Reading Reviews From Member: darkkid
  
83 Reviews Found

Review #1, by darkkidSalem: Yellow Bird, Dark Man

3rd December 2015:
First and foremost - BRAVO!

What an excellent - EXCELLENT - first chapter. Immediately I'm pulled into your story. You're set up just in the first paragraph is phenomenal.

I have become increasingly curious about Tom and his temper. And especially how this all ties in with Salem, which we all know what happens there. (Mostly, anyway. I'm not overly familiar with the events but some of those names you mentioned certainly ring a bell.) I do know things don't end well and I have to say I certainly agree with the narrator here, it would have been in his best interest to take out those girls. If only he knew.

And this has nothing to do with the content in your story here - but I am very tickled that your story has 666 words which... well, it added to the dramatic effect of this first chapter. For me, anyway!

Anyways, GREAT WONDERFUL CAPTIVATING (I'm running out of adjectives) FIRST CHAPTER!

Until next time! Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Raisha,
Thank you incredibly much for such a kind review. I can't even begin to say how grateful I am for your feedback.

I'm so glad you're curious about how this story will play out. It's definitely a dark period, and there'll be a lot of drama going on.

Thanks for noticing the 666, haha!

And thank you again for such a lovely review!
-Maddy


 Report Review

Review #2, by darkkidFirewhiskey: Chapter 1

30th July 2015:
I've been wanting to read this one for a while!

I really love the idea of a memorial plaza for the fallen heroes of the wars. It's kind of like a "closure" for everything that happened, and a remembrance of all they fought for and what they achieved. They need it after everything.

Charlie's breakdown got me. (Legit tears, this never happens!) I'm so sad for him and so sad for everyone. I can tell it's going to be a very, very long time for him to recover from the war, that is, if he ever recovers.

I'm really enjoying Poppy's character in this. She's a caregiver even off duty and that's really admiring.

And I've been SO hesitant about this Poppy/Charlie pairing and I just had to know how you pulled it off and you did A++ work on that! Very unlikely pairing and, if only for tonight, I do enjoy them as a couple.

Everything about this was wonderful. You made me cry though. I guess I'll forgive you, since I'm very very glad I got to read this beautiful piece of work.

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #3, by darkkidThe Death Of Sir Nicolas: Tusks

29th July 2015:
Hi I'm raisha from the forums!

I picked this one as my first one to read because I'm very interested in how you played out Sir Nick's death scene. (also I made your banner so... yeah it was a given that I'd choose this one as my first one to read!)

Lady Grieve sounds absolutely gorgeous. Your descriptions of her really portrayed that! Very beautiful writing!

I'm so interested in what event lead up to Lady Grieve getting crooked teeth!

Oh my. That was certainly not a good idea at all for him to do. No, no, no.

It's sad that a boyish attempt at impressing Lady Grieve is what brings death upon him!

I like that his reasoning for not moving on is the fear of surprise. He seems like a simple man and choosing to not move on is a simple answer.

It's sad to me, and perhaps to him as well, that he is doomed now. I think he may realize that, 500 years after the fact. One year down, an eternity more to go.

I really enjoyed this! Your writing is very fluid and I felt myself feeling what your characters felt! Very great!

I'll be reading more of your stories shortly, keep an eye out!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi Raisha,

Yay! I'm always excited when someone makes a banner and comes to read the story it's for. :D

I'm glad you liked the description. I always try to include a lot of it in my writing.

So the whole Lady Grieve incident is actually listed on Wiki as the cannon for Sir Nick.

It is definitely sad to think of Nick as doomed, but at least he has all of the lovely students to keep him company.

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #4, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [six]

29th July 2015:
Oh Chris and Charlie and ohhh! They're so cute excuse my squees.

Charlie talking about the battle upsets me. There's so much pain there. Though even talking about something so painful, Chris makes it better. He's there and he's listening I think maybe that's what Charlie needs the most- just someone to be there.

I hope now that he has expressed himself to Chris - and more importantly expressed that he wants Chris to stay - they can move forward, together. And eventually, perhaps, Charlie will finally introduce someone to his family. It's a long stride for him but I bet Chris will help him through it!

I'm very excited to see how this goes. It can't be easy, taming a Dragon Tamer but if anyone is to do it, it's going to be Chris.

I wonder what other trials and tribulations are in store for the pair!

Very great read!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,
Thanks so much for the review.

They make me sqee too... they're just so perfect together... but they also still have a while to go until everything can be perfect.

The war is a very hard topic to write about... we know what happened from the perspective of Harry, but we never get the full extent of it. everyone experiences it differently, but it's just as horrible from the different perspective.

I've been struggling to continue this story, but I think I can finally work on it again now, so look out for a new chapter soon.

Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving encouraging words.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #5, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [five]

29th July 2015:
Chris! Yes I'm so glad Chris is here! Chris appears to be the braver of the two so it would make sense that he would be the first to make the moves.

Oh no! Charlie :[ I hope there's nothing seriously wrong!

Chris had very fast thinking, but it is unfortunate that Charlie has found himself back in the hospital!

I'm glad Chris is staying! I hope their more-than-friendship blossoms into something spectacular! They have much to talk about!

I'm really enjoying their relationship, it's coming along wonderfully and seeing them together makes me happy!

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,

This chapter makes me happy every time I read through it. Chris is a brave, confident man. Life dealt him a bad hand as well, but he made the best of it and doesn't let his disability affect what he wants to do.

When I wrote this, I kind of had parallels between the two men in mind. They are both broken, but Chris can deal with it and Charlie just isn't there yet. That is why Chris is so perfect for Charlie. He understands what it means to have to deal with something more than other people. He's there to help Charlie, and together, they can be truly happy again.

Charlie doesn't fall in love easily, he's very stubborn. But Chris is just the right kind of persistent to make Charlie realize what he wants.

Thank you so much for sticking around

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #6, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [four]

29th July 2015:
Oh Charlie and his dragons! He will never part from his babies, I just love it!

Charlie has a wonderful night with Chris (that night can be classified as wonderful right?) I think it counts as wonderful. Back to my point, he has his night with Chris and suddenly old thoughts that he tries to push away resurface. I feel like he's searching for a reason to not be happy. Finding an excuse as to why he shouldn't love another because... what if? What if he had been less cowardly and what if David was still around?

He's very troubled and has a lot to work through, but maybe that's why he needs Chris.

It saddens me how much the war has affected Charlie. It's so awful that while the Weasley's were broken over losing Fred that Charlie had lost another, someone close to him, someone he loved deeply. It's double the pain. So sad!

I hope that Charlie wakes up feeling better, and perhaps feeling a little ambitious and contacts Chris because he needs it!

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha

It always makes me really happy when people continue reading a story and leaving reviews. It really means a lot to me, so thank you!

This chapter focuses on Charlie and the war and what he has been through. He hasn't forgiven himself quite yet, and he still has some things to work through, but Chris will be there to help him.

You're absolutely right, Charlie is looking for an excuse to not allow himself to feel again, because feeling love ended in so much pain for him...

Thank you so much for the review.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #7, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [three]

29th July 2015:
Yes yes, me here!

Poor Charlie drank too much the night before! Uh-oh! I do hope that it is Chris in bed with him. How scandalous!

Daw, they're so... awkward but in a cute way that makes me smile. I can't imagine what is going through both of their minds! One minute they're talking in a pub and then... oops! It's clear they both had an instant attraction to each other or else the night might have gone differently.

And they still have a lot of chemistry that I hope gets explored later! They're each animal-loving nerds and its cute. It's something they could really bond over!

No, Charlie don't walk away from him! Get his phone number, his address, something so you can see him again! It can't end like that! Charlie!

I'm off to the next!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi Raisha,

Haha that review makes me laugh. These two can be so incredibly frustrating! But Charlie needs time to admit to himself how he feels and to allow himself to feel again. Chris has to be the bigger person for now, and it's a good thing he's so confident and knows what he wants.

Thanks so much for your review

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #8, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [two]

29th July 2015:
Hi there, me again!

I absolutely adore Charlie's genuine care for his dragons. He's so passionate about them and when he sees their sick he doesn't let anything, his injury, or anyone, his boss, stand in his way. Those dragons are HIS dragons and he would stop at nothing to help them.

I do believe Charlie has the case of the Weasley temper! That wasn't nice at all for him to say that, but I'm very glad he realizes that. I do believe he was "in the zone" with his dragons and that's what set him off.

Oh and now they're at the pub! And Charlie has apologized, and I'm beginning to love their budding friendship.

And I'm very interested by the ending here. Don is like a wing-man and I'm very thrilled that he can also see the budding friendship between Charlie and Chris.

Despite both being willed and strong-headed, I think they're going to be great together!

Cheers! Next chapter here I come!

-raisha

Author's Response: Oooh it always makes me so happy to see someone continue reading this story, especially because the plot really only picks up a bit into the story.

Don is probably one of my favourite minor OCs. He's just fun to write about, to have somewhere, lurking in the background and seeing straight through everything. He'll definitely be back later.

Charlie can often easily forget to think before speaking, especially when he is with his dragons. Nothing else seems to matter to him then.

Thanks again for all these wonderful reviews.


 Report Review

Review #9, by darkkidTaming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

29th July 2015:
Hi, I'm raisha from the forums, ignore my ancient username on here okay :P
(And I'm also angelic. on TDA and I remember making this banner for you and even had this in my reading list but haven't gotten around to it so... here I am now!) Whee!

I love the start of this. Charlie is legitimately upset that the doctor's won't allow him to work, and that really reflects his character. I know he wasn't a big part of the books, but it definitely seems, to me, like something he would be upset over.

I love this line here: "He really didn't want to find out what Molly Weasley deemed healthy enough to work with dragons." Because that just sounds exactly like Mrs. Weasley and exactly like something Charlie would be keen on avoiding!

It actually greatly amuses me that Charlie, dragon extraordinaire, would be afraid to bring home someone to meet his family. This guy goes up against dragons daily and yet his own family has him terrified! I like that, it really adds to his character.

Oh Charlie! Your precious dragons are durable, there is nothing at all that will happen to them! Although, I do have this strange inkling that Charlie is less worried about his dragons and more worried about Christopher being harmed!

I'm off to read the next chapter, I very much enjoyed this!
(And I've never read a Charlie fic, but I certainly am liking it a lot!)

Cheers!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi Raisha.

I am still completely in love with the banner you made me. It is absolutely perfect. Sometimes, I go to my AP and just look at the banners for a bit.

I'm so glad you're enjoying this story already. I've been wanting to explore Charlie's character for a whilr before I started this. It was surprisingly easy to write about him. He seems to have a mind of his own sometimes.

As for the part where he worries about the dragons... he does that, but you may be right, he worries about Chris more. And also, he doesn't want to spend time with that good looking stranger who affects him way more than he should.

Thank you so, so much for your review(s)

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #10, by darkkidHow to win Lily: How to win Lily

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I loved loved loved this! I love Lily's internal "well mabye I CAN like him afterall" feelings. Because, let's be honest, she knows she's BOUND to like him.

I like that you added a fair amount of humor to this. Despite the war going on it's good that they can share laughs and just be the teenagers they are.

This was a very nice, short one shot! I had fun reading it!

Cheers!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #11, by darkkidThinking Out Loud: Thinking Out Loud

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I want to say that I have never read a George/Hermione fiction. I'm very intrigued by the pairing though. Probably because it's a bit scandalous with the whole Ron/Hermione canon pairing.

I really enjoyed this! Both Hermione and George were in character and represented perfectly! Not to mention both of them TOGETHER was just perfect. They actually coexist really well and work really good together as a couple.

This whole story was so sweet. And it worked so well with this song, which is an absolutely beautiful song by the way.

Such a great read! I'm so happy I stopped by.

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #12, by darkkidOn: On

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Oh how cute. I really like that Remus is free from lycanthropy. He deserves it.

Harry and Teddy are actually quite adorable together. It saddens me that Harry lost most of his "parent" figures but he clearly doesn't need them anymore. He became quite the parent himself at such a young age. Though it makes sense seeing as everything he had went through.

And the reactions from Remus and Tonks. Tonks especially, she nearly brought me to tears. I love it. I love that they get to see him from the afterlife and watch over him. It's perfect and bittersweet.

Great read!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #13, by darkkidLegos: Legos

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

The title of this is what drew me in! Legos? Worse than the cruciatus curse? I can only hope someone STEPS on one because we all know what kind of pain that brings!

OHMYGOSH I cannot believe that that is what happens, that's the best thing ever!

I totally understand his pain though! And Luna saying "you've got to toughen up a little" really made me smile. Someone like Draco who's been through a terribly amount of pain needs to toughen up a bit!

That's just like something Luna would say!

I loved this! So glad I stopped in!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #14, by darkkidLetters from Amanda: Letters From Amanda

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I like how to laid out this story. The letters are nicely presented and you can see that the characters used them to spill out their emotions. That's something you can't see in standard dialogue stories.

This was terribly sad and heartbreaking. I can't imagine what she is going through.

The letters were easy to follow and gave me just enough information without going overboard! I love stories like that!

This was an excellent read! I'm so glad I stopped in!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey there Raisha. I know I'm responding the this review 10 months late or something like that, but I just wanted to let you know I appreciate your review!

Yeah, that's one reason I like about letter formats too. I'm glad you liked it!

-jayna


 Report Review

Review #15, by darkkidI'll Go With You: I'll Go With You

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I NEVER read Harry fictions! I don't know why because I really enjoyed this!

I think everyone, myself included, needs to explore the post-war emotions of the Golden Trio. Once it's over you sort of except them to get a huge weight lifted off their shoulders but that isn't necessarily the case. It's been a long, terrifying, heartbreaking war, and surely there's more to it than a weight suddenly lifting.

You portrayed all of the characters in perfect canon, which I love. Harry, especially. He can be a difficult person at times and I really saw that in him.

Overall, and I've said this before, I really enjoy your writing (obviously since I've reviewed many MANY of your stories today) and I've really enjoyed this story. Just beautiful!

-raisha

Author's Response: I don't write the trio much, but what is most interesting to me about them are those post-war emotions. They were children who spent most of their lives fighting, and he transition to peace can be disconcerting. When they used to have to keep going and fighting no matter what, now they are left with their damage. And you can't tell me they don't all have damage.

I'm really glad to hear that you thought I kept the character in character, particularly Harry. I don't necessarily enjoy writing Harry, but when I do it is always good to hear that I handle him well.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, raisha!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by darkkidWhen Arthur Saved Molly: When Arthur Saved Molly

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Oh Arthur! Honestly I've never really read much of him. Especially not in this time period, directly after Hogwarts.

I like how Molly is a bit strange, in a good way, the way that all of the Weasley kids are. I usually expect Arthur to be that way, and perhaps before the kids and before needing to be the big "mom" figure both of them were a bit quirky. I like that idea, it makes sense!

There were a few typos (I think an 's" was missing on surrounding at one point) but it happens!

Really great read! Very glad I stopped in for this one! Arthur / Molly is always a good classic to go!

-raisha

Author's Response: To me Molly is a free spirit, and nobody can tell me otherwise. To me Arthur is quirky in a "dad jokes" way, but as a younger man he is a bit more typical, just kind of blundering his way though life and trying to figure out where he fits in.

Thanks for pointing out the typo. I actually do not think I'm going to edit it in though, as at this point I kind of want this story to fall down on my AP

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by darkkidBehind His Desk: Behind His Desk

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

The summary on this pulled me in.

I was actually confused at first and it took a while for it to click that this was a portrait.

I like that he had these particular transcripts with him. I'd say these students affected him the most. Cedric because he died while, essentially, in his care, really struck me. I wonder if that was the first student he lost while he was headmaster. Of course the others died as well but not WHILE at school.

It makes me both happy and sad that portrait Dumbledore and real Dumbledore are so alike. It's nice that he can be there without actually being there, but then it's not really him, is it.

A very enjoyable read, I'm glad I stopped in!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey raisha,

I'm glad that the summary, while simple, enticed you to read this story.

I deliberately did not make it clear right away that Albus was a portrait, as he himself is not fully aware of it at the beginning of the story, and I was hoping to recreate that sense of disorientation in my readers.

The death of Cedric was an extremely poignant moment in recent Hogwarts history, and I imagine it must have set very heavy with Dumbledore, especially when he holds himself responsible for the well beings of his students.

I'm glad that you found this perspective of Dumbledore believable and engaging!

Thanks,

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by darkkidCity of Angels: City of Sorrow

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

OKAY I'm VERY excited about this story. Everything from your writing to the plot.

Your writing is very descriptive. I have an easy time following along AND I can see everything so clearly in my head as I'm reading. Just perfect!

I wasn't expecting Misty to be an angel but it makes sense!

I really like all of the references here, too.

Super great I can't wait to read more!

And who's in the room? WHO?! I need to found out!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #19, by darkkidCity of Angels: Prologue

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I think what really drew me into this story was the banner. Particularly the "Las Vegas" sign. I was overcome with curiosity!

Misty is a very interesting character. She's kind of headstrong and determined and a bit scary. But I like her, definitely like her a lot.

I'm loving the mystery here. It's really captivating and I'm wondering what is going to happen next! How do they resurrect? I have so many questions! I guess that means I better keep reading!

Very excellent, can't wait to read more!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #20, by darkkidWhere Rainbows End: Where Rainbows End

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I'm trying to get into next-gen fanfiction so here I am! And I'm surely not disappointed at all!

I really really enjoyed that you incorporated Hermione's side of the family into Rose. It's something I never really thought about but really helps add to the story and develop Rose as a character!

I loved your take on her grandparents. And her adventures with her grandfather! So incredibly sweet!

I think what I enjoyed most about this was that it didn't exactly focus on the Rose / Scorpius relationship. It was so much more than that. And that Scorpius is well rounded, especially in the fact that Draco didn't raise him like his dad had done to him. You can really see that in his character!

Great story!!!

-raisha

 Report Review

Review #21, by darkkidCount: When You're Late and I'm Alone

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Hi I came back for another story!

Your writing is phenomenal, especially in this. I feel like I went for an emotional roller coaster ride (in a way, I guess I did!). It was kind of eerie, but not so that I felt scared while reading. Like a memory that you kind of what to forget but can't.

The ending was great. Waiting. Just waiting. Anxiety, in a way, has ruined her to the point where she can't do much more than wait. And wonder if everything is going to be okay. Day after day after day.

A very emotional story! I thoroughly enjoyed this!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi, Raisha!

Thank you so much! I went for an emotional roller coaster ride myself when writing it :) And describing it like a memory you want to forget is perfect!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! :D I'm glad you enjoyed reading!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #22, by darkkidMonochromatic: Just a Nightmare

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Cara is a wonderfully rounded character. I can't even possibly imagine what she must be going through. It's so tragic, losing so many people, not to mention the plague and - I know this is a dark story but I'm really hoping she catches a break! Just a small ray of sunshine in all of this mess.

I am a tad confused. Not necessarily a bad thing, it's one of those confusions that keep me hanging on. Wondering how all of these events are going to play out in later chapters.

There's a lot that you can do with this story and I know it's going to go in a great direction! There's so many questions that I want answered!

I'll be waiting for an update!

Great read!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi, Raisha!

I honestly can't imagine going through something like that either, losing all of those people and not being able to do a thing about it. I hope she catches a break too :)

Confusion is definitely something I did on purpose. I'm happy I balanced it enough to keep you interested! :D It'll all make sense in the end, though. All your questions shall be answered! :D

Thanks!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #23, by darkkidMonochromatic: Just the Coffee

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Your writing is so fluid! Your descriptions aren't overdone, they're just enough to give me a clear picture in my head. I can see what you intended so clearly!

This story was different from what I normally read. It's kind of grim and dismal and I actually like it. There's a lot of ways to go with this story.

The flashback scene really grounded the story. I am curious about Gordon and hope there's more information in the future about him.

The story itself is set kind of tragic and almost scary and there's so many ways this could go!

Great job! I'll be reading the next chapter ASAP!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hi, Raisha!

Thanks so much! I really pay attention to my descriptions because I love a vivid story, but I also love when there's a slightly vague amount that keeps the reader slightly on guard and confused. So thank you for the compliment!

I'm glad you decided to read it, then! Sometimes I won't bite at the stories I don't usually read.

Gordon will be elaborated on in a later chapter! :D

Thanks so so much for the lovely review!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #24, by darkkidWhat's in a Name?: What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I really enjoyed the last story I read from you so I'm back for more! Thought I'd drop by for your newest story and leave you your first review on it!

I'm a huge Draco fan. Anything Draco and I'm happy.

I like that Draco has some inner turmoil almost about his surname. Being a Malfoy means something, maybe not to him, but to other Purebloods. To his father, especially. A Malfoy must do this and that and be great and. blah. I can't imagine how annoying that could be.

And growing up feeling like you're above everyone else, which is surely what Lucius taught him, before a harsh realization sets over when he goes to Hogwarts.

I like how Draco is determined to make sure his own son doesn't have to face the same harsh reality that he did. Malfoy WOULD be a good surname, in a way he will undo what his father had ruined.

I like that

Super great read!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,

I'm so pleased you liked it. I've been nervous about this one as I worried it was a little flat and tied up a little too neatly. Thanks for checking it out.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #25, by darkkidBetter Dig Two: A Terrible Love

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I've been wanting to stop by since I made your banner but haven't made it til now! (awh, I have a million usernames I go by but I'm angelic. on TDA!) *waves*

So I'm an on-again off-again Dramione shipper and for this chapter here I am definitely an "on-again shipper" The two, even though a tad unconventional, are perfect.

And the CLICHES! Honestly, I'm a cliche lover. Don't know why but I am, and you've executed these SO WELL.

I like how well you've characterized everyone, Hermione especially. Trying to drag Ron down through jealousy. He shows that, just like everyone else, she is human. Not always so proper.

I like that Hermione doesn't know who it is.

The ending of this leaves a LOT to be desired! I know I came here because of the HC but I'm adding this to my favorites so I can keep updated!

I'm very excited to read more when it gets posted! Great job!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,

I'm so pleased you liked it. The new chapter should be posted in the next week or so, queue willing, so it should be up in a little while. I've got some other new stuff coming through too. Hopefully You'll enjoy the rest as much as you've enjoyed this chapter.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>