Reading Reviews From Member: darkkid
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by darkkidpectus draconis: dragonfire.

28th June 2015:
I'm not a Drarry shipper (though my tumblr might say otherwise sometimes) but I am ODDLY fascinated by the pair (perhaps... that makes me a shipper of some sort, but I won't admit to it!) :P

So I have to tell you, coming into this I was very wary. I'm not a Drarry fan, I've never even read a Drarry fic, but here I am.

And I am amazed. And I am... ashamed that I didn't embrace this ship sooner (I don't SHIP them but I appreciate them, okay?) [I'm totally not in denial]

I absolutely adore the beginning of this. Draco is exactly as I expect him to be, and you described him so well. I feel so awful for him, sixteen, alone and confused and looking for just a small ray of light in all the darkness surrounding him.

I like how Draco describes his relationship with Harry as cat and mouse. A game. A hidden treasure of sorts. It really sets the tone for what happens next!

I really loved the exchange at the end between the two. How it was so much more than good and evil keeping them apart. And they can part as friends. or maybe acquaintances instead. They don't feel like friends, but they feel like more than a simple acquaintance. It's so tragic but okay, knowing that they appeared to find peace with each other. Despite everything!

SO glad I read this! I might have to go on a search for more Drarry.

-raisha Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #2, by darkkidcrying lightning: Prologue: yesterday // let's head over to tomorrow

27th June 2015:
First of all, HOW BEAUTIFUL. From your writing to the story itself. The imagery you created, especially with such a small word count. Poetic, poem-like.

A part of me is at a loss for words. The composition in itself is gorgeous. I know gorgeous isn't a typical word used to describe writing but this really was GORGEOUS.

I found it particularly interesting that you don't mention names in this. But I knew who you were talking about, you didn't NEED to name names.

I really found it interesting how you twisted the rhyme as well. In a good way! I LOVE how you did that. Very creative!

I hope you write more soon, for the House Cup or not I will be happy to come back to read and review more of your work!

-raisha Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #3, by darkkidRose: Unrequited

27th June 2015:
I'm AMAZED that you managed to do this in just 500 words. You fit such amazing imagery and detail into such a small amount of space I don't understand how! Beautiful descriptions. Very poetic, I could SEE what you were saying!

I want to give you MAJOR PROPS for the last line. It broke my heart in a way, but didn't make me feel so horribly that things didn't work like I wanted. So sadly romantic. Scorpius is genuinely happy that Rose is happy and think that's what is best.

I'm so glad I read this! Great job!!!

-raisha Slytherin House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #4, by darkkidThe Department of Spectral Affairs: Darkness

27th June 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015!

I made your banner for this a while back (meh, please excuse my super old username on the archives omg) and I've had this on my read list since so I'M FINALLY HERE!

I can't pass up a Regulus story, and I'm so glad I've stopped by! The first lines really set the way for this. The darkness. Cold chilling darkness, which makes sense.

I got CHILLS reading as Regulus drowns. Further and further. I can feel the cold of the water surrounding him. Your descriptions are beautiful.

I think what I enjoyed most is that this is in second person. I've never been fond of second person but you really captured it here. And at some points I actually felt like I was the one drowning. Really nice and poetic!

I'd really love to read more. I'm so interested in Regulus' afterlife!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by darkkidmaybe, once.: maybe, once.

20th June 2015:
First I have to tell you that Regulus is my ULITMATE FAVORITE CHARACTER. So of course I couldn't say no to this story.

I was so excited in the beginning. Barty's eagerness in trying to locate Regulus, so they could go together and just be together. And then my heart just kind of... sunk. Regulus clear as day refusing Barty just broke me. He was SO eager, SO happy to be ith Regulus and then... no.

Barty's inner turmoil really got to me. He's so upset and so outraged that Regulus would be out with this girl. I could feel his anger.

And I could tell how vulnerable Barty was through the whole story. He doesn't want to follow them into the Three Broomsticks, but he can't help himself. He can't look away. He can't walk away because he can't deny his feelings and he can't deny his jealousy. It's really sad.

And he goes for it. He goes for the kiss and it's a good kiss and they both enjoyed it and then Regulus just... no.

I do wish this had more of a happy ending, but we all can't have what we want (obviously, poor Barty) I'm SO glad I chose to read this! Your writing is so solid and perfect and I enjoyed every minute of this!

-raisha

Slythering House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by darkkidNike: Don't Step Inside My Space Bubble

12th June 2015:
Your intro to this story was very interesting. Your character's voice really set the tone for this chapter, I can tell she's very head strong. I loved Nike's confidence and her ambition. I almost feel like the first part is a bit of foreshadowing to something big. Something is going to happen, something that Nike might not like. I don't know!

Perhaps her own, hidden insecurities will surface at some point. I'm very curious at how this will play out!

I really love your writing style. It kept me interested, I was able to hold on to every word!

Great job on this chapter!

-raisha

Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey Raisha! I'm really glad you enjoyed this! Nike's kind of weird in the way that I don't write her so much as channel her, so she kind of built herself, if that makes sense (I don't think it does :S). And her insecurities? You'll just have to wait and see >D Anyways, thanks for this super-nice review!

(and go go ravenclaw!)


 Report Review

Review #7, by darkkidHaunted: X

12th June 2015:
Oh Hagrid! I must confess this is my first Hagrid story, but I was not disappointed at all! I felt so awful for him after finding his father dead. My heart just sank.

My heart sunk a lot throughout this story, actually. He's not a "typical" person but I'm so glad he found a friend. Of all people, Hagrid deserves a good friend. But then Aragog dies so...

I really loved reading about Hagrid's youth. He's not the average character you think about but you captured him VERY well!

So great so heartbreaking!

-raisha

Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hi Raisha,

It was my first Hagrid story, too. There aren't enough of them out there. This is a really sad story. It just kind of happened when Kaitlin assigned Hagrid to me for her challenge. I really didn't know how to write him with PTSD at first, but then it hit me. His childhood was the perfect place to start.
I'm really glad that you enjoyed this.
Thanks for the review!

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #8, by darkkidRainfall: King's Cross

12th June 2015:
I REALLY love the first chapter here. Your story is laid out with perfect detailing. You conveyed just enough information without bombarding us with a huge back story. Your pace in this chapter just sets the mood for the whole story!

I have never read a story about blindness, but you seemed to have captured the idea so well. The way he acts is both age appropriate and also disability appropriate (if that makes sense). It was very believable is what I'm trying to say!

Your whole characterization, of all of your characters, is perfect.

You're a very talented writer and I VERY much enjoyed this! After the house cup I will certainly be back to read more!

-raisha

Slytherin - House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hi raisha!

Thank you so much! Very glad you enjoyed this chapter, and I hope you like the rest too when the house cup is over :D

~Leo xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by darkkidThrough the Black: Trying to get Ahead

12th June 2015:
From the very start I was intrigued with Julianne. I love how her character was portrayed, rolling her eyes at the Professor, not exactly a perfect student who a lot of OC's end up being. She is easy to relate to for the average student.

Your writing is so great! Very easy to follow, nice flow, not overly descriptive to the point where I get bored. It was spot on! This was such a great chapter I'm so glad I read it! I'm curious how her relationships with everyone is going to change over the course of the story!

Cheers!

-raisha

Slytherin - House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #10, by darkkidDark Energy: Dark Energy

12th June 2015:
This was very beautifully written! It had a very "poetic" feel to it, but was easy to follow along.
This would be my first Parvati/Lavender fiction I've ever read, and I'm not disappointed at all. Your voice really formed this story and you conveyed your message loud and clear. Dark, tragic, with inner turmoil. I could feel the emotions so vividly.

I think what I really love most about this is your mentionings of the universe and cosmos.

SO beautiful and lovely and I'm so glad this was my first Parvati/Lavender story, even if it didn't have the happy endings that I love.

-raisha

Slytherin - House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #11, by darkkidInfinitesimal: Leo Minor

26th March 2015:
I actually read this a few days ago (and read it again now) and I've been trying to put into words how absolutely amazing this story is. I don't think I've ever read something so sweet and so heartbreaking at the same time.

You're writing is so solid I felt like I was going through what James was going through!

I'd not once ever thought about James/Regulus being a ship, I actually scrunched my nose at is, but now... well I'll probably write my own J/R stories because WOAH. Holy inspiration right here.

WONDERFUL job on this. Everything about this was absolutely beautiful!

Author's Response: Hey there - thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you liked it! It's not the sort of pairing I usually write - I'm generally more of a canon girl, than AU (but it could have been canon, maybe? :P) - but this was for a couple of friends and it's their pairing, so this happened, and I actually loved writing it.

Yeah, it's pretty angsty, haha. It needed to be, though - I love James/Lily to totally write them out of the picture or pretend that they didn't happpen, and I liked the idea of a polyamory situation more, too. More opportunity for heartbreak! :P

I'm so so happy you liked this - especially if it wasn't something you thought much of before! This was such a lovely review to get - thank you so much for it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by darkkidMissing: Me

17th December 2012:
Hi! I'm raisha from the Slytherin Review Tag thread!

First, I love first person narrative. It always makes me feel so connected to the character!

I really love Charlie's personality! She seems so sassy and audacious! I find her SO interesting and I bet she is so fun to write!

I noticed there was a couple of time you went from present tense to past tense. It's one of those annoying things that don't get picked up in spell check, so it's hard to miss sometimes. >.> Lol, but a simple edit could fix it!

And I love that I've already found myself asking questions. Like "What's going to happen next" sort of questions and "How is this going to play out." It's stuff like that that really sets up a good story and makes it an attention catcher!

Great job! I love this! :D

Author's Response: Hey there!
I'm really glad you like Charlie-and you're completely right, she is very fun to write.
Ah! I always seem to get my tenses muddled in first chapters so I'll definitely be going back to fix that up.
It's great you're asking questions-that was one of the intentions of the first chapter!
Thanks for the lovely review.
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by darkkidThe Girl Next Door: Prologue

8th December 2012:
Hi! I'm raisha from the review swap thread!

I read the summery for this and found it soo interesting! And then I read the chapter and I'm instantly in love! I haven't read another story like this, and it's very well written and really holds my attention.

I like that there's a bit of a cliffhanger. I'm sitting here asking myself "What happened to Lexi?" and "What is Sirius going to do?" and "Will they ever meet?" I love that in a story. It's the questions that always keep me hanging and I just feel like I HAVE to know more.

LOVE it. :) I really hope to read more of this in the future!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you're in love with The Girl Next Door! I was worried about this prologue, but it seems that I didn't need to be!

Well I hope to keep you guessing! ;) The entire plot for this chapter stemmed from one question: why did Sirius get Sorted into Gryffindor? So I'm glad that Sirius and Lexi have impacted on you, and I can't wait for you to meet Ella! :D

I'm so happy that you love this story!


 Report Review

Review #14, by darkkidAnyone: Anyone

7th December 2012:
Hi! I'm (raisha) from the review swap threads!

Your summary is what really pulled me into this story. I was instantly intrigued. I felt like I just had to read more, you know?!

I feel like this story is about Sirius' mom, though it could honestly be about "anyone." Haha!

This was very blunt and interesting! I enjoyed it Though I do wish it was longer! Not because I felt like it wasn't finished, because it ended very nicely, I was just wishing I could keep reading. :)

Very nice!!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by darkkidLungs: One

7th December 2012:
Hi! This is raisha from the forums for review swap!

First of all, what pulled me into this story was the title. Simple and perfect and made me want to click on it right away!

Your description is wonderful. It all sounds very real and helps me imagine myself in the story. It's almost like I'm standing there behind the character living their life with them. Very cool feeling! :)

Helene is a very interesting character. She is far from perfect, but that's what makes me admire her. She's human.

If you want my advice, stick to this. I mean, the way you set up this chapter with the mood and the description, just keep it going. It's one of the best stories I've read in a long time!

Very good start you have here. I am so eager to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so pumped for this review swap, it's such a good idea. :)

I find that it's much easier for me to describe things if it's cold/rainy/autumn/depressing in general, haha. I started writing this story to get my fix of angst!HP whilst writing a humor story, and I'm definitely going to stick with it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by darkkidEscaping Temptation: Chapter 1: Helpful Heart

6th December 2012:
Hi I'm (raisha) from the forums!

Your summery of this really caught my attention!
I really enjoy Hermione being a teach in a Muggle school! Very interesting idea! And I like the ending when she gets upset with herself for not having discussed her new job with Ron! Very Hermione-like!

You have very nice descriptive skills! I really like the ending sentence. I actually felt as if I was doing what she was. Very real!

Really good chapter! I enjoyed it so much! :D

Author's Response: Hi raisha! :) Thanks, I have always seen her as a teacher for some reason, though I didn't want to make her a professor as she is that in so many stories. I wanted her to be at a Muggle school because being muggle born she is familiar with the way the world works and America was ideal for some of the plot coming up in the story :)
Thank you so much and I am glad you enjoyed the chapter. :D
It was a pleasure to do this review swap with you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by darkkidLife As We Know It: chapter one

6th December 2012:
Hi! I'm (raisha) from the review swap! I saw this Dramione fic and just HAD to read it!

I have to say that the first line here (first whole paragraph, actually) was EXCELLENT. Very captivating and it instantly pulled me in and made me want to read more! It really set the mood for the chapter. SO well done!

And I really love your characterization of Hermione. It was spot on! I really enjoyed looking into her mind. All of it was very believable.

And the ending was perfect. Malfoy is the last person anyone one be expecting to show up here!

A really, really good beginning to this story! Very well done! Good job!

Author's Response: EEEK! Your review has left me with so many feels right now! I'm really glad that you feel my opening sentence/paragraph was good and pulled you into the story. And Yay! you think Hermione is spot on! You have no idea how much that makes my day! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this chapter and I do hope that you come back for more! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #18, by darkkidOther Side of Glass: dust

23rd October 2012:
*Hi I'm from the review tag thread!

This is a very emotional and sad start. Fred dying is one thing, but George's emotions are heart-wrenching and just so overwhelming. You really captured his personality and his actions well. I particularly like that he would be so willing to tell everybody that he hadn't seen Fred's death, he just saw dust, dust, and more dust. He's clearly in denial about what happened, and I don't blame him. His other half is missing, gone forever, and he can't handle it.

I enjoyed the section with Lee Jordan also. Well, I can't say I enjoyed it because it teared me up, but it was very well written and very believable.

Overall I'd say this was really great and very emotional (which is a good thing!) Great job on this!

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! I'm very keen to portray George's emotional and psychological postwar state (without too much crying into pillows of course =)) Hope I don't get too silly or corny at some point! Lucky for the reader that Fred is still around. At least his voice is =) Fred's POV is in the second chapter.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #19, by darkkidWe'll Be Missing You: Son, Brother, Hero

18th October 2012:
*I'm here from the Review Tag thread!

This was seriously one of the saddest things I've read in a LONG time. I'm still in tears.

You captured the characters SO well. All of their feelings and actions were exactly as you'd expect them to be. It was perfect.

What I loved most was Arthur and Molly's part. It was so sad and lovely and just overwhelmingly emotional.

I have only good things to say about this story. Truly lovely.

Author's Response: Hi darling! First of all, thank you for the awesome banner! I'm so happy you enjoyed this, thank you so much for stopping by ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by darkkidYou Are Beautiful: You Were Always Loved

14th October 2012:
This made me cry :(

A very emotional story, I feel for Sirius at the end during and after everything happens. It made me sad for him to have to go through something so tragic.

I did notice a few errors that you might want to correct (like in this line: "Her brown eyes pierced him, but he does didnít falter.) Just minor errors like that (there was one more I noticed, but I can't find it now!)

And I really wish we could have had a scene through Taylor's eyes. Her emotional turmoil with her father and what she was thinking, perhaps, before she took her life. What sort of inner monster was she struggling with?

Your writing was good for the most part, sometimes there was a bit to be desired in your descriptions, but nothing a few adjectives couldn't fix!

Overall, though, I really like it. You really captured Sirius' emotions and that's what needed to be done. It tugged at my heart at the end when he is at Taylor's grave. This line, especially, made my heart break:
"He waits patiently, as though he would get an answer. He waits for her soft voice to come to him, carried by the soft wind, but nothing does."

Lovely (and heartbreaking) story!

Author's Response: You are such a kind, lovely reviewer!

I appreciate you and every single moment you gave me to read my stories and review! I genuinely appreciate your kindness and I'm flattered by your wonderful compliments.

I appreciate you. *hugs*

xx

Ever


 Report Review

Review #21, by darkkidThe Fairest: go out there and get it

14th October 2012:
This is, by far, one of the best stories I've read in a while. Very well written, thought out, and put together so smoothly.

I'm really intrigued by the metamorphosis - princess to queen - theme and how you managed to capture it so perfectly with the changing of the seasons too. It ties in together so well.

And your use of descriptive words is amazing. A lot of people overdo it, but you added just enough to make the settings clear. It was easy to imagine each scene in my mind, and I love that.

What I love most is that, even though you were inspired by the Grimm fairy tale, you still managed to make this story original.

An excellent story! Definitely enjoyed it! :D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! That means a lot to me!

I'm glad you liked witnessing Eileen's transformation and how it occurred alongside the changing of the seasons. Snow and winter were powerful and inspirational metaphors for me, and it was interesting to play with them and use the darkness of the theme to taint their meaning.

Oh, good! I was a little worried with this abstract piece that I'd gone too heavy with the metaphors and description. It's great that you felt like it was balanced and added to the story appropriately. I'm also glad you found this original; I strive for that with all my work :)

Thanks again for this wonderful review!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #22, by darkkidJust One of the Boys: Chapter Seven

17th August 2011:
Oooh, I hope you update soon!
I love Nate's character! And gosh I love the Nate / Sirius relationship right now! I hope it gets even more intense soon!

Good job!!! :D Can't wait to read again!

Author's Response: Thank alot!!! I'll update soon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by darkkidJust One of the Boys: Chapter six

8th July 2011:
Your writing has gotten increasingly better since chapter one!
Good job, hun!

This story is really interesting! The plot is absolutely hilarious! I'd love to see some Remus / Naomi action. And some Sirius / Naomi action. :P

Can't wait to see where you go with this next!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad my writing is improving!!!
And I'm glad you like my story!


 Report Review

Review #24, by darkkidMirror Mirror: one

7th July 2011:
First off, I have to say that I love when Death is personified. It's something I've always enjoyed reading.

Secondly, your descriptions are nice and very informative. I like how you really reach into those senses. A lot of writers can tell me what something looks like and then they stop there, but I like to know what this character smells in the air and what the wind feels like against his cloak. Really good job on that.

I would have liked to see more interactions between Grindelwald and Tom (like dialogue), but for this story it was very well played and I can't say there was anything left to be desired because you summed it up very well. I imagine dialogue wouldn't be very captivating, but I'd like to see you really challenge yourself and try it out. I bet you could make it very alluring. ;)

You have all the skills of a really great author. Very lovely story! Very good plot!

I don't have any critique because, frankly, you don't need it. You are very talented and your very good at what you do. So keep doing what you're doing!

-raisha

Author's Response: hi there, thanks for reviewing!

thank you so much for such a lovely review. i am really pleased you liked this. showing not telling is so important to me - i used to be the writer who described things in way to much physical detail, but then, i guess i've matured. that comment means a lot to me, cause it means what i am doing is working.

i actually wanted more dialogue as well, but you're right, it didn't really fit the story. i was worried it would break the flow so i left it out.

thank you so much! i really appreciate your review!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by darkkidPaper Hearts: Ink Stains

7th July 2011:
I really loved the first paragraph. It was intriguing and very captivating! A lot of writers don't have the ability to attract readers so fast, so thumbs up to you for that!

You have a very good plot set up. Characterization for all characters is spot on! I don't have any critique at all!

I'm actually going to favorite this story and wait impatiently for the next chapter! :D (Sorry I can't be of help, but really, you don't need help at all!) Keep doing what you're doing!

-raisha

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! I spent so long on the first paragraph, it's ridiculous. Actually, this whole chapter, I must have read it out loud at least thirty times:)

I'm glad you liked the characterisation, I'm still not entirely sure about Draco, we'll see. The next chapter is on the way, I'll have it done by the time the queue reopens. Some new characters enter ;)

Again, thanks so much!!

-Julia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>