Reading Reviews From Member: Ink Laden Quill
  
208 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ink Laden QuillStill Delicate: Epilogue

11th March 2012:
It's weird to say I've been reading your work for years now. Guess we all did some growing up along with your characters. Needless to say, it's been a joyous ride. Your talent is remarkable, especially your ability to transform your characters so subtly over time. I've enjoyed your humor and it's been cool seeing your fanbase grow (It was shocking to see you mentioned in TIME magazine!)
Good luck with your future fiction. You've got a real knack for story telling and I expect you to go far.
Thanks for writing such an entertaining novel and I just have to say, THANK GOD she ended up with Scorpius. You really had me worried for a while.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ink Laden QuillWinner Takes All: Behind the Victory, That's Her Destiny

8th July 2011:
Boy, I really liked the end of that. I was worried that it was either going to be terribly tragic with a missed connection (which I would have understood), or terribly gushy with the "perfect" ending (which I, too, would understand). This being said, however, I think you found a very happy medium that worked with the characters.

As for the story on the whole, I'm a big fan of your characterization of Teddy. I think I wrote about this in a past review - so it's there somewhere. Overall, though, I've enjoyed reading this because it's well written and I can stand to learn a few things from it.

So thanks for sharing and best of luck with your future projects!

Author's Response: The missed connection idea did come to mind, though it would have meant adding another chapter in China where Teddy comes to see Rose. :P I never planned on a sad ending for this story, though there were many opportunities for it. However, going overboard with a happy squishy ending would not have suited at all - don't think I have the capability of writing such a thing. *hides*

Happy medium is always better, if possible, and I'm very glad that I found it for this story. Rose and Teddy had to have something happen between them by the end, but it couldn't be a head-long leap into true love - that would undermine the realism I'd been attempting to capture with this story.

Thank you for liking Teddy! It's wonderful to hear compliments about him, and I'm glad that I got him right, especially when so many other characters in this story gave me endless problems with characterization.

Thank you very much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing this story! I've appreciated hearing from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ink Laden QuillWinner Takes All: Things We've Gone Through

4th January 2011:
I feel slightly awkward because I have technically already left a review for this story (what is the etiquette around this?) - but I've been thinking about certain chapters and I figured, hell, why not make the compliments public?

"But what happened when you talked to her?"

"Oh? Right, yes. She was not reading a report, apparently. They were, instead, the divorce papers. You can imagine how the conversation went from there."

"I don't want to."

"Those were my words exactly."

"I'm sorry, Teddy."

"And those were her words. See? It wasn't that hard to imagine."

This exchange may be one of the greatest things I have ever read (as far as I can remember, at least). It's simple, but it characterizes Teddy so much. I like how we know him through his dialogue. It's refreshing and new and I suppose I'm a little biased because I always like reading work with differences in form. I guess it also makes sense because he is a poet, right?

I would also like to mention that I like how throughout the story you haven't always made it clear who you were talking about, letting pronouns take over. More than once I have been tripped up by who was around and who was speaking - which was intentionally I would assume, yes? I think questioning the identity (literally and figuratively) of characters is interesting and definitely gives more dimension to the story past the "this happened and then this happened" dynamic.

Alright, that's it. Just had to get it off my chest. Great story. Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Haha, I see no breaking of etiquette in getting ideas about a story off your chest. I'm certainly glad to hear them. ;)

It's so awesome that you liked that exchange between Rose and Teddy. I enjoyed writing those simple bits of dialogue more than the heavily dramatic scenes between Rose and Scorpius - Rose and Teddy's dialogue just seemed more real to me, though maybe it was from watching Before Sunrise too often. :P That movie is from where I got the inspiration to write those scenes - it contains wonderfully natural talking. It's great to hear how well the dialogue alone characterizes Teddy. I try to pay a lot of attention to what he says and how he says it, as though he's self-editing himself along the way. :)

The story is meant to trip up the reader to a degree. I know that I have a lot of trouble with pronouns, especially when I have two people of the same gender talking - then it gets hairy without me meaning it to. I'm glad that it works for you, though, as many people get confused reading my stories because I'm rather free with grammar sometimes, preferring a good flow of words to a perfectly-structured sentence. *hides*

Thank you so much for this review! I really appreciate hearing more opinions from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ink Laden QuillWinner Takes All: Rules Must Be Obeyed

14th December 2010:
I'm new to the story, and I am really enjoying it so far. It's funny because for the first chapter or so I really wanted the Rose and Scorpius thing to work out - but your characterization of him has made me forget all about that. I'm definitely a fan of the Teddy/Rose thing you are potentially kinda sorta dabbling in. =]

As with this new twist - I dunno. I realize it had to happen, but I dearly hope she comes to her senses, smacks him, and gets out. Years of reading romance stories, however, begs to differ. Ha, maybe this is the exception.

Overall, I enjoy reading your writing. I like the style and I think the sentence syntax is excellent. I hope you update soon and I wish you the best of luck with the next chapters.

PS. It's pretty late, if that's any excuse for this rambling review. I'm sorry.

Author's Response: This is wonderful to hear! Both that you're enjoying the story so far and that you've been converted to the good ship Tedrose. :P I started writing this story in reaction to all of the Scorpius/Rose stories, so I purposely wanted to go about undoing all the damage they'd caused, demonstrating that, even if Scorpius and Rose did fall in love and struggle to be together, it still might not work in the end, Scorpius being who he is and all. ;)

I'm still dabbling in Teddy/Rose as I'm not sure whether I want Rose to end the story paired up with anyone. I like Teddy a lot, but I like the idea of an independent Rose, too.

Thank you very much for your review, which wasn't at all rambling, by the way. I hope that you enjoy future chapters of this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by Ink Laden QuillWe Are But Strangers: One Should Never Tell

11th November 2009:
Ah, I love it! Your description is wonderful and Draco's thoughts are presented with much clarity. Good job! I'm really enjoying the tension between Hermione and Malfoy. I can't wait to see its breaking point. Thanks for updating and good luck on the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review - I will be updating soon (hopefully!)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ink Laden QuillArabesque: The Perfect Arabesque

3rd September 2009:
This was beautifully written. I'm speechless. It was so primal, so raw, so honest...it really hit home for me, as I'm sure it did for hundred of other readers. I can only aspire to write the way you did in this chapter.
Your ending was fitting. Hermione's narration was wonderful. I really enjoyed following along with her thoughts and emotions as she told of what happened. And that dance...God, it was all so good.
I feel like I'm going to tear up any second now. I think it's the sheer beauty, the grandeur of what you have presented us with. It's magnificent and touching.
You are one of the greatest writers I have encountered on this site and I wish you the best of luck with your work in the future. Thank you, very much, for writing this novel. It has been to all of our benefits.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ink Laden QuillGraverobbers: Graverobbers

3rd September 2009:
This was definitely an interesting story. I wasn't really sure where you were going with it, but it had a funny/slightly creepy twist in the end. All in all, though, I enjoyed reading it. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the story. Ha, ha, nice pun *twist at the end*...I never thought about it, but it actually does, literally have a twist at the end.

I'm glad you enjoyed this.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ink Laden QuillStill Delicate: Nuptial Catastrophe

28th August 2009:
Thank you. I read that ending in such awe, and now this is the only way I can think of starting off this review. Thank you so much for writing that. Where Rose talks about finally getting a drink of water after crawling the Sahara, that was us readers as well. (Well, I suppose to a lesser extent.)
That was wonderfully done. My all time favorite line is this:
"My point is you deserve someone who can dance," he says, "And I can't."
I don't know if you did this intentionally or not, but I felt there was SO much more to that line than just "dancing." The entire analogy was great. Snaps for you.

And then the fan-girl side of me loved this line:
He pulls away for a moment, as I feel my heart break, but only to turn his head to the left and start kissing me again.

Finally...finally Scorpius has done it. I was worried for a moment that you'd have Rose do it and I thought, "Ah no, she can't throw herself at him again! It has to be him!" And he did.

Ah, God. I loved it. I'm not usually one for sequels, but this is one definite exception. I'm really trying to resist just turning on the caps lock and typing random letters in an attempt at a cyber-scream, but this review will just have to end before I give in to that.

Thank you, again, for writing this chapter. Good luck on the next one!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ink Laden QuillStill Delicate: Build Up

11th August 2009:
First off, I love your new banner. It's magnificent and reflects Rose and Scorpius' relationship quite nicely.

Now for the chapter:

Ah, God...I really just want to shake them both. Rose for creating this whole mess and hurting Scorpius so much in the past. And Scorpius for not forgiving her. Man, it's weird, but I'm mainly just angry with Rose (a fictional character, yes, but what's there to do?) Scoripus' words at the end of the chapter were biting, and very harsh, but he had every right to say them, I think. That "You sound pathetic!" was brilliant. You chose the exact right words and I felt embarrassed along with her. And when that happens, I know it's excellent writing. Good job.

All in all, I really hope the best for those two. I would like to see them end up together, but at this point, I don't see how they can.

I can't wait to see your next chapter. You say it's dramatic? Well "Dramatic" is my middle name, so I'm excited to read it. Good luck!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ink Laden QuillStill Delicate: Weekend At Jenny's: Part II

1st August 2009:
Ah, I marvel at how easily you combine so many plotlines into one chapter. It's very well done the way you're tying things together.
Elections always turn out to be horrid, so I don't see why this one is going to be any exception. I can't wait to see where you take this.

As for Rose and Scorpius, I hate to sound like every other review I'm sure you've gotten, but I wish those two would just get together all ready! Haha, nah, I'm just complaining (I really do like how you're progressing the story.) I just hope it all ends up well in the end. Those two, in my opinion, are just perfect for each other.

As for your banners, I like your latest one because it has the pictures from the first one on it. The thing I loved about your first one is that on the left side you had Scorpius/Rose (Can't remember) looking directly at the camera and the other making some goofy face while that person wasn't looking...and vice versa on the other side. (And I thought that pretty much summed up their relationship.) However, I well know what it's like to be tired of a banner, so I fully support this new one. =]

Thanks for the great chapter and I wish you luck with the upcoming one.


PS. I definitely enjoyed HBP much more than I thought I would. Glad to hear you liked it, too.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ink Laden QuillAccidentally on Purpose: Of Ripped Seams

21st June 2009:
Ah, I am quite intrigued by this story. I've laughed and frowned and just about everything in between.
Janelle has great voice. I love her witty remarks and abrupt statements. She definitely makes this story fun to read.
As for where you are right now in the plot, I can only hope that both of these obstinate lovers can overcome their stubbornness and reconcile. However, without their bickering there would be little point of the story, now would there?
Alright, I've enjoyed reading these twenty chapters. It's been a wonderful use of a Sunday morning. I look forward to reading the next chapter. Good luck with it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ink Laden QuillAccidentally on Purpose: Of Fake Boyfriends and Girlfriends

21st June 2009:
Well that was mighty cute.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ink Laden QuillAccidentally on Purpose: Of Party Invitations

21st June 2009:
It’s beyond me why Sirius Black is so eager to have me attend his damn party as if it’s the Second Coming.

Hahaha, another funny one. Ah, I really like your Sirius in this story. The fact he's getting frustrated is wonderful.
As for your main girl, her awkwardness makes me blush for her sometimes. It's great.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ink Laden QuillAccidentally on Purpose: Of Flying Forks

21st June 2009:
God, you had me cracking up with this chapter. Fortunate my house is empty, otherwise I would have to enjoy this wry (and quite amazing) humor silently.
I read your description and thought I'd just read the first chapter and then go on my way. Ha, that's never what happens, is it? I'm hooked...and ready to go onto the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ink Laden QuillA Cautionary Tale: The Only Chapter

18th June 2009:
Definitely one of the best things I have ever read on this site. When I think about it, if I had never read Fan Fiction, this would make no sense to me. But since I have, I find this HYSTERICAL. So, I think I'm going to quote my favorite parts.

1. He is blond, tall, muscular, and a total misogynist with no hope of reform. It only complicates matters that Rose and Scorpius are best friends who fight constantly and call each other horrible names, but if that isn’t true love, then I don’t know what is.

2. The second part of this analogy is that Scorpius is in Gryffindor and Rose is in Slytherin. (I’m in Slytherin too—the Sorting Hat just did it to fuck with our parents.)

^I realize I may get into trouble for having an "explicative" in my review, but I'm sorry, that was too funny. I definitely got a good laugh out of that. Pretty much (in my eyes) the best line in this whole story.

3. Uncle Ron once said that if Rose dated Scorpius, he would forbid them to see each other so they would secretly get married and, in an unlikely turn of events, both commit suicide to celebrate their love.

^Ha, 'cause ya know, that's just how it goes.

4. Otto Othello has been in love with me since first year. I think it’s pretty obvious why: I wear glasses.

^Duh. No, outside of Fan Fiction, I never hear anyone ever go on and on about guys in glasses. Funny how we incorporate it to suit the characters.

5. “What a psychedelic Sorting, man…outta sight. Welcome to Hogwarts, recently Sorted firsties, and welcome back, all you other dudes. Trippy, what a trippy start of term it’s been…brings me back to the sixties.”

^YES. This HAD to happen.

6. “I can never be with her in life…but perhaps in death. I must be chivalrous like a true Gryffindor and drink the contents of this vial, which I bought from an apothecary in Knockturn Alley last summer just in case a situation like this came up.”

^Because this kind of stuff happens all the time. I've got my vial. You've got yours. Everyday concept of course.

7. And be sure to use American spelling and colloquial phrases as often as you can.”

^Nothing makes a message sink in like "color" versus "colour" and "Hey man, waddup." ;)

8. So never was there a tale of such distress, as that of Rose and her Scorpius.

^For never was there a story of more woe, than this of Juliet and her Romeo.


There's this movie from the 90s called Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure. When I read this I hear those two boys from the movie speaking in my head. Horatio is so spaced out, I love it. Your use of the vernacular was great. Felt like I was back at school again after leaving for the summer. Your (over) use of swearing really took the cake. Loved it.

As for the Shakespeare references, got a few, most definitely not all. Great job incorporating that.

I really enjoyed reading this. I hope YOU had fun writing it. =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I love reading favorite quotes. ^_^ Aha, I love Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure... Totally Keanu Reeves' best film. (In your face, The Matrix!)

Getting back on topic, I'm glad you enjoyed this insane little fic. I cannot adequately articulate how much fun this was to write & how cathartic it was for me as a cynical & cantankerous writer of fanfic.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ink Laden QuillStill Delicate: Compromise

17th June 2009:
I don't think I've reviewed since the first chapter, but I thought I'd let you know that I really, really like your story. I look forward to your (quite frequent =]) updates and love all the humor you end up working into your story. It's great.

As for this chapter, I don't really trust Daisy. I realize Rose isn't exactly the most reliable narrator, but still...I just don't like Daisy. So, I'm on my toes waiting to see how what she said ends up playing out.

On top of this, Bachelorette party? Definitely looking forward to reading that. You manage to incorporate humor into the most insignificant of scenes. I can only imagine what you can do for a scene that's actually intended for humor.

Good luck on the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ink Laden QuillTheir Dance: Their Dance

26th April 2009:
I think the best part of this one was the final meeting and the looks they gave each other before the kiss. That was marvelous. Very well described so the reader could feel the tension and almost the loneliness both of them had.

Thank you for writing such a beautiful story.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ink Laden QuillWanting Him: Wanting Him

26th March 2009:
I've decided that I love your work. I have simply fallen in love with everything I've read so far by you.
Many of the stories I have perused on this archive are driven by dialogue, whether it be witty or somber, it is what the characters say that makes the story.
You are entirely different. It's what the characters don't say. it's their actions, their thoughts, that compel us. You write the right things at exactly the right times.

"They were too close now, and it reminded her of things it shouldn't."

I very much liked this line. It was left open, as to give the reader the opportunity to use his or her own imagination, to come up with his or her own interpretation of what Hermione was thinking. We were able to substitute our own experiences and observations into the scene, not merely relying on what you have to say.

"She never thought they would win the war. But they did. She never thought she would marry Ron. But she did. And she never thought she would see Bill again. And that was undoubtedly her punishment.

Because she did."

Simply wonderful. This ship is impossible, but then it isn't. You made it work. It's entirely plausible. You kept us in suspense time after time. Twice at the burrow, one more at Shell Cottage. I wanted to see what would happen.

Well, I think I've gushed enough. Thank you for writing this. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, you are an amazing reviewer and I can only apologise for the fact that it has taken me close to a year to respond to what is truly one of the most thought-provoking and delightful reviews I have ever received. So firstly thank you for that. It's really amazing as a writer to have someone engage so much and really think about your work the way you have. I'm so glad you enjoyed it and reviewed and I hope you continue to do so! :D

- Kylie


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ink Laden QuillMy Sister's Fiancé: Chapter Five: Torn

22nd March 2009:
Ah! I can't wait to see:
A) Her tell her family (the whole family, right?)
B) Her family's reaction
C) Her sister's reaction. Yes, this is incorporated into B, but still.

Great job. Way to get my anticipation up.

Author's Response: haha. yay. :]

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ink Laden QuillDiamond.: Of Suspicion and Speculation

5th March 2009:
"...and in their timeless world they painted peace and passion and protection. Slow and steady, she seemed to become familiar yet again with the same boy, and in her mind she drowned, fascinated with how many incredible dimensions existed inside one body, one mind and one soul."

I really like the peace, passion, and protection part of that line. You managed to take a scene that normally is very amorous and tone it down to something sweet and gentle, just barely simmering. Very well done.

I am very, very happy that you have Sirius and Amelie on good terms again. Hopefully this found-again relationship will continue to prosper. But either way you decide to do it, it will be great.

And Lily. My God, what a cliffhanger, yeah? Hopefully nothing too bad. Well, maybe it'll bring her closer to James.

Great job and speedy update! I can't wait to see what you've got coming next.

Layla

Author's Response: Yay! You quoted! I miss getting quotes, but you've always been fabulous about it ;). I'm glad that so many have detected the slight shift in the Amelie/Sirius situation. You're right, it's not as urgent and rushed and mad as before, but equally strong and exciting in a way.
If it shall continue to propser, if it shall be impeded by Large, Rabid Hounds of Doom? That is the question. But sadly, I cannot reveal the answer. :D And I will hold you to that comment. hehe.
Yes, yes, I can't let go of cliffhangers, it seems. Maybe it will, maybe it won't. Maybe she's on the edge of death - attacked by Death Eaters who have been sent to Hogwarts by Voldemort in order to Kill The Mudblood. (sorry I seem to be getting carried away in my review responses today). Either way, of course you will see some James soon, no doubt about it ;)

I guess it was sort of speedy. However, I must regret to inform you that it's almost like a consolatory gift, because exams are looming and I won't have much writing time for a month or two. :-S I is sorry, readers. But there's only a few more chapters left to write, so of course it won't be abandonned, and I promise it'll all be done and wrapped up way before the end of the summer. At least, I hope. And don't hope.
Gah
Thanks so much for your review!
xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ink Laden QuillNo Words: No Words

25th February 2009:
You have a real knack for imagery. As I was reading this, my mind kept wandering to the old bookstore I like to go to every so often. Hogwarts library, as you described it, was a spitting image of this place.
Normally, it is very difficult to convey such a message as you did with little or no dialogue. Fortunately, you too have this mastered. Just following along with Hermione's thoughts was enough for me to be seated at the edge of my chair and biting my nails in anticipation. I feel like I completely understand it, which I don't, mind you, but it's a nice feeling, nonetheless.
Great writing. Thanks for providing us with such a nice story.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ink Laden QuillMagicked: Grim Old Place

22nd February 2009:
Ooooh, I like this. As I was reading this chapter I kept envisioning all these directions you could take this story. I'm excited to see which you choose!
Sirius is fantastic, to put it simply. Your characterization of him is flawless. Every time he speaks I can just hear it in my head. I could see him leaning against the kitchen door with that crooked grin on his face and glint in his eyes. My God, it's magnificent.
Now for Kate. As an original character, I think you've already got a great start with her. Three chapters in and you seem to know exactly what kind of person she is and where you want to go with her.
All in all, I can't wait to see where you take this. I think this will be GREAT. (Your writing quality is awesome, by the way. Very good flow.)
Anyway, I'm sorry to hear you lost so many of your reviews. (Same here.) This one will just be a drop in the bucket for getting them back, but just know I'll keep reading your story. I can't wait to read your next chapter!


Layla

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ink Laden QuillDiamond.: Survival of the Fittest

15th February 2009:
Oh goodness, I haven't reviewed your chapters in a while, but here I am. Again, your use of vocabulary astounds me. It's not just that. It's the sentences syntax and all your philosophical statements.
Anyway, it kills me that Amelie cannot respect herself. Her telltale line about that was a blow right into the hearts of all females.
On a lighter note, I liked how Sirius woke up and used her childhood name. It really brought back a sense of affection and innocence. Splendid, simply splendid.
Alright, five chapters, you say? I'm looking forward to them. I can't wait to see how you decide to finish this story!

Author's Response: Inky! I'd wondered where you'd gone to! Nice to see you back and well :D
Amelie's underlying self-esteem issues are only recently reappearing, more under the stress of the 'external threat' than anything, methinks.The lack of respect for herself stems from that insecurity as well as the change in her relationship with Sirius.
I'm so glad that you seem to still be enjoying it so much... and that you're still picking up on the little nuances of my writing. im not always sure if htey come through but your feedback is really great, thanks so much for it. =D
Hope to hear from you soon!
x


 Report Review

Review #24, by Ink Laden QuillMy Sister's Fiancé: Chapter Four: Reasons

22nd January 2009:
I've just read the five chapters you have up. This seems really interesting...and it's really thought provoking. I try to think of myself in this position...I don't know what I would do. It's awful to think about...so I'm interested where you are going to take this.
I'm intrigued. Can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: yay! haha. i'm really glad that you like it. and yeah, i dont know what i would do, either. haha. thanks!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ink Laden QuillHey, Fred: Hey, Fred

19th January 2009:
I read this first several months ago when I saw it was nominated for the Dobby. I was looking through my favorite list not ten minutes ago and I decided to read it again. Then I started to look through your reviews and nearly floored myself when I realized I never left one.
So this is the second time I've read it. I even emailed the link to a friend of mine to look at. I always get really cold when I read this. Really cold and I start to shiver.
Really, this is a masterpiece. You deserve every single inch of that Dobby.
I don't think I have ever read a piece of Fan Fiction that has moved me as much as Hey, Fred did.
I think when Fred died in Deathly Hallows, most everyone felt the same way. They felt the blank, 'what just happened,' 'did that really take place?" feeling. No one expected Fred to go. I believe you managed to capture what all of us were feeling and put it in a one-shot.
You really captured the scope of the tragedy and the impact it had on the Weasley family, especially George. Watching George's transition from the mourning and slightly disillusioned to the accepting and growing was fantastic. You did it and you did it well.
And that last line, my God, that last line was perfect. I especially love when things come full circle.
I probably won't forget this story. Thank you for writing it. Good luck on your future works.

Layla

Author's Response: whoa, that made my day, seriously; what an amazing review. Thank you so, so much, I'm really glad you liked it and that you think I did Fred and George justice. I really appreciate the support, thanks so much again :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>