Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

14th February 2012:
I'm loving Tonks in this! She's such a detective and making me think of Sherlock Holmes :-D
Oh my! Poor Percy if they did get him to watch the body and I still think it's the Ravenclaw beardy guy!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you like Tonks in this story - she's definitely playing up her role as detective, steamrolling over the Weasley brothers without any trouble at all. XD

That Ravenclaw is a shifty guy. Better keep an eye on him. ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by hhr3 

23rd January 2012:
So far what I think is that the murderer is either the prefect girl or the trolley lady, but most of the clues ad up to the prefect girl.

Author's Response: The Trolley Lady! That would have been a brilliant twist - wish I had thought of using her as the murderer!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Debra20 

23rd August 2011:
Poor Charlie! He must be so confused. Tonks keeps going on and on about Muggle books, authors and quotes. It must be really hard for him to keep up with her. She feels all over the place, ready for action! I like how dedicated he is though. And he doesn't question her methods or orders. Even if he is thinking that everything is going too fast, or they aren't qualified for the "job" he doesn't show it. This really makes me think how well they got along in school, and what involved their previous interactions. Because I believe that only good friends, with a strong friendship foundation could support each other this way.

Author's Response: Oh, you're making me miss writing Charlie! He was so cute in this story, and while he was a foil to Tonks in many ways, he had a lot going for him - like you said, his dedication, for one. He's definitely a Weasley in his loyalty and determination - he struggles, but he would never admit it.

It would be really interesting to write/read a story about Charlie and Tonks while they were in school - not a romance, preferably, but perhaps with hints of it. I wonder what made him choose dragons, in the end. ;)

Thanks again for these wonderful reviews! I'm enjoying following you through the story. :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheDirigiblePlum 

21st February 2010:
I adore the word "afoot". It's simultaneously mischievious and innocent. Love it!

I love how the mystery is unravelling... I can't wait to find out "who dunnit". :D You create very vivid scenes, which I always like because it makes me feel like I'm there in the story.

I'm also really enjoying imagining Charlie and Bill at Hogwarts, because their years are never really spoken about in the books so it's a nice change to read about them. Especially as Tonks is involved too! And Percy as a first year! Aww it doesn't get much cuter than that. :D I always liked Percy.

Completely hooked on this story!

Author's Response: It's a fun word to use. If it didn't carry around all the Sherlockian baggage, I'd be happy to use it more often. :P

It's wonderful that you're enjoying the mystery and the characters in this story. It was great to write about different characters from usual, and when this story came out, there were very few stories about the elder Weasley brothers - even fewer with Tonks at school with them. :D

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by georgina_bass 

10th October 2009:
loved it.i just realized im writing the same thing into all of the rewiews,but,really.its amazing!

Author's Response: Haha, it's no problem. Thank you very much for reviewing each chapter! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jane_Volturi 

27th July 2009:
Brilliant, absolutley fab
Characterization:
Tonks: She was very in character, she seems to be taking on the roll of detective quite well from what i've seen, in fact, she seems to be enjoying it, if i didn't know better i'd have still guessed she'd want to be an auror.
Charlie: Hilarious, he seems to be slotting into the role of the detectives trusted side kick, he wa very in character as well.
Plot: Ooooh, i love the plot, it's getting very interesting now, i love how you've developed it and i'm dying to know who the murder is, i have my suspicions about that hufflepuff prefect and that shifty ravenclaw, she acted too obvious and upset and he acted too confident; like he rehearsed what he was going to say, i reckon they're both hiding something, but for some reason i don't think it's either of them, oh well, we'll have to wait and see.
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you again for the review! :D This story was great to write because of Tonks - there had to be reason she wanted to be an Auror, a job that doesn't seem to be that different from a police detective. It seemed to fit best to have her as the detective here.

Haha, it's always fun to see who readers suspect. :P You've made good choices for good reasons, but will you be correct...?


 Report Review

Review #7, by IS bookworm 

17th June 2009:
I'm guessing it's a sort of Sherlock Holmes hat that she pulled out. I really want one of those. Why in the world does she carry one in her pocket? I guess she Tonks and can do whatever. I really liked it! :~)

Author's Response: Yep, the famous deerstalker hat. It'd be awesome to have one of those. I think she keeps one with her because she's in this "detective" mood - hence the book she was reading - and she probably got her parents to get her one while they were in London for her school supplies. At least, that's what I was thinking when I wrote this. ;)

Thank you again for the review! It's so wonderful that you're enjoying the story. :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Spicky 

2nd March 2009:
hehehe!!!
really good!!!
AMAZING!!!
LOVE the story!!!
:_)
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it so much. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Liam R 

25th November 2008:
I really do love this story.
All the brilliant detective work that a couple of students are carrying out by themselves, it's wonderful.
I do love Tonks' theories, their very interesting to read.

Tonks seems like a real detective in this chapter. She trusts nobody and believes solely in the evidence, which is great.

There are all sorts of crazy ideas on what really happened and who is really the killer racing around in my mind right now.

And oh my God!
Tonks has a Sherlock hat ;)
"The game's afoot."
Yes.
Yes it is ;]

Author's Response: Tonks is so the stereotypical detective in this chapter, it was hilarious to write it with her like this, hat and all. :D I couldn't imagine writing this story with anyone but her as the detective - it wouldn't fit so well, I don't think.

Thank you again for the review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by MyronWin 

16th January 2008:
"The game's afoot."
Indeed it is and I am enjoying it very much. I really don't know what else to say that I haven't already beaten into the ground. Great writing. Great character use. Great plot. Must sound rather repetative to you. Oh well, I guess you're probably used to it by now.
Some quick news. I've entered the Wizard Duel. My story (written under the same name I review as) is in the New Years to Remember category) and I think it's pretty good. I have also submitted a two-part short story (the second half submitted less than an hour ago). And I invite you to read them both. Turnabout is fair play, after all.
More another time.
Thank you for your story.
Jeff.

Author's Response: Just because lots of people have said those things doesn't mean it's nice to hear them again (very egotistic, I'm sure, but sincere :P). Thanks again for taking the time to read and review this story. ^_^

Ooh, so you're story's out! I'll definitely have to go give it a look, thanks for telling me! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by war and peace 

12th December 2007:
I love it! It got me thinking i should read more detective stories though.. *giggles nervously*

Author's Response: Oooh, you should! They can be really fun and exciting to read. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! =D

 Report Review

Review #12, by kiwigirl 

11th October 2007:
omg, i love this story, it's so hooking. so... is her hat a sherlock holmes hat?

Author's Response: Yes, it's a Holmes hat. ^_^ Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #13, by maraudersmap 

20th September 2007:
Why would a Slytherin who couldn’t even get along with his own housemates have a deep conversation with a Hufflepuff, of all people? Why?? WHY??? WHY? Woops, I’m sorry... :P I’m just so excited! I still love this story, and I want to read more. Oh, and Tonks is good! I would never ever be able to solve a crime like that... Oh well, good thing it’s not me who is supposed to do it! :P And Percy! :D Lol... 10/10

Author's Response: LOL! Why not? It is possible, especially if he was an outcast from his own Slytherins, and well, you know how Hufflepuffs can be. =P Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by blackpearl_ 

9th August 2007:
Percy was only a first year here... Haha, no matter how ambitious he grows up to become, he must've been ADORABLE! And Tonks is really awesome here... Go Tonks!

Author's Response: That scene was so funny to write! It was hard to imagine Percy as a cute little kid. =P Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Zacharias_Smith 

1st August 2007:
This is just great. Don't know what else to say. Oh and I love that the victim was called Moriarty by the way! Nice touch.

Author's Response: Haha, a little act of cleverness, the choice of his name. I couldn't resist. =P Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ang3ls 

6th July 2007:
omg violet, this is awesome. so well written and so kewl :P keep it up!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by xxMugglePrincess 

22nd June 2007:
Tonks is really getting into the whole dective thing, great chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by MeganH 

15th October 2006:
"She pointed at the dead boy, still wide eyed with the shock of death. No one had thought to cover him yet."
Actually, no, not wide-eyed, he had been sleeping ;)

I'm really glad I decided to click on this story when I saw the ad-thing at the top of the page. It has such a good banner! Did you do it?
Anyways, will leave a proper review at the end =)

ciao for now!

Author's Response: Oops. I think I fixed that one already. *sigh* And it was so dramatic-sounding too... Thanks for picking that up. Yes, I made the banner (one of my favourites still) and I'm so happy that you're enjoying the story so far! =D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Elivania 

11th September 2006:
What a nice dash of style at the end. *grins* Is she going to bring out a pipe in the next few chapters?

Author's Response: I think it's a non-smoking train. =P The hat's as far as she'll go, though I probably should have made her say "elementary, my good Weasley", just for kicks. =D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by LillyRoseanne 

5th September 2006:
let me guess it was a sherlock holmes hat huh?

Author's Response: Yes, indeed it is. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #21, by sallyvixen 

3rd September 2006:
ooh. Tough one. Then again it wouldn't be much of a mystery if it was easy, so...yeah. Still insanely good though. I'm so jealous! Jk. But really, I doubt many people I know would be able to write a mystery this well. Onward!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you very much. I'm glad that you're enjoying the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by hpphoenix 

14th April 2006:
Great chapter which I enjoyed so much! Yet again, the characters were very well portrayed. The investigation is heating up I see...can't wait for the next chapter. And I must say, I loved the last line with the hat...Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thanks again! Yay! Someone got the hat joke - it's surprising that some people didn't get it. =P

 Report Review

Review #23, by QUEEN AND PRINCESS 

13th March 2006:
she becoming a real detedtive isn't she and is the hat a fedora?

Author's Response: No, it's a deerstalker cap. That is what Sherlock Holmes - the famous detective - wears, which is why I chose her to wear it as well. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #24, by author of seven 

12th February 2006:
This is awesome! Obviously it is based on Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express (which *collective gasp* I have never read but have inferred from information in the story). If you're going to make more Detective Tonks stories, perhaps you could base one on Ten Little Indians/And Then There Were None (same book). That is the best book by Agatha Christie, and I'd love to see it as a HPFF story. (If you haven't read it, you should)

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing, I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. It's sort of creepy that you would mention Ten Little Indians because that's what I'm going to be basing the sequel to this off of. =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by PhoenixStorm 

6th February 2006:
Here again, and in response to your response, yes reviewing tends to take me quite a while ;), it's why it takes me so long to read a chaptered fic. I'm going to try harder to keep the reviews shorter ( :p ). anway, ooo, things are getting more mysterious now! But i like how you've spaced this story, the plot isn't rushed but it still keeps the readers attention.

A few things to correct again :D. He had left Tonks barely half and hour before half an hour. will help us figure out who may of done the crime ok so i know it's speech and basically they can talk however you like but please change 'may of' to 'may have', please? :p. So someone slipped him that in a drink, you’re thinking? again speech, but the word order seems so odd. It should be 'So you're thinking someone slipped him that in a drink?' remembered something my mom I haven't been looking but have you been including britishisms or british spelling? If you have, this should be Mum, if not just ignore me :). who used a certain spell by something to do with the wand this isn't exactly wrong but I htink it should be 'by doing something to the wand'. so they can’t hear each other’s stories there's more than one 'other' so I think this should be others'. The ssentence starting The trolley lady... and lal to the end of that paragraph needs re-punctuating and the split between sentences changing. It's a bit long to change it in a review so i'll just leave that one to you :).

Now my favourite part of this, and really the main theme of the chapter, is the no one can be trusted aspect. Every detective knows this, every one abides by these rules, but while it is a good policy for solving cases, it generally leaks over to their outside lives and is rather soul-destroying. I hope this never happens to Tonks, that she doesn't get sucked down that road, but i like how you've written it here when it's still new and separate and...fun i guess, in an odd way.

Everything in here is really good anyway, but the muder mystery aspects that you've actively tried to incorporate are best :). How it worked out that it was pre-meditated (dun dun dun!), the suspecting everyone, trusting no one, the hair, the fingerprints etc. So basically loving pretyt much everything ;). Though in this chapter the best line had to be the last one Placing it on her head with a flourish, she said to herself, “The game’s afoot.” *giggles*. anyway, another lovely chapter, look forward to reading more :).

Author's Response: Oh my, lots of mistakes again, but I will fix them and I really really thank you for pointing them out. It helps so much seeing that I not the greatest at grammar. =D

I really didn't want to rush the plot of this, it was something a did a lot with my earliest fics and absolutely hated. This story is fast-paced, but it works instead to keep the plot going rather than over-rushing it. I really enjoy reading your comments, thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you liked the part about the deerstalker hat. =)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>