Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HartOfARebel 

21st May 2011:
I presume it's an old family thing, that that's how Sirius and James already know each other..cos you did say Sirius is 10 right? Or did I miss read that? =/ hmmm
Anyway, are Sirius and Cat gonna get together? Or is this just how he learns to be compassionate, by being nice and taking care of her, protecting her from his family. I'm surprised they took her in considering she is a muggle, is it the whole gypsy thing that makes a difference? Like 'cause she seems to know about real wizards and witches..or at least isn't frightened by it..and why does she keep calling Sirius' uncle master?
Ok I'm gonna read on now, I'll probably get most of the answers to what I asked haha =]

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

16th October 2010:
Another great chapter!

Favorite line is the very last one.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ArabellaPotter 

22nd January 2008:
Very good. I like the relationship between Sirius and His uncle.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AndrinaBlack 

8th August 2007:
Wow! That was such a powerful chapter! It started with the lovely descriptions of the Carnival with the food and dance and everything and then suddenly it turned into fear and despair. I loved how Sirius' and Cat's emotions were shown in a subtle but still strong and powerful way. I was glued to the computer screen from beginning to end. This is a very promising beginning to the story!
-Annina

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by musicgirlhp14 

18th July 2007:
I like Cat. I liked her in your other story as well, but I liked her even more in this one. I can't wait to see where their friendship goes.

Author's Response: Thanks for so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Tearlit 

15th April 2007:
This was nice. Though I'm wondering why they have wands before they have started at Hogwarts. And how did Sirius know James?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Noblevyne 

9th January 2006:
Loved the descriptions of the carnival, you always have such a way with creating atmospheres.

You know, I've been living with Cat for so long and yet I had no idea this is how Sirius and she met, or abot her background, it's a very interesting way to introduce her. I like her character too, she's always been pretty feisty, but I don't know, you just have to like her, just as Sirius is drawn to her.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hiduras 

25th October 2005:
Hey Timeturner! So I am finally reviewing this fic and I must say it is great... The first chapter was very intriguing, I like Cat she matches Sirius wonderfully. As always you writting is good and I think you have found a great balance, it suits your wording (if that makes any sence??) I found one little mistake, I think, but it could be that I am just not familiar with this sentence stucture... if that is the case, just ignore me!------> “...they’d more be more than happy to take a substitute.” I just thought that there was a ‘more’ to much in there...Oh and finally for my favorite little part that says a lot about both Sirius and Cat: ----->“Ten, almost eleven.” “You don’t act ten, almost eleven.”

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by kz 

19th October 2005:
This was good...dark and foreboding of whats to come in his life but I really enjoyed it

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Nina_wife_of _Fres 

18th October 2005:
i liked this chapter Linda, =D although mature for his age Sirius is still a boy made obvious by some of his reactions like for example "Sirius nodded, wishing frantically that his uncle wasn’t leaving him alone again with this sobbing mushy stranger" that is the reaction I can see any 10 year old having ... in fact I can tell you that my brother (who is 10)on many occasions flinches when I hug him - just becasue I'm a girl lol. Great job =D

Author's Response: Thanks, nina. He will appear really old in this story but its the little things (like what you mentioned) that key you in and remind you of his real age. Heso desperately wants to grow up and stay a kid at the same time that it conflicts in his actions and emotions. Sometimes its easy to overlook these little things I've stuck in there so I am always exicited to read when someone notices them. Thank you so much for everything!

 Report Review

Review #11, by robyn 

18th October 2005:
you aren't going to tell us how she knows about wizards are you? They make a very cute pair

Author's Response: I will eventually, I promise :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Drommen 

6th October 2005:
Timeturner.... honestly... you have to start writing worse stories. I should be studying now but i wan t to keep reading! Cat, Sirius' personality, how he reacts when she's close... it reminds me of one of my all time favorite books. No time for reviewing any more... next chapter!

Author's Response: lol! You are so wonderful. Thank you so much for reading through this and giving me your thoughts and ideas. I really really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by JaxGranger 

6th October 2005:
This was a really brilliant chapter. I'm very interested to know how Cat knew so much about wizarding, and wizarding rules. I wonder if she will turn out to be something magical, if she's not a witch. I really love the innocence that's in Sirius. You're writing to that innocence, leaving out lengthy explaination that he wouldn't understand. I like that style... I'm too interested in what happens next to dally any longer... :)

Author's Response: That's the burning question, isn't it? I will say this...she is NOT a witch. Other than that, again, I'd have to tell you everything. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Cor_Leonis 

29th September 2005:
A very dark chapter to open up with, but it was well-written and had lovely imagery. Your writing has truly grown leaps and bounds. You set up your characters well, however, this first chapter is so serious that I feel it gives a very limited portrayal of their personalities. Sirius is so very muture and serious for a ten year old, and the conversations between he and his uncle seemed more like they were business partners rather than close family. And I'm curious as to how he knows James already--pureblood connections? Cat seems to be an interesting character--very enigmatic and careful for a young girl (though we don't know her age. Or I missed it. One of the two.). I'm curious to learn more about her history and her budding relationship with Sirius. I hope as the story continues we get to see a lighter side of Sirius--especially when interacting with Cat. This is good, Timeturner. I'm enjoying it.

Author's Response: Thank you for such sweet things. You made my day when I read this. The chapter is a dark one as will the whole fic be. You will get to see some lighter moments of Sirius but not for awhile...at this point in his life he is very dark and gloomy but people are going to enter his life and change that. You don't know Cat's age purposefully and how he and James know each other is dealt with in later chapters (I promise I'm not leaving these things out on purpose!). As for Cat she does have a pretty colorful history that will come to light as she learns to be a bit more open with others. Again, thank you for such a thoughtful review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by RevengeIsBestServedCold 

27th September 2005:
wow that's a great beginning ur a talented writer u really are and no miss-spelled words i love that!!! it totally bugs me when stories have miss-spelled words...dunno why... But i LOVE urs see ya

Author's Response: lol..thanks I really try but you will find some mispellings slipped in there. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Connaisance_moi 

28th August 2005:
“Because, Sirius,” his uncle smiled as he wrapped an arm around his shoulders, “she chose you.”Ah i loved this line... Cat is a most interestig charecter, but i'm surprised at her knowledge of the wizarding world...I do know her personality from Reckless..THe scene just demostrated perfectly JAMes and sirius's beleifs...but i dont understand what his uncle means by she is safe here only.....i guess i have to read on.....by the way i loved this line too HOw old do you need me to be...a wonderful peice of work

Author's Response: Thank you. I can't answer either of those questions but they will be explained in time...I promise. Those chapters are actually even already written but are still quite a way down the road. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ghislaine Arsenault 

19th August 2005:
Exquisite, truly. Your writing is wonderful, there is really nothing to complain about, style wise. For some reason I felt it moved a little too quickly for one chapter, but that fact still doesn't take away from the story that much. It's very good.

Author's Response: You know, I thought that too but was assured that that was not the case. You must be somewhat like me and want to know every little thing that occurs so we always expect more when reading. :) Glad to have a reader like that aboard! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by 62442almystery 

16th August 2005:
People didn't stone others in 1970 did they? Also, how does Cat know of the wizarding world? So far, I like the story, but I can't say much about your OC because we have only been introduced to her.

Author's Response: No they didn't and you are good to notice that...this wasn't a regular stoning incident. Cat's knowledge of the wizarding world is one of the things that will be explained as the story progresses. I know it's still in the early stages so there are a lot of unanswered questions still. Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Lucid 

16th August 2005:
The opening paragraph to this second chapter was wonderful, I could taste the candy floss. I loved the description of the toffee apples and the fizzy drink, I could clearly see those in my head, it seemed to sum up everything a Fayre ( or Carnivale) should be. I absolutely loved the “You don’t act ten, almost eleven.” line, it caught me off guard and I just had to laugh, it helped to lighten the mood, which had been much darker after what had happened to the girls mum. But the darkness just kept on coming, the girl 'Cat' was most definitely older than her years, you portrayed that wonderfully. It seriously hurt to see her say “How old do you need me to be?”, which conjured up more dark imagery, but which also helped to understand the girls initial coldness and defence to the news that her mother died. When Sirius' uncle said “More experienced that I counted on at any rate,” I noticed the 'that' should be 'than', I hope you don't mind me mentioning it. This was a really dark chapter with lots of terrible dark undercurrents that went unsaid most of the time, I loved that subtlety, its rare to find but very welcome to see. As usual though, its your characterisation of Sirius that shines through, I loved his quick observations, but most of all I liked him struggling to know what to do with 'Cat' when she was crying, he was so tender in his inadequacy, that he did all the right things, which just seems so like him. Can you tell I enjoyed this? Brilliant stuff.

Author's Response: You are such a gem, do you know that? You pointed out some of the things I was most worried about in this chapter and have given me such wonderful things to remember in upcoming chapters. Even though she has a wild streak much like James, Cat does have a dark cloud around her...something akin to what you might find around a young Tom Riddle. ;) Thanks for suck kind and thoughtful comments.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lizzy 

15th August 2005:
Wow, a lot of things happened in this chapter. I really enjoyed the carnival scene, the description was excellent, (I especially enjoyed the soda description.) I do find Sirius’ uncle a bit of an enigma; he seems to be a reformed Black, telling Sirius things like being a Muggle doesn’t matter. And then in the same chapter basically resigns Cat to slavery. I also am having a hard time wrapping my mind around a witch stoning in the late 60’s maybe early 70’s. Having said that, it was very well written and I am off to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I should probably make an author's note about the stoning...it will be explained later. Just trust that this was from the perspective of a ten year old an what he sees isn't always what's actually happening. His uncle is a bit of a puzzle but trust that he does have Sirius' best intentions at heart even though he will undoubtedly make some mistakes as this goes on. Thanks for such a thoughtful review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Rebekka 

13th August 2005:
Hmm... I have so much to say, but I don't know where to begin. First I want you to know that I'm enjoying this story very much. I like Cat and I especially like Sirius' uncle. Sirius is good too, but he seems somehow hollow. I'll get back to that later. The only part that was very confusing was the 'throwing rocks at the witch' -scene. It was the seventies... did those kind of things happen still? In England? I find it difficult to believe. It was also a hard scene to follow, because you describe it very little. I could see no reason for it and I read the part twice. :) But I do realise that you're also writing this through the eyes of a ten-year-old. Sirius couldn't have understood what happened, but I atleast hoped you'd made it a bit more clear for the reader. Some of the dialogue was extremely good ("You don't act ten, almost eleven."), but at times it was a bit difficult to follow which of them was speaking... And I really couldn't understand why Sirius' uncle would take Cat with them and expose her to the wizarding world, and why would he leave her to a house where people hate her, slave her and make her feel unworthy. Sirius is not enough of a reason. :) I like this chapter a lot, but it goes against my logic and it's hard for me to accept it as such. I hope you'll explain everything later. I think Gypsies are pretty family oriented and they keep to their own. I almost feel like she was stolen from her friends and family even though you said that her mother was her only family. Ugh!! I need to read further. I need answers. :) Hmm... Sirius, he seems like you don't actually know how to portray him... you shift from one feeling to another and it's difficult for the reader. Keep him whole. I think your idea of him is perfect, but you're too afraid to use it. Just let him be, let him be whole and he will be perfect. This sounds a terrible negative review even though I love this chapter and story very much. :) I'm never this harsh to anyone, but I know you can take it and I know you know that I respect you as an author very much.

Author's Response: Gosh, thanks for the vote of confidence but I'm not actually that tough...your review brought me to tears. I respect and love the honesty though. You've pointed out several things that I really can't go into detail more about without giving a plot away but suffice to say this was not just a regular "stoning" of witches that Sirius' ten year old self saw. This will be explained as well as why Sirius' uncle pulled her in. You'll just have to trust me on those things. And, as for Sirius, I will admit I've been listening a lot to readers and failed to put my Sirius in the story as opposed to the one people have been asking for. That changes in Chapter Four (the most recent one posted) as I hope you'll see. Thanks for the wonderful advice, I truly can't get better without out it and it makes me hold true to my own writing like nothing else can.

 Report Review

Review #22, by laughable_black_storm 

28th July 2005:
I absolutely loved this chapter. Please update soon, and I'll keep reviewing. Gosh, you're an amazing author ...

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #23, by foxylildreamraven 

26th July 2005:
...that confused me

Author's Response: I'm sorry to hear that. I wish you told me what confused you so that I might it explain it you. But thanks for reading and reviewing, I do appreciate it tremendously!

 Report Review

Review #24, by nomikkin 

26th July 2005:
very nicely done, as all of you work is done. lol. i loved it. Sirius is so old for his age, it's like talking to a young-looking adult i suppose. lol. i can't wait for the next chapter. much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: He really is...I've tried to make his outward self to be very adult but his inner thoughts and emotions still the uncertain, conflicted and confused feelings of a child. It's as if he's forced to be two different people at the same time. Thanks so much for picking up on that.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rogue Phoenix 

25th July 2005:
This chapter was great. I really enjoyed your take on the relationship between Sirius and Uncle Alphard. Once again, no real complaints with anything. I look forward to reading more of this soon! : )

Author's Response: Thanks ever so much. I'm glad you enjoyed the relationship with Sirius and his uncle...it was quite a struggle to get that together where it seemed believable! Happy writing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>