Reading Reviews From Member: Ydnas Odell
  
619 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ydnas OdellUnbearable: Unbearable

24th August 2015:
Actually, it is amazing. Very unique and well done.

Author's Response: Hello,

Wow, thank you very much for such a kind review, it means a lot to me! :)

a_r


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ydnas OdellLemon Drop: Lemon Drop

22nd August 2015:
Awesome! You deserve an ambrosia every flavour bean for this! How in the world did you come up with this idea? It is so much fun.

The characters are on-point, although Dumbledore is more cruel with his practical jokes than I've imagined. The writing style is simple but lightly elegant as well. There are a few grammar mistakes and dropped words, as always with fanfics though (but far less than most). I rate this a nine although sadly I don't think it will be read much because of the unique topic and rarely searched for characters. Which is ok, as we must write for ourselves first. I found this by reading the recently posted pics list, which makes me happy because usually only terrible dribble is found there. In sum, this is a nicely done fiction which I've favorites for merit!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ydnas OdellColor and Light: Strategy

26th March 2015:
This is very well written, seems to take a conversational and realistic tone and it's nice seeing all this from Tonk's POV. I hope to see more.

So far, this has the potential to be one of the better Remus/Tonk fics that I have read.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! It means a lot. I've got the fic already written for the most part so more to follow very soon :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ydnas OdellRemember: Chapter 1

14th February 2015:
This is awesome. Exactly the type of thing I like to read.

To be fair it does need another editing pass or two for some minor grammar errors.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ydnas OdellWeasley is our King: Gameday

26th January 2015:
As Ron would say: Brilliant! The Quidditch action was well written, but you could've wriiten it out more. It would have been nice to see the tension as Ravenclaw crept closer. Nice banner also!

Author's Response: Aww thank you! I didn't know it was still being read!

I was already a bit concerned I was drawing out the Quidditch a lot compared to the books and didn't want to overdo it and end up reading like a sports report. But you're right in that I could have played around a bit more with emotions and general trends as well as the game specifics. All good things to know, as I have to write quite a few games in my Igniting the Ashes story!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ydnas OdellEverytime We Touch: Everytime We Touch

24th January 2015:
Wow! I've never read a Harry Potter natural disaster fic before! Interesting twist! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ydnas OdellUntil the End: Together

24th January 2015:
This in an interesting idea, well thought out and executed and it feels plausible. I have a real sense of the personality of the Prewett brothers and I like the repeated theme, However, you do have a glaring typo in the first sentence: 'bows' when you meant 'boys'.

Author's Response: Hi!!

Thank you so much for stopping by with a review! I'm really happy they came across with their own personalities in this - especially as it's quite short. eep, I'll get on fixing that typo!

-rose


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ydnas OdellContinental Holiday : Chapter One

23rd January 2015:
Great start! I'm looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks! There's lots more to come!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ydnas OdellDobby: The Paid Elf: Dobby: The Paid Elf

17th January 2015:
This is an interesting and unique idea. The characters are believable. You captured both Dobby's and Dumbledore's speech patterns perfectly. It is actually brave writing a house-elf as they are so difficult. This is one of the better fics that I've read recently.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much! I don't even really know what to say to that, besides thank you! Dumbledore and Dobby are both pretty difficult characters to get right, so it means so much to me for you to say that!! ♥

I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed this!! Thank you so, so much for reading and for leaving such an incredibly kind review!! :D

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ydnas OdellThe Best Day of My Life : The Best Day of My Life

17th January 2015:
Very well written. Nice bait and switch. I enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Hiya!

Thank you so much! I'm really happy that you've enjoyed it!! :) Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ydnas OdellNo Wands Allowed: No Wands Allowed

6th January 2015:
This is an insultingly good fic! What a fun and excellently executed idea.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ydnas OdellSomething to Fight For: Midnight Conversation

6th January 2015:
I just noticed the other review from 2010 that I somehow missed. I found this through the random read feature. I will find the fic if it is still there on the other site. I write/read as DA Jones there. However, for some reason the 2nd chapter that is posted here is much better edited than the first.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ydnas OdellSomething to Fight For: The Ministry

6th January 2015:
I am sorry that this has never had a review, that is wrong. This is a really excellent plot and some of the lines are winners and I think you have potential as a writer, and I was hooked from the start, but it needs a beta reader just to help with the typos and grammar and a little work with pacing near the end.

I also locked the POV that you used. Watching from the eyes of a child while their parents try to survive a battle is an gripping experience.

Writing is like anything else, it takes effort and redoing and of course without hour any reviews there is little reward for doing so. I think if you revisited this and rewrote it a little and visited the forums you would get some reviews and reads. I'm always reworking fics I worked on years ago. Good luck!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ydnas OdellSitting on a Leaf: Sitting on said Leaf

5th January 2015:
This is one of the most unique and cute and sweet tales that I have ever read on here. It is criminal that there was only one review for this tale in a decade. I will do what I can to promote it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ydnas OdellButterflies: Butterflies

5th January 2015:
Short. But a good fic. I thought you captured both characters well.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ydnas OdellBlood of Darkness, Heart of Light: Part One: Pureblood, Chapter One: Meeting

3rd January 2015:
I am very intrigued by this. It is an excellent start. You write Snape well, Lily too! I was sucked into both chapters right away and was engrossed right away. Charlotte is going to be a winner of an OC too, I can tell.

I will follow this.

One minor canon lapse in the first chapter bothered me: Where is Barty Crouch Jr? You might need to edit in an explanation for his absence to satisfy the nitpickers like me.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I have reasons for leaving out Barty Crouch Jr. that I don't want to reveal yet. I probably should have included a sentence or two about his absence in the Prologue. Perhaps I'll go add that.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Ydnas OdellHere We Go: Mindlessness And Distractions

1st January 2015:
This is very good. I like your characterizations. They really do seem like teenagers and react realistically and the ending is an excellent cliffhanger. I am sorry you that you did not receive any reviews until now for it as it actually is a much better dramione than average.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ydnas OdellRich Weasley: how Ginny got rich

31st December 2014:
Funny! Well done!

Nicely absurd!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ydnas OdellGone: The Disappearance

28th December 2014:
Al is a believable and well developed character and I enjoyed the simplistic and straightforward style this tale was written in. GONE is an engaging story that feels real despite its surrealistic premise. I am glad that I read this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I very much attempted a 'matter-of-fact' tone here. Glad you found that the story felt real, thank you for reading.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ydnas OdellA Chance Encounter: Imperfections Included

28th December 2014:
This was a random read of mine and I liked it a lot. This is very smoothly written and feels true to the characters and held my attention throughout and your dialogue was superb. I quibble only a bit with how Neville describes the papers description of his supposed time with Luna though. He should admit he traveled with her and state but the papers exaggerate. The only flaw I saw and it is a minor one is the last paragraph. I'd cut most if it because you do not need to state the moral or the outcome because the reader knows it. So: 'Hannah wiped the counter again' is your natural ending. Maybe add: Hannah smiled and wiped.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading my stories randomly!

I'm so glad that my characters held your attention and seemed authentic. Perhaps Neville should be more forthcoming about his travels with Luna, you're right. He's a very honest person, and so he would be honest about it.

That's a great suggestion! I think you're write--I don't need to make it so obvious because the reader knows. I will take a look at that when I find the time. :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ydnas OdellGodric's Girls: The Beginning, the Middle, and the End

27th December 2014:
You created interesting characters. This was well done!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ydnas OdellPawns: An Invitation

14th September 2013:
Very well done. It is a shame you abandoned this. You write way better than most.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ydnas OdellCalling: Calling

28th July 2013:
Well done. Very exceptional written. Added to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ydnas OdellPerception: Reality's Duplicity

8th February 2013:
This was interesting. Basically a Cho ruined by the war. Well written and confusing. I think the confusing throws people off (unfortunately most poeple don't like to read things they can't readily understand) but its fits with the confused mind of Cho. She seems to blame all her misery on Cedric and associate him with the Dark Lord. I thought there might be some time travel involved, but I'm not sure.

Who is the letter from? It was good to leave that mystery. It sad she thinks no one will write her.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ydnas OdellFirearms: Prologue

1st February 2013:
Wonderful. Ilove this! You write battles well.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>