Reading Reviews From Member: Flourish and Blotts
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Flourish and BlottsMidnight Over Broadway: Bohemian Rescue

13th October 2012:
This is brilliant! I've followed all your Rose stories (so sorry about the shamefully small number of reviews!) and I have to say, I really like seeing the Rose-as-a-mum bounty hunter. It makes her seem older - or really, as old as you can ever get while you wear pink unicorn t-shirts.

Can't wait to see what Ambrosia's up to. Also, love the inclusion of Mimi. New York is a cat of a different colour for Rose and it's lovely to see her take on the Big Apple.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Never fear about few reviews. I'm terrible about that myself, so I never get mad at anyone for not reviewing every chapter :) I love every review I get.

New York is definitely a different environment for Rose. She's a bit out of her depth without her usual help around her. She has to learn to rely on herself a bit more than usual. Mimi's a help, though! Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Flourish and BlottsAll the Abstract Nouns: Fifteen

6th August 2012:
This story is wonderful! This is one of the most realistic depictions of teenage life I've read on the archives - very often, as a teen, one wavers between maturity and immaturity, and Molly has enough maturity to pull herself back from the brink every time. I think your portrayal of her was very accurate and very, very well done. Also appreciated the abstract nouns. :)

Author's Response: Awh, thank you very much Flourish and Blotts! I had a lot of fun pinning down my perception of teenage years onto the page and I'm always really please when people say they thought it was accurate. i had a blast writing it and really enjoyed the abstract nouns too :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Flourish and BlottsThe Perfect Kiss: The Perfect Kiss

25th February 2008:
awww! lovely work! it's perfect for valentine's day. :)

Author's Response: Oh, is it? :) Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Flourish and BlottsSeeing Stars: Oh, Orion

30th January 2008:
lovely work!
i really enjoyed reading this chapter...you've got the characteristions done to a turn.
keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

I was worried about how my characters were developing (literary-terms wise, you naughty child) so thanks!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Flourish and BlottsThursday's Child: Thursday's Child

24th August 2007:
This was wonderfully written! Petunia's point of view was extremely well done, I've never seen such an accurate depiction before. At the same time I was able to still like Lily but understand really clearly how Petunia felt. Bravo!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Flourish and BlottsSolo En Ti: Solo En Ti

11th May 2007:
This is lovely! I'm not an avid fan of the Sirius/Lily pairing but this was exceedingly well-written. Well done!


Author's Response: Thanks Flourish and Blotts! That means a lot considering this was my first attempt at this ship!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Flourish and BlottsMouth Shut: Mouth Shut

26th April 2007:
I liked this story very much and the idea is very unique. ;)
I just have one nitpicky question - in HBP, Mrs. Cole (a Muggle) says that Merope stumbled into her orphanage already in labor, had her baby, and then died soon after. Since this all took place in a Muggle orphanage, I'm not quite sure how a healer could be there (it doesn't quite fit in with canon, but if you're not aiming for that, then it's ok).

Besides that, this was well-written overall, and I liked the portrayal of Merope's questioning of her actions. It's exactly how I imagined it.

Well done!

Author's Response: At the time I wrwote this, I was undergoing a very unusual writing experience. I'd gotten the plot bunny, listened to the song on repeat, and had it all written down within two hours (ridiculously fast for me). Then.. doing something once again entirely out of character for myself.. I posted it on here without it being beta'd or me even revising it for canon-mistakes. The result? Major mistakes like the one you just pointed out lol.

I'll fix it eventually, once WioQ becomes too difficult for me to handle and could use a breather. :) Thank you for pointing out my mistake, and for even reading and reviewing at all!

- Terri


 Report Review

Review #8, by Flourish and BlottsThe Tonks Chronicles: Homebird Sing

21st April 2007:
This is lovely! It isn't overly fluffy, yet has a sweet tone regardless. The portrayal of Andromeda's shock at seeing Tonks' metamorphosing capablilities is fantastic - it's just the way I imagined it would be. Fabulous work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Good, because fluffiness is my pet peeve.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Flourish and Blotts:

27th March 2007:
This chapter is also well done, congrats! I especially liked the bit where Gideon teases Alice...it reminded me a bit of Fred and George with Ginny. *smile*

 Report Review

Review #10, by Flourish and Blotts:

27th March 2007:
I like this, but I was wondering why her parents/father wanted to kill her...is their hatred for her and all that she stands for so deep that they could even consider murdering their own child? Just a question to dwell on. ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Flourish and Blotts:

27th March 2007:
I really like this chapter! It combines good writing with a funny, sarcastic, real humor that makes me laugh all the way through. Good job!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Flourish and BlottsMesmerised: Seeing the Unseen

21st January 2007:
This is lovely!!! I really enjoyed reading this and I look forward to your next update! Drop me a line on my website when it's there. :D


Author's Response: I'll certainly try, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Flourish and BlottsCall Me Lily: Call Me Lily

30th December 2006:
Well done! You made me laugh-I love how James is protesting the unfairness of it all. :)

Author's Response: Yay! I am so thrilled to hear that it made you laugh. My goal was to bring a smile to people's faces. And James was way too fun to write in this. lol. I thought that might be how he would react. Thank you so much for your comments! They made my day. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Flourish and Blotts10 Things I Hate About James Potter: Pompous Gits and Furious Underlining

26th November 2006:
Very funny! I love how Lily argues with herself the whole way through...it adds different note of humour to it that's lovely to see. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I had a great time writing Lily.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Flourish and BlottsDreaming: Prologue

26th November 2006:
Nice work here! I wasn't quite sure of the setting, and occasionally, I found it a little confusing (is it a dream? or a jumble of memories?), but overall, an intriguing and well-written read! Keep going!

Author's Response: "Is it a dream or jumble of memories?" Actually it's both. What you are reading is a nightmare in which Demi is jumping back and forth between events of the past, Ephraim leaving, Ephraim's death, etc. It's all snippets, if you will, of things that actually happened - memories. When she is speaking with her professors it is recalled conversation, but when she is talking with Ephraim it is only her subconcious. She wants desperately to change what happened, but no matter how hard she tries, he still keeps slipping away.

As far as the setting, there really isn't one. That is of course, if you don't count being inside Demi's dream. This is supposed to be confusing and it's supposed to feel jumbled. It was all part of making the reader feel as though they are witnessing Demi's nightmare first hand.



Thank you for the lovely review and I'll be sure to let you know when it's updated. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Flourish and BlottsAmoretti: Amoretti

22nd August 2006:
Excellent! Funny, but not hilarious-just the way I like it. Nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad that you liked the story. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login