Reading Reviews From Member: isabellapotter
  
156 Reviews Found

Review #1, by isabellapotter:

9th June 2007:
Oh. My. Lord. Is it really you? Dear god, it's been ages. Wonderful to have you back :)

Hmmm. The Order. I'm noticing a lot of similarities between Emma and a certain other fictional character named, oh, I don't know, Gemma, or something like that . . . :) Love those books.

Aw, they luff each other. How sweet :) Great ending. Can't wait for more. Please don't take a year this time :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by isabellapotterThe List: In Which Ginny Writes Her Own List

17th March 2007:
Ah, fathers. They bring such joy into the lives of those who court their daughters, do they not? Great chapter - fun and hilarious, as usual. Have I mentioned before how much I love your Ginny? Only once or possibly a million times. Your characterization is just so wonderfully irreverent I could kiss you. Well, if that were possible through a computer. And if it wouldn't make the pair of us both feel incredibly awkward. I'll just settle fora nice review instead, I suppose.

Author's Response: Oh so much joy. *Laughs* I'm glad you like my Ginny! As I've said countless times, I'm rather fond of her, too. LOL. Thank you so much for the kind review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by isabellapotterThe List: The Offending Letter

6th February 2007:
Hmm. Hermione's mom souns a bit like my own, to tell you the truth. She once asked me if i'd like her to get me some "warming massage oil and personal lubricant" that she saw advertised on TV to use with my boyfriend.

Shudder.

But that's probably an overshare. Terribly sorry. Fantastic chapter -- not only is it wonderfully entertaining, but this story also always makes me feel better about my own rather crazy life.



Author's Response: Oh God, that sounds awful. *Shivers* If it makes you feel any better, when I visited my Aunt and Uncle with my dad, I asked him if, the summer of my senior year, I could go on a roadtrip with my best friend and our two close guy friends. And his response was that he'd just send me off with a pack of condoms and it would be fiine. I was absolutely mortified (mind you, I'm a bit of a goody-goody lol).

ANYWAY, thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you liked it, and even happier that it made you feel better! :-)


 Report Review

Review #4, by isabellapotterThe List: Initially, it Was a Brilliant Plan

3rd February 2007:
I absolutely love your Hermione. There's nothing I enjoy more than a character who's neurotic to the point of hysteria.

I suppose it reminds me of myself, occasionally.

In fact, I love your spin on all the characters -- it's refreshing to read a story where the author doesn't take everyone so seriously. It's infinitely more fun :)

Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I guess we have a lot in common, because I'm neurotic myself...I actually got the idea for my fic, "I'm Not Neurotic!" because my friends were constantly calling me neurotic, and that would be my reply. And I figured, "Hey, I bet Hermione would be in the same situation," so I applied it to her (but don't worry, I did NOT base Hermione off me...just the story idea. I hate people who do that).

ANYWAY, I'm glad you like my characters. I myself enjoy fics where it isn't all drama. I like those fics, don't get me wrong (in fact I write those fics), but once in a while you need to breathe, you know? And I hoped that this fic would be one of those "breathers" from the intense ones.

ANYWAY (again), thanks so much for the review, and I'm glad you're enjoying it! :-)


 Report Review

Review #5, by isabellapotterHypnotic Avocation: Speak Up

20th January 2007:
Hmm . . . drama of all kinds. Her best (and only) real friend hooking up with a girl and consequently changing their friendship, feuding with Wood in class without realizing who he is . . . intrigue abounds. I'm hooked.

Author's Response: Teehee, yay! -cheers- thanks so much for the wonderful review hun. Glad you like it and hopefully you'll be coming back for more :P

 Report Review

Review #6, by isabellapotterHypnotic Avocation: Sandpits & Childhood Friends

20th January 2007:
Great start. You've got a knack for characterization - Charis and Demetrius are compelling and well-written, and their relationship is great. I really like your writing style as well. The only thing that I noticed is that you don't keep your verb tenses consistent - you switch from the present to the past in the same sentence sometimes. It's not a huge deal, though- it really doesn't detract from the story much at all. Anyway. Off to chapter two :)

Author's Response: -nods- definitely hehe that's been a huge problem of mine (verb tense confusion) for a while, I'm trying to fix it as I move along. Thanks so much for the sweet compliments and such a fab review hehe. It's certainly made my day!

 Report Review

Review #7, by isabellapotterThe Saboteurs: Men are from Mars

19th January 2007:
I totally agree. Girls are far more sensible than boys, and infinitely more sneaky. Sneakiness our special skill :) I'm so incredibly hooked on this story - I love the DADA teacher and his sadistic tests, and I love the developing rivalry between Sirius and Nate. Awfully compelling stuff. I'm enthralled :) More soon, please?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your support. I don't know if you've seen the notice on my bio, but I'm taking a temporary hiatus from writing fic, so that I can settle down with work. I will be continuing this, and soon. Promise. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #8, by isabellapotterThe Saboteurs: O Dignity, Where Art Thou?

19th January 2007:
Well, I agree with Freddie - it's shaping up to be a very interesting year. Can't wait to see the madness that ensues.

 Report Review

Review #9, by isabellapotterThe Saboteurs: A Hogwarts Welcome

19th January 2007:
Hmm. Fun. Nothing like a bit of teasing flirtation between sworn enemies :) Honestly, I love it. I'm totally hooked. Freddie is a great character, and you do quite well with all the others, too - your originals and those we know and love (or, in Snape's case, loathe.) Right. I'm off to the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #10, by isabellapotterThe List: National Headline

19th January 2007:
God, that sucks. It's bad enough being in denial about your love and constantly being pestered about it by your so-called friends, but having it become a national headline . . . that's something no girl (or boy, for that matter) should ever have to live through :)

Author's Response: Nope, it isn't...that's why we put Harry and Hermione through it. *Laughs evilly* *Shifty eyes* Right...ANYWAY. Yep, I'm pure evil, but in the end it should work out (*looks at self worriedly and whispers, 'Shouldn't you know by now?!'*). See, this is what happens when I stay up past 3 watching Friends...I start talking to myself. lol. Thanks for the review! :-)

 Report Review

Review #11, by isabellapotterInto The Fire: This Magic Moment

12th January 2007:
God, my friends ask me why I don't have a boyfriend - well, this is it. I don't want a boyfriend until I can have one like Remus :) I'm probably being hopelessly unrealistic, but I can't help it. I loved this chapter, and I can't wait to read the next one, and your new story, as well, if you decide to go ahead with it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by isabellapotterInto The Fire: Here With Me

12th January 2007:
And the boyfriend's out of the picture!!! Woo hoo! I'm practically ecstatic. I love your new story idea too, by the way - adventure, romance, riddles, secret rooms, and Remus? Count me in :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by isabellapotterInto The Fire: Never Be Lonely

31st December 2006:
Hmm. Hopefully it'll be one of those one-step-back-two-steps-forward things. David is one hell of an understanding guy . . . which makes it hard for me to wish Emilie would go on and break his heart already. Ugh. Quandary :) Happy New Year's Eve!

 Report Review

Review #14, by isabellapotterInto The Fire: Into The Fire

28th December 2006:
Uh oh. This should be interesting. Can't wait to see what happens.

 Report Review

Review #15, by isabellapotterInto The Fire: Wish I Could Fall

25th December 2006:
Exchange to Ireland - god, I'm so incredibly jealous. That must have been amazing! Well, clearly, the three month hiatus hasn't affected your writing at all. It's still just as lyrical, realistic, and thoroughly enjoyable as ever. I look forward to reading more, when you have the chance to post it. Welcome back!

Author's Response: Ireland was absolutely amazing - I loved it. I'd never been abroad for such a long time, and it was the first time that I really had to rely on my (in some areas limited) knowledge of English, which was sometimes quite tricky as the Irish accent can be thick enough to throw off any non-native English speaker. But yeah, it was great. I'd love to go back there some day.

I'm glad you think my writing hasn't changed! I was afraid it would have, and I did have to get back into the swing of things after that hiatus, so it's good that you think it's still the same. Thanks!

And ehm, moreover, I'd really like to say thanks for sticking with this story - you rock!

Stefanie xxx


 Report Review

Review #16, by isabellapotterThe List: Internal Pining: Ginny's Essay

5th December 2006:
Very, very cute. Hermione and Harry are so totally clueless you can't help but adore them. I loved Ginny's essay, by the way - that was hilarious. I love the way you portray Ginny. You're right - she is a bit self-absorbed, but she's so . . . er, spunky is the only word I can think of right now, so it'll have to do - that you can't help but love her for it. I suppose I have nothing else to say other than I love it, I love it, I love it! Oh, and did I mention that I love it? 'Cause I love it. That's all :)

Author's Response: They are adorable, aren't they? Until you begin tearing your hair out because they're STILL not together (right readers of "I'm Not Neurotic!"?...lol). I'm glad you like my Ginny. I know this will sound horrible of me, but I like my Ginny better than Rowling's...it's how I always thought Ginny would end up if she had to change as Rowling said she would. Thanks so much for the review. I really appreciate it! :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by isabellapotterThe List: Prologue

2nd December 2006:
What a cute idea! Definitely worth continuing. I want to see how long it takes for Ginny's predictions to come true :) Slow updates are ok. I'm often guilty of them myself.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'll definitely continue it then. Thanks for reviewing. :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by isabellapotterWander By Me: The Technicalities of Surviving Death

28th November 2006:
Ah. And the mystery that is Kellyn grows ever deeper. All this stuff about an inner dragon - I enjoyed the Bruce Lee reference, by the way - and wings, and such . . . fascinating. I wish I could sing your praises all night, because I think you deserve it, but I've got five newspaper articles to completely rework before our deadline tomorrow, and I really shouldn't even have stopped to read the chapter at all, except I couldn't resist. So back to my editorial about the administration's asinine new policy for raising standardized test scores I go. Happy writing, and don't worry, a chapter every three weeks is still more than a lot of authors on this site manage - including me :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by isabellapotterThe Saboteurs: Shocks and Consequences

24th November 2006:
Very nice. I love how you're not afraid to poke fun at the Marauders a bit - some authors have a tendency to treat them like gods, but you make them idiosyncratic and eccentric and infinitely more amusing. I love all your characters, too - it's hard to create and maintain a large group of original characters and manage to make them varied and interesting, but you do it quite well. They're hilarious.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying it. I'm happy that most people find the concept of the Saboteurs to be not only original and fun and realistic. Glad to see I'm doing something right. *grin*

 Report Review

Review #20, by isabellapotterThe Saboteurs: In The Beginning...

24th November 2006:
Good start - this looks really interesting. It'll be cool to see a different side of the Slytherins. Usually they're stereotyped as universally evil and vile without exception. Points for you for individuality.

 Report Review

Review #21, by isabellapotterLet's say...: 'Easy Come, Easy Go' Does Not Apply

24th November 2006:
Denial, denial, denial. I recognize the signs, being a master of the fine art myself. I can't wait to see what happens when she can deny it no longer . . . or someone makes her stop . . . :) Fun, fun, fun.

 Report Review

Review #22, by isabellapotterIf the Ring Fits: In which ingenuity is not a strong point

21st November 2006:
Blueberry. Oh yes, most definitely blueberry.

Oh god, I need to go eat breakfast now.

And even though you think this chapter wasn't your best, I quite enjoyed it. It was funny, and I think I might actually be starting to (GASP!) warm to Malfoy. You've made him so infinitely amusing and, although he's a tad . . . prickly . . . of course, he's still likable. I love your writing, as well - though your characters may have their inarticulate moments, you never seem to. You've got a very distinct, intelligent writing style, and I love it to bits!

Can't wait to see what happens at the Weasley family dinner. Update soon? Please???

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so pleased to hear you might be starting to like Malfoy. He's endearing in his own, annoying way ;) I'm very happy you like the way I write, thank you so much for your kind review! I will definitely try to update soon!

 Report Review

Review #23, by isabellapotterLet's say...: Coming Up For Air

8th November 2006:
Haha - I know this feeling so well. When something big's just happened between you and a boy and it kind of freaks you out and your first inclination is to run from him as fast and as far as possible? Yeah, been there :) Great stuff. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: so glad there are sensible (or, at least, sensiTIVE) girls like myself out there - you know, ones who realise that, fun as it is, it might NOT be the best idea you've ever had...

 Report Review

Review #24, by isabellapotterLeave It On the Pitch: Practice Makes... Life Interesting

30th October 2006:
Great chapter. I really like the relationship between Page and Eddie and Oliver. It kind of reminds me of me and my guy friends - I've even been "kidnapped" like that before. Except they wrapped me in a blanket instead of using a Silencing Charm. Boys are so weird :)

Author's Response: Yeah, they are... I love it when there's that whole situation when you totally know he likes you but he's gonna be all cool and pretend he totally doesn't, and you tell his brother that he's a dork because you totally know ....sigh... Life is funny. Thanks!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by isabellapotterLeave It On the Pitch: The Pros (or Cons) of Puddlemere United

30th October 2006:
Aw, poor Page. That sucks. If her friends are promoted without her, who will she throw bologna on the ceiling with? Oh, and then there's the small matter of her being forced to watch them live their dreams and be supportive and happy for them while she's really feeling jealous and insecure and left behind. Er, I suppose that sort of eclipses the balogna thing. Right :)

Author's Response: Lol! You're so right. And thanks for the review.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>