Reading Reviews From Member: bittersweetflames
  
108 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bittersweetflamesa little bit of coolness.: a sad Scorpius, and a big box.

26th January 2015:
Hi Missy. :) I'm here for our review swap. I really want to apologize for taking so long.

Anyway, I remember that I'd already read this chapter when you'd first posted it (and before my internet issues began) and I remember thinking it flowed so smoothly. I love the way you've characterized the four people here - Scorpius, Rose, Albus and Layla.

I found it absolutely ingenious that you were able to use your story title in this chapter so well. It really set the tone for that part of the story.

One thing I am wondering about though is Rose and Scorpius. I don't understand why Rose is denying that she liked Scorpius or even that she just wants to try it out.

The way it reads, it's like she's saying no just for the sake of it. Like, she expects herself to say no because that's how she sees herself. It'll be interesting to see how she gets over that (I hope she does since the way she is now, she's a little tedious. I'm actually surprised she even has friends. I ish mean.)

Also, Albus and Layla. Since the story is read from Rose's POV, I think the way she sees them is a bit unfair. They seem a little shallow (Layla in particular, while Albus seems more a bit of an idiot). This really nails the feeling Rose must have of being so alone since her views and priorities are leaps and bounds different from these people in her year.

I am also very interested to find out where that gift of all those products came from. My curiosity is very very alive.

Anyway, thanks for the swap, dearie. I'm sorry it took so long.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #2, by bittersweetflamesLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: A Brand New Year

21st January 2015:
Here for chapter 2! Sorry it's a day late. ♥

Anyway, I really loved the contrast of this chapter with the previous chapter. Here, the family (the Potter one, that is) is more accepting of the Albus-Scorpius relationship and it really bring into perspective what must have been the difference in their upbringing.

I think the interactions between the Potter siblings are spot on. Since I myself have two older brothers, I know what it's like to actually be at the receiving end of a lot of teasing and it's borne out of love and familiarity, so that's beautiful to see. The way Scorpius reacts to it with a sort of baffling wonder is also just the way I see only children reacting to sibling interactions. So, well done on that.

I think it was really funny that you brought up Scorpius asking Fred out. I don't think it was cruel of James - he's just one of those insensitive siblings, I have one myself - and it gave Scorpius the opportunity to show and tell Albus how much he is loved, which I think was really really sweet.

I just wanted to ask how old they are in this (by they I mean Albus and Scorpius) because you mentioned how there was Firewhiskey involved and then Lily having lots of men so I was assuming that they were young adults but you mentioned Hogwarts in the last chapter? So that would make them 17(ish) and Lily younger? So, it just struck me as a bit incongruous but, anyway, could just be me. I'm a bit of a prude. lol

So, thanks, dahl for the swap. :) Lovely story. A really great intro to the Albus-Scorpius pairing. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Albus and Scorpius is almost eighteen, Lily is fifteen. I'd like to think that her older cousins and siblings are keeping an eye on her and the other younger cousins and the alcohol... Or at least that's what their parents think?

Thanks again for your reviews! :-)


 Report Review

Review #3, by bittersweetflamesLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: An Awkward Dinner

20th January 2015:
Hi, darling. :)

This is my first try reading an Albus/Scorpius although I have no objections to it. I think it's really sweet the way this is written in first person and in Scorpius' POV. I loved his thoughts -- the genuine sense of his nerves tinges the tone of the chapter in such a way that without him going into epic sonatas about it, it's plain how much Scorpius loves and cares for Albus.

I loved how you managed to characterize Draco and Astoria. :) Astoria really fits my head canon of her -- she loves Draco and she loves Scorpius. She's entrenched in tradition but she's not above looking beyond all of it. I can feel how much she wanted to bridge the gap between Draco and her son but she's treading lightly because it's a bumpy road.

Draco, on the other hand, was just perfect -- there's just the right amount of the Lucius in him with Astoria's influence mixed in which is why he's a little tense about his son's relationship with Harry Potter's son but he's willing to reach out anyway (albeit in a tense way but he's still trying.)

Anyway, I can't wait to see how things happen from here on. Thanks for the swap, hun.

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm happy to introduce you to this great ship! :-)

I'm glad you like Draco and Astoria. Draco is not a character I'm very fond of, but I do think he loves Scorpius, even if he has a hard time right now. Astoria has a difficult job to balance her husband and her son. Not an easy job at all... ;-)


 Report Review

Review #4, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: City of Resurrection

15th January 2015:
Last chapter (for now. Seriously, you have to update. -inserts puppy dog eyes-)

Okay, I am glad you quickly addressed the cliffie from the last chapter. Some authors have employed that annoying habit of forgetting that they've stopped at a cliffie and I want to kiss you for not doing that here (else I'd have gone completely into the deep end. ha)

Of course, it's Dennis Creevey. -hits self- I'm not always this oblivious, trust me (no, don't.) But even when you reveal who it is, you still manage to present more questions to ask than answer those already dangling. I don't know how you do it but as I read on and on, I was more and more intrigued.

Like, what does Draco Malfoy have to do it? What the hell is resurrecting Abraxas Malfoy going to do? More importantly, how on earth are they going to do that? See what I mean about more questions? And, really, that's not even half of the questions I am asking.

You managed to capture perfectly the mood of two people who cannot even begin to abide one another come to the resigned conclusion that they'd have to work together -- how interesting is that? Very, to my way of thinking. :) I am just excited to see how things will progress from here on in.

Ok, moving on to Egypt. Egypt OMG. How exciting. hehe.
You don't bury the lead. You just go right ahead and introduce Kaitlyn and not just introduce! You let us know right away that she is in a relationship with Dennis Creevey (who is in Las Vegas! OMG)

It makes me really feel for her when she finds out and realizes that Dennis really just IS a summer fling. How painful is that, really? It's devastating. But before we can just simmer along and just be sorry for this poor girl you go BAM on us.

COLIN CREEVEY? Are you kidding me? No, obviously you're not. :O But, really, I never expected. How on earth is he in Egypt? I mean, seriously, how is that possible? It must be a trick. It HAS to be a trick. -flails arms- Okay, if I am not intrigued by now, well, I'd be a rock. Actually, wrong. Even a rock would be intrigued. It's impossible not to be.

Even with the curiosity burning in me, I can still feel how Colin is genuinely concerned about Dennis. Pain from the death of a loved one lost so early can be blinding, I think and Dennis is sufficiently blind except for one small thing and that's revenge. Revenge and trying to get Colin back.

Anyway, I can't wait to see what happens next. Thanks again for the swap, darl. Let me know when you update and want a swap again. I'm happy to do so. :)

--C

 Report Review

Review #5, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: City of Sorrow

15th January 2015:
Hi, Isobel. And onto Chapter 2. -squeals excitedly-

Okay, I'll start off by saying that your detail into describing Death's domain is just so brilliant! Everything from the rip in the Underworld to workers abseiling down rocky cliffs was just handled so well. Everything you wrote fascinated -- you managed to cram a lot of details in there without making it feel like it was, well, crammed. :) You managed to craft an enticing view of the Underworld that felt just enough, you know? Like, I understand the world enough to move forward in the story without feeling confused but it's just bare enough that I want to learn more. :)

When you revealed those bits about Misty -- I STARTED FLAILING MY ARMS and JUST DYING. wah. Honestly, I loved it so much. You can now understand why her purpose from the prologue was so frantic, so desperate. For her sake I wanted her to succeed but more for my sake because I wanted to find out for about this impossible human. You made me wonder what it feels like to fail the being, who created you? To know that your existence was so tenuous and the feeling of fear that must inspire? I was asking myself that question and more throughout reading this story.

Now onto the next part when we are finally in Las Vegas. I can say I FEEL Pansy.I know what it feels like to have everything you thought was right go so utterly wrong. I've been there (although to a much smaller extent than the complete devastation that is Pansy's life.)

I've never really felt sympathy (or even just basic empathy) with her character but you managed to make me feel it with the way you've written about her plight. You don't FORCE us to feel sorry for her in your language. You just managed to set the facts in as objective a way as possible without making it seem whiny or cold and that made it seem so much better, to my way of thinking. :)

The encounter with the wife, Anna, is so intriguing. Seriously, what is up with that, Isobel? -flails arms- How could you just plop her there and then... POOF! Much like she vanishes into thin air, you tease us and then nothing happens. You plow on ahead to something else entirely. If one needed lessons on how to make successful cliffies, you can teach it with the end to this chapter. A wand to the NECK? I'm so glad that there's a next chapter as I am reading this, Isobel. Else I'd be really mad. lol.
Thanks for the swap. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #6, by bittersweetflamesDusty Fingerprints: Dusty Fingerprints

15th January 2015:
Hiya Curie! Finally here for our swap. :) I'm so glad you asked me to wait for this story. It's so lovely. :D Ok, first off, I love that you chose to write a Founders story. I find Founders so very
hard to write about -- much like writing historical stories, there's an additional layer of detail you have to get right since tone is important although I really think you nailed it.

I want to comment on the fact that I think you've found your niche! Second person definitely seems to work for you. When you wrote the Molly story in second story, it worked really well and I think you use it really well in this story as well.

First, I love your description of Rowena. I've always imagined her as cool, aloof and regal -- the image of perfect lady of those times. You managed to capture this perfectly, so perfectly in fact that I can see her in my mind's eye so well.

I can really feel Godric's confusion and curiosity about Rowena. You can see that he is drawn to her and intrigued yet because she is the perfect lady, he is treated with indifference. I think that's perfect. It makes me wonder what he would do for her to stop being so indifferent to her. :)

The way you described the library was just spot on. I could practically see the bookshelves as you described them, could feel the dust tickling my nose and when Godric first comes across her smiling, I admit it had me smiling as well -- you can feel that she is genuinely happy and content amongst books and Godric, already intrigued and drawn to her cannot help but be entranced. Poor man, he never had a chance.

I think the way you spoke of his feelings for her was done really brilliantly. It wasn't a wild, loud declaration of love but more like a soft, slow slide headlong into its beauty. I want to know how he would tell her; how he would make her see. Maybe a kiss amongst the impossible bookshelves? One can only hope. :)

Thanks for the swap, darling. Your writing really has improved so much. ilu. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #7, by bittersweetflamesCity of Angels: Prologue

14th January 2015:
OMG, Isobel. Thank you for doing a swap with me because I got to read this story. It's so amazing and wonderful!! Did you honestly write this during NaNo? How is that fair? Answer: It's not. Woo

Okay, I love the way you set up this prologue. I always expect that prologues are to get a reader excited to turn the page (or in this case, clicking the arrow to go next!) and I almost didn't write this review because I desperately want to read the next chapter.

I just find it so fascinating when there is someone who can write mysteries well because it's something that I have never been able to really do. :)

First off, Misty. I can tell how dedicated she is to her purpose. I can understand this because, well, it's a big purpose, right? Yes, I really think so.

With very little words you managed to capture the paranoia and the thirst that must have been mingling inside her head. And quite possibly the frustration when the unknown person (who I am so curious about, omg. But really, moving on) is not really cooperating with what she had planned and schemed (I think scheme is a good word) to do.

Okay, let's go to the impossible human. I love how you inserted things you borrowed yet adapted from Mythology in this. It's so very interesting to read about the rivers and angels and demons. And, wah, it's the sort of thing I love reading about but rare do I ever find something that's quite as well-written as yours. :)

I love how you wrapped up this prologue -- there was a frantic energy to it that I loved and really reinforced the need for me to press that arrow and read more.

I completely agree with Misty, I want to know the secret of resurrection. Thanks for the swap, darling.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #8, by bittersweetflamesKnight Takes Queen: Rook

14th January 2015:
Hi, Laura. Here for our swap. :) Sorry it took so long. I was just captivated by your writing, as I've been since the first time I swapped with you.

So, I chose this story for the swap because it's Rowena and it's rare that I've read a story with her. But I thought it would be such a good idea to read one that you've written. (Start with the best, I say.)

I love that you employed the second person here. Second person always interests me, to be honest, because I have never tried it before and I've seen it done a little bit awkwardly before. When it is done well, it's absolutely lovely. And you've done it so well.

I see everything as perfectly as you have described it. All the sensory details are wonderful and give me chills. My favorite was how you started how you did and from that first moment, I was hooked.

Your descriptions of the merpeople are so beautiful, so captivating. I can fully understand why Rowena was captivated especially if the existence of merpeople hasn't been proven. I would think that someone like her would definitely want to learn more --- hey, I know I would!

The way you wrote of their interaction with one another below water was just breathtaking (literally and figuratively. HA) but I can imagine how strong the feelings were between the two. I would definitely be drawn to such a need to understand, I love it.

Anyway, I really honestly loved this. Thanks for the swap again, darling. I always love swapping with you. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #9, by bittersweetflamesAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

11th January 2015:
Hi Kristin. :) Sorry it took so long for me to get to this review. Anyways, thank you for the swap.

I don't know if I ever told you this, darling but I am seriously in love your writing. You have a way with imagery and sensory details that's really beautiful and detailed.

The first snippet showing the three sisters was really perfect, in my opinion. You managed, without very much effort, to show how their chilldhood actually shaped who they were. I actually always thought that Andromeda and Bellatrix were similar (and I actually always believed that they looked very much like one another) and that Narcissa was the odd one out -- which is probably why it's so believable that Bella never thought highly of her or of her ambitions.

I was so very intrigued by the 'you' you were referring to. I understood how she would be attracted to this one, especially since they seemed to be so suited although there is a darkness to the whole thing. Also, I love how you mention the Knights of Walpurgis.

Towards the end I felt so depressed - I love how she basically doesn't care about her husband but she marries him because that's what her mother and father want her to do -- you see that's how she values Pureblood ways. This is evidenced in the way she follows and is eventually all consumed by Voldemort.

I really wish to know about the other character. The way you've written about her really sparks my curiosity since she seems to be so important to the way Bella's character develops. Is she still a Death Eater? What sort of fate did she have while Bellatrix was going insane in Azkaban?

Anyway, I really loved the way you wrote this and while this review is basically useless, I want you to understand that I loved every inch of this story and I just lacked the proper coherent words to express it. (took me 2 hours to write this review. -slaps self-)

Thanks again for the swap, love.

--Carla

Author's Response: Carla!! ♥ Sorry for taking so long to get to this response, so I guess we're even :p

Gah! sdfhasdhf Thank you so much, I don't even know how to properly respond to such wonderful compliments. I'm so glad you like my writing, thank you ♡

I'm glad you thought the scene of them as children correlated well with their personalities as adults. And yes - I love the idea that Bellatrix and Andromeda could have been really similar, but Andromeda chose not to. (All three sisters are so interesting. I would love to eventually write a fic about each of them actually. /offtopic)

Glad you were intrigued by the mysterious unnamed woman, as well as the mention of the Knights of Walpurgis. It was kind of cool to write about the Death Eaters before they were the Death Eaters, so to speak.

Her marriage to Rodolphus is definitely largely motivated by her parents wishing it, but also because it gives her a higher status in society, and she has no intention of being true to him anyway so it doesn't matter to her.

I'm so glad you're left wondering about the other woman! That's what I was hoping for, especially by leaving her unnamed. Bahaha, a mystery left unsolved. Anything could have happened to her. I guess it's up to you as the reader to decide ;)

Thank you so much, I'm thrilled that you liked this, and your review was lovely! Thanks so much for the swap! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by bittersweetflamesSympathy, Tenderness: Offer Me Your Embrace

10th January 2015:
Hi darling. ♣

Anyway, here for our swap and because I really wanted to see how you handled Dramione. First off, drama is great. Drama is always fun to watch and see (though not be part of) so I really enjoyed it (is enjoyed a proper word? probably not). Anyway, I loved reading this.

First off, I think you got the tone of the Malfoys really well. Lucius sounds like the arrogant, judgmental Lucius we all know and love and Draco seems like how Draco would be during the events of HBP. And I feel so sorry for him that he didn't get to see his mother. What kind of man would deny his wife her son or his son, her mother? A monster, that's who.

When you write the part about Hermione's letter to Draco, it makes me wonder how they got to that point that Draco would be writing Hermione and they'd get to a first name basis (I noticed this straight away because OMG, I love it when they get to that point.)

You can really feel Draco's despair, which was made more obvious by how OUT OF IT he was when Hermione came to pay him a visit. He's trapped by his own thoughts and you can imagine that, while that's not a horribly nice place to live, it's even darker in that moment. Mum dead, no more legacy -- he's basically a pariah. And you feel sorry for him.

My heart goes out to Hermione, who would come offer comfort and sympathy to a man who isn't even a friend. That she would find it in herself to be there for Draco speaks to her good nature and when Draco goes insane on her, I wanted her to slap him. AGAIN. Of course, she's mature and doesn't. (Why so adult, Hermione. gar.)

Okay, I'm glad that Hermione doesn't really leave even though Draco told her to go. She obviously understand that he was saying one thing when he really meant another. So, I loved the ending. It just really ended this is the perfect way. :)
Well done! (Although I would not have complained if there were romantic overtones, the tone of this suited the story well.)

Thank you for the swap. And the story was great. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! Thank you for reading my Dramione. Your words are important to me and very encouraging :)

I SO appreciate your comment about HBP Draco. That was exactly the sort of crack in the facade that I was hoping to convey--that weird part of his life where he was starting to show a little bit of emotion but not yet ready to show it all. I'm so glad you picked up on that! Thank you!

Actually I hadn't even though of them being on a first-name basis and how that would need to occur =P But that's maybe something I'll explore in the future.

It means a lot to me that you could feel sorry for Draco here. He's been portrayed as the villain for so long, but you found it easy to feel for him here. That means a lot to me. Thank you :)

Haha, I understand. Hermione was frustrated, too! But she knew she had to take the high road. And above that, she really DOES care about him. He was a bully to her but he's lost his family now. This is beyond name-calling and Hermione recognizes that. That's why she stays.

Thank you for your comment on the ending! I struggled a little bit with whether or not to get into some more romantic stuff, but I decided to end there. Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by bittersweetflamesBack To Us: Back To Us

8th January 2015:
CURIE!!! Finally. It took me too long to get to this and I am so sorry. No excuse, dove. Absolutely no excuse. Especially when you are the awesomest of all awesome betas and, really, just an awesome friend. So, yes, I am here.

First off, can I just say how happy I am that this is a Charlie story? I mean, I know that was the prompt and all but I am a huge Charlie Weasley fan and I've always had a soft spot in my heart for him, bless him.

Ok, wow. You've always been a great writer but you've improved so much! So so much! I loved the way you wrote this fic -- the flashbacks were integrated so beautifully, it was as though I could see things from Keira's eyes. The sensory details just left me awed and breathless. I can feel what she feels and it just made me so happy when Charlie appeared towards the end of the chapter. :)

YUM. THE ORIGINAL sounds so amazingly good. I WANTS IT NOW. And I'm just so happy that you had them meet again and be all, yes, now's the time and all that. JK said that she always meant for Charlie to be a bachelor but what does she know? Keira is perfect for him. :)

Thanks for sharing, love. WRITE MORE!

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #12, by bittersweetflamesThe Diagon Alley Gentlemen's Club: Hell Hath No Fury

3rd January 2015:
Hey, Lo. :) Okay, I am so super happy that you've updated because I have been waiting for this as I had already favorites this story so HARD.

Ok, I completely love Auden. I can feel her frustration, her annoyance. I know how it feels to be passed over for a job or a promotion so the way you did write that part, I truly felt as I did when the same thing happened to me. (Made me wish I had a whiskey as well)

I was laughing so LOUD when I was reading the part about "Mr. Matthews" which was just great. That was just hilarious and I really loved it. It's so common for men to make mistakes like that. Although I say this because I like making fun of my brothers who have made such a mistake.

Of course I can be very annoyed at you because you didn't explain about the butterfly death thing. So I am cross but, really, that makes me want to just read more. So.. It's a demand. You should update this story. Yes, you really should.

And then you end in on the you ended it which means I want even more of this story. Sorry, I ramble most of the time here… I just really love this story and want more. :) Thanks for the swap, darling! :)


--Carla

 Report Review

Review #13, by bittersweetflamesTogether Again: Together Again

3rd January 2015:
Hi, Georgia. :D I was completely meaning to review this story (since I'd read it, obviously) but my to-do list has just gotten out of hand. But here I am and here to review.

FIRST OFF, I am so incredibly happy that you like my banner. There is nothing more precious in the world for a graphicker for someone to appreciate what they've done. So a huge HUG as thanks. *hearts*

Okay, on to the story. I am very glad you stepped out of your comfort zone with this one. It's very beautiful and well-written and you know I enjoyed it. My favorite was the part between Sirius and Lily. I love how you put in that there is a friendship between Sirius and Lily that's bloomed and blossomed even while Lily was annoyed and completely ignoring James.

There's a certain sense here. IDK what to call it but the emotions in this piece are so perfectly Christmas but without being TOO overly Christmas. Like, it doesn't bash you over the head with it - it just is and that's powerful; that's beautiful.

A small part of me is so angry. (Not at you. lol) But at Voldemort for stealing this. These small moments, these small memories. Harry, even as a small child was well-loved, completely cherished and to think that he missed out on these things? My heart just breaks for him. THAT'S your power as a writer, as a storyteller. You make it so real, so poignant that I forget it's fanfiction and I just enjoy all the words. It was a total joy working with you, love. -huggles-

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! You're so sweet, I'm so glad we were paired up!

The banner is gorgeous! THe bright spot on my page, for sure.

You're so sweet. All of your comments just give me very warm and fuzzy feelings, so thank you thank you thank you!!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #14, by bittersweetflamesDeceptive Hearts: Impossible

28th December 2014:
Hi Ellie! Carla here with our review swap. :D

And since I saw you'd updated this story and I have been a very bad reader , I decided to read and review this. OK, I'm so glad Hermione is in Greece. I was definitely waiting for her to get there because then the fun could get started. (CARLA WANTS FUN NOW. BAH)

You mentioned that this might seem slow but it didn't seem that way to me. I actually really appreciate it, it's more interesting and easier to read than Draco's chapter previously (because his had too much details, my head hurt a bit. lol).

I love how you have Hermione willing to relax and all. With everything going on in her life I think the best thing for her is to relax (besides, she has a hell of a time ahead of her the next two years. HAHAHA)

Pylos sounds really lovely the way you describe it - very peaceful and relaxing but surely beautiful. I imagine even the most stressed out person would find something to relax about there, which is great.

So, yeah, I loved this chapter and I think the cliffhanger is the cruelest thing you can do to me, because now I have to click that next arrow and I don't have a lot of time to read atm. I am definitely putting this on my reading list so I can keep up with it.

Thanks again for the swap, darling. :)

--Carla

P.S. HOW MANY BOOKS DOES HERMIONE HAVE? And I bet she won't get to read them at all. -snickers-

Author's Response: Hey Carla,

Thanks for reviewing. She's Hermione so I figured she would take heaps of books with her, but i think you're right. She's not going to get a whole lot of chances to read them all =)

I hope you stick with the story. More chapters will be up just as soon as the queue reopens =)

xx-Ellie.


 Report Review

Review #15, by bittersweetflamesLove and Be Loved: Hope Is Real

25th December 2014:
Bby, this was so beautiful. -flails about wildly-
Ok, you NEARLY made me cry. Which is big because, well, I'm made of stone and it's hard to make me cry. YUP YUP.

So, I didn't actually read the summary/story info (though I did stare at that GORGEOUS banner) and I think because I didn't I had no idea it was Fleur who was narrating. And I think THAT was powerful because the uncertainty made me think that ANY SINGLE ONE of her family could be it. ANYONE could love as much as that and be as supportive and understanding as that. When I learnt that it was Fleur (since you mentioned it in your A/N) I was BLOWN AWAY because, really, she always struck me as confident because she's beautiful and smart and loved but NO. Apparently not. Flaws exist in everyone, even in people who appear flawless - perhaps even more so.

All the small details you used to describe what Rose is going through is so sensitive and lovely. You don't hit us over the head with it, you don't SHOUT it at us but you manage, with just the right amount of words, to make your readers see the beauty, the pain, the reality of what she is going through. That's a talent, Sarah. You have it and we can see it really well in this story.

Lastly, using the vision statement from the website itself? How perfect is that. The voice of this entire fic was absolutely GORGEOUS. You blew me away because I can hear the words in head and they were soft, melodious and full of emotion. Like I said, you nearly made me cry and the way this read really helped reinforce that.

Congratulations on getting third although I am so super biased but I really really loved this, you know that.This fic really helps. If you were to take away Fleur and Rose and plugged in someone elses names, I doubt that it would be any less real, any less painful to read.
Thanks for writing, darling. Happy Christmas, ilu. ;)

--Carla 11/10.;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by bittersweetflamesThe Diagon Alley Gentlemen's Club: Prologue

24th December 2014:
Hi, Lo! Carla here for our review swap. First off, excuse me while I go flail my arms because I enjoyed this prologue so much.. -flails arms-

For a prologue to be successful, it has to properly introduce a story without overwhelming the readers with information; it also has to have the ability to make a reader want to read the next chapter (RIGHT NOW). And, your prologue was super successful. For just a little under 700 words, you managed to engage me and I've favorited this so hard. BOOYAH.

Anyway, I love that it's about the Greengrass family! I, like a lot of others, prolly want to know more about them. (Especially after the last bit of info from Pottermore? I'm just super curious about Astoria and her family!) All the details were spot on to me and I loved that you named the assistant Lawrence. I love that name.

I am a huge fan of mysteries (to read, not write) and I WANT TO KNOW about the Butterfly's Death! Way to capture my attention and bring to harsh perspective that there's no next arrow for me to press to find out what happens next. -dies-

Anyway, I love it, I want to read more and thanks for the swap. :)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #17, by bittersweetflamesTwelve: Twelve

24th December 2014:
Hi, Erin! :D I saw you post this story earlier today and I was eager to read it but I was so busy (because, hey, Christmas Eve!) but here I am now, in peace, and able to read finally (the swap was a perfect excuse, bahahaha)

Okay, so on to the story. I really really love that you chose Poppy for this story. She's such an interesting character, I think and the way she was written in the books seemed a bit one-dimensional (can't blame Jo, that's just how Harry saw her. lol)

But this story was just so sensitive, emotional and painful. I'm trying to decide on whether I have a favorite part or not and I've decided that I don't -- the entire thing was just flawless from start to finish and I loved reading every single but of it.

The part about her parents, well, it was terrible. I know, intellectually, that there are people as intolerant and uncaring as this but it always breaks my heart to read or hear about situations like Poppy probably had to go to (Didn't matter if it was fictional, it was painful all the same!) and I could relate, not because it's happened to me, but because it felt so real and I felt so sorry for that girl and you know that what happened was sure to affect the course of her life's story.

Then you add in the bit about Neil. I was so sure that things would change. So sure that, finally, Poppy would find happiness and love and all wonderful things - so sure that the memory of everything her parents had done to her would be replaced by the beauty of love and friendship from someone who seemed to genuinely love her. OF COURSE, you break my heart when he leaves her on Christmas. WHO DOES THAT? Who would do something so bad on Christmas? It's the most cruel of things to do. Say you love and then don't SHOW it. ACTIONS rather than WORDS. I'm so angry at him. -calms down-

At the end.. The way you explained the gifts. Well, it was beautiful. I could see it in my head, you know? It dazzled me and I only saw the words so I could imagine how dazzled Poppy would have been.
And, Lily. Well, I want to give her ONE HUGE HUG. I'm not normally a Lily fan (because I am a huge Snape fan. OMG, insert eyeroll here) but I loved her in this because she was so sweet and kind and just the best sort of person you could ever ask for.

Anyway, Erin, this was the most beautiful thing to read on Christmas Eve, alone at home. You made me smile. :) Thanks for sharing (and the swap! :))

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #18, by bittersweetflamesJust One Kiss: Chapter 2

23rd December 2014:
YAY! :D I get to read on, woo! Anyway, here from the Claw Christmas Gift Tag and, also, I am completely loving this story.

Anyway, I feel so very much for Hermione here. Anyone and everyone deserves to be alive and feel happy and have a purpose and the contrast you've shown between her time with Oliver and her life with Ron is done harshly. You can't blame Hermione for wanting to spend more time with Oliver but you can't help feeling sorry for her when you see how torn and conflicted she is feeling.

She had been comfortable, comfortably unhappy -- how SAD was this line? (very. very sad). It's this feeling of being in a rut and I completely understand where Hermione is coming from. I think everyone at some point in their lives could relate to this and I am so sorry for her and even for Ron. I don't know what Ron is going through or how his life is like so I can't be mad at him but I just want, for both of their sakes, for everything between them to end. It just seems so miserable.

Anywho, I love how you wrote of Oliver and Hermione together. It's so seemingly innocent yet you know before long that things'll change and the balance will tip. That means you make us want to see what happens next so... THANK YOU FOR SHARING and keep on writing. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hello...thanks for popping back so soon :)

I felt pretty sad for Hermione too. Its a really hard place to be, feeling like life is passing you by, but at the same time, not knowing if changing things will make it any better. While some people recognise this and make a change, others don't see it so much and this is where Hermione and Ron (at least I believe) are quite different. I think Hermione likes a challenge, where Ron would more likely continue on as always.

I liked writing the parts with Oliver...its kind of like being able to fall in love all over again through my characters :)

I'm glad you're enjoying this story and I hope you continue on. Hugs


 Report Review

Review #19, by bittersweetflamesThe Art of Small Talk: Valentine's Day

23rd December 2014:
Hi, Joey. Here for our review swap and I am super glad because I had been meaning to read this story and now I can and who says work has to be done? (It doesn't. lol)

So, I love the way you write about Scorpius and Lysander. I've not really read a lot of Lysander fics but I love the way you wrote him in this one. I think the way you handled their relationship (not just the romantic and/or sexual one) but the way they interact with one another in a casual situation is just precious and lovely to read.

Even with the fact that we're dealing with a huge problem like an eating disorder I love how Scorpius sticks with him (people who do always get my VOTE. WOO) and it's beautiful how obvious it is that they're thankful of each other, of life, of just the every single day. :)

All the little nuances of their relationship is beautiful. Like, the words they speak to one another, the little gestures, the smiles and the looks. It speaks of a bond that was made over time and would last beyond it. I just really love your writing - there is an ease and pleasantness to it that makes it easy to read (and reread!) what you write.

Thanks for sharing (and for the swap).

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla!

I haven't read many Lysander fics either. I'm not sure what it is that makes me favor him as a character, but somehow he seems more interesting than Lorcan to me. Even though I know nothing about either. I have NO idea.

I am so happy that you thought their conversation was well done and picked up on how much they truly care for each other. And your compliment about my writing is so appreciated!! Especially the re-read part because I LOVE when people do that so much. Thank you for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by bittersweetflamesTwo Earthly Kingdoms: To Anger a God

23rd December 2014:
Hi, Laura. First off, thank you so much for the swap! I'm so sorry this took so long for me to review but I actually read this one-shot twice! I am just in awe of the writing, omg. So, yeah, rereading it afforded me the ability to actually attempt coherence in this review. hahaha

So, first off, I LOVE SNAPE. Even when he was mean and nasty and seemingly evil, I have always LOVED him. The way you write him here is just mind-blowing. I have so many favorite lines, so many favorite scenes I simply cannot pick one! I do remember this though - "he still dreamed about her at night, with her red hair and green eyes and the soft, happy smile she so often wore even then, and he thought of a thousand different ways he could apologise, a thousand different ways he could try to make it up to her" because I am not a Snily fan and I want to tell Severus to not even bother asking for Lily's forgiveness and they just don't deserve one another (Yes, I hate Lily because of this. What does this make me, I wonder? Maybe not a Gryffindor fan.)

Anyway, you fueled my Snape love. The way you went inside his psyche... The reasons he joined the Death Eaters, the reasons he was who he was (flawed, human, instrinsically good, complex) Okay, well, I'm just fangirling now because it's Snape and you wrote him so well. (Even if it is a Snily.haha)

So, now for the references! My head was spinning around, Laura (ok, maybe not because that would be scareh). Because everything was just so well-integrated. I am a HUGE fan of yours and your writing and this one shot just blew me away. Like, I love love Greek mythology so the way you just used it in your one-shot nearly made me cry, lord, it was so beautiful.

OK, that's about it. I said I would try to be coherent -looks up- and I totally failed that ask. HAHA. Oh well. I loved this, Laura. Not just because of the fact that it's Snape but because it's so perfectly written and such an interesting way of writing about him and his POV of his life. Thanks for sharing (and for the swap)

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #21, by bittersweetflamesJust One Kiss: Chapter 1

23rd December 2014:
Hiya. I'm here from the Claw Christmas Gift Tag thread. :) I'd always been meaning to check out this story so I'm glad I finally get the chance. *inserthappydancehere*

Ok, so, this was so painful because I think the worse kinds of break ups are those that still have 'love' in it but not the proper kind for a relationship to flourish and thrive. Hermione's thoughts and insights were rational but you can't help but feel sorry for her or for Ron.

I also really loved the imagery here. The wind, the ring, the sand and the water. They really add such a mood to the piece and flow so beautifully, I think. What was already a painful piece became only more painful and I loved that.

Then the way you explained how things happened after Hogwarts was great. You didn't go into very many details but you managed to use just the right amount of words and details to paint how those six years had been for Hermione (and Ron, of course).

Finally, the part when you contrast 'in love' and 'love' was my favorite because I think that just those two letters can really change the way the heart could feel and hurt and just, ugh. I felt for them both here. (And I'm not even a Romione fan. haha)

Finally, at the end, you intrigued me. I hope that whatever DOES happen will make Hermione happy and she won't have cause for regret. Will be reading more soon. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey. I'm so glad you've been able to take a read. I really wanted to focus this story on Hermione and Ron just falling out of love, rather than making Ron out to be a villain. Personally, I just don't see them together, but at the same time, I don't think Ron would be one to cheat. You're quite right when you say these are hard types of break-ups because no-one has necessarily done something wrong, you still like the person, its just not the person you want to spend the rest of your life with. But its such a big decision because if you let go of something thats ok, it doesn't mean you'll find someone better.

I love going down to the beach and watching the waves, especially during storms, so lots of the imagery was drawn from feelings and experiences I've had.

I'm really glad you enjoyed my first chapter and thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #22, by bittersweetflamesa little bit of coolness.: ok, things are getting awkward.

22nd December 2014:
Hey Missy! Here from Review Tag and, really, just because I want to see what happens next.XD Ok, so Rose is infinitely interesting to me. You paint her the way I think Hermione could have evolved during her time at Hogwarts had she 1. Not become a Gryffindor and/or 2. Not become friends with Ron and Harry. Since she's Hermione's daughter, there's really no surprise there but it's lovely all the same.

The part about Albus, Scorpius and Layla are just great. First, Albus is a darling. I do love him so I'm biased but whatever. haha Layla, I love because she's just endearing and great and it's obvious that she and Rose are friends and even though they're complete opposites, you can see they genuinely care for one another.

OMG, though, the interaction with Scorpius is super awkward. Like, seriously, crazily awkward. The type of awkward that makes me want to hide under my mom's skirt and never come out till I'm, like, 40 or something. But, that ending! WOW. I don't know what to say... Scorpius seems... FORMIDABLE. Yes, formidable and I think it was really awfully cruel of you to end it where you ended it because my heart was just starting to POUND and then you ENDED IT and I DIED. D= -cries- SO, yeah.. -keels over- Can't wait for the next. Keep writing.

--Carla

Author's Response: Haha! Hey Carla! I'm glad you got the chance to drop by! It's very much appreciated.

Yeah, she's quite like Hermione. Difference is, they were sorted into different houses. There was a reason for that ...

I love cliffhangers! Sorry, I'm so mean.

Thank you for reviewing.

Missy


 Report Review

Review #23, by bittersweetflamesHurricane Luna: He Searches in His Heart

21st December 2014:
HI BETH! :D I had put it on my list to totally read this chapter but when I saw you'd posted on the Chapter Updates thread and I saw you posted in Christmas Tag and I saw it as an opportunity to read it and review it NOW. YAY! I love when little opportunities like this crop up... I get to stay up really late but YOLO...

Okay, so hopefully you know that I seriously love this story. Because it is beautiful and I think it's my favorite ever of Luna/Rolf (mind you, I've only read about 3 Luna/Rolf's but still it is my fave). Anyway, I love the revelations that Rolf has had in this chapter. We, as readers, could see that he had fallen in love with Luna (as surely she had fallen in love with him) and it was at times frustrating and amusing how oblivious Rolf was to his and her emotions.

The little bits you put there of Xeno and Neville and Ginny are so perfect. Yes, they're angry but they love Luna and while it's Rolf's fault she's gone (the poor dear, he's really really sad here) he's the one who (I think anyway) is suffering the most so they can't hate him THAT much.

When you put that bit about Albus, my GOD, Albus is just adorable. Rolf hugging Albus just shows how much of an influence Luna has had on him. AND, really, again the invention of that creature leaves me doubly impressed. ALL your creatures in this fic are just so fun. I LUFF THEM.

SO, yeah, it was CRUEL to end it there and I demand the next chapter soon (LOLS) and I love this and I will def. reread but, for now, thank you for the update and I hope you write write write. Much loves. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi there Carla,

I'm getting an inkling that you love this story - by your completely awesome reiews - haha!

Thanks so much for being the first to review this chapter!

*collapses in relief* I was so worried that Rolf wouldn't come off as sympathetic here. I mean, he *did* just basically kick Luna out of his life. And - it's LUNA so everyone loves her. But I'm so, so glad that he is such a pathetic mess that they can see he needs a little help from - erm... *her* friends.

Albus is so much fun to write. He doesn't see Rolf the same way that the other's do, so it's helpful to have a character around who doesn't totally hate him - haha!

Thanks again for this - your reviews have totally gotten me excited to finish this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by bittersweetflamesa little bit of coolness.: a silky dress and a happy birthday.

20th December 2014:
Carla here for our review swap.

Okay, first I want to comment on your writing style. I really really love it. It's light and breezy and an easy read. I feel like I'm floating over your words and it's a beautiful experience.

I absolutely love your characterization of Joel.. She strikes me as an ordinary girl, one that any other girl could love and relate to, which is a great thing to have in any character.

So, I wished there was more in this chapter. I mean, it's a GREAT start but the way you wrote it makes me want to read more and just see what's going to happen when Scorp and the others come over. BOOYAH.

So, yes, continue. I loved it so far. :) Wish there was more to read.

--Carla

P.S. All the gold wrappers was fun btw.

Author's Response: Hey Carla :) sorry for the late response, I only just found the time to, you know, respond.

Aww thanks. I've always thought that my writing is stilted, so for you to tell me that it's breezy, made me really happy. Thanks.

Sorry, I made an error in the story, it isn't Joel, it's Rose. My mistake, not yours. It's been edited now.

Thanks for taking the time to review. I really appreciate everyone who has reviewe.

From Missy


 Report Review

Review #25, by bittersweetflamesNot Yet Over.: Not Yet Over.

20th December 2014:
Here for the Claw's Christmas Gift Tag. :)

So, first off, I never really read Mystery/Horror stories 'cos I am one big coward (a fact that embarrasses me but is fact nonetheless). Anyway, I couldn't resist this story because Susan is actually one of the minor characters that I've always liked and I've always wondered what happened to her circa the epilogue (or, really, after the war) and this was a refreshing (albeit scary) way of imagining where her future could have gone.

The whole thing that struck me with this story is the tone of uncertainty. I knew, from the first, that I wholly sympathized with Susan but I could not be sure why -- was someone really following her around/threatening the safety of her family or was there really something wrong with her wrought by the pains and struggles of war? Either way, she managed to make me feel completely sorry, not just for her, but all the people in her life.

I think war is something that is not, and never should be, something that is easily forgotten or compartmentalized and it is very realistic that some people would have left the war with more than a few scars - your characterization of Susan in this fic is just perfect in that aspect.

Anyway, my favorite part was the ending. All throughout the fic I didn't know what to think and it's amazing (and just a little frustrating, haha) that you've managed to reinforce that with your ending. I don't really know WHAT to think. I am forced to think that it's all in her head but I feel so sorry for her, I definitely want her to get better and feel happy and safe and warm again. And I'm scared for her because I feel that it's likely that wouldn't be possible anymore. (OMG, maybe that's why we don't know what happened to her?! :O Okay, I'm overthinking it. haha) Anyway, gorgeous story, amazingly-written. I really enjoyed it - thank you. :)

--Carla

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review.

To be honest, I don't usually WRITE horror stories (I write mystery all right, but not scary ones), because my style of writing doesn't greatly lend itself to horror. It tends to require a degree of atmosphere that I'm not too good at creating. I tend to be more into character.

This story was my attempt at writing a possibly unreliable narrator, leaving it uncertain as to whether or not she was truly in danger.

I chose Susan as the main character for a few reasons. I had a bit of difficulty choosing a character to write about, as I had a number of requirements. They needed to be somebody who could realistically be a target for ex-Death Eaters and I also wanted them to be somebody we didn't know well, because I figured that if I used somebody like Harry or Hermione, people would believe their version of events, just because they've so often been right in the past and Harry has had people assume he was crazy when he was telling the truth in the past, whereas if it were somebody like Fudge, people would probably assume paranoia, since he IS clearly paranoid. I wanted people to make their judgement based on the story and not on a prior impression of the character.

The characters underwent some horrific things - kids being tortured by the Carrows, Muggleborns being arrested and so on, so it's unlikely everybody would just move on without any issues. Some people might be able to, but not everybody.

Really glad you liked the ending. I'd imagine it would be a little frustrating. *laughs*

Thank you so much for your review. It really was an awesome one. Happy Christmas.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>