Reading Reviews From Member: hedwidgeon
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hedwidgeonSomething Worth Fighting For: Chapter 1

27th December 2013:
This is a truly lovely start to a longer fic! You're absolutely right, you can't really begin a post-battle fic without taking into account all the grief that results from the battle. I think you did a very good job with that here, I definitely got a bit teary-eyed at multiple points.

The things that stood out to me most were things like Ginny stealing Ron's Cleansweep Eleven, Harry watching Ginny's dot on the Map, details like that--those, I think, really make a fic and you're doing a great job with those.

Also, I can really see George taking over planning the funeral, and everyone dressing as they want for it. That seemed so very fitting.

Good work so far, keep writing :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review, I am glad you liked it! I am glad that the little details stood out to you, because those are what I always love the most about stories.
I love that George's character seemed accurate, I really wanted to stay true to everyone's spirit, so I am glad to hear that :)
Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by hedwidgeonDevelop, Stop, Fix: develop, stop, fix

18th June 2012:
This is beautiful. For a long time after DH I didn't give Colin a second thought but he sort of crept up on me, and I've been thinking about him for quite a while now, with the result that I wrote him a little fic of my own, but this one is just so beautiful. I've read a bit into some of your other fics and this is quite a different style but you write it wonderfully; it is just as difficult as it should be considering the subject matter but it doesn't get bogged down by that. I really enjoyed this, thank you. (:

Author's Response: thank you so much :3 I've always had a soft spot for colin and I'd been tempted to write him for so long, but it took me ages to get anything down onto paper. I'm really glad you liked it and thank you so much for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by hedwidgeonJust Harry: Just Harry

23rd December 2011:
Oh man, this was beautiful. The line "Nor was he the "Boy that Lived" or the "Chosen One"; those titles died with Voldemort" actually gave me chills. As well as the end, reconnecting the "Just Harry" bit back to Sorcerer's Stone really made it for me. Great work, I loved this (:

Author's Response: Thank you x 100. I'm really happy this story is inspiring emotion in people. I set out to just add that little piece that I thought was missing in the last book.

Thanks for taking the time to review!

-Em


 Report Review

Review #4, by hedwidgeonPainting: Painting

7th August 2011:
This was beautiful! Luna is such a difficult character to write but this sounded so natural, like you really got into her mindset not only from the perspective that she really simply believes the things she says that everyone else finds crazy, but also the unique outlook she has on friendship. What surprised me (in a really good way) was the sort of twist at the end there, where suddenly she's facing family as well as friendship, and it's so incredibly touching and sad that those can't quite reconcile. That's really something that defines Luna, her family and their beliefs and the fact that her mother is dead, but through the books (especially with DH) you see the way friendship defines her, too, and I think you brought that across beautifully in this fic. Amazing job, I will be back to reread this (:

Author's Response: I've always found Luna difficult to write, so this one-shot was a wee bit of a challenge. Luna, it seems to me, gets a bit short-changed in fanfiction - a lot of people write her as a childish ditz with her head screwed on the wrong way, but I actually think Luna's quite mature and grounded as a character. In a way, she's the sanest - she has the ability to see people for what they really are and often gives the best advice (things we lose have a funny way of coming back to us...) etc. I agree, friendship is what defines her. I suppose I just wanted to write about that - how I see Luna (she's my favourite character, haha!). I'm really, really glad you enjoyed it and thank you so much for such a lovely review (and I see you've left another one!) ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by hedwidgeonGlass: Glass

20th March 2011:
wow, this is one of the most beautifully written pieces of fanfiction I've ever read. I really love the precision of your words. I loved the continuity between each section. Reading this kind of makes me want to get back into reading (and maybe writing) fanfiction myself - for the purpose of exploring the lesser known characters, like you did here, with such clear and beautiful writing. Great work (:

Author's Response: oh wow, thank you so very much! it's hugely flattering to hear that you'd condsider returning to fanfic after reading this. I hope you do because I'm sure your writing is as beautiful as your graphics :)

I really enjoyed writing this piece so I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed reading it too :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by hedwidgeonCharming Minnie: Charming Minnie

30th August 2010:
Awesome! The Marauders were brilliant, incredibly believable, and your language captured Sirius perfectly! I'm adding this to my favorites, this will undoubtedly be something I come back to reread whenever I'm in the mood for something funny and Marauderish. Great work (:

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!!! I was really worried that I couldn't pull him off at all, that's so reassuring to hear! Reviews like this completely make my day, thank you so much love! I'm really glad you enjoyed the piece :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by hedwidgeonNot My Malfoy: Through the Fabric of Time

3rd January 2010:
oh jeez, this is such a great start! adding to my favorites :D you've got so many opportunities with this story and i can't wait to see where you take it. your style of writing is really nice, i find hermione's voice very easy to read and engaging. i like the chapter length too. awesome job, again, can't wait for an update (:

Author's Response: Hello! Oh wow, thanks! I am glad you are excited to see what happens!! I will try to keep the chapter length long ^_^ Theres so much coming up that that shouldnt be much of a problem haha

Thanks for leaving a review!!
~~Chelsea


 Report Review

Review #8, by hedwidgeonCharity Burbage.: Losing Charity.

25th July 2009:
OOOMG. I can't believe it took me so long to get around to reading this, after I gave you the ufg banner for it D: And this is seriously beautiful, Gia, really. Like pretty much everyone else, I never imagined the Charity/Snape pairing, but you pulled it off really really well. Your description was beautiful, and the portrayal of Snape was spot-on, and so well written and consistent with canon. It feels like it was just taken right out of the book, so perfect. Wonderful job hon, I give it an O :P

 Report Review

Review #9, by hedwidgeonHarry Missed You: III: You Can't See the Bride Before the Wedding

5th November 2007:
ak;sflksadfl;asldhf;alskdfhlkasjdfh !!! SQUE! (i wouldve made that longer but i dont want to stretch the page) -squeaks and splutters incoherently- I LOVE IT!!! omg that was so wonderful. I just reread pretty much the entire thing, since I'd fogotten how much i loved this story and now I'm just exploding with happiness. Perfect, perfect, perfect! Can I marry this story? Please? Pretty please? ...well even if i cant, I still love it and I will miss it SO much when its over. But I will reread it. Many times. Yes, I will. The only thing that i dont like is the banner, which made me cringe. Actually a lot of the banners i made a while ago that decorate your page are making me cringe. If they make you cringe too, I'd advise for you to go to TDA and rerequest at the Giant Eraser. -hint hint- kay, i'm sorry, it's just I've come so far since I made some of these banners that they're starting to hurt my eyes. Oh dear, I'm crazy. I wouldnt mind if you requested from someone else though, but if you want me to redo them, check it out at tda, its pretty cool. Okay, enough ranting on my part, and I'm going to go reread some more. You cant imagine how fuzzy I'm feeling rereading this :D definitely a million/10 :P

Author's Response: Lol thanks so much Hed =) Been there alllllll the way for me =Grins=
NO! I ♥ my banners by you.
But if I write more, I will request your newer ones if it makes you happy xD I'd never ask anyone else to make them!!!!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by hedwidgeonLet Your Fantasies Unwind: Brawls

3rd September 2007:
NO!!! Not a cliffy!! You evil person, you...

...and I hope I dont have to say how much I enjoyed this chapter :D loved that fight between Parvati and Lavender xD and Ron, he was hilarious. I still can't get over Harry The Dancer! Great job :P

xx heddy

Author's Response: I loved the fight between Pavarti and Lavender. That was funn to write. And I can't wait to write Harry dancing. That's gonna be a blast! Thanks, hun!

 Report Review

Review #11, by hedwidgeonYour Guardian Angel: Your Guardian Angel

19th August 2007:
Lovely. Really nice. I love how you wrote this for Draco, because he really does deserve it. It was really canon, and I love how he told Scorpius to be nice to the Potter children. It was so well written - great job :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I´m so glad you share my view on Draco and his character; I just love him too much to let him go. Oh well, thank you again for the lovely review!

~Linnéa


 Report Review

Review #12, by hedwidgeonHarry Missed You: III: Mood Swings and Kisses

15th August 2007:
Aw :D That was relaly cute - the way Ginny listed all that he'd done was pretty hilarious xD I love how Hermione went in to talk to Harry, and then he felt guilty about Ginny, it was really well written. And I love how Ron doesn't trust them at all :D awesome chappie :P

Author's Response: Lol - thank you so much.

Wow, aren't my review replies so elaborate?


 Report Review

Review #13, by hedwidgeonHer Little Heart: Her Little Heart

5th August 2007:
Beautiful. Absolutely wonderful. I loved this - it could be part of DH it's so perfect. The elf-speak is perfect, and your description was wonderful. I loved how WInky was standing up for Dobby, and her comparison to the tide. I loved that. Great job. Now I can just imagine her visiting his grave...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad I was able to get the elf-speak down... *sniffles* That's such a sad image, Winky sitting next to Dobby's grave. :(

 Report Review

Review #14, by hedwidgeonThe Room of Requirement: Room of Requirement

23rd July 2007:
If you don't mind me saying, it's the most pointless story I have read in my life!! And I love it! From the summary, I was already grinning, and this is just plain hilarious. You know, you never do think of the Room of Requirement of having feelings, and this was just plain awesome. I loved it. It was a bit short - I'd try making it a bit longer. But other than that, this was hilarious. I loved it, great job :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I didn't know whether it was funny enough to go under "humour" or not...but i'll change that now lol...I know the story was pointless...but pointlessness rocks! I will definitely make it longer! Thank you!

~Cedrics_gurl~


 Report Review

Review #15, by hedwidgeonA Tearstained Letter: Confessions

17th July 2007:
Holy wow. That was absolutely amazing. You had me crying there, seriously. This was so well written and so in character. The song goes really well with the fic, and you did a great job. This is so beautifully written. I love the idea of the tree, it's so sweet. This is such an amazing story, I love it. There were a few spelling and grammar things, but nothing major. I've still got tears in my eyes, that was so incredibly wonderful to read. Great job.

Author's Response: *Grabs tissue* That is the nicest review I have ever had! I can't believe I actually made you cry, I'm sorry!! Thanks for ponting out my spelling/grammar errors, I will edit them :D Oh my gosh, thank you so much!!

Eep!

Caitlin


 Report Review

Review #16, by hedwidgeonDeath By Pickles: Death By Pickles

7th July 2007:
That was so cute! What an adorable story. I love how you wrote this and the idea is so adorable. I always have loved the Ron/Luna ship and you wrote it so well! Adding it to my favorites :D

Author's Response: hey! yeah, i like ron/luna too... though harry/luna is better i think. :] i really should get around to writing one of those some time.

 Report Review

Review #17, by hedwidgeonHorrible Horcrux: What we Never Fathomed

23rd June 2007:
Wow. That was really powerful. I loved it. The way you wrote it, your description, the idea... It was really well done. I love your description, I could picture everything. Very nice. And it was so well written, so powerful, and really realistic. I could really imagine this happening. It's really sad though!! But I love the letters. That was really sweet. Ginny was really in character. I loved this so much. It's on my favorites, and 10/10. Great job, hun :)

Author's Response: Ohh, thanks loff! You rock so hard. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hedwidgeonHarry Potter and the Wrath of Voldemort: Born To Those Who Thrice Defied Him

18th June 2007:
I almost died when I saw that you haven't updated since like 2 years ago. Seriously. This a really great story - I started reading this afternoon when I got home from school (only 2 more days till summer :D) and haven't stopped since. Your style is amazing - really great description. I noticed some grammar issues mainly in the first chapter, but they weren't that big. I think you could improve on characterization a bit - Dumbledore seems a bit OOC, unless he was supposed to be that way. Other than that though I was really amazed. This is a really incredible story - you have a great plot going on here and I'd absolutely have loved to read the rest. But I guess that's not going to happen now. Let me tell you though - this is the best fic I've read in a while. I was in my sister's room reading this and I swear she thought I was going crazy - one second I was dying of fear that Harry was gonna die in Peru and the next I'm crying because Megan looks so much like his mother. Then I'm yelling "NO!!!" at the computer because I'm an obsessive H/G and R/Hr shipper and things aren't going my way... Again, I'm going to obsess over your style :D You wrote this fic so well. My favorite parts were when Voldemort and the Death Eaters were attacking. You wrote those scenes so well it was just... gah. I felt like I was really there. It was so incredibly realistic and totally well done. Then I also loved that part where Harry's laying in bed and can't sleep (in chapter 7). The way you wrote that scene, honestly... I totally freaked when Hedwig showed up. I thought Voldemort was going to attack or something. And then the part about Kreacher. Incredible. Seriously. I don't think I've been so into a fic in a long, long time. I want to say so much more, basically resulting in my convincing you to post the rest and keep writing, but I guess the chances for that are pretty slim, aren't they? Well, as you can obviously tell, I enjoyed this story a lot. Thanks for writing it - what a nice way to spend a Monday afternoon, going absolutely insane over this amazing story xD But seriously, I have to tell you - when I went down to eat dinner just now, my mom was seriously worried about what had been causing me to scream, laugh, cry, and yell all afternoon. Great job. ...Well, I guess that's it. I'm going to add this to my favorites and reread it a couple hundred billion times. And maybe leave a few more reviews. And about your long chapters - I have always wondered how some people can do that. I always struggle to get my chapters to be 2,000 words - how can you just end up with a 10,000 word chapter? It's incredible! Okay, I'm really going to stop now. I never know how to conclude a review xD Umm... great job. Yeah. That sounds about right. Okay, I'll shut up. :D *sighs* Wish you'd continue... *hint hint* -love, heddy

Author's Response: Hahahahaha! This was truly the best review i've EVER seen...ANYWHERE lol! No seriously, it's soooo appreciated and i'm truly flattered. For a moment there i even felt as though i should continue with it just to say thankyou! But hey. I can't even remember how i was going to end this now to be honest. (i've still got my notes lying around somewhere though) I just remember that DD was going to die, and i had a massive war at Hogwarts planned around christmas time. I actually started writing my version of book 7 a couple months ago (bad timing i know) But trust me if you liked this one you would have loved it! I had sooo many ideas it was unbelievable! Anyway thats that plan out of the window. I'm plannning to write a follow up of the final book though. It's only gonna be short but hey maybe you'll be interested? I won't put a date on it though. I plan to re-read the whole series before i start. Anyway thank you sooo much for the great review! i'm still grinning now. You've definitely put me back in he writing mood! Oh yeah and yes Dumbledore was supposed to be OOC...for now anyway. Thanks again

 Report Review

Review #19, by hedwidgeonHarry Missed You: III: Babysitting Terrors

25th May 2007:
NO! NOOO! NO! Don't kill her please, don't kill her!! PLease!! Holy ah, that was really unexpected, and kinda shocking, but it fits in well, adn please let Harry rescue her! Sorry, I just watched Pirates 3 so I'm kinda hyper from 3 hours of sitting still, lol... But, as always, this chapter was genius. I still love your style and everything, and it's really sweet (and sad then) how they all cared so much for Ginny and Kassy. I hope you'll update soon, the suspense is killing me!!
~heddy

Author's Response: Lol =D I'm watching Pirates 3 in ... 3 hours!! lol! Hooray!!!! Thanks so much, but your stories are so much more genius than mine lol!

 Report Review

Review #20, by hedwidgeonHer Name Is Petunia: December

24th May 2007:
Ooh, another great chapter!! I love this story, it's so perfect. I can seriously imagine everything in here happening - for now, it's not AU t all, really. It's really sad how Harry's called back on Christmas, but I guess that's just the way it is... I hope they catch the Death Eaters!! Great chapter, the characterization is perfect and I love your style. Please continue updating!!
~Heddy

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! I'm going to be updating things soon- things have just been crazy, because I just had a band concert and finals are coming up and whatnot...

 Report Review

Review #21, by hedwidgeonRevelations: Discovery

24th May 2007:
Hello! Even though I just saw you like half an hour ago, I'm still reviewing :) and I finished the banner, so you can post it up now witht he 3rd chappie :D um. I still love it :D lol, hurry and update and stuff. See ya in a few days!
-"heddy"

Author's Response: Yup, banner and chapter. It will probably be up later today (that's the 25th)... So, if you're on right now, you can check it out and review and such.

 Report Review

Review #22, by hedwidgeonHer Name Is Petunia: Happy Birthday, Harry!

20th May 2007:
this is such a sweet story!! I love it. Great job with the characterization and all that - it's really well done. The idea of Andromeda and Billy is so cute!! I love it. I can't wait for an update :D

Author's Response: Eh... parents always do that kind of thing when their kids are little... and then they bring it up at the most awkward times...

 Report Review

Review #23, by hedwidgeonRevelations: Weakness

16th May 2007:
YAY!! It's UP! Wheee!! Okay, I know I've already read the entire thing, but hey, I have to review just because. :D Sooo... I still love it! well-written, nice style, nice fic... okay, I'll shut up now. Btw, you might want to add a disclaimer just in case. Did you know that the OotP premiere is in LA? It would be SO cool if we could go :D See ya tomorrow!

Author's Response: Oh yeah, a disclaimer! I forgot! :D Ooh, first--and only?--review. Yay!

 Report Review

Review #24, by hedwidgeonHarry Missed You: III: 'Brilliant' Babysitting and Bursting Into the Bathroom

28th April 2007:
Oooh!! Good luck with the performance! But about the chapter... Nice!! I like it!! Everyone was very in character. I like the little twists, and I feel really bad for Harry and Ginny... but as always, it's brilliantly written and you always have that humor in there somewhere that makes it so much better. I love it!! :D

Author's Response: Lol - thanks a lot. We're preforming on THURSDAY already!! Ack! lol! Thanks for the review ... I'm still dying to read more of your story though ... =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by hedwidgeonMy Summer with the Marauders: Fast Food and Flying Shampoo

5th April 2007:
OHHH!!! You updated! My horrible day just got a lot better! :D Awesome chapter! I love how you keep showing each individual personality so well. and the Marauders are seriously hilarious! You have a great style and I love this fic to death. I can't wait for the 6th chappie!! Oh, and a 10/10 of course :D

Author's Response: I'm glad that I made your day better, but I hope that it wasn't to horrible.*is concerned* Thank you so much for all the compliments and the wonderful rating. :) It's reviews like this that make my day. :D Sixth chappie coming soon.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>