Reading Reviews From Member: bittersweetflames
  
122 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bittersweetflamesTaming the Dragon Tamer: [four]

22nd April 2015:
Hi there. :) Here for our swap. :D First things first, I absolutely love Charlie Weasley and I think that you are the most beautiful person for writing a gorgeous fic that features him.

Ok, so I read through 4 chapters before I realized that I'd read everything. This makes me sad because I was really into the story already and, obviously, wanted to know what else would happen. :)

Ok, so, I'm going to talk about this chapter since you mention that you've worked at this chapter so long. I really think that everything here is beautifully-written.

I can feel Charlie's pain, war is never really easy for anybody and I can see how things with him aren't that well. The way you wrote the bits about David and the Battle of Hogwarts, that was just so hard to read because there are just so many feels and emotions there. :)

I can't wait to see how things are when we find out who's behind the knock on the door! (I'm hoping it's Chris) I mean, how would Charlie react? What would happen? Will Charlie get over his panic attacks (poor guy).

Anyway, thanks for the swap, hunny. :) Really love this fic and can't wait to see what happens next. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #2, by bittersweetflamesBruises: Terror

21st April 2015:
Kaitlin! Here for our swap. So glad to finally read this story. I've really been meaning to see where my banner has gone. :) And thank you for giving my banner a lovely home.

I am happy and honored that you were inspired by the banner that you got for this.:D

Okay, onto the story. Can we talk about how you are such an amazing writer? Funnily enough, I'd just watch a documentary on brain surgery (which also tackled lobotomies) a few days back and that was horrific so reading this fic was a very big experience.

The way you wrote about her days in that hospital was very well done. I could really see what she must have seen; feel the panic and despair that was undoubtedly coursing through her. The thought of waking up in an unfamiliar place is so very terrifying and it really came across the way you wrote it.

I think it's beautiful the way you wrote about Caroline's sister at the end. Caroline didn't have it easy but there's is beauty in their relationship and the obvious love they have for each other. :)

Your ending was gorgeous because the hope was palpable. And that there are things, beautiful things, that are meant to exist and nothing anyone ever does or says could ever change it.

Thanks for the swap and for sharing this! Oh, and giving my banner a lovely home.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #3, by bittersweetflamesA Christmas in Azkaban: A Flickering Flame

21st April 2015:
Here for our swap! :)
First off, OMG, your story is just.. CHILLS. Just the chills!
Your writing is so atmospheric and I could just picture being there, I could practically feel as Sirius felt. It broke my heart.
Anyway, well done with this story. I won't say I enjoyed it because it wasn't meant to be enjoyed but I loved it -- it was just beautifully written. Thanks for the swap. :))

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and I'm really happy that it affected you like that, it means I'm doing my job right. XD

 Report Review

Review #4, by bittersweetflamesPride and Scorpius: Well met on the Hogwarts Express

21st April 2015:
Andrew! Technically, I am here for our swap but, really, I'd meant to review your story anyway. :) I am a HUGE fan of this story although I know you know this because I've told you and also because, well, I do.

Okay, I am going to try and be coherent. This first chapter was a really wonderful start into the whole Scorpius-Rose dynamic. You had them start as ickle Firsties, which I love and I love the way we see into Rose's head.

Albus is one of my favorite characters and the way you've written him is so very perfect because he's tolerant and lovely and friendly and, just, i think this is how Harry would have been if his parents had not died.

The way the two cousins act around Scorpius is certainly indicative of how their parents are -- Rose's father would be the most likely of the trio to enforce his prejudice into his daughter, Harry (who named his son after a professor he hated most of his Hogwarts years!) would be least likely to show prejudice. And I just presume Hermione lets Ron do what he wants.

Okay, perfect introductory chapter. Definitely made me want to read more.. :) (which I did, obviously)
I am just proud to be beta-ing this story. :)
And giddy because I get to read chapters BEFORE anybody else. :D -dances-

--Carla

P.S. I wish I had more to say but I'll just end this review saying thank you for bringing together Austen and Rowling -- two women who really changed my life. :)

Author's Response: Here is my lovely beta, dropping by to give me a lovely glowing review - there is no need to remind me why I keep you around. ;)

I have said in these responses before that what can I bring to the genre that hasn't been done before and better by others, except for putting my own wrinkles upon the world of the next gen. As such I had to start them off as ickle first years to start the world-building. Also, whilst I was participating in one of the Ravenclaw debates, someone mentioned their distaste for the whole hate-turns-to-love style of romance. I love it because of how good P&P is, naturalich, but the specific criticism got me thinking - one thing you have to do to sell a hate-to-love story is to take it slow. If the hate switches off and suddenly they are in love then that is frankly unbelievable. So we shall be following the two through the years until the culmination of the romance happens in sixth year. For those who think I'm giving anything away, remember all that I've promised is that Rose will eventually fall in love with Scorpius - I never said that he would return the love, nor that it would all end up happily ever after. I leave that up to the hopes of my readership.

It is absolutely and categorically how I wanted Albus to be - he is what Harry would have been like if only he had been raised in a loving family. He will be the heart of this story.

Yes some of their reactions are based upon their up-bringing, but most comes from their intrinsic natures. Albus is kind and welcoming, but Rose is too prideful of what her family is. She hasn't had terribly much experience of the wiarding world seen from beyond the lens of her family - Scorpius just doesn't fit into any mold that she knows; and there's also something about him that just gets under her skin ...

Thank you, this is so lovely, I'm glad you were desirous of further immersion into the story. I have brought the two wonderful ladies together and I can only hope that I am doing the pair justice.

Thank you for your review, as of this response the story as a whole has 1240 reads and this chapter has 344 - thank you all.

PS. For anyone else out there reading this response, Carla was the first to see ahead to the 'not-a-proposal' scene - my equivalent of Darcy's offer of marriage being rejected by Lizzy - and she has pronounced it to be good (much to my relief and delight),


 Report Review

Review #5, by bittersweetflamesBruises : Bruises

21st April 2015:
Here for our swap, darling. :) Anyway, I had really been meaning to read and review this story because, hello, you gave my banner a gorgeous home. I'm so glad you got inspiration from the banner.:D

And what inspiration. WAIT. JUST WAIT. This story. This story was just breathtaking. OMG, I am just in awe. You are such a brilliant writer and I read through all of that so fast, you have no idea. haha. :) I just thoroughly enjoyed the way you wrote Emmaline.

While you didn't gloss over the details of the war, the simplicity with which you talked about the pain of it was beautiful and heart-rending because it simply was. The bit where Em says that she's heartbroken? She says it almost casually and with a shrug but you know how deeply she feels it. That's war - your heart breaks and you wish it didn't but it does but you have to move on best as you can.

I can't imagine how horrible it was for her to find out about Sirius. With the way you wrote them as a couple, it was obvious how deeply they felt about each other. So I get her - the bruises really won't fade. I mean, how do you get over the betrayal? Or really, how do you BELIEVE that the betrayal is real? You really managed to create a sympathetic character in Emmaline and I wish I could just give her a hug and tell her that, NO, Sirius didn't betray anyone... You should still love him, you were right in trusting him. But, alas, I can't.

Gorgeous writing, Meg. Thanks for giving my banner a great home. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #6, by bittersweetflameswildest dreams: fireworks

21st April 2015:
Heya there. :) Here for our swap. :D Ok, so, this was so funny. There was just a certain easiness to everything that while it wasn't short, it was actually very easy to read -- like a really nice YA novel. :D

I loved the characterisations of Arizona and Alex AND wow, I can't wait to see how James will develop. There were moments I wanted to stab Shay and Elle but, really, violence is never the answer. That's about it. :) Update soon! Thanks for sharing. ;)

--C

Author's Response: omg, thank you!! I'm so happy you liked the characters, they're, like, my children and aha everyone at some point wanted to stab shay :0. Thank you again for your lovely review! (: x

 Report Review

Review #7, by bittersweetflamesA Single Point In Time: 1981

15th April 2015:
Hey, darling. :) I'm here for our swap. :hug:

Laura, I am absolutely blown away by this. COMPLETELY. I may have read this two or three times, stopped to think then read again. :) It took me a while before I realized that this chapter had less than a thousand words - this is more mind-blowing because you managed to capture SO MUCH using few words because they're just the perfect amount to capture the atmosphere and the events.

I love how easily it was to empathize with Dumbledore and how easy it was to feel what he was feeling. You know, I've never really thought about what happened during those years before Harry went to Hogwarts but AFTER his parents were dead. But with your words, you managed to weave this world wherein we see so much emotion.

Then there's the fact that you put in Phineas - he is a character I think not a lot of people like him but I love his character so much - he just seems so sneaky, it's so perfect.

So, OK, GORGEOUS GORGEOUS job. I'm so glad we swapped. :)

--C

Author's Response: Heyaa! ♥

Eek, thank you so much for your gorgeous review! :D You are so kind and I'm so glad you liked this! It's such an experiment but I'm really enjoying writing it so far.

About the gap before Harry goes to Hogwarts - I know right?! Like I sort of forgot it was a time period. We know dribs and drabs of what Harry is up to (being chased up a tree by a dog, for example) but what about EVERYONE ELSE? Like in my head the magical world kinda stops until his story continues hehe :) obvs that's not right so I thought I'd try and flesh it out a bit!

Ha I loved writing Phineas, he is so snarky and I actually absolutely loved him in the book *^o^* I was so happy when I was able to slip him in. I was like, out of all the portraits in the room, who would have something to say round about now...? AHA! Phineas! You!

Thanks for the lovely review and I hope, if you get round to the later chapters, you enjoy them as much too :D

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #8, by bittersweetflamesThe Story of Us: The Story of Us.

6th April 2015:
Ok, CassieLassie... I am here to review this fic. It's sort of redundant, really, because you saw all my comments when I beta'd it. BUT THAT'S NO PROBLEM BECAUSE I LOVE THIS STORY and I LOVE PLOTTING with you. GOD, stop your capslock, Carla.
Ok, stopping.

Anyway, this fic was so PERFECT for the song (or the song perfect for the fic, whatever floats your boat) and you did all the scenes so well. (I so proud)
So, the fact that you managed to show a gorgeous timeline of Hermione's life. I felt sorry for her, I rooted for her; I was mad for her and I felt so glad for when she got to a better point.
You write such perfect characterizations -- Neville, Harry, Draco and even the bad!Ron is good. (I know how much you hate Ron)

But, yes, this story might be long but it's totally worth it. :D WRITE MORE DRAMIONE.
I love you, bae.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #9, by bittersweetflamesLife As We Know It: chapter two

5th April 2015:
Ok, Erica, chapter 2 and if I'm right... this story's 300th review! WOO! :D

Ok, so, this was brilliantly handled! The start, with the Hermione and Malfoy confrontation was just beautiful and perfect because Malfoy was as vile and disgusting as you would expect him to be towards Hermione BUT when you allowed us to see beneath him, to see that, maybe, he is suffering as well then you feel sorry for him and, like Hermione, there's a burning curiosity to know how he feels and what he thinks.

The part with Harry and Hermione was gorgeous as well. I stand by my conviction that Harry and Hermione make better best friends but that's just my bias, I suppose. haha Anyway, misery love company and for it to be between these two? Two well-known names in Hogwarts then you see that everyone goes through aches and pains and that's ok. :)

Love that little bit of Sarah and Lisa you put in there and I can't wait to read the next chapters. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #10, by bittersweetflamesLife As We Know It: chapter one

5th April 2015:
Ok, Erica. :D Here to read and review as I promised yesterday. :D

So, my heart breaks for Hermione because I know exactly what it's like to be in her place -- to be discarded, to be the one made fun of for being different. And I just wanted to kick Ron (somewhere very very painful) for being so inconsiderate and insensitive but he IS a teenage boy and they're not particularly known for being sensitive, are they?

The part at the end with the Ron-Hermione-Lavender scene was exceptionally done in my opinion! :) Then you add in the bit with Malfoy at the end and it took all my self-control to write this review instead of clicking 'Next'. Anyway, you know that I share your passion for Dramione so I will just gush and go read the next chapter because, well, I want to read more.

Much love,
Carla

 Report Review

Review #11, by bittersweetflamesDisappear: Pretend

19th March 2015:
Next chapter, it seems. :) Still here in support for the HPFF Fundraising Event.

This is such a short chapter and that quite depresses me because I really love the way you are shaping this entire story; the plot is really interesting and we're only beginning!

I have a new favorite friendship story - Draco and Harry are just equal amounts amusing and perfectly complex. Their teasing shows an underlying respect and like for one another, which you started well in the first chapter and managed to follow up this chapter.

The fact that Draco found out about Hermione really quite intrigues me - what sort of talent is that? I just want to know more about him now and I already really like the way you've written him. Only 3 chapters and you've managed to make him a completely 3-dimensional character on top of the character that was already established in the novels.

Then you mention how Hermione seemingly botched up an assignment from before and so you've managed to successfully want anyone following your story demand a new installment. So, write a new chapter! I am really enjoying this story and I wish you have a new chapter soon. Although, no pressure.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, but more importantly, supporting this community and website. I'm glad you enjoyed my writing, and that I get to continue posting things on this website. Thank you!
xoxo
GeekAttack


 Report Review

Review #12, by bittersweetflamesDisappear: Apparition

19th March 2015:
Am back to read and review the next chapter! :) Still Carla and still here in support of HPFF's fundraiser event! :)

Okay, so you write Hermione just as well as your wrote Draco in the first chapter. I am superbly impressed at how much you've managed to capture the tone of Hermione's voice - the despair in it, the sadness and still that little tinge of hope. We can feel her dilemma and all the complexities of how her life has been since the war. Like you did in chapter 1, you managed to show how how things change when the war ends and 'peace' settles in the land.

Somehow, I understand why Ron is behaving the way he does and I can understand Hermione's frustration as well. Her interaction with Draco was quite fun and I really enjoyed it because it was so normal and just quite like it was when they were in Hogwarts.

Then you wrote in Luna, who is one of my most favorite characters in the entire series EVER and you wrote her quite perfectly. Her conversation with Hermione really put into context the whole situation with Ron without any of the unneeded emotional baggage. Of course you show that little snippet of Draco with Luna and with that, you managed to make Draco seem so much more complex than the person we assume him to be and that was amazing and makes me just THAT much more excited to see what happens next.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #13, by bittersweetflamesDisappear: Shadow

19th March 2015:
Hi there. :) I'm Carla and I'm here to review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser. That and I saw Rosamund Pike in the banner and I was like... Oh, yes please.

Okay, so you started off very atmospheric. I could imagine with perfect clarity the scene that you painted for us. The beautiful man, out of place in a run down, dirty bar. It was a scene we'd probably seen countless of times in movies but it was breathtakingly portrayed here nonetheless.

When you introduced Harry, with that one humorous line you were able to convey with no need for superfluous description how these two characters felt about each other and how their relationship has developed since the novels. I think it's a perfect progression. They obviously grudgingly like one another and, of course, they respect one another -- so wonderful! Harry and Draco having a friendship is something that I have always hoped would work -- their personalities seem so well-suited to be friends.

I think the way you described about how the Ministry has evolved since the end of the war. You're right in saying that it can't possibly be all puppies and rainbows.:) Nothing ever is, especially not after any sort of war.

Then you mention about the woman that's joining Draco and you just KNOW that it's going to be absolutely juicy; makes you want to read the next chapter soon as possible.

Ok, off to read the nextchapter. Keep writing, hunny. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #14, by bittersweetflamesThe Cake Incident: The Cake Incident

19th March 2015:
Hi there. :) Carla here to review in support of the HPFF Fundraising Review Event. That and you mentioned CAKE and I was SOLD! Woo.

Anyway, I am a big fan of baking and this made me laugh from the start because, believe me, I've seen people do as badly as James did in the kitchen. And they didn't even have the excuse of growing up magical and without exposure to any electrical appliances as an excuse.

So the trepidation that is so clear in James as he attempts to bake a cake is so CUTE. It's obvious he's quite clueless but he's also so determined to do it for Lily that you can't help but cheer him on.

The way you describe Lily as James sees her is beautiful. I never really doubted that James loved Lily very much but you made it sound so poetic and gorgeous the way you wrote it. Although, maybe he shouldn't have been thinking too hard about Lily when he should have been paying attention to the cake he was supposed to be trying to bake.

The end, with the rather comical batter-covered James (and kitchen, of course!) was so cute. Luckily they're magic and could clean it up with a wave of a hand. I have not been so lucky and find myself quite jealous of the fact that they could do that. I wish I had a wand to clean up the mess other people leave in my kitchen.

Like Lily, I would have been so touched if someone had done for me what James had done for Lily. Although, in my case, I'd have had him clean up his own mess, thank you very much.

Cute story. I really enjoyed it! :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so, so, so much for this lovely review oh my goodness! This brightened my day when I read it :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Haha, I'm definitely one of those people who bakes cakes as badly as James (probably even worse).

Same here, a wand would make everything so much easier! And yes me too, Lily is far too nice haha!

Thank you again, this review is absolutely lovely!

- Anni :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by bittersweetflamesNothing is Perfect: Chapter 1

19th March 2015:
Hiya, Cassie. I made your banner and I am here to review. You definitely don't have enough reviews, I'm thinking so I'm here in support of the HPFF Fundraiser Event! Woo!

Anyway, I really love the descriptions you've used here to describe Draco. It's haunting because he seems so broken and alone and haunted. His Healer, you can see that his Healer really wants to help but it's obvious that it would take more than mandated sessions with a Healer to get Draco to get out of the deep hole that he has sunk in. That said, it's horrific the way that he doesn't just REMEMBER all the horrible things that happened to him or that he happened to witness during the war but that he actually RELIVES them must be like being stuck in a circle of hell or something equally monstrously horrible.

When you had Draco look for a job I thought, ok so Malfoy is going to look for a job, eh? And the way you made him have a manual job seems perfect -- after all, hard physical labor always seems to manage to drive away difficult memories. BUT ALAS! Nothing as simple as that. You insert Hermione Granger into the mix. Their interaction is classic. They're both clearly hurting but that they'd inflict pain onto one another is so ingrained it feels as though it has a healing effect on the two of them to talk normally to one another.

I was left feeling intrigued as to why Hermione and Ron's relationship in that small snippet you showed us was less than ideal and Draco's reaction to the whole thing, of course.

Beautifully done, darling. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: meow meow meow -jinx cat walks around-
I need sleep
I fell asleep watching The Voice
merp.

And thank you so much for the review ♥ ♥ I love know what people are thinking when they read the chapters ^.^


 Report Review

Review #16, by bittersweetflamesAttention: Attention

19th March 2015:
Hi darling. :D Here to review in support of the HPFF Fundraiser Event (and because I am a huge Charlie/Hermione fan!)

Anyway, as I mentioned I am a huge fan of this ship and I simply had to read and review this story when I saw your banner request over at TDA.

Anyway, I love the way you built up this story. From telling how Hermione ended up in Romania; that she would want to be a dragon tamer seems entirely plausible. In my mind, she might be too tired of adventures featuring people and find the prospect of magizoology, safer but not boring in the least.

The way Hermione you describe how Hermione fell in love with Charlie was very amusing. Certainly, it would strike a chord with anyone. Falling in love, while a big thing can happen in the most innocuous of circumstances and that was certainly the case here.

Your use of humour in Charlie finally getting Hermione's attention was precious -- just enough without being too over the top. It's perfect the way you wrote it just this way because at the start you're sorry for Hermione, who you think is suffering from unrequited love (OUCH!) but then when we hear Charlie's point of view, the tables reverse and we feel sorry for HIM.

The oblivious know-it-all and the frustrated dragon keeper. A perfect pair in my opinion and a wonderful story that you wrote. Thanks for sharing.

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this great review, it was such a pleasure to read. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by bittersweetflamesFlicker in the Wind: Flicker on the Wind

18th March 2015:
Hiya, Cassie Lassie. Here to review in support for the HPFF Fundraiser Event! Wooo!

Okay, first off, I am a HUGE fan of Dramione and I have absolutely no shame in admitting that! That being said, I could just HURT you with what you had written here. I hate feeling sad at night -- it tends to bleed over into sad dreams. TSK. But I forgive you because this was a good story.

I love the way you used a non-linear format for the telling of their life together. The way you intermingled the sad bits with the brighter, happier times made everything much more poignant. As readers, we can see WHY Hermione is devastated; even without having gone through a loss as devastating as hers we can see how much it could affect anyone.

The way you incorporated George in this one was also brilliant. To some extent, his part in it although small, felt like a mini-story inside the longer story that was integral to the whole. George was the perfect vehicle to teach Hermione the different between utter despair that leads to giving up and the acceptance that despair can be a part of life without being the force that completely drives it. So, well done! Like Hermione must have felt then, you can see that she can probably make it through everything and come out a better person.

Now the end.. Making Hermione pregnant was beautiful. I think about how her life would be with that reminder of Draco and I believe that it's going to make her stronger and happier and remembering the man she loved, while still painful, could be beautiful as well.

This needs more reviews. But I'm glad I read and reviewed it. Much love, darling

Author's Response: -glomps-
-throws flowers at-
-sings a million songs-
-glares at the nasty singing on the voice-

Thank you for the wonderful review - and I hope it didn't give you too many sad dreams that night ♥ and I'm glad we have our mutual share of dramione fics and rambling.

And the pregnancy part made me a little sad to write :( I mean, she should be happy but it's still really sad.


 Report Review

Review #18, by bittersweetflamesLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: A Brand New Year

21st January 2015:
Here for chapter 2! Sorry it's a day late. ♥

Anyway, I really loved the contrast of this chapter with the previous chapter. Here, the family (the Potter one, that is) is more accepting of the Albus-Scorpius relationship and it really bring into perspective what must have been the difference in their upbringing.

I think the interactions between the Potter siblings are spot on. Since I myself have two older brothers, I know what it's like to actually be at the receiving end of a lot of teasing and it's borne out of love and familiarity, so that's beautiful to see. The way Scorpius reacts to it with a sort of baffling wonder is also just the way I see only children reacting to sibling interactions. So, well done on that.

I think it was really funny that you brought up Scorpius asking Fred out. I don't think it was cruel of James - he's just one of those insensitive siblings, I have one myself - and it gave Scorpius the opportunity to show and tell Albus how much he is loved, which I think was really really sweet.

I just wanted to ask how old they are in this (by they I mean Albus and Scorpius) because you mentioned how there was Firewhiskey involved and then Lily having lots of men so I was assuming that they were young adults but you mentioned Hogwarts in the last chapter? So that would make them 17(ish) and Lily younger? So, it just struck me as a bit incongruous but, anyway, could just be me. I'm a bit of a prude. lol

So, thanks, dahl for the swap. :) Lovely story. A really great intro to the Albus-Scorpius pairing. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Albus and Scorpius is almost eighteen, Lily is fifteen. I'd like to think that her older cousins and siblings are keeping an eye on her and the other younger cousins and the alcohol... Or at least that's what their parents think?

Thanks again for your reviews! :-)


 Report Review

Review #19, by bittersweetflamesLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: An Awkward Dinner

20th January 2015:
Hi, darling. :)

This is my first try reading an Albus/Scorpius although I have no objections to it. I think it's really sweet the way this is written in first person and in Scorpius' POV. I loved his thoughts -- the genuine sense of his nerves tinges the tone of the chapter in such a way that without him going into epic sonatas about it, it's plain how much Scorpius loves and cares for Albus.

I loved how you managed to characterize Draco and Astoria. :) Astoria really fits my head canon of her -- she loves Draco and she loves Scorpius. She's entrenched in tradition but she's not above looking beyond all of it. I can feel how much she wanted to bridge the gap between Draco and her son but she's treading lightly because it's a bumpy road.

Draco, on the other hand, was just perfect -- there's just the right amount of the Lucius in him with Astoria's influence mixed in which is why he's a little tense about his son's relationship with Harry Potter's son but he's willing to reach out anyway (albeit in a tense way but he's still trying.)

Anyway, I can't wait to see how things happen from here on. Thanks for the swap, hun.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm happy to introduce you to this great ship! :-)

I'm glad you like Draco and Astoria. Draco is not a character I'm very fond of, but I do think he loves Scorpius, even if he has a hard time right now. Astoria has a difficult job to balance her husband and her son. Not an easy job at all... ;-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: City of Resurrection

15th January 2015:
Last chapter (for now. Seriously, you have to update. -inserts puppy dog eyes-)

Okay, I am glad you quickly addressed the cliffie from the last chapter. Some authors have employed that annoying habit of forgetting that they've stopped at a cliffie and I want to kiss you for not doing that here (else I'd have gone completely into the deep end. ha)

Of course, it's Dennis Creevey. -hits self- I'm not always this oblivious, trust me (no, don't.) But even when you reveal who it is, you still manage to present more questions to ask than answer those already dangling. I don't know how you do it but as I read on and on, I was more and more intrigued.

Like, what does Draco Malfoy have to do it? What the hell is resurrecting Abraxas Malfoy going to do? More importantly, how on earth are they going to do that? See what I mean about more questions? And, really, that's not even half of the questions I am asking.

You managed to capture perfectly the mood of two people who cannot even begin to abide one another come to the resigned conclusion that they'd have to work together -- how interesting is that? Very, to my way of thinking. :) I am just excited to see how things will progress from here on in.

Ok, moving on to Egypt. Egypt OMG. How exciting. hehe.
You don't bury the lead. You just go right ahead and introduce Kaitlyn and not just introduce! You let us know right away that she is in a relationship with Dennis Creevey (who is in Las Vegas! OMG)

It makes me really feel for her when she finds out and realizes that Dennis really just IS a summer fling. How painful is that, really? It's devastating. But before we can just simmer along and just be sorry for this poor girl you go BAM on us.

COLIN CREEVEY? Are you kidding me? No, obviously you're not. :O But, really, I never expected. How on earth is he in Egypt? I mean, seriously, how is that possible? It must be a trick. It HAS to be a trick. -flails arms- Okay, if I am not intrigued by now, well, I'd be a rock. Actually, wrong. Even a rock would be intrigued. It's impossible not to be.

Even with the curiosity burning in me, I can still feel how Colin is genuinely concerned about Dennis. Pain from the death of a loved one lost so early can be blinding, I think and Dennis is sufficiently blind except for one small thing and that's revenge. Revenge and trying to get Colin back.

Anyway, I can't wait to see what happens next. Thanks again for the swap, darl. Let me know when you update and want a swap again. I'm happy to do so. :)

--C

 Report Review

Review #21, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: City of Sorrow

15th January 2015:
Hi, Isobel. And onto Chapter 2. -squeals excitedly-

Okay, I'll start off by saying that your detail into describing Death's domain is just so brilliant! Everything from the rip in the Underworld to workers abseiling down rocky cliffs was just handled so well. Everything you wrote fascinated -- you managed to cram a lot of details in there without making it feel like it was, well, crammed. :) You managed to craft an enticing view of the Underworld that felt just enough, you know? Like, I understand the world enough to move forward in the story without feeling confused but it's just bare enough that I want to learn more. :)

When you revealed those bits about Misty -- I STARTED FLAILING MY ARMS and JUST DYING. wah. Honestly, I loved it so much. You can now understand why her purpose from the prologue was so frantic, so desperate. For her sake I wanted her to succeed but more for my sake because I wanted to find out for about this impossible human. You made me wonder what it feels like to fail the being, who created you? To know that your existence was so tenuous and the feeling of fear that must inspire? I was asking myself that question and more throughout reading this story.

Now onto the next part when we are finally in Las Vegas. I can say I FEEL Pansy.I know what it feels like to have everything you thought was right go so utterly wrong. I've been there (although to a much smaller extent than the complete devastation that is Pansy's life.)

I've never really felt sympathy (or even just basic empathy) with her character but you managed to make me feel it with the way you've written about her plight. You don't FORCE us to feel sorry for her in your language. You just managed to set the facts in as objective a way as possible without making it seem whiny or cold and that made it seem so much better, to my way of thinking. :)

The encounter with the wife, Anna, is so intriguing. Seriously, what is up with that, Isobel? -flails arms- How could you just plop her there and then... POOF! Much like she vanishes into thin air, you tease us and then nothing happens. You plow on ahead to something else entirely. If one needed lessons on how to make successful cliffies, you can teach it with the end to this chapter. A wand to the NECK? I'm so glad that there's a next chapter as I am reading this, Isobel. Else I'd be really mad. lol.
Thanks for the swap. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #22, by bittersweetflamesDusty Fingerprints: Dusty Fingerprints

15th January 2015:
Hiya Curie! Finally here for our swap. :) I'm so glad you asked me to wait for this story. It's so lovely. :D Ok, first off, I love that you chose to write a Founders story. I find Founders so very
hard to write about -- much like writing historical stories, there's an additional layer of detail you have to get right since tone is important although I really think you nailed it.

I want to comment on the fact that I think you've found your niche! Second person definitely seems to work for you. When you wrote the Molly story in second story, it worked really well and I think you use it really well in this story as well.

First, I love your description of Rowena. I've always imagined her as cool, aloof and regal -- the image of perfect lady of those times. You managed to capture this perfectly, so perfectly in fact that I can see her in my mind's eye so well.

I can really feel Godric's confusion and curiosity about Rowena. You can see that he is drawn to her and intrigued yet because she is the perfect lady, he is treated with indifference. I think that's perfect. It makes me wonder what he would do for her to stop being so indifferent to her. :)

The way you described the library was just spot on. I could practically see the bookshelves as you described them, could feel the dust tickling my nose and when Godric first comes across her smiling, I admit it had me smiling as well -- you can feel that she is genuinely happy and content amongst books and Godric, already intrigued and drawn to her cannot help but be entranced. Poor man, he never had a chance.

I think the way you spoke of his feelings for her was done really brilliantly. It wasn't a wild, loud declaration of love but more like a soft, slow slide headlong into its beauty. I want to know how he would tell her; how he would make her see. Maybe a kiss amongst the impossible bookshelves? One can only hope. :)

Thanks for the swap, darling. Your writing really has improved so much. ilu. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #23, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: Prologue

14th January 2015:
OMG, Isobel. Thank you for doing a swap with me because I got to read this story. It's so amazing and wonderful!! Did you honestly write this during NaNo? How is that fair? Answer: It's not. Woo

Okay, I love the way you set up this prologue. I always expect that prologues are to get a reader excited to turn the page (or in this case, clicking the arrow to go next!) and I almost didn't write this review because I desperately want to read the next chapter.

I just find it so fascinating when there is someone who can write mysteries well because it's something that I have never been able to really do. :)

First off, Misty. I can tell how dedicated she is to her purpose. I can understand this because, well, it's a big purpose, right? Yes, I really think so.

With very little words you managed to capture the paranoia and the thirst that must have been mingling inside her head. And quite possibly the frustration when the unknown person (who I am so curious about, omg. But really, moving on) is not really cooperating with what she had planned and schemed (I think scheme is a good word) to do.

Okay, let's go to the impossible human. I love how you inserted things you borrowed yet adapted from Mythology in this. It's so very interesting to read about the rivers and angels and demons. And, wah, it's the sort of thing I love reading about but rare do I ever find something that's quite as well-written as yours. :)

I love how you wrapped up this prologue -- there was a frantic energy to it that I loved and really reinforced the need for me to press that arrow and read more.

I completely agree with Misty, I want to know the secret of resurrection. Thanks for the swap, darling.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #24, by bittersweetflamesKnight Takes Queen: Rook

14th January 2015:
Hi, Laura. Here for our swap. :) Sorry it took so long. I was just captivated by your writing, as I've been since the first time I swapped with you.

So, I chose this story for the swap because it's Rowena and it's rare that I've read a story with her. But I thought it would be such a good idea to read one that you've written. (Start with the best, I say.)

I love that you employed the second person here. Second person always interests me, to be honest, because I have never tried it before and I've seen it done a little bit awkwardly before. When it is done well, it's absolutely lovely. And you've done it so well.

I see everything as perfectly as you have described it. All the sensory details are wonderful and give me chills. My favorite was how you started how you did and from that first moment, I was hooked.

Your descriptions of the merpeople are so beautiful, so captivating. I can fully understand why Rowena was captivated especially if the existence of merpeople hasn't been proven. I would think that someone like her would definitely want to learn more --- hey, I know I would!

The way you wrote of their interaction with one another below water was just breathtaking (literally and figuratively. HA) but I can imagine how strong the feelings were between the two. I would definitely be drawn to such a need to understand, I love it.

Anyway, I really honestly loved this. Thanks for the swap again, darling. I always love swapping with you. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! :) Thank you so much for stopping by! And no worries about the time - RL can be a pain sometimes - and seriously, that is too sweet of you! :) (you can't tell, but I'm blushing over here)

I loved writing Rowena, actually. This first chapter was one of the things which just sort of formed itself in my head really easily, which I love when it happens, haha, so it was so much fun to write! And thank you so much! Though I really don't deserve that - there are some wonderful Founders stories out there ;)

I really like writing in second person, actually, when it suits the story - and it just felt right for this one. I've struggled with it in the past, but hopefully I've improved with it! I'm so glad you thought it worked okay! :)

I always struggle with openings, tbh, so I'm so happy you like it - it's one of the ones I really liked once I'd finally got it down and finished. Desription is my favourite thing to write, though, which helps ;)

I adored writing the merpeople - I'm so glad I put them in another story (The Fires of St Anthony) so I get to write them again! :P And yeah, they're such fascinating beings, and curiosity is such a natural thing, especially for a character like Rowena, too.

Haha, yeah, definitely figuratively! :P I'm so glad you liked that - it was the moment I knew I wanted to have in it but I wasn't sure it would turn out, so I'm so stoked to know you think it worked alright! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - they're always so great to get! :) I love swapping with you too! :D

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by bittersweetflamesAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

11th January 2015:
Hi Kristin. :) Sorry it took so long for me to get to this review. Anyways, thank you for the swap.

I don't know if I ever told you this, darling but I am seriously in love your writing. You have a way with imagery and sensory details that's really beautiful and detailed.

The first snippet showing the three sisters was really perfect, in my opinion. You managed, without very much effort, to show how their chilldhood actually shaped who they were. I actually always thought that Andromeda and Bellatrix were similar (and I actually always believed that they looked very much like one another) and that Narcissa was the odd one out -- which is probably why it's so believable that Bella never thought highly of her or of her ambitions.

I was so very intrigued by the 'you' you were referring to. I understood how she would be attracted to this one, especially since they seemed to be so suited although there is a darkness to the whole thing. Also, I love how you mention the Knights of Walpurgis.

Towards the end I felt so depressed - I love how she basically doesn't care about her husband but she marries him because that's what her mother and father want her to do -- you see that's how she values Pureblood ways. This is evidenced in the way she follows and is eventually all consumed by Voldemort.

I really wish to know about the other character. The way you've written about her really sparks my curiosity since she seems to be so important to the way Bella's character develops. Is she still a Death Eater? What sort of fate did she have while Bellatrix was going insane in Azkaban?

Anyway, I really loved the way you wrote this and while this review is basically useless, I want you to understand that I loved every inch of this story and I just lacked the proper coherent words to express it. (took me 2 hours to write this review. -slaps self-)

Thanks again for the swap, love.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla!! ♥ Sorry for taking so long to get to this response, so I guess we're even :p

Gah! sdfhasdhf Thank you so much, I don't even know how to properly respond to such wonderful compliments. I'm so glad you like my writing, thank you ♡

I'm glad you thought the scene of them as children correlated well with their personalities as adults. And yes - I love the idea that Bellatrix and Andromeda could have been really similar, but Andromeda chose not to. (All three sisters are so interesting. I would love to eventually write a fic about each of them actually. /offtopic)

Glad you were intrigued by the mysterious unnamed woman, as well as the mention of the Knights of Walpurgis. It was kind of cool to write about the Death Eaters before they were the Death Eaters, so to speak.

Her marriage to Rodolphus is definitely largely motivated by her parents wishing it, but also because it gives her a higher status in society, and she has no intention of being true to him anyway so it doesn't matter to her.

I'm so glad you're left wondering about the other woman! That's what I was hoping for, especially by leaving her unnamed. Bahaha, a mystery left unsolved. Anything could have happened to her. I guess it's up to you as the reader to decide ;)

Thank you so much, I'm thrilled that you liked this, and your review was lovely! Thanks so much for the swap! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>