Reading Reviews From Member: Avanell 2
  
1,732 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: Facing the Inevitable

26th March 2017:
Great update! Loved their finding one another at the cottage and getting some feelings out. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Avanell 2Dreams of Flowers and Paradise : Chapter 1

26th March 2017:
Very intriguing beginning! Scorpius a year older, and besties with James (usually it is with Albus if he is friends with the clan). Enjoyed the first installment!

Author's Response: Yeah, I come from a time before Pottermore and Cursed Child were a thing and all those facts were mostly up to your own interpretation. Needless to say old habits die hard lol. Anyway, thank you for reading! I'm glad you liked it, I plan to get chapters out as the queue allows. :) thanks!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Home for Christmas: Dawnsfirstbloom part two

26th March 2017:
Forgot to mention at the latest chapter (end of the year) that I really enjoyed the students having fun for a week but still learning, especially those who helped out with Neville :) And the Slytherin boy being polite with Rose.

I'm also an Educational Psychologist, so this really was a joy to read.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Last Adventure of the Year

26th March 2017:
Loved the intro talking about the goblin approval of Dawnfirstbloom's friendship (deep friendship) with Rose. And adored this line about Rose: she walked through a sea of other desperate students like an icebreaker through the frozen Arctic wastes.
Loved it!
Oh, and wow, what a scene Rose wandered into. Poor Scorpius, and he admitted (or you did for him, lol) that he liked and respected Rose. Woo-hoo! a step closer to what WILL happen in the years to come :) Awesome, brava! Cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there, my faithful reviewer, I'm so glad you liked this chapter. I didn't know exactly how it was going to work, it was a bit piecemeal but I like to think that I linked everything reasonably well into a sort of harmonious whole.

Dawn's happy and I'm happy you're happy with it too. I liked that line too, first you had the analogy with a hiker and the trees, now the ice floe and the icebreaker - seems that Rose doesn't pay an awful lot of attention to those around her. Hmm, I wonder if we shall see any ramifications of that in the future ...

I wanted it to be a powerful scene, but also one that didn't glorify the bullies. They do have some points of sympathy, that's one of the problems with bullies. I didn't want them to be just cardboard cut outs, completely a 'wandering monster' style encounter where they don't have any character at all. You can understand the feelings of the one who shouts at Rose, it is unfair, but the thing is, you don't make things right by perpetuating injustice.

Poor Scorpius indeed, and that's the thing, this is the treatment that he was expecting at Hogwarts - from everyone. Right from that first day on the train, he expected that Albus, the son of the man that Scorpius' own father tormented - was going to strike him for no better reason than his last name. Thank god for Albus, and more, for his wonderfully forgiving father. So when the bullies first struck (pun intended), some time earlier in the year, for him it was almost rightful punishment overdue. It is one of the main reasons he never told anyone about it. As well as the other threat; whom do you think the bullies threatened to hurt if he told?

And yes, there is a tiny hint of things to come, contained in a single line that he might actually like the girl. Sigh. Though there will be far more ups and downs in the years to come (for a while, many more downs).

Thanks for the review, as of this reply the work has had 13813 reads in total, and this chapter has had 30: thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Life Settles PART 1

24th March 2017:
Very nice update! some errors but one thing confused me. Ann had dinner at the burrow while pregnant? Wouldn't Molly and Arthur have been there?

 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Exam Which is not an Exam

4th March 2017:
As a hiker/adventuress, love this line: Paying less attention to the people around her than would a hiker to the trees of a forest they were traversing. Lovely! Brilliant! Same for the stuffed toy at the end! :D
Very intriguing chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again.

I'm so glad that I put something into the story that you can actually, personally relate to. Enjoying the pastime of bushwalking myself, upon occasions, as you know a hiker will actually pay some attention to the trees around themselves. Unfortunately, not so for Rose. This inattention to other people will have consequences for the girl in the chapters to come ... actually around chapter 47 or so. I hope that I can keep your attention, at least, till then.

Having had Rose make a stuffed manticore for Dawnsfirstbloom, I wondered if it was actually possible to do so. I looked it up online, but as I suspected, there were no patterns for any. I didn't even like any of the plain lion ones to adapt them. If I made my character make one, then there was no way that I wasn't going to have an attempt at it myself. I was so happy with the outcome, I cannot tell you.

I'm glad you found the whole chapter intriguing. So we discover that Albus is a Smith like his father, which I do not think is too much of a stretch. I hope all the Smith explanation at the end was OK and wasn't to boring/useless.

Thanks for the review. As of this response the work as a whole has had 13450 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Love Succeeds

26th February 2017:
Very sweet awakening. Is it twins or was that an error? Saw a few...no matter. Very sweet. Adored Fred and Ann, and she's Minerva's niece!

Author's Response: There are a lot of mistakes, sorry about that. Most of them might be because I write on my phone and it's very difficult to read as the screen is so small, but at the moment I don't have a computer.
And... English is not my mother language, I'm from Argentina.
And... I'm very anxious to see people's reaction so I upload without really editing, and get to that later, I shouldn't be that lazy, sorry again.
Thank you for your review! There's another one coming!!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2The joys of you: Chapter 1

17th February 2017:
Very nice introductory chapter! Looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I should be updating soon :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Miracles happen.

11th February 2017:
Great opener! Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you! There's a new chapter and anotherone on the way. I have a lot of work at the moment but next week I promise to sit down and edit what I have already uploaded and write some more. Thakkk youuu!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Quidditch Adventure

5th February 2017:
Wow! Rose really shined again! Awesome, even though no Scorpius ;) Loved it! I never like reading the game descriptions, but this story has me reading more of them. Still skim a bit, but I was more into it than normal and so happy I did! Love that she has a move with her name! Awesome chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there, glad to hear you liked the chapter.

It's a thing, these quidditch chapters. For a game that could conceivably go on for hours, it is not the writers greatest friend to have to convey all that goes on. In fact, I can almost promise you that I will never do a complete play-by-play account of any of the quidditch games in this story, ever: it could get really boring, really fast.

So what I do is to pick out the highlights. Every play I write about either advances the character of those involved or advances the plot/story in some way. Quidditch will be played by the actors in this drama in the future, so I cannot rule out writing about it again, but there will be much less of it. I have achieved most of what I wanted to with the quidditch when I first started this story. So I am happy.

No Scorpius, he cannot be in everything and everywhere. Do not worry though, we see a lot more of him - believe-you-me - in the chapters to come. In fact, when the holidays start, we will have a series of chapters devoted to Albus and Scorpius, seeing what befalls them when they go back to Malfoy Manor together.

Thanks, as always for reading. As of this response, this story has had 12877 reads, and this chapter has had 27; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: You Thought 'Ron'g

5th February 2017:
Fabulous chapter! Hope Ron sees Hermione...and...get back together! Make things work whatever her choice is! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for continuing to read, Avanell! We all know that Ron and Hermione end up together in JKR's world. I don't want to give anything away before the next few chapters hit, but I will do my best to make Cannon supporters happy. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Change of Views

5th February 2017:
Excellent! Good job, Ginny, loved how you got her to refocus on who she is, who she loves. Knew she'd pick James, Al indeed would be a distraction. Ooh! So worried now! Please let Hermione be forgiven, although I would prefer if she had a more brilliant plan behind her actions.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2The Housemaid: The Housemaid

14th January 2017:
Interesting beginning! She likely belongs at Hogwarts herself! Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you! Chapter 2 to come shortly!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Avanell 2News: News

14th January 2017:
Very sweet story! some confusion in the details as I read, but it's been a long day so maybe it' just me being tired. :) Overall lovely story :)

Author's Response: Thank you:) I'll have to read it over so no one else gets confused, sometimes you forget that your readers don't have the whole story plot planned out in their heads so you think things make sense when really they don't haha. Happy you liked it! Xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by Avanell 2The 'M' Word: The 'M' Word

1st January 2017:
Very lovely story...a true family moment! A teachable moment!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Nana

1st January 2017:
Very sweet, tender, and revealing chapter of the house elves slavery...changes, and the passing of a matriarch! Awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks so much my faithful reviewer.

I'm glad the tenderness came through amidst all the awful stuff about the elves' slavery. I really like Blinky and I want to see more of her as the story progresses. As for Nana, she was the same as Trevor, a minor character who got a bit more time in the story than I had originally intended. She was old when we first met her and when I was thinking about what I was going to develop of the culture of the House-elves, her imminent death seemed like a real possibility. I realised that it might be the perfect opportunity to bring up some of the things I'd thought about.

It also brought Stephen back, and you know any chance I have to do that I grasp with both hands. It showed his cheekiness, even in the face of death, which is so like him. But it also gave me a rare opportunity to show his vulnerable side too.

I'm so glad you liked it, I was very proud of this chapter and the last. As of this response the work in total has had 12264 reads, and this chapter has had 12; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2Amorous: Chapter twelve

31st December 2016:
Sweet fun chapter! The camera, the revenge...lovely talks too.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Fighting and Lysander

23rd December 2016:
Nice update, some silliness of teenagers, but I do enjoy the story :D

Author's Response: thank you, sweetheart! will update soon(:

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Scorpius and Tragedy

18th December 2016:
Wow! what a tragedy. Before that, loved the opening up about themselves and family. No Rose, YOU are the special one! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your reviews OMG !! much love !

 Report Review

Review #20, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Quidditch and Dating

17th December 2016:
Very interesting interactions between them. Loved the first hug in public, oh my! and then the scene in this update. And Gryffindor wins! Yes!

Author's Response: aw it was fun to write, and yeah the game was fun too ! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Managing Quidditch, Malfoy, and James

17th December 2016:
Very interesting and sweet, but I'm rooting for Rose's team to win!

Author's Response: thank you!]


 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: Fate Takes a Form

10th December 2016:
Ooh! Another offer...from Kinglsey! Awesome...love that guy. Glad she talked with him...he was brilliant and said stuff perfect for where Hermione is at. Simple and short, but very nice :)

Author's Response: Thank you for taking time to read my story, Avanell 2! I think Kingsley is a pretty cool character in the HP world. I definitely had wanted to include him in one of my chapters, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity for a guest appearance. I do like that his heartfelt words of wisdom were straight to the point and, like you said, were exactly what Hermione needed to hear! I hope you keep reading as the story progresses!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2A Weasley Vacation: Malfoy's Story

3rd December 2016:
I finally peaked at this story, skimmed some but read this chapter entirely. Love this one! Loved how Hermione and Draco got to really know one another...and I mean as adults and Draco telling his story. :D

 Report Review

Review #24, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Aftermath: Celebration

3rd December 2016:
Interesting story...I came to it late and have skimmed some (hard to catch up on all) and I hope you keep "refreshing" it so I can read more of what I haven't read :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the post, delighted you're interested -- I'm a little confused about your request to "refresh," mainly because I'm still very new to fanfiction and this site. Are you not able to access the story, or find it, unless I post something new?
There is more to the story but "real life" has been getting in the way of my writing lately. The continuation might be a whole second story...but I'm not sure about that yet. But if I can do something to help you read, let me know!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Who Are You?

3rd December 2016:
Love Rose's image!

Fun story thus far! Of course, Rose is better than those boys :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Thanks for reading, love!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>