Reading Reviews From Member: nana_banana_xx3
  
597 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nana_banana_xx3The Letter: Hogsmeade

23rd June 2012:
Hey there! I just wanted to pop in really quickly to give you some encouragement. :) I've enjoyed the chapters you've posted so far. Liza seems like a sincere and determined girl, and it will be interesting to see how she responds to different situations as this story progresses.

I really loved your idea of delving into the back story of some of your characters and getting into the knitty gritty. You have such a large cast in this story, which is great, but I definitely think that fleshing them out and developing even stronger personalities and relationships for them is an excellent plan. Even the little glimpse we got into Remus's past in this chapter was great -- poor guy, what a tough life! The sorting scene in an earlier chapter was also really wonderful, I thought. I loved the interaction between the hat and Liza.

Several different times, you've expressed concern about things like characterization, how your story line relates to canon, etc. Have you considered looking for a beta reader on the forums? There are loads of experienced readers who I'm certain would be more than happy to help you out and work through any issues they spot. I've used them several times myself, and they've always been super helpful. Having a beta would strengthen your already strong points, like your grammar and the mysterious quality of your plot, while also working to improve your weak points, such as characterization in some spots and narrowing down your focus overall. You have every reason to be confident in this story, so no doubting yourself! :) This is your baby, after all!

I look forward to seeing where you decide to take this! Wishing you good things and an excess of creative energy! xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm really glad you are enjoying it and I'm also really glad you've given me some things to work on. The main reason I started actually posting things I write is for constructive criticsm. I definitely agree that I need more focus. I have all of these ideas that I try to turn into one big thing. The whole bit with the Lucy, Lily, and Liza pranking back the marauders should really be a different plot line and I have a bunch of random things thrown in that don't move the story froward at all. Plus I have so many characters that I can't spend the right amount of time on them so that they have depth. I want to finish the story and then I want to edit the whole thing and take out these bits. I might do something with them but maybe not. Hopefully I will do better at that in the future though. Again thank you so much for reviewing, it means a lot to me and I will try to keep what you said in mind as I keep writing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by nana_banana_xx3The Sidekick: The Sidekick

27th July 2011:
This is such a precious story! I loved reading Hermione's perspective and thoughts on her relationship with Ron. I really liked how you connected Hermione's love of the sidekicks in the stories she read growing up to her love for Ron. That boy doesn't get nearly enough credit. :) I also enjoyed this piece because it didn't seem rushed. You never got impatient with the story you were telling, and that made for a very nice read! Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: Cheyne Walk

10th September 2010:
Seriously, I doubt you could make Amelia and Ben any more adorable than they already are. :) But I wouldn't be opposed to you trying, haha. And it's just so nice that Severus has a friend in Amelia. He needs friends, ha. I loved this chapter!

Author's Response: Ah, I'm never going to find a man because everyone will be compared to Ben in my head. Hahaa Thanks!

And I love Severus. I really, really do. I want to give him a hug... he is so under-appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #4, by nana_banana_xx3Love in Four Acts: Love in Four Acts

1st September 2010:
this is beautiful. :) i love its simplicity. and the way you write james. he was lovely. :) thank you so much for sharing your work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by nana_banana_xx3Playing By the Rules: I Love Lily Too!

10th August 2010:
i absolutely love what i've read of this story so far! your writing is wonderful. everything flows together so nicely, and your characterization is really awesome. i can't wait to read more when i have a moment! great work! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much; this is high praise!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nana_banana_xx3Pieces of Rose: Alick

30th July 2010:
I like this a lot so far! Your writing is really lovely. :) I can't wait to see where you take this. :)

Author's Response: I'm not really sure where I'll take it yet, but I'm working on it vair vair mucho. Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: Return to Rumors

25th July 2010:
BEN. :) I love him, as usual, haha. You really ought to start, like, mass-producing Bens for us readers. I want one. ;) And Harry finally said it! But, of course, Amelia denies that Snape could ever fancy her. Well, I can't wait for another chapter. :) I loved this one!

Author's Response: Isn't Ben great? Haha... a little too perfect, yeah, but I just can't help myself.

No worries though, not going that direction with Snape. It's just so odd for him to even have a friendship, that people are surprised!


 Report Review

Review #8, by nana_banana_xx3Rabbit Heart: Prologue

23rd July 2010:
I like this very much so far. :) It was definitely more than "decent," haha! I love the way that you write, and I'm really looking forward to reading more of this in the future. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you thought so :) The next chapter is in progress, but hopefully it will be finished by the time the queue opens up again. Thanks again for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by nana_banana_xx3Poison & Wine: Into Your Arms

19th July 2010:
I'm enjoying this story more and more. :) You've done a great job showing us the relationship between Summer, Amy, and Ginny. They're terribly amusing! And it's SO obvious that Ginny's over Harry. ;) Yeah, right! I'm looking forward to the next chapter and more information about Charlie and his condition. Poor guy. :( Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's good to know that Ginny, who is supposed to be super popular in the books, has other friends besides the Trio, ya know? Haha well thanks for the feedback!

 Report Review

Review #10, by nana_banana_xx3Poison & Wine: Poison and Wine

19th July 2010:
No joke, I'm singing right now. "Your hands can heal, your hands can bruise..." Haha, okay, so, I'm going to be straight up and tell you that the main reason I started reading this was because The Civil Wars are like, one of my all-time favorite groups. Joy Williams and John Paul White are so talented, and I just love the song after which this story is titled. But moving on...

I'm really glad that your title/song choice drew me in, because I'm loving this story so far. Poor Ginny seems to have quite the internal conflict going on already, so I'm really excited to see where you take that. And this Mark character... Hmm, I'm not sure how I feel about him, yet. But, nonetheless, I can't wait to see where you take this story!

Author's Response: Thanks! And I'm SO glad I've bet another Civil Wars fan! I've seen them in concert twice and they're so amazing! cyber high five for awesome music and story tastes!!! *high five*

 Report Review

Review #11, by nana_banana_xx3Tracker: Midnight

18th July 2010:
This story is really excellent so far. :) I just all around like your characterization, and I'm very interested to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Very, very much appreciated. ^_^ I hope I keep writing to your liking! Cheers-
Hallows


 Report Review

Review #12, by nana_banana_xx3Freedom Is Never Free: A Nasty Spot

18th July 2010:
I'm really enjoying this story so far! :) Your characterization seems really awesome. The ending with the pail of water was an awesome addition, I think. I can't wait to read more, soon! :)

Author's Response: Wonderful! I'm just about done with Chapter 3! So, you will see if the pail of water was a good choice or not.

Thanks for your kind words!

:)


 Report Review

Review #13, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: Good Morning

9th July 2010:
hallelujah! i thought it would never happen. ;) you wrote this chapter very well. it was wonderfully light and super cute. :) i loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you :) More cuteness to come!

 Report Review

Review #14, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: The Hospital Wing

30th June 2010:
okay, seriously, right now i just want to squish all of your characters. :) they're just so loveable in this chapter - even severus! haha, i'm glad he and amelia had the chance to talk. and ben is still being adorable, of course. :) another wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Aw thanks!! Ben seriously is so freaking cute. I suppose I'm writing him with ridiculous amounts of idealism, but oh well!

And Severus... I never liked him in the books, but I've since grown to love him, so I'm making him into how I see him being on the inside... past all the sneers and black robes!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #15, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: Something Wicked This Way Comes

21st June 2010:
D:

poor amelia! you did a really great job with this chapter, in my opinion. the dialogue between lucius and amelia was very convincing and incredibly true to his character (ugh). i'm so eager for the next chapter, now! oh, i just feel so awful for her! but i'm proud of her at the same time, so... lovely job. :) i'm looking forward to chapter 20!

Author's Response: Thank you! I love Lucius' lines... he's such an arrogant jerk!

Thanks :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: Double, Double, Toil and Trouble

17th June 2010:
i loved how shocked the students are to see the professors dancing, haha. i feel like it was sort of one of those, "teachers are people, too (?!)" moments... like when you see your teacher at the grocery store, or something, haha. :) but my goodness, ben has had to be mighty patient with amelia! right now i'm wishing they'd just get together already! and i loved her little conversation with severus. it was very well done. :) this was another awesome chapter... i'm excited for whatever big thing is coming next!

Author's Response: Yesss - I love that 'Wait, my teacher is a human being?' moments. I'm a high school teacher... so I'm quite familiar.

I really tried to make good banter with Severus and don't worry... very soon for Ben and Amelia!

And be excited - it's big!


 Report Review

Review #17, by nana_banana_xx3The Baby Project: Bon Chance for a Malfoy

16th June 2010:
that has got to be the single most awkward family reunion i have ever read in my entire life. it was so funny! gosh, i love your characterization. and the addition of antonio, haha! so great! but oh goodness, draco! :( i'm really looking forward to the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nana_banana_xx3The Red Thorns: Chapter Six

16th June 2010:
you write such lovely, long chapters. :) but i like the way you write both scorpius and rose. i'm interested to see where you take this. can't wait for the next installment! :)

Author's Response: thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by nana_banana_xx3Flawed: Bad Luck

4th June 2010:
oh, gosh. dom's gotten herself into quite the pickle, hasn't she? man... this was a really nice start to the story, though! did she really just leave the letter lying around? oh man, oh man, oh man. anyway, i'm excited to see how things will unfold and come together in the end. :) nice work!

Author's Response: Yes, she has. She has a hidden talent for it as everyone will soon discover. And yes, she did leave that letter out [she's such a trusting person ;)]. I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by nana_banana_xx3I and Love and You: ocean blue; as luminous as a star

3rd June 2010:
okay, first of all. avett brothers = absolute win. i love them so stinking much, and i practically jumped out of my skin with excitement when i saw the title of this story. yeah, moving on, though. secondly, i love your percy. people just don't give percy enough credit, imo. he was an absolute idiot, sure. but really, he's a pretty good guy. you did an awesome job showing the many sides that he has. :) and (third, i guess, ha) really, just an overall great job. i liked this a lot. :)

Author's Response: thanks so much for this lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by nana_banana_xx3Absinthe: I.

2nd June 2010:
i loved the bittersweet moment between ron and hermione. :) i can tell that this story is going to send me on an emotional rollercoaster, but it's very good so far. very well written and original. :) i can't wait to read more soon!

 Report Review

Review #22, by nana_banana_xx3Teaching Magic: The Talk

2nd June 2010:
holy cow, shig?! haha, that's hilarious! i just love mcgonagall. :) this is a really interesting idea for a chapter. amelia did an awesome job with her chat. and i'm still absolutely loving the whole amelia/ben thing. i can't wait to see how that plays out. ;) great chapter!

Author's Response: Haha thanks! McGonagall is one of my favorite HP characters of all time... I love her humor and I want to show it a little more.

Thanks for the r/r!


 Report Review

Review #23, by nana_banana_xx3Save the Date: Chapter Three: Please Try To Remain Calm

2nd June 2010:
i'm loving this so far! your characterization is really fantastic. i can't wait to read more. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by nana_banana_xx3Never Go Back: And these are the days of the year

2nd June 2010:
i'm actually really impressed by this story. :) it seems like you've put a lot of thought into your characters and your plot, which is incredibly refreshing. your writing style is also really lovely. i can't wait to see where you take this! i'm looking forward to reading more soon. :)

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. It's reviews like this that keeps me going!

 Report Review

Review #25, by nana_banana_xx3Absinthe: Prologue

30th May 2010:
Oh my gosh, that ending! So creepy! I'm really looking forward to see where you take this. :) Your writing is really lovely, and I can't wait to read the next installment. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>