Reading Reviews From Member: pink_rook
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pink_rookA Portrait Existence: Phineas Nigellus Black: A Portrait Existence

27th July 2012:
I have a soft spot for minor characters, so I was immediately drawn by this story. :) I like how you portrayed (pardon the pun!) Phineas' personality: always mildly annoyed, not really helpful... The thing I loved most about your story is the detail about Peeves; it made me laugh so hard! LOL
I find the ending very appropriate and I like the paradox you worked into it: Phineas, even if he is only a portrait, is freer than Sirius. You had an awesome idea. :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked my portrayal of Phineas (haha), and that Peeves' detail made you laugh. I am flattered to know you found my ideas awesome. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #2, by pink_rookLifeline: Lifeline

27th July 2012:
Bellatrix is one of my favourite characters, so I was sure I was going to like your story :) If you hadn't said so yourself, I would have never noticed that this was your first attempt with second person - you pulled it off pretty brilliantly! :) I like how she doesn't say anything in the present time, only in memories; the silence makes Azkaban prison and her cell even more frightening.

My favourite scene is when Voldemort tells Rodolphus to marry her. I like how you managed to keep it canon-compliant, since JKR said that Bellatrix only loved Voldemort, and not tried to romanticize it in any way.

All in all, very good :)

Author's Response: Hey! Yes, Bellatrix is also one of my favorite characters and pretty hard to write too :P And really? That makes me so happy! I'm glad that you thought I pulled it off! Ah yes, I wrote it exactly the way I imagined it and I'm glad it frightened you too (even of that sounds bad of me :p)

Ah yes! I loved that scene too! It really brings out the fact that Bella really didn't marry Rodolphus out of love for him or anything. I've always believed that Bella was in love was Voldemort. And yes, romance between the two is not something I support in any way. Even to me that's wrong. :)

Thank you so much for your review! :)

-Cal


 Report Review

Review #3, by pink_rook2012 Writer's Duel: A New Kind of Love: Phoenix Flames by DracoFerret11

28th January 2012:
I loved this entry. Focusing on friendship was an obvious choice for this prompt, but you managed to write a very original take on the subject. :) I enjoyed very much the different levels of relationships in this story - Albus and Fawkes and Albus and Grindelwald - and the way you have mixed them. I liked the way you gave Fawkes such human feelings in the last part, it was really touching. We knew that he had them, when he went to help Harry in CoS, but these were much more profound. It's an awesome contribution to this year's Writer's Duel. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by pink_rook2012 Writer's Duel: A New Kind of Love: Charon's Obol by GubraithianFire

28th January 2012:
This story is very well written and I especially enjoyed the title (I am getting a Master's degree in Classics so I am a sucker of all classical references :) ) and the way you interpreted the prompt.

I liked the way you described Scorpius' relationship with his mother (and, indirectly, father) with all little memories instead of using massive flashback, as I often see in other fanfictions. And I loved how she is not such a perfect mother, as the final sentences conveys (at least, the way I understand it, but I admit it left me a little baffled on the spot!). With just a few words, you managed to overshadow her whole personality and build a contradictory character, which is not something a lot of writers can do. It was an outstanding intuition. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by pink_rook2012 Writer's Duel: A New Kind of Love: Never Let Me Go by In The Shadows I Dwell

28th January 2012:
This story is very original. I've never even though about what could have happened to the Aurors guarding Azkaban prison when there was the mass breakout, but after reading this, it makes sense to me that there must have been some casualties between the Aurors. I like the way you interpreted this prompt and explored the relationship between working partners like Aurors, who must look at each other's back.

You described the scene so vividly I could actually picture it in my mind. I loved how you paid attention to the small details of their surroundings and their body reactions. Everything flowed so well then when I came to the end I suddenly wanted to know more about this two characters' past. This story is a wonderful stand-alone, but would have been equally perfect as a prologue of a longer story, just like the pilot episode of a TV series. You did a wonderful job. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by pink_rook2012 Writer's Duel: A New Kind of Love: My Existence by rj_sunshine

28th January 2012:
This story moved me so much. I cried when I first read it before posting it and I'm shedding a tear now, rereading it. I can't even express how much I think this is unique and wonderful... The climax you managed to build was extremely intense and your final sentence was absolutely perfect.

We know the other side of the story, but I haven't seen many authors focusing on Merope and this is by far the best attempt to capture her point of view I've read. I absolutely loved your story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by pink_rook2012 Writer's Duel: A New Kind of Love: My Best Days by TheHeirOfSlytherin

28th January 2012:
I loved how you explored the father/daughter relationship and Rose/Scorpius is one of my favourite pairings :) Even though romance was not to be the main focus of this prompt, I like the way you put it in... I could feel love all over the place :) And I loved your characterization of adult Ron, a little less impulsive, more calm and collected, but still so... him. You managed to describe his feelings towards his daughter with truthfulness. All in all, this story was a great addition to this Writer's Duel and a great reading experience. Keep up with the good work :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by pink_rookPhoenix in the Ashes: An Important Lesson

20th September 2011:
The troll scene is one of my favourite in Philosopher's Stone and it's a very appropriate choice, since it's the start of a friendship that would save the wizarding world. I like how you described Hermione, how she seems to insecure, how she's always felt like an outsider; I think it's very in-character.

I loved the little Romione moment. It's so cute reading about her noticing him... and the 'o' bit is a lovely detail. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by pink_rookPhoenix in the Ashes: Proud Hufflepuff

20th September 2011:
I love Hufflepuff characters. :) They always seem to have an unexpected brave side, but a little less reckless than Gryffindors'!

The moment you chose for a change is perfect. The loss of a parent, the starting of a war is something that makes you grow up instantly and you described it well. Very well done. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by pink_rookPhoenix in the Ashes: Easy Ride

20th September 2011:
I liked the way you took some of the events in Half Blood Prince and told them from the point of view of a minor character. I'm not so much of a Lavender fan, but I like the way you portrayed her relationship with Ron in a positive light.

The last part is my favourite. Not many people think about how Dumbledore's death affected Hogwarts' students beside Harry, Ron, Hermione and Draco Malfoy. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by pink_rookPhoenix in the Ashes: Confidence

20th September 2011:
I love how Luna was Neville's first choice and the appearance of Augusta Longbottom at the end, she's awesome. This one-shot is very well written and cute. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by pink_rookForget-Me-Nots: Scorpius & Rose

7th May 2011:
I really liked this fic, so full of emotion and so sad. I didn't really expect the ending! I can't believe Scorpius chose not to remember her!

This is extremely well written, good job! :)

Author's Response: Ahhh this review absolutely made my day! I read (and loved) a few of your stories before I signed up/started reviewing, so it's extra awesome to get a review from you!

I'm really glad that it was actually full of emotion, I was quite worried it might sound sort of empty... I'm also exceedingly happy you think it was well written! :D

Thanks so much for taking the time to review! :3


 Report Review

Review #13, by pink_rook zephyrs: Hermione

4th September 2010:
Another outstanding chapter. :) I never imagined Hermione hating work, not doing anything, not even knowing where she is, but you make her seem so in-character.

I love this story. :)

Author's Response: Thanks p_r, for the review, and I'm sorry for this punishably dilatory response.

I'm glad you thought Hermione wasn't OOC. I had o flog myself into the ground, getting her voice right, but I think I got there in the end. And being told it was in-character is very, very reassuring.

Thanks again for the lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #14, by pink_rookHope - A Lily Evans Tale : A Certain Kind of Crazy

29th June 2010:
I love your writing style. It's unique and amazing. You manage to make the story unravel before my eyes and I can picture every scene so clearly in mind, as if it was a movie.

I love this story. I've been waiting to read it for years now! Keep updating, you lovely Rach! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by pink_rook zephyrs: Teddy

7th April 2010:
I can't believe this story hasn't got any reviews. Let me change this fact. :)

I was browsing your profile, when I saw this story and I HAD to read it. And this is better than I expected.

I love the unusual pairing and I love the fact that you're exploring a different side of next generation. Next Gen fics are usually full of wonderful-looking people who get what they want and have their happy endings, while your fic explores the idea of the 'failure' of two characters of the good side, and that's what I call originality.

Teddy's point of view felt very real to me and I can't wait to read Hermione's side of the story.

Author's Response: God, I know. Almost all nextgen fics - including some of mine - are so, for the lack of better word, cosmetic, aren't they? Even the angst as often as not seems phoney and superficial to me. And the fact that I thought it'd be interesting to explore the "Post"-nextgen era, where everyone's out of school and are adults in the real world. Also, this is my first stab at writing something that, well's, slightly literary, and I didn't think I could write about teenagers and their grossly overrated angst. Idk, maybe it's because I'm out of my own teenage years, lol.

Thanks so much for reviewing. It was an pleasant surprise to see this review, and from a fellow validator, no less.


 Report Review

Review #16, by pink_rookA Transparent, Multi-Colored Werewolf: A Transparent, Multi-Colored Werewolf

7th April 2010:
I have tears in my eyes as I type this review. I really liked the idea of Teddy's Patronus taking fron both of his parents; it's perfect. Older Harry is so wise, just like I imagined him to be. And Kreacher purchasing sandals... ah ah!

10/10. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thanks so incredibly much for taking the time to read and review these two stories. My day is made!

It moved you to tears? Aw, I'm so happy. Well, not that you're crying, but because...you know. ;) And I'm so happy you like Harry, because I was a bit nervous about writing him.

Thank you again!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by pink_rookThe First to Die: The First to Die

7th April 2010:
I loved this story. I know how hard it is to describe something happening in just 500 words, but you managed wonderfully. I especially like the ending, the pain beyond pain of Riddle's soul splinching (right?); it's very effective.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm especially glad that you thought the mention of his soul splinching was effective, because I tried out a couple of ways to write that.
:D


 Report Review

Review #18, by pink_rookWhen in Rome: Fear the Unending Wolf.

19th February 2010:
Fantastic story idea! :] I love it!

The last part of the Latin sentence should be "Puella mortua est." But nothing to worry about! :]

10/10

Author's Response: ah thank you! I can't believe I missed that.

 Report Review

Review #19, by pink_rookSubterfuge: Subterfuge

8th December 2009:
This story is really well written. I liked your insight on both Barty Crouch Jr and his father. :]

Author's Response: Thank you! This was sort of spur the moment and I'm glad that you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by pink_rookStars Shine Black: Stars Shine Black

23rd October 2009:
With this story I can officially say I changed my mind. I wasn't really a fan of Sirius/Lily, but as I read more and more of this pairing I realize I'm falling in love with it. :] It took one of your stories to make me finally see the light! :]

I love how you portrayed their interaction and the way you described the scene. You got me captured in the story since line 1: Lily's emotions felt so real to me.

And the final kiss. Wow. :]

Author's Response: Always happy to convert anyone! I'm so glad you liked the story, this was a much harder challenge than I anticipated so I struggled with it quite a bit. Thank you so much for the kind words and the wonderful review :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by pink_rookI'll Run Away With You: I'll Run Away With You

15th October 2009:
I love this story. I am not really a Sirius/Lily shipper, but I liked the way you wrote them and Lily's mixed feelings towards James and Sirius. You made the plot actually believable and made me enjoy every line of this story. :]

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you liked it even though you're not a Sirius/Lily shipper. At times I was afraid that Lily's feelings would just come out as confusing for the reader, so it's a relief to know that it's are believable. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by pink_rookSomething Amusing: Something Amusing

8th October 2009:
I love minor canon characters. This story really amuses me. Ha Ha :] I liked the way you portrayed Ernie's personality; he was just the way I always imagined him to be, especially when he talks about Harry being good at everything and how that was not fair. So Hufflepuff of him! :]

I had to read it twice because it's so funny! :]

I'd love to know what happens when he actually tries his Hiccough-Babble-Sing-Dance-Dumpling potion! :]

Author's Response: I love minor characters too. :) I'm glad you liked the way I wrote Ernie and that you thought the story was funny! It's so difficult to know if you get humour right.

Maybe he makes a flobberworm sick... or something. Haha! It's so funny how people are intrigued by what happens after this story.


 Report Review

Review #23, by pink_rookHope - A Lily Evans Tale : Chapter Two: Little Girl

3rd October 2009:
The last line was perfection. I simply wasn't adored. Wow.

I like the way you write dialogue: it sounds believable and I can actually see the characters interacting before my eyes. I also love the way you write Lily's reaction to James and the first sparkle between them - the mad laughing.

I love it. I heart you.

But I think I'll never forgive you for the disappearance of a certain character. Just kidding. :] It's much better like this.

 Report Review

Review #24, by pink_rookUtopia: Voices

28th September 2009:
Awesome story. And it didn't need editing at all.

I suddenly want a Paul in my head. :]

Author's Response: Thank you! I think everyone has one. Just listen more closely. =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by pink_rookCollateral Damage: The casualty I loved beyond words.

27th September 2009:
I wanted to be the first to review this story. It's incredible and I love it, especially the fact that you wrote from a dead woman's point of view. It makes sound the story like a prophecy of sort, and even more romantic and tragic.

This goes straight to my favourites list. :]

Author's Response: Wow =] Thank you so much!
I'm grinning right now, alot. Ah I'm so glad you like it and doubly grateful for the favourite.
I thought it would be an interesting turn to do it from that pov. I have honestly no idea where it came from, it just popped up in my head.
Anyway, thank you again for the lovely review, you've made my night. You're great!
Samantha x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>