Reading Reviews From Member: Hilary Radcliffe
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hilary RadcliffeAbout That: Beyond Repair

19th October 2011:
You're a great writer and I always enjoy your stories. I couldn't help but notice you borrowed a line from The Office, which is my all-time favorite show ever, so that made me happy :)

Author's Response: OH MY GOD I AM SO GLAD SOMEONE CAUGHT THAT! Actually I was half hoping no one would... BUT ON THE OTHER HAND I WAS LIKE "JimJimJimJimJim!"

Yeah, I ship Jam pretty hard :) ~writergirl8


 Report Review

Review #2, by Hilary RadcliffeBreak My Own Fall: Chapter Three

26th August 2011:
I really like where the story is going so far and I love the inclusion of the flashbacks. My only concern is explaining how Rose got lung cancer. I'm pretty sure it's not genetic or anything and I feel like that would have come out when she was in the hospital wing. Other than that, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it so far! The cause of Rose's lung cancer will be included in a future flashback - I'm keeping some information hidden for dramatic effect, because I feel like if you lovely readers found out everything at the beginning, it would make the story boring. :)
Thank you very much for your review, I love hearing what you think of the story! An update will be coming up ASAP!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Like It Means Something

18th May 2011:
Another great chapter! Is it wrong that I always get irrationally excited when I see there's an update on this story? I usually squeal. Anywho, I thought the contrast between Ron right after Hermione left and the Ron who's had a few years to stew about it was really interesting and well-done, completely in character. I love where this story's going! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was starting to think you all hated me :( I'm definitely looking forward to writing about Ron more... possibly even switiching POVs around... ;) Stay tuned and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Yesterday Was the Time of Our Lives

14th May 2011:
It's really not as bad as you think! I really enjoy your writing style, so there's no way it ever would have been a chore to read. I always get excited when there's an update on this story. The only thing I wasn't sure about in this chapter was Ginny crying. It just seemed a little out of character to me. Other than that, I liked it. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I agree with you about the crying thing, lol. Oh well , though, this was a definite struggle as you know lol. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Sink Me in the River at Dawn

8th April 2011:
Another great chapter! I love the dynamic of the Weasleys; you portray them perfectly. I'm always amazed that you seem to be making everything that happens play out as realistically as possible for the situations at hand, especially with Ginny's reaction. I also really love the Harry/Hermione friendship that you have in here because it's one of my favorite aspects of the series. Keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Fancy Seeing You Here

7th February 2011:
My goodness, a cliffhanger! I can't wait to see what happens next. No matter how long the chapters are, I always want to keep reading.

I thought Harry's reaction was very natural and true to form, especially considering the circumstances. I'm glad it was him that confronted Hermione because I think it's his reaction she is most worried for and hopeful about. I also loved when Hermione went wand-happy! So funny.

Author's Response: Hahaha, wand-happy! My new favourite phrase of the year!

I'm glad you approved of Harry's reaction, I was so nervous about writing the other characters. Thanks for reviewing, you are always so sweet! Keep reading :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Murder in the City

29th January 2011:
I really love this chapter and I think you have Hermione's characterization down perfectly. Sometimes short and sweet is just what you need. :]

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm literally glowing right now because you said this. Keep reading and thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Hilary RadcliffeJane: Smoking

13th January 2011:
Excellent! Definitely one of my favorite stories on HPFF right now, if not my favorite. I hope you keep writing! I can't wait to read the rest of it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You definitely just made my day. Next chapter is in the queue :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hilary RadcliffeThe Onset of Autumn: The Capture

12th May 2008:
You write mysteries and plots extremely well. Very reminiscent of JKR.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hilary Radcliffe:

19th February 2008:
Brilliant! It's really original. I love it already; please update soon!

Author's Response: i will try!

_Addie_


 Report Review

Review #11, by Hilary RadcliffeHumpty Dumpty: Humpty Dumpty

16th January 2008:
I love your stories. Although it was angsty, I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you continue to enjoy my stories, and it means so much to me that you review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Hilary RadcliffeA Christmas Wish: Chapter 12

25th December 2007:
So great. I wondered where you were going with this but I'm so glad you ended it like this. I especially like the last part about Christmas. Congrats!

Author's Response: I'm super glad you liked it...I wasn't sure how I'd end it either.
Merry Christmas!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hilary RadcliffeWatching Time Slip: Just a Bit Longer

29th November 2007:
Is this a Ron/Hermione romance? Or is it just about Hermione going back in time to watch?

Author's Response: It's both! :D She's going back to find out where it all went wrong, and she's going to try and change the past without getting seen, so her and Ron can have another chance at a relationship. Thanks for the read!

Muchlove,
Phoenixx
Jenna


 Report Review

Review #14, by Hilary RadcliffeParallel Lines: Parallel Lines

29th November 2007:
I love these stories. They make you think and they analyze so much detail. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm happy to get those gears turning! ; ) It means a lot to me that you enjoyed them enough to take the time to leave such a kind review. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Hilary RadcliffeA Knut For Your Thoughts: Confusion

26th October 2007:
Gah! It's interesting that you mention Twilight because I'm reading it right now! So good. I liked this chapter, even though there was no Ron/Hermione progress.

Author's Response: Sorry. Yeah, just about everyone at my school is reading it now. I still haven't read Eclipse but I really want to!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hilary RadcliffeResurrection: Revealed

30th August 2007:
I would have liked it to be just Harry, Ron, and Hermione who got the First Class-only because they contributed the most and they are the main characters. Plus, it would set Ron apart from all of his brothers. But, I do admire your decision to give it to everyone.

Author's Response: Haha you're thinking along the same lines as I was when writing this part. I thought that yes Harry, Ron and Hermione did a lot of the more important stuff in killing the Horcruxes, but you can't say that someone who died didn't give their all, it would hardly be fair to say that anyone in the Order had done any less than the trio. So yes it was hard to choose but I think another thing to remember is that even the Order didn't really know what Harry, Ron and Hermione where doing, they didn't know about the Horcruxes and so the Ministry could hardly give them an award for something they didn't know they did, so I decided to give it to everyone, because I think they all deserve it. anyway thanks a lot for the read and review!! -R@pier-

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hilary RadcliffeNineteen Years Later: Sortings, Letters & Things of the Past

13th August 2007:
Hooray for James living up to his namesake and maurauding!

Author's Response: Thanks! =]

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hilary RadcliffeEleven Years Later: Disarming

12th August 2007:
I was wondering if you were ever going to write about Harry telling his kids that he was really 'Neville'. They deserve to know who their father is and what he's done and I really can't see him keeping secrets this serious from them, especially because he himself hates it when people do that. Also, there's not really any Ron/Hermione or even any friendship moments between Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I just don't see them not spending time together after years of friendship and all of their adventures. I love this story to pieces but it doesn't seem real to me.

Author's Response: Fair enough...

I'll tackle the latter first, eh? :)

If you're talking about a lack of Ron/Hermione in this chapter in particular, then sure, absolutely. But in the fic as a whole? I daresay there's been just as much Ron and Hermione than there has Harry/Ginny. Chapters 1,2,6, and 7 have been entirely R/Hr and chapters 4,5,8 and 9 have been all H/G. Perhaps it just seems this way, as it's been two chapters since we've seen either Ron or Hermione :)

As for the trio... this is a much more substantial claim, and I actually had this very same thought just yesterday. On the other hand, By the end of the story (which will be the party where we will have the trio together of course) Harry and Hermione will have seen each other on 3 out of 6 days, and Ron and Harry will have seen each other twice that we know of (I'm sure Ron's visited Harry in St. Mungo's, we just didn't see it). I don't see this as being a particularly large number, but I don't think it's anything to sneeze at either. I think it's actually more realistic than having them get together every day, because as much as we all want to see our friends every day, adults lead lives busy with family and work.

As for the whole Neville situation... I'm not so sure that Harry would want his kids to know what he's done. It's evident (to me at least), that the kids don't know by the time they head of for Hogwarts 19 years later, and I'm basing everything off of that.

Harry has always kept secrets from people... he tried to keep the fact that his scar was hurting and the visions he was seeing from Ron and Hermione in Deathly Hallows. He also idolizes Dumbledore, and might feel inclined to follow in his footsteps in taking steps to ensure that his children don't grow up with overlarge egos (a la Malfoy).

Don't think I'm dismissing your criticisms out of hand Hilary, as I'm truly not. I give everything I do in my stories a lot of consideration before I actually do it, and if I can't come up with a justifiable canon reason to do something, I don't do it.

But I'm glad that you really like the story, and I hope you'll continue to read, even though it may have disappointed you a bit.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Hilary RadcliffeEleven Years Later: The End is Nigh

27th July 2007:
I'm really enjoying this story but maybe you should add in some Harry, Ron and Hermione moments. After all, their friendship is what makes the stories great.

Author's Response: I agree with you 100%.

But the trio's lives have changed so dramatically, that I don't think they've much time to be alone with each other anymore. There still the very best of friends, but the demands of career and family are great.

That being said, the Trio will get one shining moment in an upcoming chapter. Or perhaps not... who knows :)

Many thanks for the review, and the legitimate gripe.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Hilary RadcliffeEleven Years Later: Out of the Ashes

23rd July 2007:
Thanks for writing this! I loved the epilogue in the book but I felt like there was so much missing. I really wanted to know what happened to Luna! Do you think you could somehow work that into this story? Anyway, thanks so much again!

Author's Response: Rest assured that I have a very good idea for Luna. How I work it into the story is currently up for debate however. I'd kind of like her to show up in person rather than just mention her in passing, but I'm terrible at writing Luna. So we'll see...

But why are you thanking me? It is I who owe you a hearty thanks!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hilary RadcliffeGreen-Eyed Goddess: Lily's Surprise

6th July 2007:
Great! I really like the writing in this chapter.

Author's Response: thanks!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hilary RadcliffeSummer's Alterations: Epilogue

24th June 2007:
I loved the ending of this story. It took a while to get there but that's what made it so good. Congrats!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes it did, it took me...wow, six months! Once again, thank you very much and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hilary RadcliffeOnly One You: Moments of Clarity

24th June 2007:
The suspense is killing me!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Hilary RadcliffeWhere does the truth lie?: Bangs, Burns and Braveness

22nd June 2007:
Finally!

Author's Response: :P

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hilary RadcliffePretty Girl Is Suffering.: Keeping My Feelings Away.

22nd June 2007:
Will this story be all Ron/OC or will there be some Ron/Hermione? If you could clear that up at the beginning of the next chapter I would be eternally gratefull..

Author's Response: I honestly don't know where I'm going with this, I just do it as I go. It may end up Ron/OC for a little bit, Then ending with Ron/Herm, Or it could be reversal of that. I haven't planned it yet, But from here its going to be Ron/OC

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>