Reading Reviews From Member: Avanell 2
1,711 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: I'm in Control

15th October 2016:
Yikes, so looking forward to a resolve! Don't like Ophelia so upset, even if what they did was wrong. I hope Hermione comes up with a new plan or something to be part of things going right. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Avanell 2All That Follows: Chapter 30

15th October 2016:
I hope catching your muse is contagious! Very sweet update. adored the memory that included Hermione calling Ron mature. Loved how he met her at the station, noticing the people recognize her, and all else! Lovely! Can't wait for MORE. Need to refresh long has it been? I have too many unfinished works. Thanks for inspiring me! I've been, no, I KEEP thinking about it but have been getting more interested again and hope this helps :D

Author's Response: Thank you! This is the first review to the 're-start' so I'm so glad you liked it. It's been, ahem, 6 years I think... Life got very busy for a bit and then I got out of the habit but I'm hoping to do a bit more, even if not super regular (although I'm going to try!). So lovely to hear you're inspired! Hope you get the writing bug back! :-D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: The End

8th October 2016:
Very sweet finale. Loved it! :D Fabulous short story.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: So Close

2nd October 2016:
Another sweet, cute update.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Rose's Charms

30th September 2016:
Loved how you explained Rose's thoughts...and her little tutorial in the Common Room! Awesome update...will this continue in second year, or will you start another story for that? Did not look at whether this was complete or not...but certainly looking forward to more and...oh yeah...more adventures to come. Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hello again, glad you are here for another review.

Do check again with the chapter, as I have not painted an image for it - I was considering painting the summoned apple, cushion and book? What do you think. I will have to get to it sometime soon and post it up.

As I said in the Author's note, a lot of the last two chapters have been about dealing with the fame of being the children of such famous parents. I wasn't really going to have much about the kids having to deal with any of that fame stuff when I first started out writing this, but after reading other stories and thinking about it, it would definitely be a factor that they would encounter. To not include it would not be realistic (as realistic as a story about magic teenagers can ever get that is). All of the Weasley/Potter kids who I am going to concentrate upon will deal with their fame in different ways. We can see how James deals with it: he embraces it (with the keeping of the scrapbook of their various media appearances) but also dreads it (with his aside in this chapter). Rose, who is not so questioning of herself, has had it become a niggle in her psyche. Albus, on the other hand I will not be going into so overtly, but I think that a boy who is big hearted enough to be sorted into every house, will wear the fame with a mixture of humility and pride. He's already more famous in the school for his own achievements: his presence in each house; the quidditch league named after him; and his superlative skills as a Seeker.

Remember this whole story is littered with my head cannon about how magic must work in the Harry Potter universe, and this chapter just continues that exploration. Charms has been the subject that Rose has the most difficulty with, so she must have gone through a lot of this herself - working out how they worked so that she could do them herself. As for her impromptu lesson, Rose is not one to be precious about her own abilities - she will help out someone in need. Especially if it is telling someone something that she knows and they don't. Rose definitely has her faults, but selfishness in that respect is not one of them.

First year will end with chapter 31. After that there will be at least ten chapters that outline what the kids get up to in the holidays - there will be, I think some interesting things to explore when Albus joins Scorpius over the Summer, and when Rose and Dawn go to the home tunnels of the Deeper Delvers. So second year will start around chapter 42 or so. I had wondered if I should split the story up and have a: Part I, Part II, etc. In some ways it would be good to have a series of completed stories, but, in the end I decided against it. There will be some significant time slips in the years to come (notably fourth and fifth) which meant that I couldn't do it from year to year.

At the moment, I am writing what will eventually be chapter 39 or 40 (possibly 41, as it is getting quite large for a chapter and I may split it in half), and there are other chapters that I have already written that take place in 2nd, 3rd and 6th years. So there is plenty left to come.

Thanks again for the review, as of this chapter the story has had 10701 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2Make No Mistake: There's Just No Way

25th September 2016:
Interesting beginning...I haven't read much of this pairing in awhile, but it caught my eye AND had the total word length of another I just read, lol. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2The Restoration of Faith: Doing Your Best

25th September 2016:
Interesting beginning...looking forward to more. :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I hit a bit of a delay due to some family circumstances, but hopefully I finish the next chapter some time this week. Feel free to stop by again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: Hogsmeade

25th September 2016:
Sweet update. adored Ron and Hermione. Harry...well, we shall read. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Updates to follow!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Finally, the Truth

24th September 2016:
Don't fall for it! If you seem so, blink twice. Or rather, for us readers, share your thoughts. :D Awesome chapter! I'm on team Hermione, regarding the older adults.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Avanell 2Careful What You Wish For: Hot Chocolate

17th September 2016:
I've been waiting for more chapters first, but took a peak at this one. very sweet. enjoyed Ron and Hermione's first talk!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Lay Me Down

10th September 2016:
Am hoping something else is going can't kill Albus!!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Avanell 2Fear: Fear

10th September 2016:
Wow, that was stunning! Awesome story. I thought maybe she had a certain "other" surprise (like being scantly dressed, or setting up a nursery) but wow, what an image for Ron to have to see. Loved the description of how he felt when he realized and then came rushing down to greet and hold her. Awesome!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you liked it. I was hoping that I was able to capture Ron's emotions well, that would be a horrible thing for him to see. Thank you for reading and taking the time to review my story:)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2Not All The Good Guys Win: The Order of the Truth

10th September 2016:
Interesting update. Intriguing society, and quite a snappy Rose ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Avanell 2Confessions: Making Amends

10th September 2016:
Wonderful chapter! Loved how he found her, the mission (not yet accomplished...and why was the ring off?) and their brief yet touching conversation. Cannot wait for more! And rooting to read more of Scorpius and favorite next generation pairing. :D The ONLY one I read. But have always loved Hermione Draco pairings, mostly in the past, and early on before book 4 there was rumors about them ending up together. :D

Author's Response: I guess you'll have to read on to find out whether it finishes and why her ring was off! I've never written any Rose/Scorpius before but the recent release of Cursed Child inspired me and I miss writing Dramione it's one of my favourites to write!
Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it!



 Report Review

Review #15, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Back to School From the Holidays

4th September 2016:
Fabulous update. Loved Rose at the game, then her discussion with James.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so happy that you liked the update. It is such a piecemeal chapter - with a holiday quidditch game, a school one, with Albus talking to James about one thing then Rose talking to him about another. And weaving through it all is Rose trying to work out just what is this feeling of discontent that she's been experiencing. I wondered if it was too mishmash, but it has some nice characterisation, some OK quidditch stuff, and several necessary moments of plot development.

Rose has her faults, and one of them is a self-centeredness. I hoped that the quidditch game would show that it is not from a selfish point of view, she's not like that. She can be a team player and act in the team's best interest when she has to. So her self-centeredness is not so nasty, it is more a concentrated focus upon herself, sometimes to the detriment of others. This will come up later in the story, you mark my words.

I like James and in a lot of the stories focused around Rose, I've found that he and Rose share a particular relationship. I've taken it more along the path though. I think that James knows that Rose doesn't really care about gossip and stuff, that she is a private person. She is also intelligent, and will 'get' anything that he tells her. It makes for a perfect combo, where he can tell her the truth about himself, have it understood for what it is, and not be in danger of her passing it on. They are not best friends, not like her and Albus, but I can see them being confidants of each other.

Also, the subject of their discussion will have ramifications for Rose when she sorts through her own emotions, trying to unravel them.

Once again, thanks for the review, I always appreciate them. As of this response, this story has had 10118 views, and this chapter has had 36; thank you all.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2Confessions: Meeting the Girlfriend.

3rd September 2016:
Beautiful intro! Hope Astoria stays well, or even better, gets BETTER! Love the premise. Cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! You'll have to read on I guess!
Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it thank you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2Not All The Good Guys Win: What Happened, Mr. Seymour?

27th August 2016:
Interesting story thus far! Like Rose and her different from usual attitude.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think this is the whole idea of the story, of gone-very-wrong type of Rose. I hope you enjoy it until the end! ;)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: When A Good Day Turns Bad

21st August 2016:
Oh, my! So now she should really have a scent for the mysterious man...the magical kind as our Brilliant Hermione mentioned. Awesome update!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avanell 2Chapter Two: Harry

20th August 2016:
interesting thus far...curious how in reading the Rose/Scorpius pairing here :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! The Rose and Scorpius thing will come into play later on in the story. I'm actually hoping to write a sequel taking place a few years later that could explore that even more!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Our Paths Meet Again

14th August 2016:
Very nice and interesting update!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm figuring out where I'm going as I write

 Report Review

Review #21, by Avanell 2Panic: Panic

14th August 2016:
Lovely story! I enjoyed Ron telling her his emotions.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found it lovely:)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Airing It All Out

7th August 2016:
If Albus had a (ugh) woman, then I've been hoping that she had fun, too ;) I think you hinted she did, lol. Oh, what a fabulous update! Loved how they can't keep off one another :D Awesome!

Anxious to meet Thalia! friend's daughter has that name, and my cousin is Dahlia.

Author's Response: I'm still trying to figure out if I want Charise to come into play or no

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Bittersweet

7th August 2016:
Fabulous update! Loved the sad about Mira (felt so when first mentioned).

Author's Response: I thought the memories would be a great touch. Give you a feel for her life.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: ... New Years at the Potters

30th July 2016:
Loved the new characters introduced here. Poor Rose, not feeling the party and still rude to Scorpius. Can't wait for that to change ;)

Author's Response: Hello again, I'm so glad you did like them, but if you liked them enough ... well, they are characters that I originally introduced in my other story - Harry Potter and the Final Year. In that story, Lightsthefire is just a young goblin of eleven years who receives her letter because of Harry's basic goodness of heart. I do recommend that if you are enjoying this story, then the other is a companion piece, and it goes hand in hand with this one. The world we see here, where the goblins who can, do attend their schooling at Hogwarts, was started in the other one.

And Rose, not everything goes her way, it can't. She is not a very sociable person, though she doesn't really know it. She is OK with her family, but beyond them, she doesn't really care so much. The ennui that she begins to feel here, just what it is and what caused it, will reverberate through the chapters to come.

The relationship between the two will change, I have written some chapters in which it does, but unfortunately it will not be for a while yet - there are things to come in the coming years that just might knock any potential friendship that they have on the head.

Oh well...

Thanks for the review, as always. As of this response the story has had 9611 reads, and this chapter has had 49, thank you all.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2Bewildered: Impetus

24th July 2016:
So glad he told Draco, his dad, and that Draco brought him right in to see the Golden Trio! Awesome. Now, to get Rose out or for her to get out herself! Excellent update!

Author's Response: So happy you thought Draco did what was best! I just adore him as a dad! And Rose is in a bit of a pickle!! Thank you so so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>