Reading Reviews From Member: grednforge217
  
151 Reviews Found

Review #1, by grednforge217Awaken: Awaken

24th July 2014:
Wow. This could be expanded out into a whole novel. It's so good. I thought it was a little rushed at the end, but its because you had a lot of information to share in not a lot of space. Seriously, though, I was entirely absorbed by this story. I had to keep reading about Nora and her family and magic, I mean, what a point of view! You are blisteringly talented. I don't know if that's the proper word, but it's how I feel after reading your stories. Just as if I've been transported, and seared by your characters. Nora will stay with me, and so will this wonderful story. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #2, by grednforge217Turn to Stone: (let's take a better look beyond a storybook)

24th July 2014:
What a beautiful idea. I really enjoyed the way that it unfolded, and I loved the concept of being named after two of the kindest characters in the HP verse. I really feel like Luna and colin would be the ones to notice these statues. I am so glad that you wrote this. It is such a romantic, gorgeous concept and you are so good at it. It was a pleasure reading it. 10/10..

 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217a slow shattering: the mirror thrown to the ground

22nd July 2014:
OH My Goodness, this is perfect. You are a wonderful, wonderful writer. I love Lavender Brown, and to be honest, most people make her seem crazy in other fanfics, but you turning around and MAKiING her crazy (in the stereotypical sense) is so perfect. Wow. Everything about this, from the title to the writing to the concept, is just wow. Perfect. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Oh, I'm so sad that this story is over. It was incredible, and I honestly teared up a bit at the ending. Rose and the rest of the Claws feel like the kind of people I wish that I would have been friends with had I gone to Hogwarts. I was actually extremely proud of them when they all got their NEWTs, especially Rose! And Lester too. Well, all of them. I'm glad that you're not abandoning them entirely, as that would be too sad for me. I look forward to more from you and them. Please keep writing, you are so prodigiously talented!

 Report Review

Review #5, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: the spirit of fred weasley [or] exit, pursued by a bear

8th July 2014:
NOOO! I'm so sad that this story is ending, but I guess good things can't last forever. I'm glad that NEWTs are over for everyone, and the kids can finally have some fun!!! The exit, pursued by a bear thing was flawless. Holly is so incredibly clever, I love her!!! The last prank was incredible as well, the Claws completely deserve it. I don't know if I've mentioned this before, but the fact that James owns a bar is my favorite thing probably ever. It fits him perfectly, and I'm glad that you didn't make James a Quiddich player or a quivering wreck which seems like its a theme in most James-centric stories. Anyhow, I am so excited for the final chapter of this wonderful story. Thanks so much for writing it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xix. the calm before the storm [or] regroup; onward

7th July 2014:
Yes! Finally an update! I've been checking and I was so excited to be able to read this chapter finally! Ugh, yes, okay. Onto the actual review. First of all, YAY FOR HERMIONE FOR PUTTING THOSE BOYS IN THEIR PLACE. I hate how kids like this just get off on the 'boys will be boys excuse'. No, I am so done with that. I'm glad that you didn't cart those boys off the Azkaban, because as horrible as it was what they did, I don't think that they deserve that. Well, I do and I don't. But storywise, I think it would sort of kill the mood of one of the Weasley's went off to jail. I also think that Louis just sort of needs a wakeup call of some kind. Some big shake. So that's good for him, I guess. Also, super glad that Albus and Scorpius got back together officially this time! And poor Holly! I know how hard it gets to measure up to your own expectations. I love the mother/daughter interactions that are going on here with Rose and Hermione. I can totally see Hermione as a mom like this. I can't wait for your next update, and wonderful job!!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217Pomegranate Summers: I

7th July 2014:
Oh wow. I know you wrote this quite a while ago, but I love Hermione/Krum stories, and there are so few where they are the leading couple. Excellent job, and I do hope that you pick this one up again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by grednforge217Love and War : Summer Love

6th July 2014:
Oh, gosh, do I love a Hermione/Krum story. I love this one. What a great job you've done with the characterizations. Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #9, by grednforge217Connect the Dots: hermione

6th July 2014:
Wow. What an incredible story.
I've never known how to feel about Hermione and Krum, simply because there really isn't so much in canon, when you look at it. I like the two as individuals a great deal, and I appreciate Krum for giving Hermione her first "boyfriend experience". I appreciate his kindness, and his modesty. But I'm not sure I really love them together. It's a complicated thing. I like them together, but, as you put so eloquently here, there's alway Ron. Ron's always been in the background for Hermione, and always will be. I love how you put it, and wish, wish that they could have gotten together, but thanks to your lovely piece, I understand why I cannot ship them wholeheartedly. Because there's always Ron.

Again, wonderful work. So sorry for the rant,

 Report Review

Review #10, by grednforge217Statue of Us: Summer, 1978

6th July 2014:
Hey! I'm really enjoying this story. To be honest, I've been burned out on Marauders stories recently because a lot of them feel the same, but yours is so wonderful and unlike the rest of them that I had to comment. I love the rapport between the boys, it's perfect. Also sensing a bit of Wolfstar, which is not unwelcome. :)
All in all, very good job, and I'm looking forward to more of this.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it - especially if you've gone a bit off Marauders recently, it's so flattering to know this is an exception! Yes, there's definitely some Wolfstar in this story. Lots of Wolfstar, actually. Thanks for the review and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #11, by grednforge217Staying Strong: Classes with the Carrows

3rd July 2014:
Hi, this is a very interesting story, I like Ginny a lot. However, I do have an issue with Neville using the word B***h. He doesn't use language like that and to be honest, it sounded really out of character for him.

 Report Review

Review #12, by grednforge217Silhouette : Silhouette

26th June 2014:
Wow, this was so good. So many people do a Sirus/OC in the Marauders era, but this idea is so unique. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #13, by grednforge217Have a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

23rd June 2014:
Oh, I love this so much. Most of the works about Lupin are when he's in school or when he's with Tonks, and there aren't so many about Harry's Third Year. So I love this so much. Especially with McGonagall. Lupin was such an incredible teacher, and I never thought about what his relationship with McGonagall would be like, really. This is so perfect that I'm accepting it as canon. Love your stories, as always :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Lupin and McGonagall are my favourite characters in the entire series - they're both incredible teachers and incredible people and I just love them, hence this story. Headcanon status is high praise indeed, thank you! And as always thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by grednforge217New Zealand Export: To Athens

21st June 2014:
This is so great! I loved the original Southern Cross story, and it's very cool to read more about the characters that I enjoyed so much. Also, super cool the way that you are fleshing out the Wizarding World beyond Hogwarts. I often forget that there is one (well, besides Durmstrang and Beaxbatons), and yours is probably the most convincing I've read by far, so well done! Also, love hearing about New Zealand. Never been, but this is making me want to go so badly!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I had great fun writing Southern Cross back in 2011 - pure self indulgence, of course, and patriotism - and exploring the wizarding world outside Hogwarts/the UK is incredibly rewarding and allows free reign for creativity. New Zealand is amazing, and you should definitely come here sometime!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

21st June 2014:
Obviously, I'm thrilled that Albus and Scorpius have gotten back together! I love Rose, she is just such an interesting perspective, and it's a marvelous take on her character. I also love, love, love the way that you're dealing with anxiety in this fic. I've forgotten to say it, but the way that you address it is so perfect, and so much like real life. I love how you're giving these characters a healthy support system, and modeling what that looks like for readers.
Sorry for the rant.
Everything else is perfect. Can't wait to read the next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really love this version of Rose as well - I've been worried that her friends (particularly Albus and Scorpius, who seem to be everyone's OTP to end all OTPs) overshadow her voice in this story, but I think she does come through very strongly and I get more and more fond of her the longer I write her.

Thank you, I really appreciate it - this is an important part of the story to me, and it's been really gratifying to see how people are responding to it. The support networks are almost wish fulfillment in a way for me personally - I've suffered from anxiety for years without anything like what Rose, Scorpius and Lester have, and to find a way of expressing the importance of that support even in a medium like fluffy fanfic is quite important to me. I'm glad you think it's realistic and that I'm addressing it well - I only have my own experiences to go on, and I would hate to not do something like this justice - so thank you so much for your comments!

Next chapter shouldn't be too far away at all - I look forward to hearing from you again!



 Report Review

Review #16, by grednforge217Still Delicate: Weekend At Jenny's: Part II

19th June 2014:
Okay, I love this story, but I am bothered by the fact that nobody seems to be taking Rose's side. I mean, why do they like Daisy so much? She's been nothing but a controlling jerk to Rose since she's met her. I'm really anti- Daisy, but I mean, the woman is thirty three and she's a juvenile a**hole.
As you can see, I'm really into the story. Love it, and can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by grednforge217The New Pride of Portree: A Sabotaged Sorceress

14th June 2014:
Poor Fitz. I love how this is written. Normally I'm not into Quiddich heavy stories, but this is perfect. I love Molly and Fitz's relationship. Also, the whole bonding retreat's amazing. It's kind of like the whole Umbridge thing - everybody bonded over an unfortunate situation. Not to say that Lefoque is like Umbridge but you know. Anyhow, excellent chapter!! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: I'm not very sporty, so I have to admit, while it's Quidditch-heavy with mentions, it's not Quidditch-heavy with game descriptions. I would find that boring too. I'm glad you're liking Molly and Fitz together! The retreat is definitely uniting them in the face of total crap haha. Rather like Umbridge, but less nasty. Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

13th June 2014:
Petition to get Albus and Scorpius back together right now.

Other than that soul crushing development, this chapter was fantastic.

Author's Response: Honestly, even I don't know how this whole thing will work out, and it seems set to get a lot messier from here - but don't give up hope either! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter (if 'enjoy' is the right word here) and thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by grednforge217The process of becoming tamed : Starting again

12th June 2014:
I've read through all your stories and I can't say that I've reviewed a single one of them. Let me rectify that now.
I am so happy that you wrote these stories. The characters completely came to life for me, and I have taken such pleasure in reading them. I've returned to fan fiction after a long hiatus, and I can say without hesitation that it is stories like the ones that you have written that keep me coming back for more. I am so happy that Sirius and Laura got their happy ending, probably even more so than I was for Harry in canon! Thank you for writing your marauder stories, I really enjoyed all of them.

 Report Review

Review #20, by grednforge217The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

9th June 2014:
Sorry I haven't been reviewing! I've just been so caught up in this story! This is so perfect. You write Ravenclaws. And I ship the heck out of Albus and Scorpius. Update soon please!!

Author's Response: That's high praise indeed, thank you for reviewing this chapter! I love these Claws so much (and Albus and Scorpius! Cuties!) The next update shouldn't be far away at all and I hope to see you back for it! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #21, by grednforge217Death's Other Kingdom: Death's Other Kingdom

8th June 2014:
This is incredible. You are so talented. Wonderful work!

 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217Brushing up Hufflepuff House: Chapter Four

5th June 2014:
I love how Molly's a prankster! A little unexpected for the daughter of Percy Weasley, but so cool. Great job on this chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've been loving all your reviews; they're really sweet!

 Report Review

Review #23, by grednforge217Brushing up Hufflepuff House: Chapter Three

5th June 2014:
Fred totally takes after his namesake! Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by grednforge217Brushing up Hufflepuff House: Chapter Two

5th June 2014:
Molly's definitely an interesting character. I enjoy all of the quiddich talk.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I was worried it might have been too monotonous, so I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by grednforge217Brushing up Hufflepuff House: Chapter One

5th June 2014:
This is an interesting start to what is bound to be a pretty cute story! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you :)! Sadly, I'm not really sure about where this story's going at the moment, so I'm not sure when I'll update again.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>