Reading Reviews From Member: Avanell 2
  
1,727 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2The Housemaid: The Housemaid

14th January 2017:
Interesting beginning! She likely belongs at Hogwarts herself! Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you! Chapter 2 to come shortly!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Avanell 2News: News

14th January 2017:
Very sweet story! some confusion in the details as I read, but it's been a long day so maybe it' just me being tired. :) Overall lovely story :)

Author's Response: Thank you:) I'll have to read it over so no one else gets confused, sometimes you forget that your readers don't have the whole story plot planned out in their heads so you think things make sense when really they don't haha. Happy you liked it! Xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2The 'M' Word: The 'M' Word

1st January 2017:
Very lovely story...a true family moment! A teachable moment!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Nana

1st January 2017:
Very sweet, tender, and revealing chapter of the house elves slavery...changes, and the passing of a matriarch! Awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks so much my faithful reviewer.

I'm glad the tenderness came through amidst all the awful stuff about the elves' slavery. I really like Blinky and I want to see more of her as the story progresses. As for Nana, she was the same as Trevor, a minor character who got a bit more time in the story than I had originally intended. She was old when we first met her and when I was thinking about what I was going to develop of the culture of the House-elves, her imminent death seemed like a real possibility. I realised that it might be the perfect opportunity to bring up some of the things I'd thought about.

It also brought Stephen back, and you know any chance I have to do that I grasp with both hands. It showed his cheekiness, even in the face of death, which is so like him. But it also gave me a rare opportunity to show his vulnerable side too.

I'm so glad you liked it, I was very proud of this chapter and the last. As of this response the work in total has had 12264 reads, and this chapter has had 12; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Avanell 2Amorous: Chapter twelve

31st December 2016:
Sweet fun chapter! The camera, the revenge...lovely talks too.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Fighting and Lysander

23rd December 2016:
Nice update, some silliness of teenagers, but I do enjoy the story :D

Author's Response: thank you, sweetheart! will update soon(:

 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Scorpius and Tragedy

18th December 2016:
Wow! what a tragedy. Before that, loved the opening up about themselves and family. No Rose, YOU are the special one! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your reviews OMG !! much love !

 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Quidditch and Dating

17th December 2016:
Very interesting interactions between them. Loved the first hug in public, oh my! and then the scene in this update. And Gryffindor wins! Yes!

Author's Response: aw it was fun to write, and yeah the game was fun too ! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Managing Quidditch, Malfoy, and James

17th December 2016:
Very interesting and sweet, but I'm rooting for Rose's team to win!

Author's Response: thank you!]


 Report Review

Review #10, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: Fate Takes a Form

10th December 2016:
Ooh! Another offer...from Kinglsey! Awesome...love that guy. Glad she talked with him...he was brilliant and said stuff perfect for where Hermione is at. Simple and short, but very nice :)

Author's Response: Thank you for taking time to read my story, Avanell 2! I think Kingsley is a pretty cool character in the HP world. I definitely had wanted to include him in one of my chapters, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity for a guest appearance. I do like that his heartfelt words of wisdom were straight to the point and, like you said, were exactly what Hermione needed to hear! I hope you keep reading as the story progresses!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2A Weasley Vacation: Malfoy's Story

3rd December 2016:
I finally peaked at this story, skimmed some but read this chapter entirely. Love this one! Loved how Hermione and Draco got to really know one another...and I mean as adults and Draco telling his story. :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Aftermath: Celebration

3rd December 2016:
Interesting story...I came to it late and have skimmed some (hard to catch up on all) and I hope you keep "refreshing" it so I can read more of what I haven't read :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the post, delighted you're interested -- I'm a little confused about your request to "refresh," mainly because I'm still very new to fanfiction and this site. Are you not able to access the story, or find it, unless I post something new?
There is more to the story but "real life" has been getting in the way of my writing lately. The continuation might be a whole second story...but I'm not sure about that yet. But if I can do something to help you read, let me know!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2For Your Eyes Only: Who Are You?

3rd December 2016:
Love Rose's image!

Fun story thus far! Of course, Rose is better than those boys :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Thanks for reading, love!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Return of Trevor

3rd December 2016:
Nice intro to the chapter :D and the artwork!

Awesome chapter, one of my favorites. First clever Rose watching the pranksters (and LOVED how the head mistress turned it around on them) and then the talk with Trevor. Brilliant! Loved how he used Dobby...oh for Dobby's sake...or something like that :) Also loved that someone saw how special Rose is :)

Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you, once again, my faithful reviewer. I struggled hard for the exact way to do the chapter image, I didn't know what bit of the scene with Trevor that I should paint. Because, believe it or not, the prank was not originally in this chapter, it was not anywhere. I knew what happened in the prank, and I knew it had to come after the scene with Albus and his mates with James, but ...

You see, I had forgotten to actually write it. It was not until I had re-read all these chapters, reasonably recently, the ones that lead up to the end of the year, and found that it wasn't there. I had already posted the previous chapter, the place the scene should logically have been; so it couldn't have gone there. This chapter was a bit too late, so I had to come up with some reason to have it delayed and ... well, the resulting reason , I think, is not only logical, but is actually better. Sweet, beautiful happy accidents.

Speaking of happy accidents, as I've said before, Trevor arose solely out of a need to have the boss of the House-elves be rude to Rose when they first met. All the rest has grown out of meeting that need, and the writing gods have gifted me with this character, whom has been a delight to write.

I was so happy with this chapter in the end - even with, yet another place, to insert the wonderfully subversive McGonagall. That line where Trevor uses Dobby, where wizards would invoke the name of Merlin, was a particular favourite as well.

Rose has many things wrong with her, as a character, she will be maturing and growing as the story progresses. There have been several reviewers who have pointed out how unlikeable she is in a lot of ways. It needs stuff like this to show some of her good points.

Thanks so much for reading, I hope to get the next chapter out soon, for what is basically part two of this adventure. As of this review, the story has had 12020 reads, and this chapter has had 54; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Hidden Plans

29th October 2016:
Something weird with the main filter I use, the background and then your story title link wasn't working. Others seemed to be. I went to your author page and the link was active there. :D

Loved the hospital scene. Al is right to be angry, but glad he told Hermione he loves her. sweet! I'm still hoping that she will do something amazing to help things get right again. I enjoyed the lesson learned on changing appearance, and the family part touches me but of course don't want her to fall with them! Hope she gets some sense...love can overcome the evil!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2Time Travel: This is all completely mental

29th October 2016:
Boys, not gentlemen...you'd think they'd give their beds to their future sons, lol. Great update! Can't believe I brought this up and forgot to read :( But happy to now! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: I'm in Control

15th October 2016:
Yikes, so looking forward to a resolve! Don't like Ophelia so upset, even if what they did was wrong. I hope Hermione comes up with a new plan or something to be part of things going right. :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Avanell 2All That Follows: Chapter 30

15th October 2016:
I hope catching your muse is contagious! Very sweet update. adored the memory that included Hermione calling Ron mature. Loved how he met her at the station, noticing the people recognize her, and all else! Lovely! Can't wait for MORE. Need to refresh myself...how long has it been? I have too many unfinished works. Thanks for inspiring me! I've been, no, I KEEP thinking about it but have been getting more interested again and hope this helps :D

Author's Response: Thank you! This is the first review to the 're-start' so I'm so glad you liked it. It's been, ahem, 6 years I think... Life got very busy for a bit and then I got out of the habit but I'm hoping to do a bit more, even if not super regular (although I'm going to try!). So lovely to hear you're inspired! Hope you get the writing bug back! :-D

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: The End

8th October 2016:
Very sweet finale. Loved it! :D Fabulous short story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: So Close

2nd October 2016:
Another sweet, cute update.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Rose's Charms

30th September 2016:
Loved how you explained Rose's thoughts...and her little tutorial in the Common Room! Awesome update...will this continue in second year, or will you start another story for that? Did not look at whether this was complete or not...but certainly looking forward to more and...oh yeah...more adventures to come. Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hello again, glad you are here for another review.

Do check again with the chapter, as I have not painted an image for it - I was considering painting the summoned apple, cushion and book? What do you think. I will have to get to it sometime soon and post it up.

As I said in the Author's note, a lot of the last two chapters have been about dealing with the fame of being the children of such famous parents. I wasn't really going to have much about the kids having to deal with any of that fame stuff when I first started out writing this, but after reading other stories and thinking about it, it would definitely be a factor that they would encounter. To not include it would not be realistic (as realistic as a story about magic teenagers can ever get that is). All of the Weasley/Potter kids who I am going to concentrate upon will deal with their fame in different ways. We can see how James deals with it: he embraces it (with the keeping of the scrapbook of their various media appearances) but also dreads it (with his aside in this chapter). Rose, who is not so questioning of herself, has had it become a niggle in her psyche. Albus, on the other hand I will not be going into so overtly, but I think that a boy who is big hearted enough to be sorted into every house, will wear the fame with a mixture of humility and pride. He's already more famous in the school for his own achievements: his presence in each house; the quidditch league named after him; and his superlative skills as a Seeker.

Remember this whole story is littered with my head cannon about how magic must work in the Harry Potter universe, and this chapter just continues that exploration. Charms has been the subject that Rose has the most difficulty with, so she must have gone through a lot of this herself - working out how they worked so that she could do them herself. As for her impromptu lesson, Rose is not one to be precious about her own abilities - she will help out someone in need. Especially if it is telling someone something that she knows and they don't. Rose definitely has her faults, but selfishness in that respect is not one of them.

First year will end with chapter 31. After that there will be at least ten chapters that outline what the kids get up to in the holidays - there will be, I think some interesting things to explore when Albus joins Scorpius over the Summer, and when Rose and Dawn go to the home tunnels of the Deeper Delvers. So second year will start around chapter 42 or so. I had wondered if I should split the story up and have a: Part I, Part II, etc. In some ways it would be good to have a series of completed stories, but, in the end I decided against it. There will be some significant time slips in the years to come (notably fourth and fifth) which meant that I couldn't do it from year to year.

At the moment, I am writing what will eventually be chapter 39 or 40 (possibly 41, as it is getting quite large for a chapter and I may split it in half), and there are other chapters that I have already written that take place in 2nd, 3rd and 6th years. So there is plenty left to come.

Thanks again for the review, as of this chapter the story has had 10701 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2Make No Mistake: There's Just No Way

25th September 2016:
Interesting beginning...I haven't read much of this pairing in awhile, but it caught my eye AND had the total word length of another I just read, lol. :D

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2The Restoration of Faith: Doing Your Best

25th September 2016:
Interesting beginning...looking forward to more. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I hit a bit of a delay due to some family circumstances, but hopefully I finish the next chapter some time this week. Feel free to stop by again!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: Hogsmeade

25th September 2016:
Sweet update. adored Ron and Hermione. Harry...well, we shall read. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Updates to follow!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Finally, the Truth

24th September 2016:
Don't fall for it! If you seem so, blink twice. Or rather, for us readers, share your thoughts. :D Awesome chapter! I'm on team Hermione, regarding the older adults.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>