Reading Reviews From Member: the_artful_dodger
  
30 Reviews Found

Review #1, by the_artful_dodgerStabbed: Waking

2nd June 2008:
I'm not usually such a canon freak but you can't use muggle electronics in Hogwarts... just so you know.

Anywho, I'm still very curious to see what happens next in this story. I think it's interesting that her boggart stabbed her; even if this ex-boyfriend didn't love her like she wants would he have any reason to kill her?

I think this story has great potential and I can't wait to see where you take it.

Author's Response: I'm very aware that Muggle electronics aren't supposed to work in Hogwarts, i'll be explaining it a soon to come chapter.

 Report Review

Review #2, by the_artful_dodgerStabbed: The Healing

2nd June 2008:
This seems very intriguing so far. I'm definitely curious to see what happens next. You certainly know how to hook a reader with the first chapter!

One small criticism: I would stay away from using contemporary songs in fanfiction... it comes across as a bit cheesy unless you have a really solid reason for doing it... Just a thought. Great chapter! I look forward to reading more!

 Report Review

Review #3, by the_artful_dodgerThe Terror in 234: Chapter 1

7th January 2008:
This is very interesting. He's in a muggle hospital for pneumonia? I'm interested to know what happened that caused him to survive because it was obviously not of his own doing... Anyway, this story seems quite good so far. Your writing is superb, including the way you've characterized Severus. Nick work! I look forward to an update! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you =). And your questions will be answered in coming chapters. It means a lot that you think my writing is superb. I try =P.

 Report Review

Review #4, by the_artful_dodgerThe Poet's Son: Games and Girls

5th January 2008:
This was a great chapter! I really liked how you added their fighting because it makes it so much more realistic; it's rare to stay friends with the same people from age 11 on.

Anyway, I was glad to see that you updated and I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, almost all friends fight at least once during their friendship. I was also trying to show the difference in their interests... Darius and Hunter are starting to get interested in girls, while Ben and Bane are not there yet.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #5, by the_artful_dodgerHow Can I Tell You?: Making Friends

23rd November 2007:
Hey! I just wanted to drop by and tell you that I'm still loving this story. Your writing style so fabulous and captivating! I've actually been reading this and your other fics at Petulant Poetess and I have to tell you, Shelter from the Storm is probably my favorite fanfic EVER. I can't wait to read more of all your work!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I can't tell you how great that makes me feel. I already have 2 finished fics that I'll only be posting on the petulant poetess- due to content. It's because of supportive people like you - I've gotten the courage to write about all the deeper issues I thought should be pulled out of Snape's character and analyze what lies deep within. I hope you'll continue to like my fics.
Thank you!
Livvy


 Report Review

Review #6, by the_artful_dodger"I Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You": And So It Is...

12th November 2007:
Poor Severus never gets a break, does he?

Anyway, this fic is amazing! You really are a talented writer. I felt just like I was in Serena's place and I actually felt really concerned about Snape's obsession with her. What I mean to say is that I connected to this story in way that I have never been able to with other fics. In fact, I've read all of your stories here and on Petulant Poetess and I have to say you are officially my favorite fanfic author. I can't wait to read more of your stuff! Please keep it coming!
10/10

Author's Response: AWWW! You have made my day!! I do put a lot of feeling into my writing and my own psychological interpretations on Snape's character. I wrote to someone once, that 'Snape is a Psychiatrist's delight'.
I'm glad you're liking my fics and am honored to be a fav. I hope you continue to like what I keep churning out, cause I've already got another finished and am working on another. LOL I'm out of control!
Thanks,
Livvy


 Report Review

Review #7, by the_artful_dodgerHow Can I Tell You?: Prolouge - Christmas, 1979

10th November 2007:
Wow. That was adorable!
I always knew Severus was a sweetie deep down. The writing was really fantastic as well. I could picture the scene perfectly.
Keep it up!
10/10

Author's Response: Yeah, he's 19-so he's yet to get the whole snaky bastard down-pat. I hope you'll stay with the story. the unrated version, if you interested is on the petulant poetes.
Thanks,
Livvy


 Report Review

Review #8, by the_artful_dodgerThe Poet's Son: Professor MacGowan (Year Two Begins)

24th September 2007:
I love this story!

That Mr. MacGowan is even more of a git to students he hates than Snape! His behavior makes me think he and Severus knew each other at school and didn't like each other... or wait... he was four years ahead of Kaden so yah... I'll have to go back and check I guess... but that makes sense to me lol.
I wonder if this is the year Ben finds out his Dad did some pretty bad stuff in his past. Because I'm pretty sure Snape killed in his Death Eater days...

Anyway, please, please update soon! I am very much looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response: Thanks, lol. Yeah, you'll find out a little more about MacGowan vs. Ben/ Severus later on... it makes for good conflict though, lol.

And don't worry about Ben/Severus and Snape's past... I have quite a bit planned out for that... lots of angsty stuff, lol.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying the story! I'm certainly enjoying writing it!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #9, by the_artful_dodgerThe Poet's Son: A New Home

20th August 2007:
This was a good chapter. It's both funny and sad how terrible Severus is at parenting.

Just to let you know though, your chapter pictures are too big. The TOS says: "Only one image may appear per chapter and may be no larger than 380x300 pixels." You may want to fix that before your chapters get hidden.

Update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Thanks for letting me know about the pictures too! Pics for some of my other stories are that big and I haven't had problems with it yet. I don't have time to go back and change them right now, but I will once I get the chance!

Thanks again!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by the_artful_dodgerThe Poet's Son: The Poet

14th August 2007:
I've had your story on my favorites for a week or two but I thought I'd drop you a review because I know how frustrating it can be when your fanfic isn't getting any sort of feedback.

I really, really love this general plot (where Snape has a son). It's been an absolute favorite of mine since I got into fanfiction 3 years ago. Unfortunately, it's not too common so I was thrilled to see this fic; especially since it's so well written! You described Benjamin's feelings very well... I always find it difficult to write eleven year olds because they always end up seeming older, but you really seemed to *get* it, if you know what I mean...

Anyway, I'm very anxious to read the next chapter; please update soon! 10/10

P.S. I think it would be better if you didn't have the prequel in two places... because it works so well as a one shot I think you'd be better off taking it out of the beginning of this story. But that's just my opinion :D

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch for the review! I'm glad you're enjoying it! I would delete the prequill, and I did think about that, but I would loose the reviews for it if I did! Thanks again so much!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by the_artful_dodgerPhotograph: Birthday Present

12th August 2007:
Looks really, really interesting! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I've read your stuff, dodger, and i have to say- i LOVE Silent Wedding Bells. Very in character.

 Report Review

Review #12, by the_artful_dodgerWho Could Ever Love?: Behind The Mask

10th June 2007:
It seems like an interesting start however I don't know why Dumbledore or Lily would have any issues with this Luella girl talking to Severus... I would think they would be all for inter-house unity. I mean Lily did stand up for Snape in Order of the Phoenix so it didn't seem as if she was hating him because he was a Slytherin, right? I dunno. That's just my opinion. Great start!

 Report Review

Review #13, by the_artful_dodgerInnocence Found: Chapter Forty-Three

25th March 2007:
I just read this whole story in one sitting and I must say it's quite addicting. I'm surprised you have so little reviews... I'll admit it was a bit strange to read at first, considering our OCs have the same name, but I got past it eventually... Anyway, can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Hey! I'm really glad you're enjoying it. I don't mind the number of reviews I have. Everyone here is very sweet and supportive. I'd rather have that than a bunch of one liners. Those are good too, don't get me wrong! Camilla's a pretty name. I like it a lot. Anyway, glad you like it and I'll have more soon! : )

 Report Review

Review #14, by the_artful_dodgerThe Progeny of the Pure-Blood: Chapter One - The Magic Carpet

11th March 2007:
I have to say your writing is brilliant! You touched on all the important things like Ginny and how Dumbledore's death has affected Harry. You've made it very detailed while still keeping it interesting. Nice work. The only complaint I have with this first chapter is the huge spaces between the paragraphs. Hopefully that'll be worked out in the upcoming chapters. 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful compliments! I hope you will continue to read and enjoy and review! As for the spaces, YES, they are annoying! Oy! But it won't let me post with it, for some reason, unfortunately. Hopefully, we'll all get used to it eventually! LoL! Thanks SO much, again! *Sunny*

 Report Review

Review #15, by the_artful_dodgerMemories By Twilight: A Glimpse at Fate

22nd December 2006:
Hmm... this is interesting... and slightly confusing. I'm not quite sure where this is going or what it's even about, but I will be keeping an eye out and eagerly awaiting an update as this is a very good start.

Author's Response: thanks ^_^ I'll be posting again soon! it takes a while for the story to get moving...I'm working on it a bit ^_^ but keep reading! I'll have a new chapter for you soon!

Cheers!
Scarlet


 Report Review

Review #16, by the_artful_dodgerWake Up: And it began...

23rd November 2006:
AH! How can you stop there? I was on the edge of my seat!! This story is so, so fantastic!

It's so difficult to find a good Snape story, but this one is amazing. Your writing is simply brilliant!

10/10! Please, please update soon.

 Report Review

Review #17, by the_artful_dodgerThe Fairy Charmer: N.E.W.T.S & A Headache

2nd October 2006:
"but something defiantly wasn’t right about him."-- check your spelling on this one, I myself do not know how to spell the word but I'm sure the way you have it here is wrong, lol.

That said... I ADORE this story, and it's only the first chapter. I love it, love it, love it! You're doing a fantastic job with Severus' characterisation (sp?)!! Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by the_artful_dodgerFinding Him: I Promise

2nd October 2006:
Hmmm... it cut off the rest of my review, so sorry bout that.

Anyways, back to constructive criticism (yes, I know, there's more)... "were coming mom" should be "we're coming mum." Also, the story is so rushed. Take some time to get into the character's heads. Use description instead of filling a chapter with them speaking. Oh, and your OC smacks of a Mary-Sue, which is somehting I would work on if I were you.

Hopefully, you won't take my comments too personally. I'm just trying to help you out. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: thanx for the critisism but i hav no idea of what u mean by Mary-Sue and no offence but i will probably do exactly the opposite of what you told me not to do because i always do on accident cause well i dont know i just do. soz for not being up to ur standards but i am only 14, not much of a grammar freak. soz again,
Holly (one of the two infamous and crazy mini_marauders)


 Report Review

Review #19, by the_artful_dodgerFinding Him: Billy Willy and Charlie Chuck

2nd October 2006:
This looks to be like it will be a fantastic story! The plot seems really good so far! I hope you do the character of Severus right because sooo many authors get him wrong and I love him so I always notice. Which reminds me: kinda cool/funny that you have girl in an arranged marriage with him because I happen to have a story that just happens to be about that! =) Anywho... I can't wait to read the next chapter.

Now, if you're not into constuctive criticism, I would stop reading because that's what's coming.... after the first chapter I was little let-down by the second. The writing was worse on the second and you should really space between paragraphs. There were also writing/grammar/other type mistakes... "Were coming mom"

Author's Response: thanx for the review. soz if you got let down on the second chappie and i hav never realli been one for grammar, i suc at it. i will try as hard as possible to get the character right, and im sorry if i do. thanx again.
Holly (one of the two infamous and crazy mini_marauders)


 Report Review

Review #20, by the_artful_dodgerMeet Me When It Rains: Meet Me When It Rains

2nd September 2006:
That was really beautiful. It really makes you feel which a lot of stories just aren't capable of. I have to say I disagree with those who said the f word was out of place. I thought it stood out, yes, but not in a bad, ruins the mood kind of way. I thought it really added to the raw emotion of it all. Anyway, this was a fantastic read. I really, really liked it.

Author's Response: yay, you've got it! :D i'm glad you understood the whole "f word" thing, i was worried that i hadn't done it right. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by the_artful_dodgerThe Girl from the Pits: The Dream

11th July 2006:
I have to say that this seems like it will be a very interesting story. I really love the plot idea, especially the whole Pits thing, it's a really unique spin on the Deatheater-rape-meeting things. You also seem to have really great dialogue. My only advice is to add a bit more detail so the conversations aren't as short and choppy. But I really like this story and I can't wait for an update!

Author's Response: thanks alot! I will try to add more detail, it was hard this first chapter with Albus/Maria, and Snape, and Addie all having different lives and days. Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #22, by the_artful_dodgerPoison Lips: Being Called a Chicken

6th July 2006:
At first I wasn't sure I wanted to read this, mainly because I don't usually read stories without banners (shallow, I know) lol. But I took a leap of faith and I really, really, like this story. I was quickly able to see Missy's and Severus' friendship and it was believeable. And I liked the involvement of the Marauders as well. Great story! I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you took the chance to read it. And it's not shallow cause usually I don't read stories without banners either...which is a stupid of me since I didn't have one either. But anyways, I am happy that you like the story. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by the_artful_dodgerBlood Lines: Painful Curiosity

31st May 2006:
ooo, this looks like it should be very interesting! I can't wait to find out who this girls is and what she has to do with Severus! Keep writing, this seems like it will be a good read!

 Report Review

Review #24, by the_artful_dodgerFor The Love Of Quidditch, For The Love Of Him: Chapter 1-This Means War

30th May 2006:
Hello! So far I am liking your story and seeing some serious potential. Though, I am having an issue with your dialogue that makes your story hard to read. It's difficult to determine exactly who is talking and I really don't know what you were trying to do with the bold because in my opinion it makes it even harder to read. But the plot seems like it should be very good, so you must keep up with this, though it would be nice if you ditched the bold lettering.

Author's Response: thank you very much for your reveiw. you havent the slightest idea how much your opinion helps me.

 Report Review

Review #25, by the_artful_dodgerNarcissa's Last: To Be a Pureblood

8th May 2006:
I wanted to let you know that I love this story. I love the way you portray the pureblood society... it's very realistic. I'm loooking forward to an update!


Author's Response: Its coming soon, I promise! I'll have to update my other story, Betrayal, first plus I have some one shots I'm working on, but its a constant thing, so it'll be out soon enough! Thanks!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>