Reading Reviews From Member: violinvirtuoso
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by violinvirtuosoRed: Red

9th February 2008:
I thought this was very well written. It is very detailed, with gorgeous imagery and few, if any, spelling/grammar mistakes. I also liked how you related each scene to a particular season.
The only thing was that it is a bit repetitive. I realize the focus of your story is how Harry likes Ginny's hair, but it got rather redundant after a bit. I would have liked to have seen either some unifying plot or unique characterizations to each part. Or perhaps kept to one scene.
Sorry, I'm not trying to be critical or anything. I thought it was very lovely. =) You are clearly a talented writer.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I know what you mean, and I started to think the same thing, always writing about Ginny's hair... However, I wanted to keep it to that. There's no need to apologize. Right now, I'm not gonna do anything for this fic, I have other fics to work on, however, maybe some day I'll look at this again. Thanks so, so much!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by violinvirtuosoLipstick and Leather-Bound Schoolbooks: Prologue

12th November 2007:
Ha This seems to be off to a good start! I'll be interested to see how this story plays out.

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! I'll update as soon as I can. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by violinvirtuosoWho's Hotter?: Who's hotter

25th October 2007:
This was really funny! I'm not really a fan of Lily/Remus, but I thought that this fic, the plot and everything, was quite amusing. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad that even though you don't like Lily/Remus, you thought that this one shot was cool.
Lollie :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by violinvirtuosoAnyone Would Drown: Siren Song

25th October 2007:
=) Cute and fluffy. I liked it.

FYI Circe is pronounced SUR-see, at least in The Odyssey. I've never read A Great and Terrible Beauty, but I assume Libba Bray is just borrowing Homer's character (as many authors do) and thus it would be pronounced the same.

Author's Response: Oooh, yes.
Hahaha yeah I looked it up on Meriam Webster and thta's what they said. Sear-see, sur-see ... something like that xD
Thank you!! =)


 Report Review

Review #5, by violinvirtuosoName: More Than Who We Are

2nd July 2007:
=D Very well written, there's not to many stories about Charlie around, I enjoyed catching a glimpse of your interpretation of his character. I really liked reading this, it was funny and touching and sweet all mixed together. One thing, though, in chapter one, a line read, “Oh, Charlie, what a spectacular catch! You never seem to amaze me!” I'm assuming you meant 'You never cease to amaze me!,' it's not a big deal, I just got a bit confused for a second. But anyway, I loved it, I'll have to read some of your other stories.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! [: This story was a lot of fun so I am glad you enjoyed it -- I liked writing this, mainly because, like you said, there aren't many Charlie stories :D Thanks for the heads up, too! I do hope you end up reading more of my stories [:

 Report Review

Review #6, by violinvirtuosoOut of My Head (a Lily and James story): In a Word, Perfect

17th June 2007:
Aw, very nice. I really liked this chapter, and the story as a whole. Good job.

Author's Response: =D Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by violinvirtuosoPretend: Prologue

4th May 2007:
Haha at first I was thinking about what a jerk Sirius was (although I am a whole-hearted Lily/James shipper) but now I feel bad for him.

Very well written, excellent imagery. I particularly liked the line, "Her entire body elicited an aura that could have chilled a thousand penguins." Hehe I love penguins. Anyway, good job. I can't wait to read more. =)

Author's Response: OMG, me too, since Happy Feet! Lol. Nah, that entire scene happened for a fabulous reason, and that's getting Lily and James together! So Sirius had to do it... I mean, he didn't voluntarily (albeit grudgingly, I must say) go out with Lily for nothing! One thing y'all have to understand is that I disapprove of any ships that aren't canon... Sirius/Lily is definitely NOT my type, but they had to happen b/c of the plot. But anyway, thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by violinvirtuosoOut of My Head (a Lily and James story): My Life

29th April 2007:
Ah, very sweet. They're back together. YAY! I very much enjoyed this chapter.

I think it's the goal of teachers everywhere to make students suffer as much as possible. Darn those evil teachers! ha just wait till high school.

Author's Response: =D Grazie!!
Hahaha, I have to agree.
Ohno -goes and hides in cupboard- That frightens me xDD


 Report Review

Review #9, by violinvirtuosoHeart and Soul: Hermione's Piano

19th March 2007:
Ah that was sweet. I very much enjoyed it. I particularly enjoyed the description of how the piano keys "looked like a story waiting to be written." Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks :) It was pretty much my first fluffy story as I try to stay away from that (a lot of people look down on fluff) but it's just so much fun to read and write.

 Report Review

Review #10, by violinvirtuosoLost and Found: Pieces Of The Past

19th March 2007:
Wow... that's depressing. And a very intriguing idea; I can't wait to read the rest of it. I particularly liked how genuine the relationship between Lily and Emma is. Lily is very believable as an older sister who wants to reassure Emma, but is not quite sure what's going on herself. And the "uppersit" bit made me laugh. Very cute.

The only problem I found was the punctuation and a bit of grammar, particularly with you're/your, they're/their, etc. Also, there were a couple of apostrophes left out. Beyond that, I thought this story was very well written, with an interesting plotline and believable characters. Kudos and I am going to finish this review now so that I can press the little >> button so I can see what happens in the next couple chapters and sorry this was a long review but I just liked your story that much and now I am using run on sentences.

Author's Response: Im glad you like it:) Yeah, I hate puncuation and grammar with a passion. Unless I find like a grammar checker or something, its not going to be the best.

 Report Review

Review #11, by violinvirtuosoOut of My Head (a Lily and James story): Twisted Love

18th March 2007:
Ah very cute. I particularly liked the part, "'If you’re so smart, why are you going out with Sirius?' I tease. She laughs. 'Well met, Lily. ’Fraid I can’t answer that.'” Ha that was funny. I also liked Chelsea's analysis of Lily. Very deep. I can't wait to see what will happen next!
Hrmf the only "beach" where I live is covered in three feet of icky cold snow and will be for about a month. No fair.
Anyway, very good job, as usual.


Author's Response: Hahahaha xD If my beach was like that I'd be a hermit inside my house - no, my room. The beach is bascially the only thing I leave house for (other than school but that doesn't count). ;D
Thank youuuu!! :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by violinvirtuosoOut of My Head (a Lily and James story): The Worst Feeling

16th February 2007:
oooh James is in trouble! Great chapter, I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: :D Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by violinvirtuosoTake A Number, Potter: Take A Number, Potter

4th February 2007:
Hahaha that's funny. I really enjoyed reading this. One of my favorite parts was the bit about the attention span of a fly/ant.

Very cute.

Author's Response: Thankies :) Yes, I enjoyed it too. I always found pureblood ignorance of the Muggle world amusing.

 Report Review

Review #14, by violinvirtuosoOut of My Head (a Lily and James story): Tears of the Moon

23rd January 2007:
hmmm very nice. I like the way you developed Lily's and Alice's relationship.
I can't wait to see what happens at the ball!

Author's Response: -dances-
Thank youuu!


 Report Review

Review #15, by violinvirtuosoSundown: Sundown

21st January 2007:
Oh, that's so sad! I like it very much. Good work.

Author's Response: Thank youuu! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by violinvirtuosoIf I Were Sirius...: If I Were Sirius...

11th November 2006:
Aww that was cute.
Particularly liked this bit:
“Anyway,” he said through gritted teeth (he was obviously irked), “What do you know about her? I’m definitely going to ask her out in about five minutes, but I figured it might help if I knew some things about her. I would have asked her out already, but I don’t know who the hell she is!”
LOL typical Sirius
Great Job! I can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Yup, yup, too true, too true...

I love reviews, thanks a lot for reviewing!!!!!


 Report Review

Review #17, by violinvirtuosoStranded: Stranded

11th November 2006:
Aww that was cute. Pretty funny, too. =)

Author's Response: =] =] Thank you! :) I'm so glad you liked it. *dances*

 Report Review

Review #18, by violinvirtuosoAs We Grew Older: As We Grew Older

8th November 2006:
Wow. Very emotional. I like how the beginning is reminiscent, and really very sad, but the ending sounds more hopeful. It kinda reminds me of the sonnets my English teacher makes us read, and analyze the change of emotion =). Except this was far more enjoyable to read =). Although it was very sad, and almost made me cry. But that's a good thing. I think.

I particularly liked the lines,
"I don’t see the man in the suit with tidy hair, receiving some medal,
I see a boy receiving one hundred points for trusting in himself and fighting Voldemort, for love."
AND
"I don’t see a pro-quidditch guy saving goals at the world cup, I see a boy who falls off the broom, and fumbles with the quaffle."

Good job.

Author's Response: Thanks, so much. I have to admit, I haven't been on HPFF for awhile, but thank you! Um. I don't really know what to say. So, thanks. (wow, I said thanks/thank you five times including the ones in the parentheses)

 Report Review

Review #19, by violinvirtuosoParasitic Plant: Story

18th October 2006:
Awww....that was a cute story. I very much liked it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. ^_^ Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by violinvirtuosoStuck On The Step: Stuck On The Step

13th October 2006:
Ahh... that was cute and fluffy. I especially liked the "Hogwarts, A History is NOT ‘some damn book’!!" bit...:-)
Great job

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I am glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by violinvirtuosoSecrets on Parchment: Who Did You Say You Were Again?

6th October 2006:
woah. major cliffhanger :-)
I particularly like how you developed the brother-sister relationship, it reminds me a bit of me and my brother, when we were younger; he'd always get us into lots of crazy situations.
Ummmm..... favorite bits:
1) "The part of her that liked the idea she put to the flame and watched burn into thousands of little ashes, which she mentally scattered far and wide." Not only is this a really creative metaphor, it shows a lot about Hallia's character, and her internal struggle between staying out of potentially hurtful/ complicated situations, and giving in to her own curiosity and desire for truth.
2) "But what’s happened to Hermione? You have to tell me, Gin. I need to know." That's sad. Poor Harry doesn't know what's become of one of his best friends. But I suspect he's suspecting something.
3) And the whole ending was brilliant. And the tension builds....

I can't wait for the next chapter! Although, no pressure, I understand only too well that teachers seem to enjoy giving as much homework as humanly possible....
Great chapter, 10/10


Author's Response: :D Thanks!
-sigh- I'm basing Hallia and Heriu's relationship on what I wish mine was with my brother; he's a few years younger than me and completely evil.
Impossible math projects are the source of all evil... the next one might take awhile to get written.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by violinvirtuosoReflections and Ginger Tea: Reflections and Ginger Tea

4th September 2006:
Thank you thank you THANK YOU for the lovely banners...I didn't expect them so soon! They are amazing. They'll be up as soon as I can figure out how...hehe I'm not very technologically advanced....:-) But anyway, thanks a bunch, I really appreciate it.

Oh, and, good story, by the way.

Author's Response: No problem. xD Glad you like them! 'Kay, you go to where the summery is and type < i m g s r c = zeh link > (without the spaces). I'm not sure how well that will show up on the reply... but its the pointy arrow thing you use to do italics and bold n stuff, then img src=the link, then another pointy thing to close it. =D

 Report Review

Review #23, by violinvirtuosoWe All Need a Lily: We All Need a Lily

4th September 2006:
Very nice, as usual.

Erm.... I don't know how to quite go about requesting this, but if you have a spare minute, could you possibly maybe possibly make me a banner for one of my stories? Either one, I'm not picky. They're both bannerless at the moment. I would really appreciate it, but if you're too busy it's okay. I know things get crazy with school starting and everything, so if you can't I understand. But if you could make one in the next couple weeks or months or years or decades...well, maybe not decades, but just whenever...that would be awesome. Thank you very much! And I can't wait till you publish a real book, cuz then I can go out and buy it!

Author's Response: Thank youuu, as usual xD

Sure, of course! I'll do it in a minute, then leave you the link at zeh reviews. :o) I have nothing better to do tonight; I'm sick. -sighs then nods-
Thanks! =D


 Report Review

Review #24, by violinvirtuosoNo Escape: No Escape

3rd September 2006:
Wow. That was amazing. It made me cry. It was beautiful. I particularly liked the vivid metaphors, such as "Knowing that they could slip like droplets of water through my fingers" and "This paper soaks up ink like blood, for it is, in essence"
Fantastic story!

Author's Response: =D -feels special- Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by violinvirtuosoDo You Want To Dance?: Do You Dance?

14th August 2006:
Very cute! I really liked it! A few minor typos, but not bad. This is really quite excellent for a first fic. The only thing I would suggest changing is your author's note at the beginning. You have a great story, and you need to be more confident about it! I might suggest you remove the phrases "poorly written fluff" and "awful bits" because it wasn't awful. It was pretty darn good! Little comments like that set more of a negative tone, and if an author is negative about her (or his) writing, then the readers are more likely to be looking for what's wrong with it, rather than what's good.

I really liked your story! I am looking forward to reading more of your writing in the future.

Author's Response: Thankyou very much! I'll have to go over it again to pick out these typos, annoying little things they are, lol, infecting fan fics! I'm very glad you think that it is good, that makes me feel very good about it!

Thankyou for your time taken to review.

Chels


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>