Reading Reviews From Member: Avanell 2
  
1,744 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The first few days at Malfoy Manor

29th May 2017:
Wow! Excellent update! Enjoyed reading of the boys having fun, Albus' smiles with understanding toward Mrs Malfoy (love her!), and then what Albus heard!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Avanell 2Mortal Sins: Mortal Sins

27th May 2017:
Very interesting story. Loved Hermione and Draco's moment and then at the end. Ron sucks! Hermione and Draco rule in this :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Avanell 2Muggles in Hogwarts: Witch Hunts

27th May 2017:
Interesting update...looking forward to more. So glad you are posting again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Avanell 2Muggles in Hogwarts: What's P.E?

13th May 2017:
Cute, interesting story. Post more soon! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Albus and Scorpius go to Malfoy Manor

5th May 2017:
Wow! Albus didn't know! I wonder if he'll figure out Rose DOES know and maybe that's why she's the way she is around Scorpius. Excellent arrival to the manor, and all else! And maybe Albus will learn or figure out more about what was happening with Scorpius getting beat up and stuff. Great update!

Author's Response: Hi again.

No, Albus doesn't know what Scorpius has had to face over the course of the year; Scorpius has kept it to himself and the bullies have been careful not to be detected. There are lots of things to come in this first holiday of theirs and I believe that other events may take Albus' mind off of what exactly was going on with his best mate and his cousin.

As for the other stuff, yeah Albus didn't know about that either. He is not one to think much of the awfulness of the past, he wants to know the good of people. His father has been much the same and hasn't really told his kids much of what happened to him in the horror days of Voldemort's return. As for Rose, her mum was like Harry and didn't want to dredge up the past where it might lead to old hatreds being perpetuated. As for her dad, he has said some things to her, but dressed them up as stories and fairy tales in the main. But she is an avid reader, so she has read books on the subject and knows a lot of what happened through her own discovery. Remember though, she was fairer than that when she first met Scorpius. She was prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt - knowing that he wasn't his father. But it was Scorpius own actions - more exactly, it was his bearing and manners - that have caused her dislike for him. Though there is also one extra and more important factor with Rose - she doesn't know what the strange feelings she experiences around him sometimes really are and as such, reacts like an immature little girl (which she is) and reacts to him with anger and intolerance (which he surely doesn't deserve).

Thank you, as of this response, the story has had 14658 reads, and this chapter has had 50; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Avanell 2What comes next: love is stronger

30th April 2017:
So sweet...loved how Kreacher just let Ginny in and then when he explained to her and Harry why. Great updates!

Author's Response: There's more to come from the house elfs

 Report Review

Review #7, by Avanell 2What comes next: A Broken Heart

30th April 2017:
Love Ron and Hermione...no, they should not arrive at the Burrow early ;) Kreacher is fun!

Author's Response: After 7 years of not accepting there feelings why not enjoy themselves

 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2What comes next: New Start

29th April 2017:
Great chapter! Loved how Kingsley thought their dragon escapade was in style. It certainly was! Loved that, glad it was brought up :) Very delightful.

Author's Response: Thanks, I always thought of Kingsley have a good sense of humour

 Report Review

Review #9, by Avanell 2Facing Doubt: Facing Doubt

21st April 2017:
Very sweet. Why did you have to mention the L person? LOL. I don't like to even read her names sometimes. Very cute story, loved how he thought of her, approaching her in the library, and then after she confronted him ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Avanell 2What comes next: Refresh

19th April 2017:
Nice intro...I hope to catch up more of these early chapters soon :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying them, I'm hoping to put some more up soon

 Report Review

Review #11, by Avanell 2Frustration: Frustration

14th April 2017:
Very cute short story :) Loved Ginny snapping at them to just snog already. And how our couple was observing one another in the heat.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Avanell 2Dreams of Flowers and Paradise : Chapter 3

9th April 2017:
Can't recall if I wrote this before, but was wondering if his dreams were part of a legacy his parents haven't told him about. Like the Veela thing, minus all the other stuff :D

Fun flight! Loved his latest dream, then talking to James a bit out Rose and the dreams.

Author's Response: I don't think it's parent related, but you'll just have to wait and see.
Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you are enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Avanell 2Dreams of Flowers and Paradise : Chapter 2

1st April 2017:
Delightful update! Enjoyed your descriptions of all despite some confusing sentences (a ; would do well for some, like somewhere at the beginning.

Like this one:
"He served some time in Azkaban after the war, but was released, ever since he had been humble in public but even more of a staunchly prejudiced bas*." put a ; after released instead of a comma. Or a new sentence. I was warned about one of the words I quoted...but I just quoted! No one should report me for that! :D Oh heck, I'll just change it.

Oh, cannot wait for the grand adventure to begin! I already expected that Rose will be going :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it, I don't think I looked it over well enough before posting. Oops. Anyway thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: Facing the Inevitable

26th March 2017:
Great update! Loved their finding one another at the cottage and getting some feelings out. :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by Avanell 2Dreams of Flowers and Paradise : Chapter 1

26th March 2017:
Very intriguing beginning! Scorpius a year older, and besties with James (usually it is with Albus if he is friends with the clan). Enjoyed the first installment!

Author's Response: Yeah, I come from a time before Pottermore and Cursed Child were a thing and all those facts were mostly up to your own interpretation. Needless to say old habits die hard lol. Anyway, thank you for reading! I'm glad you liked it, I plan to get chapters out as the queue allows. :) thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: Home for Christmas: Dawnsfirstbloom part two

26th March 2017:
Forgot to mention at the latest chapter (end of the year) that I really enjoyed the students having fun for a week but still learning, especially those who helped out with Neville :) And the Slytherin boy being polite with Rose.

I'm also an Educational Psychologist, so this really was a joy to read.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Last Adventure of the Year

26th March 2017:
Loved the intro talking about the goblin approval of Dawnfirstbloom's friendship (deep friendship) with Rose. And adored this line about Rose: she walked through a sea of other desperate students like an icebreaker through the frozen Arctic wastes.
Loved it!
Oh, and wow, what a scene Rose wandered into. Poor Scorpius, and he admitted (or you did for him, lol) that he liked and respected Rose. Woo-hoo! a step closer to what WILL happen in the years to come :) Awesome, brava! Cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi there, my faithful reviewer, I'm so glad you liked this chapter. I didn't know exactly how it was going to work, it was a bit piecemeal but I like to think that I linked everything reasonably well into a sort of harmonious whole.

Dawn's happy and I'm happy you're happy with it too. I liked that line too, first you had the analogy with a hiker and the trees, now the ice floe and the icebreaker - seems that Rose doesn't pay an awful lot of attention to those around her. Hmm, I wonder if we shall see any ramifications of that in the future ...

I wanted it to be a powerful scene, but also one that didn't glorify the bullies. They do have some points of sympathy, that's one of the problems with bullies. I didn't want them to be just cardboard cut outs, completely a 'wandering monster' style encounter where they don't have any character at all. You can understand the feelings of the one who shouts at Rose, it is unfair, but the thing is, you don't make things right by perpetuating injustice.

Poor Scorpius indeed, and that's the thing, this is the treatment that he was expecting at Hogwarts - from everyone. Right from that first day on the train, he expected that Albus, the son of the man that Scorpius' own father tormented - was going to strike him for no better reason than his last name. Thank god for Albus, and more, for his wonderfully forgiving father. So when the bullies first struck (pun intended), some time earlier in the year, for him it was almost rightful punishment overdue. It is one of the main reasons he never told anyone about it. As well as the other threat; whom do you think the bullies threatened to hurt if he told?

And yes, there is a tiny hint of things to come, contained in a single line that he might actually like the girl. Sigh. Though there will be far more ups and downs in the years to come (for a while, many more downs).

Thanks for the review, as of this reply the work has had 13813 reads in total, and this chapter has had 30: thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Life Settles PART 1

24th March 2017:
Very nice update! some errors but one thing confused me. Ann had dinner at the burrow while pregnant? Wouldn't Molly and Arthur have been there?

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Exam Which is not an Exam

4th March 2017:
As a hiker/adventuress, love this line: Paying less attention to the people around her than would a hiker to the trees of a forest they were traversing. Lovely! Brilliant! Same for the stuffed toy at the end! :D
Very intriguing chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again.

I'm so glad that I put something into the story that you can actually, personally relate to. Enjoying the pastime of bushwalking myself, upon occasions, as you know a hiker will actually pay some attention to the trees around themselves. Unfortunately, not so for Rose. This inattention to other people will have consequences for the girl in the chapters to come ... actually around chapter 47 or so. I hope that I can keep your attention, at least, till then.

Having had Rose make a stuffed manticore for Dawnsfirstbloom, I wondered if it was actually possible to do so. I looked it up online, but as I suspected, there were no patterns for any. I didn't even like any of the plain lion ones to adapt them. If I made my character make one, then there was no way that I wasn't going to have an attempt at it myself. I was so happy with the outcome, I cannot tell you.

I'm glad you found the whole chapter intriguing. So we discover that Albus is a Smith like his father, which I do not think is too much of a stretch. I hope all the Smith explanation at the end was OK and wasn't to boring/useless.

Thanks for the review. As of this response the work as a whole has had 13450 reads, and this chapter has had 30; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Love Succeeds

26th February 2017:
Very sweet awakening. Is it twins or was that an error? Saw a few...no matter. Very sweet. Adored Fred and Ann, and she's Minerva's niece!

Author's Response: There are a lot of mistakes, sorry about that. Most of them might be because I write on my phone and it's very difficult to read as the screen is so small, but at the moment I don't have a computer.
And... English is not my mother language, I'm from Argentina.
And... I'm very anxious to see people's reaction so I upload without really editing, and get to that later, I shouldn't be that lazy, sorry again.
Thank you for your review! There's another one coming!!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Avanell 2The joys of you: Chapter 1

17th February 2017:
Very nice introductory chapter! Looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I should be updating soon :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Avanell 2Harry Potter and the Girl who lived: Miracles happen.

11th February 2017:
Great opener! Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you! There's a new chapter and anotherone on the way. I have a lot of work at the moment but next week I promise to sit down and edit what I have already uploaded and write some more. Thakkk youuu!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2Pride and Scorpius: The Quidditch Adventure

5th February 2017:
Wow! Rose really shined again! Awesome, even though no Scorpius ;) Loved it! I never like reading the game descriptions, but this story has me reading more of them. Still skim a bit, but I was more into it than normal and so happy I did! Love that she has a move with her name! Awesome chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there, glad to hear you liked the chapter.

It's a thing, these quidditch chapters. For a game that could conceivably go on for hours, it is not the writers greatest friend to have to convey all that goes on. In fact, I can almost promise you that I will never do a complete play-by-play account of any of the quidditch games in this story, ever: it could get really boring, really fast.

So what I do is to pick out the highlights. Every play I write about either advances the character of those involved or advances the plot/story in some way. Quidditch will be played by the actors in this drama in the future, so I cannot rule out writing about it again, but there will be much less of it. I have achieved most of what I wanted to with the quidditch when I first started this story. So I am happy.

No Scorpius, he cannot be in everything and everywhere. Do not worry though, we see a lot more of him - believe-you-me - in the chapters to come. In fact, when the holidays start, we will have a series of chapters devoted to Albus and Scorpius, seeing what befalls them when they go back to Malfoy Manor together.

Thanks, as always for reading. As of this response, this story has had 12877 reads, and this chapter has had 27; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Avanell 2Mind, Body and Soul: You Thought 'Ron'g

5th February 2017:
Fabulous chapter! Hope Ron sees Hermione...and...get back together! Make things work whatever her choice is! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for continuing to read, Avanell! We all know that Ron and Hermione end up together in JKR's world. I don't want to give anything away before the next few chapters hit, but I will do my best to make Cannon supporters happy. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Avanell 2Only An Oddity: Change of Views

5th February 2017:
Excellent! Good job, Ginny, loved how you got her to refocus on who she is, who she loves. Knew she'd pick James, Al indeed would be a distraction. Ooh! So worried now! Please let Hermione be forgiven, although I would prefer if she had a more brilliant plan behind her actions.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>