Reading Reviews From Member: firebreathingradishes
  
87 Reviews Found

Review #26, by firebreathingradishesIf You Take Time to Look: Second Best

30th September 2006:
Excellent!
(Once again, I apologize for have taken such a long to time to read and review your story. I haven't been on hpff for weeks!)

Ahh. I like this "His mask had returned and now it would be impenetrable. Draco would never let Lucius see the pain he would feel when he announced his disappointment in him." That just sounds like Draco. He wears a mask and doesn't let others see the angsty-ness in him. :]

And the last bit about Narcissa feeling that unrecongnizable twinge of guilt... wonderful! Narcissa isn't really how I like to portary her, but for your story, she's the perfect (or not so) distant mother.

Bitty is very realistic in a house-elf-y way! :D Great work and keep it up! Can't wait for you to update!

Author's Response: You know, I'm beginning to love that word 'Excellent' when it comes from you!
Well, this story is about Draco's mask. See, when I first started it out I was going to completely blow of JK's HBP just because I didn't Draco to be evil (I'm biased...) but then I thought about and I'm keeping it in -- but *shhhh* you'll find out more in the next chapter!
And Narcissa...I love her character. In the story, we'll learn she's not as distant as everyone makes her out to be just confused...and that she DOES care. But from Draco's perspective, a woman who hardly talks? Not gonna care right?
Wrong.
And Bitty. She's starting to become my favorite character. Unfortunately we won't see her much...*sad*
Keep reviewing! You point out things I don't always notice myself


 Report Review

Review #27, by firebreathingradishesThe Past Will Be Buried: September First

5th September 2006:
“Don’t try to pull a fast one on me. I may only be eleven but you know better than anyone I’m no sap. I’ve run into a lot of things and now you’re telling me I have to smash into that…” she dartingly pointed a finger at the pillar, “…to get to school. I’m not buying it for a moment.” That line made me smile. XD Adrienne is such a character.

Bill and Keaton are extremely well-fleshed out. Especially when Bill had to say "My mother’s a hippogriff!" Very boy-ish and realistic. Great work! Can't wait to read the next chapter. :]

Author's Response: Adrienne is something else. I've never written a character like her before. She has a habit for running into things, what can I say? She gets lost in her thoughts then BAM wall.

I had a great time with Bill and Keaton. They're just boys now so I'm just having fun with the things they do now.

Thanks for the great review! You shouldn't have to wait too long for the next chapter. It's definitley on it's way to being completed.


 Report Review

Review #28, by firebreathingradishesThe Past Will Be Buried: A Girl Left Behind

5th September 2006:
Wow. This is a fantastic plot! I'm absolutely drawn in by your character, Adrienne. The half-sister of Sirius Black? Wow, wow, wow. This is a twist I've never read of before, especially with that Egyptian bit. :]

The beginning was like, "BAM!" I was hooked. "Behind every individual there is a family. Every family has a history, and intertwined in every history there are always secrets. In the Wizarding World, many of those families that pride themselves as 'purebloods' are built on decades of secrets, and the Black family was one of them." That bit is absolutely perfect for the start of the story. And "On the day of July 25, 1970, Adrienne Sopdet Black appeared in elegant cursive script on the ancient list. Orion’s most ruinous secret was out for anyone to see."? It gave me chills!

I think Adrienne is a very lucky girl to have the Marauders teach her and everything. If it weren't for that nasty Voldemort to mess everything up. :/

Off the read the next chapter! Definitely in my favorites. :D


Author's Response: In my first plot lines of the story, Adrienne was actually Sirius's cousin but I looove the idea of the half sister better... It gives more reason for their closeness which I really wanted to put in.

That first paragraph was the first words I had before any other aspect of the story came together. I've had it for so long and I personally love it since each sentence flows into the next.

Poor Adrienne, I was so evil to give her the perfect surrogate family and then take them away from her. Oh well, she still has Remus. I gave her that much...


 Report Review

Review #29, by firebreathingradishesThe Day the Angels Cried: Her Brother's Howler

3rd September 2006:
Oooo.. More conflict between Cedric/Adrian/Tatum. I really hope Cedric makes a move of some sort! And I love the protective brother aspect. Brilliant chapter! :D

 Report Review

Review #30, by firebreathingradishesThe Day the Angels Cried: Of Jealousy and Dragons.

26th August 2006:
As with all your writing (very sad you deleted your other stories by the way), I love it! Tatum, Cedric and Pucey! Oh my! Can't wait for the next chapter and Arachind & the Serpent to be up again. :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by firebreathingradishesWhat is Right and What is Easy: Mastering the skill

21st August 2006:
Aberforth is a funny character. Reminds me of Yoda. And Rose/Harry--- what about Hermione? *whimpers* LOL. Just kidding. I think it's fine. But so much is happening to poor Harry and Ron! Ronnie is leaving with his pack? Oh no! But is Rose a bad influence? Oh gosh... I really want to know what happens next.

Just so you know... "When I arrived there, I didn’t see her at first and then looked out towards the middle.... I put my arm around her, and for what felt like hours we sat there like that not saying a word." You changed POVs there. It kinda threw me off.

Other than that, great work. :)


Author's Response: Yea I change views alot just a bad habit >.

 Report Review

Review #32, by firebreathingradishesWhat is Right and What is Easy: Training

21st August 2006:
Ron is very realistic! He's so protective of Hermione. :P That's our Ronnie.
And I really want to know what happened to Ron way back then.. On to the next chapter. Great work with this one. :)

Author's Response: Heh sorry I didn't really have alot bout Ron in the next chapter but never fear! Ron will more than definitaly be coming back.

 Report Review

Review #33, by firebreathingradishesRunaway: Mystery

20th August 2006:
Wonderful. You write Dumbledore very well. :)

"Dumbledore had stopped abruptly in the middle of the room as he caught sight of the battered girl on Hagrid’s bed. Harry watched the Headmaster carefully. His face remained blank, but there was a tenseness to his body that wasn’t there when he had walked in a few seconds ago. Dumbledore reached the bed in two strides, and seemed to be examining the girl, his eyes lingering on the scorch marks of her coat."

Reminds me of JK's writing of Dumbledore. Ooo... And I'm glad Sirius is alive. Sword classes! I wouldn't mind taking some with Sirius. :P Because of Dumbledore's reaction, I really want to know who the girl is. Dun,dun,dun! Great work again.

Author's Response: Thanks again! If my Dumbledore reminds you of JK's Dumbledore, I am deeply honored. Dumbledore's one of the only characters I think I actually "get", if that makes sense. I have a lot of fun writing him :). Sirius is tons of fun too, and I hear you on the sword classes. That would be so fun! I have another chapter coming up soon, and you'll find out who she is pretty soon, too, so no worries ;). Thanks again for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #34, by firebreathingradishesIvy and the Art: Ivy and the Art

19th August 2006:
Aw! This is really great. Unusal ship, but really believable. :] I felt bad for Pansy for a moment. I love the beginning with the bit with the vine. Great work.

Author's Response: yeah, i don't like it when people always portroy people like pansy or blaise as bad, just because that's the way harry sees them. anyway, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #35, by firebreathingradishesRunaway: Fear

12th August 2006:
Wow. You are a brilliant writer! I love the story so far. The first paragraph... "Fear. Unrelenting, overwhelming terror. This was all she knew, felt, and saw as she ran blindly through the dense, suffocating woods." sucked me in. I really can't wait for the rest of the story! Great work. :]

Author's Response: Aw, wow, thanks!! My first reviewer, don't you feel special? :) Lol. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it...you're awesome! Keep on the lookout for the next chapter real soon, and lots more after that! Thanks again...

 Report Review

Review #36, by firebreathingradishesGoodbye May Seem Forever: Goodbye May Seem Forever

12th August 2006:
That's absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #37, by firebreathingradishesNorth's Wood: A Smoking Goblet

7th August 2006:
Aw! I love this fic. I love how you used the different signs in your story--makes it very unique! Mmm... and Oliver Wood! I hope you update soon. :]

 Report Review

Review #38, by firebreathingradishesThe Awakening: The Awakening

6th August 2006:
This is a great fic--- I just hope the series doesn't end this way! *crosses fingers* Very well-written. Great work!

Author's Response: Yes, definitely. I appreciate the review (:

 Report Review

Review #39, by firebreathingradishes"My humps...!": "My humps...!"

6th August 2006:
Omg! That is absolutely brilliant. Sirius is hilarious and the ending is perfect. Great work.

Author's Response: Thanx!! I'm really glad you liked it=)


 Report Review

Review #40, by firebreathingradishesLove Works In Strange Ways: Chapter One: A Ham and Cheese Sandwich

5th August 2006:
Aw! Cute ending bit. :] Really well-written. I'm not used to reading about Draco's sister, but so far you haven't made her MarySue-ish at all. She seems really different. Great work so far.

Author's Response: Thanks! I personally thought she was Mary-Sue-ish, but I'm going to reread it and see if I change my mind. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #41, by firebreathingradishesSecrets, Lies, and... Pumpkin Pie?: FIGHT!

5th August 2006:
Ooo... This is a really great Next Generation fic. This line... "It’s a thing that has happened ever since my third year and I discovered make-up. We’re late to everything." made me giggle 'cause it's true. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #42, by firebreathingradishesRefuge: Refuge

1st August 2006:
Wow. That was beautiful. "“Because I know what it’s like to be called names.”" and "When she leaned over the frozen floorboards to press her lips against his, his mouth was cold and tasted like a coin. She didn’t know why she did it. The kiss was as dead as he." were my favorite lines. Wonderful job. :]



Author's Response: thank you, i'm very glad that you liked it. thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #43, by firebreathingradishesLast Line of Defence: Last Line of Defence

1st August 2006:
That was really sad. *tear* Really well-written! A few typos here and there, but whatever... we all have those. :P
I love the dynamics between the trio. They seem very realistic. I love this line: " He was past the point of being frightened. He’d lived in fear all his life, and he seemed past that point now." Great work! :]

 Report Review

Review #44, by firebreathingradishesHere Without You: Here Without You

1st August 2006:
Aw. The end is very sweet. I really liked how you described his transformation in the very beginning. "he fell into the savage ritual of attacking himself, leaving no square inch of skin free of blood" -- Really loved that line. :]

The middle of the story got a bit slow; perhaps you could insert bits about him hurting himself as a werewolf? Make his memories more... in his present state of mind, if that makes sense? Anyways, those are just suggestions. Great work!

Author's Response: hey. thanks, i'll do that. :) i'm glad you liked it. thanks!!


-Jade


 Report Review

Review #45, by firebreathingradishesThe Last Battle: The Last Battle

1st August 2006:
Haha. Galloway cheese? It was highly amusing, especially the end. Harry as a toaster... LOL! You have a very creative mind. :]

There were quite a few spelling and grammar mistakes... ack, I'm a stickler... but nothing a beta wouldn't fix. I was bothered by some of the formatting, but that's just me. Eh.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the 'creative mind' comment, and for the spelling mistakes and the formatting - I'll go change that ASAP. Thanks for the review and glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by firebreathingradishesBuckbeak's Ferret Dinner: Buckbeak's Ferret Dinner

1st August 2006:
Wow. You've got a really really original "voice".

I feel so bad for Buckbeak. :/ I love how you drew parallels between Buckbeak and Sirius--- how they wanted to leave Grimwauld Place, caught ferrets and what not. Great work. :]

Author's Response: "Original voice". . . I try my best :) I'm quite proud of this story (actually, I'm proud of most of my stories). Buckbeak is a wonderfully fun animal to write about, and I really did like the ferret dinner motif.

 Report Review

Review #47, by firebreathingradishesWoes of a Midget Owl: Woes of a Midget Owl

1st August 2006:
Aw! Poor Pig. I love how you translated what each "hoot" meant. Very funny. Great work.

Author's Response: Why poor Pig? He gets Hedwig in the end, and all Ron and Harry get are terrible dates for the Yule Ball. For the "hoots" I was inspired by Lemony Snicket's translations of Sunny's baby talk in "A Series of Unfortunate Events" (which, by the way, is by favorite book after Harry Potter).

 Report Review

Review #48, by firebreathingradishesUnder the Emerald Spell Light: Under the Emerald Spell Light

1st August 2006:
Wow. Lovely characterization of Irma and Argus! It's good to see them fleshed out. It's so sad... Poor them. And the books---wah! I love the last line. So tragic. Great work! :]

Author's Response: I know. All those lovely books being destroyed *sheds a tear* I really like this pairing, because (as I said in my author's notes) it's supported by canon. And I'm glad that I'm perhaps the only fanfiction writer that's portrayed Filch in a good light, or who's portrayed Irma at all (I've suddenly realized that I've NEVER seen her in any of the major fics).

 Report Review

Review #49, by firebreathingradishesBohemian Rapsody: Bohemian Rapsody

1st August 2006:
Oh! I love the ending. It's perfect. I'm glad you didn't make Harry and Draco stay together "forever"; it wouldn't be in their character. I love "Bohemian Rhapsody" and your fic fits perfectly with the song. :] Great work.

Author's Response: I do hate fics that make it Harry/Draco forever. I mean, I ship them, it's my OTP by far, but realistic it is not. Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you liked the story! :)

 Report Review

Review #50, by firebreathingradishesA Walk in the Rain: A Walk in the Rain

28th July 2006:
Awww. I love the last line. "And the rest, as they say, is history."
Really lovely, sweet fic. Great job!

Author's Response: Ooh, I'm so glad you liked it! I was afraid it would seem generic, but I thought it fit, so I used it! Thanks
~Stella


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>