Reading Reviews From Member: grednforge217
182 Reviews Found

Review #1, by grednforge217Dormitory 2.6A: ONE: Melting Ice Queens

31st March 2016:
I Could already tell from the description that I was going to like this, but reading it totally confirmed it for me. This is amazing - I am so excited that there is more in store! I'm already half in love with these characters. Well done!

Author's Response: Hey,

Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you like it and your review really means a lot to me. This is such a lovely one to read :hug:

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #2, by grednforge217Vanishing Acts: The Trial

16th March 2016:
I love this story so much - I've been looking for it for a while! So happy that you've put up more of this, I really love it. Sophie is a fascinating character, and I love the way that you've written her. Stories set during the Golden Trio era are always tricky to do, just because we've experienced it in canon, but you do a marvelous job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217Altschmerz: The Night Before

6th January 2016:
You've set up a really interesting dynamic here with Saba and her father. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am continuing the story in my spare time and will hopefully post another chapter soon.

 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217Actions Speak Louder than Words: Broken: Rose POV

3rd January 2016:
This is one of the best fics I've ever read, and I've been reading fic for a decade. I can't believe that this is your first fic, it is so well done! I already have such affection for these characters, and as somebody that suffers from anxiety, your description of panic attacks were so on point that they almost hurt. Thank you so much for writing this, I cannot wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Gah!

I just happened to be online and this amazing review popped up. Thanks so much! I'm so relieved that my portrayal of anxiety came across as realistic - I wanted to be very careful and respectful in dealing with that as part of the story.

I'm grinning so wide right now - I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #5, by grednforge217Typical: Chapter 1

15th December 2015:
What a cute story! I already like Mya, she is so sarcastic and lovely. Her relationship with James is already very interesting, you can tell that they have a lot of history together. I'm already rooting for them as a couple :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Reviews like yours really do make my day! I'm afraid this story is on stand still for the moment, I feel like it isn't my best work and so I will come back to it when I feel capable to improve it but nevertheless I love receiving reviews so thank you again and happy new year!! x

 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Art Class

15th December 2015:
Thanks for the shoutout! I love your story, please keep writing it. Lindy's burgeoning friendships are excellent - I like her and Rose as buddies, it's very sweet! And Lindy bargaining with Neville is excellent - that girl is brave. :) Can't wait for the next- Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely reviews! I'm working on the next one as we speak (well not literally because I'm answering this review, but y'know). I know. I don't think I'd try to haggle with Neville. I just feel like after painting his wife for him as an emergency present, she kind of owns him. Thank you for the review and happy holidays! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Pretend Dementor

15th December 2015:
I love how you used paint as a metaphor for Lindy's need for control - it's so cool! And Freddie encouraging them is pretty much adorable. And the dementor is such a great POA throwback - I'm so glad that you included it. Good luck on your thesis!

Author's Response: I'm very much like Lindy in that I'm a complete control freak, so it was easy for me to write that part! ;) I want Freddie to seem more dynamic than just James' sidekick. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Paintbrush Wands

15th December 2015:
Isolating them is the perfect way to get them to clash, and I love that you did it in such a clever way! Their mutual interest in magical creatures in such a cool touch, I'm really enjoying it. And the weird Fairy/Imp thing (Fimp? Iairy?) is an excellent find! Are the two of them going to team up and study it further? :) Here's hoping!

Author's Response: Oh, the fimp (I'm using that term from now on) will definitely be studied further! I like to think that James isn't the kind of person to truly stay mad long, but he tries anyway. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Coffee Burns

15th December 2015:
I love that she's creating this guide! And James is so into magical creatures - in most incarnations of him in fic, I usually see him running a bar or being an auror. So this is such a cool departure from the James that I usually get, and I'm really digging it!

Author's Response: I like to think James has more depth than just following his father's footsteps, no matter how noble it is to be an auror. Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Biting Gargoyles

15th December 2015:
Binns is still teaching? Well, he would do. And James reminds me so much of his grandfather, I love it. And partnering them up? Oh yes. I can tell that Lindy will have a really fun semester. I love that she's good friends with Hagrid, as Hagrid is the best.

Author's Response: Binns will never retire! lol. James thinks he's sneaky, but he's not. I like to think that since the Weasleys and Potters were cool kids (most likely) a lot of other students would also want to be friends with Hagrid (obviously that's not Lindy's reasoning though). I like to imagine he becomes the most popular teacher. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by grednforge217Artistic Liberties: Snogging at Sunset

15th December 2015:
Okay, so I love, love, love this story. Lindy is adorable - I love her voice in this story! And the backstory about her family is really interesting, I like reading about characters that experience Hogwarts in a different way than Harry did - her worries about money are so realistic! I also love the details about the magic portraits - I had never really thought about how they came to be until I read this - it's so cool to think about all the different jobs there are in the Wizarding World that we don't really get to see!

Author's Response: Six reviews all at once! I was sooo excited to log in today! ;) I'm really glad that you like the way I write Lindy. I think a lot of times we only think about jobs at the Ministry when there must be plenty of other options out there! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by grednforge217Pending Further Investigation: xiv. november twentieth [or] until death do us part

10th February 2015:
Oh mercy. I teared up a little. I do love weddings. I'm so happy for Albus and Scorpius!!! Although, honestly, it felt a little weird to me (and this is personal preference) because they're around my age and they're getting married, and that's not something I can even fathom right now, but again, that's personal preference and nothing to do with your lovely story! I'm so excited to see what marriage will bring them (I'm thinking children, but perhaps I'm being too presumptuous here. I'd love to see that but maybe delay it for them a few years...let them enjoy being married first!) The wonderful trouble is with your characters is that I think of them like they're real people and worry accordingly. Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by grednforge217The Serpent Rises: Don't Look Them in the Eye

27th January 2015:
Pyxis! I did love Pyxis in the last story, if only because he was probably one of the most interesting characters that you wrote, mostly because he gave us some more insight into the entire Nott family. Plus he's just adorable. I really love what you're doing for this story, using other people's POVs. I think that it works so well, though to be honest I am a bit eager to get back to Tor and Terry!!! Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I loved Pyxis too! He's so much fun to write, especially in his interactions with Tor, but I wanted to give him some of his own time in the spotlight in this new story. I'm glad you liked the different points of view though.

Thank you very much for such a lovely review! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by grednforge217Yule Love It - Sorry for the pun: Only One

9th January 2015:
This is an interesting story, I'm a sucker for Hermione/Krum.

Author's Response: Thank-you, I have to admit they are so cute together, even if they didn't exactly end up together this time

 Report Review

Review #15, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Indiscretion

28th December 2014:
Lilith. Okay, I absolutely love Lilith. She an incredibly interesting foil to both Andie and Narcissa, and I suppose her adventurousness would be the only thing that would throw her into the path of Ted Tonks again, because there isn't a snowball's chance that either of them would frequent the Hog's Head, and Ted is someone I can see going there a lot. I felt particularly awful for his fish and chips.

You almost can see him start to fall in love with her the second he holds her hair back, although maybe I'm just romanticizing that part (I must be some kind of romantic, if that's what I'm romanticizing.) Anyway, I did love this chapter because we not only got some interaction between the pair of them, but it literally took Andie out of herself (by being drunk) and sort of placed her a little closer to Ted than she would be. Anyway, this review was a little jumbled but I love this chapter!

Author's Response: I'm SO pleased to hear you love Lilith. I've gotten some mixed responses from readers--it seems like a either a love or a hate thing. Haha, and yes, Lilith is the only one (probably the only Slytherin princess, period) who would drag her friends to the Hog's Head. Traumatizing for Naricssa, mayhaps, but perfect for some Tedromeda. :)

Yes, poor Ted and his fish & chips. Whoopsies. I bet he won't be eating that dish again anytime soon. And maybe he IS falling in love with her at that exact moment. -drums fingers- -waggles eyebrows- I'll never tell!

Thanks again for the lovely reviews! Hope you continue to enjoy the read.

 Report Review

Review #16, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Impressions

28th December 2014:
Okay, their back and forth is so dang delightful here. In the rather few other fics I've read about this ship, Andie has mostly been somebody who is pretty much totally unprejudiced against Muggle borns, so I like that you're not portraying her that way, because honestly, I don't think that she would be, even though she is a good person. Because how can you not grow up with that kind of indoctrination and not be affected by it? The way you write her, though, is so clever, because you manage to keep her likable even while she is saying some really terrible things to Ted. I also do love the insight into the childhoods of the House Of Black, mostly because I've always found them all so fascinating. Anyways, well done, and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks so much for popping in with more reviews. What a treat. It's been almost a full year since I wrote these early chapters, so it's fun to be reminded of early plot and read brand new reactions!

Yes! I had the same experience reading Tedromeda fanfic (of which there is a sad scarcity!). Andromeda is almost always portrayed as good/open-minded from the start. But my interpretation is that it would be impossible for her to be raised in such a toxic environment without developing prejudice.

It's so reassuring to hear that she's coming across as likable, in spite of all the nonsense she's spouting off at Ted! And I'm glad you liked the flashbacks. I've always been so intrigued by the House of Black, so this was the perfect excuse for me to do some speculative writing on the subject.

Thanks for such a sweet review, and Happy Holidays to you, too! Hope it's been a wonderful new year so far.

 Report Review

Review #17, by grednforge217The Serpent Rises: Prologue

22nd December 2014:
Okay, I am so excited for this because I absolutely devoured the girl from slytherin. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Tor and Terry, and I am so excited (and terrified) for where you will lead them next. I cannot wait for the next chapter, I am so excited to read all of it and in the meantime, I'll be rereading the Girl from Slytherin. Happy Holidays!!

Author's Response: Hello!! :D

Wow, thank you!! :D I am so excited to share this story and I hope you continue to like it. It means so much to me to hear that you love Tor and Terry. I love them too!!

Happy belated New Year to you!! :D Thanks so much for the lovely review!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by grednforge217A Magical Christmas.: A Magical Christmas.

22nd December 2014:
This was absolutely wonderful! Poor Angie. I think that you made a wonderful portrait of a struggling little girl who comes from a broken home. The awareness that she has of her situation and her privilege over her little siblings and the rest of her family is remarkable. Well done, and merry christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for your review. I'm particularly pleased to get it, as this is sort of a spin off from my next gen. series and I wasn't sure how much sense it made if you weren't already familiar with the characters.

Yeah, poor Angie. She hasn't had an easy time. Honestly, she was meant to be a minor character. Her background just came from my mild irritation that "poor" at Hogwarts seemed to mean "low ranking public servant with a good wage, but a slightly above average number of kids to provide for." I know the Weasleys had 7 kids in total, but by the time we meet them, the eldest two are already earning for themselves, so that's only five that are financially dependent on them. So I wanted to show a kid who really was, not just from a poor family, but also from one where what money there was wasn't necessarily used for the kids' benefit. And then, she sort of decided she wanted a bigger role.

Thank you so much for the review. Merry Christmas.

 Report Review

Review #19, by grednforge217A Christmas in Azkaban: A Flickering Flame

22nd December 2014:
This is a wonderful fic. I don't try to think about the time Sirius spent in Azkaban because it's so terribly sad, but you made it touching and hopeful. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm really glad that you liked it. Have a marry Christmas! :3

 Report Review

Review #20, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Dark Arts & Doubts

10th December 2014:
DUDE. YES. I am so pumped about the tutoring thing. Ugh. Maybe Andie will tutor him and she'll show up at one of his matches and sort of cheer for him almost against her will and everyone will see and then they'll be all loved up and I'm getting ahead of myself but YAY. Excitement.

Author's Response: Bahaha, look at you, you have everything planned out already! >:] Glad to hear you're still enjoying the story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by grednforge217Kill Your Darlings: Ambition

10th December 2014:
Great goodness, one chapter in and I'm already addicted! I was gasping and acting like a total lunatic in public over Ted and Andromeda. I can tell that I'm already going to love them both! Your writing is wonderful, so descriptive and beautiful. I can really get a sense of the familial ties already, and I do appreciate some Narcissa/Lucius love up in there. (sorry to say up in there, don't know where that came from.) Anyways, the point is that I'm crazy excited about this wonderful story and I can already tell that I'm going to be squealing and shipping the entire time, much to the dismay of all who encounter me in the next few days. (And I'm terribly happy to see how wonderfully long this is! So excited to read all of it!)

Author's Response: Oh, hurray, hurray! It's always so exciting to hear from a new reader. I'm very pleased to hear that you're already addicted, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story! Haha, and I get the Narcissa/Lucius love. I think their story is crazy fascinating. :) Thanks so much for the sweet review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217a slow shattering: a ceiling on her soul

10th December 2014:
But my God this is gorgeous. I thought that this would be only a one shot, but glory be, there you go with more. As I've said before, you have a stunning gift. This piece only proves it. Wonderful work. Keep at it!

Author's Response: You flatterer, you. ♥ I know, I took an abysmally long time to update, I'll try to keep it from happening again! Thank you so, so much for the lovely compliments and review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by grednforge217Just One Problem: A Beginning

2nd November 2014:
I really like this story, except for one small detail - I really wish that you would have had James have real feelings for her instead of a "oh he doesn't really like me he'll come to his senses" crush. It would have made it more interesting. Setting the brothers at odds and all. Anyway, this is a great start, I'd just love for the feelings James has for her to be real, as of right now, it seems a bit predictable.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review it's great to see how others are reading in to the story!

Just remember that we've only read from Isobel and Albus' points of view so far and that what they see and what is actually happening may be two different things.

-PurpleMoors :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by grednforge217Dumbledore's Army: Prologue

2nd November 2014:
Anna sounds a bit like Hermione - very interesting start. Are her parents anyone famous?

 Report Review

Review #25, by grednforge217Please Don't Let Me Fall (Oliver Wood Love Story): Chp 2 ~ Ready To Run

2nd November 2014:
I like the idea of this- the Quiddich team before Harry arrives. I like the dynamics between the characters. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad you like it so far and keep reading because the character dynamics will only get even more interesting.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>