Reading Reviews From Member: candlesflame
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Augusta Longbottom

12th February 2008:
You updated! Yayness! And we get to the actual cannon appearance. Very well done. While it was recognizably cannon, the voice was so uniquely Augusta Longbottom that I got much more out of than the brief scene in the book. One comment: you have a typo when Augusta calls Neville "Heville" instead ("Heville, put that wrapper in the bin..."). Anyway, awesome as always. While I eagerly await the next chapter, I am a bit worried that there are only three left :( Bravo, bravo, write fast!! ~candlesflame

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll fix that. And...yeah I had major writer's block for this...for two years >< I just reran into it when I was transferring from my old pc to my new laptop. I promise to get this thing finished soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by candlesflameIt's Hard Speaking in Past Tense: It's Hard Speaking in Past Tense

12th February 2008:
I've read many stories about grief/funerals, especially centered around the Trio. What I love about yours is instead of doing some sort of melodramatic "woe is me" speech, you focused on a very small, yet very important thing: speaking in the past tense. You managed to convey Ron's grief, without losing any of the essential Ronness that we all know and love, by talking about his inability to speak in the past tense. A unique look at things and a wonderful story. Bravo!

Author's Response: Wow. Thanks so much. I'm so glad you liked this, I really appreciate your opinions! :) I found this story hard to make unique, and I'm glad you think I pulled it off. Thanks again. :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by candlesflameThursday's Child: Thursday's Child

19th August 2007:
I can't say I've ever seen Petunia displayed so accurately before!! You managed to show her grievances with the wizarding world (some of which I happen to agree with) while still showing she isn't the nicest person you'll ever meet (no truly nice person would mistreat a child!!). Sirius was well shown also; how he interferes because it is related to James and is kind of arrogant without meaning to be. Anyway, this was wonderful.

 Report Review

Review #4, by candlesflameLily's Secret: Hogwarts

13th August 2007:
Oooh, sounds like a good story. I like Lily already. She and Alex both. Interesting that Lily gets the same sort of star treatment Harry got stuck with, poor girl. I love the fact that Harry was giving advice on how to sneak out of school; I can so see Ron and Harry doing that. Anyway, a wonderful start. ~candlesflame

 Report Review

Review #5, by candlesflameProtector of the Crown: Summer 1533

17th February 2007:
I am really impressed by your story. Your idea is really original: to set the story in the far past. I love your time period; with all the accusations of witchcraft at the time, it makes sense that some of muggles and witches interacted. Thank you for writing a fresh, new story. I cannot wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I have a friend who is thinking of doing one during the Salem Witch Trials and I'm pondering doing one during the Spanish Inquisition, where many were accused of witchcraft as well. I always enjoy a challenge and history definitely is one. I'm trying to think of a new challenge for a one-shot since I've almost got this one completely written and I'm working on another in the same era...less HP-y though...The HP world will be involved...but it will focus more on Vampires and their lives.

I'm always on the lookout for fresh ideas...Vampires were my latest and how they became involved...but I'm consistently looking for more. I get most of my ideas from either a book or a song (or even a roleplay) that I did and from there springs forth a brand new idea. I was thinking of doing a marching band one but I started writing it and realized how lame it was. I'm thinking now of doing an old school Hollywood time period in which a Witch would be an actress or something...

This time period really was the best of my ideas so far...I've got a one-shot waiting (my first one ever...) and once that's validated, Chapter 4 will be up!

Thanks for the review! Glad you like it!

xxCornie


 Report Review

Review #6, by candlesflameA Love Story to Last Five Minutes (Because a Lifetime is Just Too Long): Hit me Baby One More Time

24th January 2007:
Well, that was amusing to say the least. I was laughing the entire time I read this. The Draco/Hermoine stories always rather disgust me because they are so-farfetched. I can kind of see the "my only love from my only hate" angle, but still the scenarios are "interesting." But, I'm rambling. I thought your parody was funny and rather accurate. Excellent story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Alice Longbottom

21st December 2006:
Yay! Another chapter! You still amaze me how you can portray Alice and Frank; I get a sense of what is going on without losing sight of how brain damaged they are. I loved Alice's almost recognizing the people in the pictures, but assuming she is wrong. Favorite sentence: Why are your eyes shimmering like the rising sun shines on a glass of water? Anyway, keep up the good work and continue this story, pretty please!

Author's Response: haha...that sentance so randomly came into my mind too..thanks, as always, for the wonderful review! and it makes me feel so good to hear that you think I portray Alice and Frank well...thank you, candlesflame!

 Report Review

Review #8, by candlesflameRefuge: Refuge

20th December 2006:
Wow. I could so see Luna naming the Shrieking Shack... Anyway, I loved the sentence "Everybody in the Order knew that the Boy Who Lived would have to die." The irony is extremely bitter but very accurate. Amazingly well-written

Author's Response: yay, thank you very much! glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by candlesflameAnd His Cousin's Hand-Me-Down Clothes: And His Cousin's Hand-Me-Down Clothes

19th November 2006:
Yaaay! I was so happy to see a sequel. And this was, as always really well written, and very good. I can just imagine Mrs. Weasely's outrage. Anyway, excellent job; three cheers for you.

Author's Response: Yep, I finally got round to posting it. I am pleased you enjoyed, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by candlesflameBefore the End of Night: A Mother's Heartache

7th November 2006:
Am crying right now. Beautiful, heartbreaking, but beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you! :]

 Report Review

Review #11, by candlesflameKiss the Girl: Kiss the Girl

7th November 2006:
Awesome song, awesome story. Good job!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!!!! Glad you enjoyed it, and that you took the time to read it!
Love from Drue
xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #12, by candlesflameA Rue for Sorrow: Act III, Scene IV

25th October 2006:
Yay!!! Anything involving Hamlet gets my full approval, and you not only managed to combine Hamlet and HP but do it well and get an interesting ,creative, GOOD story out of it. Three cheers for you!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! About halfway through writing it, I kind of thought to myself, "What were you thinking? Hamlet and HP are nothing alike!" I'm really glad to be getting approvals though, so again, thanks for the review =)

 Report Review

Review #13, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Augusta Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
Great start to what looks like a good story!

Author's Response: thanks so much

 Report Review

Review #14, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Neville Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
This chapter was excellent, as was the rest of the story. You took a rather mundane event, Neville visiting his parents, and managed to turn it into a really intriguing look at four characters. I especially loved your portrayal of Frank and Neville. Are you a Luna/Neville shipper by any chance, because a few sentences seemed to sound like it....

Author's Response: im not much of a shipper...romance bores me...but when it does come to ships, i like neville/luna the most

 Report Review

Review #15, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Augusta Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
So Augusta actually has feelings after all? A wonderful revelation!!!

Author's Response: haha...yeah augusta has to have some emotions...she is after all a grandmother...and shes just sort of spacing out this entire chapt. b/c she cant bear to be with her son and daughter in law how they are

 Report Review

Review #16, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Alice Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
I think you did a good job. You showed how focused on not hurting she was and how she remembered even less than Frank, but still she has instinctive motheriliness (is that even a word?) towards Neville. Good job.

Author's Response: teehee motherliness..yeah she more protective of neville and franks more blaming himself and feeling all bad and self absorbed

 Report Review

Review #17, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Neville Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
I don't think this chapter babbles. I loved how it was a counterpart to Augusta's and displayed how Neville saw the exact same things. There's a big difference how they see the world....

Author's Response: yeah...i feel their sort of opposites

 Report Review

Review #18, by candlesflameA Longbottom Christmas: Frank Longbottom

22nd October 2006:
I really liked this chapter. You managed to convey what Frank is thinking while still displaying his brain damage. I thought the use of repetivitness and lack of names was especially insightful. Good job!

Author's Response: yeah...i have no clue how to write the next one though! frank and alice totally confuse me, its hardest to do them

 Report Review

Review #19, by candlesflameOf Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags: Of Coloured Pencils and Plastic Bags

8th October 2006:
Another excellent story. I liked Harry's complete acceptance of the abuse and his teacher's worries over it. I agree with one of the other reviewers, this one definately needs a sequel!!!

Author's Response: You'll be pleased to know then that I have pretty much finished the sequel for this and will be posting it soon. I am very glad to know you liked this. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review =)

 Report Review

Review #20, by candlesflameThe Greatest Wizard: The Greatest Wizard

8th October 2006:
This is an excellent one-shot. It made me realize how hard Harry's job of hero being an hero is and how easily he can fail; I loved the section where you show what it would be like if Neville had been chosen and Neville's absolute relief that it had been Harry and not him. Brillant writing.

Author's Response: I am so pleased to know you enjoyed this piece. It was one of my first one shots, and is kind of special to me. That and I love Neville so much, he is one of my favourite characters to write. Thank you for reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by candlesflameWatching Darkness Break: Chapter One

7th October 2006:
I really love this piece. You took two characters that not many people even know about, as they are only mentioned a couple times, and managed to convey vividly who they were. I adore the lines "Do you know what I’m asking you?
Are you ready to be a hero, brother?" I think they really convey both the fear and courage of the Prewetts. Anyway, I'll stop rambling now, but really, excellent work.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login