Reading Reviews From Member: LilyEPotter
  
226 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyEPotterDoorsteps: Wide Green Eyes

11th June 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

This was a good chapter and I liked reading about how Vernon and Petunia found out that Harry had been left on their doorstep! It's amazing how much that Vernon and Petunia can't see the faults in their son while seeing every little fault of others. I also liked how you showed Dudley's future as a boxer and how you showed Petunia's actions towards Harry while Vernon wasn't there. You get the sense that Petunia really cared about Harry but couldn't really show it. Showing that Arabella Figg was already living in the area was unexpected but an interesting twist. It makes me wonder why she was there before Harry's arrival, was it to perhaps keep an eye on Petunia for Lily's peace of mind?

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyEPotterIdentity: Chapter Two

3rd June 2015:
Hi!

This was another great chapter! The trio went through so much planning in order to get the cup from the Dursleys' mantle. I thought that Uncle Vernon was going to catch Harry for a moment! Thank goodness they were all able to escape!

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyEPotterSomething Worth Fighting For: Chapter 4

3rd June 2015:
Hi!

This was another great chapter! I liked how you showed how nervous Ginny was leading up to her tryouts with the Harpies and how she nearly didn't even try out once she got there! It was a great ending because she didn't give up and her emotions showing her pride and happiness was fantastic!

Also, poor Ron and Hermione. I wonder how that situation worked itself out with the separation on such a clashing note.

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyEPotterFounding Hogwarts: The Fourth Pillar Breaks

3rd June 2015:
Hi!

Another great chapter! It was a little surprising to see the Founders fighting over who would take over the school after the Headmistress retired but that seems to have been instigated by Salazar since everything calmed down after he left. Did it really take seven years for the Founders to see the common rooms of the other 3 houses? Interesting that they nearly lost the location of the Slytherin house.

LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you for coming back.

After Salazar left I think Godric and Rowena realized fighting over the headmaster position wasn't worth it. In my mind Salazar tried to take it over to fulfill his work and Godric and Rowena thought "why should he get it and not me?" Thankfully Helga was able to hold it (relatively) together.

I would think over those seven years they keep thinking "we should see the other common rooms, later, we're too busy now" but they got there in the end. yes, thank Merlin Godric saw Salazar go there, that would be bad for future Slytherins.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this little story!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyEPotterInto Darkness: Into Darkness

2nd June 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the Red vs. Gold Review Battle.

First off - this was a well-written horror story! I can't wait to find out what happens to the poor unknown person that was caught. This story also shows that if something is too good to be true that it's better to ignore it and that if something really weird happens, then it might be better to have help instead of dealing with it yourself. I wonder if there was some way that the Ministry of Magic could have figured out the situation without getting caught like the poor person. On a happier note, it was easy to see how happy this person was in moving to a new apartment.

LEP:)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for the review! Unfortunely the character's demise will /never be discovered/. This was my entry for the Gryffindor Short Scary Story challenge, and I decided to go with the 'nothing is scarier than your own imagination' thing and leave it mysterious and open ended!

Thank you again for reviewing! I'd never done horror before and I'm glad that you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyEPotterA Building Love: Chapter 9

1st June 2015:
Hi!

Another great chapter!

Hermione is definitely showing her feelings for George when she's trying to read. Again George doesn't succeed in telling Hermione how he feels about her.

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEPotterA Building Love: Chapter *

1st June 2015:
Hi!

Another good chapter! There was only one typo that you might like to change - "A quick reply game from Kingsley..."

I just have to shake my head at George's interpretation of Hermione comforting Harry after having the nightmare and then dealing with Snape.

Poor Arthur about getting hurt but it's good that he's not having to stay at St. Mungo's for very long.

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyEPotterA Building Love: Chapter 7

1st June 2015:
Hi again!

Another great chapter!

I was surprised to find out that Hermione did talk with Harry and Ron about her feelings for George.

I did like how you pointed out why Hermione's Patronus was an otter. I never thought about the twins' Patronus possibly being a hyena!

Hopefully George and Hermione will get to talk over the Christmas break...

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyEPotterA Building Love: Chapter 6

1st June 2015:
Hi!

It isn't fair that Hermione doesn't feel like she can talk to anyone about her feelings. Though I could see why she might not want to talk with Harry and Ron about them. :)

So close again! Poor George has terrible timing as he's trying to tell Hermione his feelings!

Looking forward to the next chapter!
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyEPotterA Building Love: Chapter 5

1st June 2015:
Hi!

Another great chapter! I liked the banter between Fred and George as well as how you showed the nervousness of both George and Hermione.

Sigh. Umbridge. I'm surprised she actually let them go without giving them detention.

LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyEPotterThe Refugium : Up and Out the Door

31st May 2015:
Hi! Stopping by to review another chapter! :)

I'm curious to know how Lily got the black eye and why Sirius and Lily have to be hidden away inside of a painting... That's an interesting idea to have the entrance to the sanctuary constantly changing every 20 hours!

There were only two items that I saw... The first was "Lily being dug her head". The second was "Both children giving angshus looks".

I look forward to the next chapter!
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing.

As a fellow author you probably know how great it feels to get a review. I had put this story to the back of my mind a while back but now that you've brought it back up I really want to pick it back up and continue it.

And thank you for pointing out those items. I have and editor but one person can't catch everything so thank you.


 Report Review

Review #12, by LilyEPotterFinding Courage: Finding Courage

15th March 2014:
Hi! This was a good story about how Lupin found the courage to go back to Tonks and to be a father. I could see how Lupin would have gone somewhere else in order to think about what Harry had said and what James would have thought before returning. It would have been so easy for Lupin to just disappear especially with it being during the second wizarding war. I like how his thoughts turned to trying to see things from his child's eyes and that appears to be what really convinced him to go back. His realization that even if his child was a werewolf, his child wouldn't have to go through the transformations alone because he'd be there. This was a really good story.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review for Task 3
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyEPotterMerry Christmas and By the Way...: Merry Christmas and By the way...

15th March 2014:
What a sweet story! How like Hermione not to want to fail a test. :) Perhaps she should have let Ron know that she wanted to keep it a surprise? I really felt sorry for Ginny when no one had the time to talk with her or got called away if they were able to talk with her. I can feel her frustration at not getting any attention. I have to say that I am completely amazed that Ron could lose his daughter like that though I'm curious about the doll. It seemed to be more than a little creepy. I really liked Charlie's entrance and Hermione's announcement and I really, really liked how Ginny finally got everyone's attention when she made her announcement. :) Priceless. Then Ginny's reaction to Ron getting his baby a Christmas present while Harry didn't. Again, priceless.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 10 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: The only reason why I said Ron 'lost' their daughter was only because I needed a reason to get Hermione away form Ginny so I thought that would be funny to have Ron loose her.

 Report Review

Review #14, by LilyEPotterThe Diaries of Crookshanks the Cat: Getting a New Pet

15th March 2014:
This is a very interesting perspective! It's been awhile since I've read a story from the viewpoint of Crookshanks. It so easy to see why Crookshanks stayed at the shop for so long, especially if he felt betrayed by his previous pet. I could also understand his caution in not getting too close to anyone else that might turn out the same way. It seems like only the fact that Scabbers wasn't a real rat was the only reason that Crookshanks got involved. Then his debate while Hermione was paying for him was great and again, it seems like his outrage at the pretend rat was nearly too much for him to pass up. It also helped that Hermione also thought he was gorgeous. I'm really looking forward to reading more of this story. :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 9 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyEPotterThe life of Lily Evans: Going to Hogwarts

15th March 2014:
What a sweet beginning to your story! I like how you pointed out how Lily wanted to be different than how she was perceived by everyone else. I wonder why Petunia took Lily's green dress when she doesn't want to have anything to do with her? I think you have Petunia's interaction with Lily done very well where she's interested but trying not to be. Interesting to have the Potters having been their next door neighbors and I can just see the look of astonishment on Petunia's face when she learns who is interested in Lily. I wonder where Peter went off to. If it's their third year, the three aren't Animagi yet and so he wouldn't have started pulling away... Unless he started pulling away and perhaps that led to his having trouble becoming Animagi? I'm certainly interested in knowing what will happen next. :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 8 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyEPotterThe Last Artifact: The Last Artifact

14th March 2014:
Oh my goodness, this is such a sad story! I had to find a tissue just to keep reading! I wonder which Muggle artifact Arthur was messing with. I can see the confusion of the others as they're gathered, not knowing until they're on their way what happened. I'm very glad that Arthur and Molly were able to say good-bye and it's easy to see how difficult it was to explain to the younger children how Arthur wasn't going to be coming home. Molly's decision to save a chair for Arthur was so sweet. Victoire certainly wasn't handling the situation very well, which is why I suspect she made that scene the day of the funeral? How sweet that Harry, Ron and George found the present that Arthur had left for Molly and how incredibly sweet that she kept the duck with her.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 7 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: It's all about looks with Victoire as you can tell in the beginning of the story. So that's the only way she can feel better about herself is through looks, so since she does feel sad, she tries to make looks important in that situation even though she doesn't do it properly and you see Dominique point that out.

 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyEPotterCarry On: Chapter 1

14th March 2014:
Hi! Poor Hermione! I can't help but wonder what happened to the three of them if they had to leave Ron behind. It's also very interesting that Ron's hand is pointing to lost, which seems to indicate that he's alive? I presume that Bill, Charlie and George are still alive? What happened to Percy? I think you've got both Harry's and Hermione's reactions to Ron's supposed death and disappearance pretty good. I really like how the Arthur and Molly welcome Hermione to stay at the Burrow and that they're treating her as the daughter that she would have become. I also like how Ginny was able to get through to her just like she had been able to get through to Harry.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 6 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I appreciate your input! According to my story, half the Weasley children were killed in the battle. I feel like Hermione would be trying to keep her heart protected when it comes to Ron and his disappearance. Especially since she feels like she 'abandoned' him on the battlefield. The rest of the characters will be introduced in proceeding chapters.

 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyEPotterThe Refugium : A Sirius Situation

14th March 2014:
This is a very intriguing beginning to a story! I am very curious to know what will be happening next! It's clear that something very bad had happened to both Lily and Sirius, and while I can guess what did happen to Sirius, I am at a loss to figure out what happened to Lily. It makes sense that Hogwarts would have a program that would keep the wizarding children safe if there was no other place for them. Interesting that it hasn't been used since the Middle Ages, surely there were other times where it would have been used? Now it's very obvious that there were two events leading to Lily and Sirius being at Hogwarts so unexpectedly. I'm very curious about the picture with the table and empty chairs that Professor McGonagall doesn't seem to like. Would this have anything to do with where Albus wants to sned Lily and Sirius? I'm also very curious to know what had happened to the eight people that Professor McGonagall referred to in the picture.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 5 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: "Thanks for reviewing, this is really existing for me. :)

I'm glad you find it intriguing and curious cause that was my real goal, and in regards to what happened to Sirius as well as Lily remember not everything is as it seems. But then again my story has given you very little to work off of so you might be right on the mark.

I'm sorry I've taken so long to respond but if you are still reading I will be coming out with a knew chapter really soon.


 Report Review

Review #19, by LilyEPotterMy part to the story: The Announcement

14th March 2014:
This is a great look at Lily's home away from Hogwarts as well as her thoughts on her sister and her former friend. Very interesting that she doesn't like History of Magic, but then again, it seems that only Hermione was able to pay attention during class. :) I can also see her excitement at getting her Hogwarts letter and her fear that it had just been a dream. I think the interaction between Lily and Petunia was well done and that you portrayed Petunia's wish that she had also been a witch very well. I can completely understand Lily's fear of spiders and can sympathize with her and agree that her father certainly hadn't seen an Acromantula before. I can also see her disappointment that James had been appointed Head Boy though it seems like she's willing to give the idea a chance.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 4 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyEPotterI Know You: I Know You

14th March 2014:
This is a very interesting beginning to a story. It's different portraying Lily as someone who keeps secrets about herself even before the scene with Snape's betrayal. That she became even more secretive afterwards is certainly understandable. Given Snape's knowledge about her, is that the reason that those who would become Death Eaters pay her no attention? It's also interesting seeing how James knows exactly when she's in trouble and is there to help her even if she doesn't appreciate it. I can't help but wonder how Ezra manages to keep his position as Head Boy if he passes the duties to others. I really liked how James described just how much he knew about her and included even what no one else might have known about her parents and her sister. I can just see her standing there unable to comprehend how he knew that much.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 3 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LilyEPotterTrapped: Tables Turned

13th March 2014:
This was a very good look at what could have happened that fateful night. I can just see Voldemort's surprise when he sees Dumbledore waiting for him as well as his realization that not everyone was loyal to him, particularly Peter and Lucius. That was a surprise to see Lucius waiting at the Potter house. I'm very curious to know why Lucius was there. It was easy to see that Peter was scared at having led Voldemort into a trap but pleased to have his actions acknowledged by the Aurors. I'm also curious to know how the Longbottoms caught Bellatrix. Where there others with them? How did Bellatrix know where the Longbottoms were? Did their Secret Keeper betray them also? Or was it deliberate like it appears that Peter had done?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 2 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #22, by LilyEPotterThe Prisoner's Paramour: Homecoming Surprise

13th March 2014:
Oh my goodness! Talk about having a very interesting day. Poor Norah though it was probably very good that she didn't visit Remus and Tonks before going back to the Ministry. She would have been in a quandary then since she wouldn't have been able to claim not knowing where Sirius was. I found it really interesting how Norah's look caused Harry's scar to hurt. I wonder what's going on there. Then to deal with Fudge and his followers... How long had they waited in her cubicle? Very typical of Fudge in not wanting to pay attention to what's really important, instead focusing on what will make him look better. Great response of Norah's to Fudge. :) Great cliffhanger. Looking forward to finding out what happens next!

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 1 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the feedback! I appreciate it being more than just an "update soon" or "love this" haha.

 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyEPotterA Darker Dream: A Rescue

6th March 2014:
I definitely agree with Selene in that Vernon needs to be held accountable for his actions, not only for the latest, but for how he treated Harry since he went to live with them. I suspect the Weasleys know more than Harry realizes about what happens. Does Albus realize yet that Harry is missing? Oh no, it looks like Harry was closer to joining his parents than I thought if his mother had to convince him to return because it wasn't his time yet. That's a very interesting way to keep your eye-glasses as needed. Much better than having to wait for them. :) Does Selene already know she saved Harry Potter and is giving him the chance to tell who he is?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 2/15
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyEPotterA Darker Dream: Hopeless Nights

6th March 2014:
First I have to say ouch! I've never understood how Vernon can have such complete and utter disregard for Harry. I know that Harry represents what he doesn't believe, but still to have such disregard for another person. One question I have is this: where is the Order? Are they hidden and watching Harry during this summer or have they moved to other tasks? I'm surprised Harry was still able to Apparate after enduring his uncle's displeasure. I'm hoping that he didn't end up splinching himself also. Very interesting at how Harry was saved: by a person that others considered very dangerous. Then for her to immediately act in a caring manner makes me all that more curious about her. I'm curious if Vernon will feel the repercussions of his actions in this chapter and whether that will be because the protection wards are likely broken?

 Report Review

Review #25, by LilyEPotterChristmas Comes Too Late: Christmas Comes Too Late

6th March 2014:
How very sad! This story is a very good reminder why we shouldn't wait to repair relationships because if we put it off, the other might not be there. I could see the bleakness that Aberforth had concerning his sister's death and it's easy to see how he kept that anger against Albus for all these years. That he could be upset when he saw Albus visiting their sister instead of being glad that his brother was showing remorse is sad because he's held onto that emotion for far too long. It's very poignant when he finally promises his sister that he'll forgive Albus only to fail because of the war. I wonder how close Aberforth had managed to convince himself to forgive his brother? Or was he just going to wait until the next Christmas? It's also very sad that by this time Albus already knew that he wouldn't be there for the following Christmas.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 7/7
LEP:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Indeed, Aberforth is such a sad character. I feel like all of the Dumbledores' lives were just haunted by constant pain and regret, and I wanted to reflect that in some way.

I didn't feel like Aberforth would be able to do a complete 180 in regards to his feelings towards his brother; after all, forgiveness is one of the hardest things in the world. But you're right--we never know when we'll be given another chance to repair broken relationships, and we need to do so as soon as possible.

Thank you for your kind words! They mean so much to me.

--TheSortingHat


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>