Reading Reviews From Member: RupertsPheonix
  
746 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RupertsPheonixTraitorous Hearts: An Unofficial Assistance

26th August 2016:
Well I have officially read all 19 currently published chapters, and I must say... This is one of the best fanfictions I have ever read.

Your plot is fluid, and there's a sense of slow burn that makes me keep going onward to the next chapter. You have a strong sense of place, and your descriptions are incredible. The details, even the smallest ones, are purposeful and poetic.

If you aren't writing your own short stories or novels, you should be. Your writing is incredible. I would be an avid reader and fan.

Keep up the fantastic work. I look forward to reading more soon.

Thanks,
Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hi Kate!

First off, just...wow. Thank you SO MUCH! Like, seriously, this makes me want to cry. I'd taken a bit of an accidental hiatus, just do to RL situations, but I posted my first new chapter in a while today and I wanted to make sure I dropped by here to thank you for this review. I appreciate it so much, and it really means a lot to me.

Thanks again!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #2, by RupertsPheonixUnder the Radar: The Date

23rd May 2016:
This is fantastic. I love Teddy, and I love but am so mad at Victoire right now. I also love the love triangle (rectangle? hexagon?) you've written. It's got so many facets and it's more than just entertaining - it's intriguing. Can't wait for another chapter! -Kate/RP

 Report Review

Review #3, by RupertsPheonixThe Rejects: v.

31st December 2015:
Well, I sort of just stumbled across this fic, but I'm quite glad I did. Really entertaining thus far. :)

Looking forward to more!
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #4, by RupertsPheonixMisery: After detention

31st December 2015:
This is, by far, one of the best Hannah/Neville war one-shots I've read. Great characterization, great (although somewhat terrifying and sad) descriptions. Excellent writing overall.

10/10, well done!
--Kate/RP

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by RupertsPheonixMiddle Clouds: A Matter of Tactics

29th December 2015:
So I've just read all 7 posted chapters, and I really enjoy this story already! I can't wait to read some more. :) There were literally points when I was laughing aloud - super entertaining!

Rose and Scorpius have some serious relationship developing to do - I'm anxious to see their polite chatter develop further into friendship and beyond. I also really like Jem and Al - looking forward to deeper character development for both of them, and to find out what the heck Al and Wilson have been running off to do.

Eagerly awaiting a post!
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hello Kate! I'm so sorry for not replying to this lovely surprise review sooner, I've been on a hiatus of sorts. But anyway, I'm really really happy to hear that you like the story, and the characters so far. Also, it made you laugh out loud! That's a huge compliment, thank you so much! I'm a bit slow with updating this fic, but I hope you'll stay around for the rest.

Thank you again, dear.
Andy


 Report Review

Review #6, by RupertsPheonixHormones: The Quidditch Final

29th December 2015:
Oh, gosh. This was a great chapter - a fantastic match to read about, and a really sweet moment between F & R. :)

I am eagerly waiting for (but also dreading) the coming last chapter... I love these characters so much, and your whole story is so entertaining - I want to see the closure but don't want it to end!!

Happy writing,
Kate/RP

 Report Review

Review #7, by RupertsPheonixBeing a Falmouth Falcon: Catching Adam Freeman

8th October 2015:
I'm still reading! Don't apologize - real life gets in the way and definitely takes priority over fiction. (At least, that's what I tell myself, so you should take comfort in it, too.)

I'm interested in seeing Jenny's eventual bounce back from seeing Camilla all over her dude too. That girl is trouble. Can't wait for her to get a dose of reality later in this fic - I'm sure it's coming, right?

Looking forward to a James/Gigi chat, too.

--Kate/rp

Author's Response: I'm SO GLAD TO HEAR YOU ARE STILL READING!!

Jenny's so aggressive that I'm not even sure how I'm going to have her react to Camila all over Adam. Her personality is actually based almost completely off of my own sister...so maybe I should ask her how she'd react to a certain situation... hmm...

Time to call my sister.

xoxo.


 Report Review

Review #8, by RupertsPheonixHormones: A Better Brother than Roxanne

6th September 2015:
Poor James... Right as the air clears for Fred, it gets tough for James. But good for him in standing up for himself. Ollie has been crazy for chapters (weeks?). Love that Fred is the one dishing out the advice!! Haha! Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #9, by RupertsPheonixLethargic: I'm Not Waiting

24th August 2015:
I just started reading your story today, and I thoroughly enjoy it. Carrie is a well thought-out character with an interesting backstory, and the two male love interests are just as interesting. The juxtaposition of Brett, the attractive boy with a similar upbringing, and James, the attractive bloke with a very different upbringing and family dynamic, is what really makes the story unfold for me. I think it's this juxtaposition that propels your plot and keeps the characters and story interesting.

As for your reviewer questions...

1. Who is more romantic Brett or James? Brett has started acting more conventionally romantic, but James is much more authentic in his actions and reactions, which I find way more appealing in a person. Brett is making all the right moves at this point in the story, just embracing her and holding her in her secret room, being worried about Julien's intentions, but I can't forget how harsh he was at points in the story, too, and the way he defends Snell's actions against Lily; Brett's romantic antics don't make up for other character traits. James, though, is genuine even in times or worry or frustration. I really believe that romance fades, but authenticity is a trait that a person embodies for a lifetime.

2. Who do you want Carrie to end up with? James, times a hundred.

3.Do you think itís fair to judge everyone based on their house? Nope. I think that ambition and cunning aren't negative traits unless you use them negatively, just like courage and bravery and intellect and loyalty and compassion.

4. What is your Hogwarts house? I'm not sure. It depends on the day, but I really aspire to have the best traits of each house, and that in itself might make me a Hufflepuff or a Ravenclaw, either because I want to see the best of everyone and see those traits in a positive light or because I think I'm intelligent enough to know that each house represents traits and values that are of worth in a person.

Love this story, and I can't wait wait to read more!
-Kate/RP

Author's Response: I'm glad that you decided to give this story a chance! I'm glad that you like the character dynamics of the story so far.

Thank you for answering all of my questions. I know sometimes people find them annoying, but they really help me get feedback and know how my writing is going.

I'm sorry that it took so long for me to update. The next chapter is out and thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Prepared

10th August 2015:
Aah!! The long awaited moment at last -- and it was so perfect!!

Fred Weasley II is the sweetest, best character. I literally compare every other Fred II fanfic to this one because you have such great, likeable characterization.

Love love love this chapter!
--kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #11, by RupertsPheonixEnemies with Benefits : The Morning After

10th August 2015:
I still love this story! They are too cute together, and I'm actually eager for the reveal to Rox. Oh, and to read more about the apparent James-Syd-AL triangle, too.


Waiting eagerly for an update,
kate/rp

Author's Response: Thank you for sticking with the story and taking the time to review! I'm looking forward to Roxy finding out as well :) xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by RupertsPheonixOne Summer: Chapter Eight: Testimony

27th July 2015:
Wow. I read all 8 posted chapters of this last night and am just now getting a chance to review.

This is crazy good. You do a great job of capturing the personas that we so adore in each of the characters! I love that Harry is so similar to JKR's but is dealing with this newfound freedom (which is ironically quite binding for him) that he never had to cope with in the books; it's a refreshing look at a beloved character, and it's spot on characterization. :)

Your Ron is also quite on point. His loyalty is unwavering but he's as awkwardly unsure of himself as ever.

I love Ginny, Hermione, Mrs. Weasley, and Percy, too. Looking forward to further development of each of them as well! And I can't wait to see the extension of Ginny's part of this story, as well as George and Ron's endeavors in the shop.

Great work! Looking forward to an udpate!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #13, by RupertsPheonixWhy I should have been a Cat : Why Roxanne is a shirtless Goddess.

25th July 2015:
This is so... interesting. I think that's the best possible word for it.

I'm in love with the quirkiness of your cast here, but I'm also kind of wondering what they're each hiding that makes them depend on goofy, aloof behavior when together. I feel like I'm waiting to get to know their backstories to understand each of them better -- but specifically Ana and James. And Basil - he's my favorite of her friends.

I really love the banter-style dialogue, and I look forward to some more James/Ana moments. :)

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #14, by RupertsPheonixHormones: A Worthy Name

10th July 2015:
Oh, good God. Here I sit laughing and crying and smiling like a goon.

Just. So. Friggin. Sweet.

I also love awkward!Scorpius in the sitting room. LOL!

101/10 on this chapter from me. :)
--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #15, by RupertsPheonixChasing Madness: Fun Night.

5th July 2015:
Hahahah I love how awkward but cute they're being about it all! It's like a we-know-its-good-but-we-arent-sure-how-to-act attitude. :) Super fun to read!

Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Oh good! Thank you so much x

 Report Review

Review #16, by RupertsPheonixNo Strings Attached: Feisty

29th June 2015:
So I stumbled across this story, and I am so glad I did. You can just tell that even though Charlotte currently detests James and the Quidditch bros, they're going to grow on her. :) Eagerly awaiting more! --Kate/RP

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you stumbled across it too. Haha well we'll see how much James and Co. grow on her because they're certainly an... interesting group. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by RupertsPheonixEvolution: Open Season

14th June 2015:
Aah! I am left hanging!!I love these l/j interactions and definitely can't wait for more. :) --kate/rp

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying them. Sorry it's taken so long, I've just been swamped with work. Fortunately I've got some time off coming up soon so I'm hoping to finish a few chapters in that time to make up for the slow updates so far this year. We'll see what happens!

Thanks for reading & reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by RupertsPheonixChasing Madness: The Birds and the Bees

9th June 2015:
Oh my god, I love this story. I think that their conversations sound like ones that my husband and I have - LOL!

This was a good chapter - reintroduced us to the rest of the cast and then for the first time to Wendy - but it's really just made me anxious for the next one, to see more Rose/Scorp interaction and to see the four amigos interact!

Waiting for the next update,
Kate/rp

Author's Response: Cute, bantering with people you love is the best. Thanks for reviewing Kate xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by RupertsPheonixHormones: Opening Day

2nd June 2015:
Aah! The cliffhanger of all cliffhangers! I canNOT wait for the next chapter!

I loved the shop opening, how well Ryan knows Fred, and how supportive Harry and George and Angelina were. The whole thing was great! :)

Eek, I can't wait to read about the baby! Also, I love that Rox was the one to tell him - nice touch there. :)

Great work!
kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #20, by RupertsPheonixThe Shadows Within: Chapter 11 - Flying Lessons

13th May 2015:
Loved this chapter! The interaction between L & J was great. :) excitedly waiting for the next update! -kate/rp

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the fluffiness! Thanks for reading everything I have posted so far! =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by RupertsPheonixThe Shadows Within: Chapter 7 - Girl Talk

20th April 2015:
This is great! I enjoy the way you write the Marauders and Lily a lot. Thanks for not making Peter the odd man out - I think people forget that he WAS their friend at one point, and you do a good job of highlighting that. :)

Your OCs that serve as Lily's friends could use a litle further development, but that may come with time - we've only just gotten a look at them interacting during girl time.

Looking forward to future plot development!

--kate/rp

Author's Response: Thank you for taking to read all the way to this chapter! And thank you for leaving a review. =)

I'm glad you like the way Peter is being written. You're right about the way he often is portrayed, but that makes me wonder why they would ever even consider him as a Secret Keeper!

As for the OCs, I hope you see more development soon. I think this is a drawback of a large cast, so thanks for giving me tips on what you would like to see worked on in the future.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #22, by RupertsPheonixEvolution: Mitigating Damages

20th April 2015:
Love it! I knew he'd have to show her the map or the cloak. :) I love that it's the cloak - family secret, later goes onto their son... such sentiment there.

I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter!!
-kate/rp

Author's Response: Thanks so much for continuing on reading and taking the time to review! It really means a lot, especially after longer breaks than expected.

I hope to get the next chapter up in the next couple of weeks!


 Report Review

Review #23, by RupertsPheonix19 Years: Year 6: Sharing the News

20th April 2015:
Another great chapter! I love the idea of Teddy being jealous of the new baby - it just really solidifies the idea of him being a member of the Potter family, which is perfect. Well done!

looking forward to the next update!
-Kate/rp

Author's Response: I am so glad you like it! And yes, I think Teddy reacted ilke many older siblings would. Thank you so much for stil reading and reviewing, and for your kind words. It means a lot xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by RupertsPheonixCuriosity Is Not a Sin: Prying Fathers

6th April 2015:
Hahah I enjoyed this chapter quite a bit! The thought of Draco knowing what would irritate Ron the most is hilarious and in character. :)

I really like how you write Rose and Scorpius together. This sweet, almost sexy moment on the chair is really very nice.

Looking forward to the next update,
kate/rp

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! ♥ I'm glad you liked the chapter so much and that Draco's needling at Ron seems so perfectly in character. :P

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by RupertsPheonixBeing a Falmouth Falcon: The Challenge

31st March 2015:
Good chapter, and well done on the cliffhanger! I'm anxious to read more!

I don't think Gigi is out of line here. I think she's stubborn, but Camilla is playing everyone. James and most of the others need to wake up and realize that she has an agenda beyond being a famous quidditch player.

I think the coach may understand the situation better than he lets on. I have a feeling that he knew Gigi would be able to keep her spot and that she would be motivated to get the 3 goals he just understands her psyche and how to make her feel motivated or inspired. I also think he did it just to assure her that she had the talent to stay as center. Just my thoughts on his character. Would love to know if that's how you see his coaching style.

James... he is being the ultimate douche right now. He could've tried to be objective or at least sensitive to the tension. Ah well. Boys will be boys, I reckon.

-kate/rp

Author's Response: I like the theme that none of you think Gigi is out of line. That we all hate Camila. The Coach is seriously a lover more than we all think. He definitely has his own coaching style, even if we don't quite see it.

xoxo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>