Reading Reviews From Member: MileyMalfoy
  
112 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Legacy

12th July 2014:
I'm crying right now, at the fact that George died, but also at how much Hugo being there for her clearly meant to Roxanne. I would have loved to know more details about what had happened that caused George to die, but I also think that the balance was just right given this was from Hugo's POV. I love this whole collection, and how it's about Roxanne but it's never once actually from her POV, so it's really more about how others see her. I think that's really unique and I think that you did a super job with this one, conveying emotions but also helping to make George's funeral as fun and lively as he was.

Thank you for writing such an awesome set of stories.
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Bonfire

12th July 2014:
I love that you have pulled the kind hearted Roxanne from the first story into this story and shown her from a different angle. It's so sweet that she was trying to protect the muggle cousins and that's how she got hurt, it really helped to show that she might be a mischief maker but she's not actually a bad kid, which is a good thing in my opinion. My favourite line of the story was definitely: According to your son Freddie, the only reason you and Angelina aren't plagued with school letters is because they're too intelligent to leave evidence behind.

I love what you've done with the characterisation, and that you've shown that George is a strong and loving father who is willing to do what is right to make sure that nobody else gets hurt. You definitely see a lot of him in his daughter.

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

12th July 2014:
Aw. I am so glad that Roxanne saved the Fwooper from being caged. I love her characterisation and the fact that she found it so cruel that she was willing to sneak back to make sure that the bird got out. The way you describe this scene is just perfect. It is so vivid and clear that I could see it all playing out in front of me while I was reading it. I love that she was interested in the bird to begin with, but even more that she showed that there are good people in the world, people willing to help others. I really loved that you emphasized that, and I think that you did a brilliant job throughout this!

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by MileyMalfoyPure Intentions: Red Flags

12th July 2014:
This is a really interesting beginning to the story. I'm already completely sucked in and I want to know what's going to happen next. I know I would pay big money to watch Draco's head explode when he puts two and two together about Scorpius' secret admirer being Al, although it was definitely interesting to see the kind of life that Scorpius has lived, and how he was spending his holidays. I thought this was really well written, and I'm definitely going to be reading on.

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three: Frightened Little Beings : Frightened Little Beings

12th July 2014:
I like this story a lot. Telling us how Charlie figured out that he wanted to be a dragon keeper is a really interesting angle for the prompt and I think you did a really good job of it. I loved that you named the dragon Elsa, I think that's really cool, and I also liked how you split the story into his birthday and then years later. Did Charlie leave Hogwarts early though? Or did he get an internship at a zoo while on summer breaks or something? I'm just curious as to how an eighteen year old would have years of working with dragons? I'm sure it's also been mentioned before but Charlie is younger than Bill in canon, so I'm not sure if that was on purpose or by accident but I did want to let you know. There is also a typo here: "And I think Elsa do too," (it should probably be does instead of do), but otherwise this story looks great.

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three - The Custard Slice: Izaak Thorne

12th July 2014:
Okay. So I for one didn't expect the custard slice to be about a story. I legitimately thought I was going to find Ron Weasley hogging the last slice of custard pie or something when I first read the title. The fact that it wasn't about something to do with food surprised me a lot, and I definitely enjoyed the story that followed. I love the fact that the puffskein seemed to change Thorne's opinion of Dom, or at least allowed her more time to ask the questions, although he really wasn't a nice person overall from how he was portrayed! I was glad that Dom proved to him that she was a quidditch fan with the use of a song. It really was a very entertaining story.

It's just like a brother to sneak something that shouldn't be there into your bag... Wonderful job with the story!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by MileyMalfoyEvent Three: Life Goes On: Life Goes On

12th July 2014:
Aw this is sweet. I like how Parvati is the one to talk to Susan about the panic attack she was having in the shop. It's really interesting to see how these two girls, who I don't think I've ever thought of as spending too much time together, connected, and to see how they have changed since the battle. I wasn't sure how long this was since the Battle of Hogwarts, although for the second part it's clearly long enough for a book to be written and published, so that might be something to put the maturity of the girls into perspective. I still can't get over how mature Parvati seems, which is a good thing. I also love that you used Susan for this piece.

Awesome job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I estimated that it would be about six-eight months after the war because she'd gotten a job and there'd been a book written about it, and I think even the worst author in the world (*cough*Rita Skeeter*cough*) would have the decency to wait a little bit before writing a book like that.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MileyMalfoyMagical: Magical

12th July 2014:
I never would have thought to write a story about Filch's relationship with Mrs. Norris for the house cup. It was really moving to read this, and to get an idea of what went on in his life. I'm so sorry that he didn't have enough magic to change anything even though he clearly had enough to get into Hogwarts in the first place. I love the explanation for why he chose Mrs. Norris and I love the fact that even after everything this shows a connection with her that nothing can break.

Good job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by MileyMalfoyPure Imagination: Who's to say it isn't real?

12th July 2014:
I love that this is from Audrey's POV, and that it talks so much about Lucy's wild fantasies. It's really cool to get to hear that at least this magical child enjoys her muggle fairytales as much as any magical ones. I also really enjoyed you talking about how the rest of the family didn't always understand Lucy and her games and stories. I thought it was interesting that the other, older ones like Teddy and Victoire would play along but that Molly had a problem even understanding and refused to play with.

This is a really interesting story, thank you for sharing!
~ Meg
House Cup Review 2014

 Report Review

Review #10, by MileyMalfoyRed Rubber Boots: Chapter 1: Boxes

12th July 2014:
Aw this is so cute. I love the descriptions that you chose to use in this, and I feel like you did such a lot in a tiny amount of words which is awesome. I really like that Harry and Ginny are looking back on their memories and sharing stories throughout this. I only wish that you could have maybe described some more of the items, or the stories that went with them, like how Lily had taken the boots and decided she didn't like them after finding a toad. It's a really good story though!

Good job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by MileyMalfoyThe Wizarding World War: A Family Affair

12th July 2014:
As a history major I love the fact that you have added in muggle history throughout this story. The segments of Professor Binns' lecture almost makes me want to be there (strange I know) just to hear all about that history, so you've got me hooked. I also really love how you use this chapter not only to display something like a history class, but also to show the reactions to Rose being put in Slytherin. My favourite one has to be the description of how Ron kept interrupting Hermione's day, especially this part: "I just - Slytherin, Hermione! Our Rosie, a Slytherin. This is too much."

This story is so wonderful to read that I can't wait for the next chapter. Good job!
~Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by MileyMalfoyThe Wizarding World War: The Eight Families

12th July 2014:
One of the things I love about this story is how much detail you have put in to creating the OCs and the worlds that they live in. It's rather easy to work off of canon or place an OC in Hogwarts (that's my preferred trick) but to come up with entire other systems that still fit into the boundaries of the wizarding world while making something their own takes a lot of work. Thank you so much for doing that! I am loving this story and how it is unfolding, and getting to meet all the different characters makes me feel like something very big is going to unfold (in case the title didn't tell the reader that already or anything). I love love love the little touches, like how the descendants of the Salem witches all get together, and all try to show off their muggle finery, which seems to be so different from the purebloods in England. All in all I can't wait to see how this story evolves, and I'm really enjoying reading it.

Fantastic job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by MileyMalfoyThrough My Sister's Eyes: Through My Sister's Eyes

12th July 2014:
I have chills right now. Having lost family members I can totally understand Ravi's being sad and crying a lot, and the way you capture little Padma wanting to help her sister and make sure she smiles is just so precious. I love that even at six she seems to understand something so important, and that she's able to help her sister. I also love that she had that relationship with her Aunt that she could be told stories by her and that she would remember them and try to act on the advice even in this kind of situation. I really liked how you characterised the girls, how there were differences between Parvati and Padma even though they are so alike, and I love that you brought an older sister into the mix.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by MileyMalfoyFeel Again: Feel Again

12th July 2014:
This is such a moving piece. I love how you take difficult topics and write about them in a way that makes the reader really see what is going on and see the bigger picture. I can't imagine what it would be like to be trapped in your own body and yet, because of this piece, I feel like I can understand where James is coming from and his thoughts. You did a brilliant job characterising him and showing us both the vulnerable and the tough sides of the same boy. I can't believe this was written over the middle of the night in five hours... It is so beautiful. You have done a really awesome job. Random question I know, but is Madam Brown Lavender?

Anyway, like I said. Awesome job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by MileyMalfoyMouse: Elephant

11th July 2014:
Tanya you are brilliant. I love the fact that this entire story rhymes. I wouldn't have gotten that at first but about halfway through I picked up on it and it was absolutely amazing. I love that you illustrated exactly what it means to be a Hufflepuff. It can get really frustrating when -- even in fanfiction -- people don't seem to give our house any credit, and this story just blows all of that away. I also adore Susan's character in this story. It's really touching and says a lot about her that she goes back to help Klyde even after he's been so mean to her. I just really love this whole story, it's unique and awesome and I'm so glad that I got to read it!

Seriously super job! (I wish I could give you a 12/10 for this...)
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by MileyMalfoyOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
"Besides: of her own accord, High Inquisitor Umbridge is currently partaking in unauthorized sweets. Who is she going to tell?" Can I tell you how much I started laughing at this line? I love the fact that McGonagall and Flitwick are willing to protect not only the students but each other. You have really managed to show a great amount of characterisation for all of the professors and I love that you chose to show Professors Sprout, Flitwick and McGonagall as professors but also as friends. The fact that Professor Sprout was sneaking around the castle like she was back in school had be highly amused as well. I think this is a great snapshot into the lives of teachers that we don't often get to see (at least I don't often read stories about the professors but I'm thinking that's going to be changing). I thought you did an excellent job crafting this story and that the choice to show it from McGonagall's POV was the right thing to do!

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by MileyMalfoyOf Bat Boogey Hexes and Detentions: Repercussions

10th July 2014:
Oh my goodness. I love the fact that this is even a story that you thought of. I think it is so amazingly perfect that Seamus would get on Ginny's nerves enough to cause her to hex him, and having to have that conversation with McGonagall would be something I would pay to see happen. Your descriptions were wonderful and I thought that you nailed characterisations on the head here, along with making sure that we got a chance to see the funny side of this situation (or at least I found the funny side of this situation...).

Thank you so much for finding this bunny and writing the story! I thoroughly enjoyed it.
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

 Report Review

Review #18, by MileyMalfoyThe Last Tomorrow: The Last Tomorrow

10th July 2014:
All of the feelings! I love this piece so much, you really do a great job of characterizing not just Remus but Tonks and even Teddy which I really enjoyed. I like the line about them having a snack just because they could, that makes me feel better about some of my own food choices to read about characters having similar attitudes. I'm left with chills at the fact that that was April 30th, it makes me sad that Remus and Tonks don't really have that much time left, although I do like how you tie the nightmares in the beginning to the date. I thought that that was very interesting, and I really enjoyed this story.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

 Report Review

Review #19, by MileyMalfoyHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
I love that this story shows such a human side of both Remus and McGonagall. We don't often think of teachers as being humans too, and so it really caught my emotions when he cried after Harry's lesson. I also love the fact that McGonagall gives him biscuits after each full moon. That strikes me as something so very caring, and so much like what she would do... even if the students don't necessarily see that side of her. I'm really glad that you brought that out in this story. I really enjoyed how you paced the writing and what segments of the year you chose to include. This feels like it could be something we would find in canon if the books weren't mainly around what Harry was doing.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

 Report Review

Review #20, by MileyMalfoyHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
I love the fact that even though they make it clear that they hate Regulus, there is still a touch of house unity in getting quidditch back. I was incredibly entertained by the fact that the entire thing was scripted and they managed to manipulate Poppy into changing her mind (even if the original ideas that were used on McGonagall were even more entertaining). I really liked the fact that James let Slytherin have that victory in peace given they at least had gotten their quidditch back. At one point I thought you were going to have James and Sirius start showing off by transforming into their animagus forms in class as a way to get her approval but I'm glad that they went with the full on quidditch approach instead.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

 Report Review

Review #21, by MileyMalfoyUnusual : Unusual

10th July 2014:
Pain. This causes so much pain. Mainly because it's so good that you had me crying. I love seeing the events following Dobby's death from another perspective and I really enjoy the fact that you took this as a challenge to not only write a story from Griphook's POV but also leave out the dialogue. There were so many things to reflect on here, and I think that for me my favourite line was definitely: It should have been boring to watch. But, I couldn't tear my gaze away from him. It was fascinating. Even when a few others joined in to help, it was Harry Potter I focused on. Something about those words just capture the entire scenario so perfectly, adding to the touching nature of this piece and allowing the reader to realise that even Griphook isn't all that he seems.

I thought this was a really good story, I loved the characterisation and the way that this is almost a missing moment from the books.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by MileyMalfoyOf Stars, Galaxies and Daffodils: Of Stars, Galaxies and Daffodils

10th July 2014:
This is so sad. Even though she's overcoming something major like her family's beliefs Andromeda is losing a part of herself and the way that you told this story made me want to cry. There was so much relief in her characterisation, but you could also tell that her sisters and their reactions were important to her. I absolutely loved that you played on the family relationships that sisters often had with the rhyme and how that illustrated how the relationships had been broken when Bellatrix wouldn't say her line.

I'm glad that she got away but I'm sad for her, and I really liked the fact that you didn't just end the story with Bellatrix hating her and Andromeda walking away, but instead moved on to show what happened when she got to Ted's home. To me that just helped to make the story even more emotional, and helped to show all that she had lost even in the midst of clearly showing all that she had gained as well.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by MileyMalfoyFred and George's Lollypops: Langlock Lollies

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review - Decree Number Six

I thought that this story was absolutely amazing! I love how many examples you came up with for products that Harry had inspired and the fact that you used Ron and Hermione's fighting against them is brilliant! I also really liked that the story didn't just take place at one time, but moved across different times, giving us a perspective of not just when they were in Hogwarts but through several years. And Ginny's ideas for candies had me laughing so hard. Leave it to her to come up with those kinds of suggestions. It made the ending really sweet when it could have been really sad in the fact that Fred is no longer there. All in all I thought that this was a great read.

Good job!
~Meg

 Report Review

Review #24, by MileyMalfoyA Child's Cry: A Child's Cry

9th July 2014:
I love the way each child had a different cry. Of course Molly would pick up on that and talk about that in a story, it makes so much sense and feels so much like we're inside the character of Molly Weasley, not just looking at her from the outside.

I myself am now going to go cry though because of the ending of this beautiful story. The fact that these descriptions like "unearthly wail" have been used only serve to make the entire story more vivid to me, and I love it for it. I really like the line: Just as Bill's first cry had made her first feel truly alive, a part of her died at the sound of George's mourning. To go from being babies that had sucked each others thumbs (which was a great description by the way) to this is so heartbreaking and I think the story really picks up on that.

Great job!
~Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree Number Five

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear you liked the characterization of Molly! I really relate to her as a character, so it helps. +]

I'm gonna be honest, I had to pull out a thesaurus for this one. I just needed to perfect words for the mood. Glad you liked it!

Thanks for this great review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MileyMalfoyBehind These Hazel Eyes: Behind These Hazel Eyes

9th July 2014:
It's great to get to see the events that unfolded from Cho's POV. I love the fact that you started the story off with her memories and described what the summer and return to Hogwarts was like for her. So often we get wrapped up in what's going on in Harry's head, especially in OoTP, that we forget that there are other people going through the same thing and dealing with a lot of the same situations as he is. At least in the fact that Cedric died and had people who were far closer to him than Harry was, even if by seeing him die Harry is clearly allowed to be traumatized. This story seems to play right into the quote from Hermione about all the things on Cho's mind, and I really appreciate the fact that the story shows this all in such a readable manner.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>