Reading Reviews From Member: Anony_Mouse
  
411 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anony_MouseDj Vu: Time Passes, Stuff Happens, and Life Still Sucks

3rd March 2012:
I'm really enjoying this story. I don't usually read next generation stories, especially one of Harry's children and an original character, but this one is really great. Your style of writing is very fun to read, and despite Missy's talents and relationship with James, she isn't at all a Mary Sue. Instead, she's a complicated character in her own right and truly three-dimensional.

Plus, James II is so great as well. He's his grandfather's grandson, yes, but also different from his namesake and surprisingly sweet once one gets past the cocky facade. I found Missy's initial hesitance understandable and even found myself falling in love with him along with her. I think your portrayal of him might be my favorite that I've read in fanfiction.

This story is truly such a delight! Can't wait for more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Anony_MouseLiving In Shadows: As I have died...

13th January 2009:
Wow, that was amazing! You really made me feel for Helena Ravenclaw. I never really liked her for stealing the diadem in DH, but this made me sympathize. I can really see that something like this might have happened. My only suggestion is that there are a few punctuation/grammar/spelling errors you might want to attend to-for example, in your dialog-

Helena you are not concentrating enough. Practise more. She would say over my shoulder.

"Practice" is spelled with a "c", not an "s". Also, instead of ending it with a period after "more,", it should be a common, and the "s" should be lowercased so that it becomes-

Helena, you are not concentrating enough. Practice more, she would say over my shoulder.
(I added a comma after Helena)

That applies to most rules of dialog. Well, it depends on the sentence, but that is the gist of it. But aside from those small errors, I really enjoyed it! Good job!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm a spaz. Thankyou! I'll try to change it sooner or later but unfortunately I suffer from chronic laziness. I always thought Helena came off a little spacey, a little attention deprived in the books- she just hands over the diadem to Voldemort because he sympathises ith her.
I wanted to kind of figure her out a little. I'm glad it didn't come out as complete nonsense.
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Anony_MouseAwkward Questions: Awkward Questions

18th December 2008:
ROFL! That was so funny!

Author's Response: Thank you, glad it was funny :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Anony_MouseOnly For Her: Only For Her

17th December 2008:
I really, really liked it! Your description is beautiful. I've always wondered what happened when Snape took the letter, and you perfectly satisfied me by writing this missing moment. It's very canon, and I know JKR would agree with it, too!

Author's Response: thank you so much!
the moment caught me, and i imagined so many emotions in it i couldn't not write it down!
oh, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Anony_MouseRight.: Serenading the Silence

16th December 2008:
It's been forever and an age since I first began reviewing this story, but I came back and read some today, and I REALLY love where this is going. You are really gifted in your descriptive passages, and I think you have a really strong grasp on character. None of your characters are too based on stereotypes. The premise is so intriguing! I hope you update really soon...I know you're busy, but I am really eager for the next chapter! This is definitely one of my favorite stories on the site. keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anony_MouseVictor?: Victor?

16th December 2008:
Guess who...?

(well, it's kinda obvious from my sn)

That's right...

MARA!

Anyway, I was bored, so I decided to stop here for a bit. And I LOVED this story. For your first humor fic, you really did a good job! And it was so fluffy and adorable!!! Honestly, though, I could never ask my mom something like that...I mean, she's open with me, but that would be way too awkward. Rose is really cute. I'm not really sure whether I'm a Rose/Scorpius shipper, but it seems to have worked really well here. :-)

I LOVELOVELOVE the ending, though...about Hermione not even having kissed Krum...I always did wonder about that. Like another one of your reviewers, I hope the answer is like what it was here! That was SO funny! You did a great job with the humor of everyone talking over each other. Ahh, I want to read it again and again; it's just so CUTE! I'm to glad I dropped in to read this.

Anyway, I hope all is well. ^_^ I miss you (and everyone else, too)! It's been forever...the novel got split into two books because it was getting too long, and I'm halfway through the second...the revising thing has been taking forever! Anyway, that's what's knew with me, and I hope all is well. I REALLYREALLYREALLY liked this story!

XOXOXOXOXOX Have a happy holidays!

(and a 10/10 for you)

Author's Response: Well this just made Christmas. Best present ever. Thanks Mara! I'm really glad you like it and even more pleased that the novel's going well. Can't wait to see it on the shelves - I expect a dedication! :P Keep at it girl and remember we're behind you forever and always. Thanks for popping by - we love hearing updates to know you're alive and if they come with story compliments, even better. :) xxx

 Report Review

Review #7, by Anony_MouseFlying Monkeys: Career Advice

7th October 2008:
*is cracking up right now*

That was so random and crazy and pointless (in a good way). I loved it. Rofl!

*laughs some more*

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Anony_MousePerfect Life.: Perfect Parents.

3rd July 2007:
Oh, that is so unbelievably cute!!! I absolutely LOVE that fluffy portrayal of R/Hr's family life...pretty hard to resist! I'm adding it to my faves. =D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Anony_MouseHope: Hope

26th June 2007:
Aww, that's really sad. I LOVE the way you wrote it and I LOVE how you wrote it for the Hurricane victims (it always makes me smile when writers use their talents for the sake of good). I love the hopeful, "hope-filled" ending too--it really is all about hope. =D

Author's Response: Thank you, Mara!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anony_MouseDaddy's Little Girl: Daddy's Little Girl

26th June 2007:
That's really sad, just because there's a sort of sense of what could have been, and I'm really glad you made Harry a character, as opposed to replacing him, as some fics do. I really enjoyed this--I like how you used the wedding, lyrics, and flashbacks all to bring the story forward! Great work! =D

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Anony_MouseOrdinary: Ordinary

26th June 2007:
Oh, I loved this!!! The writing was very well-done and I could totally see it actually happened. I'm so sorry it didn't get farther in the duel, but it totally deserved more. Really, great job--this was completely plausible, the most necessary aspect for the duel! =D

Author's Response: thank you for the compliments.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Anony_MouseDownloading Harry Potter: Epilogue: Apologies, Letters, and Laughter

26th June 2007:
Actually, I really liked it!!! I think the simple ending did a lot for the story, as a matter of fact. Really, I love how in-character everyone was and how, even though it made good humor, finding out wasn't the end of the world or anything--great story, indeed! =D

Author's Response: I'm so giddy right now! All of the reviews I've seen today have been full of praise and your comments about how canon the trio was just made me happier then a cat finding spilt milk! *happy dance* - Jenn

 Report Review

Review #13, by Anony_MouseGhosts in the Graveyard: Ghosts in the Graveyard

21st June 2007:
Oh, how very sad!!! The ending was a bit odd, but thought-provocative, although I can't very well complain, since I'm sure you got that from "Our Town" (I've been wanting to read that play, btw-I'm not familiar with it yet). It really was quite interesting and I like how it fits within the HP world. I do wish you made Gideon a bit more HPish, though--perhaps you did and I missed it and I don't know if she was for "Our Town" or simply filling a character there, but she did seem a touch bit out of place. Also, would Ginny not be ten then...if it were her tenth birthday (“Daddy!” She heard her nine year old self reply.)?

But really, I enjoyed it and it truly made me feel for Ginny, so nice job. I'd leave more of a review, if I weren't surfing on the computer, since I was unable to fall asleep! =D

Good job.

Author's Response: Okay, plenty to adress:

1) Yes, the ending is straight of of "Our Town"; marvelous play, bit strange.

2) Gideon is Gideon Prewett, Molly Weasley's late brother. He was blasted to pieces by the Death Eaters, so he is a bit bitter. Wonder why? ;-) His speech (HE- yes, Gideon is a man) is also paraphrased from "Our Town".

3) I am going to fix the age thing. Thank you for pointing it out! That was a stoopid misteak on my part (Intentional mispellings :-))

4) Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Anony_MouseRage Against the Dying Light: Rage Against the Dying Light

19th June 2007:
Wow. This is one of the stories I could never not review...I simply have too much to say! Ron yelling at Harry...Harry explaining that he's changed...the breathtaking ending...I was a bit confused at the beginning, but towards the middle the story really started to suck me in, and I absolutely loved it. It's a breathtaking story, which I think was what you were aiming for--leaving you with an "Oh my God" sense. If so, nice job. And even if not...well, that's how the story spoke to me. =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked this! This was one of those stories where I kind of just wanted it to be powerful and have people sit there at the end just staring at their computer screens for a few seconds. I'm glad you got that sense! Thanks so much again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Anony_MouseHer Secret: My Back May Be Up Against A Broken Door - But There Is Nowhere I Would Rather Be

19th June 2007:
Aww, now I'm feeling sorry for Harry!!! First of all, Cho is scheming her evil plots, second of all, the whole thing about his daughter, and third of all, Ginny is refusing to acknowledge her attraction to him (yes, I know she's lying!). Oh, did I mention Bill punching her somehow?

Tiffers, I'm soOoOOoOoooOoo (times a million) glad you updated!!! I think I'm going to reread some of this story, I'm so happy. =D Don't worry though, I understand about writer's block--it's awful, isn't it? :P Though I wished Eloise appeared in it, I really enjoyed it--I LOVE that part where Bill punches her, that's so funny!

Well, good job as always, tiff, and I hope this time, your inspiration will be less far away, but I do understand about busy lives, so...*shrug*

My review thing says 9 reviews. Who bets it will be a lot more by the time my review is added...?

*huggleglomp*

~Mara, :-)

One last thing: I forgot to say EVIL Cho! ;-)

Author's Response: Aww! Yeah, I know I do all sorts of things to my characters, and if you wait long enough, eventually you will feel sorry for each and everyong of them! HAHA! Yup Bill punched Harry, and it was SOO fun to write!

I am so happy that I updated as well! I actually had to reread some of the story when writing as well, if you leave it for too long you sort of forget even what you wrote! Eloise will certainly make a reappearance here again soon!

Thank you so much for always leaving me such sweet reviews! I think my inspiration for this story has certainly returned so no worries there! Yup, Evil Cho, what else is new? Thanks again Mara for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: What It All Boils Down To

18th June 2007:
All right, constructive review, as promised! =)

You know from my other reviews that I really like this story. I just wanted to point out a few things, so it can become even better!!! =)

~In this story, I'm not sure Lily would call Dean her best friend, right away. Since they only just become friends, it seems a tad bit soon for that! :D
~Lily would probably call Ginny "Mum" not "Mom" since this is set in England, after all.
~I haven't seen Gilmore Girls, but I've read through some of the reviews, and I'm a bit put-off by some of the references and adapted scenes. It would be nice if you could write some of this, without the help of Gilmore Girls, on your own.
~You have quite a few grammar/spelling/flow issues, so I would recommend getting a beta to help you, if you don't already. That way, you could just worry about writing, as you do now, and someone else would worry about the editing!

But don't get me wrong, I really am enjoying the story! I love how Lily's on a quest to know more about her family and I really enjoy her character. Plus, the fame surrounding her is very realistically done! Good job, I'll look forward to more. =)

Author's Response: Thanks for the constructive criticism, too many people read and review my stories without telling me how I could make it better.

Anyway,

-About Lily calling Dean her best friend: outside her family, he is really her only friend (For now)

-I'll make the Mom to Mum changes, thanks again

-I only adapted one scene from the Gilmore Girls back in the second chapter I believe, oh and Dean's name, but that always been my favorite boy's name. Just to defend myself, (and I'm mostly saying this because you mentioned you've never seen Gilmore Girls) My inspiration comes from the show but not the material. All in all, my story really has absolutely nothing to do with the show. Gilmore Girls is about a hard-working mother and her shy, bookish daughter who eat a lot and are addicted to coffee. Since almost the entire story (There are still many chapters to go) takes place with Ginny and Lily in totally separate worlds it’s kind of hard to mold the plot around their relationship like the show.

-I know there are a few spelling and grammar errors. God only knows how many times I’ve edited each chapter, but because I do it all by myself some things just slide by

-I don’t know how to acquire a beta, but it sounds like it would help a lot! If you could tell me how I would greatly appreciate it!

Again thanks for the review and I hope you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: Journey on the Hogwart's Express

18th June 2007:
Well, I'm glad Lily has a friend, now. It's nice she's making friends with a muggleborn, though I'm sure it will be interesting when Dean finds out how famous Lily is. I must admit the Gilmore Girl things in this story do put me off slightly, although I do not watch the show, but I do understand how hard it is to part with a character's name once you have been apart from it. So, constructive review coming up and looking forward to moving on! =)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: What Can and Will Stand Between Them

18th June 2007:
Aw, that's sad. See, I'm not sure whether I would like to go to Hogwarts either...I would, if I was accepted, but it would be really, really difficult, to be apart from my parents like that, so it's nice you showed that. The thing with Mrs. Weasley was a nice touch, too. Well, moving on! =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: Godric's Hollow

18th June 2007:
Ah, sweet, young determinedness! I'll be looking forward to reading more about how Lily's quest goes.

I really like how Lily is curious to know more about her grandmother and not just father, since that would seem cliched and her quest to know more about her family is a good one, one that I have always been drawn to in literature. The only question I have is timeline related--if Lily is eleven years old now, would it be eleven years since he died? Well, I suppose it depends exactly when, but I'd assume it'd be closer to eleven and a half or twelve.

Still, could job, I'll read forward, and will give you a more constructive review at the end. =)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: Diagon Alley

18th June 2007:
Wait a moment, is Ollivanders back? I thought that he was kidnapped in HBP...

That aside, nice chapter. The chaos where everyone finds out who she is was a realistic touch. And a nice cliffy, too. =) I'll read on!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: The Potter Prodegy

18th June 2007:
Well, I'm glad she was protected. I supposed she should have been socialized more, but I think it was good she was protected. I like how you are handling the Harry part. Every good next generation fic has some sort of contrast between the parents and the child's expectations to live up to them, so this is certainly one. Reading on! =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: The Weasley-bration

18th June 2007:
I like your description here. That was a really sweet chapter--forgive me for not having a lot to say. I'll be moving on...

 Report Review

Review #23, by Anony_MouseLily Potter: The Day Has Come: The Daughter of the 'Boy Who Lived'

18th June 2007:
That was a really sad, touching chapter. I really like how you begun it. The portrayal of Ginny is fresh and different, a combination of playfulness and grieving. I really like how you made Lily a parselmouth. When I found the summary, I knew I had to come here, and am really enjoying this so far. Reading on... =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Anony_MouseBeginnings: Beginnings

17th June 2007:
Huh. You know, that really made me think. I really liked that. I think you got into the characters very well, and I love how you connected all the drabbles together through one story. It's just so refreshingly original. I don't know what else to say. Really, thank you for writing this--a good job indeed! =)

Author's Response: Thank you, Mara. I think I did a better job with all their characters in this than in A Beautiful Surprise, so I'm always happy to get reviews for this fic. I'm really glad I made you think, as well. One hundred words is very difficult to sum up some of the complicated characters with! Thanks a lot for reviewing, I'm glad you liked it, and I swear I'll review your fics soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Anony_MouseA Red and Black Sky: Teachers Learn and Learners Teach

17th June 2007:
ANDY, ALL MY DREAMS HAVE COME TRUE! I GET TO GO TO HOGWARTS AND MEET RON!!! THIS IS THE BEST DAY EVER!!! YEA!!!

(okay. *takes deep breath and calms down* Thanks SO much for putting me in the A/N/chapter though--I feel most deeply honored!!! =)).

I love the premise of this chapter! Honestly, as you probably aren't surprised to hear, I love Ron Stu and I don't care one bit about it!!! You are so right--he DOES deserve it!!!

Besides the R/Hr scene, I really am loving the Jess/Sirius relationship. I just love the way you are handling it. I love Jess and I really do think she is the perfect person for Sirius...she's independent in her own right and the whole tension between their relationship is so rarely found in Sirius/OC's. I LOVE IT!!! Seriously, I think JKR herself would approve of Jess's spunk...I'm a full-fledged Sirius/Jess shipper now. =)

On the note of strong females, I also love how you are handling the Ginny/Harry relationship--the tension is SO good and true! I love that bit about the hair thing...haha, I love Ginny! She's SO much more than the "all-too-eager-to-please-Harry" she's so often portrayed as, especially in your portrayal! =)

It hardly seems fair not to say something about J/L too...and I love the realism you're handling their relationship with as well. Lily's reflection about never suspecting she'd do something like this really rang true.

So all in all--I really enjoyed it!!! I'm still SO honored I have a character to myself now!!! I loved everything about this chapter, but that held a special part in my heart. Honestly, I can't wait to see how all your plots are going to go. =)

Author's Response: Who said that Mara was you? :P Haha! no, you'e more then welcom...when I get a chance I'll edit so that all the names are in the actual chapter...I'll need to, because Ron directly refers to Mara in the next chapter (which is SO FULL of Ron Stu moments)! I'm glad you don't care about Ron Stu, by the way! It certainly is reassuring.


I'm rather fond of where Jess and Sirius are going too, so I'm glad it's working well. In the next chapter - it becomes a lot more overt and both characters admit, albeit in a VERY round-about way, how they feel. And Jess as an OC - you don't know how much it touches me that you like her and also think that JKR would! that is immense, considering that I constantly worry that she's a bit flat! Wheeey!


You are SO right about the cliched Ginny, but I think people only write her like that because, when Harry hasn't done anything wrong, she does like and is thus eager to please. But, when he does get on her wrong side (eg end of OTTP, when he doesn't want to take her to the ministry) she does fight her case. What's different about this story is that the entire thing is based on the fact that Harry was an utter a****** and she has every reason to hate him, while he is indebted to her. Oh weyyl, she does soften in the next one, and her cheeky ways return!


Do you remember me screaming in the cobox a while back that I had forgotten Lily and James in a marauder era story? Will this little relationship is trying to fix it. I'm glad you like it, but I also know that it hasn't been built up well. I hoping to check that in a girlie sleepover in the next one! :)


Thanks so much for this loffly review, Mara, and I'm so sorry for taking so long to respond! As for plots...well, with what I have in mind, you'll want to wait! :( Once again, thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>