Reading Reviews From Member: shade
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shadeHarry Potter and the Quest of Horcrux: Before the Departure

29th August 2005:
Hi there - first of all considering that English is not your first language you are doing an amazing job of utlizing a very interesting narrative style. It has a nice moody, dark tone to it that fits very well with the subject matter. It has an intersting flow to it also and I partiuclarly liked your use of dialogue when it came to Uncle Vernon so it even had a flash of humor in it. I'll send you a few further thoughts but this is a very interesting story and well worth continuing. Onto the next chapter and then email. Oh - another thing that really stands out in the "essential to a good story" is the small details you add. Bushy mustaches, etc. You don't overuse them but slip the details in and it makes the flow seem more natural.

 Report Review

Review #2, by shadeHarry Potter & the Assault on the Family Weasley: "Percy"

31st March 2005:
It's an interesting tale, Foritis. This chapter's a bit on the unrelentingly grim side. Admittedly, it's detailed and compelling nonetheless.

 Report Review

Review #3, by shadeHarry Potter & the Assault on the Family Weasley: "Gideon and Fabian Prewett"

31st March 2005:
The shorter chapters are helping with the pacing. There's a fair amount exposition in this chapter but that helps readers to understand the mythology from which you are working. Nicely done.

 Report Review

Review #4, by shadeHarry Potter & the Assault on the Family Weasley: "Molly"

31st March 2005:
Hey Fortis....shade22 is not me, hon :-) However, I like the start here, it has a very good progression and I liked the word choice because I found it to be particularly good in terms of conjuring a good mental picture for the readers right off the bat.

 Report Review

Review #5, by shadeHarry Potter and the Time of Second Chances: Autumn in December

24th February 2005:
Staff note: "???" I have recommended that your IP be banned from this site. If you are switching computers in order to avoid detection - that won't work either multiple IPs can be banned if need be.. You were given a warning and chose not to heed it. I'm sorry but that comes with consequences.

Author's Response: : D

 Report Review

Review #6, by shadeHarry Potter and the Time of Second Chances: Different Dudley, New Nightmare

19th February 2005:
Neville...hey there....if ??? shows up again please point them directly to the staff note I left in your review thread in the first chapter. Type at you later :-)

Author's Response: Thanks so much Shade! Don't know what I'd do without you : D

 Report Review

Review #7, by shadeHarry Potter and the Time of Second Chances: Different Dudley, New Nightmare

19th February 2005:
Staff Note - Hello "???" I have deleted all but one of your abusive reviews. This is so that if I ever find you abusing another author again accessing your IP in order to ban you from the site will be much easier. Do NOT abuse the review system, Do NOT abuse the authors here and this is your one and only warning. Even if you review anonymously your IP logs within our system. You have just been tagged for site/review/author abuse. I suggest, STRONGLY that you not do it again.

Author's Response: : D

 Report Review

Review #8, by shadeLegilimens: A Second Look

25th November 2004:
I'm very surprised. As I mentioned before I always shy away from younger/much older fics. You've done this so well though that the age factor becomes unimportant.

Snape's in character throughout but a really important element is how he perceives himself to be viewed and how that influences his actions. This is funny in parts, touching in others and ultimately packs a heck of a punch.

 Report Review

Review #9, by shadeA Fine Line Between Love and Hate: Interesting Lunch

12th October 2004:
Staff Note: All abusive reviews removed. All reviews regarding a subject other than stories on this site removed. All reviews containing inappropriate response removed.

In conclusion, good luck with your story. I am sorry that your review thread was abused as it was and in the future report abuse to the staff. I removed over 100 abusive reviews the vast majority of which had nothing whatsoever to do with the actual story. Please report this sort of behavior if it should happen again.

All registered authors involved in the abuse in this thread will be warned for violations of the ToS. - shade HPFF staff

 Report Review

Review #10, by shadeWinner!! Click Here for Your All Expenses Paid Vacation!: Theme Music and its Consequences

3rd October 2004:
I like the summary, I think the parody quotes are very funny and the premise is darned cute. Thought that I would drop by and comment after I just validated your second chapter.

It's one of the more imaginative humor fics we have going at present.

Read your reviews and your responses too. I figure that just must have been your parody of a "Thanks for not deleting me and instead helping me out with an edit." Right? Figured as much.

Author's Response: Wait....are you talking about the thing with poprockzwitch? I wasn't trying to be mean! In fact, I was really happy that you didn't delete my story. We were talking about at school how nice your email to me was! I swear I thought you were really nice. Ask poprockz! She can verify my story! Please don't be mad. Thank you for taking time for reviewing. I'm really excited that you think its one of the imaginative humor fics. It really means a lot! I hope you are not angry.

Truly and Humbled,
Mooning Moony


 Report Review

Review #11, by shadeChild of the Dark Blood: Surveillance

27th September 2004:
Alpha you did extraordinarily well with retooling this story. It lost none of it its impact and I personally think that it flows very well :-)

Author's Response: Thank you, I am humbly in your debt.

 Report Review

Review #12, by shadeLegilimens: A Pity

26th September 2004:
This is one of the few times I have read a sexual encounter between two characters in a story and felt that it was essential to the story. It's heartbreaking even though it is inevitable.

Very well done N_V_S, you drew the line on sexual content perfectly for an R rating and the reader gets to feel the emotional agony of BOTH characters in this. You make Snape human, you make Hermione fallible and you are telling a ripping good tale.

 Report Review

Review #13, by shadeSlytherin's Finest: Friendly Rivals

16th September 2004:
One of the things that makes a story enjoyable for me is the odd moment of description that makes it crackle with energy. For whatever reason I loved the moment where Narcissa fiddles with her jewelery. It's a casual reference but it brings across so much about what we already know about this woman. Way to do it without overkill Cariel!

 Report Review

Review #14, by shadeSlytherin's Finest: Casual Snog

16th September 2004:
Now, see, I had a great reason to re-read this story. Cariel, very nicely done. I'm enjoying seeing your write the MWPP era. Realistic dialogue and a nice momentum here! Again I ask, am I catching a whiff of satire? It's wonderfully subtle but I swear that's what I'm seeing. Three cheers!

 Report Review

Review #15, by shadeLegilimens: Manipulating the Mentor

31st August 2004:
::Gulp:: Okay the rising tension about the torturous curse is played out well. This of course means you had best update soon before we all perish from anxiety! This is a gripping tale, well told and well written. Since the style precludes the reader from knowing what Hermione is thinking it adds another element to the tension. Is she thinking of him as a father-figure, or is she simply discovering that he is admirable? Or is it something else? I guess I will have to wait and find out. ::::chews nails::::

Author's Response: Well, the title should give you a clue that Severus will at one point be peeking into Hermione's mind. I will say that for as talented as a Legilimens he is, he also has a lot of personal bias...so whether or not his interpretation will be correct will just have to wait for later chapters. I'm being such a tease, so I'll end with this...things have to get harder before they get better. Hmmm...still got any nails left to chew? ;) Natasha

 Report Review

Review #16, by shadeLegilimens: A Potion Behaves

30th August 2004:
The interaction between Snape and Hermione is fascinating. Once again I'm going to comment on the fact that you are not rushing this plot and that's crucial to the story being well told in my opinion. The humor in this works, Snape is still Snape but you've expanded him wonderfully. I personally really enjoy the moments of self examination that he goes through. You are also maintaining the character voices you have built perfectly. Very impressive work.

 Report Review

Review #17, by shadeLegilimens: Making Amends

30th August 2004:
I regularly check your story for updates in case a chapter has come in and I wasn't aware. I can't properly convey how much I enjoy this story.
Your writing is remarkable. In one moment I can be cringing from the stinging wrath of Snape, in another honestly moved by Snape's humanity and in still another laughing helplessly at the wit displayed throughout.
That this is all told from the first person perspective makes it all the more noteworthy. Excellent use of description combined with the feeling that we truly have a window into Snape's mind and heart. Extraordinarily well done.

 Report Review

Review #18, by shadeHarry Potter and the Quest of the Rogue Witch: The House of Echoes

26th August 2004:
Hi, I normally wouldn't do this :-) Thanks for your reviews Laura, I do appreciate them greatly but I really prefer if the people who know my first name don't use it on the site :-) Thanks for reading and reviewing though!

Author's Response: Thanks again Laura!

 Report Review

Review #19, by shadeLegilimens: Things go Downhill

7th August 2004:
I just thought I would chime in here officially. N_V_S, I personally think this is a rather remarkable story. Fantastic word useage and story structure. You aren't rushing your plot which is extremely important also. Plus, add to that the fact that you are dealing with a. a first person account (always tricky) b. subject matter that tends to make a lot of people very squeamish - myself included. However, you are doing so in such a manner that this is honestly a gripping tale. Great work.

Author's Response: Hi Shade, and many thanks for the review and your kind emails. I was hoping to say thanks, but didn't have your email, so this worked out rather nicely! Best, Natasha

 Report Review

Review #20, by shadeHarry Potter and the Infinitors' Invasion: The Seer Massacre Part II: Of Restoration and Rebirth

9th July 2004:
Holy...Fortis, this contains so many facets of love and life....and tragedy blended with comedy. Seinfeld reference spotted...."Oops I did it again." was hilarious yet still horrifying because of the implications....Yup, I'd say that writers block is gone! This one packed a punch on a LOT of levels.

 Report Review

Review #21, by shadeHarry Potter and the Infinitors' Invasion: The Seer Massacre Part I: Centaurs

9th July 2004:
YIKES! You literally just made me gasp. Hardcore, emotional devestation with action, a great cliffhanger! Onwards I go quickly! Well done!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by shadeHarry Potter and the Infinitors' Invasion: The Seer Massacre: Prologue

9th July 2004:
I think that in Fortis words to Sirius and Phim you capture something incredibly important. Tough choices in life have to be made and without apology. You have to know your priorities, it's clear throughout that the members of Life Force do know that essentially particular job has to take precedence over evertyhing. Everyone's grown up well, expanded. Tiny bit nerve jangling too :-) I mean that in a good way. Nice way to build suspense.

 Report Review

Review #23, by shadeHarry Potter and the Infinitors' Invasion: The Seer Massacre Part III: The Only One He Ever Loved

9th July 2004:
Hey....yes, occasionally I descend from the rafters and review. I had to on this one because for one thing, that was a really cool, subtle shout-out to the Dead Zone. Wonderful references to Mythology AND pop culture.....but most importantly, for me personally? My fanfic friend here put into words something I tried to convey ...and I confess, I think you did it better than I did on an emotional level. Megan, a character I created, truly did find the love of her life in Atticus....and you did him justice....you completely capture who Phim really is at heart, too. But beyond my interpretation Fortis, I have to say this is perhaps the most emotionally successful chapter I've ever seen from you...and you've written some really good ones.....but here, people wear their hearts on their sleeves unabashedly ....but with humor and kindness. Exceptionally well done from a writing standpoint....and I am not just saying that because we're friends, or some of those folks are characters I created. I created them, but you got to know them. You let the reader get to know everyone in this chapter ....Sirius, Remus....everyone is emotionally accessible without being drippy. Extraordinary Fortis, truly. Your imagination takes flight, you blend things well.....if a perfect stranger were to read this, I doubt they would fail to be moved. It contains every human emotion worth having....love, bravery, goodness.....it's there, not smothering you to death but conveyed nonethless. Hat's off to you here Fortis, you can in fact, do it all.

Author's Response: Im blushing a huge shade of red right now. Thanks. I am glad you approve of how I handled your characters. Thanks again for letting me use them.

 Report Review

Review #24, by shadeLove in Dark Times: Chapter One: Carnage

13th June 2004:
Good work, well written and with nice details. Hey, tweaking canon a bit is fine! Just tell the tale well :-) Looks like you are off to a fine start.

 Report Review

Review #25, by shadeHarry Potter and the Daughter of Darkness: Power and Responsibility

25th March 2004:
Actually P.S. it is quite good....the mystery builds....I love Harry's trying to reason out attraction to Luna (which I think we all know has no true 'reason' or 'logic' attached to it in real life).....and I'm DYING to know who Tom is because frankly, I just can't believe it is Tom Riddle....that's too....Ginny Weasley....and there's something so wonderfully enigmatic about him.

Author's Response: Wow am I glad I have positive responses to this chapter because seriously just decided right it's been far too long to not update, better do it now and so it wasn't a nicely planned chapter. Yes that's what I wanted people to notice, about the logic thing, because of course whether he htinks he should like Luna is another matter to whether he does, it'll just take him a while to figure that out (now I've gone and said too much! Ah well, I'm not going to delete it). On the matter of Tom, I'm not saying anything, well except that he's not Voldemort but I think that is kind of obvious by how unvoldemort like he acts. However he has the name Tom for a reason (he didn't actually have the name when I first wrote the chapter but then I decided this would give it an extra twist, of course what 'this' is I'm not saying, see if you can work it out on that). And thanks for continuing to review for me.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>