Reading Reviews From Member: Hasane
84 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HasaneLong Live The Queen: VII

16th March 2018:
heya! i saw your story was low on reviews, so i thought i might start back up reviewing this story again.

this was a wonderful chapter; i remember it being on of my absolute faves because Lily finally breaks up with Lysander. the way she handled it was reasonable, but she was still so put together, when people far better than her probably would have had been a lot angrier?

and god, i remember being so intrigued by the end of this chapter, and i went on to read more (but i forgot to leave reviews!).

 Report Review

Review #2, by HasaneDormitory 2.6A: EIGHT: Damsels of Dormitory 2.6A

28th February 2018:
Hey! Ive read this story numerous times (many, many times, I read it when I have nothing else to do, which happens quite a bit) and I cant tell you how much I love this chapter. It was very well handled yet theres still that undercurrent of we dont know what were doing, this has to help, were here for you, you know what Im talking about?

The first time round reading this chapter, something always rubbed me wrong way when Nova says that Cassidy isnt fat. Nova probably meant well, and its a sentiment many people share. I dont think its the right sentiment, because I always thought the word fat is a descriptor of a person and it can be true, but so many people associate it with being ugly and lazy and I hate that so much. For me, being fat will never be a slight on my character, its just a part of who I am. I think I learned that the hard way.

Now that I think about it, telling Cass that shes fat but it doesnt make her ugly may have not rolled that well with her, and all shed hear was that her friends think shes fat. I hope Cass learns to love and accept herself :^)

 Report Review

Review #3, by HasaneAccidentally On Purpose : Pity The Houses Are White

18th January 2018:
This story honestly tempted me everyday. I literally have to tell myself everyday /not/ to read this monstrosity because I have exams, work, and literally everything else to catch up on!!! AND it's a WIP on top of that!

But today, the story has defeated me. I've heard too many good things about this story (and one friend literally hassled me to read this--she wouldn't keep quiet about it), so finally I gave in.

I'm sorry this isn't really a review, but I had to tell you this little anecdote! I will try (i'm not so good with reviews so it's all touch and go) to let you know my thoughts next chapter!!

Author's Response: Omg idk why this is best message I’ve ever revcieved lol but I literally love it when people tell me about when they’ve been reading it when they’re not supposed to be 😂 I love this anecdote! Love that you’ve been tempted even though you’ve been so busy. First of all, I cannot believe your friend liked it enough to freaking recommend it!!! Wtf!!! Crossing that off my bucket list of goals when writing fan fic - all I can say is READ IT!!! I hope you enjoy it! I’m so happy you’re reading it honestly and I know it’s a WIP but my readers know I update like a fiend 😂 I seriously would love to know your thoughts! X Plum

 Report Review

Review #4, by HasaneCrucio: Every Beginning Starts With An End

14th January 2018:
Is this real? Or is this just a dream? Damn.

I have seen this story around a couple months back, and I was so looking forward to read it, only to find out its been deleted.

This is kind a little bit trivial compared to like, life, but I was actually pretty devastated?

It had a pretty banner and a catchy description to boot, and that is my jam, so like. Yeah.

I'm glad you've decided to re-upload the story (thank you for deciding to!); I'm going to very much enjoy reading it!

Author's Response: oh my goodness! this makes me so happy :D yeah, i took it down a couple months back because of ~reasons~ but i actually had a plot idea for this out of the blue and i was like !!! dang!!! i should bring it back! and i agree, the banner is gorgeous :O i really hope you like the story :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by HasaneAwakening: Forbidden

13th January 2018:
Heya! Sunshine_locks from the forums for the Review Tag.

This is very well written. You started the story off having the reader wonder why anyone would beat up Scorpius, and then move on to his relationships with his housemates. He seems to be on good terms with them.

Scorpius is quite observant, isn't he? I think it would be quite ironic if Colette is the daughter of Pansy Parkinson.

I also love the way you keep the reader in suspense as to who exactly is Scorpius' crush. I had my suspicions that it might be Rose Weasley, but you can never be sure, you know? I have the feeling that he might of harbored these feelings for a very long time.

Did you know that my heart actually dropped when I found out that it was James and Albus that was beating up Scorpius? I suppose it's my bias flaring up; I've always believed that they wouldn't stoop to that kind of level, though I wouldn't believe them to be completely perfect.

And lastly, your writing style is... intellectual so to say. I can't tell if it's a result of building Scorpius' character, or if it is just the way you write. Either way, it lends itself to creating Scorpius' character as a thoughtful, but just slightly detached person. I don't think I've seen that kind of characterization of him before; he's always been a bit of "loud" character, if you know what I mean.

Anyways, thank you for writing this!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HasaneJust Rose: Just a Tea Girl

8th January 2018:
Ive binged about seventeen chapters of this already, so it might be high time to leave a review.

If theres one thing you need to know about me as a Harry Potter fanfiction reader, its that I have a severe aversion to reading about Rose Weasley. Shes fun to write, yes, but to read about her, no, not really. Many exaggerated portrayals of her have slowly turned me off from her.

But I saw this story pop up on HPFF one too many times, and threw everything up into to the air. And I found that I really like how you write your Rose. Youve really taken her and turned her into something of your own character, and I really appreciate that.

Another thing is, this story is so excruciatingly normal, yet its so engaging. I do like a lot of action and romance and the like, and this is a lot quieter in its portrayal. Rose is part of an unrequited love, while is pursued by a somewhat stalkerish Scorpius. Its just the normal humdrums of life, and Rose is a flailing teen-except-not-really adult and shes just trying to find her place in life, and the like. Theres drama! of course, but its not your usual kind. Its more so the kind of drama about people getting married and getting jobs, and gasp! relationships.

So far, its kind of nice, like a slice of life kind of thing. But, you know, its probably going to be ruined by the plot twist award I see youve got there.

You know, this story really reminds me of Starving Artists and Weather for Ducks by peppersweet, although these two and yours have their distinguishing features. You know.

This is kind of a short review, but oh well.

I cant wait to read the rest!

 Report Review

Review #7, by HasaneTwilight: Unbreakable Dawn

8th January 2018:
"So. Lettuce begin." w o w.

So, puns and parodies are my fave, so I decided to read this one too.

Ed is not the normal protagonist. He's a blast-ended skrewt, and this is funny to me because I keep imagining him waddling around with his multiple legs in a really slow fashion.

It's particularly funny how you described his woes of love and how he'll never get Lani's love. It was so very "ugh, just feel sorry for me!"

I was hopeful there for a second. I really thought Ed and Lani was going to be a thing. But who needs shallow boyfriends anyways?

I don't know why, but I really loved it when you cut in as they author to address the reader, breaking the fourth wall is funny in bad parodies and crack-fics.

This was hard to read. Thank you for writing it, I hurt my stomach laughing at this for five minutes straight!

Author's Response: Haha glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HasaneThird Time's a Charm: Two Stars, One Constellation

8th January 2018:
I saw your Scorbus one-shot on your profile page and I just had to read it.

Im a big fan of Scorbus, but I dont know why I dont read it as often as I do my other ships, so I decided to ease into it with your one-shot.

I think my favorite quote was where you made an analogy with a comet. I didnt even really think it could work until you used it, and it makes sense?

And I'm not gonna lie, I thought it was going to be fluffy. Not some 'stab you in the heart angst'? Does it get better?

I really like how Scorpius is unconfirmed with his sexuality in this, as it's a kinda unlikely that a teenager would be secure in what they label themselves; if they do more power to them.

But then Scorpius kisses him! And it goes well! (I really like happy endings.) I think I really like how you describe how Scorpius felt about kissing Albus, it almost makes me think that he'd been pining after him for a while.

(If this review doesn't make any sense at all, it's probs because I wrote my thoughts down as I read.)

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HasaneEidolon: Pink Silk

7th January 2018:
Um, yes, hi, hello. I have been waiting for a story like this one. It was always interesting to think about how the expectations of being a Potter might break someone, and Id always thought running away might be at the extreme ends, but also? What if? What would happen if one of the Potter children ran away? How would it exactly affect such a tightly knit family, and how would they cope? How would it change them?

Im kind of glad thats what youre doing here! Im excited to see what might happen, now that James is back (for reasons to be told later maybe?), maybe a lot of drama might happen? Who knows? Theres a lot of possibilities!

I really love the way you write though. I love you let a scene unfold little by little, rather than push it into our faces. I think my favorite line from the beginning was the very first one, from the first chapter. I think it was a good way to begin first of all, it really caught my attention and had me actually stop my music so I could concentrate. Also, like, Im a sucker for colorful (literally) prose.

I also like the way you portray James and Anatoles relationship? Something about it was so sweet and tender that it really melted my heart.

The letter was really insightful, in the way that it kind of showed the reader how James disappearance affected the family, and how it formed who they are right now in this story. Maybe thats to change as James possibly tries to amend relationships? Hopefully?

The second chapter was a little bit confusing for me. Cato was described a little ambiguously, and I was like? What do I refer to them by? And then it hit me that that was probably what you were aiming for. It seems to me that their injury had really done a toll on them? Hm.

I have a lot of thoughts on this, but I cant really put them into words and its frustrating.

Ive actually seen you around here a lot but I never actually bothered to read your stories (nothing on you though, I'm just a lazy person), and now that I finally forced myself to (because of the review tag on HPFT) I like what you have to offer. I think I might check out a few of your other stories too!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HasaneWhen Dahlias Bloom: FOUR: You Are Not Broken

25th December 2017:
l m a o.

Indeed, what is subtlety? You just put it out there that Dahlia was asexual didnt you? Well, Im really glad that Dahlias figured herself out yeah?

This chapter was a slap to the face and like what? At least Dahlia seems to be liking James a tiny shred more. That last sentence will be her famous last words.

Also? I keep pronouncing Danyal as Daniel and I keep have to slap myself. Im South Asian lol I should know better.

 Report Review

Review #11, by HasaneRemember the Slytherins: I see (love) when I close my eyes

22nd December 2017:
It has almost been a year since I have read this story, and its vividness still rings clear in my mind.

I remember all of the characters, and how much I fell in love with your characters, and how much by the end of this chapter that I so wished for Albus, Piper, and Nick and all of the other Slytherins to have theirmaybe not happyhopeful ending.

Every part of this story is so amazingit was literally everything I was looking for: strong friendships, but an undefined, and perhaps an even terrifying, future for the next generation kids. I love this rendition specifically because it acknowledges and works off the idea that maybe the Slytherin house would not be so redeemed after the war. I love that. This isnt really a story I couldnt pull off myself because I love my next generation kids too much to torture them like this. Fortunately, you did it for me. (I have no doubt in my mind that you love your characters though.)

I also love how you handle each and every one of your characters spirals into depression; in the beginning it was so hard for me to tell that anything was wrong in the first place. And then everything started to fall apart bit by bit, and we were starting to see how far into depression Albusand everyone elsereally was. It was insanely easy to turn against Albus family, and it was easy for me to get angry at them.

This also happens to be the one story that cemented in my mind that there is no place else for Albus except for Slytherin. And the chapter titles are so creativeIm not sure whether they are part of a song or something like that, but they fit so well with the chapters you write. I think by far my favorite one is the most recent one: I see (love) when I close my eyes. I dont know why, but I think something about that line struck a chord in me. It justit fits Albus, Piper, and Nick so well. My heart literally hurts when I think about this line. I really couldnt tell you why.

I honestly could not tell you how much I really love this story, and I think it would be impossible for me to stop singing praises about it. But I will. I sincerely hope that youll get the motivation to finish this story, but if not, this will be a story I will always come back to even when I stray far away from Harry Potter (if ever I do).

 Report Review

Review #12, by HasaneWhen Dahlias Bloom: THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

23rd September 2017:
Third chapter! I was so excited for this story to update; it made my day!

This chapter was a gem. The beginning of the chapter was so sweet, how the girls always get together so they always have a chance to see each other.

I'm glad to see that Cass is doing much better!

I don't really have much to say for the first half of the chapter, except that I laughed when Dahlia legitimately thought she had hurt the Boy Who Lived!

The second half of the chapter... Yikes.

(The family dynamic is so similar to mine; are we sisters or what?)

For some reason I just feel the tiniest bit sorry for Auntie Supriya? I'm probably not supposed to; she's the embodiment of everything I literally hate. Props to Dahlia for being forward enough to defend herself! I really need those guts of hers. And to be honest Auntie Supriya is free to believe whatever she wants and carry out her own life; after all, isn't that what half the idea of feminism is about? For a woman to be able to pursue her wants without receiving crap for it? (Her internal misogyny is a problem though, I'm not brushing that aside.) The problem comes in where Auntie Supriya forces her world views and ideals into her family, and makes them follow them. I think if expects the world to adhere to her own views and needs, she'll be sorely disappointed.

(I really did just call Auntie Supriya "Auntie Supriya" for the entirety of this review because I was too uncomfortable calling her "Supriya." Wow.)

 Report Review

Review #13, by HasaneFallen: Memories

11th August 2017:
Hi! I'm so sorry it took me just about four days to finish the rest of this!

Youve really set this story up to have some real potential for plotlines here. Cass is already making steps into maturing a little bit, as she took the chance to apologize; that takes a lot of guts you know?

I never really did like Cass in Complicated but youve really made me sympathize with her, and understand to an extent why she would do what she did. Of course, your readers hating Cass (most of them anyways) also had something to do with a bit of denial; all of us would love to believe when push comes to shove we wouldnt run away, wouldnt we? Shes human, so weve got to give her some leeway for that.

I really like that Cass went to James to do something about their ruined relationship but having sex with him really wasnt the way to go. It would bring up old feelings, or some illusion of it, and theyre usually never good. I dont know what you plan on doing with the two of them, but by the end of the story Id really like to see them friends, as friends who have worked through their problems, you get what I mean?

So, about Scorpius. I really have to applaud him. Olivia suffered a lot with Cass disappearance in her sixth year, but Scorpius clearly went through some stuff too. He had to experience the anxiety of thinking his girlfriend had died or something, and all this while his feelings for her were at his strongest. He did say that he was going to confess that he loved her at the beginning of Complicated didnt he? And then, it turned out Cass was alive! But pregnant with a baby that wasnt his. Yikes. Seven years later, I would say he had properly moved on, but those feelings of frustration would have lingered, I think. He didnt punch Cass the moment she showed her face to him, even when he had every single right to. I give him props for that, honestly.

Olivia is such a sweetheart. Seven years, and she still kept sending letters to Cass. People better than her would have stopped after the first few years, but she never gave up. You have to love her.

And Albus! We finally saw a bit of a mean side to him! No one can ever be that nice. He really is a sweetheart; he could never hurt a fly. Well, except if it was Cass (kind of).

Also! Cass finally saw her child! Cadence! What a pretty name you chose for her, especially a pretty one alluding to music. Do you plan on doing anything with those two? I think it would be really nice if Cass ever finds the courage to talk to Cadence, and become friends with her? I dont think Cass is quite ready to step up to the plate of being a mother to her, but I think being friends with her is a nice compromise.

I really like what Cass has going on with Louis? Theyd be a really good brother-sister type relationship, and I think Cass is just really comfortable with Louis? Maybe its because theyve made the same mistakes and that puts them at the same level with each other? I dont know. Is that it?

So, uh, I hear youre on a bit of a roadblock with this story (I read your response to my last review!)? I dont know if I have any worthwhile ideas, but I suppose Ill still throw them at you.

In this very recent chapter, I caught a very tiny small detail that had me really interested?

I had a new friendship with Louis, and thought Id found a way to help make James feel better. Its this one. So, Cass found a way to help James? Is it prosthetics? I think its the most logical way to go about fixing James situation. So maybe in the next chapter Cass could drop by James and perhaps pitch this idea? Of course James can take this idea however he wants, since its coming from Cass, and her idea is maybe iffy?

Or the next chapter could be the aftermath of Olivias breakdown, and Cass is slowly helping Olivia come back from it? Breakdowns are very exhausting, not to mention they just kind of make you feel empty.

You could even throw Cass into a very uncomfortable situation with Olivias bridesmaids and make Cass feel horrible, or either somehow build her persona of a maturing person. You know?

Was my gibberish any help to you? Gosh. Im so sorry. Also, apologies for not being able review my thoughts on every chapter; so instead I just made into a whole giant review with all of my thoughts gathered.

See next time, hopefully with a new chapter!

Author's Response: THANK YOU! It's honestly so lovely to read such a thoughtful, detailed review. I'm so glad you're still enjoying it!

Cassie and James have a pretty complicated history and relationship, but I have a feeling you'll like where they end up (fingers crossed!).

And I'm really pleased you'er enjoying Scor and Olivia! They've both grown up quite a lot and I'm enjoying showing Cassie dropping into the lives they've both built. I would have loved to write a big confrontation scene between Scor and Cass but I think he's pretty pleased with where he's got to and wouldn't feel so angry any more, so it wouldn't have been fair to him.

And thank you for liking Louis! Loving writing him. He's the one who hasn't really grown up at all but he's lots of fun.

Thank you for your suggestions! I really appreciate it. I've planned the rest of this story (does actually include a little bit of your stuff!) but for some reason I'm not feeling that drawn to it when I sit down to write at the moment. The same thing happened every so often with 'Complicated' so I'm sure some time soon I'll sit down and finish it off!

Thanks again for all your kind words and thoughts.

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by HasaneEmmeline : Emmeline

9th August 2017:
Hi! This is sunshine_locks from the HPFT forums, here with your review!

Im going to begin right away with this sentence: The place stood as a dancing school once upon a time, so the wooden floors went throughout the place.

This sentence could use a bit of rewording, as it was a little hard to follow. Maybe something like: The place was once a dancing school, and wooden floors still went throughout the place. Maybe you have better ideas because even my suggestion is a little off and chunky.

I think the word thrived is better replaced with thrummed? The sentence would then be thrummed with life.

for she went through her sixth pregnancy in eight years. That is a lot of pregnancies in just eight years, wow. Isnt the optimum wait time between pregnancies at least two years?

I really like how you bring life to such mundane things as grocery shopping, and I could see exactly what they were doing. I suppose this is what you meant by show, dont tell?

In some places, the dialogue was a bit off, and strange. I didnt know whether it was part of Emmelines thoughts or actually happening in the scene.

One such instance: This isn't about me. Jacqueline lay towards the open door. Shes still here. Is this just me?

The girl bent down and tied her red trainers and twirled in her white dress with red poppies on it. To which girl are you referring to? Emmeline? If so, I think you should add an adjective, or something unique to Emmeline that lets the reader know that it is her. Unless I missed a detail?

Oh, wow, that was sudden. I wasnt expecting that, it happened so fast.

She smelled blood, and gulped, horrified, when she saw her lying a short distance from her body. What do you mean by this sentence? It seems strange that Emmeline would see her own body because isnt her conscious in her body?

Everything had escalated so fast. I think a bit too fast. I think maybe you shouldve taken time to like describe to us her feelings? If she was knocked out by the fall, maybe you could write snippets of it, as if she was dazing in and out of consciousness?

Overall, I think you pull off the show dont tell very nicely, and I think you do very well with description. The only thing Id ask you to work on is pacing, or maybe even transitioning nicely into the next topic. I also caught some minor grammatical mistakes, and some spelling errors.

To counter that, I usually change the font of the whole chapter into something Im not used to (not too crazy, and still readable) and then look over the chapter. Changing things up a bit will bring your eye to mistakes you might not have previously caught.

That being said, did you want me to be nitpicky and point out all these grammatical and spelling mistakes out all to you? If so, I can do that on your next chapter.

Hopefully, I was of some help to you? I am not a veteran writer as you seem to be, and I might all be repeating stuff you already know

Anyways, this was really well done, and thisll be the end of the review, I think.

Author's Response: The piece was written at a fast pace and can use editing. Dialogue is given in quotation marks as that is when a character would be directly speaking, but you are right that the wording can use cleaning up and further editing. I edited right before you read this and missed the mark, but that doesn't mean thiscouldn't use more work because it could. Thanks for the suggestions. The font suggestion after walking away is a good one.

 Report Review

Review #15, by HasaneFallen: The Invitation

7th August 2017:
it's taken me a while to get to this story! i like it so far, and i like the twist you gave Cassie! it was never hinted to in 'Complicated' but i really didn't think she'd be bisexual!

so, if it isn't offensive to you, do you mind me asking as to why Cassie didn't get an abortion? it really confused me when she chose to keep the baby, when her character (i feel) screams she wouldn't?

(disregard that there wouldn't be a story if cassie had done this lol)

Author's Response: Hi! So glad you're enjoying it so far :)

Cass is pretty flexible about her sexuality and relationships, so it never really came up at school when she was with Scor but was also never a secret.

And for a long time I thought Cass would end up having an abortion, but I think she's a bit too stubborn for that. She likes to feel likes she's owned her mistakes, and she felt like an abortion would be admitting vulnerability. As the pregnancy progressed, she also started to think she might be good at having a child, and developed some feelings for James. I've hit a bit of a block with this story at the moment, but I'll be interested to hear your thoughts on Cass's point of view by the end!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review :) xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by HasaneWhen Dahlias Bloom: ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

31st July 2017:
omg omg omg so i have been waiting for this fic, like, for-freaking-ever

and it's so worth the wait

i love it so much! when i was reading D2.6A, dahlia was not the character i related to the most, and i found her to be a teensy bit too brash, but i totally appreciated her presence.

of course, now that we have a fic literally in her pov, i understand her tons better, and honestly, she's compelling

shes working in a (possibly?) rundown cafe (of sorts) and she's dealing with customers and stuff (which honestly would be enough to turn into Voldemort and go all megalomaniac), so props to her for actually keeping her cool.

the thing with novus is that i totally knew what was gonna go down with those two (i may have scrolled thru the D2.6A tag on your tumblr but that aside) and im not too unhappy with it, considering that we all know the truth about novus (cue slightly maniacal laugh here). also, every relationship needs its rocky roads and rain (or however that goes). it makes a relationship stronger in the end you know? but poor nova, shes all broken up about it! she doesnt deserve that. (but i swear i blushed too much at the he did sh*t like sh*g Nova on school trips to Rome and i left the chap alone for a vv long time for it to be okay lol why am i like this)

i think by far my fav part of the story was her interactions with her family. it was so real and accurate (trust me im an indian and you too probably with the level accuracy, or perhaps youve experienced it firsthand idk), and has that little bit of culture mixed in, and i totally know what the heck kinda foods dahlias talking about! and thats so great for me omg

in other words, this is the fic for me basically. like, i literally cannot wait for what kind of sensitive topics you might explore in this fic, if you might at all. theres so much to explore within indian culture, like arranged marriages, how educations are designated, how sons are prioritized over daughters, how sons are raised more importantly, etc. (i have a lot of problems with indian culture, but i also love it simultaneously because it makes me unique)

also, did you not say once (idk where i forgot) that this fic would be exploring dahlias aromantic-ness (i mean it seems probable since she seems romantic relationships averse) or asexuality? im so glad that youre going to be doing that, mostly because i myself am going through such a phase of questioning my sexuality too, and im leaning towards being aromantic

and basically at this point i relate to dahlia on a personal level, its unreal. (i may have realized that i didnt like dahlia bc she was bit too much like me)

i too am trying to write a fic like this one, where an indian girl is grappling between western culture and traditional indian culture and her sexuality, but it doesnt come easy and i had too much going on within in the fic that i had to let go of it for a bit. i might come back to it one day.

i cannot wait for the next chapter! (also? congrats to you for pulling off julno, i do not have the amount of patience needed for that)

this was such a long review and probably got a little too personal i'm so sorry

Author's Response: Hey!

Um, I absolutely love long reviews (even if it takes me an age to respond bc my laptop is rubbish and I avoid the internet on it for fear of it having a nervous breakdown) so don’t apologise! Feel free to be as rambly and personal as you want ;)

Also ah sjfngffpd; I’m so glad you like it so far!! Honestly, I’ve had this idea brewing in the back of my mind for, like, a solid five or six months, but I always figured it was never going to happen until I just decided to go for it during JulNo. But I’ve still been sooo nervous about putting it up anywhere because it’s different to Dormitory 2.6A since it’s focused on one girl instead of the plights of them all and Dahlia is such a difficult character lmao. As you said, she’s a bit *too* brash so I was like ‘will people want to read this fic???’

Also, I would never be able to handle her job omg

Haha, at least you were prepared for what happened to Novus! I’m sure many weren’t and wanted to know why I’d do this to a couple I’d spent 10 chapters building up, but like… I might be a weakling and may have given in and said they get back together eventually, but I need to be heartless sometimes, you know? Also, I genuinely think it’d be good for her to get a feel for herself outside of their relationship since he was her first love and they were only sixteen when they got together

I didn’t expect to love writing the Darzis as much as I do, but I shamelessly love them too :P I’ve based half of it off my own family (my parents are from Bangladesh, but from conversations with some Indian friends of mine, it seems that there’s not a great deal of difference culture-wise which helps a *lot* ngl) so I’m just chucking it all in now. Plus, culture is something that really defines you, especially in the case of Dahlia so I’m really looking forward to exploring that e.g. arranged marriages + marriage in general is a recurring factor in her life (cough Auntie Supriya’s role cough)

(Also you literally named half the problems I have with my own culture, are we twins??)

Yes, so this fic is essentially about Dahlia finding her identity whether that’s her realising that feminism isn’t misandry or the fact that she’s asexual and just accepting that there’s nothing wrong with any of that. Like D2.6A, it’s going to be just as whacky and borderline (read: completely) ridiculous at times, but that’s because I want to show that life isn’t always miserable and I kinda just want to normalise all this tbh

“I may have realised I didn’t like Dahlia bc she was bit too much like me” - I just choked :P

Thank you for the wonderful review (and sorry for bombarding you with such a long response haha)

Plums xo

(Also the apostrophes have gone really weird in this???)

 Report Review

Review #17, by HasaneFluorescent Adolescent : something new

26th July 2017:
it's becoming frighteningly clear that effy doesn't know what the heck she's doing. her debilitating feelings are confusing but i /understand/. like on a level clear to me. this fic is the epitome of teenage adolescence, but it never applied to me, so i never understood what she was going through, even if there was that twinge of 'i get it.' like i totally get thinking 'where does the time go' and not knowing what to do with your future, and like generally being confused. of anything, i think it really struck me how out of the loop she is on her friends because she's being kinda self-absorbed right now. it happens to the best of us, but we snap out of it you know? i'm sure she will too.

 Report Review

Review #18, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening that Happened When the Potter Parents Visit + Scorpius Drops a Truth Bomb

12th July 2017:

*cue velociraptor-like screeching*

anyways... what a good chapter!

i really love the way you wrote the potter parents--generally pretty chill, but driving down their fists when they need to! and of course, Harry would make the reference to his defeating dark lords like it was a habit back in the day!

i know that Albus' depression was mentioned a few chapters ago but i never got to address it. i never would have figured that he would have depression since he's such a happy boy. but that's where it hits you doesn't it? all those stories we've all heard--ones where it was too late, and people keep saying 'but they were so happy! so why?' people don't catch on until it's too late. i'm so glad that Albus' family was able to save him in time.

and as for Lily confronting Scorpius... wow. sister feuds are the worst, especially when it's over something petty like a boy. yikes.

can't wait for your next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #19, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening that Happened When McCartney Made a Deal with the Devil + Rose Weasley Says Multiple Curse Words

9th July 2017:

Lennon's a lot of 12+ words. she should in fact get her comeuppance. that was so crappy if her and downright disgusting.

i feel like I should say don't stoop to her level but i'm already too invested in this.

Rose too grows a backbone but Maxima throws out some hurtful truths. yikes.

also? i love that you acknowledged that girls can be abusers and boys can be abused. like that is so glossed over in mainstream media it annoys the crap outta me. like seriously. it should be addressed in more serious terms you know?

that moment with McCartney and Dom was so sweet. sisterhood for the win.

also, how many more chapters do you suppose are left? i am so hooked, and i can't wait for the next chapter! the preview has me excited!

(also my last review got cut off a bit. i was saying that Maxima deserved respect, for being a human in any case.)

 Report Review

Review #20, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening That Happened Before Albus Came for a Charger and Left with a Broken Nose + Maximas Cat Gets Out of the Bag

9th July 2017:
okay but damn? Maxima is pretty cruel b*tch but she didn't deserve that video of her. it's like releasing nudes of a girl when so clearly doesn't want that. she might have made sex tapes and stuff and some might argue that she set herself up for it (god help those who do) but let a girl do what she freaking wants? a girl can be sexually active, and she certainly doesn't need crap for it.

Maxima is a victim here.

god, I hope she gets the respect she deserves (for being a him

but grudgingly, i do have to admit that this stemmed from a deeper animosity from enemies she's made, and i hope it'll bring to light what kinds of cruel things she has done. i hope she takes a chance and changes for the better.

i still stand by what i said and if she needed a catalyst for change, i just hope it wouldn't have been /that/.

look at me going all psychologist on you.

 Report Review

Review #21, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening That Happened After Monster Bash + LP Destroys Important Metaphorical Things

9th July 2017:

ahem. but omg that scene right before they were about to have sex was so! cute! and amazing! i will always be a #advocate for consent within happy couples.

but damn, LP is really scared of telling her parents about her and Scorpius. i know and understand that but there comes a point where you have to own up you know? i felt really bad for Isadora in that moment because she lost someone she really likes because she was protecting her friend. hard decisions. you just gotta wonder if she made the right one.

 Report Review

Review #22, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening that Happened at the Monster Bash with Two AC Woods + A First Year Gets Squished

9th July 2017:
ooh, drama. my favorite. (unsurprisingly.)

i had thought that Dom was being neglected a bit but i hadn't realized it was on purpose. i wonder how McCartney will handle this.

but we get to the autumn ball! things happen! people inevitably turn into drunken idiots grinding on each other on the dance floor!

if that was Lennon purposefully kissing James to get back at McCartney, then that's a low blow. like really low. how low can you go? i mean obviously you don't kiss your sister's boyfriend??

i'm really glad that McCartney didn't overreact and saw the situation for what it is and understood that it is a masquerade ball. people get people mixed up when they have masks on.

 Report Review

Review #23, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening That Happened When the Queen Got Drunk + A Food Fight That Ends in War

9th July 2017:

and all i have to say is: sh*t. f*ck. damn.

Albus you ninny you don't sleep with your friends.

and through out the whole chapter i was thinking that Maxima had caught feelings for him? i mean obviously all those questions she was asking herself had to have meant something.

Maxima was surprisingly possessive of Albus; i certainly do have reason to think she has feelings for him.

also not to mention that in a state of drunkenness and sadness he was one of the people she wanted to be there? that's gotta mean something like come on.

i guess i'll have to see.

(also I feel the need to mention that i /love/ the chapters with Maxima's POV. McCartney's and LP's POV's are cool too but like, I have grown a strange fondness for Maxima even if she can be a petty and cruel b*tch sometimes [most of the time?])

 Report Review

Review #24, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening That Happened After the Quidditch After Party + LP Takes a Trip to the Dungeons (Not Isadoras Sex Dungeon)

8th July 2017:
i've never been a fan of lily/scorpius but it's literally like scorily 4 lyfe rn

oh that scene with George and Lily was so close! knowing George i feel like he has an idea of what's going on.

that scene with Lily and Rex was so terrifying my god. like, i /know/ it's not real but it feels like it is because it happens more times than people would like to admit.

that interesting tidbit about how Victoire fusses over James was so cool? i wonder why victoire does that?

and i absolutely love the fourth paragraph before the last; it was written so perfectly? and Scorpius asking Lily whether he can kiss her was so nice too; why can't people romanticize consent before doing anything rather than unhealthy relationships ???

 Report Review

Review #25, by HasaneSocial Darwinism: The Happening That Happened When McCartney Played Seeker (In a Real Live Quidditch Match) + James Meets the Lucks

8th July 2017:
you have a real knack for humor! i think my favorite line was this: "I was fifty shades of done with Quidditch. I dont normally athlete and this just proves to me that I shouldnt."

the dynamics of the Luck family is always so funny! i like them a lot, and i love how McCartney feels comfortable enough to poke fun at her family!

ooh. that game. like the previous one with LP, it was just as engaging! really glad that McCartney was able to win the game (even if it was at the cost of Aleksander).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>