Reading Reviews From Member: D i a
  
262 Reviews Found

Review #1, by D i aKeep Away: Motives

22nd October 2008:
Heya

Soo that was dramatic. First the first part of the chapter where the team really started to work together. I think they had it in them all along but they just needed a little push.

Oliver definitely isn't stupid, though I'm not sure his only intention with this was to get Angelina and Fred back together, I do think a part of his motive was somehow to be a bit more with Jane and a bit away from Libby. He and Libby doesn't seem to have that close a relationship and I really can't see why they're even together...

Then Jane went back to get him. Didn't I just say that? I knew it:) and I liked it! It was the right thing to do and I think he might have known she'd come back too.

About the last part of the chapter I sensed what was going to happen rather early. Maybe I have a sixth sense, or perhaps I just like to guess, but I somehow knew it was going to happen at some point. Jane's abilities on a broom would have to be tested at some point.

One thing i started thinking about though: Where are the other reserves? Jane participates in almost everything team-related, both the team building and the team meetings, but we haven't heard about any of the other reserves doing the same. Why is that?

Off I go to find a nice comfy couch and a good book, I'll be back for the last couple of chapters as soon as possible though.

/Line

Author's Response: Thanks for the review--and to answer your question, Jane is the only other reserve. Oliver wouldn't have even made her a reserve if he didn't want to spite her during the try-outs. He thinks the rest of the team is too good for reserves :) Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by D i aKeep Away: Retreat

22nd October 2008:
Hi

Oh I think this is my favorite chapter so far, they're all acting in character, at least in the character you've given them in this story, and it's just interesting to follow their relations.

Jane leaning on Oliver's stomach, it's easy to see that their relationship is progressing and they're coming a bit closer all the time, maybe because they're starting to open up towards each other and try not to be so hostile.
Still I'm glad Jane didn't abandon all her senses, but still objected against having to stay in a cold, wet tent all night. It wouldn't be her if she hadn't been mad because of it, but I still had the feeling all through the last part of the chapter that either the whole team or at least Jane would return to the tent again, maybe because she somehow feels as if she owes Oliver to work with him instead of against him now that she knows this is his dream, this is his passion. I actually think she'd do it even though she has no particular desire to stay in a cold tent, I still think she'd do it for him because Jane isn't evil. She might not like him and she might not always talk nicely to or about him, but she isn't evil and she would help him with this.

Well at least that's my opinion of her...

/Line

Author's Response: hahaha. I think you could be on to something.

 Report Review

Review #3, by D i aKeep Away: Oliver's Desperation

22nd October 2008:
Heya, back again...

It is my Review-fest project to review this entire story, and I think it's coming along quite nicely...The only problem is that after this review I technically don't have any more time to review before Monday *sigh*

I liked this chapter too, I think that Fred and Angelina are completely overreacting and are making the situation a lot worse for themselves and for the teammates, but I guess that's just how people are sometimes. The do however deserve to be yelled at for a very long time and then send to their rooms until they've learned to behave like the teenagers they are instead of five year old children.
It's a bit sad that they had to take it out on the rest of the team by completely messing up the match, and I can understand that Oliver is getting a bit frustrated, though he'd probably feel that way no matter what if his team behaved like this, I'm not sure it has anything to do directly with the situation with his father though it probably doesn't make the situation any better.

The arguing between Fred and Angelina must be really uncomfortable for the rest of them, it's really hard to figure out what to do when your friends are arguing, I've been in that situation once or twice and it definitely isn't pleasant.

Nice to see a chapter where Oliver and Jane doesn't even argue once. (At least not as far as I can remember they don't) they can be civil towards one another, and that's a good sign.
Also interesting that Jane has begun thinking a bit more about that shut-up kiss...I wonder what that can lead to...

/Line

Author's Response: lol nice review. You nailed it right on the head with the Ang/Fred situation. It's just plain awkward. And isn't it nice when Jane and Oliver don't fight?

 Report Review

Review #4, by D i aKeep Away: Really Quite Happy

20th October 2008:
I actually starting think about Jane and Rogers relationship (and I might be repeating myself here by I can't for the life of me remember if I've said all this before)
It seem a bit unsteady. They were happy together, but she kept a lot of things from him that would have been natural for her to share if they had a close relationship and other than that they didn't really seem to trust each other that much. Roger just asumed the worst as soon as he saw her at the astronomy tower. I admit it wasn't the best situation to be caught in, but he didn't have to asume she was cheating on him or whatever he thought. But okay, when he knows there are plenty of things she isn't telling him I guess it is rather hard for him to trust her completely.
Therefore the breakup between Jane and Roger was almost bound to happen, it was only a question of time.
You're quite clever when it comes to this, you know that?

I agree with the other girls that the breakup between Angelina and Fred was completely unessescary and I guess their explanation is rather logical. They did seem very happy together before Angelina suddenly freaked completely.

/Line

Author's Response: haha I like this review of yours the best. Do you know why? Because nearly all the things you just talked about are going to come up again in later chapters, especially Jane and Roger's relationship. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by D i aKeep Away: Mistletoe

20th October 2008:
Hi

Oh, I feel totally teenagy after reading this. It was a good chapter and I like having Oliver in it that much, he's a good character and I think you write him well; he makes mistakes, is sort of a git, but there's also another side to him that sometimes shows so he's really just a complex character like any real person would be. Thumbs up for that.

A bit of wine almost always helps a situation on like it did in this chapter - it's a writer's trick, I've used it myself on one occasion, but it keeps being funny and highly efficient every time. I'm glad they weren't drunk enough to do a lot of things they'll regret later, but just drunk enough to loosen up a bit and be a bit more honest with each other than they usually are.

About the Mistletoe, I would have liked them to kiss there, but I agree that it probably would be too early so you were right in having Jane burn it instead of making them kiss already. Good choice. Their relationship is definitely getting closer, but it doesn't seem yet as if they've come to the point where they realise that they're attracto to each other. Or at least Jane hasn't.

Interesting that he made her think about whether she was really happy. I'm quite sure he isn't, but if Jane isn't either, that's a good and very relevant question that I'm looking forward to discovering the answer to.

/Line

Author's Response: Again, I do love your interesting analysis. It was too early in the story for a real attraction, as you noticed. I still have plenty more plot left :) And you're right--that was the point of the wine, just to loosen up a bit instead of fighting and using ammo against one another.

 Report Review

Review #6, by D i aKeep Away: Red Wine

20th October 2008:
Heya!

To begin at the end; interesting end to the chapter. It could mean two things:
1) Roger accidentially had to go to the astonomy tower and will be pissed of because Jane is supposed to meet Oliver there or
2) Oliver actually arranged something nice for Jane and Roger as a surprise and to make up for saying all those nasty things to her.
Well, I look forward to see which one - if any - of these it'll be.

Over all I again liked the chapter because I'm a romantic who can't help but love it when their eyes meet and they dance a romantic slow dance together. Just the kind of thing I'm into, in stories that is, in reality I'm the opposite of romantic for some strange reason.

I like the fact that I can't quite figure out what Oliver is up to, he's acting sort of strange and I still have the feeling that he really likes Jane, but his behaviour is completely unpredicable and just very weird...

/Line

Author's Response: haha :) You have so many interesting ideas! Some you'll find out sooner than others...a few things are held out until several chapters ahead of now. I'm a bit of a romantic as well and after so many chapters of them hating each other and conflict up the wazoo I think a little bit of cheeseball romance is in order, don't you??

 Report Review

Review #7, by D i aKeep Away: Over Drinks

20th October 2008:
I finally managed to read through the entire chapter without being interrupted at all, which means I'm finally here to review again.

I though this a good chapter though the situation with her and Oliver being forced to shop together seemed a bit like a trick just to get them together. It could be a cliche plot twist out of un-originality or it could be that Fred and George simply have that kind of twisted humor. And I choose to believe in option number two:)

I'm glad she sort of cleared things up with both Oliver and Roger. Roger deserved better than to be yelled at and kept outside of her personal life and it was a good thing that she realised she hadn't been fair towards him. My respect for her as a character just grew a bit with that realization.

I feel bad for Alicia though, being the only one without a boyfriend isn't easy especially if the other girls talk about their boys constantly. The situation, however, seems very realistic and at that age it means the world to have a boyfriend and he's the best conversation topic in the world, no matter who you're talking to;)

All in all a good chapter!

/Line

Author's Response: haha you're right about option #2. None of the characters have any interest in getting them "together", Fred and George just thought it would be funny and they're sick of the pair of them fighting all the time. And I'm glad you're back to review--I wondered where you went haha.

 Report Review

Review #8, by D i aKeep Away: Click Click Boom

13th October 2008:
Hi

So things are picking up now with both Roger and Oliver. I can understand that she got mad at Oliver for drawing out things for so long and then using personal information about herthat way, it made him act like a five year old and at that point he did deserve the slap he got. However, I do think that she acted unfair towards Roger, but as it's human to make mistakes she of course should do that sometimes, but in my eyes she was overreacting and taking her anger out on the wrong person.
It is probably that what Oliver said earlier about Roger using all the personal information against her kind of stuck with her and now she's crippled by it in her relationship with Roger even though she doesn't want to let Oliver have abny influence on that. I can understand that Roger finds it weird that they never talk about Quidditch when it's so important in both of their lives; Roger because he plays himself and Jane because all her friends play and she's a reserve, they should find a way to discuss the subject without revealing confident material about their respective teams.
A complicated situation.

More or less random thought: Interesting that Oliver of all people chose to describe Roger that way, when he himself is doing that exact thing he warned Jane that Roger would do, using the personal information against her...Is he warning her against himself or is his imagination limited to warning her about something he can in some way relate to? Does he know something about Roger that Jane doesn't?
Interesting question...

/D i a

Author's Response: You're picking up on quite a lot, and you have a good point about Jane overreacting toward Roger. She did just that--could you imagine having that many emotions going through your body at one point? And then again, it's Jane. She's an emotional ball of crazy. And yeah, it is interesting that Oliver is warning her about Roger when he does the same thing...

 Report Review

Review #9, by D i aKeep Away: A Great Problem

13th October 2008:
Hey...

Judging by your answers to my reviews it seems as if you've gotten the wrong impression of my feelings for this story: I'm sorry if that's the case and if I've expressed myself in a wrong way, I really like this story and half of what I write in my reviews are just musings about the caracters and actions of the story, not things I actually want you to change. Just thought I'd clear that up first:)

I see the dilemma in catching the snitch early in the game, a good detail to incorporate, and maybe even a chance for Jane to get to play sometime, because her team would like to play a bit too? It's an option, but as mentioned I don't really know where you're going with this...

There must be something inside Jane too that doesn't exactly hate Oliver, or else she wouldn't have come to the hospital wing to check up on him, subconsciously or not.

/D i a

Author's Response: I agree, I did get the wrong idea by some of the wording, but I'm glad you like the story. It was just the wording. And you're right, the snitch-catching early in the game is very important to close to the end of the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by D i aKeep Away: Ammo

12th October 2008:
Heya

Just a more or less random question; Shouldn't she have a big bruise on her chin where Oliver kicked her? What did she do with that if she's running around in a tiny costume?

I'm amazed she's telling him all that personal stuff about her family, especially because she doesn't like him, that must be as she states later on in the chapter; a mistake. I don't know if he's gathering ammo at the moment, because if he's really into her it wouldn't help his position to hurt her by spreading rumors or whatever he might do. Maybe dating Libby is part of his master plan? Is he just trying to use the same trick as Jane is and make her jealous by dating another girl, or could he really go that deep under his standards? I do think that even though he might be a bit of a git, he's still not completely stupid and should have brain enough to choose an at least somewhat intelligent girlfriend. There is something suspicious about this situation.

/D i a

Author's Response: There is always something suspicious with Oliver Wood I think. As for the bruise, I'm sure there was probably a little one on her shin. It was dark at the party so I'm sure no one noticed. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by D i aKeep Away: The Last Costume

12th October 2008:
I can believe he kicked her! What kind of thing is that to do, honestly? Who kicks a girl over her chin? If he was mad at her he could just yell and tear out his hair, but kick her like that made him seem like he was five years old and having a tantrum because his mommy wouldn't allow him to eat candy just before dinner. Men are so illogical at times.

But he's in love I can see that rather clearly. The signs are clear enough for a blind man to see, but I'm guessing Jane doesn't want to see them, as it's so completely obvious she couldn't possibly miss them unless she tried. Both the 'love hurts' comment and the 'tell me about your family' comment are obvious signs, he's trying to be the one thing she told him he wasn't.

What I wonder now is who went through Roger's stuff and what did the person steal. Somehow I think it was Oliver because he's clearly jealous of Roger, because Jane likes him, but on the other hand I have no idea what he'd gain from going through Roger's stuff. He probably doesn't have something Oliver doesn't, so it makes no sense if it was him. I guess that question will be answered at some point.

I loved that Jane had to go as the slutty nurse, and that it wasn't actually a secret fantasy of hers;) I do think many girls says they would never do such a thing, but at the bottom of their hearts they all want to know what it really feels like to have all the boys staring at you because you look gorgeous. She doesn't seem to enjoy it that much other than the time she's with Roger, and I guess he likes the costume just fine;)

If you haven't guessed I'm liking the story:)

/D i a

Author's Response: Glad you like the story considering the first review. Jane is more...more always thinking of the past and the negatives regarding a situation. You'll get more of this of course. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by D i aKeep Away: Arrogant Ellis

12th October 2008:
Hey

I can see that the plot is sort of starting to form now, though I don't have it all figured out just yet;) Which is probably a good thing, otherwise the next twelve chapters would probably be rather boring to read.

I don't know what Roger's true intentions are they could be that he only wants inside information from the team in order to make is own team win, or it could just be that he likes Jane. What indicates that his intentions aren't all good is the randomness of their first meeting. They didn't seem to know each other though he still asks her 'out' and it seemed a bit too random if it really was the case that he actually liked her. But then again sometimes things just happen in the strangest ways.

About Janes intentions I'm not quite sure either. She could be accepting Roger's invitation just because she know Wood wouldn't like it, or because he said she shouldn't and she wants to oppose his order by going out with Roger anyway. From the bright side she could also just like the idea of a boy actually noticing her...

Hope you enjoyed my little analysis;)

/D i a

Author's Response: Interesting analysis. There are several different ways this could go, though I can't answer it because it is still not really answered though I am currently writing chapter 17.

 Report Review

Review #13, by D i aKeep Away: In the Air and the Wing

12th October 2008:
Hiya.

I love the way Fred and George talk about her while she's flying, commenting on her shoes and hair. It seems very much like the way they usually talk to Ron and the rest of their family, though I don't know how close their relationship with Jane is.

You just proved to me that Jane is actually human, and it really made me like her: She asked if Oliver's broom was all right after her rash dive. That put her in my good book, at least for a while.

My creeping suspicion that Oliver doesn't hate Jane as much as she hates him is getting stronger. It was a give-away that he stayed with her in the infirmary even though the technically didn't have to. He could have just checked up on her a couple of times. Either that means he doesn't dislike her or else he's really just being human and feeling a little guilty for his trick almost killing her, that could be the case too.

And the he almost pulls her out of Davies arms. He's so clearly jealous I almost feel sorry for him. I wonder when Jane is going to guess it...Also quite a lame excuse that her friends wanted him to find her. Her friends must know that she can take care of herself. They might want to know what she's doing, but if that's the case they'll just ask her. He's not really a convincing liar.

But I'm looking forward to seeing what Fred and George's plan is so I'll skip to the next chapter:)

/D i a

Author's Response: Fred and George are nearly as close to Jane as the girls are. They are in the same year and have gone to school together for six years. And yeah, they're both relatively human. That's what I was going for. It's not really supposed to be a mystery novel with a twist at the end. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by D i aKeep Away: Perry Practice

12th October 2008:
Hi again!

A comment on her outburst in the middle of the common room; either she has serious problems with her temper and really, really, really hates Oliver or else I wouldn't find it realistic that she went screaming and yelling in such a public place where her outburst can be heard by completely strangers. (Though I'm guessing their dislike of each other is sort of famous among the Gryffindors?)

I don't quite understand why Wood would want to help her get better at flying before the try-outs if he doesn't even like her. Is there something we don't know here or did he just feel a sadistic pleasure telling somebody about her secret?
By the way; the 'conversation' between the two flowed pretty well, and it really illustrated the balance of power between them.

"We called an emergency practice but we told Oliver that Alicia would fill in!” - good one. It's really nice to see this close relationship between the girls, and their conversations seem so natural because they talk and tease each other like any pair of friends would do.

"Wood I'm going to break it." - "I didn't think you hated me that much!" - Brilliant! Funny!
But I do find it a bit suspect that he lends her his broom, his beloved and undoubtedly expensive and important broom. He lends it to a person whom he doesn't even like. Or is supposed to like. Suspect, I'm telling you! (But in the best possible way)

I liked this chapter, as you can see by my comments and I will therefore move on to chapter three now:)

/D i a

Author's Response: Her outbursts are just part of her character. I guess you'll see that as you go along. She has quite the temper--but usually in regards to him because they've been doing this for so long Jane doesn't really care how public it is. There is a reason Oliver lends her his broom.

 Report Review

Review #15, by D i aKeep Away: Spreading the Word

12th October 2008:
Hi my fellow 'Claw!

Well I'm planning to kick-start the review-fest by looking at your story here, I guess you won't mind that;)

This first chapter was okay. Not great, but not bad either. It was a nice way to be introduced to the characters and the central issues in the story, and it seems you got around all the important persons here. With that said I do think the plot (at least what is clear of it in this chapter) seems a bit bland, like it has been done quite a few times before, often in Sirius/OC. Let it be said that I don't really mind reading this kind of story, but that part of it just isn't completely original.

There are many stories out there where the two main characters hate each other and fights all the time but somehow still ends up together with lots of obstacles along the way.
Because of that I won't judge this first chapter that hard, because I believe that it still has a great potential as a story because it seems well-written and edited, and the characters are still interesting ones.

Bonus information: I've never read a Oliver/OC before so I'm new to the genre:)

/D i a

Author's Response: I've actually never read Sirius/OC and I've never heard of a story where the character cannot fly and has to lie to everyone about it. But I'll take your word for it. Thanks so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by D i aWhat It Is To Burn: Why Does It Always Rain On Me?

10th October 2008:
Heya!

Well-chosen title you have for this chapter. It seems to pretty much sum up everything that is going on in it, from not listening to Slughorn to making Lily want to murder James. But some of it might be her own fault as she could have listened to Slughorns long and boring rant, so it's absolutely understandable that her mind started to wander some place in the process.

Also Eleanor just seems like the person to sometimes drift off a bit, that could have something to do with the fact that she doesn't have any friends, so she isn't that used to having to stay focused on a speech that doesn't have anything to do with a school lesson. Though I'm still not sure what role she has in class, she could be a rather serious student because she doesn't have much else to spend her time doing now she doesn't have any friends, but she could also just be the kind of person who drifts of no matter what.
But I'm starting to ramble so I'll proceed to the next chapter.

/D i a

 Report Review

Review #17, by D i aWhat It Is To Burn: Glass Ceiling

10th October 2008:
Hey.

You’ve certainly avoided quite a bunch of the Mary Sue traits in your character. The self irony is becoming more and more common around the site, but I don’t think I’ve ever read a fic where the main character was talking about dried drool on her cheeks. That’s original! It’s also just nice to hear about her doing so many normal things, as it’s a great way to really get to know her character and what she does in certain situations and how she relates to other people.

I wonder what has made her want to become so invisible to others? Has she put on this cloak of invisibility as a protection from the world around her because it has harmed her in some way? Is it because no one has ever wanted to be her friend so it’s easier to pretend she’s the one who wants to be alone? Does she suffer from socialfobia?

I have the feeling that what Slughorn wants to talk to Eleanor about at the end of this chapter is that Potter has some strange excuse to be with Lily for the potions project and then Eleanor has to be with Sirius because they’re trading partners. I don’t know who’ll like that arrangement the most, Lily or Eleanor.
But it’s only a guess and I’ll see what it really is in the next chapter:)

/D i a

 Report Review

Review #18, by D i aWhat It Is To Burn: Pretty Handsome Awkward

9th October 2008:
Hi again,

Maybe Eleanor is complaining that she was the one who heard this bit of information but I do think the two lovebirds should be glad it was her and not someone else, Eleanor is probably one of the few people who won’t use this information for her own good or as blackmail.

She must also be one of the luckiest persons in the world running into the one person she’s supposed to avoid by all means. But he’s acting very nice towards her so she shouldn’t be complaining too much. I rather like their little interaction, it seems to flow very well and it just works for the story.
But typical for that kind of situation it just gets worse and worse as time goes. Of course its very nice that Sirius is trying to remember her name, but now is just not the time for her to be seen anywhere near him. I feel sorry for her;)

I know I’ve read this part before, but as I re-read it half of what was happening felt as if I’d never heard it before…strange.

/D i a

 Report Review

Review #19, by D i aWhat It Is To Burn: The Light That Blinds

9th October 2008:
Hey!

I don’t remember if I ever got around to reviewing this before the site trouble began, but no matter what that review would be gone by now, so I’ll write you a new one.

I liked the way you started this chapter and the story. And she really has a good point, when you’re in the middle of something like a book or an assignment it sometimes seems as though people think you can’t hear a thing. I can easily relate to this situation.

It’s a bit sad the people don’t remember her name, but to me she seems like the kind of person who doesn’t mind that not everybody knows who she is. It might not hurt if she had a few friends, but she doesn’t need to be known throughout the school.

To bad that Miss Matthews is so aware of her own power, she just steps on Eleanor several times ad doesn’t even seem to notice that it’s actually another human being she’s talking to. It’s sad but those people do unfortunately exist, probably at Hogwarts too. And I’m glad she isn’t a Slytherin! Some authors seem to think that only Slytherins can act condescending and like royalty, and that isn’t correct, there are probably more of that type in Slytherin but people from the other houses can act like that too. What I’m saying is that I’m glad you didn’t go for the stereotype.

/D i a

 Report Review

Review #20, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Twenty One: Setback

8th October 2008:
Hiya.

What is Draco thinking disappearing just before a match? I didn’t expect thaqt of him. I expected him to at least be decent enough to keep up his facade in front of everyone and paly this match with his friends. Then he can avoid Hermione all he wants afterwards. He must have known their team would be in trouble without a Seeker. Boys!

I really don’t understand him. Not even after she talked to him does things make sense to me. Why would he want to disappear? Was it just to hurt her or was it to show off her real talent at Quidditch? It seems he contradicts himself all the time. He says he doesn’t hate her but still he puts her in this awkward position without being sorry about it. I do hope there’s some explanation to this behavior somewhere in the next chapter, because i still just don’t understand him at all. I feel bad for Hermione who must be even more confused that I am about the whole situation, but I do believe that if she could win the race against the Slytherins, then she can also play Seeker and possibly win over Harry. Though I think his selfconfidence will suffer if she does, and it could possibly cause quite a bit of trouble in their friendsship and with the other gryffindors if she not only caught the snitch but also helped the slytherin team to victory over her own house.

*Rant over*

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: Heya.

Dia, yes I'm finally answering your reviews!! Yeyy I hear her cry. loll, ***puts another Enya track on for energy*** Right, where are we with this?

I know, boys. Draco should not be disappearing, and what is he up to?? Well, you'll just have to read on and find out. It would have been a nice thing to do ( or at least halfway decent ) to keep up his facade in front of his friends. He's really confused with this whole thing, and is trying not to show it but it's not working. However ***taps nose*** he does have a reason for behaving the way he is. All I'm saying is his disappearance might not be for no reason, although you've probably read that by noww!!

Draco is probably about the most puzzling character in this story, aside from Hermione but at least she can tell the reader what she's thinking, whereas Draco simply goes off on tangents of thinking without any solid resolutions. Men!! Oh, I can assure you that Hermione is more confused about you then the situation but in another way, she does know how Draco works and so can kind of grasp how he's acting. Oh yes, that is a big point and one which I hadn't thought of in my previous accounts. loll, you know I love your ranting, Dia!!

Thanks for the review, onto the next!

***Reply finished***

***Hugs***
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #21, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Twenty: Race

8th October 2008:
Hey

Then another of my free periods is being used for reading your stories. You should thank my teachers for not giving us too many assignments or I wouldn’t have time to write all these wonderful reviews for you;)

”Was he really going to deny his acceptive feelings forever? No, it wasn't possible. No one could possibly do that” – I really think Hermione is wrong here. I believe Draco could ignore his feelings forever simply because it’s what’s the easiest and because he’s too much of a coward to really tackle all the problems it would cause if he was to accept his feelings. But i think you’re right that Hermione would think like this.

(There’s an annoying teacher running around with a camera taking pictures of everything right now! It wouldn’t be that great if a picture of me reviewing fanfiction was to be posted on the school website…*shrugs*)

Lovely little game of blackmail Hermione is playing with the Slytherins. I think she’s starting to thoughen up. She needs to be able to stand up for herself in a crowd like that or they’ll walk right over her without even noticing they’re stepping on her.
The poor confused Draco, so full of contradictions. I find it cute that he cheered for her, even without wanting to. But i fear that if he and Hermione were ever to have a relationship it wouldn’t be a very balanced one, because Hermione seem to know all the right words to say and how to come out on top of every situation with him. He might have been on top in the beginning, but after they’ve gotten to know each other it seems as if Hermione has the strongest cards. Yes i know he can hurt her by saying ugly things and making her feel absolutely worthless, but she can make him feel guilty an make him want to be a better person. She scares the hell out of him most of the time because she knows things about him he hasn’t even realised yet or doesn’t want to realise at all. But who knows if they’ll ever be a couple of if they’ll keep dancing around each other not knowing what to feel or do.

There’s definitely something to think about with this story, which can only be said to be a good thing.

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: Hey Dia, doesn't that just happen? :) I always come first. I will one day go up and thank your teachers personally ;) I love your reviews, and I'm only sorry that I wasn't able to reach these reviews sooner. You knew I was going to answer them though, so it's all good.

It's a curious take on what Hermione's thinking. I personally believe there would be room for Draco to improve, but I'm not sure. Ha ha, you don't know whether I'm taking you for a ride here. I could fully agree with you, and that's why Draco and Hermione's issues are so complicated ;) I will leave that to you to decide. I can be a sneaky missy!! Draco isn't one to stand up to his feelings at all, so I do understand, perhaps he is facing them or perhaps he isn't? Does he like her, doesn't he??

(ek, perhaps you should review this later!! Or it would be a really good way to show new students a great way to practise their writing.)

Yes, Hermione is using her blackmail techniques to make the Slytherins realise what they're doing is wrong, and unjustifiably horrible. Her power is to allow them to see what bad points they have inside, and subconsciously let them change or redeem even by just a smidge. Smidge, I like that word!! ;) Draco is terribly, terribly confused. There would be nobody else would be more so in this story. Everything that he's been brought up to believe in, had just been shattered by Hermione. He is absolutely hatefully fascinated by her, and that's why everything's such a muddle. He wanted to cheer for her so he did, but he didn't want to want to, if that makes sense? Well, we might see them have a relationship, we might not. It depends on what's on the road for these two students . . . . . and it's not as though I'm going to say anything. :) They bounce off eachother. On the one hand, their relationship could be soon to be incredibly unhealthy because they're always making one another uneasy, or it could be seen as a really healthy, productive one because everything that they do to one another is developing their oulook on the other. Um, I don't think I'm going to make this reply as long as your review, I'm trying . . . . what else have you said? The 'dancing around eachother' quote kind of mirrors what I said in the above.

Thanks, Line. I'm going to reply to your others now.

**hugs**
Rachel



 Report Review

Review #22, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Nineteen: Buffet

8th October 2008:
Hey…
I just realized exactly how many chapters I have missed of this story, but I’ll read and review them all now, don’t worry I haven’t disappeared completely. Last week I did though, I was in Istanbul with school, so that could be why I’ve been a bit too busy to read and review in the meantime.

Just a fun little thing that Draco checks his sleeve to see if he has anything up it. That would be something Ron would do. But I guess it just because it’s somehow easy to forget that Ron and Draco have grown up in a wizard society so they aren’t used to the muggle saying. A good and funny detail.

So the real reason he arranged for the rest of them team to meet her was that he wanted to show them how good a played he’d turned her into? Or perhaps just a hidden pride that she’s actually good and he’s proud of that because he likes her?

Halfway through the chapter-thought: wouldn’t it be cool if they suddenly kissed and then at the exact moment the rest of the team appeared on the court? That would be so typical…

Just a thing I suddenly thought about; you seem to make your characters giggle all the time, but they never laugh. Do you have something with that word? My characters never giggle, but they often laugh. Just a sort of random thing I noticed.

He didn’t really save the ‘doing stuff, not so ugly’ comment even though he tried to pull it back afterwards. It was halfhearted. Draco you’re loosing grip.

Well, the kissing thing didn’t happen. Probably a good thing too, as it would have caused a lot of trouble if they’d been found kissing on the quidditch pitch when he’s supposed to hate her and the other way around. Though I do think he’s getting there. We’ll have to wait and see though.

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: You apologise too much, that's my thing!! :) loll. Don't worry about it. I mean, for example how many months did it take for me to answer these wonderful reviews, and you have 6!!

Pleased you think that was a good, funny detail cause I can't remember it. I know where you're coming from, but I need to look back somehow. :) Draco and his 'up the sleeve' quote, yes I will have to check...

Could be it, not saying though. ***taps nose*** (Ok, this isn't anything to do with the story, but our house is making really strange noises!!) Anyways, back to the reply. Yes, Draco might be covering something up, but we'll see. As I'm on chapter twenty nine now, you're going to find out v soon. ;)

That would have been really cool, wish I'd thought of it. I wish I'd thought of that, although I spose I could do a similar thing, just don't know how. I'll give it a think... as for the kissing thing? You take it, you thought of it.

ha ha I know, Draco is losing his grip.

Oh, I wish I had written that scene. Oh well. There'll be other times like I said. Thanks so much for leaving these reviews. They really help a lot, and I appreciate the criticism whe you make it, I just find it hard to take as I've always been like that.

**hugs**
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #23, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Eighteen: Befuddlement

8th October 2008:
Hiya!
Draco has definitely come a long way by now. I was surprised when I saw him actually wondering what would have happened if he’d ended up in Gryffindor. I think that really sums up how much he has changed over the period described in this story.

I guess he’s also softening up a bit when it comes to his feelings towards Hermione. Both the he “wants her to come tonight” and because he’s going through all this trouble to do something special for their last practice. He’s acting almost considerate. It seemed to take Hermione off guard though it really shouldn’t have, she had seen past his façade already.

It was a bit strange to hear Draco calling Montague ‘sir’ I don’t think it fitted, but perhaps the slytherins care a bit more about authorities than the Gryffindors do (I never heard harry call Wood ‘sir’) but still between young people it just seemed a bit wrong. Perhaps because where I come from no one calls anyone sir, here we talk directly to people almost no matter who we’re addressing.

And now because there was food in this chapter I’m even hungrier than when I started reading it. *Sigh* But it was a good chapter though.

The review turned out a bit on the small side, but I hope you'll survive anyway;)

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: Hiya!
Draco has definetely come a long way by now. Oh no, I would never think he could become as good in this as to have gone in the opposite house, but I still think he's doing really well, considering.

A little. He is understanding a bit more about what's going on but then not completely. He knows he wanted her to show, but doesn't know why and is becoming tangled in webs of confusion. That should be the one word to define this fanfiction, 'confusion.'

I can remember that part. Draco was just calling him sir because he was being polite (a rare occasion I know) but also because he knows that if he wasn't decent to Montague, he would probably be taken off the team. ;) He has his secrets.

loll, sorry aboot that (Hagrid voice) but you should go and have something to munch.

Small? This wasn't small!! Most people only do a couple of lines, which is amazing, but you and your big reviews is also amazing. There's no competition. I appreciate everyones, however big or small they are.

**hugs**
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #24, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Seventeen: Denial

8th October 2008:
Hi again!

Oh my, Hermione is just seriously screwed! What is she thinking first being mad at Draco and annoyed at him and then running off to kiss Ron. Not only have I never liked the whole Ron/Hermione thing, but what’s more it’s probably the stupidest thing she could do when her feelings are so mixed up. I just know she’s going to regret it or something will go completely wrong here. I know it!

Ron in some ways is just so pathetic compared to Draco that he doesn’t stand a chance in an argument. He problem is probably also that Ron looses his head while Draco stays cool. His apology is very ewell-structured and he seem to hit the right notes with it. Which again must mean that he actually has a conscience because he knows what to apologize for, and that must mean he knows with which words he really hurt her.

What a rollercoaster of emotions for Ron also, I actually feel sorry for him. First Hermione kiss him and then five minutes after she storms up with his arch enemy laughing and having a pleasant conversation. He must be completely confused the poor boy.

I like how you also show Hermione’s independence; she wants to try out the Quidditch trick herself and she has confidence in the fact that she can do it.

“Good, now please, stop looking at me as though you want me to die, and listen.” HAHAHA…good one Draco!

And then she ends up leaving without giving him a chance to explain the truth anyway… not the most clever thing to do when she just asked for the truth. I can understand that she’s confused because Draco are sending very mixed signals and I can understand that he’s confused because Hermione are sending such clear signals that she likes him though he feels that she shouldn’t at all. Maybe he also senses all the trouble he’d have to face if they were to become a couple, he’d have to deal with Harry, Ron, the gryffindors and most importantly his parents. He’d actually have to fight wholeheartedly for something and with his coward tendencies I’m not sure he can take up that challenge. But we’ll see what happens in future chapters.

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: Oh my!

I know. Hermione is also completely confused, but not as much as Draco. :) She knows that what she did was wrong, but can't help it. I think she's doing the distracting technique well, but she shouldn't be doing it in the first place is the point. I'm disappointed in her, but I know why she's doing it. Ironically, I'd probably be doing the same if I was in a stage of denial. I hope that something doesn't go wrong here, but as I know what's going to happen, I'm going to back out of this for now, even though you've probably already read that chapte by noww.

Yes, Draco is the King of Smooth. I think that's why he's so cunning, and is able to effect Hermione the way that he does. Or if he's affecting her ar all. Ron and Draco are kind of smilar on the whole, coming out with rubbish scale in the most uneasy of situations.

I know, Ron doesn't seem to do things right, and it always comes back to hit him in the face. :( He's a good soul is our Ron, he just does things in really strange ways. He is confused, well, everyone is. ;)

loll, I loved writing that!! Thanks.

I know, it's a twist of all and everything in this story which is probably why people like it actually, there's a lot of unanswered questions that never ever ever seem to be answered, but they will be. I wouldn't write something this far, and not. I know I have answered things anyway, but not to an extent I should have. **Urrr, just watching 'The Hills Have Eyes' at the same time as replying to this** Yuck!! As for the couple issue, perhaps they will perhaps they won't?

**hugs**
Rachel


 Report Review

Review #25, by D i aCavalier: Quidditch Under The Stars: Chapter Sixteen: Enough

8th October 2008:
Hi Snitchy
I’m not sure I got around to reviewing this before the crash, no matter what I’d be gone anyway by now, so I’ll write a new one for you.

It’s lovely to see Hermione standing up for herself and showing that she’s not just a weak little girl who’ll let herself be manipulated by Draco. She steps into character here and I like that. It was getting scary when she started wearing makeup (and even having a name for each specific look!) though I do think it was quite realistic that she would do that, as I’m not sure she knows how to impress a boy like Draco. Then she chooses to play on what she’s seen work for the other girls Draco seem to somewhat like, and therefore she chooses to play on her beauty – that’s also speaking in a language that Draco can understand. But it’s still nice to know that she hasn’t completely lost herself in her attempt to get Draco. Just punch away Hermione!

Then I wanted to say something about Draco. And then I forgot it. And then I remembered again! What I wanted to say was that you seem to have understood something very crucial about his personality that many others (including myself who often choose to ignore the fact) forget or to ignore; Draco is basically a coward. He’s been portrayed as a coward several times during the HP books but all us idealists and romantics choose to ignore that because it makes him a more appealing character. But bottom line is that he is a coward and he shows that in this chapter by not wanting to take a confrontation with Hermione or even with his own emotions regarding her.

*Hugs*
Line

Author's Response: Hey Di!
Oh no matter, this time I'm going to make a backup of your reviews because I lost half of them last time, and more. I had more then a hundred and lost them!! :( Won't be doing that again.

It was really important that Hermione stood up for herself because it showed that she isn't just a weak, little girl and I wanted to make this absolutely clear by showing that she can put on makeup and be confident. Yes true. Hermione has never been in this position before and so she tries to make an impact on him as she's realised that Draco means quite a lot to her. lol, 'punch away Hermione' I like that quote. Sorry, as this is the last review I'm replying to, it's not going to be very long.

Draco... oh yes. Yes, he's a coward. That's a very important thing to remember in fanfic, even though it is that, fanfic. To make a distincion though, I usually write Draco as the opposite when I have him as a psycho or something. (Always funn) and I think if he hadn't been a coward, he might have done a lot more crueller things to Harry. Ha ha haaa there I go again, me and my love for their hatred!!

Hope these replies have been satisfactory. :) **Goes back to watching The Hills Have Eyes.**

**hugs**
Rachel



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>