Reading Reviews From Member: tyldari_archer
  
156 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tyldari_archerMissing Moments: Christmas

9th March 2009:
The ending is excellent! And Tonks seems very realistic in this chapter--well done!

Author's Response: Thank you, tyldari archer - it was fun to write, if I recall.

Paloma


 Report Review

Review #2, by tyldari_archerMissing Moments: Wandless Magic

9th March 2009:
I like this story. Sometimes the language is a bit strange and doesn't really match my idea of the characters, but I like the way you're telling the story, and I look forward to seeing the rest of it!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review.

Do you mean that the dialogue is strange? I'd want to fix that.

Take care. Paloma


 Report Review

Review #3, by tyldari_archerA Hallows Named Ginny: Part Three

16th January 2009:
Well done. You have some excellent ideas here, and I feel that you could go much deeper with them and make the story longer if you wanted. But it's very nice the way it is. Thank you for giving me a new perspective on the story. It's always good to be reminded that there are thousands of possibilities and no right answer to what happened to Ginny. I enjoyed your answer, and I'm pleased that you think so well of mine. Keep writing!

Author's Response: I did miss out the period New Years to Easter, which I will cover in End of an Era, eventually.

Glad you enjoyed it, and I hope that you would consider reading the follow-up, or even the AU I'm working on?


 Report Review

Review #4, by tyldari_archerA Hallows Named Ginny: Part Two

16th January 2009:
It's very refreshing to look at someone else's point of view. No matter how meticulous you are, there's always another way to do it, and it's nice to see that. I very much like the life debt idea, it's brilliant. A few grammar mistakes, but not enough to matter. I do find it difficult to believe that the faces in the picture would be victorious and happy, especially Harry's after losing Sirius. But using the picture itself was a very good idea. I'm enjoying it. Looking forward to seeing the ending!

Author's Response: Sorry about the grammar, but noone is perfect. I think I should have had the faces as being thankful to be alive, but oh well...

Glad you enjoyed that bit.


 Report Review

Review #5, by tyldari_archerA Hallows Named Ginny: Part one.

16th January 2009:
I'd like to thank you for your compliment in your summary, but I think you're being a bit too hard on yourself. You have a good eye for detail--such as the head tilt that was the same as that in the Gryffindor common room, I had forgotten that--and you've done well showing what Ginny felt during these events. It's hard to compare your story to mine, after all, since mine is so much longer! But I'm enjoying this. I'm off to see what else you will tell us about!

Author's Response: Thank you! I absolutely enjoy your story, which month are you up to now? I've lost track.

I went through DH to try and pick out specific details, like the head-tilt.


 Report Review

Review #6, by tyldari_archerA Path to Destruction: All Hallow's Eve, 1981

17th November 2008:
It's well done. Daring to write something in Voldemort's point of view. You could continue with this, of course. I think the ending came too soon. But this is good, well-written, and cleverly thought out. Nicely done.

Author's Response: I'm thinking of rewriting parts of it. Especially the dialogue. I miss this site, and coming on here after not touching HPFF for several (and I mean SEVERAL) months has sparked the want to write more. Especially the story outlines I've had with me for years now (Inferii here we come...). And its all because of reviews like this. Thank you! Really. thank you very much

 Report Review

Review #7, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Epilogue - Avrille

21st October 2008:
In a word--wonderful! Sorry I haven't reviewed the past few chapters, but I've been caught up in the story. Very well done! I thought it was lovely. I haven't read a story from Snape's point of view before, and it's very interesting to look at it. You characterize him very well, and Avrille is a lot of fun to read. I very much enjoyed this story. It was a nice way to take a break from work and just relax. Thank you very, very much.

Author's Response: Again, totally ok! I'm the same way when I get really into a story. Sometimes I'll just go back and leave reviews later so it doesn't interrupt the flow of reading the story. Thank you so much for all of the reviews you left! It really means so much to me that people enjoy my writing and it makes me so glad that I made myself finish the fic. It's certainly the longest story I've ever written, so I'm happy I stuck it out until the end. Still considering a sequel. I'll probably write some of it, though not sure if I'll ever complete it. But keep your eyes peeled in the future. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Thirty-Three - Avrille

21st October 2008:
can't talk must read more good job

Author's Response: Ok! I won't complain about that XD Just glad you took a second to let me know how into it you are.

 Report Review

Review #9, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Thirty-Two - Severus

21st October 2008:
I like how you put in little pieces of magical trivia where they're necessary. Things like potion ingredients, new magical creatures, etc. You make them seem very real, and it's the kind of details that add so much to the story. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I didn't really focus on the details consciously, but it just sort of came out of trying to make the story as canon-like as possible. I'm proud to say that the Revenant was my own creation, though I obviously drew from other sources like JKR did (mine originated from a video game, go figure! I guess that's the next generation's writing for you...)

 Report Review

Review #10, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Nine - Avrille

21st October 2008:
I knew it wouldn't be so simple! I like how you built up the tension slowly here. It makes me even more eager to read the next chapter, which is where I'm going now.

Author's Response: Yup, you were right ;) I liked how it worked out where the next chapter was Avrille so the reader was just as confused as she was, even though the reader of course knows that there is definitely something sinister going on. Phew! Almost done with your replies!

 Report Review

Review #11, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Eight - Severus

21st October 2008:
Hmm...I find it difficult to believe that it will be that easy...so I'm going to go on to the next chapter and make sure! Well done with this one!

Author's Response: Ah yes, seems too good to be true, huh? But you can't really blame Severus for giving into his more, ahem, basic urges. Avrille is a pretty hot ticket ;) I think he should get a medal for holding out as long as he did, poor guy... (and Avrille too, for that matter...I don't know if I could have managed to wait so long for Severus. Yeowza!)

 Report Review

Review #12, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Seven - Avrille

21st October 2008:
A very sweet ending. I loved the little interlude with Caligula, as well, it made me laugh. Excellently done.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! In case you couldn't tell, I have cats myself so I loosely based Caligula off of how I would imagine my kitty would be in a about five years as a grumpy middle-aged man. And to think I started out with Caligula being an owl! I'm glad I changed it since cats have so much more personality (though Hedwig was a lovely exception.)

 Report Review

Review #13, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Six - Severus

21st October 2008:
I'm not surprised that you wrote this chapter all at once. The most exciting chapters are the easiest to write, or at least that's the way it is for me. Anyway, it was wonderful and very exciting and I can't wait to read what happens next!

Author's Response: Yup, it's funny how sometimes the writing just flows out of you and you just have to do your best to have your fingers keep up with your thoughts. I was really just so proud of that chapter because I had no idea how I was going to write something so abstract. But I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Five - Avrille

21st October 2008:
Though I realize the chances of a happy ending are not good, I'm hoping you'll find a way to wrangle one. You've made me sympathize so powerfully for both Avrille and Severus that I want them to be happy. Marvelously done.

Author's Response: Oh don't worry. There's no way I could keep the real Deathly Hallows ending in regard to Severus. There's no way I could make them so happy to have him die by bleeding out on the floor of the Shrieking Shack. Ugh, that was so horrible!

 Report Review

Review #15, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Four - Severus

21st October 2008:
Love it love it love it...this is a wonderful story. More, please!
*runs off to read next chapter*

Author's Response: Yay! *runs after to keep replying.* "Wait up!"

 Report Review

Review #16, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Three - Avrille

21st October 2008:
Very good, though I'm puzzled about that bit with Fred and George...maybe an explanation is coming in the next chapter?

Author's Response: No direct explanation there...maybe you've figured it out by now? It was something sort of like a little puzzle I put in there to see if anyone could figure out their behavior since the reader knows more about the hijinks of the twins more than either Avrille of Severus. If you figure it out, it's pretty darn funny ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-Two - Severus

21st October 2008:
I love the story. It is very skillfully done. I look forward to seeing Avrille's reaction to some of the things Severus hasn't told her. Thank you for a wonderfully written and very enjoyable story!

Author's Response: Thank you again! I put a lot of time and effort into it, so I'm really glad it shows. Thank you for reading and leaving such lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #18, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty-One - Avrille

21st October 2008:
Yay the wait is over! Of course there's more to the story, this is only the beginning! I can't wait to read more. This really was beautifully written, well done.

Author's Response: Yay! I know! That's pretty much what I felt after I wrote it (at 4 AM XD) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #19, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Twenty - Severus

21st October 2008:
So the truth comes out! Yowza. A very powerful chapter, especially the ending. It sounds very real to me, which I approve of. I like it very much.

10/10 and honestly, 100% isn't all that much, is it? There are so many bigger numbers that I would be happy to give you, but I'm not allowed. Oh, well.

Author's Response: I know, that was a pretty cool chapter to write cause it was pretty much quite different in mood from all of the other ones. Too bad that I didn't get the story out there before HBP came out and changed all of Severus' background info, but I liked my version so I didn't bother rewriting it. Poor Severus...the things I did to him in the name of good fan fic writing...

 Report Review

Review #20, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Nineteen - Avrille

21st October 2008:
There's something very nice about coming to a story late...no waits necessary! And that makes me very happy, because I can't wait to read the next chapters! This was a lovely chapter, as per usual, but you're right, it was too short! Oh, well--I'll go take a look at the next one.

Author's Response: Yup, that's true. I actually didn't start posting the story until I *was* all done writing it, but it seriously ended up taking me about half a year to get the whole thing up on HPFF cause of the wait for the queue (never got darned TA status either...grr...maybe next time!) But at least now I have some connections on the inside so my edits seem to go through pretty quickly ;) Glad you liked it and super glad that you kept reading!

 Report Review

Review #21, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Eighteen - Severus

21st October 2008:
Absolutely beautiful. I love this story now. Can't wait to read more.

10/10 and very sad that I can't give you more

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you like it so much. Maybe I'll get a re-read out of you ;)

 Report Review

Review #22, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Seventeen - Avrille

21st October 2008:
Ooh, so close! I am quivering with suspense. Brilliantly and beautifully done. Let's go and see what Snape thinks about all this!

10/10

Author's Response: Ooh, I know! I always feel kind of bad about that chapter since I know readers are waiting for them to just kiss and get it over with :) It sure was fun to write, though. Thank you for the review! I'm going to try and get all of your replies done today finally!

 Report Review

Review #23, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Sixteen - Severus

21st October 2008:
I love the way you handle Lockhart's character. He adds just the right amount of comic relief to the story. Very much enjoying it right now.

Author's Response: As I've probably said 100 times, I LOVED writing Lockhart! I think that's actually why I chose to place the story in the CoS year (because besides that guess I really can't remember why!)

 Report Review

Review #24, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Fifteen - Avrille

21st October 2008:
I always like to read fanfics that tie new information into the familiar canon. This was done very well, and with a character who was obviously not in the original story. I applaud you. *applauds*

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm the same way where I like reading fics that take canon but then flesh it out with original scenes as well. Unfortunately I had to label the story AU because of what I did with Severus' past (having started writing that before HBP came out and RUINED IT ALL! Hahaha...) but besides that I tried to keep the story 100% canon. Thank you for the applause! *bows*

 Report Review

Review #25, by tyldari_archerThe Dream of One Night: Chapter Fourteen - Severus

20th October 2008:
"Fortunately Lockhart had been photographed separately, so I had been able to take the gruesome pleasure of slicing free his picture and burning out the eyes."

Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I couldn't stop laughing. A magnificent chapter that pulls me irresistably to the next.

Author's Response: Hahaha, yes, poor Severus has to get his small revenges where he can. I'm sure he would have liked to do that to Lockhart in real life, but I guess Lockhart isn't worth a spell (haha...pun) in Azkaban. Gosh I loved writing Lockhart...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>