Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AndrinaBlack 

9th August 2007:
That's a lovely relationship Sirius has with his uncle! Though I was a bit disapproving at him giving whisky to such a young boy. :P That was sad and beautiful at the end of the chapter to see Sirius and Cat having to say goodbye!

This story is really sucking me into it! I was reading some other stories too today to catch up on the Dobby finalists. Then I decided to read a bit of this as a last one for the evening. It felt so lovely to come back to this. I was coming home to one of my favourite stories. :)
-Annina

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tearlit 

15th April 2007:
This was an interesting chapter, though even though they are mature they seem to young to have hormones. Also, is Cat really Sirius' age or is she younger or older?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jessamina 

31st May 2006:
Drinking whiskey and catching kisses before he's eleven? What would Harry have given to grow up with his godfather eh? Would have been a whole different ball of wax from the Dursley's. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Noblevyne 

9th January 2006:
I love the history you've given Alphard and the voice you give to him, he reminds me of my grandfather, honest and mystifying, an object of great awe, compassion and flaws. Sirius looks up to him and he doesn't talk down to Sirius, I like their relationship.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Cor_Leonis 

2nd November 2005:
You've developed a nice bond between Sirius and his uncle. Again, Sirius is so very mature for his eleven years. It's not a bad thing; in fact, I'm in the midst of a story and have also been told that my fifteen year old Snape speaks and acts very maturely. I think it's something adult writers fall into easily. We use adult language, and as our writing grows and excels, so does the dialogue and vocabulary of our characters. Instead of writing children we end up writing little men and little women; though, admittedly, many children can be very mature for their age. I think the key is bringing mischief and childishness back into the characters, and I can sense this happening for Sirius once he goes to Hogwarts. This was a good chapter and a nice way to clue us in to Cat's family and background. Don't lose heart--it's really good.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hiduras 

30th October 2005:
I can’t wait to see how you handle the whole “getting in to Gryffindor” thing... I just know it is going to be good! This was a really strong chapter, I loved Sirius’ talk with his uncle especially these two fraises: “He knew his uncle cared for him, perhaps even loved him if there was such a thing.” and ““I think we’re no better than anybody else.” Sirius lowered his voice. “In fact, half the time I think we’re worse.”” They really captured the essence of his problems I think. This is really well written and I must say that I am a bit worried about Cat, now that Sirius is leaving! So she wasn’t his cousin... I’m glad! The fact that you already mention Voldemort is very good, I think it is important that he builds up to be more and more powerfull, and not just emerges out of nowhere... Well good job, as usual!

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by kz 

19th October 2005:
His dad is just evil..is his mom going to turn out the same way?

Author's Response: Most likely but I refuse to say when :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by robyn 

18th October 2005:
does he luvvve her? They are going to fall in love aren't tehy?

Author's Response: Thanks, Robyn

 Report Review

Review #9, by Drommen 

6th October 2005:
Voldemort in the house! Run! Women and Drommens first! Er... um sorry about this, but I don't like Voldemort. I was surprised to see that the uncle was having a good time with Rosemary. It made me think "how on earth did i miss that?" and that is part of a quality fiction. I also like the way you portrait the Blacks. The I-want-you-perfect mother and the I just want you to behave father. Good work!

Author's Response: I don't care for him much myself :D I'm so glad that caught you off guard! I tried really hard to keep that quiet with just little hints in earlier chapters and I'm so glad it worked! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by JaxGranger 

6th October 2005:
This chapter confirmed several suspicions I had, and shot down a couple more. The thing that I'm most disturbed about is that Voldemort had been to Grimmauld Place before -- its just quite unsettleing, I'm not sure why I didn't expect it of think of it before. Hmmm.. Anyways, I'm really enjoying the flow. You weave fiction with such ease. Its refreshing.

Author's Response: I'd just love to know what i shot down...that intrigues me. As for Voldemort, I've always thought he had to have made frequent appearances there. I''m not even sure where that idea comes from but its one I've stuck to in all my stories. Odd I know :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Kimberly 

10th September 2005:
Sorry I haven't review lately. I cant wait to see whats going to happen at hogwarts and what cat meant by saying she's not good at being alone. Wonderful chapter

Author's Response: I'm so glad to have you back! I appreciate your comments and I so glad you didn't desert me! Welcome back and I hope you enjoy it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Connaisance_moi 

29th August 2005:
So this is the reason for sirius not getting serious in a relationship...his uncle's broken heart.....i wonder what Cat's going to do....Sirius vows never to fall in love but there he is already falling in love...Cat is a unique person...

Author's Response: Excellent foreshadowing! I love your reviews because you so often catch things that others miss. I have the feeling Sirius may fight his feelings or, at the very least, push her away. But, only time will tell. ;)

 Report Review

Review #13, by FavBlackT 

19th August 2005:
(Sorry, I'm not logged in). Hey there timeturner! I'm going to jump right into this and start reviewing! **“Sirius, we have to talk,” his uncle’s stern voice was low, causing Sirius to jerk to attention.* My only thing with this is that you should probably split up that first piece of dialogue just to make it a little more dramatic. If you just drop the bomb, no one's going to notice the awesome description of how he did it right afterwards. They'll just go off thinking immediately. So maybe you should try. "Sirius," his uncle’s stern voice was low, causing Sirius to jerk to attention. "We have to talk." *When you have Sirius thinking, you should probably put it in italics and in its own separate paragraph. I treat thoughts like dialogue, but that's just me. It's a nice way to zero in on the importance of the fact that it is a thought even if it's not an important thought. Oiy, I'm talking in circles. *In dialogue, I know it seems as though certain places need commas, but they really don’t. Although it might sound right in your head, it is clearly possible that it is not grammatically correct. *Alright, I just finished the entire dialogue sequence that you wanted me to focus on and I think it’s great! I don’t know what else to say except you executed it superbly and I think it’s very realistic and it works well with your character. Seeing as I haven’t really read the other parts of your story, I can’t really say anything else about character development, but with your plot development – you’re working well, my friend. Nice job. Alright, that’s the end of it – I didn’t do as many specifics as I usually do, but I hope this is longer than the reviews I’ve been putting out. ;) If you want any more reviews, just ask! :D --JC

Author's Response: You are the absolute best! Thanks so much for the wonderful advice. I do have one question...can you give me some examples where I am misplacing commas so I can work on those in future chapters? I honestly, just stick them wherever they seem right although I have learned how to work them at the end, I think). And, truly, if you saw other things (you mentioned not doing as many specifics) I'd love to hear about them even though I was worried most about the dialogue. I really appreciate you giving me such a detailed review and such helpful advice. I love the hint about "dropping the bombs". That's great advice that I've never heard before! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ghislaine Arsenault 

19th August 2005:
Another very good chapter, I am excited to read the next one. I did think, though, at one point that he was almost acting a bit TOO old, or just said things I didn't envision someone so young to say re: sleeping with people etc.

Author's Response: I've been struggling with this from the beginning, you know. Trying to balance his age with his maturity level. It's been a really tough go but I try and remind myself the time period that this occurred. I tend to think (as it is today) that you have to explain certain things to kids at a young age to help protect them. That's the route I took with this although I agree with you in that it could be a bit out of character for his family. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Siriusluver 

19th August 2005:
YAY for romance!! It's gonna stink for Cat to be at Grimmauld all day with no friends! Can't wait for more! -Siriusluver ^_^

Author's Response: lol...poor Cat! Somehow, I think she'll find ways to amuse herself, she's such a little rebel. Thanks for sticking with me!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Lucid 

17th August 2005:
I forgot to add last review that I really liked the fact that Sirius' mum had shown Sirius some form of love in his life, because people are rarely all bad, and she must have loved him somewhere in her soul, he was her son after all. I think his sole supplier of love, affection and respect, come from his uncle though, and I really do love the way you are writing him, as a man with a heart, who tolerates Sirius out of love but demands a certain amount of respect. And you can see that Sirius loves him, relies on him. I really felt that Sirius leaving was a double edged sword, so bittersweet for him. I am really loving this so far, and despite some not liking your Sirius, I love him, he has depth to me... and I mean he's ten, nearly eleven...*Grins couldn't resist it* hes not going to be the Sirius we all know at Hogwarts is he? He has the characteristics but rightly, not everything, because James, Remus and Peter surely add to the richness that is Sirius.

Author's Response: You are exactly right about that...Sirius is still growing and learning and the Marauders will have a great impact on him. He's going to end up the Sirius from the books (*sighs*) but I'm undoubtedly going to take him a route no one else would expect. Thanks for the kinds words about my characterization of him. I listen to all my readers and sometimes try and change Sirius to fit the mold they think he should be. This always fails for me and he ends up becoming flat and lifeless. I'm trying to stay true to my version of him, even if it is quite a bit different than everyone else's. You have his uncle pegged perfectly and I hope I'm able to show that throughout the story...his uncle is somewhat like a lifeline for Sirius, guiding him in both his beliefs and his reactions to certain events. Thanks so much for such wonderful reviews and helpful comments. I truly appreciate them. Out of curiousity, was this chapter all right? I struggled a bit with this one and hoped the relationship between Sirius and his uncle came through clearly as well as Cat's general unease but her attempt to protect Sirius.

 Report Review

Review #17, by 62442almystery 

17th August 2005:
That's a really scary thought for me. Having Voldemort at Sirius's house. *shudders* "strong where his" There's a typo from this chapter if you want to fix it. Here's another one: "as they waiting for their emotions to dissipate" . Were should be in there. "Sirius question had apparently" there should be an apostrophe. Sorry for bothering you with these, but since you asked in my last review, I decided to tell you so you could fix them if you wanted to. Sorry, I couldn't find the typo in the last chapter. Maybe it was just my eyes. Also, alright should be all right. You are never supposed to use alright. Although people do use it, it's not a real word.

Author's Response: Thanks so much...I'm off to fix them right now. Other than my horrible typos (I hate it when that happens!) was the chapter all right? And, incidentally, I never knew alright was incorrect in all this time. I appreciate it so much for you pointing that out to me! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #18, by dreamdweller 

16th August 2005:
Great chapter! I can't wait to find out what Cat meant by saying she's not good at being alone, its interesting to see her cool, collected demeanor sort of break when she's around Sirius, although she seems to catch it before she lets anything too personal or emotional slip. Anyway, keep up the great work, cuz I can't wait for your next update!

Author's Response: Oh! Excellent catch! You are the first person to mention the change in Cat when she's with Sirius. I'm impressed, very very good reading! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by summer_rain 

16th August 2005:
You have some magic way of injecting real emotion into your stories, I find myself mirroring the characters' feelings when I'm done reading. This was such a great chapter. There is so much depth to the story, and the guilt of his uncle was so very real. Cat and Sirius really click together. At the end, though, was that a wall Cat put up so Sirius wouldn't see how sad she was, or was she just being determined? I couldn't decide. Fantastic chapter, I can't wait to read the next! I'm on the edge of my seat (quite literally, actually :)

Author's Response: Thanks summer, I really appreciate that you are staying with me. Thanks for such wonderful reviews.

 Report Review

Review #20, by laughable_black_storm 

15th August 2005:
I loved this chapter! I can't wait until he leaves for Hogwarts, will his arrival be in the next chapter? Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks! And yes....the sorting comes next chapter!!! YAY!!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by nomikkin 

15th August 2005:
aww, he doesn't wanna leave? how ... cute. lol. man, that conversation between him and his uncle totally caught me off guard. especially when he started throwing up ... wow, if that wasn't a kick of reality, i don't know what is. well, keep it up! i'm loving every word i read. much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: Thanks, nomi. That was exactly what I was hoping for from at least one reader...a gut reaction to the conflict between Sirius the miniature adult and Sirius the child. Thanks for noticing.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lizzy 

15th August 2005:
That explained a lot, thought I still don’t quite understand why if Sirius’ uncle would have taken Cat as his own, why he didn’t when given the opportunity. But then again I if there was no mystery in your chapters. Then there would be no reason to come back and read the next. So until next time keep it up, you have the beginnings of another wonderful fan fiction.

Author's Response: Thanks, Lizzy I do appreciate it. And, your right, I can't really give away to much of the question you posed but his uncle DID have his reasons which will come to light as the story progresses. (lol..."light"...get it?)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Violet Gryfindor 

14th August 2005:
Ready for me to gush? ;-) It's the truth, I love this story and the way you've written it. It shows Sirius' development from a child into a youth, going deep into sides of him that JKR only hinted about. The relationship he has with his uncle is a really nice one - Sirius seems to see him as a sort of role model and maybe even a surrgate father. The uncle's involvement with Cat's mother was a bit of a surprise, and I was ready for Cat to be his daughter, but I like the way you handled the situation. That scene with Sirius and his uncle was so amazingly done, very deep and thoughtful, revealling much about both of them. The way that Sirius questions his future is very interesting; how he believes that just because he is a Black that he'll be a Slytherin, even though he doesn't side with his family in their treatment of muggles or Voldemort. You've portrayed Sirius in a way I could have never imagined, in this story even better than you did in Reckless. This story surpasses Reckless, I think, in brilliance. Amazing work on this chapter, timeturner. You really know how to capture a reader's interest. =)

Author's Response: I'm glad you were surprised a bit and certainly glad that you liked it so much. I'm really unsure about this story and its just giving me fits so I truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Rebekka 

14th August 2005:
This was absolutely amazing chapter. The best so far. I loved everything in it. Description and dialogue were in balance, the emotions were so real and raw, Sirius was a whole person (and excellently portrayed). I feel bad for Cat. I'm afraid you're going to make her suffer even more... I like her very much and I don't want anything bad to happen to her. Sirius' uncle is a wonderful character (what was his name?) and I felt for him when he told about Rosemarie and that he never knew about Cat. Terrible guilt... this was such a whole chapter too. Very very very good and from the first sentence I was hooked. I couldn't let go. You're one amazing author. Oh, this was the only sentence that sounded a bit weird "Only one I remember is one named Voldemort." It might be just my own ability understand English, but it just strucked me as odd. A bit too difficult way of saying it... or something. :) But otherwise an excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. That sentence is a bit odd...I'm from the southern United States and I think that was a bit of my local dialect slipping in. It would be a common saying around here but probably not anywhere else. Thanks for pointing it out and I'll do my best to watch that in the future. I haven't named his uncle (and it's odd you are the first person to notice) and don't intend to just because I want him to remain him a peripheral character and naming him puts too much focus on him. I'm so glad Sirius is whole again (yay!). I think Cat is for some rough times but don't worry, she really is Sirius' "rock" and most of the growth in this story will be his own. In other words, MOST of her angst has already occurred but will slowly come to light as the story progresses. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by converse girl 

13th August 2005:
wonderful! can't wait 4 an update! love ya!

Author's Response: So glad you liked it! Thanks for sticking with me!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>