Reading Reviews From Member: darkkid
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #1, by darkkidFirewhiskey: Chapter 1

30th July 2015:
I've been wanting to read this one for a while!

I really love the idea of a memorial plaza for the fallen heroes of the wars. It's kind of like a "closure" for everything that happened, and a remembrance of all they fought for and what they achieved. They need it after everything.

Charlie's breakdown got me. (Legit tears, this never happens!) I'm so sad for him and so sad for everyone. I can tell it's going to be a very, very long time for him to recover from the war, that is, if he ever recovers.

I'm really enjoying Poppy's character in this. She's a caregiver even off duty and that's really admiring.

And I've been SO hesitant about this Poppy/Charlie pairing and I just had to know how you pulled it off and you did A++ work on that! Very unlikely pairing and, if only for tonight, I do enjoy them as a couple.

Everything about this was wonderful. You made me cry though. I guess I'll forgive you, since I'm very very glad I got to read this beautiful piece of work.

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #2, by darkkidThe Death Of Sir Nicolas: Tusks

29th July 2015:
Hi I'm raisha from the forums!

I picked this one as my first one to read because I'm very interested in how you played out Sir Nick's death scene. (also I made your banner so... yeah it was a given that I'd choose this one as my first one to read!)

Lady Grieve sounds absolutely gorgeous. Your descriptions of her really portrayed that! Very beautiful writing!

I'm so interested in what event lead up to Lady Grieve getting crooked teeth!

Oh my. That was certainly not a good idea at all for him to do. No, no, no.

It's sad that a boyish attempt at impressing Lady Grieve is what brings death upon him!

I like that his reasoning for not moving on is the fear of surprise. He seems like a simple man and choosing to not move on is a simple answer.

It's sad to me, and perhaps to him as well, that he is doomed now. I think he may realize that, 500 years after the fact. One year down, an eternity more to go.

I really enjoyed this! Your writing is very fluid and I felt myself feeling what your characters felt! Very great!

I'll be reading more of your stories shortly, keep an eye out!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #3, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [six]

29th July 2015:
Oh Chris and Charlie and ohhh! They're so cute excuse my squees.

Charlie talking about the battle upsets me. There's so much pain there. Though even talking about something so painful, Chris makes it better. He's there and he's listening I think maybe that's what Charlie needs the most- just someone to be there.

I hope now that he has expressed himself to Chris - and more importantly expressed that he wants Chris to stay - they can move forward, together. And eventually, perhaps, Charlie will finally introduce someone to his family. It's a long stride for him but I bet Chris will help him through it!

I'm very excited to see how this goes. It can't be easy, taming a Dragon Tamer but if anyone is to do it, it's going to be Chris.

I wonder what other trials and tribulations are in store for the pair!

Very great read!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #4, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [five]

29th July 2015:
Chris! Yes I'm so glad Chris is here! Chris appears to be the braver of the two so it would make sense that he would be the first to make the moves.

Oh no! Charlie :[ I hope there's nothing seriously wrong!

Chris had very fast thinking, but it is unfortunate that Charlie has found himself back in the hospital!

I'm glad Chris is staying! I hope their more-than-friendship blossoms into something spectacular! They have much to talk about!

I'm really enjoying their relationship, it's coming along wonderfully and seeing them together makes me happy!

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #5, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [four]

29th July 2015:
Oh Charlie and his dragons! He will never part from his babies, I just love it!

Charlie has a wonderful night with Chris (that night can be classified as wonderful right?) I think it counts as wonderful. Back to my point, he has his night with Chris and suddenly old thoughts that he tries to push away resurface. I feel like he's searching for a reason to not be happy. Finding an excuse as to why he shouldn't love another because... what if? What if he had been less cowardly and what if David was still around?

He's very troubled and has a lot to work through, but maybe that's why he needs Chris.

It saddens me how much the war has affected Charlie. It's so awful that while the Weasley's were broken over losing Fred that Charlie had lost another, someone close to him, someone he loved deeply. It's double the pain. So sad!

I hope that Charlie wakes up feeling better, and perhaps feeling a little ambitious and contacts Chris because he needs it!

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #6, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [three]

29th July 2015:
Yes yes, me here!

Poor Charlie drank too much the night before! Uh-oh! I do hope that it is Chris in bed with him. How scandalous!

Daw, they're so... awkward but in a cute way that makes me smile. I can't imagine what is going through both of their minds! One minute they're talking in a pub and then... oops! It's clear they both had an instant attraction to each other or else the night might have gone differently.

And they still have a lot of chemistry that I hope gets explored later! They're each animal-loving nerds and its cute. It's something they could really bond over!

No, Charlie don't walk away from him! Get his phone number, his address, something so you can see him again! It can't end like that! Charlie!

I'm off to the next!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #7, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [two]

29th July 2015:
Hi there, me again!

I absolutely adore Charlie's genuine care for his dragons. He's so passionate about them and when he sees their sick he doesn't let anything, his injury, or anyone, his boss, stand in his way. Those dragons are HIS dragons and he would stop at nothing to help them.

I do believe Charlie has the case of the Weasley temper! That wasn't nice at all for him to say that, but I'm very glad he realizes that. I do believe he was "in the zone" with his dragons and that's what set him off.

Oh and now they're at the pub! And Charlie has apologized, and I'm beginning to love their budding friendship.

And I'm very interested by the ending here. Don is like a wing-man and I'm very thrilled that he can also see the budding friendship between Charlie and Chris.

Despite both being willed and strong-headed, I think they're going to be great together!

Cheers! Next chapter here I come!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #8, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

29th July 2015:
Hi, I'm raisha from the forums, ignore my ancient username on here okay :P
(And I'm also angelic. on TDA and I remember making this banner for you and even had this in my reading list but haven't gotten around to it so... here I am now!) Whee!

I love the start of this. Charlie is legitimately upset that the doctor's won't allow him to work, and that really reflects his character. I know he wasn't a big part of the books, but it definitely seems, to me, like something he would be upset over.

I love this line here: "He really didn't want to find out what Molly Weasley deemed healthy enough to work with dragons." Because that just sounds exactly like Mrs. Weasley and exactly like something Charlie would be keen on avoiding!

It actually greatly amuses me that Charlie, dragon extraordinaire, would be afraid to bring home someone to meet his family. This guy goes up against dragons daily and yet his own family has him terrified! I like that, it really adds to his character.

Oh Charlie! Your precious dragons are durable, there is nothing at all that will happen to them! Although, I do have this strange inkling that Charlie is less worried about his dragons and more worried about Christopher being harmed!

I'm off to read the next chapter, I very much enjoyed this!
(And I've never read a Charlie fic, but I certainly am liking it a lot!)

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #9, by darkkidHow to win Lily: How to win Lily

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I loved loved loved this! I love Lily's internal "well mabye I CAN like him afterall" feelings. Because, let's be honest, she knows she's BOUND to like him.

I like that you added a fair amount of humor to this. Despite the war going on it's good that they can share laughs and just be the teenagers they are.

This was a very nice, short one shot! I had fun reading it!

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #10, by darkkidThe Yule Ball: The Yule Ball

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

So I've only ever read one other Ernie fiction and he wasn't very nice it is so this was very refreshing to read!

I love the nerves everyone is feeling about the Yule Ball. It's a once in a lifetime event, I'd be curious is they weren't frightened just a little bit! I really like this! And I like the innocence of the whole story overall!

And I like the comments about Harry - he was absolutely hopeless! I love when stories that the trio attended at least mention them and you did!

So great! Love this one!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #11, by darkkidAlone: Alone

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I have to say that 2nd person is starting to grow on me. This is maybe my third or fourth 2nd person story I've read and I've enjoyed all of them immensely!

Not know the name of who this is really helped created the mysterious atmosphere. I can't imagine how terrifying it must be, going face to face with Voldemort. Your character here really stood his/her ground, even while facing death.

I really like the "He could have been beautiful" line. It's just... human. Seeing the good in someone when, really, there is no good left in him. But you want to see the good and think you can see the good. And perhaps there might have been good but certainly not at that time.

It's sad.

I really enjoyed this!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #12, by darkkidFire: Fire

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

REGULUS MY DEAR SWEET REGULUS. I can never say no to a story with Regulus in it, even one that is bound to break my heart and crush my soul.

It hurts me, really hurts, to see the effects the potion had on Regulus. Mentally it was affecting him in ways that tore him apart.

I like how the relationship between Regulus and Sirius is represented here. Particularly the line "He just wishes his brother knew that." That broke me, it really did. Because I feel the same. It BREAKS me knowing that Sirius didn't know, never knew, that Regulus was good in the end.

Awh I loved this so much. It hurt me but I loved it.

Such a great read!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #13, by darkkidThinking Out Loud: Thinking Out Loud

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I want to say that I have never read a George/Hermione fiction. I'm very intrigued by the pairing though. Probably because it's a bit scandalous with the whole Ron/Hermione canon pairing.

I really enjoyed this! Both Hermione and George were in character and represented perfectly! Not to mention both of them TOGETHER was just perfect. They actually coexist really well and work really good together as a couple.

This whole story was so sweet. And it worked so well with this song, which is an absolutely beautiful song by the way.

Such a great read! I'm so happy I stopped by.

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #14, by darkkidOn: On

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Oh how cute. I really like that Remus is free from lycanthropy. He deserves it.

Harry and Teddy are actually quite adorable together. It saddens me that Harry lost most of his "parent" figures but he clearly doesn't need them anymore. He became quite the parent himself at such a young age. Though it makes sense seeing as everything he had went through.

And the reactions from Remus and Tonks. Tonks especially, she nearly brought me to tears. I love it. I love that they get to see him from the afterlife and watch over him. It's perfect and bittersweet.

Great read!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #15, by darkkidLegos: Legos

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

The title of this is what drew me in! Legos? Worse than the cruciatus curse? I can only hope someone STEPS on one because we all know what kind of pain that brings!

OHMYGOSH I cannot believe that that is what happens, that's the best thing ever!

I totally understand his pain though! And Luna saying "you've got to toughen up a little" really made me smile. Someone like Draco who's been through a terribly amount of pain needs to toughen up a bit!

That's just like something Luna would say!

I loved this! So glad I stopped in!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #16, by darkkid'Favours': 'Favours'

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

This was so very cute!

Those boys are always up to no good! You wrote the Marauders very well. Cheeky, kind of annoying, and always, ALWAYS having fun.

I like how James is actually scared to ask Lily. I think what made him most nervous was that there was a great possibility that she'd say yes. And that possibility scared him and excited him. If she had said no he would have tried again, I bet. But she says yes and then what? Yes, I like to think that scared him the most.

This was a very lighthearted warming story and I loved it! It kept me smiling and I loved it!

Great read!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #17, by darkkidFighting: Fighting

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Even though I don't LIKE that they're fighting, it's a very real fight that really defines this story. It's over something that matters. And it's easy to see both sides of the fight. In a way, they're both right and they know it and that's what makes it so believable.

Lily and James were both portrayed perfectly in this. Both headstrong and both desperately in love with each other.

This story was less on description and more on dialogue and I actually enjoyed it! Stories like this are easy to follow and give us all the information we need in a short word count.

Very good! I'm very happy I stopped by!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #18, by darkkidLetters from Amanda: Chapter 1

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I like how to laid out this story. The letters are nicely presented and you can see that the characters used them to spill out their emotions. That's something you can't see in standard dialogue stories.

This was terribly sad and heartbreaking. I can't imagine what she is going through.

The letters were easy to follow and gave me just enough information without going overboard! I love stories like that!

This was an excellent read! I'm so glad I stopped in!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #19, by darkkidI'll Go With You: I'll Go With You

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I NEVER read Harry fictions! I don't know why because I really enjoyed this!

I think everyone, myself included, needs to explore the post-war emotions of the Golden Trio. Once it's over you sort of except them to get a huge weight lifted off their shoulders but that isn't necessarily the case. It's been a long, terrifying, heartbreaking war, and surely there's more to it than a weight suddenly lifting.

You portrayed all of the characters in perfect canon, which I love. Harry, especially. He can be a difficult person at times and I really saw that in him.

Overall, and I've said this before, I really enjoy your writing (obviously since I've reviewed many MANY of your stories today) and I've really enjoyed this story. Just beautiful!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #20, by darkkidWhen Arthur Saved Molly: When Arthur Saved Molly

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Oh Arthur! Honestly I've never really read much of him. Especially not in this time period, directly after Hogwarts.

I like how Molly is a bit strange, in a good way, the way that all of the Weasley kids are. I usually expect Arthur to be that way, and perhaps before the kids and before needing to be the big "mom" figure both of them were a bit quirky. I like that idea, it makes sense!

There were a few typos (I think an 's" was missing on surrounding at one point) but it happens!

Really great read! Very glad I stopped in for this one! Arthur / Molly is always a good classic to go!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #21, by darkkidBehind His Desk: Behind His Desk

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

The summary on this pulled me in.

I was actually confused at first and it took a while for it to click that this was a portrait.

I like that he had these particular transcripts with him. I'd say these students affected him the most. Cedric because he died while, essentially, in his care, really struck me. I wonder if that was the first student he lost while he was headmaster. Of course the others died as well but not WHILE at school.

It makes me both happy and sad that portrait Dumbledore and real Dumbledore are so alike. It's nice that he can be there without actually being there, but then it's not really him, is it.

A very enjoyable read, I'm glad I stopped in!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #22, by darkkidCity of Angels: City of Sorrow

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

OKAY I'm VERY excited about this story. Everything from your writing to the plot.

Your writing is very descriptive. I have an easy time following along AND I can see everything so clearly in my head as I'm reading. Just perfect!

I wasn't expecting Misty to be an angel but it makes sense!

I really like all of the references here, too.

Super great I can't wait to read more!

And who's in the room? WHO?! I need to found out!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #23, by darkkidCity of Angels: Prologue

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I think what really drew me into this story was the banner. Particularly the "Las Vegas" sign. I was overcome with curiosity!

Misty is a very interesting character. She's kind of headstrong and determined and a bit scary. But I like her, definitely like her a lot.

I'm loving the mystery here. It's really captivating and I'm wondering what is going to happen next! How do they resurrect? I have so many questions! I guess that means I better keep reading!

Very excellent, can't wait to read more!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #24, by darkkidWhere Rainbows End: Where Rainbows End

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I'm trying to get into next-gen fanfiction so here I am! And I'm surely not disappointed at all!

I really really enjoyed that you incorporated Hermione's side of the family into Rose. It's something I never really thought about but really helps add to the story and develop Rose as a character!

I loved your take on her grandparents. And her adventures with her grandfather! So incredibly sweet!

I think what I enjoyed most about this was that it didn't exactly focus on the Rose / Scorpius relationship. It was so much more than that. And that Scorpius is well rounded, especially in the fact that Draco didn't raise him like his dad had done to him. You can really see that in his character!

Great story!!!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #25, by darkkidCount: When You're Late and I'm Alone

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Hi I came back for another story!

Your writing is phenomenal, especially in this. I feel like I went for an emotional roller coaster ride (in a way, I guess I did!). It was kind of eerie, but not so that I felt scared while reading. Like a memory that you kind of what to forget but can't.

The ending was great. Waiting. Just waiting. Anxiety, in a way, has ruined her to the point where she can't do much more than wait. And wonder if everything is going to be okay. Day after day after day.

A very emotional story! I thoroughly enjoyed this!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi, Raisha!

Thank you so much! I went for an emotional roller coaster ride myself when writing it :) And describing it like a memory you want to forget is perfect!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! :D I'm glad you enjoyed reading!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>