Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
63 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauders_xx 

24th August 2012:
I love this introduction. You've already captured Sirius perfectly - showing his upbringing, the expectations he lives with but also the differences in the way he thinks. I thought the way you incorporated the contrast bewteen his uncle and his parents was wonderful. Really well done! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

16th October 2010:
Amazing start to what I'm sure is bound to be a great story!:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LinhV 

31st March 2010:
I love the way the story is introduced,
and the character of Sirius,
good, serious and a fair person.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ArabellaPotter 

22nd January 2008:
Very Good, I can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #5, by AndrinaBlack 

4th August 2007:
I finally got to this story and so far it sounds really good! The title has puzzled me to no end earlier, but now I see what it means with the quote at the end. And again I love the title! It sounds so mysterious at first but it makes sense in the end when it is explained by the poem.

I like the way you already got to show a kind of confusion within Sirius in this short prologue. There is both the things he has learned from his parents as well as his own and his uncle's believes. And I have to say that somehow the wording of your writing is so beautiful!
-Annina

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by siriusly_marauders 

26th July 2007:
wow. i really like this so far, the way sirius's mother showed him how to be a "gentleman" and the complete opposite of what his father was teaching him. you wrote about sirius the way i always pictured him. very grown up and mature even at his young age. great work...

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by musicgirlhp14 

18th July 2007:
I love the quote at the end. You are a brilliant writer, which I have learned from reading your other stories, and you are some what magical in how you can paint a picture in someone's mind with words. I love it! This chapter has really interested me, and I look forward to reading the rest.
~Alex

Author's Response: Thanks for so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Drucila 

10th May 2007:
this story sounds good.. and of course i love siruis!! :D hehe nice start!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by joojoo 

22nd April 2007:
Very moving opening chapter, skilfully written. Nice new spin on Sirius. I think this character of his is more believable than loads that I've seen so far. Hope the rest of the chapters live up to this first one. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jessamina 

31st May 2006:
Have a seat, I'm about to write a book here. :) First off, the banner? Yum. Just before I found the world of Harry, I was (and still am now, a bit) madly in love with Ralph. Watched all of his movies, even Maid in Manhattan...:(
Okay, the story. The way you write Sirius reminds me of a favorite man of mine who's from a series of books that I swore I would never admit to having read, but I must now admit it to share with you this connection...
It's a series by V.C. Andrews, the Casteel series, and it's all drama and romance and angst...but hidden at the center of the heated and flowery books is a character called Troy Tatterton. I've been in love with this guy for years, since I was maybe twelve, and when I read your Sirius, that's who he reminds me of. Born to riches and class, but bored with his family's status, tender and forceful and needy and reclusive all at once, and much more. If you haven't yet, you should read 'Heaven' and 'Dark Angel' of that series if nothing else, which are the two books he most appears in, and you will probably enjoy him, because he is VERY similar to your Sirius. I'm only on chapter one here, so I'm gonna shut up and get back to reading now, thankyouverymuch.
10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ginevra_Black 

20th April 2006:
i love r.bach too...and this story intrigues me!
i'm reading the present and i love it,it's in my favs,oh you too!!
kisses
GB

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by yesimcrazy424 

3rd December 2005:
this is such a good story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by kris 

4th November 2005:
great work, linda, on for more

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ConradK 

19th October 2005:
That was such a cute chapter with Sirius and Cat teaming up to wreck havoc on the Black Ball! My favorite thing in this particular chapter was your characterization on Narcissa, she is so completely and utterly vain that nothing but herself matters at all. It was too funny to the conversation between her and Sirius in the garden. The Nargles were a nice touch too, bringing in that little piece of cannon really made me smile. I cannot wait to read the next chapter and see how Sirius and his Uncle manage to sneak Cat out of the house! Excellent job and as always, happy writing!

Author's Response: Thanks, Conrad. You are actually going to have to wait a bit for that chapter...we have some Cat/Sirius alone time to look forward to in the next chapter. Hope you don't mind :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by kz 

19th October 2005:
my turn! I loved it...it kept me awake during those long hours. Of course, I'm about the only other HP fan here so I loved it more than anyone else. Sorry its been a rough go but we are all supporting you!

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by robyn 

18th October 2005:
Okay...we've printed it out and read it and now we're all back to review...don't you hate it when we do things like that? I love it so far!

Author's Response: Yes..go back to work before I tell your boss (oh, wait, that's me!) Nevermind

 Report Review

Review #17, by ConradK 

15th October 2005:
Timeturner I am feeling horrible, I just checked my e-mail for the first time in forever and I saw that I got an e-mail from you about losing readers! You have defintely NOT lost me as a reader! This is currently my favorite story on the whole site! As for chapter eight it was amazing! It was a lovely twist to have Sirius still supporting his brother even though they don't see eye to eye on anything! I was glad to see more Cat-Sirius action as well because I think that is what you are the very best at writing. The only thing I noticed is that Regulus seems very young and immature and I'm not sure what age he iss in this story. Sirius is writen as extremely mature 'from birthright' and I was wondering if being a Black would make Regulus seem older than he is as well...Anyways, you don't need to worry about losing me as a reader because I think you are an exceptional writer!

Author's Response: Thank you, Conrad. I was so worried you had left because you always give me so many things to think about in your reviews! I am thunderstruck to learn this is your favorite...and a bit intimidated as well :) Regulus is a year younger and he is a bit immature compared to Sirius. Sirius takes on the big brother role very well and has ben able to shelter Regulus from a lot. He is more mature than you average child his age though and that will be shown in some upcoming chapters. And, you have to remember, you have no idea what he's been up to when Sirius is away. That is actually really important to the story and there have been hints in almost every chapter about it but, so far, I don't think a single person has noticed. I can't say enough about how much your comment made me feel encouraged and gave me some new ideas and thoughts about what to do and how to take this story. Thank you so much

 Report Review

Review #18, by nomikkin 

14th October 2005:
don't worry timeturner, you haven't lost me as a reader, i just don't have too much time on my hands ... i'll read and review the last two chaps when i have more time, k? much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: *huggles nomikkin* Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Noblevyne 

10th October 2005:
Great beginning, I have the narrator from Masterpiece Theatre in my head reading it out. I like the character personality descriptions and analysis, it fits and makes sense to the character we know, you've given some details that give insight to him.

Author's Response: Thanks, my dear. I do appreciate you stopping by to check on me. *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #20, by robin 

7th October 2005:
We have printed out your story and have decided that amid this nasty trial prep weekend we are all going to read this story and leave you fantastic review (whether it deserves it or not). We shall lock Chris in the closet so he won’t disturb us and then we can ravish you with praises. This opening chapter, of course, makes us actually want to go buy and read those damn Harry Potter books. Good thing we don’t have to waste the money and can just read your stories instead ;) Take care and have a good weekend -robin

Author's Response: If I didn't know you and work with you, I'd swear some strange person was just talking nonsense. Alas, I know you and still see it as talking nonsense. Good luck with trial prep. I shall think of you while I continue writing the next chapter. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by JaxGranger 

6th October 2005:
This is a great beginning!! It really draws the reader in, and holds attention. I have the shortest attention span, in part because there are so many things that demand my attention, but in this case, I couldn't tear my eyes away from the screen. I am interested in knowing who the uncle is, and how he came to have the beliefs that he instilled in Sirius. The only thing that threw me off was, in the last paragraph, the way you used "mudblood". I would think that Sirius and the mystery uncle woudn't like that word, and therefore using it in the omniscient voice was a little funny. But other than that -- great start. Reading on...

Author's Response: Good catch and it was intentional. As I hope to show through the story sometimes in order to help people you have to act and say things that you yourself despise...similiar to the idea of "keep your enemies even closer". You ask much too pointed questions...I'd have to give the whole plot away to answer them :D Thank you for taking the time to read through this, I really do apprecite it

 Report Review

Review #22, by Cor_Leonis 

28th September 2005:
This is a good set up to the rest of your story. I agree that the Blacks would have done their very best to raise a child fit to carry on their name. Loved the bit about his mother simply tolerating his presence...you can see where that will shape his personality in the future. Interesting that you had his father introducing him to the more "reckless" lifestyle, but considering what we know of Sirius's history, he did fall into those types of things easily. As a child I can see him wanting to cling desperately to the hope that his family is good, but I am surprised that he is not more bitter, taking his cousins and extended family into consideration. Nice quote at the end. Your style of writing is wonderful.

Author's Response: Thanks, Cor. His other family will come to play a part in this (because of your review, I might add). I know it seems a bit odd about his father but this is part of the dark side I wanted to show of the Black family. We'll see how it turns out. Thanks so much for taking the time to read this, I know how buried you are and I truly appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #23, by firefawn 

21st September 2005:
Wow...Timeturner this opening chapter is simply amazing. It gives the reader a wonderful insight into the mind of Sirius Black, and why he was able to turn out so differently than the rest of his family. You are a sheer genuis for applying basic child pscyhology laws to Sirius Black, by providing him with the one thing he truly would need to be the good person he became, a worthy adult to look up to. :) I also think the quote by Richard Bach is put too use wonderfully. It has so many meanings and the concept of one learning to fly in spite of all of the things holding them down is a wonderful metaphor. A close friend once sent me that poem during a trying time for my family, and it really put the situation in perspective for me. I think the same analogy can apply here, because Sirius' entire childhood was trying. This is wonderful and I am so upset that I cant finish reading the story tonight! But I will surely be back tomorrow!

Author's Response: Oh thank you firefawn! You are so sweet to join me for this story and to leave such a kind review. I hope you do come along for the rest and I hope I don't dissappoint you. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ghislaine Arsenault 

18th August 2005:
I really didn't like this, because I wish I had written it. It's a marvellous prologue, your tone is perfect, and your characterisation is exact. You've done what a prologue should do, in that for starters I didn't skip over it (it caught my attention enough) and secondly, it made me want to continue on to the first chapter. Your quote works very well within the piece as well.

Author's Response: Honestly, I feared the worst when I read your first few words...I think I stopped breathing there for a sec. Thanks so much for such a wonderful compliment.

 Report Review

Review #25, by 62442almystery 

16th August 2005:
You did a wonderful job of showing Sirius's life.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>