Reading Reviews From Member: hokiechick
  
72 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hokiechickHermione Granger and the Dead Man's Mark: Chapter Five

18th September 2014:
This is an excellent story. Just some things I noticed and appreciated about your work so far:

You stay in canon very well. The characters that we are familiar with from the books are true to character. The way you've incorporated elements of canon, like the Dark Mark and the fate of Azkaban in a post-Dementor society are well-reasoned and you've used incredible imagery to expand on those concepts.

Your villain is truly scary. I can tell you've got a great plan for him and I'm excited to continue reading this story.

At one point while reading, I wondered why you chose Hermione as the other main character with Imogen. I think the choice was deliberate on your part, and I like the way using her allows you to take advantage of her intellect as a plot device for uncovering pieces of information to the reader. Also, I think the two primary characters being women is still so rare that I'm very interested in seeing their dynamic play out.

And finally, Imogen. What a fantastic job you've done developing her character. There's so much that I can tell you're holding back from telling us about her. She has such an interesting back story and her tattoos/abilities are very special. It takes a skilled writer to exercise that much restraint with an exciting character they've created and not just blurt out everything you want us to know about her. You let the reader in slowly and carefully, which makes me want to know even more.

All in all, very well done. Thank you for sharing this story and these characters.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your feedback!
To respond to one point, pairing two females as the lead protagonists was definitely a conscious choice. As you said, it's somewhat rare, and I wanted to explore how Hermione might respond when she's not constantly playing a supportive role to male characters.
I hope you continue to read the story as I update. The next chapter should be coming soon. :)
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by hokiechickHonour Among Thieves: the end (part three)

12th September 2014:
So much awesome content here, it's hard to keep it all in my head come review time! But I'll try...

I think you really understand your characters on an intimate and personal level. You really know what motivates them, what their best and worst skills are, how they think- it's amazing. I'm impressed with how consistently they behave across the story. And since you understand them so well, you have a gift for foreshadowing something major without giving it away. Very subtle, very cool.

There were some unbelievable things, but I'll be damned if you didn't make me believe them. Like the whole premise of the story sounds far-fetched, but so did Quidditch the first time. I have to say, I'm not sure I believe Draco and Astoria actually staying in Ottery St Catchpole with the Scamanders while miserable. Spending days at the Burrow with other worried parents is one thing, but Malfoy drinking gurdyroot tea is just not going to happen. (I'll pretend like it didn't)

My wishes for your sequel:
Victoire's miscarriage is explored
The Fraternity either tries to recruit some of the Clan or griefs them (or both)
Lily's lycanthropy is explored
What was the deal with Dom lying about the boyfriend?
Goblins. Just more goblins. They're so under-explored and I feel like there is so much culture under the surface there. Plus you've prepped the stage for them to be ticked off about multiple generations of Potters and Weasleys breaking in to their bank.
Maybe George has a heart-to-heart with Rose about losing your closest sibling to help motivate her into living her life again
What was the deal with Carrow's daughters and how were they related to Amycus and Alecto? How did they die?

Anyways, well done here. I look forward to reading the next Thieves sequel.

 Report Review

Review #3, by hokiechickHeart Without a Home: broken

12th September 2014:
Hi there,
I just finished Thieves and I'm going to pop back over there to leave a review on that, but I wanted to share my thoughts on this one-shot epilogue first.

To start, I'm glad this is here because the end of Thieves was sudden and jarring. There was no time to process any emotions about Hugo or Lorcan after the final showdown. So what was missing there is addressed well here. I liked the way Ron and Hermione were characterized in the mourning scenes, it felt very visceral and raw. So that was my favorite.

About Hugo's death. I'm not sure he was developed enough in Thieves to be as devastating a death as say Sirius or Dumbledore. I understand why it was him, since the main character Rose needed to be the one to end it with Carrow, but I would have been more affected by James, or even Albus, dying because their characters got more development time earlier during their adventures. I feel more emotion for Rose losing her brother since she and Scorpius are the main characters in the story, but I really wish there was a memorable and funny/heartwarming scene with Hugo earlier in Thieves to make his death more tragic from the reader's POV.

Overall, well done. I'll leave a review on Thieves as well. Cheers.

 Report Review

Review #4, by hokiechickSevenfold: everything you touch, only dies

27th August 2014:
Compelliing, creative, impressive.
Those are the first three words that came to my mind while reading your novel. I'm just so completely blown away by your talent. This is without a doubt the best work of fanfiction I have ever read, and I've been reading for well over a decade now.

I honestly can't say more because I'm so utterly in love with your writing. The skill with which you built these characters is unparalleled. I'm convinced that if you wanted to do this professionally (or already do) you would be a phenomenal success.

The only thing this novel needs is about 1000 more reviews and a few Dobby's. Maybe a podcast special. Best wishes to you and my profound thanks for sharing this wonderful story with all of us.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow. So I've been at a bit of a loss for how to respond to this wonderful review and have come back so many times over the past few days just to read it over and soak in your lovely, thoughtful words. Thank you so much - it is both humbling and heart-warming to know that this is a story you really enjoyed, especially since it is so close to my heart.

I would love to write professionally someday, and I know that whenever I get discouraged I'll have wonderful reviews like this one to re-read and encourage me. Thank you so very much again for this. ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by hokiechickWhat Lily Loves: What Lily Loves

5th March 2010:
Oh my goodness, I was *dying* laughing! I loved your dialogue and you have a great sense of rhythm between James and Lily & James and Sirius. I actually love your ending and how you turned that prank into the first successful asking-out of Lily and James.

Some of my favorite lines are the funny one-liners, you are so great at that.

Anyways, I really enjoyed your fic, and it's actually going on my favorites list now. Thanks for doing the challenge and I hope you had fun writing it!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, thank you so much!! It was a load of fun to write. Thank you for such a great challenge! I noticed in the forum you said my banner was nice - it's by Niika on thedarkarts, my favourite artist on there, she did my sig and avatar in the forums too!

 Report Review

Review #6, by hokiechickI Am Man, Hear Me Roar: Dominique

24th February 2010:
Hahaha, this is a hilarious one-shot! I love that "Nick's" indignation just springs off the page at you! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks very much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by hokiechickAl Potter and His Very Epic Plan: The Foreign Delegations (all your castle are belong to Durmstrang)

9th February 2010:
Hahahaha, I love the title to this chapter! I'm just picturing a lolcat saying that right now. With a castle chess piece. Hahaha, I wish I knew how to make chapter images because I would totally do one for you for this chapter. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by hokiechickAl Potter and His Very Epic Plan: SLYTHERIN! (so far so good)

9th February 2010:
Hahaha, the first year speech is hilarious! I get the feeling that the Slytherins aren't all hunky-dory with one another, but maybe that will change with this group of first years?
Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by hokiechickAl Potter and His Very Epic Plan: On The Hogwarts Express (om nom nom food)

9th February 2010:
Haha, Rose is so annoying with her opinions, she's the perfect combo of Ron and Hermione's personalities!
I really wish I knew what Scorpius was thinking! He's so quiet, but I can understand why.
Great start, I will be reading more!

Author's Response: Rose *shakes fist*

Thanks very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by hokiechickWe Were Brave Once: We Were Brave Once

9th February 2010:
Hi, I heard about this on HPPC Story Seekers podcast, and I must say it has just made its way onto my favorites list! It was absolutely genius and very moving. You did a great job of seamlessly transitioning between the inner thoughts of all the characters. I loved the tiny details you put in to show that this was a well-worn family (Grumpshine the Car) and you have given them all such a sense of history together, without really talking about the war at all. Overall, quite impressive! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #11, by hokiechickSnogging Rose Weasley: 1/1

9th February 2010:
Wow, that was wonderful! I've never read a fic where Rose was a Slytherin, but I like her and the way you characterized her a lot. She's just sneaky enough without really being evil. I wonder how Ron reacted to her Sorting, haha! Overall, really well done!

 Report Review

Review #12, by hokiechickWhat Would The Neighbours Think?: What Would The Neighbours Think?

9th February 2010:
Heard about this on HPPC. This is my favorite of the three Petunia Dursley fics they talked about because I felt you stayed so true to the characters from canon. And I love the extra scene you added about the last time she saw Lily and how she gave her a cast off as a Christmas present and just disregarded the last material item Lily had given her before she died. I think she really did feel sorry she would never see her sister again.
You did well with the Vernon character in this, too, even though he was a minor character. Just overall, I really liked this entire fic. Wonderful job! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank-you very much for your review! I had no idea my fic was being talked about on HPPC. Or what HPPC is, to be perfectly honest xD But all the same, it's made me happy. I might have to hunt that down.
Very glad you enjoyed reading!


 Report Review

Review #13, by hokiechickFamily Friction: What Would I Do Without You?

9th February 2010:
Heard about this on HPPC. It was very fluffy with the Lily/James parts, but not in an altogether terrible way. I wish you had explored the character of Vernon a little more in this. Not bad, though.

Author's Response: I know; I wish I had, too. I wrote it on a sudden impulse *laughs*. Thank you for your review!
~xxoo♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by hokiechickLily and Me: Elly

9th February 2010:
I read this after hearing the podcast about it. I was also a little put off by the end, but in more of a "what a creative genius" you are way. You've done a really great job of creating a character here that is relateable and likeable, so you feel bad about what happened at the end. I was kind of horrified for him when I read the line about the icy hands of Lily. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #15, by hokiechickHardboiled: Hardboiled

30th January 2010:
Wow, I laughed out loud so many times while reading this fic. I have tears in my eyes from laughter. Like legit funny tears. That was great, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #16, by hokiechickTte--Tte: Tte--Tte

24th January 2010:
Oooh! I like the dialogue. Especially the "..."s. Very witty. I'm off to read the sequel!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by hokiechickEnsnared: Ensnared

24th January 2010:
Favorite line: "Thank mercy no woman had co-operated with Willy thus far, and the world was spared the misfortune that would be a continuation of the Potswill line." Pure genius! This was great, thanks so much!

Author's Response: Haha XD Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hokiechickSo I Married a Death Eater: The Hair War

21st January 2010:
Oh my god, there were too many *hilarious* parts for me to count on my fingers and toes. Seriously, they were so funny and you landed every single joke. I honestly hope there is another installment coming!

 Report Review

Review #19, by hokiechickFive Times Scorpius Malfoy Caught Rose Weasley Drinking: 1/1

20th January 2010:
Oh my gosh. Wow, this was too incredibly special and sweet. You are a wonderful writer. You mixed in the humor with the poignant and the romantic. It was just perfect! I'd love to see a sequel if you've got one on the back burner.

 Report Review

Review #20, by hokiechickThe Founder's Sorting: The Founders Sorting

5th August 2009:
Hahaha! Reminiscent of A Very Potter Musical where the Sorting Hat eloped with the Scarf of Sexual Preference! I especially love Gryffindor's reaction! This is a funny little tidbit and I liked it a lot! Well done!

Author's Response: Heh, heh. I heard about that... :P

Gryffindors are my favorite Harry Potter characters to make fun of, closely followed by effeminate Slytherin males. Don't ask. I'm glad to know you liked this! Thanks for leaving a review. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by hokiechickHeir Brained: Senses

1st August 2009:
I love this story, it's so fantastic!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review hokiechick! Much appreciated!

Next chapter up, looking forward to your thoughts on that one.

Cheers,
Diagonally


 Report Review

Review #22, by hokiechickJust Another Midnight Run: Gainfully Employed

30th July 2009:
I love your story! Seriously, I have read Janet Evanovich and your stuff is on par (if not better) than hers. I am always laughing! Big hugs to you, I will be missing your fic whilst you are on vacation!

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so much! That's such an amazing compliment. I really love Janet Evanovich's books. Wow, thank you. I'm totally stunned.

 Report Review

Review #23, by hokiechickBlack Love: Black Love

30th July 2009:
Very good. I liked it a lot. It's unique and I feel like it conforms very well to the characters you chose. All in all, nicely done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such an encouraging review! I'm sure Bellatrix/Lucius pairings are quite unpopular but I quite like the idea that they could have been in love once?

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #24, by hokiechickLand of the Living: Life Goes On, Part II

28th July 2009:
Wow, I love your story, it is so unique! I'm glad Severus is really trying hard to become whole again, but I wonder how he will find it in him to feel remorse for Dumbledore's death. Great story, one of the most unique plotlines out there!

Author's Response: hokiechick-

I'm glad you're enjoying it. We are getting very near the end...



 Report Review

Review #25, by hokiechickFantasy: Chapter Two. Gruesome.

27th July 2009:
Ooh! I like where this is heading! I didn't understand last chapter how he would know it was the real Lily, but the pajamas make total sense! I'm looking forward to the next chapter a lot!

Author's Response: Yeah, James has this really complicated way of knowing. I'll explain soon. haha. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad that you liked it!
-love-
LM


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>