Reading Reviews From Member: Misty_Rey
418 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Misty_Reygaslights: gaslights

12th November 2015:
I actually really dug this! Believe me, it was the farthest thing from a rambling mess. Honestly, with the rhyming, I thought it was just my imagination playing tricks on me. Then I got to the end and the rhyming was intentional? So cool! Such a wonderful piece of writing that says so much in 500 words. I have a soft spot for experimental writing like this and you really did a great job with it. Lavender came alive as with her thoughts, emotions and situations. At that age, everything is intensified so I don't blame her for her emotions and reactions. Actually, I'm still in awe with how well-written this was. So lovely, almost lyrical in a sense. My sister is watching 'Into the Woods' as I read and review this so that might be why this seemed like a song that flowed so wonderfully well.


Author's Response: Hi Misty! What a lovely, unexpected review--thank you :)

Yes, the rhyming was intentional. I'm glad you enjoyed the experimental silliness on my end! I was aiming for a certain lyrical pattern, so I think you felt how I meant it, so I'm glad that came across!! I don't have anyone read over my stuff before posting, so I'm never sure how things work or don't work. I am curious which "Into the Woods" moment inspired the songlike feel :)

Thanks again, glad you enjoyed the essence of Lavender!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Misty_ReyStronger: Stronger

12th October 2015:
Hiya! I'm here for the review swap :)

I had braced myself for many things going into this story but not only did you meet my expectations but you utterly surpassed them.

You had me from the first line. It was such a simple introduction but there was a gentleness to it that didn't prepare me for the rest of the story.

I think you captured this second generation of Malfoys beautifully. I've always had a soft spot for Draco (that might have been because of Tom Felton but we won't go there) but his character is so difficult to write, both for me and for other fanfiction writers. I'm usually quite critical with how he's written because there's the risk of making him too sympathetic or too arrogant. You really did a great job in portraying his guilt, his weariness, his redemption. He felt like an old Draco still recovering.

Astoria was the dark horse in this. I would have loved for you to have delved deeper into her character only because her short appearance was so impactful. You made interesting choices with her (such as making her stay back to fight at the Battle of Hogwarts) that paid off by giving her night terrors and PTSD. I really, really liked what you did with her character. Draco trying to explain it to young Scorpius was heartbreaking yet lovely and gave a nice glimpse into Draco and Astoria's relationship.

Which brings me to Scorpius. He's absolutely precious. I loved how you wrote him as an eleven year old and trying to comfort Draco. That was one of my favourite parts. Some writers struggle with writing children but you made it seem effortless. I wanted to scoop up little Scorpius and give him a hug, he was so cute.

The last part was interesting as I wasn't expecting Draco to react the way he did to Scorpius and Rose. It seemed to suggest that regardless of how the war changed him and that he insists he doesn't hate muggleborns anymore, Draco was struggling a bit to come to terms with his only child dating the child of his childhood nemesis's. It would have been too easy for him to accept the relationship with open arms which is why I appreciated that you took the grey, murkier road of him being hesitant but ultimately wanting his child to be happy.

The ending paragraph tied very nicely with the first paragraph, it felt like coming full circle.

This was some lovely writing, it was a pleasure to read. Great job!


Author's Response: Hi Misty!
I'm so glad that this surpassed your expectations! That's wonderful to hear!
I'm really, really pleased that you liked the way I wrote Draco. I agree that he's a difficult character to write because of that balance between sympathy and arrogance that needs to be struck. I really wanted to focus on showing that he's worked to put his past behind him, but will never completely move on or get away from it, so I'm glad that that came through!
I actually wrote a one-shot about Astoria called Princess that explores her PTSD a little more, so feel free to check that out! Draco is completely in love with his wife, and has been helping her through her nightmares for years, so while he knows how to handle things when she gets upset, Scorpius doesn't. He's never seen his mother like this before, and it scares him. But Draco is able to explain things to him, and help him understand what's happening.
I love writing kids, so I'm so glad that eleven year old Scorp was realistic!
I really enjoyed writing the end of this story, because it was a bit lighter than the rest of the story, but still let me explore Scorpius and Draco's relationship. I think Draco's reaction to Rose definitely has more to do with the fact that if she and Scorp stay together, the Weasleys will end up being his in-laws than the fact that Rose is a half-blood. It's definitely something that he has to process, which is why he doesn't immediately congratulate them and welcome Rose into the family with open arms.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story! Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Misty_ReyKnowledge (to know, or not to know?): to know, or not to know?

7th October 2015:

Woah. I knew this was a horror/dark fic starring Rose going in but I was so curious to see where you would take it. Honestly, this could have been turned into a full-fledged novel on its own but I liked the idea of it being so short yet still brimming with story.

This is a take of Rose that's never occurred to me but I'm so happy that you wrote. She's like a fusion of Hermione, Dumbledore and Voldemort. I didn't think you would take the murder route if only because of this line: She wanted to know everything, but she was aware that there would be few books to read in Azkaban. What a red herring. And she did it only for experimentation which is all the more terrifying. It's like she was fueled by knowledge but at the same time corrupted by it. The dark magic from the books could have seeped into her and somehow compelled her to commit these horrific acts. You seemed to hint at it towards the end. Does the scream signify that madness had finally overtaken mind since it was bare of thoughts?

You've got a wonderfully minimalist approach to storytelling that's really unique. Not many people have the restraint. Awesome job!


Author's Response: Hello again!
The funny thing is, I've wanted to write a novel-length piece about an evil Ravenclaw for a long time, I've just never quite been able to figure out how to go about it - so this story was an expression of that frustration, I had to get it out somehow XD
Haha, it wasn't an intentional red herring! At that point in time she was more careful, more sensible - but like you say, she was corrupted by knowledge, by greed. The scream signifies not so much the madness, but the emptiness (though perhaps the two go hand in hand) - without books to read, new thing to learn, she could feel her mind slowing and hear the quietness - and so the scream was at the quietness,to drown it out (although of course she's not particularly sane at this point).
Thank you again for the lovely reviews! I really appreciate them :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Misty_ReyAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

7th October 2015:

Eventhough I don't think you meant to, this had some surprising darkness to it. There were so many ways to read this fic: humour, darkness, angst, etc. You struck a lot of tones that still managed to balance themselves with each other which is no small feat.

You went beyond making Luna a one-dimensional oddball and gave her some depth which I love because Luna deserves it. It's such an interesting concept, exploring her relationship with the Thestrals. I especially liked the touch of comparing them to her mother. Only Luna could see death as loving and beautiful.

Well, naturally, that was the first thing she did.

I had to point out this line in particular. It gives Luna such a rebellious streak.

Probably the one thing to consider is the ending. It was a bit abrupt.

Other than that, this was such a lovely showcase for Luna and your writing and prose flowed nicely.


Author's Response: Sorry for the late response! Life has been a little crazy lately. But thank you again so much for leaving these reviews!
I feel like some aspect of darkness is almost impossible to escape when writing Luna - there is darkness to her, in her loneliness and her grief, but the wonderful thing about her is that she always turns the darkness into light - so I'm really happy you felt these tones balanced! Like you said, only Luna could see death as loving and beautiful. Looking back over it, the ending is rather abrupt! I'll have to give that a ponder.
Thank you so much for the lovely review! -hugs-

 Report Review

Review #5, by Misty_ReyOut of the Shadows: Out of the Shadows

27th September 2015:
To say I was intrigued was an understatement. Ron/Pansy stories are tough. Personally, I've always felt I could never pull them off eventhough I've attempted a Harry/Pansy. What's tricky is how to even get Ron and Pansy to interact in a believable context while still keeping it interesting. What you achieved here was quite brilliant.

I love murder mysteries with a passion. The summary hinted at it but the first part of Pansy and Ron at the ball didn't seem to indicate that this would be a murder mystery. If anything, it more set the stage for Ron and Pansy to meet. From there, I could get on board with their pairing. Ron especially really shone here. He felt like the Ron I knew from the books and that isn't an easy feat. I thought you had paired Hermione with Harry but I gasped out loud when Ron said she was with Draco. It was so flippant, I was curious as to why Ron and Hermione didn't work out.

Amidst all the chaos, Pansy really served well as a main character that wasn't swept up and swallowed by what was happening around her. I got a better sense of her as the story progressed, she progressed along with it. She was villainous, or appeared to be anyway but you gave her enough humanity that didn't make me outright despise her. She's a broken toy that wanted to be fixed.

They worked as a pairing, weirdly enough. The romance didn't feel rushed or forced and I could believe Pansy could fall for Ron. He seems so strong and sturdy and made her feel safe. You really did well in conveying their initial animosity, slowly change it to reluctant friends and then eventually dissolve into affection.

Eventhough the romance was heavier, I really loved everything about the murder mystery. The victims, the methods, the perpetrator, the motive. It was honestly riveting and edge-of-my-seat suspenseful.

I think what was a little jarring was the ending, them reuniting. I'm glad it happened, don't get me wrong. For the most part, I really liked it. What tripped me slightly was the way Ron was professing his love for Pansy. I never imagined him to be so eloquent and romantic. It wasn't the whole exchange. The beginning and the end felt like stuff he would say, awkward and rough especially when he was recalling all their little moments together. Around the middle of it is where I got confused. But when I went back up and saw this was based on the song, it suddenly made sense. (by the way, I'd recommend listening to Ryan Adams' cover of How You Get The Girl. It fits the mood of this story much better than Taylor Swift's)

The challenge prompts you were given were tough but I really do believe you crafted a full, rich story with an engaging plot and complex characters out of it.


Author's Response: Hey!

Before I was assigned Ron/Pansy, I didn't even know the pairing existed so I definitely had a lot of work to do! You're completely right: the trick is in finding a way to put them in a context that's somehow plausible to the reader.

Furthermore, RON IS SO DIFFICULT TO WRITE. Only because I honestly adore him and didn't want to destroy his character in my portrayal. I fought very hard to make him stay true to the Ron we all know and love albeit one that's matured. I totally get what you mean about the ending. The thing was that I'd included so much Ron/Pansy that I needed to get more of the song in.

Writing this one shot made me understand Pansy much more. She's so often portrayed as that villain or the annoying side character that people forget that there must be something that makes her tick.

Ha ha, I love murder mysteries too, but writing one is terrifying! I'm afraid that I'm not talented enough to properly explore the genre which is why this focused more heavily on the romance.

Ron isn't crazy about the Draco/Hermione pairing mainly because he's had time to adjust to it. He doesn't necessarily like it, but as a friend, he's been forced to accept that he'll have to push it aside for Hermione. As for why he's so flippant, it's just because he wants to be spiteful, really. He never liked Pansy and I imagine it was quite well known how much she adored Draco so he wanted to see her reaction.

Thanks for the wonderful review! It made my day. :)

Plums xo

(P.S. Going to go check out that cover right away)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Misty_ReyIn Darkest Knight: Just Another Tuesday

27th September 2015:
HAPPY INTERNATIONAL BATMAN DAY! *in Christian Bales' throaty voice*

"And here we go."

His thigh was flush with Millie’s. Sorry, this tripped me up a bit, especially as it was the opening line. I don't get it, what does it mean? I feel like there's a typo there somewhere.

With that out of the way, on to the review swap! As a standalone, having never read 'Like a House on Fire', it totally works! I think you showcased Millie and Sirius' unconventional relationship really well. Their banter was a joy to read, they bounced off each other in a way that was cute and real. Their respective personalities came across very clear as well: she the sharp and serious type and he the carefree and comical type. I'd compare them to superheroes but it's late and I'm too sleepy to think, I wouldn't do them justice.

That ending was super-cute though. Sirius jealous over a fictional character, who would have thought it. Don't worry Sirius, many RL boys probably feel the same way about you, ironically enough.

Dialogue is definitely your strong suit. Every quip was soaked in realism and wit. It felt like I was reading actual people having actual conversations, they were that natural. Not that your description skills aren't up to par because they are. You painted the scenes like comic panels and I could imagine them as they unfolded. There are so many to choose from but my favourite has to be the mention of Lily loving Superman over Batman because of course she would! That's Lily to a T.

I only really have two concerns. First, Sirius came off as a bit too mushy in the first section. I'm all for being in love but it got a wee bit distracting. They already had palpable chemistry. Second would be them finding the Man-Bat. This is more a personal preference than anything else but I was expecting more action, like Kyle being confused and out of control causing chaos and flying around wildly while Millie and Sirius have to think of a way to subdue him without harming him. Then I could have epic music playing in my head as they sprang into action like superheroes.

Those references. So many references. All the references are love. They didn't feel forced which could have happened in lesser hands. Here, they were charming, clever and most importantly had a purpose in every context you put them in.

This was an incredibly fitting tribute to the Dark Knight.


(Sorry I didn't include much Batman/DC references in my review. I would but it's late in the night and my brain isn't at its wittiest)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Misty_ReyCrowded: Crowded

27th September 2015:
That was disorienting in the best way possible.

This story was deceptively simple but really boiling with depth beneath the surface. There was real flow to this, nothing felt random, awkward or out of place. There's a connective tissue between Victoire, Teddy and those voices. Like she said, three's a crowd and those voices felt like real characters in their own right. An especially unique touch was using regular, bold and italics to convey the many distinctive voices in this story. It really saves on words and just plainly more powerfully effective. It begs a few questions 'Was this real?' or 'Was it all in Victoire's head?'. You didn't give solid answers and the ambiguity serves this story really well. To tackle mental illness without trivialising or dramatising it is a fine line to walk. It's a heavy topic that I think you did very well in. My guess is this is schizophrenia.

Victoire asking Teddy to change into her was a stroke of genius, albeit heart-wrenching.

I have to applaud you for being experimental. It truly paid off. HPFF could use more unique and daring stories like this.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Sweet and Sour

27th September 2015:
Damn, woah. I wasn't expecting that twist. I'm officially conflicted and that is a real testament to you.

I was excited to finally see Lorcan and ready to burn him at the stake. To some degree, I still do. I even considered that maybe he'd sent Lysander there out of cowardice (sidenote: will we ever meet Lysander?) but his explanation really threw me off and now I don't know what to think. It's still wrong, what he did to Rose but his reasoning for it was... somewhat reasonable? It made sense that he would feel overwhelmed and trapped. I didn't realise they were so young. 19 years old? No wonder he panicked. They were just a couple of stupid kids rushing into marriage. Interesting that he and Dom aren't together. I don't 100% believe him but for now, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. I don't believe that he and Dom didn't fool around behind Rose's back either. Something tells me they might still end up together but I hope not. I'd much rather have him alone in some faraway forest tracking down Nargles or Blibbering Humdingers.

Was he being selfish and self-centered? Yes but so was Rose, truth be told.

My first impression of Rose from the first chapter really came out in full force here. From what Lorcan was saying, she did seem to idealise their relationship and didn't really see it for what it was. They went too fast and ultimately crashed and burned. Maybe if they had taken the time to sit down and have a real heart-to-heart, maybe Lorcan wouldn't have taken such desperate measures. But then we wouldn't have this great story so no regrets ;). More than anything else, Lorcan did the best thing he could have done. He gave Rose closure and now she can move on. Although a small, tiny part of me wanted to see Rose curse him so that he'd never sit down properly (that made me chuckle).

I hope she doesn't move on too fast though. What happened to her was not okay and even if she fakes being okay, it's okay that she's not okay. It isn't something she can just brush aside and be all fine about it. She's still in the recovery stage so it'd be interesting to see her make a few mistakes along the way.

Please show Rose working in Honeydukes soon, I'm oddly excited by it. Like Rose, I myself have an insatiable sweet tooth and am a chocolate fiend.

Don't think I've mentioned this but you have fantastic pacing. Most authors try to cram a lot into one chapter. I am guilty of this too. Yours is very natural, I really like how every chapter usually only has one or two scenes but those scenes always pack so much of a punch without drowning the reader.

I more than enjoyed this drama-filled chapter! Keep the drama coming, in fact!


Author's Response: I am so happy that you enjoyed this chapter. I put off writing it for so long because I really wasn't sure about it.

Lorcan was really hard to write. He's really just a confused kid... but at the same time, what he did to Rose was not okay at all.
And poor Rose... well, she's still a bit naive! There may be an opportunity for him to be cursed in the future though ;)

There will be quite a few ups and downs for her to still go through to fully recover. I hope it comes off naturally. She will be at Honeydukes very soon! I hope it lives up to expectations!

I'm really glad you like the pacing. I often worry that I'm just going through things so quickly!

Oh, and Lysander will eventually pop up, but probably not for a few chapters.

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for all these amazing reviews!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Toast

27th September 2015:
This is honestly one of the best incarnations of Scorpius I've ever read. He's so refreshingly unique. I love how reasonable, logical, blunt and straightforward he is. The small bursts of sarcasm were great too. He seems like the perfect embodiment of a Ravenclaw which makes it even more curious that he's a Slytherin. He's even a bookworm, judging by all the books in his apartment. I could go on and on about him, he might even have replaced Lily as my favourite character in this story.

Rose in Scorpius' apartment was hilarious. The way she reacted to being in a strange room evoked Hermione in my mind for some reason. She is still her own person with her own personality but grabbing a book for a weapon, hilarious! And her realising that said book could really only belong to someone from Hogwarts and feeling all the more dumb for it had shades of Ron.

It was a good call to slowly introduce us to different next-gen characters as the story progressed. Interesting choice to have James be the one to wait at Rose's apartment for her to come back. I assumed it would be Albus or Lily. It seemed random at first but when he said he was also there to collect Lorcan's things, it all made perfect sense. It really shows that you have a good eye for detail and have really given serious thought to how threads in this story are coming together. It added another layer, a new reveal in Rose and Lorcan having actually lived together.

The Rose/Scorpius/James clash was amazing and served as a great showcase for each character. Rose trying to weasel (heh heh) her way out of trouble while Scorpius blurted out the truth with little to no regard of the consequences. Scorpius came out on top in that argument, sorry James. He really schooled James there.

Oh, almost forgot. Rose's mental checklist of what she still had was perfect.

This particular chapter shows real growth in your writing from the previous chapters. You've gotten more comfortable and confident and it really shows in your descriptions and dialogue, both spoken and Rose's inner monologues.

Keep it up!

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you!
I am so glad you liked him! I've had his character planned out for ages, before even writing this story, so I am really so glad that you liked him so much!
He is definitely not a typical Slytherin!

She is quite a bit of a mix between her too parents! Maybe more Ron-like, but there's still some Hermione there!

Thank you! I have so many characters for this story, so I'm just trying to ease them together and hopefully not make it too confusing!
So glad you liked the clash! It was a lot of fun to write!
And yep, Scorpius totally did win that :P

Thank you! This fic is definitely a big learning experience for me and I'm so glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Rum

27th September 2015:
A good lesson for Rose, always follow your instinct. When it tells you to stay home, you stay home. It makes sense for Lily and Cece to pretty much drag her out of her apartment to attend the engagement party. Still, she conducted herself fairly well, aware of the unwanted attention and accepting it as part and parcel of her position and screwed-up situation.

In any war, there are always sides to take. I like the approach you took here, making Victoire and Bill firmly in team Dom even if she was totally in the wrong. Gotta love Ron though. He was a great father but still true to character. Fiercely loyal with a hot temper to boot. Him yelling at the party and at Lorcan and Dom made me cheer. That's exactly how I imagined he would react upon seeing the people who ruined his beloved daughter's life.

I also really enjoyed the insights into Rose's past relationship with Lorcan. I mentioned in one of my other reviews that I liked how you fastforwarded through the Hogwarts romance but I do hope you'll keep showing pieces of their time at Hogwarts together and how their love triangle with Dom developed over time. These snapshots will reinforce what Rose lost and make her journey to recovery even more satisfactory.

Now how did Rose's platinum-haired knight in shining armour end up in a skeevy muggle bar? ;) I was certain you would have him show up at the engagement party and try to chat up Rose so this was an unexpected turn.


Author's Response: She probably should've just stayed at home! Things would've been a lot easier for her then. But, I'm not that nice to her unfortunately :/

I'm glad you like the interesting family dynamic. Dom was in the wrong, but being her sister/father, they want to be as loyal to her as possible.
I'm really glad you thought Ron was true to character! I was so stressed writing about him. I'm a big fan of canon, and so I really wanted the trio and Ginny to seem believable.

I'm honestly not sure if I will have any flashbacks to their past, but I have been thinking about it!

Well, he had to turn up at some point :P

Thank you for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Chocolate

27th September 2015:
Can I just say that I immediately loved Lily from the second she showed up? I thought Rose would be my favourite, she usually is in any next-gen story, but you've breathed new life into Lily. What a spunky sprite! Every piece of dialogue out of her mouth and every action was awesome! The bit with her staying true to her word and blasting down the door was genius. She's like a more fired-up version of Ginny from the books. I really hope we see more of Lily and her foolhardy, crazy ways ;)

Poor Rose. The aftermath of her ordeal has really left her a mess, as it should. You really captured her at rock bottom, I could see the disgusting, smelly apartment and her unbathed state. Honestly, I don't blame her one bit. Who has time to clean and shower when your life has fallen to pieces?

Albus' news was a real kick in the teeth. I thought he was going to say that Alice was pregnant but it's definitely more painful to make them engaged instead. It forces Rose watch their fairytale romance unfold and compare it to hers which ended disastrously. It will make for an interesting contrast to see Rose deal with her best friends' happiness as she tries to reenter the real world.


Author's Response: So glad you loved Lily!
She is so much fun to write! I really love her character. I do see her as being a lot like Ginny, but instead grew up quite privileged, so is a bit more over the top!
She will keep popping up, I like her too much for her to not to!

Haha, that's exactly the right question! Who has time for that stuff? I probably wouldn't after going through what she has!

Yeah... poor Rose. I kind of just kicked her while she was down. But, things have to get worse before they get better, right?

Thank you very much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Chilli

27th September 2015:
So glad you decided to include this chapter! I honestly really wanted to know what happened on Rose's wedding day. It was everything I had hoped for, painful, heart-wrenching, confusion. Basically everything Rose was feeling in that second paragraph: 'My palms grew cold and clammy as I stood there. I had no idea what was happening, no idea what to do. I felt like fainting, throwing up and bursting into tears all at the same time.' Great piece of writing here, just so raw and real.

It was heartbreaking that she kept hoping Lorcan would realise he had made a mistake and would turn around and resume their impending perfect life together. You did a great job building on Rose's state of mind. Her vulnerability was in full display.

Oh man, when Dom showed up, all I could think about was Rose should punch her in the face. And like you read my mind, Rose tackling Dom to the ground was brilliant! Honestly, Albus should have stayed out of the way. Let them fight! :D Even more amazing than that was when you described Dom as an ugly crier. It was a small but important touch, to show she wasn't a perfect beautiful part-veela. It humanised her even if it didn't redeem her.

If I could maybe make one suggestion? Their parting words to each other were great but maybe you could replace the word 'cousin' to 'family'? It's a lot more venomous and powerful, denouncing family. That's just my opinion though.

Also, in the 9th paragraph, I personally feel it isn't necessary to mention that Rose is the daughter of Ron and Hermione, part of the golden trio etc etc, since this was already mentioned in the previous chapter.

These are just small suggestions though and doesn't distract too much from the story. Like I said before, you've done a great job laying down the foundation of what will hopefully turn out to be a great story.


Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm quite glad I decided to include it as well, even though it was quite heart-breaking to write! I'm so happy that you liked it and could sympathize with Rose.

Yep, I couldn't just let Dom get away with it! Though, she probably did deserve more than one hit... but she's still Al's cousin too, and I don't think he'd like seeing his two cousins beating each other up (even if she deserved it!)!

Oooohh, that's a good idea! If I ever edit this chapter again, I will make sure to fix those two things!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Misty_ReyBertie Bott’s Every Flavoured Beans: Introduction

27th September 2015:
Congrats for putting out such a quality fanfic, especially since it's your first one. :)

That beginning was what really caught me by the throat and made me want to keep reading. It's really cool that you took what is an essentially cliched romance and turned it on its head. Everyone roots for the two main lovers in the romance but what about the girl that was essentially a side character, merely a stepping stone, an obstacle for the destined lovers to overcome. It was a gut-punch beginning in the best way possible, being left at the altar while watching the person who was supposed to be the love of your life marry your cousin. It instantly made me want to know how Rose got to that point.

I didn't mind that you zipped through their Hogwarts romance fairly quickly. There were enough details that enabled me to picture Rose and Lorcan's relationship as well as Dom and Lorcan.

I could also get a sense of Rose's character, which I liked. Feisty, stubborn, a little naive and in denial, she pursued Lorcan and struck up a relationship with him eventhough deep down she knew his heart belonged to Dom.

All in all, this was a great introduction. I'm really intrigued to find out where you're taking this story.


Author's Response: Thank you so much for these amazing reviews!
I don't even know how to properly reply!

That was essentially why I wrote the story. I'm a huge fan of rom-coms, but the cynical side of me always thinks of the other characters that get forgotten about so that the main characters get their happy ending. So this was my opportunity to *maybe* (can't give anything away! :P) give the other guys a chance.

I did go through it pretty quickly, so I'm really glad it didn't put you off!

Rose's character is definitely interesting, she tends to have a few mood swings... but I guess, who wouldn't in her situation?

Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Misty_ReySweet Goodnight: Sweet Goodnight

27th September 2015:
Short but incredibly sweet. I was smiling the entire time I was reading this.

You've painted both Audrey and Percy incredibly well, even if this was a glimpse into the beginning of their burgeoning relationship. 'Show, don't tell' is what writers often hear and this really was the best example of it. You showed their characters through their actions and interactions with each other. Your portrayal of Percy was especially interesting. He's a bit suave but confident to the point of almost arrogance. I liked that you stayed true to his character by making Audrey recognising how pompous he was, showing off that he could afford to take her to an expensive restaurant. I would have liked to see Audrey's character expanded a bit more but that's just a personal preference. She's very cute.

Most of all, I was impressed by your use of the alphabet letters at the beginning of each paragraph. What an interesting concept and if this was the challenge, I think you nailed it.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Misty,

Thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing this story.

I find Percy to be a rather interesting character to explore - yes, we know is his pompous, but I'm sure to some degree he has grown up after the war ended.

I also had a lot of fun with working with the alphabet - it was definitely harder than I expected and I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Misty_ReySchrodinger's Cat: Anhedonia

22nd September 2015:
Wow. I mean.. woah, wow, WOAH.

Honestly, when I started reading this, the first part had me a bit lost. Maybe because it was dialogue-driven? I'm not saying this as a critique though. I liked how revealing it was and how it positioned itself as the building blocks for the rest of the story. The first gut punch is revealed in that first part, the state of Harry's relationship with Ginny, Hermione being Minister for Magic (woohoo!). Then the rest of the pieces came together and you did it wonderfully, almost effortlessly. I wasn't expecting such depth.

The best thing about the plot was how it was a slow burn. One that comes to mind is the frog in the pot. Put a frog in a pot full of boiling-hot and it leaps out. Put a frog in lukewarm water then turn on the stove at low heat.

Another analogy is Hermione giving a slight tug on the loose thread of Harry and Ginny's relationship and watch it unravel.

I'm not much of a Harry/Ginny shipper. The only thing I like about it was that it is canon. But reading Harry deliver that blow with such... frankness, I had a strange pain in my chest. Even though I knew it was coming, the building of suspense was intense. After I finished reading this, I was still thinking about it even days later. I was emotionally invested and for that, I applaud you.

This is one of the best portrayals of Harry I've read on this site. He felt like a living, breathing, flawed person but still recognisable from the books. Hermione and Ginny were great too, as was the therapist.

This was such a quiet fic, simmering with subtle angst. Love the use of Schrodinger's Cat, very creative and cleverly used!


P.S: sorry for all the silly analogies.
P.P.S: If I could make one small suggestion, maybe think of fixing the format? The large spacing was a tad distracting but it's a minor thing, more a personal preference than anything else.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Misty_Reyand in the middle of the flood I felt my worth: i. the letters

24th January 2015:
Hi Stephanie *waves*,

I can't tell you how happy I am that you came out of your hiatus. You are a talented writer, don't ever doubt that :).

This was a fantastic challenge to choose. I had half a mind to join myself. I'm a sucker for Murder Mysteries, there really aren't enough around this site. This story really struck me as an Agatha Christie-type mystery which is excellent. There were vibes of 'And then there were none'.

This chapter was all about creating atmosphere and of that you succeeded. The Manor almost seemed like the main character, I adored some of the descriptions you used for it that made it come alive almost.

The dinner guests were random in the best sense possible! I really wasn't expecting the characters you chose to be the ones invited which will really put me on my toes for the coming chapters. I'm usually good at guessing but this time around, I have no clue what the fate of each character is going to be. These little glimpses into each of them were small but tantilising.

I honestly can't wait to see where you take this story. Please do update soon!


Author's Response: aww, hi misty! it's been so long! thank you so much for such a kind and lengthy review, means the world. sadly, my hiatus is still very much real, I just have not had any inspiration, and whenever I tried to write the second chapter, nothing really worked :( I will try though, this site is always close to my heart and I come back every once in a while. I'm waiting for that hit of inspiration so that I can update. thanks again for reviewing, means the world!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Misty_ReyForgettable Me: Forgettable Me

10th January 2014:
It was simple but wonderfully written! Is Marian DeLacy original or part of HP canon? Either way, without revealing a concrete backstory, you still crafted this character that's just brimming with complex emotions that go hand-in-hand with unrequited love. I can't decide if this is a tragic comedy or comedic tragedy but either way, you wrote the emotions in a way that felt (painfully) familiar. More than anything, the character's personality and spirit really shone through with how she perceived and handled her love of Sirius, that she could display such poignant optimism, that like Icarus she flew too close to the sun, got burnt but was glad and grateful to have experienced it at all.

This was a fantastic read. :D

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! What a gorgeous review!

Marian is an OC and not canon at all! hehehe I'm glad she felt real and developed enough to bring that into question, though! I'm just thrilled that this felt so accurate to you based on your own experience - and trust me, I can relate as well - though I'm sorry we've both been through it! *hugs* And what a wonderful comparison! I'm glad that though the subject matter is not particularly happy, Marian's ability to hold onto that silver lining shows through so that it is almost not so sad.

This review is just so very lovely. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Misty_ReyThe Writing Desk: Alohomora

8th November 2013:
It's been awhile since I reviewed something so apologies in advance if my reviewing skills are rusty.

I really enjoy stories that fill in the gaps from JKR's books. Sirius' departure from his family and home was a premise I was especially intrigued by. I thought you set up a strong opening, with him preparing to leave. It was a different route than I expected, him leaving without any real catalyst or huge blow-out but it does fit in with his slightly gypsy personality to sneak out and disappear.

When you got to the writing desk, the suspense picked up and when out sprung that gut-wrenching bloody scene, I was mouthing OMG to myself because it honestly caught me off guard and I like being surprised.

The glimpse of his mother at the end was a unique touch and seemed to hint that she was afraid of the writing desk herself. You gave her some humanity, which was rare and refreshing to read.

If I had one nitpick and this is probably only a personal preference, I would have liked maybe more elaboration, particularly on his feelings of leaving behind his parents and Regulus forever. It came across as detached which certainly is the impression Sirius gave in the books. Also on the nightmare scene, it was a shock to the heart and I'm probably being greedy in wanting more.

Overall though, this was a true one-shot, wonderfully capturing one moment in the HP-universe that was defining for Sirius Black.


Author's Response: Hello, thanks for stopping by :)

I've written Sirius's departure in several stories and it's intriguing to me how different it can feel with each attempt. In this story, I wanted to give the sense that this decision was a long time coming, so much so that it felt as natural to Sirius as breathing. Maybe it was a defense mechanism for helping him deal with how monumental his actions really were.

I'm glad the fear for both Sirius and Walburga was palpable and the gore was a bit of a surprise. That's what I was going for! As for your nitpick, I could definitely expand it in certain places--were it not for the word limit imposed by the challenge :) But I appreciate the tip, definitely!

Thanks for your kind review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Misty_ReyShattered Glass: Shattered Glass

5th December 2012:
This was an absolute treat to read, twisted as it was. That's what made it so good, of course. I've always loved it when writers took the darker characters of the series and go deep to explore their psyche then presenting them in a well-written story with a tightly woven bow on top. I liked that you focused more on her splintered mind rather than go all out psycho. It's restrained but more realistic and believable. The more personal insights into her previous life were nice touches, I especially enjoyed the dynamic of hers and Rodolphus' relationship, brief as it was. I wanted more but that's probably just me being greedy, I'd love to read more of their romance and marriage. You really captured hers and Narcissa's sisterly relationship, a touch sentimental without compromising Bellatrix's unstable state. The necklace story gave a surprisingly human side to her that I did not expect. Actually, the entire scene had a lovely flow to it, I could believe it could come straight from canon! It's a marvel and real testament to your writing that you could cover so much of what essentially drives both characters while still maintaining that great flow. The imagery in the description was top-notch while the window being the focus point was something a therapist would have a field day over and Merlin knows if anyone needs therapy, it's Bellatrix Lestrange.


Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing my story! I think you are definitely right, Bellatrix is straight up cray, and she needs therapy :) It was important for me to show how fractured her mind is though, how she jumps from thought to thought, the way she can be talking completely normally to Cissy and then just go completely insane on her.

To be honest, it didn't occur to me to put more of the Rodolphus relationship in there, because to her it's just another passing thought, you know? It shows how unimportant he is in her life, that her thoughts linger on him for only a moment, recount the past, and then she moves on.

I thank you again, so incredibly much for reviewing my story it really put a huge smile on my face :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Misty_ReyThe Lucky One: Cross Your Fingers

1st December 2012:
Hiya Emma! *waves*

So err I hope you remember me and even if you don't, that's okay too. I had some free time and a sudden need to read some good HPFF fics so I found your page and this little gem was at the top. Naturally, Albus Severus as a hipster intrigued me as heck so I had to give this a read and boy am I glad I did! You were always a good writer, Emma, with one of the best and most natural humour streaks on this site. Solid, honestly good humour is hard to come by and you write it so seamlessly, it's like second nature to you -jealous- xD. Back in the day, if I recall correctly, you excelled at general wackiness which was always a treat but it's nice to see a different side to your writing in this, which veers towards the well-known wry and dry British humour. It's a perfect fit for what you're trying to achieve with this fic and in particular with Albus's character who by the way makes an EXCELLENT hipster.

Aww Albus, what words are there when it comes to him? Can I say adorkable? Coz he kinda is. Or maybe awkwardorable? I felt his pain and general cringe with that barista, the poor dear. The way you've crafted his character and personality is masterful without being try-hard. I really like that he had all these other things going for him (career, style, feelings about his fame etc) where on his own he's already an established character and it's only later that a girl comes into play. At this point, she's kind of an enigma which is great.

Another aspect I felt you handled really well was the weaving of muggle technology into the magical world. I normally hate it when it's done only because it's written so sloppily and lazily. It was a nice touch that you included a little blurb about how some wizard bloke made the discovery that led to internet in the wizarding world, the effort really does make all the difference. Thank goodness you decided to make this post-hogwarts, it makes so much more sense than if they were still at hogwarts. We'd have had a Gossip Girl situation otherwise ;).

If I had one slight criticism, it's that the opening of the chapter was a bit... all over the place? I'm sure it's meant to be a sign of things to come and while it was witty and well-written, it seemed quite jarring compared to the rest of the chapter.

Regardless, I can't wait to see where you take this story. Albus has all the potential in the world and I'm excited to see more of Violet. I've been meaning to catch up with your stories for a while now and I'm glad I started with this one :D.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Misty_ReyButton Up : Introductions, Fifth Year.

26th November 2011:
Hello, Linds dearest!!

So what I really liked about this beginning was the cliches. You grabbed them by the throat and like putty in your hands, moulded them into believable occurences. The mix-up about the tutoring was an especially clever touch ;). The entire chapter had a really good flow to it, there weren't any jarring bits. You mentioned that you really worked hard on the dialogue and it shows, there's a large amount of improvement compared to your earlier work. The relationships were nicely established and well-defined. I'm still getting a feel for the characters but I like the immaturity you infused them all with. James and Annette had a great rapport going, it was believable and realistic. I won't say chemistry because it'd be too soon but I can definitely see tiny sparks between them. The end caught me off guard, which is great, a little unpredictability never hurt anyone. All in all, a wonderful beginning and I'm excited to see where it goes :).

Hugs and hot chocolate,

Author's Response: MISTY!!!

Lo, lo, lo siento for being so late with a response. Christmas time came and it just rushed on by.

D'awww, thank you for your lovely and encouraging comments. I was hoping to jar those cliches and turn them into more realistic occurances. Contrary to the rom-com world, my most successful relationships have been friendships that turned into more. I hope the chemistry grows as you come around to read some more ;)/

I love you.

Hugs, hot cocoa, and Remus Lupin,

 Report Review

Review #22, by Misty_ReyThe Sisterhood of Pine: Truth Time

8th September 2011:
Linds!! So so SO sorry for my MIA! I read this chapter as soon as it got published but never got around to reviewing until now. I could blame the usual suspects (University) but I'll spare you the excuses and get right down to it.

THE TWIST!! Oh man, I did not see that coming about Charles. Sneaky, Linds, real sneaky. I mean, woah. Of all the things... It could have been that he's getting married or has a secret love child or something but no, you just had to give him an incurable disease. All I can say is... BRILLIANT! Wow wow wow. I think I literally gasped aloud when I came to the big reveal. I've never read it in any other fic so I applaud you for tackling such a controversial subject and am excited and anxious to see what else you do with it.

Not that that pales everything else in comparison. On the contrary, the other big reveal was also nicely executed, namely the big blowout between Lily and Bree. When you first told me about it, I honestly didn't quite understand why Lily would get so upset over it. Then something quite similar happened to me and then I got it. I do like the conflict between them and am quite curious to see how it affects the rest of the group in terms of friendship dynamics. Who will be loyal to who? What alliances will be formed? that kind of thing. I think it would be really interesting to explore that further.

I love the layers of complexity you're giving this story and the sense of realism and imperfections of life that you managed to capture. There's something very adult about it that makes it stand out. I eagerly await the next chapter, do update soon!


Author's Response: MISTY!

I can't yell at you because I'm slowly becoming more and more MIA due to two jobs, University, a love life (:D), and trying to get ahead for some potential study abroad within the next two semesters!! All very much exciting!

Anyway, my story...hahaha. I have not updated this bad boy in a while because I'm having issues translating some of the scenes that I need to include in the next chapter. I'm really glad you like the twist; Charles is going to be a BIG character for the next couple of chapters but that's all I can say ;). Its a complicated issue.

Lily and Bree is a dynamic that is based on real life unfortunately but it won't work out (or rather not work out at all) like it has in real life with some of my friends. It'll be a definitely interesting dynamic in how the girls interact; with so many things going on, it becomes a question of how important the group is as a whole versus individual friendships. I'm really excited about it. Thanks Mist. Love and miss you as always!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Misty_ReySpace Cadet: Charlie Weasley: Space Cadet

7th September 2011:
This was an absolutely brilliant one-shot! I haven't reviewed anything in awhile so pardon if my reviewing skills are rusty.

So anyway, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this one-shot. The title and summary intriuged me while the banner is beautifully done, all of which compelled me to read. And once I read, I couldn't stop. Nowadays, I find it very hard to find clever one-shots with a creative plot idea that isn't romantically-inclined. So when I was preparing to read this, I was half-expecting a quirky romantic comedy. What a relief it was to find a lovely, believable portrayl of the Weasley kids interacting with each other in such a delightful setting (yes, I can't believe I called Bill's flat delightful either xD). I thought it was a wise choice to devote attention to the selected four Weasleys instead of dividing between all seven siblings, which would have disrupted the focus and flow of the story. What really did it for me though was Bill and Charlie's interaction, the smarmy british banter between them. I loved it!

"I don't see what you're so ashamed of, most of the family like Ni- OW!"

If you don't mind me asking, who was the 'Ni' that Bill was going to mention before Charlie hit him? I'm quite curious to know.

Absolutely smashing story, it was my pleasure to read and review it. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Misty_ReyThe Sisterhood of Pine: Beginning it all

12th May 2011:

Mucho apologies for the über-late reply. But I knew I had to rush over here once I saw the absolutely lovely review you left for me. =D

So I'm remembering back to when I first read this, my favourite part had to be the end, the big reveal about Cass and Charles. You sneaky girl, I like how little you actually revealed. It somehow made it all the more dramatic and perfectly fits why Cass is the way she is. I'd probably be the same if it had happened to me. Not depressed but totally bitter and super pissed off. It made me like her even more :).

Argh, Albus is so sweet he's giving me a toothache xD. To be honest, I'm a bit on the fence with your characterization of him. On one hand, he's so mushy and loving and whatnot, but on the other hand, it seems like he's rushing the relationship with Bree when it seems like she isn't really all that ready. Moving in together, telling Lily.. He strikes me as being the pushy type, in that he likes Bree so much, he wants to rush it as fast as possible. That may or may not be what you're going for, I'm not quite sure. Don't get me wrong, I'm not criticizing it. It's an interesting direction to take and I look forward to seeing how goes his relationship with Bree.

Ahh, you know my thoughts on Kaelyn/Nicholas ;). So sweet/cute! I hope it works out though I wouldn't complain if there were a few bumps on the road. Every relationships need them in order to get stronger. But aww, I wanted to give her a hug when she wondered out loud to Lily whether she wasn't sure she was happy or not. Reading the I.G.L.O.O acronym still makes me smile =).

I think this chapter nicely builds on the previous chapter's foundation by setting up some potential future storylines. Thanks for another shout-out, very blush-inducing. I shall get to the next chapter soon!

Much love,

Author's Response: Misty!

AGH, well thank you Mist!! It was a lovely story to read. And I love to just leave you reviews. We always have such a good time talking through them.

I'm so glad that you like the subtle nature I reveal Cass. She in my mind is one of the most realistic characters I've ever written. I really like her and enjoy writing about her. She reaches for a vulnerability and expresses it in ways that I do as well.

Albus is meant to be in that honeymoon period of the relationship; he's so caught up in how good it can be that he fails to realize certain truths about the whole relationshp and how Bree feels about the entire thing. It is an interesting take I imagine.

I do love Kaelyn/Nicholas and I know that you will continue to enjoy them because I know I'm enjoying writing about it.

I LOVE YOU MISTY!! Very, very much.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Misty_ReyLook at Me: Let's Go Back to Yesterday

24th April 2011:
Woah, that was... incredibly powerful.

You're right, depiction of mental illness like this is very sensitive and very hard to write without going over-the-top unrealistic. But the writing style you employed here, the repetition of certain words and phrases, was very well executed and gave it a certain edge. Once I started reading, I couldn't stop. I was completely drawn in. The first major part of the story, when Fred is full-blown worked-up, it sent chills down my spine but at the same time, I really sympathized with him and his awful situation.

I actually thought it was a smart move to not go into too much detail of how Fred's condition came to be or what triggered it. It leaves more room for speculation and gives it a little aura of mystery, though the little tidbits regarding poisoning and such were good flourishes. I also really liked the little mind games, how it was a bit confusing at first when Fred was talking about the betrayal, then the threads of the story slowly come together to form a complete picture of the background of the story. It was an interesting twist to the 'best friend in love' situation and just made everything all the more heartbreaking.

For some reason, when you revealed the girl's name at the end, I got a bit frightened, it sounded so ominous even though everything was so optimistic before.

Brilliant job on this, a profoundly disturbing but throughly entralling one-shot. You should definitely be proud of this ;). 10/10.


Author's Response: Aw, wow, I loved this review so much (: It really did brighten up my whole day and it was all really guhs-worthy and ego-filling even though it's supposed to be deflating (':

I think I really liked this because it was different for me and I had a lot of fun writing it as well, I felt like I could connect in some way even though I've never been in Fred's position. I did a lot - and I mean, a lot - of research as well to make it believable and to keep it to a sort of sound level. I'm glad that you thought that I did it well because it was a whole new experience and I tried really, really hard with it too :)

He really does have a very tough situation in his hands with his illness and with the people around him as well. Having to deal with both at the same time when his illness is at its very peak really is trying. I think, in a way, this is relatable because everyone goes through that even if it's not as extreme or not the same situation. Still the same raw emotions.

In my mind I know what the illness is, but I didn't actually think it necessary to put in. For me, it didn't seem important. That and I couldn't picture Fred wanting to go into specifics about it anyway.

I'm glad you did! I tried to make it so that Fred wasn't telling the story, but rather this was his thoughts and his mind and how, sort of, twisted its become because of all the events that have taken place.

I agree, I actually didn't have a name - I was purely in Fred's perspective and always was careful to say 'her' or 'she'. Always veering off from that bit.
Nemesis was, in my opinion, a brilliant name because the original word meant 'distributor of fortune' which meant neither good or bad and that sort of fit in with her character. But the more common meaning would be an enemy - which she most definitely was for the better part of a year in Fred's life. Not so much now, but she still betrayed him and he still feels that even though he wants the best for her.

Anyway - I think I'm going too much into this now (':

I absolutely adored this review and I'm so glad that you liked it as well!

Thank you so, so, so much :D xxx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>