try and figure out a way to fix that. And no, you didn't confuse me, I have issues with pronoun use too. Sometimes I go overboard calling them by their proper names and other times do exactly what I did in this chapter. I can't seem to find a happy medium that works but I am trying. Thanks so much...you always do help and thank you for such kind and thoughtful words.

 Report Review

Review #14, by dreamdweller 

14th October 2005:
Sorry it took me so long to read and review, life's been kinda crazy lately. Anywho, great chapter! I love your characterization of Narcissa, you can do so much now with how she might change into the person we all know from cannon. It should be interesting. And Cat and Sirius' relationship is so interesting, you really never know what is coming. Well, I just wanted to let you know I don't plan on dropping this story, I really enjoy reading it! Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: I agree...I like bringing her in to play with. I think she'll add some Slytherin interest to this story that may have been missing before. Cat and Sirius do make quite a pair-between them you nver know exactly what to expect (which is exactly how I like my stories to be!)

 Report Review

Review #15, by summer_rain 

14th October 2005:
Ooh so good! A lot of drama in this one. I really liked the description of the restauraunt. The different relationships between the characters I loved, loved, loved! The family ties between Sirius and Regulus you did very well. And I can't get enough of the interaction between Sirius and Cat- they compliment each other very well. Another fantabulous chapter from you, timeturner, and I can't wait until the next!

Author's Response: Thank you, summer. I'm so glad you've stayed with me and your reviews are always so sweet and considerate. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by jynx67 

10th October 2005:
Hm, I do like this chapter very much. Very different. I like how you brought everything together. Just the right amount of description and dialogue. Excellent job. I am so glad you haven't given up on this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for all your help with it jynx. I couldn't have done it without you.

 Report Review

Review #17, by JaxGranger 

10th October 2005:
And a special Your Welcome to you dear! :) I adored this chapter, it was very subtle. Alot of story was told without alot of hooplah, if you know what I mean. :) The relationship between Sirius and Cat is developing nicely... and it was nice to see the brothers acting brotherly toward each other for once. Regulous having a crush on Narcissa is a bit gross, them being cousins and all, but I think it stokes the fire under Regulus to fall in with Voldemort... to prove he's more of a man. Well done, timeturner! This story has me begging for more :)

Author's Response: lol...Regulus and Narcissa weren't meant THAT way. More like a five year old that tells his mum he wants to marry her....just a little kid that thinks the older girl is perfect for him. Trust me, nothing like that was intended. Thanks for the sweet review :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Laura 

9th October 2005:
Hey another awesome installment. Can't wait till the next one, man It's kinda funny how ackward Sirius is around Cat, its so cute. Neways if you could email me at spikes_drugs_n_rock_n_roll@yahoo.ca for the updates that would be awesome

Author's Response: Hm...your email came back to me but I shall try again. He is still awkward around her and I'm glad you noticed that...he wants to be so much older but in the little things its clear he's still a kid. So glad you picked up on that! Thanks for sticking with me and taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Violet Gryfindor 

8th October 2005:
*enter the cheerleading squad* I love this chapter, timeturner. It's positively the best of this story (at least in my opinion). A lot of things happened, but there was no action. So many glances and words passed back and forth - gosh this family has a lot of politics in it, even Regulus is involved with him, and he's really young! The descriptions in this chapter are amazingly vivid, from Lucius and Narcissa's appearance and actions to the description of Sirius' cloak. It was more like watching a movie than reading the words, that's how imaginable everything was to me. My favourite character is still the uncle - he's so calm and collected (at least on the outside), always knowing what's best. The end of the chapter also shows Regulus in a better light and reveals some of the relationship between him and Sirius - it's very brotherly even with their differences. It was also interesting to note the subliminal comparison between Lucius' "look" at Narcissa and the similar one Sirius couldn't help giving Cat - it just struck me after I'd finished reading. This is a brillaint chapter - I enjoyed reading it very much. =)

Author's Response: lol..you've no idea how bad I needed that cheering lately. I'm so glad you liked it so much, it was really difficult for me to write this one. Regulus is a bit of an enigma...he's not really involved in Black politics which is part of his charm at the moment. He's bitter because he's being left out and Sirius is merely trying to protect his little brother from becoming like him. Somewhat like Sirius' uncle is protecting him. It makes for an interesting little circle. Very very good reading to notice that comparison between Lucius and Sirius. As much as I despire Malfoys they have a lot in common with the Blacks. As always, you are such a kind and generous person with your reviews. You make me want to keep going even when things are bleak. Thank you for that and everything else you've done for me as well.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Harrypottergirl4eva 

8th October 2005:
Tis just as good as the others! Ther relationship between Regulus n Sirius is so good, it seems like they're actually brothers rather than just enemies! Drinking at the age of 11 also makes the story more 'sirius'! (I'm sorry the pun was just too hard to resist!) update again soon! xx

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by 62442almystery 

8th October 2005:
At the very beginning, I liked how you told us what the smells were, I rarely see that in a story, but I quite enjoyed it. As for the rest of the chapter, I was trying to guess who had broken Regulus's heart after seeing the title, but seeing that he 'loved' Narcissa came as a total surprise to me! Good job with that.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Drommen 

7th October 2005:
*sighs in relief* The title of the chapter made my imagination go wild... I was already thinking that Regulus had a crush on Cat. I'm glad he likes Cissy instead. Speaking of Cissy, I must admit I was expecting a more snobish attitude from her. I expected her to despize Sirius, instead of just wanting him to help her look good. I'm glad you decided to move along with the story, because I don't think there are many Marauder stories that don't focus on Hogwarts, at least with such a deep perspective into the characters. Good job! And my mail is drommen@gmail.com Don't forget to warn me when you update!

Author's Response: Hm..you may be on to something with that Cat/Regulus thing though...have you been paying really close attention??? Regarding, Cissy, I decided to add her at the last minute and I want to show how she perhaps changed into the person we see in HBP. Remember, she's still only a fifth year here and she has plenty of time to go nasty on us :) The next chapter will show more of the change in her character...it's sort of a break from her childhood and acceptance into what she has to be. I may be wrong on my characterization here but I tend to think these were purebloods that were a very tight knit group until certain events and circumstances drove wedges in between them. Lucius' involvement with Narcissa will definetly draw a line between Sirius and Narcissa no matter how much they might have enjoyed to argue in childhood. Ok, I'm rambled on but I'm not sure I explained anything any better....did I make any sense? Anyway, truly thanks for your help. This chapter would not have even been posted if you hadn't come along and given me the courage to continue no matter what the reaction was. Thank you.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review