Reading Reviews From Member: Ignatz
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by IgnatzHardboiled: Hardboiled

22nd September 2009:
Somewhere, Raymond Chandler is doing half-gainers. That was FUNNY! I love pastiche pieces, and the little hint of kink at the end was perfect.

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by IgnatzThe Road Home: Whispers In The Dark

13th November 2008:
I was going to offer reviews at the end of each chapter, but I couldn't stop reading. This is very good stuff. The premise is believable, the plotting is tight, and the characters are all well elaborated. All in all, a thriller worthy of Faye Kellerman! Several hundred out of ten for you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by IgnatzDobby's Treasure: Dobby's Treasure

11th July 2007:
Oh my. Oh yum. Seriously tasty writing here, from a woefully underused perspective. You provide a great context for Dobby in very few words, you give us a sense of his abiding sorrow and fear, and a taste of his burning hope. Eleven out of ten for you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by IgnatzBaby, It's Cold Outside: Baby, It's Cold Outside

7th February 2007:
Oh, this is brilliant!

Songfics, if done well, can be really good fiction, and you've done very well. Actually incorporating the song lyrics into the dialogue... sheer genius! And of course, it's hard to beat good jazz. (BTW, Homer and Jethro did a bluegrass verson of this with June Carter that is absolutely hilarious.) Top marks for you!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! I thought it would be a cool idea to put the lyrics right into the dialouge. I haven't heard the other version of this, I'll have to go look it up sometime. Thanks so much for the review again :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by IgnatzWhy do you Leave Me?: Why Do You Leave Me?

7th February 2007:
All in all... pretty good. Nice twist ending, and the concern from all parties is well-presented. But how did Ron and Hermione end up in a romantic relationship? Can you tell some of that story? They've gone from incessant arguing in HBP to romantic, possibly sexual involvement, and the transition is a bit jarring. You've done a good job of laying out the bones of the story, and again, the ending is a good touch. Thanks for making me smile.

Author's Response: thanks so much for the great response first of all. :) I thought that getting into the whole pre-relationship of the story might make it drag on and I wanted to get to the point. However, I might do a prequel to this story for explanation sake. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #6, by IgnatzThe Unexpected Gift: The Unexpected Gift

7th February 2007:
Nice touch! You write well, and you gave a nice little insight into the mind of an old, weary man. It was an unexpected pleasure. Great little story, in all.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by IgnatzHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Au revoir and Adieu

6th February 2007:
Nice wrap-up, though the package is a bit messy. Nice job with Scrimgeour; I always thought he was a Roderick Spode in the making. We'll just have to wait until you get the 100,000 hits to see what happens...

Author's Response: Messy is what real life is like! Thanks for the great reviews (PTSD!?) and I hope you'll chack back in the future for the sequel and other short stories. Fish.

 Report Review

Review #8, by IgnatzHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: We Two, Part 2

20th December 2006:
Absofreakinlutely brilliant. Again. You are bar none the most courageous fanfic writer I've ever come across. Your plotting is incredible. This and the other chapter... sublime. 'Nuff said.

Author's Response: I'd probably use the word 'mean' as opposed to corageous due to the fact that I'm always putting the characters through the mincer! Glad you're still reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by IgnatzHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: The Fatal Fury

20th November 2006:
Yowch. Remember when I expressed concern over the possibility of PTSD for Ron? Forget I said that. Nothing like killing off a character to solve all his problems. This read like "All Quiet on the Western Front". Good show, man!

Author's Response: Remember? I almost laughed my socks off! That review you left has to be one of the top five reviews I've ever received! Somebody has just asked if I'd consider writing a sequel. If I did it would have to be even darker than this one due to the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder! Thnaks for reading and reviewing. :-)

 Report Review

Review #10, by IgnatzHarry Potter and Hope For the End: After The End

27th September 2006:
Welcome to the Dark Side! Now you have another website to conquer! BWAHAHAHAHA!

Author's Response: Let's hope so - thanks for all your help!

 Report Review

Review #11, by IgnatzI broke his mug... again!: Iím going to say Hi. Then Iím going to kiss him again.

30th August 2006:
This is great stuff! I like the use of the journal as a plot device, and the way you pile twist upon twist upon twist. You have a fine appreciation of comic timing. This is especially impressive work given that English is your second language. I doubt I could write so well in Portuguese. (I know I couldn't write this well in Portuguese because I don't speak Portuguese. Spanish, however...) Great writing, keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #12, by IgnatzThe Big Bad Wolf: The Big Bad Wolf

29th August 2006:
Oh, this is tasty. Nice use of lyrics to create tension, you do an excellent job of maintaining the character's perspective, and there's just enough humor to keep the reader from drowning in the angst. Your ending was especially neat, tying Remus' hopes for fatherhood back to his childhood memories. More, please!

Author's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review! I'm glad to hear that you liked and particularly what you liked about it! I"m sorry to say that this is just a one-shot, but thank you for your kind input.

 Report Review

Review #13, by IgnatzThe Door to Chaos: Chapter 3 Ė It's an Animal Thing

22nd August 2006:
Pretty good! I'm not familiar with the Riddick-verse, but you're doing a good job with the crossover. I'm going to keep following this one!

Author's Response: wow cool, that means a lot coming from you (I love your ongoing fic " A blues for my father", its in my favorites already, you do an awsome job. Alas the canon character Riddick is a big potty-mouth in the movies as well - Chronicles of Riddick, Pitch Black and Dark Fury - so in order to keep him believable for Riddick fans I have to keep him swearing...I think this is putting people off here. Looking forward to more feedies from you (ok hoping for them) and I'll make sure to leave feedback as well :)
See ya around
Magicflute


 Report Review

Review #14, by IgnatzIncertus Cruoris: Uncertain Murder: What Are You Doing Here?

4th August 2006:
You know, this kind of reminds me of Donald Westlake's Dortmunder novels. You know John Dortmunder is a scumbag, you know what he's doing is wrong, but you can't help but cheer him on. Your characterizations are excellent, your writing flows very well, and you've got just enough humor to leaven the angst and tension. I wasn't sure how Mariya broke his nose, though; did she give him a face full of dandruff? Just wondering.

Author's Response: yeah, sorry about that. what happened was a headbutt so hard that it broke Malfoy's nose, but perhaps I should try and make it a little clearer.

 Report Review

Review #15, by IgnatzGive Us A Kiss, Minerva!: Give Us A Kiss, Minerva!

18th July 2006:
You. Are. Barking. Raving. Mad. I knew there was a reason I liked your stuff! I got a number of strange looks while reading this! What yuo did to Filch... oh, the poor man!

Author's Response: Hee! Your comments make me smile, Ignatz! Yeah, I tended to giggle a bit when writing Filch's part here -- can't you just picture it?! Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by IgnatzThe Dark Side of Harry Potter: Alien Experiences

17th July 2006:
Good stuff! Hard to believe this is your second language. Your characterizations are excellent, and your handling of the more intimate material is quite tasteful. It's too bad the mods take so long to work...

Author's Response: Oh, thank you SO much, Ignatz! You're a great writer, and I'm happy to receive praise from someone I admire...I have to tell you, it's not the mods fault if chapter ten isn't here still... just mine...and a bit my beta who's taking forever to fix it! Hopefully in a few days I'll be able to post it! Thanks for your read&review, it was much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #17, by IgnatzHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: A Parting of Ways

5th July 2006:
Hoo boy. Moody's setting everybody up for some serious PTSD later, if they survive this. Gripping, as always.

Author's Response: There you've hit the nail on the head! If people do go on to suffer from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder it will at least mean that they won. Anyway, what do you think it is which gives Moody his sunny disposition? ;-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by IgnatzIllusions of Love: Illusions of Love

28th June 2006:
Wow. Excellent insight into a much-maligned character. It would have been very easy to paint her as just another predatory fangirl, but you've handled her quite nicely. I like the fact that she's smart as well as socially apt; that tends to be considered mutually exclusive in a lot of fanfics. Nicely done. For this I give you eleven out of ten.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for the wonderful review! =) I guess the whole reason I wrote it was to contradict that stereotype - I get so sick of seeing her portrayed as a brainless bimbo. I'm glad you agree. =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by IgnatzEternal Love: Prologue

26th June 2006:
Good lead-in so far, you've got my attention! And at long last, someone's telling Sir Nick's story! Keep at it, this looks good!

Author's Response: Thanks! I cant wait to write about him...I hate the way the movie's portrayed him, I think that there could be so much more to him, so that's what I'm trying to show. I hope you read the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #20, by IgnatzDeath Is Kissing Her Children to Sleep: <b>Death Is Kissing Her Children to Sleep</b>

23rd June 2006:
Oh my. Oh yum. Dr. Lecter, I think we have some dinner guests for you... no, not that way, put down the Stryker saw! Seriously, that was right up there with Thomas Harris' depictions of Francis Dolarhyde. I have chills.

Author's Response: Ahhh . . . a fellow lover of the macabre. This juicy thang was both extraordinary fun . . . and immensely disturbing to write. Thanks for the feedback!

 Report Review

Review #21, by IgnatzWish You Were Here: Wish You Were Here

13th June 2006:
Not bad! The use of Pink Floyd is a refreshing change from a lot of the bubblegum pop that shows up in songfics. You do a good job showing Harry and Ginny's conflicting emotions. Only problem is the story doesn't go anywhere. They're just sitting and thinking. I think you've got the beginning of something larger here. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Wow! Someone who actually seems to know who Pink Floyd are and gives me actual advice! Thanks! I am aware this doesn't go anywhere. I wrote this very early in my still fledging writing days, and was simply experimenting with using an artist that wasn't bloddy bubblegum pop. But you may have just given me a brilliant idea...also expect a Who songfic sometime soon. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by IgnatzHermione's Days: Big News

5th June 2006:
Not a bad start, in all. But is Ron really that thick, or is he just keeping quiet? Ron is not stupid, otherwise Hermione wouldn't be attracted to him in the first place. Perhaps he should surprise her...

Author's Response: Ron, i find, is a bit dim at times. Plus, Hermione isn't showing yet. Thanks, though, for the critisism. Makes my work sooo much better!

 Report Review

Review #23, by IgnatzHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: Time for a Breather

26th May 2006:
Wow. Just...wow. Not everyone has the ability to move between the sweeping, epic scope and the personal, but you're pulling it off. I especially like the way you've turned Moody into a grumpy old Cincinnatus. You also haven't fallen into the trap of not letting the principals get permanently injured. And we're only halfway through the story... wow!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm sure there are many out there who don't much care for what I'm doing with this story and the characters, but it is coming about as I had hoped it would. I've been criticised for killing Arthur and maiming Hermione, Ron, Percy etc, but I've always said that without the very real possibility of loss there can be no suspense. Remember, I did write in the summary that there would be character deaths and as you've pointed out, we haven't finished yet!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login