Reading Reviews From Member: SBSL
  
478 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SBSLStand by the Fire: Stand by the Fire

30th May 2008:
WOW. That is the only word for this. And that doesn't even come close to covering it. Not at all. You write Bella and Voldemort beautifully. I love this so, so much! Immediate favorite!

1052572570462546701/10

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! I'm so flattered right now, haha. (: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for favoriting!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SBSLTo have and to lose: The New Girl

30th May 2008:
Very nice. I really like this so far. One error that I found though: “But our mum’s were chatting-- mum's should be mums.

I'm SO sorry that it's been so long since you've requested a review from me. This one is short, but I'll be reviewing the rest later...

9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much- I can't believe I didn't notice that typo!!!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to r&r- its much appreciated :-). Hope you enjoy the rest (although please don't feel you have to read all of it if you don't want to!)


 Report Review

Review #3, by SBSLThe Road Home: The Hole in the Wall

4th May 2008:
So Mrs. Cleary is. a witch? Or not? I think she is though. Poor Nyah! Her 'mother' is completely evil. She might be able to give Voldy a run for his money. Anna seems like such a nice sister to Nyah though, it's hard to imagine Anna and Alexander being twins. Very hard to imagine.

I really love this story!

10/10

Author's Response:

Hello again! :) Thanks for taking time to review another chapter!

Mrs. Cleary is very special, as you'll see in the next chapter... ;)

Voldemort and Catherine may be similar in that neither one really have much capacity to love. They choose to bend people to their ways... or else. :(

Anna and Alexander are a bit more alike than anyone realizes...

Very glad you're enjoying it! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by SBSLThe Road Home: The Fury Within

3rd May 2008:
So Nyah isn't actually her parents' child? She was dropped off? And do Anna and Mrs. Cleary know about Nyah's being dropped off? Sorry about all the questions, I just want to make sure I have it all right.

So far, I really like this story. Nyah seems like a very likable character, and actually, the only characters I haven't liked are Alexander and Nyah's 'mother'. I can't wait to go read the rest of this story, so I'm stopping my review here.

9/10

Author's Response:

Hello again! :D

Don't apologize for asking questions... I WANT people to ask, especially if something is unclear. :D

Nyah was 'dropped off' at the age of 4, but has no memories of her past, other than a recurrent dream of someone screaming... and pain.

Anna was 6 at the time, so does remember, but accepts her as a sister nonetheless.

Mrs. Cleary joined the staff at the Stewart Manor when Nyah was aged 7. It's not clear whether she knew that Nyah was dropped off - but it's clear that Nyah is not loved....

:) You aren't really supposed to like Alexander or Mother - so you're right on track there!

Glad you're still enjoying it! Thanks for the review and the questions! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by SBSLThe Road Home: Running Late ... Again

3rd May 2008:
So Nyah is a muggle-born? Her living in the attic kind of reminds me of Harry living under the stairs, actually. And how do you get Nyah out of Pricilla? Well, I did enjoy reading this first chapter and I think I will like the rest of them as well.

9/10

Author's Response:

Hello! :D Thanks for taking time to review!

Yes, there are a few similarities to Harry's story - but this is quite different. :)

Nyah and Pricilla are two different names - one given by Mrs. Stewart (Pricilla) and one adopted by the child (Nyah). There will be a more concrete reason for this a bit later in the story. Mother is the only one that calls her Pricilla. :D

Very glad you've enjoyed it! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SBSLLast Kiss: Last Kiss

30th April 2008:
Whoa, that was James? I thought... but what? I think I got the ending, but. Sirius ended up getting Lily in the end? I really liked this story, and the way you never actually used a name was brilliant! Amazing job.

 Report Review

Review #7, by SBSLField Of Innocence: Fools In Love

26th April 2008:
Please, please, please don't kill george at the end of this story. I just thought that you might. That would ruin it all for me. PLEASE DON'T. And I really hope that George and Eponine end up together, not that I can see any other ending. I love this story so much...

10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by SBSLWe Gryffies: Like The Cry Of A Terminally Ill Cat

18th April 2008:
frabjulous-- I love that word. You use such funny ones.

Miss Llewellyn's gentleman caller-- That's so like James.

He labels his socks? Why does this not suprise me?

Jones Plopper-- I think I like this better than Roonil Wazlib.

who's quite foxy for an old bird-- Again, this does not suprise me. It's James, after all.

Augherblert-- He has quite the strange vocabulary.

Teganesque-- another word made from Tegan's name!

There's a little junk inside her trunk.-- James, James, James.

Snorky? *teehee*

above are my favorite words/phrases from this chapter. You had me laughing almost this whole time.

I love how J.D. asks Tegan about their date after she glares at him. That's so Albus!

10/10

Author's Response: Almost all of my favorite words are in the poem "Jabberwocky", lol. Ooh, I love to read favorite quotes. Glad you liked this chapter -- it was one of the most fun ones to write.

 Report Review

Review #9, by SBSLWe Gryffies: Mano a Womano

18th April 2008:
Tegality. That always makes me laugh. And then there's Tegalicious. James is so obsessed, it's not even funny. But it is. I love how you write his character. And Dobby Longbottom is so awesome. I love how you write all of these characters, actually.

JAMES ASKED TEGAN OUT! yay! I've been waiting for that.

Wonderful story, I'm going to read more now.

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! "Tegalicious" is, admittedly, based upon "Fergalicious". And I dearly love this cast of insane characters, and I can just hope to do them justice, you know?

 Report Review

Review #10, by SBSLBreaking the Rules: Breaking the Rules

15th April 2008:
Wow. That was so. funny. I knew good things would come out of those rules! Mrs. Weasley's muscles. *teehee* Wong? strange name. You should do a Sirius/Lily one too! YAY for april fools day! and HPFF's awesome pranks.

10/10!

Author's Response: haha.
it's kinda an inside joke with Wong...
my little brother always got Cho's name wrong,
ending up calling her "Wong Chong."
So...because he was my first critic...hehe.


 Report Review

Review #11, by SBSLDesire and Demise: A New Connection

8th April 2008:
I should get this out of the way now. I can not stand Dramione or AU seventh year. That being said, here is my review.

Ron is characterized very well. Hermione is a bit iffy, but Draco is good so far. In Dramiones, Hermione and Draco always are out of character by the end. It's just the only way it could happen. I think Hermione is caring about other people, but not about people who had tortured her for six years. Both Ron and Hermione's reactions to Harry's letter are very in character.

It's too early to tell much about flow and pacing, but I think this chapter did very well with it. It's just a tiny bit fast, nothing to really worry about and obsess over.

8/10 :D good job on this, and I'm very sorry that I won't be continuing it, but I really don't like Dramione. Pop by my thread and request a different story, I'd be happy to do it.

Author's Response: That's completely understandable. (: It's your personal preference, and I respect that.

Thanks for taking a look at the characterization. I'm glad to hear that you thought it was alright. And I agree... Hermione will probably never be exactly perfect because I tend to put a bit of myself in my main characters. It's something I need to work on.

Thanks for the review. I'm especially grateful because you took the time to read it even though you didn't like the pairing. To tell the truth, I don't remember requesting a review for this story - my mind has been elsewhere lately - but your review was absolutely helpful, so I'll keep you in mind for a new story I've just started working on. (;


 Report Review

Review #12, by SBSLFreak: A Series of Awkward Situations

22nd March 2008:
wow. that was so good, and funny. i can't wait for more, elizabeth is hilarious! i like that sirius came to help her too. and her random thought trains are awesome too.

10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! It's great to hear that people like my writing. I am already quite attatched to Elizabeth, and what is a Marauder fic without good ol' Sirius Black? :D And yes, I loved writing her random thoughts. I'm going to have SO much fun with those. :D Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #13, by SBSLThe Need for Hope: The Need for Hope

7th March 2008:
I don't know why, but Harry/Ginny seems strange to me now. Maybe because it's canon? Oh, well, who knows?

This was diffferent to what I normally read in Harry/Ginny fics, and that is a very good thing. I think that was a great first Harry/Ginny fic, and you should continue writing them. You are very good at balancing the dialogue and the description. I could picture the scene in my head, but there wasn't so much that I was bored by it.

My only problem with this was how you characterized Kingsley Shacklebolt. I imagine him different, somehow.

Anyways, great job, keep it up!

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Lol, about Harry/Ginny. Rest assured, however, that you aren't the only one that finds it strange. It isn't exactly my cup of tea either, although it fit the storyline for this wonderfully and I just had to write it. ;)

I'm glad that you thought that the description and dialogue balanced out well, since I have this rather annoying tendency of droning on and on about what the person was feeling without really saying anything at all. And about Kingsley -- at first, I didn't want to picture him in a bad light, but I'm rather cynical when it comes to politicians and the hard reality of the fact that their administration must look good to keep them in office. The way in which Kingsley is portrayed here is also indicative of Ginny's frame of mind. He's really not all that bad (as shown by how he asks Ginny to look after him), but Ginny has this her-against-everyone view and it affects how she sees people.

Anyways, thanks again for this awesome review. I'm glad you liked it. =]


 Report Review

Review #14, by SBSLSaving Mum & Dad: The Set Up

25th February 2008:
Just don’t be late, Dad. You know Mum hates tardiness. -- that was good. really good! Draco has quite the potty mouth, huh? I hope you keep writing this as well as you already are! It's amazing. Let me know when it's updated?

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you again. ^_^ Sure, I will...

 Report Review

Review #15, by SBSLGone: Gone

13th February 2008:
Hey that wasn't horrible, and I didnt hate it!!! It was pretty good as far as D/Hr fics go, but too short. I liked it anyways tho.

9/10

Author's Response: It was kind of short, but I didn't want to write about their whole romance. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by SBSLBlinded: The Last Straw

10th February 2008:
He wouldn’t entertain thoughts of his godson’s best friend. -- that part was just so great. this is so different from the normal sirmione time travel fic. I think this is going to be amazing.

9/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm hopeing it will be... some of the time travel fics are a little hard to grasp for me. I like the challenge this fic presents. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by SBSLThe Finale: The Finale

7th February 2008:
Nice alternate battle. I think JK should have made things a bit different, kind of a cross between yours and hers. Great job!

9/10

Author's Response: I like writing alternate battles... :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SBSLSaving Mum & Dad: Understanding The Dream

7th February 2008:
Hmm, is Hayden doubting his father? (I think I would be...) Again, this is just too good. Please let me know when it is updated? I can't believe I forgot to favorite this. Oddly enough, I can't wait until Draco and Hermione get together.

9/10

Author's Response: Yeah, Hayden's doubting his father. The next chapter will be up soon. There'll be (though a little bit) more Draco/Hermione in the next chapter... Thank you. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #19, by SBSLSaving Mum & Dad: Hayden's Advantage

7th February 2008:
Ooh, semi cliffie! Grr, I need to check on this story more often... This was such an interesting chapter! They just keep getting better and better. I wish I could give some constructive critisism, but I really can't think of anything! This is so amazing!

10/10

Author's Response: Oh, that went really fast with the review. Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed reading it... ^_^

 Report Review

Review #20, by SBSLVermillion: Vermillion

6th February 2008:
Wow, that was great. I'm not normally the type of person to read something like this, but it was just so amazing and raw emotion in parts. Go you!!!

10/10

Author's Response: Thankyou So Much :) I Just Fancied Writing Something Utterly Random >.

 Report Review

Review #21, by SBSLRegret: Regret

6th February 2008:
What can I say, that was wonderful! You really captured how someone would be feeling. That was really sad, but so well writen. I'm definitely favoriting it!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review and the favorite-ism! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by SBSLDreamland: My Wish

6th February 2008:
Hmm, very interesting. You have a very strong first chapter, which is important as it makes the reader decide if they are going to continue. I also like how you write Rose, and her thoughts seem quite realistic. I hope there will be a lot of Scorpius in the next chapter!

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! There is a bunch more Scorpius in the next chapter, and even more in the following ones! Yay for Scorpius!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SBSL:

6th February 2008:
Wow, I absolutely love this. (and that sentence just reminded me of the song Absolutely. My mind works in strange ways.) I love Aryana's way of thinking. And I feel just the tiniest bit sorry for Amanda Goyle. It makes me think of my slightly clueless friend, who is also named Amanda. I can't wait to read more of this! It's just so amazing.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #24, by SBSLVertigo: Truth Be Told

6th February 2008:
Wow. Where could this be going!?!?! I loved that chapter, and I can't wait until you update! Please make it soon. I can't find a single thing wrong or that I don't like! This is so great.

10/10

Author's Response: Oh, there are so many ways, dearie, I'm not even sure myself where to go from here... I guess I'll just make it up as I go, because that's usually how I roll XD

I'm so glad you liked this chapter so much!! I'm sorry it's taken me this long to update, I really feel bad about it but my life's been crazy lately. But during summer I predict a lot of spare time for writing :D

Thank you so much for praising me so greatly and for reviewing :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by SBSLVertigo: Room 337

6th February 2008:
Oh, you write during History too?

This is very... different. I like different tho. I think it is a little too soon to see if this will be favorite of mine, but it def. has potential! go you!

8/10

Author's Response: Haha, I definitely do :P Haha, a productive class, as I said.

Yeah, me and my crazy, sleep-drunken ideas... Haha. They tend to be different, although wherever the shoe fits, I guess.

Thank you so much for reviewing and for encouraging me to go on :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>