Reading Reviews From Member: argetlam shadeslayer
  
316 Reviews Found

Review #26, by argetlam shadeslayerThe Human Factor : The One Where It All Begins

19th August 2011:
Oh, what a wonderful start to a story! Honestly, you had me at the line posted in your chapter summary. (And then when I went and read that bit in the actual story, I cracked up for a good two minutes solid. I think I even snorted a bit.) I can tell already that I'm just going to adore Pippa and fall in love with this story. (Already have! Too forward of me? Well, shucks.) But seriously, what an excellent introductory chapter! I am way excited to continue on. :DDD

Author's Response: Hi! I hope you're having a great day! I'm so glad you enjoyed the first chapter! It means a lot to me and I'm so glad it made you laugh! That is my aim :) A! I love forwardness! This review has made my day! Thanks so much for the too nice review, you're far too kind! But I hope you enjoy the other chapters as well :D xxx

 Report Review

Review #27, by argetlam shadeslayerWinner Takes All: Their Minds as Cold as Ice

18th August 2011:
Wow! What a risk, indeed, but you executed it flawlessly. These days, when I read a fic and Hermione is given some sort of strange past with Draco, it always comes off as a bit of laugh, kind of like, "You know Aunt Hermione, she totally had that thing with Scorpius' dad, eh?" and people tend to reference it as a joke, at least in most Next Generation stories. But I really, really loved the way you tied this in with the story. It added so much depth to Hermione's character (which you've written beautifully, by the way), and this sentence - "She wouldn't want anyone to see that she, too, could suffer" - gosh, it's captured Hermione Granger in a nutshell for me. And again (I think I've mentioned this in previous chapters, but if not, here it is!), you have such a beautiful, eloquent way of writing. Seriously, I can't even begin to communicate the beauty in a simple sentence like this one: "No, no. Don't think of that, Rose. It was painful, unhealthy. A thorn in all their sides." And your writing is full of beautiful, simple sentences like that. I wish I could somehow convey just how much I adore your narratives. Again, excellent chapter! (Sorry it took so long to read this chapter. I literally just finished summer exams.)

Author's Response: Can I "wow" you back, Emma? Like, really? How can you say all of these things, they're making me too happy!! I don't know what to say other than a giant glomping thank you so much because this review is definitely a spirit-lifter - just the kind of beautifully inspiring thing that every author ought to have. ^_^

A Dramione past can be funny, like you said, and it would have made a good joke ("had" because I'm sure it's been overused by now), but it's in this story to add more to the characters, especially Hermione, who, unlike Ron, was lacking somehow for me. Ron came through in this story with strength and clarity, but I didn't know what to do with Hermione - she needed something to link her more closely with Rose, who is, otherwise, very different in personality and mannerisms (Rose is definitely her father's daughter). The past relationship is also a parallel with Rose's relationship with Scorpius - one can see how both Malfoys acted and how the Weasley women interpreted, and in both cases, it turned out poorly. It gives Rose some way of connecting with her mother, and that felt important to this story - for some reason, I don't write many mother-child relationships that are truly positive, so I was glad to get that chance here. :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by argetlam shadeslayerall this will ruin us: and love too

18th August 2011:
I'm dying to leave an absurdly long review, because in my heart of hearts, that's what I honestly want to do, and I feel that's what this story deserves. Gordon Bennett, this story is worthy of so much - I literally can't describe what I'm trying to say here, other than by somehow communicating to you that a) you are the ultimate writing god, and b) you've just breathed life into Peter Pettigrew, perhaps one of the hardest characters to write in this realm. (Most definitely one of the least liked characters.) And imagine my surprise, that by the end of this story - well, if I'm being honest, by the fourth paragraph - I've felt a ragged stirring in my heart for Peter, my eyes have begun stinging with tears, and my heart literally wants to fly out in pieces to him. Because, in the oddest, most unexpected of ways, I now realize Peter really was brave in a way that the others were incapable of feeling - James, with his humor, wit, and Lily; Sirius, with his devil-may-care attitude and prejudices; and Remus, with his hardened solo act and books to hide behind. Peter may not have been strong, but he possessed a will to survive and the eyes to see what was wrong with the world in which he lived. He possessed knowledge, and knew to be afraid. In a way, it's almost like a very tragic Garden of Eden story - Peter has tasted the forbidden fruit, and suddenly his eyes have been opened to the world.

And it's funny - before reading this, I'd never given much thought to Peter. I had tried, but couldn't really conjure up anything for him, save for the typical terms which are associated with him - you know, "cowardly," "traitor," "cheese," etc. But I swear, it's like you've written the whole darn encyclopedia entry on him, as though if I were to look up information about Peter Pettigrew in a library, this is what I'd find. You've captured his character so utterly perfectly and gloriously, and I feel like your story has made him more honorable, in a way. You've brought him to life - I mean, really, this IS Peter Pettigrew. Now that I've read this, he can be no other way. This is him. Period.

Thank you so much for writing one of the most beautiful pieces I've ever read.

- emma

 Report Review

Review #29, by argetlam shadeslayerMy Entirely Ridiculous 7th Year, as told by me, Nymphadora L. Tonks : Quidditch Tryouts

15th August 2011:
WHY.

I seriously think I actually just thought, for a moment, "OMG." Just so you know, I don't ever use that phrase, but honestly, woman! That must be the most subtle cliff-hanger I've ever read, and now I'm just going to die inside until you update. (Hint!) Oh, I was so waiting for some yummy Tonks/Cael action, maybe with him taking his shirt off and parading around like the general Irish sex god he is (that's typical of sex gods, right? They don't exactly need reasons), but then his tall, slim, sex goddish figure just retreated up to the dorms and suddenly I feel quite bereft. Unngggnhhh, so much cliffhanger frustration!

But just in case you didn't catch from my vibe, I'm so insanely in love with this story. And Tonks. And even Charlie, though he's being a prat-sicle. I spy adventure in store for Tonks, and I truly can't wait for the next chapter of this to be posted and and and and

You get the gist of it. :DDD Cheers!

- emma

Author's Response: I didn't even write this with intents of a cliffie... I just got lazy! I'm glad it ended up like this though, because your reaction's priceless.

And sex gods NEVER need a reason, ever! There is so much more sexiness potential when it comes to Cael. It is coming.

Thank you again for your four lovely reviews! They mean so much and the next chapter will be posted as soon as it's completed!


 Report Review

Review #30, by argetlam shadeslayerMy Entirely Ridiculous 7th Year, as told by me, Nymphadora L. Tonks : In Which N. L. Tonks Digs Herself a Hole of Stupidity

15th August 2011:
In my head, I'm imagining a tiny circus ringleader bloke in a pinstriped suit, waving his arms madly about and calling out, "Step right up, folks, we've got a story that'll blow your mind! Want romance? We've got it! Awkward sex gods? That, too! So much wit and humor that it'll charm the trousers off of you? You bet your sweet ascot we've got it!" Etc., etc. That's the kind of person advertising your story in my brain, but it's much cooler inside my head than it sounds when I've typed it out. I'm kind of lame like that.

But yeah! Anyway! Flippin' fantastic chapter as usual! I'm already feeling a bit sad, as there's only one chapter left (which means you should update soon! ;D), but I'm just going to go ahead and meet that sadness and read on!

Author's Response: Omg EMMA, stop! This review is cracking me up and making me blush all at once.

Thanks so much for your review, again! :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by argetlam shadeslayerMy Entirely Ridiculous 7th Year, as told by me, Nymphadora L. Tonks : Of Great Hall Ceilings and Games in the Dark

15th August 2011:
Eep, this was glorious! Utterly glorious! I swear, I have so much newfound respect and love for Tonks. (Not that I didn't have any before, but now it's increased about tenfold. She's just brilliant!) Again, I can't even count on one hand how many times I burst into random peals of laughter whilst reading this. And can I just put on the brakes for a moment and declare my love for Cael? I seriously can't even guess what his purpose might be in this story, but I love him all the same. He's like comically-relieving-sex-god-wallpaper. But very sexy wallpaper. And bully for Tonks, for stopping Charlie's kiss with Bronwyn! She seems a bit tarty, but maybe I'm just saying that because I love Tonks so much. Gosh, you add so many dimensions to her - more layers than I could ever have imagined Tonks possessing - and again, I'm totally, irrevocably, impossibly, utterly in love with this story. Next chapter!

Author's Response: You are going to give me a big head if you keep this up, Emma.

Aw yay! Cael love! There's not nearly enough of that. Also, I love that you can't guess. Keeping it mysterious ftw~ He is also very fit.

Bronwyn is a bit tarty, yes, but not for the reasons you think ;)

Again, thanks so much Emma! I'm flattered you think my Tonks is multi-dimensional as I'm always convinced that my characterization of her fell flat on its face.


 Report Review

Review #32, by argetlam shadeslayerMy Entirely Ridiculous 7th Year, as told by me, Nymphadora L. Tonks : The Quintessential King's Cross Chapter, Spiced Up

15th August 2011:
Oh, Nisha, this has to be the most utterly fantastic first chapter of ANYTHING I've ever read. Literally, I'm lying here on my bed, lolling about, cracking up hysterically during the middle of the day, just dying from your wit. I have far too many favorite quotes from this to list them all, but here are a fair few:

"Those Weasleys are damn fertile, you know. I nearly had my way with Arthur myself, in our sixth year, before him and Molly of course..."

"'I decided against it, of course. Thank Merlin they have those whatsits, pulling out was highly ineffective. How I got you,' she said fondly, patting my cheek."

What is it about crazy mothers? I honestly don't know, but Mrs. Tonks has got to be the coolest mum I've ever seen. She and Rory's mum should get together and have tea sometime and embarrass their children. I'm sure it'd be a major timeline clash, but oh, the buckets of fun they'd have. ;P

Oh, and this was amazing: "Same Weasley family, minus the ever fanciable Bill. Oh, that earring! The ponytail! He was an absolute dream. He was off in Egypt being rugged...and shaggable. Mmm." Hee hee, I had a right fit over that one. And I loved your mention of Charlie's possibly acquiring a dragon tattoo on his bum, and I'm really, truly hoping for some Tonks/Charlie action (but not shagging! The horror!) soon. (Nudge, nudge, wink, wink!) I've never actually read a Charlie or Tonks story, and the two of them combined...well, heck! I think I'm ready for my first Charlie/Tonks.

Le sigh. Can I just live here, in this story? You know, just pitch a tent and camp out in the witty yumminess that is my new favorite fic? Pleeeaaase? Well, since I'm just chilling here anyway, I'm going to continue on to the next chapter (for which I'm so excited to read!!). I know it isn't your goal to write the best story on earth, but I hate to break it to you, this first chapter is giving a pretty good indication that this story is, in fact, well on its way to become the best story on earth. Maybe even Mars. You rule, Nisha.

- emma

Author's Response: EMMA. Your reviews literally KILLED ME. So much to the point where I don't even know how to respond to them. I think they're the nicest reviews I've EVER received. Ever. I am too flattered for words.

AND YES. Yes. Mrs. Pond and Andie should totes lunch. They can be wizarding ladies-who-lunch. Or something. And ugh, the Weasley boys and their rebellious streaks... so much fun.

The action may (or may not) come! You'll just have to stick around to find out :p Also, I'm glad that this is your first Charlie/Tonks... there is no bar set! Ah, the joys of writing a rare pair.

Anyways, YOU TOTALLY CAN EMMA. I'd be glad to have you here because all you do is blow up my ego... MADLY. Thank you so much for this review ^_^


 Report Review

Review #33, by argetlam shadeslayerPatchwork: Logical

12th August 2011:
Oh, hello there! What's that? You've updated? And I have time to read the last two chapters, reflect, rejoice, and read some more? Yes, it sounds like summer exams (and holidays, unfortunately, but happiness comes at a price, I suppose) are over and life is excellent (the latter which has everything to do with you updating!). Wheee!

Oh, Nell, I find that I dwell on the cartel of swell that is your gazelle (I'm short on decent rhymes) of a story. My inner Patch is glowing, can you tell? (Sell? Motel? Mademoiselle? Alexander Graham Bell?) As much as I adore (and when I say "adore," I really mean "j'adore hardcore") Louis' point of view (if Patch doesn't marry him, can I?), it is Patch's POV that truly takes the cake for me. She's so brilliant and simple and poetic that everything she says is full of beauty. And awkwardness. Unngggh, that bit about how she wanted her heart to jump up and play hopscotch - reading it was like drinking a hot, yummy cup of tea with hob nobs in front of a blazing, happily crackling fire on a crisp autumn day. (Although the thought of that practically makes me break into a sweat, it's so hot where I am!) I love how she explained poetry to Louis (in the last chapter) by illustrating the use of similes and metaphors and comparing it all to not using a potions textbook. What I love most about your style of writing is just that: your use of similes and metaphors is absolutely beautiful and brilliant and and and and

Well, you get the point. :D Anyway, enough of my rambling. I love this story like McGonagall loves tabby cats. Keep writing, you glorious writer (and update when you have a chance!)! Oh, and darn you for your wonderful suspense on the Patch/Louis front. Baby mama drama! (But the only baby here will be Toast, I guess.) Okay, I'm done acting like a loon.

- emma

Author's Response: Hii!! :)

Summer seems almost as busy as the school year! It's strange, but I've been writing, so there should be updates in september.

Your such a better rhymer than me, I will just steal all of those rhymes and throw them into the next few chapters. It's like you've done my job for me. madmoiselle and alexander graham bell = genius.

The truth is, the Louis p.o.v was not supposed to be in the story at all, it was me trying to evade writers block and then I left it in. I'M shameful. Patch's narrative is so much better.

That's like my favourite metaphor- ever. (That I've written)

You flatter me too much, I'm going to get a bighead, and it's already big enough as it is.

Your writing makes me loonier, I can't write romcom snarky stuff, it sort of flops and flails, then dies. The suspense is starting to bug me, I'm like yelling at my characters (because this is how I connect with my writing), to get together already and then they say no, we must drag it out another chapter and another and another...

-nell :) xx


 Report Review

Review #34, by argetlam shadeslayerMisconceptions: Chapter I

29th July 2011:
I swear, this is the funniest story/fanfiction I've read in a rather long time. Honestly, I haven't laughed aloud this much since...well, I can't remember when, really - summer classes aren't much of a laugh, you know - but the point is, this was absolutely glorious. And it's completed?! There's seriously no justice in the world. This was the most wonderful first chapter I've ever read, and the summary says it's complete. Ahh. With stories these days, I typically find myself skimming through the second half of opening chapters (after perusing the first half like it's fine print), since I'm rarely 100% captivated by the text (it's usually about 98.8%, since most stories are extremely similar in style and plot now). But let me tell you, I didn't skip a single word of this, and I even reread it, because it was that awesome. Seriously, you had me hooked (and giggling) at the second paragraph of Jeanette's letter, and all throughout this chapter, I was literally laughing out loud. Besides everything being so well written and lovely, you have a fabulous, snarky writing style that seems to throw exploding, firecracker candles on top of the third person-perspective cake (if that makes any sense at all), and your narrative was just so witty, almost like a running conspiratorial, tongue-in-cheek commentary to a friend. I really wish there were more fanfictions like this here (not to knock any, because they're all great), since this one was like a refreshing breath of air full of smarm and snark.

I could seriously prattle on and on about how much I loved this, but I'm hoping you get the picture. (: This was utterly, completely lovely. If you ever get the time, please write more!

- Emma

Author's Response: WHAT AM I EVEN SUPPOSED TO SAY TO THIS ;___; ugh emma you lovely person, you flawless creature! thank you so so so much! this isn't even one of my best fanfics, and i wasn't very sure of the story, and now you come here and say all this and i just D: i don't even know what to say, besides thank you. and that i love you for this more than words could possibly tell.

 Report Review

Review #35, by argetlam shadeslayerStorm: How long have I been in this storm?

22nd July 2011:
Wow, this was a beautiful story. I think my favorite part was this in particular:

"He was so high when she agreed to marry him, he could've probably walked on water. But now, now he was falling, sinking, drowning, and Lucy wasn't there to catch him. But that's what love was. To be there through thick and thin. To be there in sickness and in health. And she wasn't. She didn't love him. Scorpius almost choked at the realisation. His heart hurt, and his eyes burned with unspoilt tears."

How painfully real, poignant, and raw. While some of the finer details of the plot were rather vague (such as the contents of Lucy's letter or her reasons for leaving), the story elaborated just enough to express the most important points of Scorpius' sorrow and frustration, all the while gracefully filling in those small gaps. This was so well written and beautifully, simply descriptive, and though I'm not familiar with the song "Storm," the lyrics you used intertwined perfectly with your story and, for lack of better words, really showed its heart on its sleeve (if that makes sense). The final, clinching lines, "Lucy, stupid lovely Lucy, had left him. And she wasn't coming back" were especially haunting.

Well done. This was a wonderfully plaintive story, and you wrote it brilliantly. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: Thankyou so much!

Most people don't take the time to review, and yours just made me feel all warm and squishy inside.

Words can't explain my gratitude, but I did just seriously go "Awwhh" aloud when reading your response. Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by argetlam shadeslayerWinner Takes All: Though It's Hurting Me

17th July 2011:
!

Brilliant chapter as usual, especially with your characterizations, since I'm feeling particularly mutinous toward Scorpius, the jerk. Ugh. What a mark of Rose's self control that she hasn't hexed him yet. (Then again, this chapter did sort of end with Scorpius having the last word.) Oh, I just can't believe him! He's so infuriating! But on the other hand, I love that this chapter and your writing are so brilliant that I'm literally sitting here, groaning aloud in frustration and flailing my arms. I do hope for Rose's sake that she doesn't act on her possible desire for revenge, but all the same, I'd turn the other way and whistle a merry tune if she did. I can't really blame her, Scorpius is such a prat! Ah, well, amazing chapter as usual! New. Favorite. Story.

Author's Response: Haha, that's exactly what I want you to think of Scorpius. :P Poor guy, he got the bad rap in this story, mostly because too many of the Scoroses were making him such a sympathetic, weepy character, and I thought it'd be more fun to make him very much a Malfoy, along the same lines as Lucius. He's wonderfully evil to write, at the very least, and it gives Rose an excuse to be mean right back at him (though I don't think she's capable of it, she's just not the mean sort).

It's fantastic to have evoked such emotion with this chapter! I'm so glad that you've enjoyed reading this story so far, and I hope that you keep doing so! ^_^ Thank you for the lovely reviews!


 Report Review

Review #37, by argetlam shadeslayerWinner Takes All: The Game Is On Again

17th July 2011:
Aaahhh, suspense! Must continue to next chapter.

But brilliant job, by the way. This story is so flipping amazing! I apologize for the short review, but darn it, this is just too good for me not to get to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Emma! That you want to rush on to the next chapter is the best compliment of all, and I hope that it begins to answer some of your questions - or maybe ask some new ones to string you further along. ;)

 Report Review

Review #38, by argetlam shadeslayerWinner Takes All: Now It's History

17th July 2011:
Oh, lord, Susan. Is it too cliche for me to tell you that I smell another wonderful story of yours? (Because I do. The cliche might have something to do with the roses and the garden setting, though.) I've been meaning to read this since I came back to HPFF a month ago (er, I hope you remember me, so this isn't ridiculously nerdy - but I've always been such a fangirl, especially of 'The Fires Within,' and on TDA, heh), and this first chapter is utterly wonderful. (Not to mention, the ABBA-ness of this story rules. You reeled me in with the story and chapter titles. :P) Seriously, I don't think I've ever read a story in which Rose rejects Scorpius - typically, it'd be an odd occurrence - but you wrote this so beautifully, and at the end of it, I found myself cheering for Rose. This chapter is incredibly refreshing, and each line is captivating and eloquently written, all the while evoking this sense of melancholy and uncertainty, but more significantly, a sense of hope and determination, and - best of all - Rose's empowerment (which she may or may not realize has happened yet).

I can't remember the last time I was so excited to read the next chapter of something! Which is why I'm going to end this lengthy, uber nerdy review and carry on reading. (:

- Emma

Author's Response: *sniffs the air* It doesn't sound like a cliche at all, not when my stories take on a scent of their own. XD It's great to see you back again, Emma, and it's a wonderful compliment that you've come to read my stuff after your hiatus, and that you remember my old work too. Thank you very much!

It's fantastic to hear that you like this story! The ABBA song (and many of their other songs) really inspired this story, and I don't think I could have written it the same way without them - don't exactly know why, but something about the title song just fit perfectly with Rose's situation.

lol, I wrote the rejection because I knew very few had done it before (there has to be someone else out there who has - it's not a universally liked ship). It was a challenge to see how well readers would react to an "anti-Scorose" type story, though I do leave evil hints throughout that they might get back together. :P Can't resist that kind of hook.

Thank you so much for reading, enjoying, and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story, too! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by argetlam shadeslayertremor.: Rose

17th July 2011:
This was utterly wonderful. Truly. There is so much I want to say about this chapter, but I'm dying to keep in character and refrain from using many words (in the style of Rose and Scorpius). But really, this was so beautiful, words and letters probably couldn't accurately describe it if I tried. I really can't remember the last time I read something so beautiful. Obviously, this is different from all of the other Rose/Scorpius stories, but its unusual (and so refreshingly raw and real) way of bringing the two characters together is remarkable. You had me hooked at: 'No one's ever seen two people less likely to fall in love, but it's much too easy to suggest it - everyone loves star-crossed lovers, even though the only things Scorpius has ever crossed are the t's on his essays and Rose avoids star charts like the plague.' Seriously, I wish I could begin to do this justice with my words, but it won't happen. I just hope this review conveys the tiniest bit just how much I love this chapter (which is quite a bit, by the way). (:

Author's Response: Heh, glad you enjoyed. :D I hope you come back for later chapters - Victoire is already up, and Albus is in the queue ~SELF PLUGGING~

Your review is as sweet as macaroons. ♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #40, by argetlam shadeslayerDangerously In Love: Good News for People Who Love Bad News

13th July 2011:
Aaahhh, I knew it! I totally knew it! Oh, poor Vivian. I wondered, with the hysterical crying. Poor dear. But hey, most girls have babies -- some just have them sooner than others, you know? Anyway...

It's incredible how wonderfully canon yet original you make everything, did you know? I mean, I love the way even Lily is characterized, and how she mentions she might just go hang out with Mary McDonald (canon alert! Canon alert!) or Sev, and it's just so...undeniably cool how you keep things canon to the books while also turning the story into something very much your own. (Even with Peeves and his cries of "Shan't tell, shan't tell!" So. Good. I really do appreciate your clever canon-writing.) I particularly loved this bit: "...while Dollie could only assume that Suzanna Milton was combing the brimstone out of her hair or whatever it was she did after her annual holidaying in the depths of Hell." I giggled quite a bit. That was hilarious! I adore your witty remarks throughout the narrative in each chapter, which is a difficult feat for most authors who write in third-person (but not for you, you star, you! Ugh, I'm so cheesy). Also, I had totally forgotten about the Abbey-Emma Slayer thing! Oh, she's so cool, that girl. I like her a lot. Funny, she reminds me of me just a little. Heh heh.

And as for Sirius...le sigh. He's just so wonderful, and you write him beautifully. He's so understated, compared to the other over the top Siriuses in fan fiction out there, but the way you write him makes him an even more remarkable character, since he's not resorting to unctuous smirks, hair flips, or manwhore-ery to garner interest. Instead, he's sweet, loyal, clever, and slightly proud, and your Sirius beats the other Siriuses by miles any day.

Anyway, this'll be my only review and chapter read today, since I have two massive exams coming up tonight and tomorrow (and then the Deathly Hallows at midnight!), but once I'm free again, I shall continue to catch up! Wonderful, wonderful chapter, dear. (:

Author's Response: Huge apologies for this embarressingly late response! Work then Uni kept me busy.

Hahaha, thank you! I love keeping things as canon as possible. Eventhough this was written waaay before DH came out, I've adjusted the plot and ending to be as canon as possible so yeah, keep an eye out for that ;). This certainly won't be the last you see of Mary and Sev.. Aaaw, I love your cheesiness, it's cheese-rific! (who's cheesy now?) That Abbey-Emma chick is pretty cool, the resemblance is uncanny ain't it?

Eeep, thank you! It means so much that you like my characterisation of Sirius. He's one of those characters I'm not sure of, I'm afraid I've idealized him a bit too much. But I'll remedy that soon enough *insert mysterious evil laugh*.

All the best in your exams and enjoy DH! I saw an advanced 3D screening and it blew me away. I could watch the epilogue on a loop for the rest of my life. Thank you for this wonderful review, it made my week =))).

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #41, by argetlam shadeslayerDangerously In Love: A Very Gryffindor Christmas

11th July 2011:
This. Was. Fantastic. I apologize for the ridiculously short and unworthy review, but I'm hankering to read the next chapter.

Amazing chapter, as always!

Author's Response: Hehehe, it's allright, I more than look forward to your upcoming reviews. ;)

Thank you so much!!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #42, by argetlam shadeslayerDangerously In Love: Season’s Grievances

11th July 2011:
Oh, this was so perfect and slightly melancholy! I loved it. Poor Sirius. Thanks to James, a perfectly lovely moment was ruined. Ah, well. And I particularly loved your characterizations of Dumbledore and McGonagall. Not only were they spot on, but the two of them - specifically Dumbledore - were so charming and...them, if that makes sense. Oh, I would write more, but I'm eager to read the next chapter, and you already know how much I adore this story!

Author's Response: James always seems to get in the way between Dollie and Sirius doesn't he? Hehe. I'm so glad that you did. Reading back now, I was a bit afraid that Dumbledore and McGonagall came off as cliche so it's a relief to hear that they kept to canon. Thank you so much!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #43, by argetlam shadeslayerDangerously In Love: The Very First Time

11th July 2011:
Ugh, this is so heartbreakingly beautiful. As much as I've always adored Sirius, I swear, for the first time, I find myself crossing my fingers and hoping desperately that Remus gets the girl. (Not that Dollie is just another girl that can be gotten; oh, you know what I mean.) You've taken Sirius/OC/Remus and woven it into such a remarkably intricate and poignant plot, and unlike other stories, the emotions and thoughts of your main characters tend to leap out from the page (would you call this a page? I digress) and breathe the lives of their stories into the reader. Such a lovely chapter. 50/10.

Author's Response: *blush*

I think you give me far too much credit but thank you all the same ^_^. I have an unhealthy obsession with love traingles but who doesn't love Sirius and Remus? People with poor taste, that's who (I kid I kid ;)). Ahh, you're a Sirius/Dollie shipper then? Eeep, your praise is incredibly gratifying, thank you so much!

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #44, by argetlam shadeslayerDangerously In Love: Out of Reach

10th July 2011:
Oh my goodness. It's ridiculous how much I missed this story. Seriously. I feel like such a nerdy fangirl, rediscovering one of my favorite fan fictions. (By the way...I'm back! I feel like a bit of a prat for being gone for so long, but I'm quite glad to be HPFFing once more. Oh, gosh. I hope you still remember me! Eeep, I hope it hasn't been that long.) But anyway, this chapter was glorious, disarming spells, autumn remnants, and all. Truly, Misty, your writing is fabulous and vivid as ever, and you have such a beautiful way of describing things. Ugh, I can't believe I've missed out on so many chapters! I have loads of catching up to do! (But it's not like I'm complaining, because it means I get to read the rest of your fabulous updates!) Wheee!

Author's Response: Emma!! Of course I remember you, one of my favourite reviewers in DiL history! Welcome back, dear. How are you?

Eek, I seriously spazzed out when I saw these reviews. Thank you so much for coming back to HPFF and my story. I'm beyond thrilled that you're still enjoying this story thus far. I like to think that it gets better from here ;P (hopefully). Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm still in disbelief that you're back hehehe.

~Misty


 Report Review

Review #45, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : And All Was Well: The Epilogue

8th July 2011:
This was the best epilogue I've ever read. Ever. "YES! YES! YES! GRANDCHILDREN!" So. Ba-loody. Good. I cracked up while reading this entire chapter. Thank you for writing such a ridiculously amazing story. Truly, it's been such a joy to read this, and I wish it weren't over. Sigh. You are a brilliant author, and I hope you continue to write many stories! Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #46, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : Plans

8th July 2011:
Oh, Char. Char, Char, bloody Char. "Who are we giving my List to if we're all paired off? That's the criteria for a perfect man!" I dunno how, but she suddenly become 20 times cooler than she already was. And Milla's banter with James is so wonderful! And James is so adorable. And I can't even write in complete sentences that don't begin with "and," that's how giddy I am from this chapter. Well fluffily done.

 Report Review

Review #47, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : Morning Glory

8th July 2011:
My favorite part of this chapter was this: “I had this done after your birthday for you. If we weren’t together by Christmas, it was going to be next year’s birthday present for you,” he explained sheepishly, looking down and fiddling with his shirt.

...so bloody sweet of him. I "awww"ed for a full minute. I adored this chapter, so full of fluff and Christmas happiness. Eh, I wish I weren't almost finished with the story, though. ):

 Report Review

Review #48, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : Talk It Out

8th July 2011:
FINALLY! This whole chapter was just glorious. Ah, finally. All is well. And I swear, Milla cracks me up with her off-kilter comments toward the end, after she and James have snogged. What a wonderful pair. Beautiful chapter.

 Report Review

Review #49, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : The Jolliest Time of the Year

8th July 2011:
Ugh, James just needs to go ahead and get on with it, the stupid sod! I swear! Boys. I do hope he and Milla get together soon. The suspense is killing me, but the story's so wonderful, I don't mind.

I think if I had a favorite quotation, it'd be from the part: '“Congratulations, you lot,” I said warmly. They ignored me. As they should. They were, after all, busy snogging.' Hee hee. I went back and read it a couple of times and giggled each time. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #50, by argetlam shadeslayerInevitable : What Now?

8th July 2011:
Whoa. Talk about a loaded chapter. Just...whoa. That was incredible. Finally, is all I can say. Oh, and amazing chapter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>