Reading Reviews From Member: LilyEPotter
  
219 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyEPotterFinding Courage: Finding Courage

15th March 2014:
Hi! This was a good story about how Lupin found the courage to go back to Tonks and to be a father. I could see how Lupin would have gone somewhere else in order to think about what Harry had said and what James would have thought before returning. It would have been so easy for Lupin to just disappear especially with it being during the second wizarding war. I like how his thoughts turned to trying to see things from his child's eyes and that appears to be what really convinced him to go back. His realization that even if his child was a werewolf, his child wouldn't have to go through the transformations alone because he'd be there. This was a really good story.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review for Task 3
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyEPotterMerry Christmas and By the Way...: Merry Christmas and By the way...

15th March 2014:
What a sweet story! How like Hermione not to want to fail a test. :) Perhaps she should have let Ron know that she wanted to keep it a surprise? I really felt sorry for Ginny when no one had the time to talk with her or got called away if they were able to talk with her. I can feel her frustration at not getting any attention. I have to say that I am completely amazed that Ron could lose his daughter like that though I'm curious about the doll. It seemed to be more than a little creepy. I really liked Charlie's entrance and Hermione's announcement and I really, really liked how Ginny finally got everyone's attention when she made her announcement. :) Priceless. Then Ginny's reaction to Ron getting his baby a Christmas present while Harry didn't. Again, priceless.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 10 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: The only reason why I said Ron 'lost' their daughter was only because I needed a reason to get Hermione away form Ginny so I thought that would be funny to have Ron loose her.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyEPotterThe Diaries of Crookshanks the Cat: Getting a New Pet

15th March 2014:
This is a very interesting perspective! It's been awhile since I've read a story from the viewpoint of Crookshanks. It so easy to see why Crookshanks stayed at the shop for so long, especially if he felt betrayed by his previous pet. I could also understand his caution in not getting too close to anyone else that might turn out the same way. It seems like only the fact that Scabbers wasn't a real rat was the only reason that Crookshanks got involved. Then his debate while Hermione was paying for him was great and again, it seems like his outrage at the pretend rat was nearly too much for him to pass up. It also helped that Hermione also thought he was gorgeous. I'm really looking forward to reading more of this story. :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 9 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyEPotterThe life of Lily Evans: Going to Hogwarts

15th March 2014:
What a sweet beginning to your story! I like how you pointed out how Lily wanted to be different than how she was perceived by everyone else. I wonder why Petunia took Lily's green dress when she doesn't want to have anything to do with her? I think you have Petunia's interaction with Lily done very well where she's interested but trying not to be. Interesting to have the Potters having been their next door neighbors and I can just see the look of astonishment on Petunia's face when she learns who is interested in Lily. I wonder where Peter went off to. If it's their third year, the three aren't Animagi yet and so he wouldn't have started pulling away... Unless he started pulling away and perhaps that led to his having trouble becoming Animagi? I'm certainly interested in knowing what will happen next. :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 8 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #5, by LilyEPotterThe Last Artifact: The Last Artifact

14th March 2014:
Oh my goodness, this is such a sad story! I had to find a tissue just to keep reading! I wonder which Muggle artifact Arthur was messing with. I can see the confusion of the others as they're gathered, not knowing until they're on their way what happened. I'm very glad that Arthur and Molly were able to say good-bye and it's easy to see how difficult it was to explain to the younger children how Arthur wasn't going to be coming home. Molly's decision to save a chair for Arthur was so sweet. Victoire certainly wasn't handling the situation very well, which is why I suspect she made that scene the day of the funeral? How sweet that Harry, Ron and George found the present that Arthur had left for Molly and how incredibly sweet that she kept the duck with her.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 7 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: It's all about looks with Victoire as you can tell in the beginning of the story. So that's the only way she can feel better about herself is through looks, so since she does feel sad, she tries to make looks important in that situation even though she doesn't do it properly and you see Dominique point that out.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LilyEPotterCarry On: Chapter 1

14th March 2014:
Hi! Poor Hermione! I can't help but wonder what happened to the three of them if they had to leave Ron behind. It's also very interesting that Ron's hand is pointing to lost, which seems to indicate that he's alive? I presume that Bill, Charlie and George are still alive? What happened to Percy? I think you've got both Harry's and Hermione's reactions to Ron's supposed death and disappearance pretty good. I really like how the Arthur and Molly welcome Hermione to stay at the Burrow and that they're treating her as the daughter that she would have become. I also like how Ginny was able to get through to her just like she had been able to get through to Harry.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 6 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I appreciate your input! According to my story, half the Weasley children were killed in the battle. I feel like Hermione would be trying to keep her heart protected when it comes to Ron and his disappearance. Especially since she feels like she 'abandoned' him on the battlefield. The rest of the characters will be introduced in proceeding chapters.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEPotterThe Refugium : A Sirius Situation

14th March 2014:
This is a very intriguing beginning to a story! I am very curious to know what will be happening next! It's clear that something very bad had happened to both Lily and Sirius, and while I can guess what did happen to Sirius, I am at a loss to figure out what happened to Lily. It makes sense that Hogwarts would have a program that would keep the wizarding children safe if there was no other place for them. Interesting that it hasn't been used since the Middle Ages, surely there were other times where it would have been used? Now it's very obvious that there were two events leading to Lily and Sirius being at Hogwarts so unexpectedly. I'm very curious about the picture with the table and empty chairs that Professor McGonagall doesn't seem to like. Would this have anything to do with where Albus wants to sned Lily and Sirius? I'm also very curious to know what had happened to the eight people that Professor McGonagall referred to in the picture.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 5 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: "Thanks for reviewing, this is really existing for me. :)

I'm glad you find it intriguing and curious cause that was my real goal, and in regards to what happened to Sirius as well as Lily remember not everything is as it seems. But then again my story has given you very little to work off of so you might be right on the mark.

I'm sorry I've taken so long to respond but if you are still reading I will be coming out with a knew chapter really soon.


 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyEPotterMy part to the story: The Announcement

14th March 2014:
This is a great look at Lily's home away from Hogwarts as well as her thoughts on her sister and her former friend. Very interesting that she doesn't like History of Magic, but then again, it seems that only Hermione was able to pay attention during class. :) I can also see her excitement at getting her Hogwarts letter and her fear that it had just been a dream. I think the interaction between Lily and Petunia was well done and that you portrayed Petunia's wish that she had also been a witch very well. I can completely understand Lily's fear of spiders and can sympathize with her and agree that her father certainly hadn't seen an Acromantula before. I can also see her disappointment that James had been appointed Head Boy though it seems like she's willing to give the idea a chance.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 4 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #9, by LilyEPotterI Know You: I Know You

14th March 2014:
This is a very interesting beginning to a story. It's different portraying Lily as someone who keeps secrets about herself even before the scene with Snape's betrayal. That she became even more secretive afterwards is certainly understandable. Given Snape's knowledge about her, is that the reason that those who would become Death Eaters pay her no attention? It's also interesting seeing how James knows exactly when she's in trouble and is there to help her even if she doesn't appreciate it. I can't help but wonder how Ezra manages to keep his position as Head Boy if he passes the duties to others. I really liked how James described just how much he knew about her and included even what no one else might have known about her parents and her sister. I can just see her standing there unable to comprehend how he knew that much.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 3 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyEPotterTrapped: Tables Turned

13th March 2014:
This was a very good look at what could have happened that fateful night. I can just see Voldemort's surprise when he sees Dumbledore waiting for him as well as his realization that not everyone was loyal to him, particularly Peter and Lucius. That was a surprise to see Lucius waiting at the Potter house. I'm very curious to know why Lucius was there. It was easy to see that Peter was scared at having led Voldemort into a trap but pleased to have his actions acknowledged by the Aurors. I'm also curious to know how the Longbottoms caught Bellatrix. Where there others with them? How did Bellatrix know where the Longbottoms were? Did their Secret Keeper betray them also? Or was it deliberate like it appears that Peter had done?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 2 of 10
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyEPotterThe Prisoner's Paramour: Homecoming Surprise

13th March 2014:
Oh my goodness! Talk about having a very interesting day. Poor Norah though it was probably very good that she didn't visit Remus and Tonks before going back to the Ministry. She would have been in a quandary then since she wouldn't have been able to claim not knowing where Sirius was. I found it really interesting how Norah's look caused Harry's scar to hurt. I wonder what's going on there. Then to deal with Fudge and his followers... How long had they waited in her cubicle? Very typical of Fudge in not wanting to pay attention to what's really important, instead focusing on what will make him look better. Great response of Norah's to Fudge. :) Great cliffhanger. Looking forward to finding out what happens next!

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 1 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the feedback! I appreciate it being more than just an "update soon" or "love this" haha.

 Report Review

Review #12, by LilyEPotterA Darker Dream: A Rescue

6th March 2014:
I definitely agree with Selene in that Vernon needs to be held accountable for his actions, not only for the latest, but for how he treated Harry since he went to live with them. I suspect the Weasleys know more than Harry realizes about what happens. Does Albus realize yet that Harry is missing? Oh no, it looks like Harry was closer to joining his parents than I thought if his mother had to convince him to return because it wasn't his time yet. That's a very interesting way to keep your eye-glasses as needed. Much better than having to wait for them. :) Does Selene already know she saved Harry Potter and is giving him the chance to tell who he is?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 2/15
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyEPotterA Darker Dream: Hopeless Nights

6th March 2014:
First I have to say ouch! I've never understood how Vernon can have such complete and utter disregard for Harry. I know that Harry represents what he doesn't believe, but still to have such disregard for another person. One question I have is this: where is the Order? Are they hidden and watching Harry during this summer or have they moved to other tasks? I'm surprised Harry was still able to Apparate after enduring his uncle's displeasure. I'm hoping that he didn't end up splinching himself also. Very interesting at how Harry was saved: by a person that others considered very dangerous. Then for her to immediately act in a caring manner makes me all that more curious about her. I'm curious if Vernon will feel the repercussions of his actions in this chapter and whether that will be because the protection wards are likely broken?

 Report Review

Review #14, by LilyEPotterChristmas Comes Too Late: Christmas Comes Too Late

6th March 2014:
How very sad! This story is a very good reminder why we shouldn't wait to repair relationships because if we put it off, the other might not be there. I could see the bleakness that Aberforth had concerning his sister's death and it's easy to see how he kept that anger against Albus for all these years. That he could be upset when he saw Albus visiting their sister instead of being glad that his brother was showing remorse is sad because he's held onto that emotion for far too long. It's very poignant when he finally promises his sister that he'll forgive Albus only to fail because of the war. I wonder how close Aberforth had managed to convince himself to forgive his brother? Or was he just going to wait until the next Christmas? It's also very sad that by this time Albus already knew that he wouldn't be there for the following Christmas.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 7/7
LEP:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! Indeed, Aberforth is such a sad character. I feel like all of the Dumbledores' lives were just haunted by constant pain and regret, and I wanted to reflect that in some way.

I didn't feel like Aberforth would be able to do a complete 180 in regards to his feelings towards his brother; after all, forgiveness is one of the hardest things in the world. But you're right--we never know when we'll be given another chance to repair broken relationships, and we need to do so as soon as possible.

Thank you for your kind words! They mean so much to me.

--TheSortingHat


 Report Review

Review #15, by LilyEPotterFalling Down: Falling Down

6th March 2014:
You did a good job capturing Tom's viewpoint. You show the disconnect that he feels for others so that it can be easily seen. It's a wonder that no one else picked up on this flaw and only paid attention to his appearance. It's a very good thing that Albus was able to see who Tom really was, but perhaps that was helped by having been the one to tell Tom about his heritage and seeing the true Tom when the mask slipped just a little bit. Has Tom already begun to change his appearance? Was this why he stayed in the shadows? There must have already been rumors as the Ministry representatives were curious to see him, but how could they miss his lies? Incredible. What's even more incredible is the guilt he begins to feel when Tom looks through the letters they had written to each other.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 6/7
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyEPotterLand of the Lost Souls: Land of the Lost Souls

6th March 2014:
How very sad and very interesting at the beginning when Albus' classmate stopped by to pass on the message. Why only the apology and not telling everyone that he loved them? As it was, it only seemed to confirm that Albus' classmate had a special ability. Perhaps the apology could let them know it was really Albus and then continue with a message? It must have been really strange for Albus to meet all of his family that had continued on. Perhaps Severus was elsewhere? Their reactions, particularly Sirius' reactions, were priceless. I wonder if Lily Luna still shudders at the memory of Teddy's joke. I could see that being completely terrifying like the twins' joke to Ron with the teddy bear becoming a spider.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 5/7
LEP:)

Author's Response: I thought I'd play on the fact that the Trelawneys were always a bit... how to put it nicely... odd.

The thing about not having Snape in the piece was because even though he did do all that to save Harry, I think he still had enough pride not to go asking Lily for forgiveness and decided to just stay out of the way, regardless of what Dumbledore had told them. Plus, I really think the moon would have to fall from the sky before Sirius and Snape would remain in the same room together for more than a minute, voluntarily.


 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyEPotterDeath and the Maiden: Untitled

6th March 2014:
How incredibly sad! Such a different look at Narcissa's family. I had briefly wondered why Andromeda was there until I realized that this was taking place before the first wizarding war had really started and most likely before Andromeda had married Ted Tonks. Another thought that I had while reading through the first time was that Narcissa's mother and sisters were waiting for her to join them, somewhat like the Resurrection Stone's effect. That Lucius had met his end was also very sad and made Narcissa's last moments very poignant indeed as it was Lucius who came for her. Is it that Narcissa's mother and Andromeda are the only ones to express their grief? There was no mention of Bella's reaction. Could Bella have already left behind her feelings as she followed Voldemort?

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 4/7
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyEPotterNeeds Must: Needs Must

6th March 2014:
I'm curious to know what Lucius' plans are and while I can understand why he wouldn't take Narcissa with him, why would he take Draco? Are they going on a mission for Voldemort or has Lucius made plans to change sides and that's the reason he won't tell Narcissa? If something were to happen to Lucius, would Narcissa be able to leave her protected place? Can she leave even now but doesn't because Lucius wants her to be safe? I'm really hoping that people will believe that Narcissa has gone to the summer house because if Lucius is planning on helping defeat Voldemort, then she won't be safe. It's sad that she didn't even get to see Lucius and Draco leave the property, which leads me to think that Voldemort wouldn't approve of this mission since they left quietly and unseen.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 3/7
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #19, by LilyEPotterRiddle Me This: Riddle Me This

6th March 2014:
This was an interesting look into the early life of Tom Riddle, however I did have a little bit of trouble following when the story was from Tom's point of view or Valerie's point of view. After what Tom had done at the orphanage, it would make sense that the children who had been there would have been apprehensive about him and knew exactly when he would be back, if only to stay out of his way. It's too sad that no one had warned Valerie about him before he had returned or warned her to be cautious of him. On the other hand, it didn't seem like Tom was being as careful as he had been previously concerning his homework. If he didn't want questions about his homework or his other plans, then why bring out the parchment, quill and ink? Especially when Valerie has shown to be curious. How sad that his loss of control with magic cost Valerie her life. Though this gives a good reason as to why he remained alone as well as why he was willing to allow Lily to live as Snape had requested. I'm curious if he ever got an owl about having used magic during the summer and how he explained what happened to the authorities.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle
Review 2/7
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
I've had a couple of people complain about the difficulty of transitioning between characters on another story that I'm writing, and I am working on improving this.
He wasn't being as careful because he was starting to get feelings for Valerie, but he didn't realise-doing his work etc. with her in the room just felt natural to him after a while because of his feelings!


 Report Review

Review #20, by LilyEPotterSolitude, My Pain (The Last Thing Left Of Me): Untitled

6th March 2014:
First of all, I have to say wow! I think you managed to capture a side of Narcissa that very few people ever got to see in the books as she would present a facade to the world. Her loneliness was very profound. I could see Lucius realizing that family was more important than being a Death Eater which makes me wonder if that is the reason that Bella doesn't respond to Narcissa when she visits them in Azkaban. Because Bella knows that they're no longer fully committed to Voldemort. How heart-breaking when Narcissa realized that Lucius was really there instead of it being a figment of a Boggart again. It's not difficult to see her grief or to understand why a Boggart can no longer scare her as the worst she ever could think of has already happened.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 1/7
LEP:)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LilyEPotterFounding Hogwarts: The Four Most Powerful Witches and Wizards

2nd March 2014:
Hi!

This is a very nice beginning to the start of Hogwarts and the challenges they would have faced in creating the school. I like how you were brought the four of them together as teenagers though I'm wondering if Helga's parents knew that they had moved to a wizarding village or not. The jump to when they were slightly older and turning their attention to their special artifacts was good. I'd be curious to know what special properties the locket has outside of it becoming a Horcrux since we know how the other artifacts are special. It almost seems like the idea to create the school just happened but sometimes those are the best ideas! Of course, once they were nearly ready and could focus on which students they would accept there would be a little division, but I like how they put it to the side and considered what traits would stand for Hufflepuff as she was the only one to have no stipulations.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
LEP:)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! We're glad you enjoyed reading it. :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by LilyEPotterThe Sea Serpent of Cromer : Beginning

1st March 2014:
Hi!

A very interesting beginning to the story. A dreaded sea serpent. I like how the Aged Stranger can admire the sea serpent after he saved the Muggles and how he wonders if the village has spoken with it. I just have to shake my head at how the village hadn't tried that option and hired someone to take care of it for them. *sigh* It does tend to be the usual response, unfortunately. Not only do I not like Peakes because of his attitude towards the sea serpent, his history is reprehensible and the ring reminds me of the ring that held the Resurrection Stone. Is Peakes a Gryffindor? If not, then how does he expect to find the sword? If he is, what noble deed will he do to be able to use the sword? Isn't that just like the Ministry to send a note about having used magic in the presence of Muggles even though he could use it because lives were in danger. *sigh*

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 10 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you found it interesting! I'm glad you liked his perspective on the serpent, and how he's worried about its welfare. You may have noticed that he doesn't like people that much and is quite sympathetic towards the creature!

Yes, it is quite frustrating at how the village was dealing with the problem! One would hope that if the story were in the present tense they would be a little more attentive in dealing with it.

Peakes is portrayed just horribly here. And hmm, interesting observation about the ring... :) He is a Gryffindor, though not the noblest one really.

It is just like the Ministry! :P Haha, the Ministry is really useless in this story, just as they were in Harry's time.

Thanks so much for the thoughtful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyEPotterAngel: Angel

1st March 2014:
Hi!

This is a very sad and poignant story. I had to find more tissues. I could feel Tonks' confusion as to what was going on. Her not understanding why Teddy was calling Ginny 'mother' and Harry 'father'. Harry having to tell the story that hurts him so much again in what seems to be a nightly request, this time with Tonks listening and figuring out what had happened to Remus and her. I started to cry again when Tonks realized that Teddy did know them when he pulled the picture frame out to look at them and continued to cry when Teddy seemed to reply to her right before she left with Remus. Very, very sad ending but done very well.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 9 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Hello!

Aww, I cried while writing it, especially the end. Tonks was just so confused and so upset and then she realized and it was both better and worse - she knew Teddy was being looked after, but she wasn't there like she wanted it be.

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyEPotterForget the World: Lie With Me

1st March 2014:
Hi!

What an incredibly sweet story! I can just see Hermione frantically trying to reschedule everything for her wedding without success and probably driving everyone else crazy as she did so. That Ron was able to get Hermione to slow down and relax for even a little while was great especially as Hermione wasn't too thrilled with getting her clothes dirty. Then to find out that Ron had managed to plan the entire wedding was more than sweet and you can almost hear his surprise at her surprise. The ending was wonderful having the two of them spending time together and not worrying about what will happen, something that Hermione should have been doing in the first place. :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 8 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: Hello!

I could definitely see Hermione being like this while preparing for her wedding; as soon as I heard the song, I knew it would be like this and Ron would be the hero and I had to write it for the challenge.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by LilyEPotterDying: Dying: A One Shot

1st March 2014:
Hi!

Another heart-breaking story. Again I had to go find some tissues. It's also so sad to think that Fred was still there trying to interact with his family until the very end and not understanding why they weren't able to hear him. To wake up in the white light had to be scary especially when the sound ricocheted like that. I didn't understand the transition back to being surrounded by his family, but it was another very touching moment where he was able to say good-bye to everyone and finally managed to speak to George. To have the choice of becoming a ghost and being able to see his family or continuing on, I suppose he chose to continue onwards as everything went black at the end.

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Bingo
Review 7 of 10
LEP:)

Author's Response: I like the sadness, what can I say? ;)

I wanted a limbo type feel (that, and that's what the challenge at the time wanted). It was terrifying! I don't often dream of my stories, but I dreamed of this one. If you want your character to go through something intense, expect to dream about it! It's awful!

Sorry it was confusing! :(

I never imagined him wanting to be a ghost. Maybe a poltergeist, but not a ghost haha :).

Thanks for stopping by and choosing this one to read! One-shot loves! Yay! :3

~Mae


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>