Reading Reviews From Member: grednforge217
  
172 Reviews Found

Review #1, by grednforge217Pending Further Investigation: xiv. november twentieth [or] until death do us part

10th February 2015:
Oh mercy. I teared up a little. I do love weddings. I'm so happy for Albus and Scorpius!!! Although, honestly, it felt a little weird to me (and this is personal preference) because they're around my age and they're getting married, and that's not something I can even fathom right now, but again, that's personal preference and nothing to do with your lovely story! I'm so excited to see what marriage will bring them (I'm thinking children, but perhaps I'm being too presumptuous here. I'd love to see that but maybe delay it for them a few years...let them enjoy being married first!) The wonderful trouble is with your characters is that I think of them like they're real people and worry accordingly. Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by grednforge217The Serpent Rises: Don't Look Them in the Eye

27th January 2015:
Pyxis! I did love Pyxis in the last story, if only because he was probably one of the most interesting characters that you wrote, mostly because he gave us some more insight into the entire Nott family. Plus he's just adorable. I really love what you're doing for this story, using other people's POVs. I think that it works so well, though to be honest I am a bit eager to get back to Tor and Terry!!! Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I loved Pyxis too! He's so much fun to write, especially in his interactions with Tor, but I wanted to give him some of his own time in the spotlight in this new story. I'm glad you liked the different points of view though.

Thank you very much for such a lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217Yule Love It - Sorry for the pun: Only One

9th January 2015:
This is an interesting story, I'm a sucker for Hermione/Krum.

Author's Response: Thank-you, I have to admit they are so cute together, even if they didn't exactly end up together this time

 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Indiscretion

28th December 2014:
Lilith. Okay, I absolutely love Lilith. She an incredibly interesting foil to both Andie and Narcissa, and I suppose her adventurousness would be the only thing that would throw her into the path of Ted Tonks again, because there isn't a snowball's chance that either of them would frequent the Hog's Head, and Ted is someone I can see going there a lot. I felt particularly awful for his fish and chips.

You almost can see him start to fall in love with her the second he holds her hair back, although maybe I'm just romanticizing that part (I must be some kind of romantic, if that's what I'm romanticizing.) Anyway, I did love this chapter because we not only got some interaction between the pair of them, but it literally took Andie out of herself (by being drunk) and sort of placed her a little closer to Ted than she would be. Anyway, this review was a little jumbled but I love this chapter!

Author's Response: I'm SO pleased to hear you love Lilith. I've gotten some mixed responses from readers--it seems like a either a love or a hate thing. Haha, and yes, Lilith is the only one (probably the only Slytherin princess, period) who would drag her friends to the Hog's Head. Traumatizing for Naricssa, mayhaps, but perfect for some Tedromeda. :)

Yes, poor Ted and his fish & chips. Whoopsies. I bet he won't be eating that dish again anytime soon. And maybe he IS falling in love with her at that exact moment. -drums fingers- -waggles eyebrows- I'll never tell!

Thanks again for the lovely reviews! Hope you continue to enjoy the read.


 Report Review

Review #5, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Impressions

28th December 2014:
Okay, their back and forth is so dang delightful here. In the rather few other fics I've read about this ship, Andie has mostly been somebody who is pretty much totally unprejudiced against Muggle borns, so I like that you're not portraying her that way, because honestly, I don't think that she would be, even though she is a good person. Because how can you not grow up with that kind of indoctrination and not be affected by it? The way you write her, though, is so clever, because you manage to keep her likable even while she is saying some really terrible things to Ted. I also do love the insight into the childhoods of the House Of Black, mostly because I've always found them all so fascinating. Anyways, well done, and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks so much for popping in with more reviews. What a treat. It's been almost a full year since I wrote these early chapters, so it's fun to be reminded of early plot and read brand new reactions!

Yes! I had the same experience reading Tedromeda fanfic (of which there is a sad scarcity!). Andromeda is almost always portrayed as good/open-minded from the start. But my interpretation is that it would be impossible for her to be raised in such a toxic environment without developing prejudice.

It's so reassuring to hear that she's coming across as likable, in spite of all the nonsense she's spouting off at Ted! And I'm glad you liked the flashbacks. I've always been so intrigued by the House of Black, so this was the perfect excuse for me to do some speculative writing on the subject.

Thanks for such a sweet review, and Happy Holidays to you, too! Hope it's been a wonderful new year so far.


 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217The Serpent Rises: Prologue

22nd December 2014:
Okay, I am so excited for this because I absolutely devoured the girl from slytherin. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Tor and Terry, and I am so excited (and terrified) for where you will lead them next. I cannot wait for the next chapter, I am so excited to read all of it and in the meantime, I'll be rereading the Girl from Slytherin. Happy Holidays!!

Author's Response: Hello!! :D

Wow, thank you!! :D I am so excited to share this story and I hope you continue to like it. It means so much to me to hear that you love Tor and Terry. I love them too!!

Happy belated New Year to you!! :D Thanks so much for the lovely review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217A Magical Christmas.: A Magical Christmas.

22nd December 2014:
This was absolutely wonderful! Poor Angie. I think that you made a wonderful portrait of a struggling little girl who comes from a broken home. The awareness that she has of her situation and her privilege over her little siblings and the rest of her family is remarkable. Well done, and merry christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for your review. I'm particularly pleased to get it, as this is sort of a spin off from my next gen. series and I wasn't sure how much sense it made if you weren't already familiar with the characters.

Yeah, poor Angie. She hasn't had an easy time. Honestly, she was meant to be a minor character. Her background just came from my mild irritation that "poor" at Hogwarts seemed to mean "low ranking public servant with a good wage, but a slightly above average number of kids to provide for." I know the Weasleys had 7 kids in total, but by the time we meet them, the eldest two are already earning for themselves, so that's only five that are financially dependent on them. So I wanted to show a kid who really was, not just from a poor family, but also from one where what money there was wasn't necessarily used for the kids' benefit. And then, she sort of decided she wanted a bigger role.

Thank you so much for the review. Merry Christmas.


 Report Review

Review #8, by grednforge217A Christmas in Azkaban: A Flickering Flame

22nd December 2014:
This is a wonderful fic. I don't try to think about the time Sirius spent in Azkaban because it's so terribly sad, but you made it touching and hopeful. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad that you liked it. Have a marry Christmas! :3

 Report Review

Review #9, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Dark Arts & Doubts

10th December 2014:
DUDE. YES. I am so pumped about the tutoring thing. Ugh. Maybe Andie will tutor him and she'll show up at one of his matches and sort of cheer for him almost against her will and everyone will see and then they'll be all loved up and I'm getting ahead of myself but YAY. Excitement.

Author's Response: Bahaha, look at you, you have everything planned out already! >:] Glad to hear you're still enjoying the story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Ambition

10th December 2014:
Great goodness, one chapter in and I'm already addicted! I was gasping and acting like a total lunatic in public over Ted and Andromeda. I can tell that I'm already going to love them both! Your writing is wonderful, so descriptive and beautiful. I can really get a sense of the familial ties already, and I do appreciate some Narcissa/Lucius love up in there. (sorry to say up in there, don't know where that came from.) Anyways, the point is that I'm crazy excited about this wonderful story and I can already tell that I'm going to be squealing and shipping the entire time, much to the dismay of all who encounter me in the next few days. (And I'm terribly happy to see how wonderfully long this is! So excited to read all of it!)

Author's Response: Oh, hurray, hurray! It's always so exciting to hear from a new reader. I'm very pleased to hear that you're already addicted, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story! Haha, and I get the Narcissa/Lucius love. I think their story is crazy fascinating. :) Thanks so much for the sweet review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by grednforge217a slow shattering: he wants to put a ceiling on her soul

10th December 2014:
But my God this is gorgeous. I thought that this would be only a one shot, but glory be, there you go with more. As I've said before, you have a stunning gift. This piece only proves it. Wonderful work. Keep at it!

Author's Response: You flatterer, you. ♥ I know, I took an abysmally long time to update, I'll try to keep it from happening again! Thank you so, so much for the lovely compliments and review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by grednforge217Just One Problem: A Beginning

2nd November 2014:
I really like this story, except for one small detail - I really wish that you would have had James have real feelings for her instead of a "oh he doesn't really like me he'll come to his senses" crush. It would have made it more interesting. Setting the brothers at odds and all. Anyway, this is a great start, I'd just love for the feelings James has for her to be real, as of right now, it seems a bit predictable.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review it's great to see how others are reading in to the story!

Just remember that we've only read from Isobel and Albus' points of view so far and that what they see and what is actually happening may be two different things.

-PurpleMoors :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by grednforge217Dumbledore's Army: Prologue

2nd November 2014:
Anna sounds a bit like Hermione - very interesting start. Are her parents anyone famous?

 Report Review

Review #14, by grednforge217Please Don't Let Me Fall (Oliver Wood Love Story): Chp 2 ~ Ready To Run

2nd November 2014:
I like the idea of this- the Quiddich team before Harry arrives. I like the dynamics between the characters. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad you like it so far and keep reading because the character dynamics will only get even more interesting.

 Report Review

Review #15, by grednforge217Please Don't Let Me Fall (Oliver Wood Love Story): Chp 1 ~ Ordinary World

2nd November 2014:
I love Oliver Wood so much! I'm always excited to see a story about him on HPFF! And you've done such a lovely job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by grednforge217Call Me Charlotte: Call Me Charlotte

17th October 2014:
This is so lovely! So romantic. 10/10.

 Report Review

Review #17, by grednforge217Pending Further Investigation: ii. save the date [or] how far we've come

30th July 2014:
Aww, THEY"RE GETTING MARRIED!! Sorry to shout, you know they are, you wrote it, but I didn't and this is seriously so exciting. I mean, I knew that they would but this is just so exciting and I said that already. Also loving the Astoria in this story. She's so lovely, and seems like she'd be a great mother in law. And healers Pottfoy and Pottfoy is too cute. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: IT'S OKAY TO SHOUT BECAUSE I DO TOO AND YOU'RE RIGHT I WROTE IT SO I DON'T EVEN HAVE AN EXCUSE. astoria is a sweetie and albus/scorpius have ruined my life. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by grednforge217Pending Further Investigation: i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

30th July 2014:
Ahh, look at this flawlessness! So excited for all the lovely characters to be back once again. Love your writing, and looking forward to catching up with Rose and the gang. Lester was sort of an enigma in the last book, and I'm looking forward to getting to know him better. Can't wait for your next update!

Author's Response: thank you so much, i'm glad you're enjoying it! and he was a bit of an enigma, wasn't he? i hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #19, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Epi: Fresnel

30th July 2014:
ANDD were at the end. So lovely. I love how Rose hasn't really changed at all, the good parts of her. She's still willing to stand up for herself and doesn't care what anybody else thinks. A total Gryffindor trait, no matter how much she doubted her placement when she was in school.
Again, I am sad that Draco is a total Lucius clone, but that's mostly personal preference. I love the updates on everybody's lives, and I'm so glad that Rose is an official playwright! And Pippa and James are getting married. Again, I totally KNEW IT!!! A part of me does want to know what the other people are up to, like Lily and Stella and the like, but I'll leave that for you to decide. Or my own imagination! Thanks for sharing this story with everybody, it was wonderful.

Author's Response: Tis the end, for now! Haha I really debated putting Pippa and James together. I set it up early on and then almost didn't do it - but I think they both will go through A LOT of character growth in the next stages of their lives, so I had to do it!

Imagination is always good - I haven't even decided that yet, so dream on :)

Once again, thanks so much for all the reviews! I loved reading them!

Cheers, have a great rest of the summer (or winter if you live in the Southern Hemisphere)!


 Report Review

Review #20, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Act V: Anagnorisis

30th July 2014:
Seventh Year! So excited that Pippa rejoined the group, I was very sad without her. And I love her new group, with Al and Hugo and the fourth years from Gryffindor and Lily and the like. They're such a wonderful bunch of friends, and I'm very proud of Rose for getting in with them. I love this version of Rose, I really do. I almost teared up when Matilda died, and I honestly hate toads. And the sneaking out, and the last jump in the lake!? Oh man. I almost cried then too.
You have really created a whole new world here, and I'm so thrilled that you shared it with me. I love all the games and traditions and I am so happy that Pippa got her act together and Scorpius and Rose got it together too! About time!!!

Anyhow, I'll go on and review the last chapter, but I just wanted to let you know how clever you are, and how invested I've felt in these characters. How proud I feel of their progress, and how happy I was to find out that it all got all right for them.

Onto the last chapter!

Author's Response: I almost teared up in this review, you're so kind! Thanks x 50 million!

Rose did find her niche at Hogwarts, even though she felt like such an outcast at the beginning. I enjoyed writing this immensely so I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it! It means the world to hear it, and now I shall go respond to your last review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Act IV: Catharsis

30th July 2014:
I think its wonderful that you included Al and Josef, and I TOTALLY KNEW IT ALL ALONG, but I feel awful that they had to be subjected to someone as annoying and awful as Nolan. On another note, I love the fact that Rose is building up a friend group. I feel really proud of her. And proud of Scorpius, too! He finally stood up for himself! Yay!

Author's Response: Good guessing! I was dropping hints like crazy haha Nobody should experience that sort of hate. And yet it still happens in some parts of our world, sadly.

Thanks !


 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Act III - Peripeteia

30th July 2014:
Ugh, Nolan is awful. I know he has an explanation, but he is a jerk. Ugh. I do think that Rose may have gone a little far, but to be honest, Pippa needed somebody that cared about her. I'm very sad about the Pippa plotline because to be quite honest, she reminds me of an old friend that's fallen into a similar path as Pippa has. Unfortunately, she's sort of cut me and my other friends out too. So this hits quite close to home.
I admire the fact that you've included such a wide range of people in these stories, with interests that both encompass the typical (Quiddich, troublemaking, etc.) with outside the box interests (for Hogwarts, anyway) like vegetarianism and playwriting. It gives it a wonderful mix of the new and retreads the familiar without giving way to cliches.

Author's Response: He is a jerk, honestly. Even if he apologised I'm sure he'd retain some of his prejudices. I'm sorry to hear that about your old friend. It's such a tough situation to be in and hurts everyone involved. Similar things have happened to me as well.

I'm glad you like all their quirks though, thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Act II: Chiaroscuro

30th July 2014:
You know, I always thought that Rose would be closer to Neville than she is in this story, but I can see where its coming from. Rose doesn't seem like someone who's really good with authority anyway. Must be Pippa rubbing off on her! I like how you are trying to show other professions other than the ministry. The idea that Aziza and Rose would go into business together is fantastic! And the Azkaban guard thing, a little bit scary, but I guess it'd be like the military for the Wizarding World or something? I could see Pippa fitting in there quite well. And the Bertie Botts game is adorable!

Mostly, I love the fact that I'm seeing Rose and the girls grow up. They're so different from who they were in first year, but their aging is believable. So excellent job!

Author's Response: Nope she's not great with authority - definitely some of Pippa's influence!

I think the Azkaban thing is moreso just a guard type deal, but I haven't researched it to see if there's much canon on it! I think Pippa would need some sort of structure like that, especially after everything that happened.

Thanks for the review !


 Report Review

Review #24, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Act I: Parados

30th July 2014:
I do love Pippa. The mystery that you've set up around her is intriguing, and I adore the girls' interhouse relationship. The Scorose moments are adorable, and I love the way that you're letting them grow. The play and literature references are excellent as well, and I love this play-obsessed Rose! Aziza is an interesting character, and I can see the ways that the girls fit into their houses, in a good way! And the insults that Rose comes up with are flawless.

One thing I wasn't sure about was the characterization of Draco. I suppose I can see him becoming just like his father, but I've always hoped that he would be able to rise above such behavior. But that's really the only issue I have, and it doesn't reflect on the writing at all, its more of a personal issue. Sorry for the rant. Great job!

Author's Response: I must say, I had a grand ole time making up Rose's insults! It was very fun for me to do haha

I'm glad they all fit where I placed them, it eases my soul a bit. And I do agree with your thoughts on Draco - I would explore his character more if I continued this story further!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #25, by grednforge217Setting the Stage: Pro: Vignette

30th July 2014:
I cannot believe that this doesn't have as many reviews as it should! I read this all in one sitting, nonstop, and I just wanted to re-read and review each chapter like you deserve! This is such wonderful writing, I love the Rose that you set up here. She's an outcast in a different sort of way that most next-gen fics try to write her as. I love the whole obsessions with toads, because most of the depictions of toads that we get in canon are a little uncomplimentary. I wasn't sure if I agreed with the sorting of Rose and Scorpius, usually because I've always seen Scorpius as more of a Hufflepuff or Ravenclaw, but the way that you do it is very smart and I totally support it. I love how you've separated all of the characters over all four of the houses. Brilliant Writing!

Author's Response: Hahaha, awh, thanks so much! That's a lot to read in one sitting, wow! :)

I usually see Scorpius more as a Ravenclas/Hufflepuff as well, but I think his fear of his father when he was younger pushed him more in the Slytherin direction when he probably would have fit in better in another house.

Thanks so much for the review(s)! I appreciate it


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>