Reading Reviews From Member: Hazel Black
67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hazel BlackAnd All That Jazz: Acting, Lying, And All That Jazz

10th September 2016:
I'm so happy you've gotten back to this story! Aria and James are just so adorbs...
And I so hope Jett can just find a nice girl and be happy and lovey and leave James and Aria alone to do their own thing. I can wish, right?
Totally breaks my heart that he's just outright ignoring Aria :(
Super excited for the next chapter and especially the party! Amazing work as always :)

Author's Response: me to ♥ i promise i'll never just abandon them
hahaha, yes, you can wish. we'll see if that wish actually comes true, though ;)
well, yeah. but he's hurt. so we'll forgive him.
thank you so much for the review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hazel BlackThe Howler: The Pun Also Rises

11th May 2016:
Hilarious! Couldn't stop laughing... good ol' Uncle Harry, those puns were pure genius. Great work!

Author's Response: Hi Hazel!

Awe! Thank you! I'm glad that this story made you laugh!! I definitely had a good time writing Harry being super embarrassing and a bunch of bad puns!

Thanks so much for R&R'ing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Hazel BlackGet in Line: Drunk and Disorderly

30th January 2016:
“You summoned me, master?”

Oh my god... literally couldn't stop laughing at that. This story is too funny, I love it!

And omg Jordan and James I was like squee!

Ahem... so yeah :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hazel BlackBoys, Dragons, and Other Mysterious Creatures: Chapter One

30th January 2016:
Wow, I really enjoyed this chapter. There were so many different emotions in here, and I think you did a really great job of portraying them all.

I feel like we really get to know the characters here without being overloaded with too much information. Their personalities are really well thought out and defined.

I just adore the relationship between Nali and Aleksander, it's gorgeous really, I hope they stay close.

I'm so interested to see what happens with Louis, and just to see what happens in Nali's future in general. This is so different to anything I've read, and it's really well written.

Really great work, I'll be waiting for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi Hazel! Thank you so much for the favorite and lovely review. It made me smile. :) The idea for this story just kind of hit me the other night so I decided to go with it. I'm glad you're interested in it so far! Nali and Aleksander have a very pure relationship because they respect the other. He's kind of angsty and has some of his own issues that we'll deal with later on, but they'll get through them together. I'll be adding a chapter image of him up soon so hopefully you can see what I picture him to look like.

Louis is such a beautiful little fool haha I don't know why, but that's just how I've always pictured him. I'm working on the next chapter so it should be posted this week! Thanks again for your kind words. Have a great weekend! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hazel BlackMoon and Tide: Track 2: New Year's Resolutions

30th January 2016:
I really love the intro to this chapter, great description. The descriptions of the characters little quirks are great too, especially Celia with her weird cactuses and flowers. Haha! And the little chat with James was cute, I laughed at the awkwardness but love how they have something in common.

That line that Isabel said to Anya was great.

“Why in God’s name would you want to spend sixty five galleons on such an ugly bag?”

Totally shows a feisty side. Great work on this chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!! I'm really glad you liked the intro and also Isabel's line because that whole scene was pretty fun to write haha. Thank you so much! xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hazel BlackMoon and Tide: Track 1: the Black Cat

23rd January 2016:
I love love LOVE that your main OC Astrid is a Slytherin. And even better that's she's the Slytherin Quidditch Captain!

I thought your first chapter was great, you introduced just enough information about the characters and their different personalities without bombarding us readers. I'm so impressed that this is your first fanfic!

I also really like the way you set the scenes with the little details, it really makes the story enjoyable to read. Can't wait to see what James will be like when he's introduced!

Great work! I'll be waiting for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! I completely agree that us Slytherins don't get enough positive representation! Chapter two should be up sooon, I hope it doesn't disappoint! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hazel BlackFluorescent Adolescent : unbroken and wild

20th January 2016:
Oh I love Oscar... That Mean Girls reference was so perfect haha and how great was Effy and James dancing! Although him and Dalia again? Ugh.

My fave lines:

“Hey!” cried Scorpius, who had also come up to kiss Aspen. “It’s like a convention of all the boys Effy’s been on a date with!”

I was not the mayor of the friend-zone, I was the Queen, the King, and all of the government’s parties.

Love it!

Author's Response: I AM GENUINELY BLUSHING AT MY 2013 WRITING. I AM SO SORRY. wooow this needs a major rewrite!

but thank you so, so much for yet another insanely kind review. you're the best! i hope the rest doesn't disappoint ♥ thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hazel BlackFluorescent Adolescent : little sisters

20th January 2016:
Wow I loved the Quidditch match, so much action! And how amazing of James to catch Effy! eek... I'm sensing someone's catching the feelings. Wonderful chapter, I'll be reading on!

Author's Response: thank you so much for another lovely lovely chapter!! ahhh!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hazel BlackFluorescent Adolescent : saturdays

19th January 2016:
I love that Effy and James danced together, so much tension! I think you're setting the scene for something great between them. Oh my god Mikey is love. He's amazing! You've done such a good job with your characters and I can't wait to see how they develop as the story goes on :)

Author's Response: i am TOTALLY cringing out at my earlier chapters, please don't judge me for that awful 2013 writing! thanks so much for your kind words and for leaving such a lovely review ahaha ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hazel BlackFluorescent Adolescent : more than nice

19th January 2016:
Aww Effy and Al... too cute! Aspen and Oscar are hilarious, I just love how defined their personalities are. And I'm veerry intrigued on what's going on in James' messy head. Great chapter!

Author's Response: oh my god, i cannot believe you're reading the first chapter! i'm totally cringing, this needs rewriting asap. thanks so much for reviewing!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hazel BlackFluorescent Adolescent : crushed moon extract

9th May 2015:
I love this story so far! I really like how all the characters have such different, defined personalities. Great work :)

Author's Response: ah so crazy how you've reviewed- been meaning to read pureblood for AGES. hope you enjoy the rest, thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Hazel BlackTug Of War: An Actual Tug of War

22nd February 2015:
Stella and Albus in Potions were super funny!

But nothing beats that scene with Stella and James. I love how he's such a prat to her and she's still going weak at the knees, too funny!

Fave quotes:

"I quit!" I insist again, "Quit usually means you stop doing something! Means I don't have to listen to you, I don't have to go anywhere near the quidditch pitch, and I don't have to go anywhere near you either!"

Fine, the last part saddens me a little, but he doesn't need to know that.

"Dear dipshit," I interrupt him, saying my words out loud as I scribble them, "I quit. Hasta la vista. Stella Wood."

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hazel BlackTug Of War: Born To Run

22nd February 2015:
I actually love Fred, he's hilarious!

I can't believe Stella quit! She didn't actually quit, right??

Haha off to read the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hazel BlackTug Of War: Muffins

22nd February 2015:
Great story! I love how quirky Stella is, and how she's on the Quidditch team but is the completely opposite of her Quidditch nut Dad :)
I also really like how she's totally in love with James to start off with, instead of eventually developing feelings for him over time. So original!
Can't wait to see how James' feelings develop for Stella. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hazel BlackAnd All That Jazz: Conundrums, Shock, And All That Jazz

1st July 2012:
The beginning is so sad! Poor James - he needs to be happy again! And hopefully he will be soon if the ending is anything to go by =)

And Alex... wow, he's so deliciously evil. I felt really bad for him after he explained about James pranking him though. I suppose that would really hurt even a guy like Alex. Jett in the end was so perfect! I really hope he and James make up soon, it would be a shame to see their relationship totally destroyed.

I loved this chapter! I've been waiting so long for it to be posted, but I completely understand how easily life can get in the way of updating, my own stories usually go a month or three between chapters too!

Keep up the great work =)


Author's Response: I know! The beginning is sad :( But yes, hopefully things will be getting better soon.

Alex... Alex is a piece of work, I'll tell you that. But he is still human, and he actually does feel justified in what he's doing, considering everything that James has done to him. But Jett at the end - yes, things are getting better.

I'm so glad you loved it! I know, it's been a really long time. Hopefully I'll be less busy because it's summer now :D Thank you for understanding, though, and thank you so much for the lovely review ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hazel BlackAnd All That Jazz: Perfection, Paradoxes, And All That Jazz

18th April 2012:
So cute! I loved it.
God, Alex is disgustingly evil. Haha.
Can't wait for the next chapter! Great work =)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad!
He is very evil, isn't he?
Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hazel BlackAnd All That Jazz: Patterns, Secrets, And All That Jazz

5th March 2012:
Naww so sad. Poor Jett =(
And James too lol
Great chapter once again! Can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: I know... Sad :'( It'll get better though, I promise. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Chapter Five

17th February 2012:
A cassette player! That made me laugh haha poor Lily getting the wrong idea. I really like this story but the chapters are so short, it's like I kinda just start really getting in to the scene and then it stops quite suddenly.

Your writing is very good, it just makes me want to read more =)
Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you for all the reviews :)

This chapter was just a filler, but I know what you mean.
There will be longer ones as we go, but mostly I don't like to drag them out if I feel that there's nothing more to the scene..

 Report Review

Review #19, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Chapter Four

17th February 2012:
Yay she used her skills! I like that Sirius is kinda figuring it out, she didn't really make it too hard for him!
I do enjoy this story and I don't think you should stop writing.

A couple of suggestions though would be to really take a look at where you want this story to go and any main story-lines it has, then just work from there on achieving them =)

Also I would love more description on the backgrounds on the characters, not just Iris but the other main ones that she interacts with.

I think it's a good story and a really good idea though. I love how Iris is a Metamorphagus and I hope that fact becomes a main part of the story.

Author's Response: I have an idea where this is going, I just have to fill in some blanks before I get there. But there's more action coming up in the next chapters..

The reason for the lack of descriptions is that I sort of see this story like movie scenes, and then I try to squeeze some more information in there, but they have to be relevant to what is happening at the time.
I hope that was helpful :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Chapter Three

17th February 2012:
"Great. Now, I've stooped to marauder maturity level."

That made me laugh haha I really like this chapter (and the appearance of Sirius, yay!), but I haven't really sensed a firm story-line just yet, like what Iris' aims and goals might be? I'm interested to see what will come up =)

Author's Response: It is intentional that you haven't figured it out yet, because Iris herself hasn't.. but it's all leading somewhere, don't worry ;)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Chapter Two

17th February 2012:
Wow short chapter! But I like that it introduces the room mates. I feel like you should write more about Iris herself though, I have trouble imagining what she looks like. Also I hope she starts using her Metamorph skills again at some stage =)

Author's Response: You're right, I haven't really described Iris. I guess I just forget that people don't know what she looks like, like they do with all the other characters :/ I'll have to work that in..

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Chapter One

17th February 2012:
This chapter was good with the introduction to the other Slytherins, and it's funny how Iris despises them enough to never even remember their names. Male Bulstrode and Female Bulstrode, that made me laugh, as well as Kreacher looking forward to his future (Sad, but probably true knowing him lol)

I really like your writing style, it flows smoothly and is really easy to read. Can't wait to read what happens next =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hazel BlackPaint It Black: Prologue

17th February 2012:
Nice start! Short and to the point =)
I like that Iris (Grey?) and Lily are becoming friends, it really says a lot about Lily's character. I also like the dialogue between the two of them, it's very natural.
Great work!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Hazel BlackInexplicably in Love: Unexplainable, Indescribable

17th February 2012:

This is great! A perfect description of Luna and Rolf, I think. I really enjoyed reading it. Your writing is very descriptive and engaging, I couldn't find any problems with it at all.

I especially liked how Luna wore yellow on her wedding day, it's just so like her and fits perfectly with her character.

Great work! =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! I feel very grateful that you find my work descriptive and engaging!

I absolutely HAD to have Luna in yellow for her wedding day! XD It couldn't have been any other way :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Hazel BlackThis Christmas: This Christmas

17th February 2012:
[Slytherin Tag]

Very cute! Overall I thought it was a nice story, you have a good descriptive way of writing which makes for an easy read =)

I have a couple of concerns which are there were a few spelling mistakes in places, but they can be easily fixed. Also you swapped tenses in some places and at some times I thought the dialogue was a little stiff between James and Lily, but maybe that can just be contributed to the awkwardness of a first date!

I think you did a lovely job though, I enjoyed reading this =)

Author's Response: I'm still looking for a beta for this so hopefully I will have one soon to fix all those small errors. I'm glad that you enjoyed this and liked my description! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>