Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
91 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne 

14th February 2012:
Who could it be? This is a very good first chapter. Extremely well written and I like how you wrote the friendship between Tonks and Charlie. I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It was a surprise to see someone reading this story and I'm glad to hear that it's still well-written, even after all this time. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by hhr3 

21st January 2012:
Brilliant! You left me quite hanging there. The best!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's fantastic to hear that you're enjoying the story! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Debra20 

23rd August 2011:
I heard so much about this story that I HAD to come and read it :)

And it kicked off with quite a promising start. I've never read a mystery Harry Potter fic before so this is my first. I confess myself intrigued already. It's strange that the culprit chose to kill in a muggle fashion way, rather than with a curse. Maybe he thought that would be harder to investigate? I loved how Tonks felt so close to her character. Casual, somewhat rebellious and up for any challenge, because I'm imagining she will be helping in the crime investigation.

I loved it so far and I can't wait to see where Charlie and Bill come into the story. Also, I'm quite anxious to meet your Moody :D

Author's Response: Heard about this story? O_O Goodness, it's so old now that I didn't think people would talk about it anymore!

It's not the most well-thought-through story around (far from that, actually), so there are a lot of strange things that people have questioned through the years that I don't know the answer to. XD The method of murdering, for instance - I went with a Muggle method because it suited the genre of classic murder mystery. Now, however, I have the excuse that these are underage students and therefore can't be using curses on the train (I hope that's right, be just my luck if it wasn't :P). It'd actually be easier to investigate a curse because one could wait for the Aurors to check wands and the last spells they completed. The story would be very different, in that case.

I'm really glad that Tonks's character had the right feel to it - it was my first time writing her, and I worried that I'd taken way too many liberties. As a future Auror, though, she can't imagine missing out on a good murder case. :P

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! I hope that you enjoy the rest!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Beaming Brilliant 

25th October 2010:
Wow this is a reallly great begining! It gives a lot of great detail! The discription of the body gave me chills, and how you portray the characters is amazing! I'm really liking this story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's wonderful to hear that you're enjoying it already, and I hope that you enjoy the rest! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle 

9th June 2010:
Hey!
Woah dramatic beginning!
Writing about murder is very tricky, but I have high hopes for this :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Scott Harrand 

28th March 2010:
well this is looking good XD (Well , not for tonks ... and charlie ... and bill ... and the dead guy ...)

Author's Response: Haha, especially not for the dead guy. Tonks, on the other hand, may actually end up enjoying herself. :P

Thank you very much! I hope that you enjoy the rest!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheDirigiblePlum 

2nd February 2010:
I love Tonks! Why do I get the feeling that she's going to get into trouble? Just like all the best heroes do! Her inquisitiveness is spot on, as well as her flitting between pink and green hair. My favourite line had to be:

"Nice colour. It matches your tongue perfectly."

I imagine most people would be pretty distraught to hear someone say that about their hair, but somehow you turn it into a compliment.

Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Haha, yes, she's definitely going to get in trouble. She's just one of those characters who can't help it. XD I'm glad you like how she turned out in this story - it was surprisingly easy to capture her correctly in all her bubbliness.

For Tonks, that line is a compliment!

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review, I really appreciate it! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by georgina_bass 

10th October 2009:
yay!!!cnt w8 4 more.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by _hermione_jean_malfoy_ 

14th August 2009:
ooo, this story sounds very intresting! i can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I hope that you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jane_Volturi 

27th July 2009:
Wow
Characterization:
Tonks: She seems her same, usual clumsy self, kind and mischevous. You've shown a nicer side to her though, i like the way you've portrayed her, she was very in character.
Bill: He was also very in charcter. He seemed very responsible but a good friend all the same.
Charlie: Again, very in character, he seemed a little more immature than he does in the books, which is only natural because he's still a teenager in this. I'm glad you remembered that:)
I think overall there were an interesting choice of characters here, really well done:)
Plot: Wow, talk about a cliffhanger. Very dramatic and very addicting. I'm typing very fast at the minute because i'm desperate to read the next part. Very good introduction with a brilliant twist at the end, hm, perhaps somebody's trying to re-enact Christie's murder Mystery.
Mood: I loved the mood of this fanfiction, how it started off light and happy then it developed into a mysterious, dark ending. looking forward to reading more.
Grammar: This was very good, i couldn't spot anything that didnt make sense.
Punctuation: Your punctuation was almost perfect, there were a few mis placed commas in the middle that you may want to edit though.
Spelling: Perfect, i didn't stumble across any miss-spelled words so brill job!
Descriptive language: This was very interesting, though perhaps it could have been more detailed in places. I still had a very clear picture in my head of what was going on:)
Overall: very mysterious and exciting start, this fanfiction looks promising, well done!
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! Wow, this is very detailed, which of course makes it more helpful. I really appreciate that you took the time to get so indepth with the various aspects of the story. :) It's wonderful that you're enjoying it so far, and I hope that you also enjoy the rest. :D

The detail is something that this story is lacking. It is old, and that's at least one of my excuses, but what's interesting is that Christie also tends to leave out description, so I suppose I was trying to maintain a style similar to hers.


 Report Review

Review #11, by kittyscouldron 

20th July 2009:
Sweet, liking it so far. The scream could have been portrayed with a little bit more suspense, but nonetheless the story is pretty great so far.

Author's Response: More suspense? Did it happen too quickly? It was more the finding of the body that I wanted suspenseful, but looking back, I guess I could have drawn things out more. :/ Oh well.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by IntoTheDarknessOfNight 

22nd June 2009:
Great chapter. Added to favourite's.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you, that's great! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by IS bookworm 

17th June 2009:
I bet Bill thinks that they did it. Especially because of the book Tonks was reading. Great start. :>)

Author's Response: Haha, that'd be hilarious if Bill thought that, though thinking his own brother a murderer. ;) Anyway, thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Spicky 

2nd March 2009:
AMAZING!!!
LOVE the story so far, really ingenious!!!
:-)
xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! It was one of those random original ideas. :P

 Report Review

Review #15, by kara101 

3rd February 2009:
Wow! This is really interesting, Susan. (This is klutzy_kara from TDA) Not only can you make pwnsome graphics, but you're a brillant writer. This really has me hooked, I'm off to read the other chapters. Keep on pwning, Susan.

Author's Response: Hey Kara! ^_^ Thank you so much for dropping by to read and review! I hope you enjoy the rest! =D

 Report Review

Review #16, by marilovesharry 

24th January 2009:
OH A MURDER MYSTERY .
THIS IS GOING TO BE INTERESTING

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy it. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Liam R 

25th November 2008:
Hey!
Well, where do I start?
Well, this looks like it's going to turn into a very interesting story. I love mysteries, and this did not disappoint one bit.

The fact that someone is actually attempting to frame Tonks (i think, i don't know, i might be wrong) by mimicking the cover of Murder On The Orient Express (which is a pretty good story, considering I don't really like Agatha Christie)

I also enjoyed your characterisation of Tonks. I'm glad that you didn't make her bump into everything and have her say wotcher every two seconds, which makes a nice change.

I'm really looking forward to reading the rest of this.
Favourited ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks for reading, reviewing, and favouriting! =D It's really great that you're enjoying the story so far, and that it looks interesting even in this first chapter. It was fun to take Tonks out of her usual fanon self into a new sort of story.

 Report Review

Review #18, by sinful_sanctuary 

15th October 2008:
A really good start! You got me hooked from the first paragraph.
I liked that the scream came exactly when Tonks had gotten to the same part in the book, and then the body resembled the one on the cover. I have a feeling that she'll be turning to the book to solve the mystery? Kind of like Hiro and the comic in Heroes?
Gotta read on to find out:)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! She will turn to the book, and the ending certainly will be similar, but I won't give it away. :P

 Report Review

Review #19, by HarryPotterRules1 

9th October 2008:
i like it. :)
1000/100

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Quiddichref 

11th April 2008:
So first off, hi! You might be interested in knowing, given our exchange this AM, that I was going to tell you if I was grading both you and timeturner, she would get an "A" and you would get an "A+". From what I've read today, you're the better writer, and you have a better technical command of English. In particular, she doesn't seem to know the proper way to punctuate dialogue, and you do. Kudos for that.

I also thought I wasn't going to have to write my usual first review on the dangers of trusting a spell checker. It certainly seemed to me that, by whatever means, you had produced a typo-free chapter (something I rarely do, and I'm an editor!). Then, I mis-read a sentence and thought I had you! But no. As it turned out, I couldn't find a thing! :=)

So, let me just say that mysteries are my favorite form of fiction. My mother used to read Nero Wolfe stories to me when I was a child. Rex Stout is still my favorite writer, and Archie Goodwin my favorite fictional character. But Stout is gone, and there are no new Nero Wolfe mysteries, so these days I read Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum), Sue Grafton (Kinsey Milhoun), J.D. Robb (that's actually Nora Roberts, and the character is Eve Dallas), and, dare I say it, James Patterson. :=( In other words, I plan to enjoy this story.

I think your characterization of Tonks is spot on, including the contrast of how she is expected to act at home with the freedom of the train. To your great credit, you avoided her greatly cliche'd conversation starter, "wot'cher", and made her into a much more sensible person...a person with the potential to actually become and Auror some day.

I'm also glad you're going to give us Charlie and Bill. These are the two most under-developed Weasleys, and I'm looking forward to how you are going to flesh them out.

I hope you are still monitoring the reviews on this story since you've finished it. I hope I'll actually have something useful to say from time to time.

Author's Response: It wasn't me that had missed anything, haha. There were at least two people who helped combed through this story - typos are a horrible disease, especially in a story pounded out as quickly as this one was. ;) But I thank you for noticing that, and it's funny that you thought you'd almost caught me.

It is a bit of a surprise that you thought my English better, since I often use strange word orders that only I seem to understand. It's actually a huge compliment for you to give, and I'm thankful for it. :) I guess it shows how much I've improved over the ages.

Mysteries are my favourite genre as well, though I tend towards Agatha Christie style, as the title of this story reveals. Evanovich and Grafton are great writers, though I haven't read them myself (my mother has, which is how I know so much of them).

Yes, I didn't want to make Tonks' character too exaggerated with clumsiness and wotchers - it wasn't right for this story, which was supposed to show her progression towards becoming an Auror. It's great that you saw that potential in how she was portrayed here.

Your reviews (as I have by now read them all) are very useful. :) Thank you very much for taking the time to write them.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Bella_Portia 

9th February 2008:
This is absolutely delightful. I love the way you depicted the Weasley boys and, especially, Tonks and her Mugglish, mystery-reading ways. The ending was spectacular. Sorry to keep this so short, but I am going to keep reading.

Author's Response: No worries about the shortness, I hope you enjoy the rest just as much! :) Thank you very much for reading and reviewing. It's great that the characterizations turned out well for this. Tonks and her books - no idea if it's canon, but it definitely worked for this story, haha. ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by JLHufflepuff 

31st January 2008:
I like the connection to the Agatha Christie book. I've never read that one, but I like a lot of her stuff. Anyway, so far good characterization and such.

Author's Response: It'll be interesting to see your response to this story since you haven't read the original text - as knowing it might actually confuse you more. :P Thank you very much for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by beating_faster 

26th January 2008:
I love how you write Tonks. enjoying this fic already...reading on..

Author's Response: Thanks very much! She's lots of fun to write, with all her bubbly energy. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dojh167 

5th January 2008:
Can you believe it? The thing actually says my review is too long... Well, that it is, and yet I do not have the heart to cut it down at all. It is only 874 characters over the limit... Ah, well.

I will PM it to you on the forums, because I am too tired to fix it at all.

Oh yea, and feel free to ignore that part towards the end about "thank goodness they don't have a limit on these reviews."

I was on such a roll too...

Anyway, I'll send that to you and continue to read your story - hopefully my other posts shan't be too long.

Author's Response: Too long?! That's insane - it must have been a heck of a review (and it is! Gosh, I never expected one of that size!). It's wonderful that you went into such detail - I look forward to reading your review more closely (as I've only scanned it as yet). Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by war and peace 

12th December 2007:
oh. my. god. murder! eek! this looks really good. must keep reading!
eml. xx

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>