Reading Reviews From Member: RupertsPheonix
  
730 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Betrothed: Rose POV

28th March 2015:
Baby Malfoy - how sweet. :) I enjoyed Scorpius' reaction and over-enthusiastic questions at the first appiontment at St. Mungo's!

YES! I knew that Scorpius could be the father in the prophecy! I feel like a Seer myself!

Poor Scorpius... He's taking this really hard. He's not evil though, just his family tree. Hopefully Rose and Al and the gang can help him understand that.

Cliffhanger at the end there. Whoa. Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #2, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Bound by Blood: Rose and Scorpius POV

27th March 2015:
The Rose and Hermione heart-to-heart was beautiful. I think they both needed it. It's also interesting to see the parallels you're drawing between the two couples - Ronmione and Scorose.

Prophecy?! Whoa, there's a plot twist I was certainly not expecting. And, oh my d*mn, another one with the prophecy not being about her, but about her future baby! Wow. (Also, props to the reaction James has "the f**k, you say" - there's always that one undiginfied but perfectly accurate reply in the room).

Okay, I KNEW that L'erge Stannous was too close to the last name Lestrange. Now I see what you did there - very clever!

Wait, why aren't they considering that it could be Scorpius as the father? I mean, it could be, right? The Malfoys were in the inner circle...? Or does it have to specifically be the child of a death eater, not the child of a child of a death eater?

Proposal - aw. How sweet!

Wait, proposal AND pregnancy?! The pass out was scary, but I'm so glad Sels was there, and she kept Al busy, too! What a good friend!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #3, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Beloved: Scorpius POV

27th March 2015:
So glad that Rose finally opened up to Scorpius and they moved forward in their relationship!

Whoa, that action scene in the pub was itntense. Loved the moment afterwards with Ginny, Rose, and Hermione!

I love Sassy!Rose. There's that sarcasm again - "James and Fred aren't aurors." LOL. So glad that Scorpius recognizes this quality and appreciates it, too.

Oh, no, Ron's outbursts... Yikes. When Harry said "administrative action" I literally felt my eyes grow wide. But, oh, be still my heart, when you went into a third person point of view about Ron. His thoughts about post-Bellatrix's torture and how he cared for Hermione...And how that mirrors how Scorpius took care of Rose after the break in at the flat... Oh, Lawd, the feels.

The moment between Ron and Scorp in the forest. Yes. Perfect.

Onto another few chapters,
Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #4, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Befuddled: Rose AND Scorpius POV

27th March 2015:
Chapter 6 & 7: I love how Scorpius handled the duel between father and son, and I really enjoyed seeing the interaction between the dark-headed Potters and Scorpius. Oh, and Rose is cute - I also loved reading a bit about her relationship with Harry.

Chapter 8-10: Oh, wow! That action scene moved quickly, and it was intense! Poor Scorpius and Al, not knowing how to deal. I'm really hoping that Scorpius finds a way to show or tell Rose that this doesn't scare him off, so to speak. Poor Uncle Harry - what a good bloke, but what a hard thing to hear about, especially after the fact. You do a good job of writing Harry's character while highlighting his intense need to save people and be in control and at the same time, fiercly loving his family and friends.

Chapter 11: Yikes - what an intense moment with Scorpius in his towel. Every love story needs a good shirtless boy moment. ;) I loved that Rose literally couldn't form words - hahah!
Evo lym fo srac seh tesre ver = reverse the scars of my love. Right? Cool trick. :)

Onto another chapter! :)
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #5, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Bereft: Scorpius POV

27th March 2015:
Loved reading these last two chapters from Scorpius' point of view. I feel like you just gave us a little treasure into better understanding him and why Rose referred to him previously as "often angry."

Rose is/was such a good friend. How sweet to stay with him and always know instinctively when he needed her. Seems like you're writing her with a mix of attributes from both her parents - compassion of Hermione and loyalty of Ron with the determination of them both.

Rose's accusation to Ron - "accuse me of doing something untoward with the toilet" - is hilarious. Another flash of sarcasm in the midst of a real-life difficulty.

And, again, onto the next few chapters!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #6, by RupertsPheonixActions Speak Louder than Words: Bent: Rose POV

27th March 2015:
Okay,so I probably won't comment on every single chapter as I read all 31 posted chapters, but I wanted to go ahead and say some stuff after reading these first two postings.

First off, wow. So I have a day off work and wanted to find some good Scorp/Rose to read. I didn't realize I was stumbling into such strong writing and unique characterization - I am so pleasantly surprised! I love that I can already, even after only 2 chapters, feel a dynamic building between this friend group. I feel like I can already identify with this Scorpius and this Rose.

Even though Rose is obviously suffering some type of PTSD and/or emotional crud (for lack of a more eloquent term there), she is still a very intriguing and dynamic character. I love her mental reply to her friends/family bursting into Scorpius' room - "call it Christmas" - it's exactly how I (and lots of others) think in situations, finding the funny irony to cope with what's actually going on - that is so relatable.

I also really enjoy that you're teasing us a little with Rose's past. If I'm not mistaken, the second to last line of this chapter is the first time you even use the word "kidnap." This little-by-little revelation is definitely keeping me hooked.

I can't wait to read more and learn more about these fascinating characters! Onto chapter three!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #7, by RupertsPheonix19 years: Year 6: The Test Result

27th March 2015:
A baby! Oh, Lawd, do I have baby fever right now, and this is NOT helping! Hahah, just kidding. Maybe I can live vicariously through Harry and Ginny. :)

This was great. At points, it was a little cheesy for Ginny's typical character, but emotions are heightened at times like these, so it didn't seem unnatural, just different. I think you did it justice.

And oh wow! Harry's response was perfect. :) The boy who never felt like he had a traditional family will get one - what a sweet picture. His reaction is literally spot on.

Well done! Waiting eagerly for more!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #8, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Chicken and Waffles

24th March 2015:
Oh, how I adore this story!

Fred is so sweet, even in the aftermath of his post-epiphany freak out. What a good dad-to-be going to a totally pink and girl-laden baby shower!

Ryan is so in love but just can't see it! I love how she remembers all of that stuff and slightly started to get over herself to apologize to Fred. :) I also love how freaked out she is when she gets to the Burrow. Priceless!

Sweet little interaction with Rox too. :) Nice touch there!

Wow, Ollie and James and their baby scare. Yikes. I think that was a good addition - makes Ollie a little more relatable and makes Fred a little more aware that she's just human, even if she is attached to James more often than not.

Another great chapter! :) Thanks for posting, and I look forward to Chapter 36!
-Kate/RP

 Report Review

Review #9, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Rebound

5th March 2015:
Oh wow. I kinda wish the drunken Fred bits were longer and more fleshed out - I bet there's probably some frustration even with James, who gets the girl he loves despite Parise and despite gossip and all that jazz. Just a thought. :)

I really love Ryan. She is such a good character, and I can't wait to read more Fred/Ryan interactions. I just love her sass and wit and her backstory.

Alessandra. ugh that girl. Good job writing her though, because I totally do bit want her and Fred together. I think that means you accomplished your goal lol.

Another solid chapter! Looking forward to more!

--kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #10, by RupertsPheonix19 years: Year 6: Romania

5th March 2015:
Another strong chapter! I love that you used this opportunity to explain hey Charlie doesn't have the married-with-kids ending that the other Weasleys have. Creative and neat to think of him trusting Ron with that first!

Eagerly awaiting your next update!

--Kate/rp

Author's Response: I am so happy that you liked the chapter! And especially the Charlie bit which was my favourite thing to write in this chapter but a little scary as well, because I needed to do it justice! I feel that with those big things it's sometimes easier not to tell the person you're closest to (whom I imagined would be Bill) which is why I chose Ron. I'm very glad you liked it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by RupertsPheonixOur Little Secret: Epilogue

24th February 2015:
I have really enjoyed reading this story this afternoon!

I love Scorpius - all the little nuances that make him a solid and dynamic character. I love his dimple, his somewhat subtle wit, and his response to his grandfather's pureblood mania.

I also adore Rose - not perfect, but hardworking, funny, and very Weasley-esque, even if her cousins tease that she's all Granger. :)

You also do a good job with adult!Ron and adult!Hermione. They're a more mature version of the characters we've come to know and love via canon. That's a hard feat to accomplish - I feel like most FF writers can get one, and they struggle a bit to connect with the other, but I think you embraced and embellished on the characters very well. Kudos!

Great story, really enjoyed it! 10/10!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #12, by RupertsPheonixA Minor Setback: Chapter the Seventh

24th February 2015:
I love Albus/OC stories. :)

Interesting cliffhanger you left us with here. I'm anxious to see the reaction, and will her reaction include spilling the beans about her pregnancy??

Looking forward to an update,
Kate/rp

Author's Response: I was so surprised to get this review on the 24th! Thank you so much for leaving this on the story!

I've actually got the first little bit of chapter 8 written out for like two years now but I think I'm going to be rewriting it and changing Seraphina's reaction to this, sadly, it does not include her spilling the beans to Albus (although I honestly promise that that is going to be coming up soon)!

Again, thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by RupertsPheonixWhen It Matters: When It Matters

24th February 2015:
What a sweet story! As I'm trapped in my apartment on a snowy, icy day, this was a perfect read! Great characterization, love the little snippet we see of Al, and love the imagery of Rose's bright hair in the bright white snow. :) Well done!
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Awww.. Thank you for the sweet review. I'm glad you enjoyed reading this while trapped at home on a snowy day. Hope you had hot chocolate at least! :)

Thanks again. This review is love. :D

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #14, by RupertsPheonixEvolution: The Prince's Path

21st February 2015:
Thanks for another great chapter! I enjoy your writing style quite a bit, and I'm anxious to see how everything pans out with Lily and James' new assignment with their "dissenting prefects." Great update, looking forward to another!
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind review and for sticking with the story! I'm hoping to wrap up another chapter tonight, but at the very latest by next weekend so stay tuned!

 Report Review

Review #15, by RupertsPheonixBeing a Falmouth Falcon: Pride and Some More Pride

20th February 2015:
Hey, there! So I checked out your author's page after I read the first story in this sequence and decided to give this sequel a go - glad I did!

Gigi is feisty as ever! I wish that some of the team would take up for her - I realize it won't be James right away, as Cammie is the plot device that's going to pull them apart, at least momentarily, but I do wish Adam and maybe the beaters would take up for Gigi, you know, a little old-school team solidarity.

Cammie seems a little one-dimensional to me, but I think that's okay here, because we don't need to see her as both good and bad - the press will do that. Interesting on how that works with a fic so centered around sports and media!

Looking forward to an update,
Kate/RP

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad you found the sequel!! Cold weather leads to great decisions, I tell ya. Camila is definitely my pot stir-er. She will turn into more than that... Cammie is abit one dimensional, but she will become a little more dynamic as time goes on, trust me.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #16, by RupertsPheonixA Woman's Guide to Professional Quidditch: The Championship

20th February 2015:
Hi, there! This was a very entertaining story. I work at a university and we've been out all week due to ice, so I've been drinking diet coke and reading fanfics - I'm glad I stumbled across this one!

I really liked James. I know I was supposed to be all about Gigi, but I think James ended up being the most dynamic, relatable character. Have you considered doing a whole fic from his POV? I think you'd be great at writing it!

I think Gigi's transformation happened later in the story, which worked well for this plot.

Overall, fun story, well-written qudditch matches, nicely developed male lead, and entertaining female lead. Great work! Thanks for a good read on a snowy day!

--Kate/rp

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! AND YES TO ICE! My state has the ice/cold problem with shutting down schools now too! Yay for cold weather (only in this situation, no other ones).

I have actually considered a story from James' POV, but I feel like I would not give him justice.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #17, by RupertsPheonix19 years: Year 6: Fred

19th February 2015:
So I work at a university, and we've had terrible weather this week -- I just took this whole snow day to read your fanfiction. What a great story! I can see, over these 51 chapters, how you've grown as a writer and how you've established a continuation of these beloved characters. Excellent work!

The way you write about Harry and Teddy interacting is literally one of the most beautiful things I've ever read. It's perfect; exactly what I'd imagine Tonks and Remus wanting for their son.

I love how you handled Mrs. Granger's death. I cried over and over again as I read about Hermione learning of the cancer, then dealing with it, then getting married with her sick mother there, and then, the death scene. God, that death scene rattled me to my core and brought back all of my uncertainties when my Gram died, but also - it provided me a great opportunity for reflection, so thank you. You wrote with raw emotion, which was further reflected with Hermione's outburst to Harry at the Hogwarts Quidditch pitch - well handled.

I also deeply appreciate how you write George. I've been working on some George-centered stuff myself, but I don't feel like I can capture him and the balance between tragedy and every day joys as well as you can.

Okay, so is Ginny preggers with our little James the second? Just my guess!

Looking forward to the next chapter,
Kate/RP

Author's Response: Wow, I can't believe you read it all in one day, that's amazing. And I'm so, so happy to hear that you enjoyed it too. Thank you so much for all of those kind words.

I'm so happy you like my take on Harry and Teddy's relationship. For me, it's SO important, especially to Harry who knows what it's like growing up without that love.

Mrs Granger's death was one of the more difficult subjects. I know that a lot of people have gone through similar things (I lost my Granddad to cancer) and that's why it's really scary to write about. And that's why your words truly mean SO much to me. I can't thank you enough, it nearly made me tear up actually. Thank you so, so, so much.

I'm also thrilled to hear you like George in this story! I definitely enjoy writing him so it's just great to hear that you like reading it too.

Interesting guess about Ginny. I don't think she's in the baby stage just yet, though.

Honestly, this review has made me so happy, and I don't think I can thank you enough for it. Just know that it means so much to me that you read the story and took the time to write this. I appreciate it so much xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Delusions of Grandeur

10th February 2015:
Oh, bless our sweet little Fred. He's hopeless.

I LOVE Ryan, even if she is a little harsh and tries to scare people off - she really is a well-rounded character overall. I can't wait to get to the stage of contentment between her and Freddo. :)

Waiting in anticipation for the next chapter!!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #19, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Better Off

28th December 2014:
Another great chapter. I am shipping FRYAN so hard every time I read this fic. Though I'm a little tired of Ollie--used to think she was cute, but juxtaposed with Ryan, she seems so immature (which I'm figuring is intentional). Anywho, great job with this story, and I can't wait to read more!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #20, by RupertsPheonixThe New Pride of Portree: Epilogue

2nd November 2014:
Aaaah! What a perfect close to a great fic! I have so enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by RupertsPheonixHormones: The Court Case

2nd November 2014:
Oh my goodness. Ryan is a total genius! Fred should give her ice cream for life. Thanks for a great chapter! Love this fic!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #22, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Trust

30th September 2014:
Oh mah gah. This was a gut-wrenching chapter if there's ever been one!

I love that Ryan showed up, even if Fred's stupid friends didn't even send an owl. (What total douche-nuggets. Bet they were busy celebrating the win with dumb Parise. Ugh that guy.)

Also, good on Rox for sporting scarlet and gold. And for immediately getting Freddo.

Poor Fred. And poor George.

Looking forward to the next chapter!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #23, by RupertsPheonixHormones: The Nursery

6th September 2014:
Ah cliff hanger! You're posting the next chapter as I write this, right? ;)

This was a great chapter. I loved the scenes between Ryan & Fred, especially how Cosy they were in Fred's room and their moment in the nursery. :)

Looking forward to the next chap!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #24, by RupertsPheonixThe New Pride of Portree: An Off Day

30th August 2014:
I love Molly & Fitz on his balcony just chatting and drinking a brew. Its so perfectly them.:)

I hope that Meghan doesn't make them stay apart too long. I know Ballycastle would be good, but I do love them working together too.

Anyways great chapter! Looking forward to another! -RP/Kate

 Report Review

Review #25, by RupertsPheonixEnemies with Benefits : The Aftermath

30th August 2014:
I really enjoy this story. I look forward to seeing a further, more in-depth reaction between Fred and Dessie. I love them both! I also really like James. :) Good work!,looking forward to your next chapter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>