Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

14th February 2012:
Go Tonks getting into Auror mode! All those murder mysteries have done her good.
I'm really enjoying this story! Go Tonks and her sidekick Charlie.

Author's Response: Writing pre-Auror Tonks was my favourite part of creating this story - she's so much fun to write and including little details about how she would become an Auror made this more than just a silly parody. And Charlie, of course, was a dear to write. ^_^

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by hhr3 

23rd January 2012:
It's bloody brilliant! Even better than the last one, if possible.:)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's great to hear that you're enjoying it so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Debra20 

23rd August 2011:
I really enjoyed how quick Tonks entered her detective role. I can easily imagine this as the turning point in her life that leads her later to become an Auror. She had enough equanimity to inspect the body without so much as flinching. I suspect that it's not an every day occurrence that you see a dead body, so that just shows how well she can handle herself in stressful and pressing situations.

This keeps getting better and better! I haven't read Murder on the Orient Express yet so if there are hints scattered from the book in your story I'm glad I won't be able to pick them up. I wonder why Bill said that he's worried about Tonks apprehending the murderer. Is it possible he knows something? Very intriguing indeed!

Author's Response: It's exciting to hear that you're enjoying this story so much, especially that you like my portrayal of Tonks. I liked the idea of making her interested in becoming a detective - a precursor to becoming an Auror, though how that exactly happens is something you'll have to wait and see. :P

I'm glad that you like how calm she is about this matter, as it's been a complaint of some readers for a long time - I'm still uncertain whether she shouldn't be more anxious or worried that there may be a killer on board the train, but it's weird because it never seems to bother people in the classic murder mysteries. I liked to think that she'd read too many stories and it made her feel like the real life incident was just like one of those stories (that same thing that happens with kids and video games).

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! It's wonderful to hear such lovely compliments about it from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by Vania 

26th February 2011:
Wow. Not to be mean or anything but wizards sure do say Merlin a lot. I mean, what's wrong with saying Dumbledore?

Author's Response: Well, Dumbledore doesn't exactly roll off the tongue easily, though perhaps after his death, it would become a more widely acceptable explicative.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Beaming Brilliant 

25th October 2010:
When you say that tonks felt like she became a character in a book, that's really ironic cuz she IS a character from a book.

Author's Response: lol, I know. I can't remember if I did that intentionally or not, seeing that I tend to forget that these are already book characters. XD They're much too real in my head.

 Report Review

Review #6, by SusieBones 

10th April 2010:
This is really good, and a lot of fun because Murder on the Orient Express is one of my favorite books!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's one of my favourite murder mysteries, too, and I couldn't resist trying out the idea in the magical world. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheDirigiblePlum 

2nd February 2010:
If I found a dead body on a train my response would probably be something like this, "OMG ARGH!" *throws up then cries*

I was very suprised at how maturely Tonks handled the situation, and clearly reading all those detective novels have educated her well. :D

Very fun read!

Author's Response: Yes, I think most people would be like that. It's the more realistic reaction, which is a weakness of this story. I didn't take into account realism to any great extent, though at the same time, it does make Tonks a perfect detective. ;)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by georgina_bass 

10th October 2009:
yay!!!hot...nice...loved it:)

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by IS bookworm 

17th June 2009:
I love your put-together-names. Really neat. I really liked it! I wonder who could have killed that guy. Great chapter! :&)

Author's Response: Thank you! :D The names were really fun to put together, and I'm glad you like them as well as the chapter.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Spicky 

2nd March 2009:
AMAZING!!!
i LVOE this excellant story!!!
:-)
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Liam R 

25th November 2008:
Woah.
This is very good.
I think it's a bit of a stretch that the prefects would let Tonks actually collect evidence and look after the body, but still.

Also, I did notice that some of the characters are named after mystery characters.

By the way, please tell me that Gilbert is named after Gil Grissom from CSI?
That would totally make my day ^_^

9/10

Author's Response: Just a bit of a stretch. Like a mile-long one. 0;-)

Yes, I realise how impossible this whole plot it. I just can't remember if I had realised it when I was actually writing (probably not, 2005 was not the best of years). But like you say, "but still". it all works for the nature of the story at hand - a humourous mystery. *tries to convince self*

And you're right about Gilbert being named after Grissom - all of the characters' names (non canon) come from famous mystery series across the ages. ;)

Thank you again for all your reviews! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by sinful_sanctuary 

15th October 2008:
I like the way Tonks take control of the situation. It really shows that she's going to be the good Auror we know her as. And I loved it when she told off Bill: ""Yeah, I remember that fact. The only problem is that unless you can provide a good alibi, you're on the list of suspects."
While he spluttered in shock, she took a deep breath and yanked the knife from Gilbert Moriarty's chest."
I think you're doing a great job in keeping the reader interested. I'm really not much of a mystery and crime-reader, I prefer to watch them on TV, so if you got me hooked, it must be really good:)

Author's Response: Thank you! Tonks was a great character to use for this fic - she has that way with people, haha. It's not perfect that she's still only like 15 when working this case, but it's still very interesting to think of her in this way. ;)

I'm really glad that you're enjoying it. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by baletgir 

13th April 2008:
I really like mysteries, so when I stumbled across this I was excited. I hope your story turns out as good as it has begun. I was wondering somethng, are the ages of Charlie, Bill, and Tonks cannon? I would think Tonks was older, possibly a 7th year when one of the two was a first year. I really like the plot and can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: The ages that I've used here are the ones stated in the Lexicon, but those are just conjecture, so I don't know. It may have worked better to make Tonks a senior student - as she would have been older and more collected. That's a good point to have brought up, thank you. :) And thank you very much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Quiddichref 

11th April 2008:
"Tonks slowly moved over to the body, feeling as though she had just stepped into a book and become one of its characters."

This is a great opening sentence. Leads are very important in both fiction and non-fiction. In some ways, it's too bad this is the second chapter. If this could have been the very first sentence in the story, it would have been a classic opening line. I've actually got TWO people reading one of my stories, even though they say they know nothing about the subject, simply because I got lucky with an opening sentence.

I have to love your little tribute to Sherlock Holmes, too. Obviously, you like the classic detective works; perhaps you like them better than the more modern mysteries I favor.

Author's Response: That's true about an opening sentence. Some of the greatest novels rely mostly on their first sentence. The one you pointed out would have worked well as an opener, now that I think of it. Using such a line would have pushed the reader right into the story without needing the introductory stuff. That's an interesting thought, now I'll be pondering it, haha.

The classic mysteries were ones I've loved for ages, including Doyle, Christie, and Sayers, but I do like modern stories as well, just mostly British in setting. :) Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by war and peace 

12th December 2007:
yay! loved it, once again. I can see why it would win the dobby award!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by MyronWin 

22nd November 2007:
I used to read a lot of mysteries. Many of them I liked, many I did not like. But most of them shared a very important aspect, and that is a methodical process of gathering the evidence, examining it and following the clues they provide while doing the same with everything the investigator finds or discovers. I applaud your achieving this aspect as well. At this point, I must admit that I have finished reading your story, and though I am planning on "reviewing" each chapter, each review might also encompass what you have done in other chapters. Case in point, the process Tonks goes through during her investigation I referred to above is more evident as the story continues rather than just in chapter 2. I will not spoil anything for anyone who is reading the reviews as they read the story. (I hope I am making sense, it's been a long week..I work in retail...) One thing I wanted to include is that I am impressed by the way you are developing the characters you are using. Writing about "minor" characters can be difficult, while attempting to stay in canon and true to the characters as not much has been written about them. Some might believe that they are a blank slate, but that is not true. JKR had given them personalities, histories and, for most, potential futures. But as they were not the main characters in those seven books, much is open to interpretation. You have done an extremely good job giving Tonks, Charlie and, to a lesser extent, Bill actions and dialog that, while we can not point to anything that confirms or denies the possibility that they would behave in that way, it feels right. I love the touch that Tonks likes muggle mystery books. I've always thought that non-magical society should touch the characters more often than it seemed to. I would say that I am looking forward to reading more, but, since I already have, I can say that I did look forward to reading more. I will of course, seek out your other works. And, be warned, I'm planning on posting my first piece sometime on the near future (just as soon as I figure out how.) See you in chapter 3. Thank you for your story.

Author's Response: That's an interesting way of studying the story - going through each chapter after you've read it - but perhaps you'll get more out of it that way (I certainly will from your wonderfully in-depth reviews). It's great that the characters felt right to you - it is hard to write minor characters in fanfiction, I totally agree, because there's no "form" to follow, but it is fun to fill out one's own form for a character. Like with Tonks, I de-emphasised her clumsiness a bit because it wouldn't have suited her detective role, nor would it entirely suit her future as an Auror - if she was incredibly clumsy, she wouldn't have passed the test, right? So it's little things like that which I try to work with.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this story. It means a lot that you've enjoyed reading it and have come back to re-examine it again. Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by kiwigirl 

11th October 2007:
very cool ,though it's alittle bit unbelievable, cause she'd probably be kinda freaked out, not like this. but then again, she is Tonks.

Author's Response: True. This story isn't very believable in places, lol. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by maraudersmap 

20th September 2007:
...feeling as though she had just stepped into a book and become one of its characters... I loved that sentence. Actually, I loved the whole chapter! :D I love Tonks, Bill and Charlie and all the other characters in this story... You make them seem so alive!! Your writing is so amazing, and so is this plot. Also, the fact that you manage to write such an angsty story so humorous (all thank to Tonks, of course! :D) is absolutely amazing. 10/10

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much for the kind review. ^_^ I really appreciate hearing how you liked the story. =D

 Report Review

Review #19, by blackpearl_ 

9th August 2007:
I love how all your chapters begin with "the evidence of". It's so... mysterious. Kinda. Maybe. Sorta.

Author's Response: Thanks! =D Those titles were funnier than the original ones I had, though I can't remember where exactly I got the idea....

 Report Review

Review #20, by Zacharias_Smith 

1st August 2007:
This is brilliant. I love that it's Tonks becoming the investigator! Perfect choice of Poirot.

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story and how the mystery is turning out. Thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Marla 

19th July 2007:
Lol... Tonks personality is shining though.

Only one problem- why in the world are Tonks, Bill, and Charlie heading a murder investigation. It's quirky and everything but... wouldn't they get someone a bit more mature. :D

I still like it though.

Author's Response: Bill is pretty much in charge of the train, being Head Boy, since other than the train workers, he's the eldest and I decided that stopping the train wouldn't work out very well. It is mostly part of the plot, but there is a bit of logic in there as well. ;-)

Thank you for your review! I really appreciate hearing from you. =D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Belle_Rose 

6th July 2007:
“That’s Inspector Tonks to you, laddie. And don’t forget it.”
Lol! Tonks is definitely unique.

Erm... will this be just like the book she was reading?

Author's Response: It'll be a little bit like it, but not exactly at all. It's mostly the title and the train setting that are similar. =) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by xxMugglePrincess 

22nd June 2007:
I really liked it. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =D

 Report Review

Review #24, by AndrinaBlack 

5th March 2007:
Very well written!!! I love Agatha Christie! And I like Charlie and Tonks too, so this is a really good combination. You make me wonder what will happend next. I will continue reading...

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the rest! Thank you for reviewing. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by Vatina 

29th January 2007:
This is interesting, although Tonks is a good deal more stable on her feet in this story than in the books.

Author's Response: Yes, I know that. It was my choice to give her more confidence and make her less silly. She had to have gotten the Auror position somehow. lol, it's not like her portrayal in HBP was the best ever. =P Thanks for your review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>