Reading Reviews From Member: BitterSweetFlames
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BitterSweetFlamesYou Say I'm Crazy: We Made A Vow

2nd September 2014:
DUDE. I watched the video WHILE I was reading this. Serious feels, Sarah. Serious feels. I loved it and it was heartbreaking and, ugh, Imma go make your banner now 'cos I'm semi-inspired. I love you.

-Carla

 Report Review

Review #2, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Unspeakable and the Wasp: Unique Service

24th December 2013:
Here we go… Sorry for the really long delay, Rose.. HPFF made me go to a different computer before it would log me in..:(
Anyway, here with our review swap! :D
I'm happy to have chosen this to read. This is the first time I've read Augustus and it was a fantastic introduction to the character.
I absolutely loved the way you wrote Augustus. He's seductive, charming and tempting. The thing about it is people tend to overuse Lucius as the charming Death Eater but it's nice to see someone else who has the same qualities..
Anyway, I definitely enjoyed this. Bagman I just skipped over… Not because he's not interesting because he really is but because Rookwood was so perfectly characterized he just captures all your attention. And that suits because the way you've written him, he's the same way.
I really like this, Rose. :D good luck with the duel.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! I hope your log-in issues have been resolved. I've had some weird ones but not that. ^_^

I'm not sure there are many Augustus stories - at least there wasn't a lot for me to filch information from. :D I'm really glad that this was a good intro to him.

It was kind of cheating, but I stole my idea for him from Don Draper from Mad Men. Once I kind of had the idea that he'd be charismatic and seductive with a touch of mystery, I thought of Don.

Lucius seems charming in a different way than Augustus. Maybe they both have a touch of aristocratic charm, but I see Lucius' charm ending there.

Bagman is definitely not the focus of this so I can understand how he's easy to skim over. We don't see a lot of his thoughts and motivations.

Thank you so much for such an amazing review!! It really made me grin.

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #3, by BitterSweetFlamesDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: Only Blood

21st December 2013:
Hi there. :D Carla here for our review swap... :D Sorry it took a while. I got caught up reading and forgot I was supposed to review. haha. I guess that's a good thing... I'm only in Chapter 4, reading but I am reviewing in Chapter 2 (just because Chapter 1 already has a lot of reviews!). This novel is gripping and not just because it is unique (that's certainly how it reads to me) but because you've maanged to make me believe.
Whenever I read something that really deviates from Canon I want, more than anything, to believe. That's what you've done here. I read about Devlin and oh god, he is just fascinating isn't he? But you feel sorry for him and you're scared of him at the same time. I know a character was painted well when he confuses me.. That, to my mind, makes the character three-dimensional, interesting and it definitely makes for a good read.
I don't know if I like Harry in this one. To be honest Harry has never been my favorite. Here, I understand him and I can even sympathize with him and what happened to him but I don't know if I like any more than I do or less.
Geoffrey is.. interesting. He actually strikes me as what Remus would be like if he'd become a Death Eater. Smarter than most with a sense of justice not quite twisted with evil...
I can't think of any criticism at the moment.. You mentioned you were editing.. Seems to be good editing as I don't see any typos or anything. :) I always enjoy reading something where it's obvious the writer took the time to make sure there aren't any mistakes.
Anyway, looking forward to reading more, definitely.. I'm glad I review swapped with you.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #4, by BitterSweetFlamesResolute: Resolute

20th December 2013:
Hello. :) Carla here with our review swap. I must say, first and foremost I truly enjoyed this story. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read and review this story...
Anyway, I think this was a truly ingenious answer to the prompt you chose for the Winter Duel and the choice of Tom Riddle as your character was genius.
The choice of quotes at the beginning of each part is perfect. They were all well-chosen and added to the story without detracting from it.
Tom Riddle, as you wrote him is perfect in characterization, I think and the way you describe all of the things he did that he considers his 'accomplishments' like the Imperius curse, the dead owl that was brilliant! It just shows that, talented as he was, he was truly evil underneath it all and that's just truly scary.
The way you wrote his resolutions was twisted. Here is a man who could be anything he chose to be and he chose to be feared, chose to be evil and the opening of the Chamber was truly a big thing.
Anyway, this was a great one-shot and good luck... This is an amazing entry!

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for the review swap, I really enjoyed it! :)

Wow, thank you so so much! I got the idea as soon as I read the prompts and just had to write it, so I'm glad you thought it worked! I wasn't honestly sure about including the quotes, because it's something I haven't done before, and I wasn't sure if they all really fitted, but again I'm so so glad you liked them! :) I do like them all as quotes, haha.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like Tom Riddle - I was so anxious about writing him, since he's the kind of character I feel I have to get him right, you know? It was surprisingly fun in the end, particularly writing his accomplishments. He's definitely evil - a real psychopath - and I'm glad (is that the right word? :P) it was scary, and liked his resolutions! He's so determined to be something, and to be powerful and he doesn't care about anything else... yeah, the opening of the Chamber was fun! :)

Thank you so much - for the review and for the swap! I really enjoyed it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by BitterSweetFlamesTainted Tinsel: Christmas Eve

20th December 2013:
Here from the review tag.

THAT.. was intense. Just intense.. And what a Christmas too. Certainly happy for Fenrir but I can't say anything for the family of those poor children.
I like how you wrote about the thoughts that go through Fenrir's head. Certainly there's hatred and just that evilness but the other things... The twisted sense of family; the self-righteous indignation against prejudice towards their kind... It just makes an interesting study of this truly evil character.
I really love the use of the tinsel (and of course the wonderful title by Curie) to provide a sad and scary image to the mind. Well done on that1 I didn't' enjoy the story but more I was horrified by it BUT in a totally good way. You are an amazing writer of this genre.

-- Carla

Author's Response: Hello!

Hooray! Intense is a good thing! I wanted to write an anti-Christmas-feeling Christmas story (if you were able to understand that bit of madness :p).

Writing from Fenrir's perspective provided endless amounts of entertainment. You picked up on his depth, even. I wanted to provide an (almost) humanistic side to him, while still being able to maintain his true essence of an evil werewolf.

She did do a lovely job with the title (because she's awesome) and gave me some extra elements to play around with in the story by implementing the idea of tinsel.

I'm glad that the story horrified you in a good way. I was so detached from the emotions (because I was too busy running around in Greyback's mind) and the reviews have reminded me how creepy this really is :).

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #6, by BitterSweetFlamesclose your eyes, listen on up.: under the mistletoe.

20th December 2013:
-sniffs- well, that made me sigh at the end. Not an exasperated sigh, ok? Just the OMG, that was such a beautiful end sigh. And it was... The end definitely affected me. I loved the pairing! I think the way you introduced Caitlin was just precious. I can just imagine it.
And then when you describe the accident? Poetic and short but really really sad as well. :(
The kiss is also very well done.. Yay for mistletoes! Naughty naughty mistletoes.
I loved this one Maia. Idk if you intended it to be so though but there is a LOT of space between every paragraph.. HPFF tends to do that to me too but I just didn't know if you intended it that way. It's just that sometimes scrolling makes it difficult to get to the next part which is sad because this story packs a punch.
I love the writing style and the feeling that it's fast but it's not rushed.
well done, maia and good luck with the duel!

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! Awww, I'm so glad you liked it! I was having so much trouble with the ending, I had the whole fic written for ages but couldn't figure out how to end it which is why it took me so long to get it into the queue, haha. So I'm really really glad the end made you sigh!

I'm glad you liked Caitlin, too - I'm always really wary of writing OCs and especially introducing them can be hard, so I'm super glad you thought that worked! I kind of wanted to show their connection when they were children so they had all that history behind them :)

I didn't want to go into too much depth about the accident because in a way I didn't want it to be the focus of the story, so I'm really glad you think the shortness of that worked.

Uuugh, the spacing. I usually avoid the spacing issue by pasting as plain text but I didn't want to lose all my italics and stuff in this fic so I pasted with the formatting... only then it puts massive spaces inbetween each paragraph... I want to change it but now I'll have to wait until the queue reopens in January since I'm not a TA!

Thanks for the lovely review, I'm so glad you liked it!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by BitterSweetFlamesToo Good To Be True: Couldn't Possibly Be

19th December 2013:
Hiya Curie! :D You have a new story, wooo! :D I actually quite liked this one even while agree with you that Dark/Horror is just so hard.

Just to point out though.. At the start you put down, "Sirius had chosen for their." It seems you forgot a word there. Apart from that there were no other things that stood out grammatically.

So, the proposal was gorgeous! Sirius, arrogant and cocky Sirius, proposing like that? Precious... He was so nervous, and there were just so many things he did wrong and that's what made it so RIGHT.

When she was killed was just so sad... I knew it was going to be a sad ending but I didn't prepare myself.. I'm all, oh my god, why?! You feel sorry for Marlene; you feel sorry for Sirius. I wish it had been an happier ending since I love happy endings, normally but as it is, it's gorgeous. Well done, Curie! :D

--Carla

Author's Response: Thanks Carla! I guess I had to keep my name up in some way! I enjoy being type cast as a fluff writer!

Ah, okay! I can't bear editing this one! I literally just typed it out and sent it to my beta, poor Grace :( She had a real rough piece to work with...

Thanks so much! Haha, yeah, I wanted to make sure his personality actually could be seen in his actions than just me stating it and I guess it worked :)

Same! I normally want to kill authors who write sad endings... Anyway, thanks Carla! You are WAY too good to me! :D

Thanks again for the super amazing review! You never fail to make my day! :)

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by BitterSweetFlamesFallacy: A Shade of Bleak

18th December 2013:
Hi there. Carla here from the review tag over at the forums. I don't really think that this chapter is quite boring. I really liked the way you built the first part of the chapter --- the bleakness of the imagery at the start coupled with the longing really strikes a nerve. Then there's the contrast of the joy at the end... Of course, I wish I could read about Barty but that's a different chapter, I know.
Anyway, good luck with this story. I might also maybe get a beta.. there were a few typos though none too glaring.

---Carla

Author's Response: Hi!

I really wasn't sure about this chapter- I was worried that it wasn't engaging at all. Barty will be coming up shortly.

I was waiting to see if I'd continue with this story before I got a beta, but I think I might end up doing that soon!

Thank you for your lovely review!

x Ely


 Report Review

Review #9, by BitterSweetFlamesShattered Infinity: Marked for Destruction

17th December 2013:
Here from the Ravenclaw Review Battle.
well, that was gorgeous. I have to be honest... Severus is one of my most favored characters and that is the primary reason why I loved this precious little nugget.
Of course, there are other reasons. It is beautifully written. There are absolutely no wasted words! (and, of course, with just 500 words to use there can't be). The imagery is there, the emotion is there --- raw and beautiful.
Again, I want to thank you for writing about Severus. I ache for him and all the pain and sacrifice he went thru all those years. I wish life could have been better for him... These things you made me feel with just 500 words and that is just so amazing! well done..
--Carla

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

Wow... Gorgeous?! Thank you so much!! I'm so glad that you liked my portrayal of Severus. I really tried to use my 500 words to their best advantage, and it's so great to hear that the emotion that I put into them was evocative of his pain.

He definitely didn't deserve the suffering that he went through, but he's a deeper, more complex character for it. In that regard, I truly admire him.

Thank you again for your wonderful review! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #10, by BitterSweetFlamesBroken Silence: Long Nights

17th December 2013:
I already told you that I loved this piece... And I am telling you again, here. First off, nothing makes me happier than knowing you wrote Teddy/Vic 'cos you'd beta'd my teddy/vic... I think you did this one really well..

It was, in parts, beautiful and heart-wrenching and the imagery is really really well done. I especially love the ending. I mean I know that it isn't exactly over and that Dom is still, in ways, broken but there's such joyous hope there you can't help but cry with Fleur, with Vicky. So well done, my lovely Curie, I definitely enjoyed this one.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla! I can't believe u took the time to read my story! I'm still shell shocked!

And u were definitely the inspiration! You've done so much for me! Everything all my angst experience (writing obviously), is from u! Thank u so much!

Thank u so much! I knew that if I gave a closed ending, it would be fluffy and cheesy. But, I wanted this fic to be different, so, theres my attempt at that :)

Thank again! You have done so much for me! And there is a character in the story I'm currently writing based off you. Just a tiny token of thanks! :D

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by BitterSweetFlamesSummer Storms, Glass and Tinsel: Hooked

15th December 2013:
Hello, my darling Curie..
Anyway, I enjoyed reading this one-shot.. Particularly because James is such an interesting and complex character (even though it comes across how he doesn't want to be complex and full of depth, hahaha)
Anyway, I loved your OC. She's strong, smart and full of sass, just the type you'd imagine a guy like James is would fall in love with have fun spending time with.
Anyway, there are a few typos here and there but nothing that detracted from the entire piece so well done.
I'm not really good at CC but if you ever need help, we could always talk anyway, right? Love you, baby girl. Well done. Next moment I have free, I'm definitely reading the sequel.

--Carla

Author's Response: Aw, Carla! You're such a sweetie!

The compliments!! I've read them at least fifteen times since yesterday and they haven't once failed to make me smile! I've just gotten a beta, so hopefully those will be fixed soon :) And the reason you have trouble with CC is that you're way too nice!!

Aw, love u too, dear! Haha, the sequel... good luck with comprehending that, so not my best work ;)

-Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by BitterSweetFlamesEvery Song Must End: Bitter...

15th December 2013:
Hello there. :D I totally chose this story to read because I saw Doctor Who AND the title was about the Ood, which is ALSO my favorite alien of all and that episode was beautiful and fantastic... And I should stop now because this isn't really the least BIT helpful to my review-writing...
Anyway, I love the utter lack of dialogue in this... I think it worked really well. You mentioned it's only 501 words long and how is it that you managed to sort of scare me, spark my curiosity and set of pangs of longing and tenderness in my heart when I remember meetings and feelings like the one I imagine Draco was feeling.
I adore this one shot. Sometimes it's true that you don't need a lot of words, you definitely proved that.
I would definitely be interested in reading more in this style although I think you write really well and I really want to read more of what you DO write; definitely need to find the time for that. Thanks.

---Carla

Author's Response: Doctor Who and Ood is going to be your best bet to get me to read a story, for sure! And OMG any episode with the Ood is just so fantastic!

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I've never tried something like this since, and my usual writing style is incredibly different - lots of dialogue and long-winded sentences. If you do read some of my other stuff, I'd love to hear your thoughts on it - especially if you're willing to critique! I have a long, long way to go :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by BitterSweetFlamesSoaring.: Dear Mary.

3rd December 2013:
I absolutely loved this story. :) It's been amazing how you made me feel things that I don't like feeling 'cos it's poignant and painful at the same time.
I did fall in love with Regulus and Mary, they were written so beautifully and I felt sorry for Regulus and felt his pain.
Anyway, thank you so much for sharing this.:) Really wonderful job.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad you liked it! Thank you so much - hope I didn't make you TOO sad!

Thanks for reviewing :)

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #14, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Recombination of One's Soul and the Psychological Aftereffects: a Case Study: Tom Riddle

1st December 2013:
Hi. :) Carla here for our review swap. I'm SkitsAndBits over at the forums. :) Anyway, I totally love the style that you used writing this. It's very interesting and definitely gripping.

The action is very swift; there are parts that seem confusing, which is a good thing because I feel like the story really benefited from it.:D

I loved reading the sessions most. Those were interesting; Tom is definitely the sort of character that is hard to write but is a spectacular read when written right. And you definitely did a marvelous job of writing it. :)

Anyway, I truly enjoyed reading this and I truly love your style of writing. :) Great job! :)

---C

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that you enjoyed the style. It was the only thing that really got me rolling on this story. Otherwise, I'm not sure what I would have done for the challenge :).

Hooray! For once my madness and confusion benefited a story!

The sessions were my favorite parts to write. I had a lot of fun playing around with insane Tom.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #15, by BitterSweetFlamesI Am My Mother's Only One: I Am My Mother's Only One

4th April 2010:
omg.. yay!
That was so Luna..
Like, seriously.. I loved how you wrote her.. It was definitely short
but it was sweet...

I can imagine her so very vividly and to me, that's definitely talent..

Keep writing! :)

~~Carla

 Report Review

Review #16, by BitterSweetFlamesSitting, Waiting, Wishing: Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

4th April 2010:
Thump. thump. thump.

The sound of the lump in my throat falling, falling as I read. It's amazing how with very few words you've manged to convey such strong visuals.

I can never look at Hermione the same way now

You're definitely very talented and though you said that was dark, it was okay for me as it was very tastefully and elegantly done.. ^_^

-needs more-

I'm off to read your other stories but you definitely need to write more.. 0.o

ily.

 Report Review

Review #17, by BitterSweetFlamesWhat A Wonderful Existence: What A Wonderful Existence

4th April 2010:
"Is it possible for one person to have so much? "

yes, molly it's possible. You're wonderful and beautiful.. :) I love how you made her sound.. She's been such a loud character throughout the book that seeing this soft, melodious side to her is amazing.. :D I love the way you write and the way you plodded through everything... :) Though plod is not the right word..
Can I say ah... floated with grace and melody?XD
Ick, I sound corny.. Anyway, that was an enjoyable read.. :) Hmmkay, I'm reading more of your stuff now.. :D

-hug-

~~Carla

BTW, Kylie and I totally have the same view.. This hasn't gotten nearly enough feedback and recognition that it does deserve.. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by BitterSweetFlamesOdd: Odd

21st December 2009:
Sweet!! I was wondering about the quote you asked to be put in your CI. It seemed quirky and fun. :) I'm crazy enough to think that the images I made for you suited the story though the one-shot was really beautiful. :) I enjoyed reading it.

To be honest, I came over to read it feeling guilty for making you wait too long for the banner and ci but now I'm glad I did come over as it was a sweet little one-shot that I'd love to read again later. ;)

Toodles.. Write more!:)

~~Carla

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! And I'm even gladder (which I know totally isn't a word) that your images fit with the story so well!

Don't feel guilty! But I am glad you decided to read "Odd!" :P

Thanks again for the review and the images!

PS: I used an unhealthy amount of exclamation points in this review response!


 Report Review

Review #19, by BitterSweetFlamesTainted Hearts: Tainted Hearts

11th August 2009:
First review! It was lovely.^_^ It's funny that this is also a Dramione.:) Perhaps Dramione's are made for 500-word one-shots.:) I'd love an expanded version, luv.(: I'm a great fan. ^^ ~~Carla

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha, I've been on quite a Draco/Hermione kick lately, so this really didn't surprise me. I was going to do something lighter, but angst seemed more appropriate :) Thank you so much for reading - as for an expanded version, I have already started - started being posted one chapter and am stuck on the second - a Draco/Hermione with a similar theme (affair, post-Hogwarts, etc.) so I doubt this will get another version :( Sorry! But thank you so much for reading and reviewing, I'm really glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by BitterSweetFlamesTruth, Love, and Lies: Stuck

5th August 2009:
Oh god.. That was so cute. Quite a different 1st chapter than some but really well written.
can't wait to read the next. -which comes after I press the >>>-
haha, lol. :)

~~Carla

Author's Response: Ooh, I'm a little embarassed that you're reading this. It's so old! Haha! I hope you like it, though. The chapter image is great :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by BitterSweetFlamesBookmarks: Bookmarks

28th July 2009:
That's so cute. You obviously have a deep love for RonMione and it translate in writing very well.:D This story was well-written and meaningful and I had lots of fun reading it.:)

10/10

~~Carla

Author's Response: I do really love Ron and Hermione! :) So much. Lol I'm very pleased I manage to get it across in writing, because I adore writing stories about these two! :)

Thank you for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Bobble Hat: The Bobble Hat

28th July 2009:
I don't normally read RonMione. But that was just so sweet and cute and well-written. :) Write more like it please and I'll be reading. :)

10/10

~~Carla

Author's Response: :) Thank you! Seeing as you don't usually read R/H stories I'm very flattered that you liked mine! :)



 Report Review

Review #23, by BitterSweetFlamesChanges: Letters and trains

28th October 2007:
First off stroll is stroll not strole... That's it for grammar...:)

Anyway, that was a mean cliff hanger since it purposely leaves you hanging for more... I know you wanted me to comment on structure but seeing as it's one chapter... I can't as of yet..

First and foremost, I think it went a bit too fast. Of course, had you put breaks in the story indicating transitions then it would have been more bearable...:)

Seeing as nothing much happened, I cannot comment on Characterization though I think that Ronald reacted a bit too much for my taste.. I mean, why would he care that much that Hermione's going to stay with some random guy? This seems like a forewarning that it's going to be someone repulsive and that this point dictates most of what will happen in your story...

I'm glad that your way of describing everyone's movements and feelings during a time of war is pretty accurate and realistic... Kudos on that one...

All in all it was a pretty okay start that bears improvement and a bit of tweaking..

~~Carla (SkitsandBits from the forums)

Rating: 7.5/10

P.S. Hope I wasn't too harsh...:)

Author's Response: The stroll thing has been fixed, just not validated yet. Thank you so much for your input, it realyl means a lot to me when a person can skip over all the bull and niceties and just go out hard.

 Report Review

Review #24, by BitterSweetFlamesThe Silver Doe: Of Innocent Does and Enchanted Lilies

2nd August 2007:
Not boring.. Actually a very interesting and intrguing beginning to a what would probably be a wonderfuls story..

Congratulations on this and keep up the stellar writing...:)

-SkitsandBits

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for encouraging words :) I'm glad you like it.

ps: Oooh, I like the word stellar! I might use it later in the story :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by BitterSweetFlamesBlack Hearts Fading: Their Wedding Days

2nd August 2007:
I like that every point of view was different from the others.. It shows how different they are.. Though they are sisters...

Anyway, lovely story.. Keep up the good work...

SkitsandBits

Author's Response: Yup, that was the point of the one-shot. To show their differences, etc. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>