Reading Reviews From Member: stranger_than_fiction
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by stranger_than_fictionThe Count: The Count

24th December 2011:
Heddy, this is such a lovely story! I'm so honored that my banner inspired you to write about this beautiful moment in the Longbottom family (': Your one-shot perfectly captured the tortured yet enduring love that Neville and his parents experience, and it was heartbreaking how they all must rely on some sort of count--Neville his mother's blonde hair, Frank the clock, Alice the gum wrappers. I gained a new appreciation of Neville from this story, so thank you for writing it--I certainly enjoyed it (:

Author's Response: haha oh Steph, I totally forgot this was your hpff username and I was like WHO IS THIS PERSON CLAIMING STEPH'S BANNER, THIS IS NOT OKAY. And then I realized it was actually you xD Thank you so much though, I am so glad you liked this! You and your banners are going to make me a prolific hpff-er again, I can see it now... D:

 Report Review

Review #2, by stranger_than_fictionFall And Fall Again: Ethics of a Celestial Home

22nd June 2009:
That was such a beautiful story! Each passage was a pleasure to read, the description was extremely lush, placing me as the reader right there on the hill with Draco, surveying the death and destruction around me. Draco's characterization is also done quite well, though I was wondering, was he fighting on the side of the Trio or the Death Eaters? Anyways, even though he seemed a tiny bit out of character, the scene when he's comforting Hermione is lovely as well, and very believable (especially Hermione giving the cross to Draco to give to Ron). I don't really see it as a Dramione, but rather as a story about Draco's passage to a less pureblood state of mind, and this story brought up the question of what constitutes a sinner, and whether there is a heaven for tormented souls. All in all, a very thought-provoking and expressive story. Kudos to you! (:

 Report Review

Review #3, by stranger_than_fictionBack when we were Blacks: Bellatrix.

22nd June 2009:
All in all, a masterful story! I don't think the last chapter ruined the entire story at all, though I believe you could explore Bellatrix in a first-person manner like you did with Andromeda and Narcissa, I always found Bellatrix to be a fascinating, twisted character. However, I did find the last chapter a bit disjointed--I believe that was the effect you were going for--but perhaps sometime you could include some of those moments "when she doesnít recognise herself", because that is what interests me the most--does she see herself as a monster? Who was she before? What drove her to become this mad fighter--simply her parent's words, or something more? Nevertheless, this chapter was extremely well-written, I really loved reading it!

Anyways, I adored reading the entire story, and I think it gives an accurate impression of who exactly the Black sisters are (were? since Bellatrix died in DH) and how they felt towards each other. A very satisfying read, and I can't wait to see more from you!

Author's Response: You're making me blush... I think it would have been possible, but I wasn't getting quite the same effect aas the other two. It was really just a lot of unlinked, rambling sentence, but that probably stemmed from my personal view of Bellatrix. To me, she really is certifiably insane and most of her thoughts would lack reason or logic. I can imagine her just flipping about in her mind and in the end I felt that this was the best way that I could portray that. I also justified the change of style because Bella is so entirely different, Lol.

I definitely understand and greatly appreciate your CC. Sometimes I feel that because this story has quite a few positive reviews people are almost... scared to criticise it, which although lovely, isn't really going to help me develop the fic or my writing. I'll definitely take this into account, because I see myself how short this chapter seems in comparison to the others, despite the fact that it's practically the same length. Thank you for your help!

Also, to address your questions a little bit, obviously Bella's behaviour would be down to a combination of things, but I feel that it's really driven by the insanity that has always been with her.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your lovely, constructive reviews. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story so much and I'm pleased that you liked my characerisation too ^_^.

Writing-wise I have been sort of experimenting this past year and so you probably won't find anything like this, but I've got a new one-shot in the works that I hope you'll enjoy when it's been polished and validated and such! Thank you so much for your reviews; they were really lovely to read.


 Report Review

Review #4, by stranger_than_fictionBack when we were Blacks: Andromeda.

22nd June 2009:
This is your first fanfiction? It's lovely! I really enjoyed hearing Andromeda's perspective--it's quite like what I imagined her viewpoint would be, I think the characterization is spot on. In fact, your characterization of all the Black sisters seems quite accurate, as is her little tidbit about Regulus. I think some of my favorite characters in the HP world actually come from the House of Black xD

"They say thereís a fine line between love and hate. Resentment, on the other hand, isnít easily forgotten." That's an amazing line and a good representation of the entire story, lyrical and with straightforward language which describes Andromeda's thoughts perfectly. Wonderful job, and I can't wait to finish the rest of the story! (:

Author's Response: Yes, it was my very first, but I did put a lot of consideration into it. I thought about it a lot before I actually got round to putting pen to paper. Thank you very much, I wanted to give a bit of insight into her life, because we know next to nothing about her. She's sort of infamous and even in her meeting with Harry she doesn't seem the most sociable. I agree with you wholeheartedly there! The House of Black is home to such a fascinating range of characters.

Oh gosh, thank you! It's so lovely when people quote their favourite lines, but most of the time I can barely remember writing them, Lol. I'm so happy that you're enjoying the story, your comments are so wonderfully flattering and I really appreciate the fact that you took the time to read and review ^_^.


 Report Review

Review #5, by stranger_than_fictionAstute Observations: Astute Observations

21st June 2009:
...that was amazing, Susan! First off, I have to say that banner is absolutely stunning, you amaze me with your ridiculous Photoshop skills. But moving on, there were some wonderful lines interspersed throughout your story, my favorites being "(she did also feel sorry for Harry, but only when he wasnít talking in capital letters)" and "You canít love someone who has hidden away his heart." The first is hilarious, though my knowledge of OoTP is a bit fuzzy--it's not my favorite book--but are you referencing when Harry is screaming at Dumbledore in the office? And as for the latter, it just has such a beautiful cadence to it like the rest of the story. I got a bit confused with the Roman numerals, but I think I got it in the end. xD All in all, a marvelous story, you really did a great job with it, I think it fits into canon quite well and seems to describe their relationship perfectly--not too fluffy with the right touch of sadness and regret. (:

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Steph! It's really nice of you to have come in to review this! I really appreciate it. ^_^

Yes, I got my shot at Harry in there, haha. It's unfortunate that the series is so focused on just him because all the supporting characters are more interesting, at least to me. I was referring to that scene with Dumbledore and to the other at the beginning of OotP when Harry screams at Ron and Hermione. :P

The roman numerals demark the chapters - the catch being that the chapters here are out of order because of the flashback. ;)

Thanks again for this! I'm glad that it turned out well and seemed to fit well into canon. That was one of the things I was worried about with this story, so it's great to know that it worked out. :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by stranger_than_fictionMy Notebook Will Explain: Meet Me at the Lake

21st June 2009:
Ooh, I adored this story! It's extremely well-written, and though the idea is a tiny bit cliched, I like what you did with it--especially exploring James in the aftermath of his parents' death. You had a couple grammatical/spelling errors here and there throughout your story, along with some run-on sentences, but as the reader I still got the gist of what you were trying to say. Also, I'm glad they didn't have a shared bathroom--that always seemed too convenient and non-Canon to me xD But I have to congratulate you, it's a lovely story, and you executed your idea well. I can never actually write my plot bunnies >.< Anyways, I can't wait to read more of your stories! I'm sure they'll be wonderful. (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #7, by stranger_than_fictionThe Boy Who Cried Mudblood: The boy who cried "Mudblood"

2nd January 2009:
I just stumbled on this little gem of a story and I liked it very, very much! Personally, it would have been wonderful if it was longer-it ended much too soon and left me wanting more. It's so sad, and I love how you portray Draco Malfoy-proud, stubborn, but in the end, not really who he pretended to be. A marvelous one-shot, I loved it! (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by stranger_than_fictionTelling Him: Ron and Hermione

18th August 2007:
Aww, this is really cute. ^_^ It's a tiny bit too fluffy for my taste, but even so, it's incredibly, incredibly cute. Good job, Erin!

 Report Review

Review #9, by stranger_than_fictionMinimum Wage To True Love: Just Right

11th August 2007:
Aww, Carrie, this is so incredibly cute! You just HAVE to update. Oh, and as to the other reply...
the sexual tension has come into fruition! *rolls around laughing*
Okay, anyways, that was cute, and I really want to know what happens soon, it can't be all roses, right? But I don't mind some fluff. I like the new title ^_^

I'm still weird today, sorry.

Stephanie :P

Author's Response:
Hahahaha! Oh, Steph. This review brightened up my day in more ways than one. xD Nope; it's not always roses. I agree with that.

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #10, by stranger_than_fictionRight Out of the Blue Sky: Right Out of the Blue Sky

9th August 2007:
That was really, really sad! And I really, really liked it, even if it was an exceptionally short read. And I can't really give you anything more constructive than the fact that the story seemed a tad bit rushed, but other than that, I really like this! I hope I wasn't harsh or over-fangirl-y or anything.
Oh, and this is Stephanie=discern. Thought you'd want to know. ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I totally appreciate the review and you weren't harsh/over-fangirl-y, so you pretty much rock.

 Report Review

Review #11, by stranger_than_fictionMinimum Wage To True Love: The Test

8th August 2007:
I LOVE THE BANNER! Anyways, this doesn't really have all that much, it's just kind of an intro, since it's a prequel, but I can't wait to see what happens next! I have a feeling it'll be good! This was quite a nice chapter. I can feel the "sexual tension" lol.

I'm in the strangest mood today, sorry for the bizarro review.

Author's Response:
That's okay, Steph. I still loff you. *huggles* It wasn't really supposed to have much; just introduce the players. So sexual tension, eh? I didn't even mean to do that. And the banner? You loff it? I'm glad. =D

-Carrie


 Report Review

Review #12, by stranger_than_fictionA Tearstained Letter: Confessions

2nd August 2007:
This is really, really cute! And I loved the ending, it was quite, quite interesting. Your edit makes sense, and though that's kind of disturbing, of course, legally, it would work. :P But this is a really good story!

Author's Response: Ooh thank you so much !!! Yeah I am thinking of changing it as a lot of peopl are a bit weird with it !!


 Report Review

Review #13, by stranger_than_fictionSeeing Stars: Doctor Siriusís Diagnosis

30th July 2007:
I really like this! It's really cute, and full of your usual humor. I'll have to see what happens next, won't I? Anyways, my favorite part was just how much in denial Adara and Lily are. Keep up the good work, and I'm off to the second chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks, this story's supposed to be pretty light and fluffy, so I'm glad you find it funny. :) Psh, Lily's always in denial about James. And Adara's ... just Adara.

 Report Review

Review #14, by stranger_than_fictionNever Let Me Go: Hold on to Me

28th July 2007:
AHHH! IT'S SO CUTE! -squee- Sorry, that's about all I can say, I really really love incredibly fluffy cute Romonie. Good job. :)

Author's Response: Me too! I love fluff! It's so fluffy!

 Report Review

Review #15, by stranger_than_fictionThe Teddy Story: Introduction

28th July 2007:
I love this chapter! And I can't wait to read more, I like the way you've portrayed the two of them, and anyways, I love the pairing Teddy/Victorie ^_^ Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by stranger_than_fictionMannequin Display Case: Mannequin Display Case

17th July 2007:
This is discern over at tda.
I love this fic, Em! It's so sad, but I loved it. I liked how it was a departure from regular fics, and I enjoyed the whole thing, especially the flashbacks and how caught up she was with the past. She almost seems like Luna Lovegood...this is a great fic. Going into my favorites :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for such an awesome review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by stranger_than_fictionThe Point of No Return: Undeniable Horrors

27th February 2007:
LURVED again! :)

You are capable of writing with so much detail that it's unbelivable. Ch. 3 was sent to you. :P

stranger_than_fiction

Author's Response: I"m sure you just made everyones day by saying that :P it'll be up momentarily then ^_^

you are such a dear -tackle-


 Report Review

Review #18, by stranger_than_fictionThe Point of No Return: Unforgivable Deeds

26th February 2007:
This was short, but really, really good!

But then again, I edited it. -conceited look- lmao. I'm almost done with the next chapter, it's on its way. :)

Author's Response: of course that would give you NO reason to love it even more, hehe. and I'm getting ready to post that chapter! woo!

 Report Review

Review #19, by stranger_than_fictionWait For Him: Wait For Him

23rd February 2007:
Well, it was kind of short, but I still liked it!

Did her love bring him back to life? I'm a tad bit confused.

But overall, quite good! :)

Author's Response: its left as a mystery pretty much, for the reader to decide in the end. in my mind, his will to be back with her over reached the walls of death, but thats just me :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by stranger_than_fictionMy Secret Snowflake: Lily should stop pretending

19th February 2007:
I really liked this chapter, and I'm off to the next one! :)

I really like how you potray James and Lily-I guess it's the way I enjoy them acting as. Cookie to you if you got what I just said. :D

Author's Response: -grabs cookie- xDD
Thanks so umch for reading! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by stranger_than_fictionSecrets: Secrets

19th February 2007:
I think this one was really good, brilliant, even, and I think I enjoyed this one more than Pandora's Box, although maybe it's because this one was a one-shot. All the descriptions were excellent, I enjoyed how angst-y this was, as cruel as it sounds.

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: HAHA. Thanks!! I'm actually much happier with PB and for you to say you enjoyed this more really makes me relived and -of course, happy! Gracias gracias!! xD

 Report Review

Review #22, by stranger_than_fictionPandora's Box: Her Tangled Mess

18th February 2007:
UPDATE!

I really, really liked this chapter, and I don't think that you overdid the emotions at all! I'll be waiting for the newest chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm working on the next chapter as I type, Thanks so much again!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by stranger_than_fictionPandora's Box: Pandora's Box I

18th February 2007:
I really like this next chapter too! :) The ferret? *smirks* This should get interesting! I'm off to the next chapter once more, and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Heh. Thanks! And I will! xD

 Report Review

Review #24, by stranger_than_fictionPandora's Box: Pandora

18th February 2007:
I think this was a pretty good chapter, and I'm off to the next one!

Keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! My gosh, you've really reviewed a lot! Thank you to no end, I really, truly appreciate it!! THANK YOU!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by stranger_than_fictionEvanescent: Our Love Goes On

11th February 2007:
Well, this one was really, really good too, but like I said, it kind of blurs into Infliction, except in Draco's POV, but all your slight-well, I don't know how to describe it, but it's really, really good anyways! Going to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch, Steph. I love to hear from you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>