Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
133 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TyrannicFeenix 

21st November 2017:
Really cracking tale you wove here. Once I started again, I couldn't stop to leave reviews each chapter.

Loved the characters and their investigations. All very interesting. I can't believe it took me so long to finally read this one.

Definitely gets a firm place in my favourite stories.

 Report Review

Review #2, by katmendoza 

3rd February 2016:
thank you,enjoyed it very much

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8 

14th July 2013:
Hi, Violet. I actually read your story a while ago, but I didn't review it back then. But I'm doing it now for the House Cup :)

I really like your story. It had me hooked from the first sentence. It's just really well-written. I love how Tonks is sort of Nancy Drew-alike. I can see her as someone that loves to solve a mystery.

And I aboslutely love when a Hufflepuff is the main character, and is portrayed as something other than a weak and good-for-nothing type of character. Tonks is brilliant, and this story did her justice.

And I got to say, I loved how action-filled that scene was. And I loved the whole mystery. I'm quite clueless when it comes to mysteries, so I couldn't wait to read the next chapter to see her solve the whole thing. And I wasn't disappointed.

Thank you, Violet. It was great.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Thank you for coming back to review this story! It's lovely of you to do so, and I'm really pleased to hear that you liked this story. Too often I've come to see it as a silly thing I wrote, and it's nice to have a sold reminder that there's more to it than that, especially with Tonks, who came to life far better than I expected.

I loved being able to write about a Hufflepuff, but it was even better to write about Tonks herself before she became an Auror. It's like she was a born detective, and this - as much as her disguising abilities - would make her a successful Auror, just the kind of person that Moody and Kingsley Shaklebolt would respect. :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by TenthWeasley 

3rd December 2012:
Susan, this story was just great! It's no wonder at all that it won a Dobby for Best Novella -- the question of whether it deserved it or not is forever indisputable. I've been reading this story in various lectures here and there for the past few weeks, because not too long ago I finished an Agatha Christie story and remembered that this was on my to-read list. You pulled out all the stops with this one!

How fitting, really, that Tonks would be the one to solve a mystery. She's got the sort of character that would be good at that -- not to mention her love of mystery novels here put her well up to the task. And Charlie, being a dear, going along and helping her! I love the bit at the end, when she's talking to Moody and briefly sees Kingsley; that's a delightful bit of foreshadowing, and I actually found myself grinning, reading it. She's such a great example of why Hufflepuff isn't a worthless House, like a lot of people seem to think. She's quirky and lovable, but she's also brave, and honest, and you can't be an Auror without having serious smarts. So bravo and encore to you for writing one of the best Tonks characterizations I've yet read!

The culprit totally took me by surprise -- but that in itself isn't so much a surprise. :P I read tons of Nancy Drew while growing up, and have had my fair share of adult murder mysteries as well (Agatha Christie and otherwise), and I always like to think I'd be so good at solving mysteries. But then it comes down to the time when I'm reading one, and I'm just stumped. Revelations always hoodwink me, unfortunately enough. :P You wrote this so well, though, planting clues and red herrings and the like! My next big project after finishing my Snape/OC trilogy (gulp, let's not think of that) is, tenatively, a Harry/OC murder mystery, and I know I'm going to be coming back to this story several times for help on how to make it all fit.

I'm sorry I didn't review the other chapters, as well; I've gotten into a somewhat bad habit of reading a story and leaving a review only at the end. But let it have no blight on my conveying my appreciation for this story, because I really did enjoy it very much. I'm so glad I got around to reading this! Fantastic job, Susan -- but then, I expect no less from you. Your stories always leave me extremely satisfied (if a bit jealous)! ♥

Author's Response: Ee! Seeing your review for this story - this one, of all stories, too! - was a fantastic surprise. It may have won a Dobby in the ancient HPFF past, but it's a story that even I've forgotten about it (to the extent that my memory of writing it and the dates I posted the chapters no longer align - it's very awkward :P). It's a great treat to receive a review from you, and an even greater one to hear that you enjoyed the story so much! :D

You're reminding me why it was a fun thing to write. Putting together the characters' names and the plot was a blast, and I think I spent a lot of my time giggling to myself. Tonks was the perfect character for this kind of role - now that I think of it, she's rather like the Eleventh Doctor, madly running through the train while brilliantly putting all of the facts together. Her Puff-like traits come out in the pure enjoyment she has while working on this case. She's doing it for the cause of justice and doesn't let anything bring her down - it's a big change from the moody detectives I often read. maybe that's why JKR called him Moody.
And poor Charlie tries to keep up (and does pretty well, under the circumstances), but he's not an Auror-in-the-making.

Looking back, it's a far more complex story than it seems on the surface. At the time I wrote this, there were criticisms of it not being serious enough and not handling the mystery genre in the "right" way. But you've picked out far more details and connections that many readers, reminding me why it actually is a good mystery - it fulfills the requirements and makes fun of them at the same time. That was what made it an exciting story to write, and I appreciate that you've reminded me why this story became successful.

If you do need help with your mystery story, let me know! I'm a sucker for mysteries and detective stories. One book you might want to check out is P. D. James's "Talking About Detective Fiction" - it's a short book, but it's an interesting look at the genre, and it could give you some inspiration. :) It's a fantastic compliment that you'd come back to my story to help you along, though. Wow!

Thank you very much for this review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by ErinKyla 

1st October 2012:
This is absolutely amazing!
The plot was brilliant.
I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's great to hear that you enjoyed it! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by meap 

8th March 2012:
wow it is cool a lot awesome

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne 

14th February 2012:
Now that was an action packed scene! I could really imagine it happening in my head.
Moody's there! And he wants her to be an auror!
This was such an original story and it was such a fantastic idea! I loved it!

Author's Response: Oh yay, I'm glad that the scene was so vivid for you - I imagined it clearly too, but it's hard to say whether those clear images will translate properly into words. And I couldn't resist including Moody, at the very least to introduce Tonks to the potential of becoming an Auror. :D

Thank you so much for all of your reviews! It means a lot to hear that you enjoyed the story! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by loriinwa 

28th October 2011:
Cute, quick read! Nothing really emotional, just a simple mystery story involving the elements of Harry Potter! Mysteries aren't my thing, but this was fun, although you were kind of unclear on how she knew everything. The ending wrapped a little too cleanly.

Author's Response: It is a very simple mystery - in the end, I just wanted to finish it rather than make it more complex. It's meant to be very light-hearted, even funny, which hopefully explains why the ending was so clean-cut. Haha, my only excuse, sadly, for Tonks knowing everything is that I was making her a "Great Detective" - Sherlock Holmes and Poirot always seem to know everything, just like that. This story is more an homage to classic detective stories than a canon Potterverse piece. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing, though! I'm glad it was a fun story to read. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Haaii 

27th August 2011:
I really liked this story; normally I wouldn't go for a Harry Potter detective story but you pulled it off! It wasn't too cheesy and it reminded me a lot of Murder on the Orient Express. The characters/suspects were convincing and realistic. Overall great job, it was a very good, fun, suspenseful read!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm happy to hear that you liked how this story turned out, and it means a lot that you took the time to let me know. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by noname 

18th July 2011:
This was awesome. I might read Murder on the Orient Express. I started it, but got bored. My mom was going to get the movie, so I think I will read it. At least, if it's as interesting a read. BTW I am actually not sure if Snape would be teaching. He got the job at age 31, youngest professor ever, and died at 38. He was born 1960. Tonks was born 1973. Thirteen years younger. Can you do the math?

Author's Response: Well, if you did the math and looked at the date I wrote this story, then you'd see the issue - canon knowledge to 2005 was on the limited side, and editing this story is not on my to-do list, but it was nice of you to mention that error. He didn't start till much later, but I didn't know that at the time I wrote this.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! It's good to hear that you enjoyed this, though it's unfortunate that you found the original boring. The solution to the mystery is worth reading the rest for (and it is a very short book). ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by becky 

8th May 2011:
i've decided to review now that i've finished - omg this story is AMAZING! my first murder story on hpff haha, i normally go for romance! i suspected irene right from the start - she was barely upset and the scene where she met charlie and said she was going to the lavatory - that just proved it was her because someone 'fainted' there! plus she was just so 'calm'.

that ravenclaw boy, well, i think everyone suspected him :P and right from the start i also was wondering how the girl, vane, found gil.. when no one else did, or seem like they were around? if she had been alone with him, then surely she would have known something/killed him/been involved in some way. plus she ALWAYS cried which really sensed something was up haha!

all in all, perfect! thankyou so much! :) x

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you so much! It's wonderful that you enjoyed this story! And it's even better to hear that it was your first murder mystery fanfic - they're fun stories to read (and write), very different from romances.

Haha, well you caught me out with Irene. She was too calm about things (then again, a lot of characters were, or so some readers have pointed out to me). I meant her identity to be more of a twist, though I agree with you that the Ravenclaw boy was definitely suspicious from the start. :P He was just too silent and shadowy to be innocent.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It's great to hear from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by LilyFire 

5th May 2011:
I loved this. It was great, you did a fantastic job at keeping me guessing. It's really great and I love it. I said thatt before, but oh well.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad that the plot kept you guessing - that's fantastic to hear for a story like this. :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Maitri Harys 

13th April 2011:
Hey, Violet Gryffindor!

Incredible!!:D!

With just my favourite characters of all time - Poirot, Holmes Tonks, and Charlie Weasley, this has been the most dynamic murder mystery, ever! I suppose you "drew" even Nancy Drew into this, huh?? Irene Westmacott + Harriet Adler = comes from Irene Adler, ofcourse...

And Mrs. Doyle. obviously Arthur Conan Doyle. :)

Great!!! Kep it up!!! You can make a chronicle with Tonks and Charlie and their sleuthing practices up at Hogwarts!!! And I'd be your greatest fan for that! :)

Cheers,
The bookworm extraordinaire,
Maitri Harys
:)

PS - "Murder in the Orient Express" was the first ever of the Poirot series that I'd read. even after a dozen of them, it remains my favourite! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! The original is a fantastic story, so clever and surprising in its final revelation - it's too bad that the plot's been so overdone since, as I think it makes the book a lot less interesting for some modern readers. I'd love to imagine what it'd be like to read the book when it first came out and be wowed by Christie's brilliant plotting. :D

Anyway, it's fantastic that you enjoyed this story and I really appreciate that you took the time to read and review. All of the OCs in this have the names of detectives - first and last names are mixed up, of course, to make it more of a mystery. ;)

It would be interesting to try writing more about the adventures of Charlie and Tonks as detectives at Hogwarts. I'd never thought of doing that, but if I need another story to write, I'll definitely keep in mind. :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by LoopyLemon 

8th March 2011:
This is really cool!! I love the references to other crime mystery novels :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Those references were fun to include. :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by kittiesnpotter 

31st January 2011:
that was really good
i love a good murder mystery
i loved the ending also
=]

Author's Response: It's great to find another fan of murder mysteries, and I'm really glad that you enjoyed this one. Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by adahpfan 

29th January 2011:
this is brilliant! i love murder stories especially Poirot so all the mentions of it were fab!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Yay, another Poirot fan! It's fantastic to hear that you've enjoyed this story! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by muggleborn_parselmouth 

14th October 2010:
I waited to do my review, after I read the entire story. this has to be one of if not the best short story I have read on this website. Very well done madam.I Commend you!

Author's Response: It's worth waiting to see your reaction to the ending, which is really the best part. :D

I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story! It means a lot that you think it the best short story on the archive! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by Love The Weasel 

20th July 2010:
Wow, that was really awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad that you liked it! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheTenthWeasley 

20th June 2010:
I assure you that I shall be logging on to favourite this story (and you) asap!

It was so intriguing, interesting, tense and full of suspense. I'm very glad it's completed, because I wouldn't have been able to wait for the update!

I think you portrayed Tonks perfectly in this, I liked the character of Charlie in your story, AND the appearance of Moody and Kingsley.

I ESPECIALLY loved the professional quality this had to it, and it was so believable and realistic. I never seem to find a good mystery ( being an avid detective reader myself ;) ), but this was a privilege to read.

“Elementary, my dear Watson,” = One of my favourite lines. I LOVE Sherlock Holmes.

The last line was excellent too, and a good, humorous way to end it. I actually thought a lot of the story was funny, but then I laugh at everything, so..

Very enjoyable to read, and fantastically written.

10/10

Author's Response: A favourite story! Wow, thank you very much! That alone is a fantastic compliment, and I greatly appreciate it. ^_^ It's an old story for me now, so to hear it praised so highly, especially that quality writing.

It's hard to describe just how happy your review has made me - it's so positive and wonderful to read. Thank you, thank you for taking the time to write it! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Katiatrix 

16th June 2010:
This story is really addictive and fascinating!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D It's wonderful that you've enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggle 

9th June 2010:
Hey!
Wow! That was AMAZING!
Seriously, only TALENTED people can write murder mysteries realistically. I think you did a seriously splendid job. Your clues, hints, evidence, everything was well thought out.
I love murder mysteries, and I love your story!
Nice bit including Mad eye and Kingsley I think :)
Charlie and Tonks were cool characters to be the main ones, interesting pair!
Overall, very amazing ^_^

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! That's a brilliant compliment! :D I'm really glad that you liked the story and all its little details. It means a lot that you have, and that you've taken the time to let me know. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #22, by James2009 

16th May 2010:
great story i thought it was just superb!!
You are a excellent author,
and congrats once more
James2009

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the story. :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Babbitty Rabbity 

9th April 2010:
Wow! Great story! I also must admit that I watch far too many crime dramas. It was really well written, you could make a career out of your talent! :)

Author's Response: Really? Wow, thank you! It's wonderful to hear that this story turned out so well, especially in comparison to all the crime dramas/mysteries out there. :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Scott Harrand 

28th March 2010:
wow , this is amazing , agatha christe and jk rowling would be real proud if they read this, i never would have guessed it was irene O.O

Author's Response: Really? That would be awesome if they were. :D Thank you! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the story, and that it the ending caught you out. ;)

 Report Review

Review #25, by _Rose_ 

24th March 2010:
Wow! I have never read a story like this on this website! You have a great writing style and you really know how to write a good story. Personally, I love murder mysteries and I reckon that this story is as good, if not better than some of them! Truly thrilling, fantastic job 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this one and thought it was original. :D Murder mysteries are way too much fun to write - there's so much one can do with them, so many twists and turns. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>