Reading Reviews From Member: BitterSweetFlames
  
83 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BitterSweetFlamesMortality: Mortality

16th December 2014:
Omg, Curie. NO. When you told me about this story I said I wanted to read it and I'm glad (and sad) that I did. As I said, I am super impressed by your use of second person. It actually worked really well in this story.

The second person works because you can feel her emotion, you can feel sorry for her but you also know how detached and alone she seems from the rest of the world (See what I did there?)

I am so happy you're back, Curie. Because I missed your face, I missed your writing and I just missed you. :P

--Carla

P.S. Poor Ron (and all the Weasleys, really. OH GOD, the thought of this just breaks my heart. MY HEART CURIE = a million tiny pieces.)

 Report Review

Review #2, by BitterSweetFlamesDeceptive Hearts: Simple Pleasures

5th December 2014:
Ellie. I promised you I would read this story (which I did). And that I would review it (which I didn't, till now). The busted up wrist does bar me from typing up too much. (which is why I haven't been doing swaps... -sighs-)

Anywho, I love Dramione. It's one of my favorite ships (barring Snamione. ;)) And, well, I want to spend the summer with Draco now. D= His aunt Astrid sounds lovely and it's nice that Draco has the opportunity to let his hair down (figuratively speaking) for the summer.

I admit I was laughing a bit with the Baby Boy endearment because his aunt seems to obviously really love him so much and love him coming over and escape the insanity that is his life with his parents and, well, in England. I'm interested in his friends and to see what'll happen next! I'm off to read. And I promise to review when I can. :)

--Carla

P.S. Prison of Darkness. Very appropriate. :)

Author's Response: Hey Carla,

I'm sorry to hear about your wrist. What did you do to it? Rogue bludger attack? ;)

Anyway, thanks so much for coming and actually reading and reviewing, it's really nice of you. I hope you like the rest of the story. It's one of those that when I'm sitting here on my couch editing it, I occasionally find myself laughing at what is happening, and smiling like a fool. It's excessively fluffy in places, but I promise it's worth the read. Thanks for reviewing, even with your busted wrist, I hope it heals fast for you (stay away from Lockhart in this venture)

I've got a Snamione I'm working on too, so I'll see if I can't muster up a publication for it on here soon. It's only a few chapters so far.

Anyway, thanks muchly and feel better soon!

Much Love!

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #3, by BitterSweetFlamesWe Are One: It begins with pink

2nd December 2014:
Hello, darling. I'm here for the BvB Review battle.:) I just thought, well you've reviewed me twice for it already so I was determined to read something of yours so here I am.

So, I went for this one because it's a murder story and I love love love reading them (even if I am awful at writing them. No, I really am. haha)

First off, the second person works really well. Normally, I find the reading of it a little off but the use of it as the narrative for your murderer is brilliant because normally people use first person but yours is effective because it's cold and creepy and, well, detached -- which works because it leaves you wanting to know more. So, I want to know more.

Next, I love all the little things you put in Auror scenes. First off, Harry and Ginny's interaction just seems so perfect. Harry, exhausted, poking Ron on the head. Just so perfect.

I think the whole thing with the investigation and the questioning was great because as with the real world you never get anywhere fast (and this means we get more murders. -whistles-)

So, yes, this was a super intriguing start. I'm going start stalking you in the BvB now. Just so you know. lol

--C

P.S. Cats. Ugh, that must have been horrible to hear. Ron is right. Umbridge is mad.

 Report Review

Review #4, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Fires of St Anthony: Bäckahäst

1st December 2014:
YAY, I get a chance to read this story!! (And review it, of course) Hi Aph, here from the BvB review Battle for December. Merry Christmas. lol

-sigh-
Why do I always sigh when I read something of yours. It's not a bad reaction, I promise you. It's because your word choice is always flawless and you always manage to convey perfectly how everything looks and feels throughout the entirety of your story. I really loved the way you described the way the ship sank "like a stone, dropping all at once." I can already imagine what a horrible sensation that must be. -shudders-

BTW, I am quite glad that I'd already taken the shower I was planning to take BEFORE I read this chapter because your descriptions are just creepy and perfect and I SHOULD NOT HAVE READ IT AT MIDNIGHT. Ok. Because now I can't go to the bathroom and I'm just, completely scared. Ha.
To your credit, I am super curious and want to find out more rather than closing the entire thing (which I've been known to do if it's too scary. hehe)

Your narrative on Anthony's first day of teaching was brilliant, btw. One remembers that he drank quite a bit of vodka the night before and ANY job is horrible with a hangover but I don't doubt that teaching is probably the worst kind of job to be had with that sort of headache. I love that he thinks of his former teachers and wonders how on earth they could have done what they did. I think people tend to underappreciate their teachers and I'm just so happy you put that there.

Ok, now, the part about Clothilde. WAIT, I was super scared. You managed to scare me first at the start with Anthony in the shower but the fact that was happening at the same time? Well, excuse me, I want to hide under my bed. And, again, not the best story to read so late at night.

The staff meeting WAS perfect. Horrible but perfect. I loved the way you laid out things. The tension, the nerves, fear and anger.

-sigh-
I really enjoyed it. In a horrified way, of course.

--C

P.S. I love the chapter title. And, unintentional or not, the fact that it's alphabetized is great!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BitterSweetFlamesPandemonium: Four

26th November 2014:
Hi there, hun. :) Carla (SkitsandBits @the forums) here for our swap. Sorry it took so long but I actually went ahead and read a bit. (Hence why this review is actually on chapter 4. ;))

So, anyway, this is a very interesting story. And the biggest thing I like about it is Roxanne. You see, she's a very interesting OC. She's NOT a Mary Sue at all, which I appreciate. You portray her with so many character flaws and all that I really like it.

Also, I love all the little subplots (pranks, Marlene the crazy girl, REMUS!, Severus and Sirius in a group project, lol) and on top of that the bigger plots like the secret admirer letter writer or the mom and brother (who is very very annoying, btw). So your readers are left reeling from one passage to the next, which is good and fun since nothing is dragging.

Some things I would watch out for, maybe, are typos? You have quite a few typos in your chapters (e.g. moter instead of mother). There were a few grammatical oversights that did disrupt the flow of the story a bit so you may want to read over it (or ask someone to for you, as a second pair of eyes help).

Also, you might want to watch out because your first 3 chapters were written in the first person but I was surprised that chapter 4 was written in the third person (btw, I think your writing is better with this narrative) But, yes, just watch out, dove.

Sorry if I was too harsh. I really did enjoy the plots and premise of the story. In fact, I am going to keep reading to see what happens. :) Thanks again for the swap, dove.

--C

Author's Response: Thank you so much :D

I'll definitely take your suggestions! I'll go back and touch up the first three chapters and think about getting someone too proof read them :D! I find i'll read it, then reread it and find mistakes. But when I go back a month or so later and reread it I find more -.- So a second pair of eyes is a good idea.


I find the story has changed from what I originally intended, and I like this direction much more (much darker and I think they'll be a sequel) so I think I'll need to fix up the summary.


 Report Review

Review #6, by BitterSweetFlamesUpping The Ante: Save A Broom

25th November 2014:
Hi Lo! :) Carla here for our review swap (I'm SkitsandBits at the forums. hehe)
Anyway, this was a very interesting story and I am uber interested in seeing where it is going. So I decided to just go ahead and read through to Chapter 2 because I saw that Chapter 1 had more reviews and, anyway, like I said, I just wanted to see where it was going. Kay, that's out of the way.

First off, I haven't read many Quidditch stories (or ones that feature Quidditch in a big way!). I'm just not a sports gal and it's a sport, lol. But, the way you wrote it and portrayed the playing and the players is actually amazing even with the fact that they're all OC's so you had to introduce them to us AND talk about playing Quidditch.

Anyway, specifically in Chapter 2 I loved Lily. Like, really really. I think the way you wrote her seemed spot on. I've never written her (I wouldn't know how!) but she comes across as lovely. Also, may I just say that the way you insert little snippets of humor here and there is just brilliant. I really laugh out loud when I read them and it's rare for me to have that reaction. I think it's one of your strengths, I really do. Like, the bouncing dimes line from the previous chapter and the save a broom one from this. Just genius! :D

Anyway, I also want to mention that I love Charlie! She's so interesting and well-written and 3-dimensional that I want to be her friend, I want to hang out with her. Just, really great.

Now onto Sirius Black. I think the way you wrote him was spot on. He's arrogant, a bit of a player and just really crazy. It's interesting to note how Alexandra will react to things with him especially now that Amos has been introduced! Oooh, intrigue. I want to see where the Amos storyline is going. You sneaky devil you, putting him towards the end that you'd whet my interest. Haha.

Overall, really enjoyed it.

Thanks for the swap! :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #7, by BitterSweetFlamesWhen Summer Fades: solstice

25th November 2014:
Okay, Kristin! Carla is back and I finally get to read this chapter (again) and review it! WOO. :)

Anywho, I think you started off this chapter really really powerfully. First off, you managed with just a few paragraphs, to show the gradual unraveling of Regulus Black. It reinforced the pain that your last chapter managed to make us feel with the last sentence -- Summer is dead, we can't forget that and if we can't, Regulus surely can't either. You feel sorry for the man. Not just for the loss of a friend, which is already hard in and of itself but for the loss of everything else - his humanity, his hope, his opportunity to be normal. The sadness spoke volumes when Regulus speaks of how he doesn't value life - you know he is lost then.

I love the little snippet with Sirius too! I know why he's disgusted and disappointed but he was also selfish in that he didn't check to see how his brother really felt and thought. By the time he could care, it was too late. -shakes head- The poor Black brothers.

Now onto the big part. WOAH. I totally did not expect that you would kill the Phillips! I was like. o.0 when I read that bit because it's a horrible horrible way to die, I bet. Whatever small piece of heart Regulus had left (and I doubt it was big after everything that had happened) probably shriveled up and died and you know, absolutely, that he's going to do something drastic. And you can't help but empathize for him. He could have been so much more, you know this, but he won't ever be.

I am really glad, btw, that Regulus knows what a Horcrux is. It's strangely comforting that knowledge about something so dark was found through the act of doing something so inherently good. It's like Summer helped Regulus find out too, which is genius!

The end was, just, too emotional for words. ugh. I can't even, Kristin. Can't even. But I am actually happy for Regulus, for his dying, for the fact that while that was so horrible a death he left before he could be fully corrupted, while he still had even just a small part of his heart and soul. Summer would have wanted nothing less for him.

"Inside my eyelids was a white light; I let it take me towards eternal summer." - Ok, sorry, but crying for that line. I love how you tied in Summer and how even in those last few moments he would be thinking of her (of course! who else would he think of?) albeit in a roundabout way.

Anyway, this was so beautiful, Kristin. So glad I finally was able to review this (somewhat) coherently. Thanks for the swap. ;)

--Carla

P.S. So sad that it's over... But knew that it would be. -sigh-

Author's Response: Hi Carla!

Thanks, I'm glad to hear that this was a powerful start. I think Summer's death was hard for him in a lot of ways, like you mentioned - he had known a really good person and then after she was gone, it was just even more evident to him what he was lacking in his life.

That snippet with Sirius - yeah, I feel like both sides are understandable, why they act the way they do - but if they'd only talked! Gaaa :-/

I know, it was really quite terrible, but after Regulus had lost his ability to care about anything, it needed to be something emotionally crushing for him to be spurred into action again.

Aw, I love what you point out about the Horcrux, 'something so dark found through the act of doing something so inherently good', as if Summer helped him find out. That's such a wonderful way to think about it!

It means a lot to hear that the end was so affecting. And yes, I think Summer would have been happy that there was still good in him when he died, and he stayed true to himself.

*hands over tissue* I'm really glad the end was touching and that you saw it as beautiful (even though it was just like, a paragraph of him drowning.) It's wonderful to hear that the last line tied everything together.
Thank you for the swap, omg and a favourite too, thanks sooo much!! You're the best - your reviews on this have been so kind and simply amazing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Fires of St Anthony: Alpdrücke

23rd November 2014:
Hi darling. Here for our swap. :)

First off, excuse me while I try to pull my jaw from the floor where it is currently at. I cannot believe you wrote this during NaNo. Are you even human? Or maybe a superhero whose power is to write. Your descriptions! -SWOONS- so perfect and just, wow. XD I actually read through this chapter twice because there was so much I felt I missed the first time.

Jormungandr's Stair -- holy hell, really? D= Well, omg, that is just the scariest, most nerve-wracking thing in the world. I would have died and jumped if I had to do it (well, maybe not. BUT TEMPTATION. OMG) [note: your story is making me incoherent. In a good way, I promise. haha]

So, the staff room! That was very interesting to read. And I agree. Teachers much have liquor stores, this should be canon. ha It would probably be important to survive teaching dunderheads (lol, I do love that term.)

The game you described seemed so very interesting and complicated. Like I said earlier I had to read through a second time to get most of the details but your words are just so rich and powerful, it's almost as potent as I'm sure the vodka was for Anthony.

What I also really liked is how Anthony also thinked about his life at Hogwart's. You know, playing with friends, the fact that it teemed with life, etc. And that he contrasted it with Durmstrang just put into harsher perspective what sort of place Durmstrang is. *brr* I don't know if I'd want to go there!

When I saw the part at the end, I felt chills running up the back of my spine like little spiders. How? What? Why?

"Something, yes, But not a boy."
-- This scared me more than anything has ever had the power to scare. -crawls under bed-

I can't wait to see where this is going! Thanks for the swap. :)

--Carla

P.S. Is that Matt Czuchry I see on your banner? OK, I need to pause with hand to the heart. K, it's passed. I doubly love your story now.

 Report Review

Review #9, by BitterSweetFlamesAn inky black heart.: The ebony vessel.

23rd November 2014:
Hi Kiana! :D Here for the swap! :)

Oh Wow, the Every Word Counts challenge really is absolutely fabulous! It produces the most fascinating of entries and this one was no different. I was totally blown away by your style of writing in this fic. -jaw drop-

I love the repetition of words - it's so powerful and beautiful and chilling. Snape's mind is so scary in this, I find myself depressed over that (I just love Snape so much. haha). But the depression doesn't last too long because I am whisked away to another thought, another room in his mindpalace and it is just as intriguing and dark as the last.

I find the idea of obsessive love interesting, actually. I've had a long long long (see what I did there?XD) time to think about Snape's feelings towards Lily and I could never fully resolve it in my head. But you've managed to put a dark, twisted voice in there (my head, I mean) and, wow, it's insistent. (I don't know what to do with it!)

Anyway, I too am not a fan of Snily although for probably a different reason. But it is quite obvious you don't like them as a ship but it's okay because this was such a fascinating read.

And, again, thank you for the swap.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey Carla, thank you for this amazing review, your lovely comments mean so much to me and they really did make my day!

Haha, yeah, it was rather fun to delve into his twisted mind and imagine all the crazy things which are happening in it as it's a bit unreal, but I'm glad that you liked it a lot.

Haha, I did, and even though I wrote this really dark and twisted version of their love in this story I'm still not sure if this is my head canon. I think it's just one of those weird pairings where you'll never be really sure.

I'm glad that you still found it a good read which means a lot to me, and thanks again for this fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #10, by BitterSweetFlamesDreams of Hope : Dreams of Hope

23rd November 2014:
Hi, Panda. :) I'm here for the Ravenclaw BvB Review Battle. I couldn't resist! I wanted to read something you'd written. hehe..

Anyway, you definitely deserved to win the challenge! While this was short it was, in no way, lacking. I really loved the way you described Lupin, poor poor lonely Lupin. How sad and painful it must have been to come back to Hogwarts after all those years and remember happier times. That really comes across.

When you said that this was written for a quote challenge I spent the entire fic looking for it. If you had not mentioned in your AN that it was "I know how men in exile feed on dreams of hope." I would not have been 100% sure that was the quote you'd used! That's a testament to how flawlessly you wrote this story. I really truly enjoyed it.:)

Lastly, I love all the emotions you managed to invoke - fear, hope, anger, sadness. All in varying degrees. Rare has it been for less than 1000 words to have such a power to affect.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it! Great job. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you Carla for this sweet review! I don't often get reviews, and this one really made my day! Thanks for all the wonderful things you said about this story, I am really glad you liked it!
Thanks again!
~Panda


 Report Review

Review #11, by BitterSweetFlamesSaving Severus Snape : 31st August 1976

23rd November 2014:
Meg. I am not admitting that I am stalking this story. ABSOLUTELY NOT. But when I saw in status updates that WTM was validating I was, like, oooh.. Must see, must see. So, okay, I might have stalked a little.

I loved loved loved every teeny aspect of this chapter! The way you wrote Dumbledore. You wrote him so very well! And then you add in the fact that you put Hermione in Ravenclaw. Yes, I think she'd have been very suited to that house. So awesome. (And the common room is beautiful. I WANT TO LIVE THERE. lol)

Okay, so I cannot wait for a Hermione-Severus interaction! Hopefully soon.

Much loves

--C

Author's Response: Carla!

Hahaha! That is totally fine! Like I said, I'm stalking Seven, as well. ;) Stalk away! ♥

Oh I'm so glad that you liked it! I was afraid that it might have been a little slow, but I don't want to dive into the whole Hermione/Severus thing *too* quickly. Aww thank you! I'm actually blown away by the positive response Dumbledore has received in this story. I know I've said it before, but he's really tough, so it's such a relief to hear that. :D

Yeah, I don't think Gryffindor would have worked in her favor, at all. The next logical choice, I think, would be Ravenclaw. Because we know from canon that the hat did strongly consider it.

Doesn't their common room sound so awesome? I really wish we got to see it in the movies.

Well I just put the next chapter into the queue. So we'll see what happens... ;)

Thank you again, so, so much for the awesome review. (and for stalking!) I hope you like the next chapter! ♥

Love and hugs,

Meg


 Report Review

Review #12, by BitterSweetFlamesHermione Granger and the Dead Man's Mark: Chapter Two

23rd November 2014:
Hi Hori! :D I'm here from our swap. Like I told you in our PM I'd already been very very interested in the sound of this story from your request over at TDA. Hehehe. :) It sounds dark but it's also spectacularly well-written and enjoyable in its complexities. So, yes, if it's not clear yet, I loved it (and will definitely find the time to read more of it in the future.)

So, you mentioned that your main concern was Hermione and the way you wrote her - if it was an accurate portrayal. I actually think your characterization of her was spot on. Let me tell you why. Firstly, I can feel how she feels - the weight of the world is on her (and Harry's shoulders) and while she feels burdened, she does not feel out of her depth. She can take a challenge and that's certainly indicative of how Hermione's always been.
I love the way you have her not be too staunch in protocol towards the Hit Wizards (Waylocke and Twist)! It's funny but she would have just been the sort of person to have everyone call her ma'am but this openness and amiability is a wonderful tip of the hat to the positive outcome of having Ron and Harry in her life.
The way you wrote of her frustration at not having full knowledge of things that were unfamiliar to her was actually quite nice because it's just as Hermione would react! She loves to know everything and even outside of Hogwart's her quest for learning would never have stopped so that was well done.
So, yes, your portrayal of Hermione was really good and I am only sorry there wasn't more of her in that chapter although...

Imogen. Imogen is so interesting. In just two chapters you've managed not just to introduce her properly BUT to make us feel we know her AND yet not know her. I'm confusing myself but bear with me.
She has just so many layers. You feel sorry for her but you try to stop that feeling because you know she'd hate you for feeling sorry for her. That you used Hagrid, one of the nicest people in the HP world, to bring her about really speaks to the strength of your words.
Her mum, too, I am so interested in her already and she was mentioned only in passing AND in flashback. I mean, Hagrid was right.. Maybe she had a reason for everything she'd done and held on to. I am waiting with bated breath to find out when or, indeed, if Imogen would find out.

BTW: "Yes, she thought sardonically, and I would have a pet unicorn and three boyfriends and not be covered in cursed tattoos. Life isn't fair."
- That note actually sums up Imogen so wonderfully, I think. You managed to paint her as a strong, independent woman albeit not one without a few regrets. She's very sympathetic and I applaud you for creating a fascinating, 3-dimensional character in just 2 short chapters.

As a side note: I want a magical tattoo now if it can move. :O WOW WOW WOW. I want to know more..

Also, I don't know this but did you use the Pottermore info on Azkaban (timewise, maybe not? IDK though, I don't keep up with Pottermore overly much) but omg, it's so perfect. I am hugely impressed.

That's it. I think I'm rambling incoherently now (never a good thing) Thanks for the swap. :D

--Carla

P.S. WOW. I think this is one of my longest reviews ever. Sorry for any typos and/or grammatical errors. I did try to read through it. hehe

Author's Response: I'm very happy that you enjoyed the story so far!
You're one of the few reviewers to give me a very in-depth assessment of my usage of Hermione up to this point, so I certainly read your review with a little sigh of relief. I'm sure there are things I have her say/do/think that some won't necessarily agree with, but just knowing that at least a portion of the readership might think as you do is helpful and reassuring. :)
I'm also glad that you've taken to Imogen as well. It's often a problem when writing counter-culture characters that they become almost unrelatable or cartoonish, so I've done my best to give her some sensitivity and self-consciousness when developing her to counteract the hard edge she exhibits. And yes, we will definitely learn more about her mother, Layla, and the motives she had for her constant defense of Blakeney.
I didn't use the Pottermore info as a research tool, although I probably should have. :)
Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review. If you do read on, feel free to let me know what you think. I happy you've liked what you've read.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BitterSweetFlamesHurricane Luna: He Loses on an Island

22nd November 2014:
Kaaay, Beth. Hi, btw. Here for the Claw BvB battle. And I decided to read this because you posted it in your status and I thought... Well, I've never read a Luna/Rolf story ever before and it's a great time to start.

Of course, I stayed up late (again!) to read through everything because this is just so captivating. So captivating, do you hear me?

First off, your use of the quote is just so perfect! I love it. I mean, honestly.. If I remember correctly I made the awards graphics for this challenge and already then I found the quote so very interesting!! :D Congratulations on getting 3rd btw. I am not in any way surprised.

All the animals! And the way you tied in Paris! And the places. I can feel myself with Rolf and Luna and it's just perfect. Luna's voice is also so spot on. She sounds like Luna, acts like Luna and her descent into love is just perfect and as you imagine Luna's would be. (Notice the number of Luna's in this paragraph. lol)

Your writing is just fantastic. And, again, even the smallest details, the creativity - they're just so perfect. How do you that? Is that even fair? (Can't answer that but I'm glad you share anyway. lol)

So, yes. I loved this story. Can't wait for what happens next because you left it at such a tantalizing point! Where is Luna? He HAS to find her, Beth. He simply has to!

Thanks for sharing, bby.:)

--Carla

P.s. the fact that you have T.J. Thyne as your Rolf is nothing short of brilliant. :)

Author's Response: Carla!

Your reviews are simply the BEST! I'm jumping all over from this review. This story doesn't get nearly as many reads as my novel, and I'm so glad you saw my post and decided to give it a go.

Yay! You like my Luna. She is one character that I think so many people feel strongly about, and if an author messes her up, they will hear about it. I think people are even more forgiving about the trio than Luna! So I'm heaving a big sigh of relief over that.

The animals kind of took over my story - haha! I'm actually having a really fun time writing this one, because Rolf is so different and the animals bring a bit of whimsy to it all.

The next chapter is *almost* done, so you shouldn't have to wait long. Haha - I've gotten more compliments about T.J. Thyne than ANY other banner I have :)

YOU made those graphics - I absolutely *love* them! You are very talented!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by BitterSweetFlamesUnrequited Snowfall: Unrequited Snowfall

22nd November 2014:
Hi Ellie! First off, I have to say that I love all the Dramione I am seeing on your Author Page. I am a HUUUGE fan although I barely write it. I never feel like I can do anything with them, really. But, still, I was drawn to this because it's Dramione and it was written for the same challenge I just finished a story for. Okay, onto the proper review.

I actually like how you portrayed Draco in this one. I think attraction is elemental and it's true - you can never help who you're attracted to. I think that's the same for Draco. He's been staring at Hermione so he's becoming more and more attracted to her.

Poor Hermione, though, about Ron. We all know there was a time that Ron was, well, oblivious and just because we don't see in the books how this affected Hermione (Harry's a guy so he's oblivious too, even if they're his best friends. lol) so the way you wrote about it feels real to me (and quite funny, actually. Those comics, that story!)

I like that you gave a different dimension to Draco with the art. I can just imagine him drawing. It's actually the sort of highbrow thing I can see his mother allowing him to do since he didn't have any siblings to play with.

Anyway, this was quite long (DUDE, where do you get your words) but it didn't feel like it was dragging! Every bit was great and really worked!

Now, about the ending.. I actually like it. I don't know how I'd feel knowing what happened. As it is now, there's a possibility it happened in canon. (okay, so maybe not, but a girl can hope. lol) Hermione's self-esteem is boosted and Draco moves on. Perfect, in my book (although I do wish they could have gotten together) haha.

Much loves, darling. Thanks for the swap.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey Carla.

Thanks so much for reviewing. =) I'm glad you liked it. This is is definitely my most realistic Dramione, and honestly I have no idea where I get all the words, they just come pouring out. This one was meant to be half as long but it just kept coming. Lol.

But yes, I have a lot of Dramione and I was reading something else, a review from someone I think, about how most Dramione is so unrealistic for canon. The idea sprang from there. I wanted to slot their attraction into the canon world, at a time when Hermione wasn't likely to immediately shoot him down for what Draco does. This was the result. =)

Much love. These review swaps are fun!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #15, by BitterSweetFlamesWhen Summer Fades: syzygy

22nd November 2014:
Hi Kristin! Review swap! Woo!

Okay, sorry, might have been shouting there. I do love this story though and it makes me happy that I now have the opportunity to read (re-read, actually) it and review! -dances-

Anyway, like I said, I am uber happy by your choice of Regulus as your main character! The way you've written him is brilliant. You've not written him as a one-note Slytherin (as Sirius probably sees him. tsk) but he's got so much morality and humanity in him it breaks your heart just how much.

The fact that you game Summer cancer is just painful. Regulus could probably have done everything he could (as a Death Eater) to try and help Summer (would have been impossible but he'd have tried!). But the fact that you gave her something so human, so uncontrollable... Well, I think it's brilliant.

Regulus suddenly starts thinking about himself; how he has been acting, about his life and their friendship. He realizes, rightly so, that he's been using their friendship as a way to escape his own life. He realizes then that Summer is more than just an outlet -- she's important to him. And the way this daws on him is just beautiful - like the awakening of something real and painful for him.

I feel so sorry for Summer. She was such a bright person, she had so many things going for her and then, suddenly, cancer. It brings into harsh perspective the frailty of human existence. But she's still, essentially, Summer. That beauty though no longer on the outside still manages to shine through -- that's how you beautiful you've written her. She still cares for Regulus and thinks about him.

And you see the unraveling of Regulus. Not, I imagine, most people would assume to darkness. But to pain. Something that finally meant a great deal to him and who also loved him in return was disappearing. And he doesn't know what to do about it. In very little words, you've managed to make him more human than I've ever read him.

That last paragraph was the most painful and most poignant. The way you write of Summer's passing just wrenches the heart. You're ready for the fact that she will go yet it still hurts when she does. -cries-

Well done on this one, Kristin! Sorry for rambling. I tend to get incoherent sometimes.

Thanks for the swap!

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! Yay, so glad to see you back and I'm thrilled that you like this story (re-read?! wow)

Aw thanks it means so much to me that you like my portrayal of Regulus and that you see a lot of humanity in him - it really is so wonderful to hear that the characters seem real.

For some reason I felt that the problems Summer was facing needed to have no relevance to the war, in a way to remind Regulus that there are other things happening in the world than the war. And he really tried, but some things he can't solve. :(

I'm really glad you liked the way Regulus starts to change and become less selfish as his friendship makes him reconsider things he'd not thought about before - I like the way you phrased it, like an 'awakening' - I think that definitely fits his mindset here. And I'm flattered that those paragraphs about Regulus' painful realisations and futile attempts to save her made him seem really human - it is really so wonderful to hear that you feel for the characters.

Aw, I like the way you've focused on Summer's personality shining through even despite of her illness, and that you consider her to be a beautifully written character - gah, thank you!

"You're ready for the fact that she will go yet it still hurts when she does" - wow, yes. True that.

Thank you so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by BitterSweetFlamesMonster: Monster

22nd November 2014:
Hi Angie. :)

Here from Review Tag.

Anywho, first off, I want to really applaud you for the use of the second person in this fic. It's very rare that I enjoy that voice (IDK why but there you have it) but your choice and use of it are so perfect and fitting that it enhances the already creepy tones of the story.

I love the build up from a sweet and innocent 8-year-old Rose to that of the 23-year-old adult, who has departed normal human life. It is at times wrenching and frightening but always very well-written.

The introduction of the monster was just right. It flits by just as fast as it surely must have felt for Rose when she was caught - how life can change in an instant.

As a horror fic, I think it was definitely creepy enough. There were no gratuitous thrills or anything. I think the fact that you put such lovely imagery - Hermione kissing her little angel at night, the bright sun beside the lake - just makes the dark so much darker.

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this story. Well done! :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reading and reviewing. It's such a relief to know you like my use of second person as I was apprehensive about that. I am also happy you liked the buildup with the ages. Life can indeed change in an instant and I'm pleased you caught on that with the swiftness of everything. Thank you once again for your lovely comments!

 Report Review

Review #17, by BitterSweetFlamesThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

22nd November 2014:
Hi Ashwini! :) Carla (SkitsandBits on the forums) here for our review swap. :)

First off, that first scene! WOW, was it intriguing or what? Seriously, I enjoyed it (in a creepy way). But, really, it was shrouded in mystery and you just made me keep on writing and demanding an answer about what is happening! :O Also, your description was perfect. I could really imagine being there, seeing everything you describe. So well done!

When you jump to 5 years later and an introduction of a new character I think it was very well done. You managed to make us know who the character was AND introduce that something had happened to Ginny. Instead of making it seem hurried, the fact that you wrote it in such a way underscores the fact that even great mysteries have a mundane side to them. This fact actually makes it seem like a bigger deal. Because, you want to know what happened. You want things to start moving.

"But Cress was unaware of what destiny had planned." Okay, you've intrigued me. So now I have to go and read the rest of this lovely story. ;)

So, yes, off to read more. Thanks for the swap, dearie.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there Carla! :D Nice to see you!

Aww, thank you so much! I wrote the first scene just to intrigue the readers and make the first chapter a little mysterious. This chapter was supposed to start from the part where Cress is waiting for Hermione, but the first scene was a last minute addition and seems like it worked out well. I've been receiving lovely feedback for it. So glad that you like it too. :)

I was a little afraid that the five years leap would turn out to be pretty boring, so it makes me feel good that you liked it and thought it was well written. I never give away much about my characters in the first chapter itself, but I have introduced more information about Cress's family life in the third chapter. :)

Haha, I know I do this all the time! Nearly all the chapters (okay, all the chapters) of this story have a cliffhanger like that in the end.

I do hope you continue reading this! I'll look forward to you. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! You literally made my day! Let me know if you want to swap again.

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #18, by BitterSweetFlamesTo Prevent An Unfortunate Series of Events : It's His Mark

20th November 2014:
Hi Darling.

I promised I would review this story. And I honestly, truthfully meant to review every chapter. But you write so well I kept clicking "next". Anyway, this story is amazing. It kept me up and I'm not even annoyed at that. I love the way you characterized everyone.
Sirius is perfect, James is perfect, Hermione just reacts and acts the way I would imagine she would in the situation.
Then there's Lily! She's my favorite (and Peter and Remus too!) Okay, I love them. ALL OF THEM.
Your treatment of the whole "travel back in time" theme is one of the best I've ever ever seen! And Dumbledore.. How is he so perfect? Your way of writing is just wonderful!
So.. I also love that Snape is becoming an integral character! I love Severus sooo much (You know that, hehe). And I'm glad you didn't keep him a slimy git. (I could have accepted that but I'd have been very very cross).
Can I be honest though? I CANNOT WAIT for when Hermione goes back to the present. I told you I have a thing for older men. And, man, I just cannot wait!
Not saying, though, that their relationship here is awful. Just not that big of a fan of couples being the same age. Although Hermione/Sirius in any situation is perfect.
Anyway, I heard you'd written a chapter and hope we don't have long to wait.

THANKS FOR THIS. ilu.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Hun! :D

Oh my goodness. I cannot believe you've blown through all of this so quickly! I am so unbelievably flattered. :D

Haha that's totally fine. I'm just thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed my story that much. It really means a lot. Thank you! ♥ I'm so sorry that it kept you up, but I'm glad you're not annoyed. ;) I hope that you got a chance to catch up on some sleep.

Aww thank you so much! Honestly, as much as I love me some Sirius Black *swoon*, my favorite is Peter in this story. He's been my favorite to write and to develop. I'm really glad that you liked all of the characters! And Lily is just absolutely lovely. I really enjoy writing her, too, so I'm thrilled that you really like her!

Well we all know that Snape didn't exactly get along with James and Sirius and all of them, so I couldn't really write him in the best light. But, since I love him too, I couldn't keep him as such a jerk for the whole story. I had to have him on their side at some point. :)

Assuming Sirius or Hermione survive. ;)

I just a bit more to write, some editing to do and then it'll be in the queue. I have a chapter in there already, so just depending on validation time, it should be up soon! :D

Thank you for this review and for adding it to your favorites! I'm still completely blown away that you've read it so quickly. Thank you so, so much! ilu2! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #19, by BitterSweetFlamesPlum Velvet: Blue Leather

19th November 2014:
Hi Laura. Carla here for the Claw BvB battle. :D

-sigh-
I was sighing throughout this entire fic because it was just so WOW. You write so beautifully. I am at a loss for words, I am speechless -- much like Albus was when he was beside Hyperion.

Your use of light all throughout the story was powerful - beacon, moonlight, stars as jealous fiends, beam of sunlight. It serves to reinforce how Albus sees Hyperion -- as a total opposite to the dark that is his constant, his world. And you can understand the allure. How could Albus stay away? He can't. At least not with the way you've written him.

When you had Hyperion owl him and not give his name that was nothing short of utterly brilliant. I mean, Albus is already drawn so much to him. That only makes him more of a mystery. You've drawn in Albus and you draw in your reader too.

Also, your use of mythology in this was perfect - so spot on. You mention couples in mythology and you also mention his parents in the same thought. It's sweet and speaks warmly to what sort of person Albus is.

Then, you talk about Albus and Severus. What part of my heart you hadn't already captivated by then (very small, to be perfect honest) just fell. My heart broke for Albus. When you think about it, it was so very hard to be named after two such men. They were brave and wonderful men to be sure but there is weight in just their names alone, I can't imagine how Albus might have felt having two such first names attached to an already hefty last name.
Of course you add in the fact that he wants to add to their legacy and be happy for them. And that's so human and speaks to the man that Albus must have been.

THEN THE ENDING. What emotion I hadn't already felt in the reading of your story just spurt out and splattered all over because, HELLO. I did not expect that Albus would be a vampire. I mean there were certainly hints of something otherworldly but I did not expect to be of Albus. He sounds so human and, BAM, you throw this as at us. OH DEAR GOD. I must breathe.

Ok, sorry. You are such a fabulous writer, Laura. It was an absolute joy to read what you wrote. Thanks for sharing.

"And I really should include less references in my next story"
- No! They're beautiful. Where in your head do you get these references? Your sentences are works of art, I swear.

--Carla

P.S. I said Albus in my review so many times. Such a fun name to type and say. HAHA.

 Report Review

Review #20, by BitterSweetFlamesBroken Wings: Broken Wings

19th November 2014:
Hi Ellie! Here for Review Tag.
Anyway, this was a really compelling story. I love the way you described the sound of the fairy's fluttering wings. It's very beautiful and I can see and hear it in my head. I would certainly investigate if it were me and I can imagine any child with a curious mind would do so as well so well done in your characterization of that.

Your description of the fairy is at once both beautiful and tragic. She is a thing of beauty but also she can fall victim to something as innocuous as the wind. A tiny speck falling victim to the universe. It's very poetic a thought.

"Kindness, he says, is just another word for weakness."
-- I actually really love this because you've described the man Abraxas Malfoy is and the man that his sun is to become.

"I told Mother once that if Father believes kindness to be weakness than he must be very strong indeed."
-- This is one of the statements that really characterize that Lucius is still a child because it's the type of observation that are true and that children make that have such an impact but to them are just innocent and logic. "baby logic," as my grandma calls it. It's so fitting and perfect.

Your description of the post is so frightening! I know that the Malfoy Manor is a dark and dangerous place as evidenced by the HP books but you always forget how it must have been to grow up there as a child. I can't imagine what horrors and trauma will show up through adulthood.

Anyway, I feel sorry for Lucius at the end - not just because he got punished by going to the post. But I am sorry because it shows the devolution of his character, the start of his path towards being 'strong' and the Lucius we all know. And I'm very sorry that he had seemingly lost all his kindness as an adult.

Great story, love! Good luck with the challenge.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey Carla,

Thanks for the review. I really wanted to capture a childish innocence for Lucius, but also to show that he is already one the path of becoming the man he is in cannon so its nice to know it's worked to some extent. =)

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #21, by BitterSweetFlamesWorship You: Storm

18th November 2014:
OMG, Sian. That was just fabulous.. Excuse me while I go die. D=

First off, how is it that there were no e's? Like, seriously? I'm 200 letters into my review and already I have, like, a bajillion e's. :P

Then you add in that it's only 500 words and, excuse me, but how fantastic is that?

But, ok, so beyond all that, it's a very powerful story. Your use of stars and worshiping is nothing short of brilliant. I also love that you used 'obsidian' It's one of my absolute favorite words! HAHA.

The way you describe Bella's madness and her downfall. It was beautiful. But beyond that the last line, "I know what it is to worship a star, darling. You burnt most brightly of all."

That just, no words, Sian. No words. It was absolutely stupefying.

Thank you for such a lovely story.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla! Excuse me while I try and stop smiling like a maniac from this review (nope, didn't work!)

It was SO hard. I was literally searching the word document for them constantly and then getting annoyed when I'd typed a word without even realising there was an 'E' in it :P But I'm so glad you liked it in spite of that, and the fact that it was so short too.

I'm so glad you found it powerful - once I got into it (which was kind of hard, with the no E thing, but still), I found myself really enjoying it, and I've never really written anything like this before. But I'm so pleased you liked it, and the themes that I used of stars and worship. Hehe, I couldn't resist that word - so much better than 'black'!

And that you found my description of Bellatrix's madness and downfall beautiful! I'm so pleased you liked it and that you thought the word choices worked and weren't over-exaggerated or anything!

Thank you so much for this review, Carla - it's been hard to find words to respond without gushing nonsense! ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by BitterSweetFlamesheaven: can't help me now

18th November 2014:
Sarah. :) I hope you're sleeping as I'm writing this review because, hell, it is late.
Okay, so I want to talk about this fic. Seriously, when did you write this? And why are you so brilliant?

Anyway, I love the way you used the song in this. I think you're brilliant in using songs and quotes in your fics. Such a skill, Sarah. So, I particularly loved how you didn't really tell us who Alastair was (nice name btw.:)) but we know the sort of guy he is from Sarah's point of view. (My god, he's dangerous. My heart melts in the face of such men. -shivers-)

But your narrative. It was heart-breaking and hopeful at the same time! I mean, Lily was in love with him but you made her such an, idk, realist that she can accept, before it's happened, that he'd leave her. But it really breaks her heart when he seemingly does.

BUT...Thank you for the way you ended it. Sure, it took him a long time to come back and I can hit for that but he CAME BACK. It was so joyous and I think, in some way, he loves her too.

Thanks for sharing, bby. WRITE MORE. BUT SLEEP TOO.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #23, by BitterSweetFlamesA Vision In White: From The Beginning

18th November 2014:
Hi Sarah! Here for the Review Swap. :D

Okay, so I had a hard time choosing which of your stories to read! I've read quite a few and I decided on this one. First because it doesn't have a banner and you know how I feel about naked stories.

Okay, sorry, onto the review. So, yus, this was brilliant. I love how you managed to tell the story of one lifetime in a one-shot but not have it feel rushed or lacking at all.

You've really managed to flesh out both of them that I know who they are at the end and I'm happy for them; at the way that their lives have gone and the way they're going.

I can see everything as I was reading. I loved the way you put little snippets of a life in there. I imagine when one is getting married, things like it flit through our head. It's fitting and it's beautiful.

Anyway. thank you for the swap love. I'm a big fan, as yanoe.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #24, by BitterSweetFlamesSaving Severus Snape : 2 May 1998

18th November 2014:
Hey there.. Here for our swap!

Okay, sorry. BUT YOU HAD ME AT HERMIONE/SNAPE.
While I am a bigger fan of an adult Hermione/Snape relationship, I am not scoffing at SNAMIONE -- one of my favorite ships. WOO And time travel stories are always interesting (though you couldn't make me write one. So complicated, omg.)

Anyway, yes. I loved this. Your characterization of Hermione as the confused person who walks around after something big and thing about everything that happens. It's so her. She's always been big at analyzing and rationalizing and everything so it makes sense she would dissect everything that happened.

What you did with the timeturner was great. I love that Dumbledore was the one who had planned it. How does the man do it? And, yes, Hermione would think about it. Should she? Should she not? Brains over heart. I'm glad heart won. ;)

Anyway, what happened in the end.. 1976? Really. oooh, how interesting! I mean, I'm writing a story in the present time and Severus is 19 years older than Hermione and Imma be interested in seeing how it is when Hermione is the one older than Severus (albeit by just about year) but still! She'll know he's older but then again he's not. :O WOW. -dead-

Can't wait to see where this goes.
Thanks for the swap.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla!

I love that I have found another Snamione shipper! You have no idea how happy that makes me, so I'm so happy you've read and reviewed this! :D

I definitely enjoy adult Hermione/Snape as well, absolutely. There is just something about this pairing that makes sense to me. I don't think she'd put up with his crap and she's intellectually sufficient enough to keep up with him. But I do have a weakness for teenaged Hermione and teenaged Snape.

*squee* I'm absolutely thrilled to hear that! I adore Hermione, and it is always such a compliment when I hear that I've written her well! I always hope that I do her justice, so thank you for that!! ♥

Yeah, Dumbledore definitely has a habit of sending students off to do difficult and dangerous tasks, doesn't he? Especially without giving them all the information. Hermione really can be quite passionate about things, when she really believes in them. Sometimes her heart does overcome her brains. (S.P.E.W.)

She will technically be older, but she is going to be posing as a sixth year with the rest of them. So they're going to think that she's 17, not 18. I'm really excited about this story, as I have all of it outlined and mapped out, so I'm so, so happy that you've liked it and are excited to see where it goes! If you continue on, I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story! :D

Thanks for doing the swap!!

xoxo Meg ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by BitterSweetFlamesWhen Summer Fades: equinox

18th November 2014:
Hi, darling. Carla here with our swap. WOO!

First off, I chose this story because REGULUS. I think that Regulus was such an under-represented character (or maybe it's because we got a lot Sirius) but he's always interested me. So, yes. THANKS FOR WRITING ABOUT HIM. -loves-

So, I'm writing this review as I read so if it's a bit incoherent it's because I'm reading and enjoying the story, lol.

I love, btw, that you explained the hardships that he must have faced. He didn't want to alienate his family so he didn't want to make a choice. I don't think it was weak (as some have portrayed it), it's just that he doesn't know how to react to such polarized views on the Dark Lord and you actually want to smack Sirius for leaving him. It seemed selfish. I mean, I love Sirius but it always came across that he didn't care for his family and while his parents might have deserved that, did his little brother? I think not.

Summer sounds interesting. I've known people that friendly and chripy so to someone as reticent as Regulus, I can just imagine that it's a huge change.

I love that you used the Astronomy Tower! I think it's a brilliant place for meetings. And, yes, the whole interaction about smiles was perfect! It was fun and light but it also spoke volumes when you had them just stay there, watching in silence.

OH. I love how Summer was all nonchalant about the Mudblood thing. You don't see that. And that line about blood status not being contagious? BOOM. Just like skin color. NOT CONTAGIOUS AT ALL. NO.

I love how you've made him change and how you've made Summer see the good in him. I think there's a lot of good in him and he was just unlucky in the path that his life took.

YAY!! You used the Room of Requirement with all the junk in it. THAT's so cool. XD

I wanted to cry as I imagined Regulus just letting everything go. It just reinforces my belief that he could have been saved and I dearly dearl wished he had been.

WOW, that ending. I hate cliffhangers but it's a wonderful place to end, you sneaky thing. Also you made me want to hit Jasper. May I? PLEASE?

kay, gonna keep on reading. Thanks for the swap, Love.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi, Carla! Aah, I'm so glad you like Regulus, I feel the same way! He really gets no time to shine in the books even though he was actually quite important!

YES, that is exactly what I was going for. I don't think he was weak, just indecisive and under SO MUCH pressure. I love Sirius too but I do think he made the wrong choice giving up on Regulus - there was still hope!

I'm glad you like Summer! She is indeed chirpy, definitely a huge change from Regulus' emotionless Slytherin pals.

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed their meetings, in the Astronomy Tower and then later in the Room of Requirement. Silence can be really powerful - especially as Regulus isn't a chatty type, just being silent and watching something with her was meaningful to him (eventually). I imagine Summer is used to being called a Mudblood and since she didn't grow up hearing that word anyway, she's not particularly offended by it, she just lets things slide.

Aw, it means a lot to hear that that scene touched you. I agree, that in other circumstances Regulus could have had a chance! :(

Cliffhangers are the worst when you're reading a story, but they're so satisfying to write XD Haha, feel free to smack Jasper since Regulus won't! :p

If you do end up reading on I'd love to know what you think of the rest. Thanks SO much for the swap and for your fantastic review!! ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>