Reading Reviews From Member: Islander
  
145 Reviews Found

Review #1, by IslanderBeyond What the Eye Can See: Beyond What the Eye Can See

5th June 2008:
I think I shall favorite this story. I have such a tremendous crush on Luna Lovegood... her and Dagny Taggart from "Atlas Shrugged" are my two biggest fictional crushes ever. And you wrote Luna to a T.

I admit that I was at first expecting a Luna/Ron romance. But this story turned out better without the romance. There was something so... uncontrived about this story, something so completely perfect in the way Luna and Sirius became friends. All I can say is... wow! Great story!

Good news! Summer's here, and I'm writing again. I'll be updating "Dumbledore, Please Explain Your Twisted Logic!" more regularly, but not on this site, for obvious reasons. :D I hope that summer freetime has you writing as well.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D I was actually originally going to write it as Ron/Luna, but then the friendship aspect of Luna's (potential) relationships popped into mind, and I couldn't resist.

 Report Review

Review #2, by IslanderGuilt of the Innocent: Guilt of the Innocent

5th June 2008:
Aw, now THAT is a great story! You are doing something that not many people on this site do: you're picking out the minor characters and fleshing them out, instead of falling into convenient fanon versions of Hermione, Ginny, Ron, Harry, or Draco. As is evident from my own repertoire, I approve wholeheartedly! :D

Isn't it funny how so few male authors are willing to write slash stories, but female authors are? That is, of course, a generalization, but a rather accurate one. You did great with this Millicent/Pansy ship, by the way. I felt truly sorry for Millicent: the end made me want to cry. I'm quite fond of Pansy myself--ever since I read Jeconais' "White Knight, Grey Queen", which features a Pansy/Harry ship, my feelings have increased for that Slytherin girl. And if you haven't read any Jeconais fics at all, you are truly missing out (check out especially his three novel-length stories: "This Means War", "White Knight, Grey Queen", and "Hope").

Anyway, excellent all around! I'm off to read the other story you posted.

Author's Response: Thank you! I do love writing minor characters - there's just something so wonderful about giving them a voice, you know?

 Report Review

Review #3, by IslanderCORRUPTED...: Seduction

24th January 2008:
Hmmm... it was okay. Not as good as your other one-shot ("P(i)unk")that I read. This story was pretty stock in places. With Harry being the Horcrux and one of the trio being a bad guy and killing another one of the trio. The plot was too convoluted for a short story; you should have simplified it or else made the story longer. Oh, and "Avada Kedavra" was spelled incorrectly.

Not bad, though. Good try, but I still enjoyed the other one-shot better.

Author's Response: noooooo offense but...

i normally dont list things people did wrong when i review. a simple "could have been better" will suffice.


 Report Review

Review #4, by IslanderP(i)unk: Wotcher

24th January 2008:
Great story. I love thinking about Harry's life before he went to Hogwarts; not so many people seem to write about it, though (I did, in my one-shot "Making Friends").

And who can fail to love a punked-up Tonks? I certainly can't. Two thumbs up!

Author's Response: hurrah for 90's grunge punk!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: Epilogue: Out of the Fireplace and into the Parlor

30th December 2007:
Aw, it's done...! And it was brilliant! You've really gotten into the characters here; no creakiness even after 6 months' waiting. Commendations all around! Haha, Narcissa enjoyed that punch that Draco landed Lucius, didn't she? I did, too, for that matter. :D

Well, it's sad to see it come to an end, but it is better for you to end it at the right place and a bit sooner than to try to drag it out for another few chapters. Some fanfiction authors just don't know when to stop typing and ending their darn stories, so it's refreshing when someone says: "Hey... there's no more to write; let's wrap it up."

Final verdict: highly excellent! A funny, sweet, and romantic ride all the way.

P.S. I'm going to read "Lockdown" soon, don't worry. And I'll review it too. I haven't forgotten it. :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad I didn't botch up the characterizations. I was so nervous that I would! I think Narcissa probably did enjoy that punch (and I couldn't help myself when writing it); however much I love Lucius, he deserves to be smacked around from time to time, just to keep him in his place. :D

I'm so happy to have finally finished this. I thought it would never get done! And that's exactly what I thought; what point was there in letting it drag on when there was only one thing left to resolve?

Anyway, thanks for sticking with me through this! I'm so glad you enjoyed the whole thing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by IslanderRoundabout: Roundabout

29th November 2007:
*Feels completely fluffed* Marvelous! Sweet, sweet little piece! Remus/Sirius is by far my favorite Marauder's pairing, probably because everyone ignores Peter, and we never see many scenes with Lily or James in the books, so everyone makes them into Mary Sues. But I've always liked Remus, and I've always liked Sirius, and (as I've shown in my own writing) I'm not averse to slash pairings of either sex (or species, lol). As always, your writing is effortlessly done and just beautifulicious to read. Great, great job!

For a really good Remus/Sirius fic that's novel-length, read "The Dating Disasters of Sirius Black" by KabeyK. It's on fictionalley, I know, and it might be elsewhere too.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much, Islander! Remus/Sirius is my favorite Marauder (and slash, actually) pairing, and it's always fun to write about them. XD I do hate it when people ignore Peter, though... I always try and give him a line or two when I can! :D

Ooh, I'll be sure to check that one out!


 Report Review

Review #7, by IslanderCrossing a Bridge: The Letter

1st November 2007:
Awww, a cute little fic! Neat how Masie and Harry don't know that the other is a wizard/witch. This could make a nice novella, if you so intended (though of course if you didn't so intend, I won't bug you into doing it! :D)

Yupyupyup, here I am, just like I promised. It goes to show that reviewing other peoples' stories DOES pay off. :D Oh, and here's a quote for your self-made challenge:

"Ours is essentially a tragic age, so we refuse to take it tragically. The cataclysm has happened, we are among the ruins, we start to build up new little habits, to have new little hopes. It is rather hard work: there is now no smooth road into the future: but we go round, or scramble over the obstacles. We've got to live, no matter now many skies have fallen."

It's the first paragraph of "Lady Chatterley's Lover" by D.H. Lawrence, and it's like the best opening paragraph ever of any novel. The novel itself is well worth reading, too. So... see if you could build a story around that.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh! Thanks for the FANTASITIC review! Let's see if I can produce a good answer...

Thank you so much for coming and checking out my stories. I love Woes of a Midget Owl!

Thanks for the quote too, which, I think, will help me start the foundation of a very good story!

And lastly, I can't wait to check out Lady Chatterley's Lover from the library! It sounds, from the quote and your description, like a VERY VERY good book!

Okay, so....

Thanks again! I can't wait to check out more of your stories!


 Report Review

Review #8, by IslanderWitchcraft and Wizardry: Witchcraft and Wizardry

24th September 2007:
Yay! Another Founders story! You certainly like them, don't you? Well, I do, too, and you do an amazing job writing about them. I haven't tried my hand at the Founders yet... well, actually... sort of...

Okay, I might as well tell you. I'm working on another novel-length fanfiction at last. It's comedy again, about the Hogwarts students putting on a play. I won't say anymore now, but I think you can see where the Founders might come in. However, I can't start posting either until January after my piano concerto competition or until I reach chapter 10, because (being so busy right now with college stuff, etc.) I couldn't promise consistent updates until that point in time.

Are you much busier now that school's started? You're still managing a few updates, I see. What about "Inconceivably Interchanged"? How's that coming? Wow, how mean of me, pestering you for updates when I myself have none. :D But, you know, your stories are that good!

Author's Response: Whoo! They are addicting! The Founders don't get much love anyway, at least in comparison to the other ships, so I might as well give them some. XD

Oohh... I'm really intrigued! So I'll definitely keep an eye out for that. *grins* (Oh, and good luck with your competition!)

Gah. I feel really badly about not updating lately. I've been in a bit of a rut when it comes to fanfiction lately, and I haven't been able to figure out what is going to come next with Inconceivably Interchanged. I'd also signed up for some fic exchanges/fests on LiveJournal, so those sort of... took up a bit of time. XD Anyway, I hope to update soon... :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by IslanderApples, Oranges, and the Trees They Fall From: Apples, Oranges, and the Trees They Fall From

22nd August 2007:
Aw, that was really, really excellent! Once again you prove your skill with the Hermione/Draco ship. I've read one or two H/D stories I like, and maybe a G/D story, but your Hr/D romances are the only ones I have ever enjoyed. I'm not a big Draco-romance fan, at least not when it involves Harry, Hermione, or Ginny, but once again I've enjoyed it because you've created really a wonderful little story. It's also quite a realistic story, It isn't at all contrived, and it makes perfect sense that Hermione should look to attract someone else's affections when Ron wasn't doing so. And it's all very romantic without being soppy. Yumyumyum!! 10/10, of course.

Speaking of Draco romances, I confess I wrote one. With Ginny. Even though I hate the ship. But the ship serves the story in this case, not the other way around. That's how it was with my H/Hr romance in "Spinning in the Darkness", because I normally ship Harry and Ginny. I'll send the story to you in a day or two (once I've revised it). Toodle-oo for now!

Author's Response: Thank you, Islander! ♥ I'm really flattered that you say that... Although, it's the same for me when I read your stories. No matter the pairing, I'm bound to enjoy it. XD Anyway, I'm glad you found the part about Hermione looking "to attract someone else's affections" to be believable. I was a little bit worried that it was slightly out of character.

Hee hee, you sound as if you can't believe what you've just done! XD I admit, I was surprised to hear you'd written a Draco/Ginny story, but once again, it was still good. But I understand why you wrote it... sometimes your favorite pairing just doesn't fit with a particularly delicious plot! :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: Sleeping Narcissus

25th July 2007:
Wowwow!! And Hermione was just about to say the L-word, too!! Poor Hermione, accidentally kissing Draco's eyeball. That must be embarrassing!--also a good way to spread conjunctivitis, too. And then the real kiss--oh what romance!

Blast that little Fabian. Okay, well don't blast him for tipping Hermione off and thus bringing about the kiss. But blast him for interrupting! I can't wait for the update!

Author's Response: She was! XD I was going to leave the eyeball part out, but then I thought it would be too cliched/romanticy without it. Ha ha.

 Report Review

Review #11, by IslanderHer Little Heart: Her Little Heart

25th July 2007:
I was so so sad when Dobby died!!! Oh, and Hedwig, too! Why did so many of the cute animals have to die (of course you know how much I already love those creatures, since I've written so many fics about them!)? And Hedwig being so gorgeous, too... it'll be torture watching her die in the movie. Dobby, too, when it comes to it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Dobby so much! I still can't believe he's dead. :(

Poor Winky. I always thought the two of them should be together; I'm a Winky/Dobby shipper, after all. But now Winky's all alone! I about cried when I read this. Marvelous job!

Author's Response: Me too! I was so upset when Dobby and Hedwig died... Well, more shocked, really. I'm going to cry all the way through the seventh movie, just because so many of my favorite characters die. :(

I love Dobby/Winky. It's so sweet to think about! *sniffles*


 Report Review

Review #12, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: Fabian Prewett's Thesis

19th July 2007:
WHAT?!?!?! That's where it ENDS? Oh no, I have to have more!! *begs with puppy dog eyes* Smart boy, Fabian is--with an answer that Hermione and Malfoy might not like at first, but with an answer that'll have all us readers licking our eager chops. Hr/D snog--yumyum! Hoo, Hermione should be grateful they don't have to do MORE than snogging to undo the spell!

Gargh, I should be writing over the summer, too. But I got caught up in an original novella, which I just finished writing a few days ago after a month-and-a-half of work. I have this really good idea for a one-shot, but now it's too close to Deathly Hallows to post it now, so... it'll have to wait until after, I suppose.

Oh, I'm going to be visiting my grandparents on Saturday, so the 7th book is coming to my house and I won't be there!! *cries* But my oldest sister is going to be home, so she'll get to read it--BEFORE ME! *cries again and beats some indistinguishable object against the keyboard* Ah, the sadness of life...

Anyway, update, update!! :D

Author's Response: YES! THAT IS WHERE THE CHAPTER ENDS! Muh a ha ha ha ha!! XD But don't worry, there is definitely more on the way. I'm quite eager to write the next chapter, though I admit, I haven't started on it yet. And yes! Hermione should be grateful! XD

Wow. Good job! I haven't written any original stuff in ages. Though, I wish I had written some one-shots before I read Deathly Hallows, because now all of my plot bunnies are AU! *gasps in horror*

Anyway, have fun reading the 7th book! I read until my eyes blurred. Ha ha...


 Report Review

Review #13, by IslanderThe Day Rowena Ravenclaw Was Almost Hanged: The Day Rowena Ravenclaw Was Almost Hanged

19th July 2007:
Wow, I really really loved that! You've done a fantastic job at this action/adventure/romance story, as always, of course! I feel so guilty for not reading it before now (it's been like two weeks or something since you first posted it! eek!). But now I've read it, and I love it so much. I've never really read many Founder stories, so I can't really compare yours to others, but I must say I really enjoy yours all the same. This one was perhaps even better than "Flower Garlands"--maybe because the story line was a bit clearer, or maybe because I'm a boy and I like action along with romance.

You once bemoaned the fact that you weren't able to write really long chapters. Well, here's your long "chapter", though it's actually more of a short story. Even so, it's longer than your 3-part "Harmonious Wedding Story".

Anyway, great all around! Now I'm off to read the next chapter of "Inconceivably Interchanged"!

Author's Response: Thank you!! And that's quite alright, just as usual! It's always a pleasure getting reviews from you, no matter when you post them.

I think I like this one better than Flower Garlands as well, for pretty much the same reason. I mean... fluffy romance is nice, but there is nothing at all like a good actiony story that ends with people getting together. So for once (in a while, at least) I feel that I've done something really good. It has... a PLOT! *gasp* Ha ha...

It's insanely long, though, isn't it? And I wrote it in under twenty-four hours, which is also insane. I have no idea where all of those words came from! XD


 Report Review

Review #14, by IslanderIf Tom Riddle became a teacher: If Tom Riddle became a teacher

28th June 2007:
LOL!! Great parody/challenge! You tell it all so casually. And that's what makes it so funny!

 Report Review

Review #15, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: Fate's Marionette

24th June 2007:
*GASP!!!* It was worth the wait! Wow, what wonderfulness! Hermione and Draco are now definitely in love--but the question remains is how long until they tell each other?? And Dumbledore('s portrait) is behind this whole thing?? Here I was thinking nobody knew! Wow!

I reviewed one of your other stories yesterday or the day before and I asked about when this story was going to be updated. Then I came on today, and voila!! There it was, updated! How exciting! And you say the updates will be quicker now that it's summer. That pleases me uber much!

Author's Response: Hooray! I'm glad that it was worth the wait! Draco and Hermione are definitely in love... in different sorts of ways and degrees, I suppose. (If that makes any sense at all?) Unfortunately, they are both exceptionally stubborn creatures, so it will probably take a while for any confessions! XD And yes; Dumbledore is behind it again! He's very determined to play matchmaker (or "peacemaker". Heh). I'm really hoping that I'll be able to finish this story over the summer, as it would be nice, I think, to get something done! I've even got the next chapter started! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by IslanderThe Trials of Pursuit: The Trials of Pursuit

21st June 2007:
Excellent story! Cedric/Fleur is an interesting pairing and indeed out of the normal. Which makes me glad. It's so fun to read all these rarepairs you're writing! :D

So would this story be a bit AU, or is Cedric just sneaking behind Cho's back to give Fleur a goodnight kiss, etc.? I think it's the latter, because... well, I don't know why, but it's just seems a bit more fun that way!

Have you encountered writer's block with "Highly Improbable"? It hasn't been updated in a while. If this is the case, I do so hope your Muse comes along and fluffs up the plot bunnies of the story, because I love reading it! Keep up the uberlicious work!

Author's Response: Thank you, Islander! I stumbled across this ship and I just fell in love with it. I couldn't help but write a bit of a tribute to it! And I do love rarepairs...

I'm a bit mad that I forgot to explain that in the story... Originally, I was going to insert a small snatch of sentence like, "When Cho wasn't looking," or something like that... she's hiding by the punch bowl. XD So it's definitely the latter! (I don't like AU at all. Heh.)

More updates are on the way for that! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by IslanderThe Sorting of Luna Lovegood: The Sorting of Luna Lovegood

15th June 2007:
Wow, I love! Luna Lovegood is my most favorite character in all Harry Potter. I have a crush on her, since before Evanna Lynch was even cast in the role, that is! And you did quite a good job portraying her in this cute little fic. I smiled a whole lot and laughed, too! Great job! 10/10

Author's Response: Yep, Luna is awesome. I'm not a big fan of Evanna Lynch as her, though... Oh well, I'll get over it. :)

I'm always glad to make someone smile and laugh.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by IslanderA Harmonious Wedding Story: The End

3rd June 2007:
Now that's the kind of ending I like! Ron was perfectly sensible about it all. Many H/Hr fics make Ron be sort of anal, especially if he's thrown in as a love triangle sort of deal. But you did a great job wrapping it up. I hope he gets married to someone good! Maybe Luna. Luna is the most wonderful character in the world! Great story! 10/10

Author's Response: Hooray! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I was a bit afraid that Ron would seem too accepting of the fact that Hermione would rather marry Harry, so it's a relief ot know that you thought otherwise! Poor Ron; he's often so abused in fics... He SHOULD get married to Luna! XD

 Report Review

Review #19, by IslanderA Harmonious Wedding Story: The Middle

3rd June 2007:
You're so great at writing about people's thought! You can go on for paragraphs and make it all interesting and make it all build on itself until I'm completely into the story. I wish I could do that; I more rely on the action and dialogue because I'm scared I'll bore the readers if I go on too long with the thoughts. But you did perfectly.

And Harry's talk with Hermione--squee! I love it! I have to go on to the end to see what happens...

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! That's really a relief to hear, because I'm always worried that I'm rambling on and on and on and it's going to get pretty boring! XD

 Report Review

Review #20, by IslanderA Harmonious Wedding Story: The Beginning

3rd June 2007:
Ooh, wow, what a great beginning! The prelude was really cool, but Hermione's thoughts on not wanting to wed Ron are even better! Let me get on to the middle now.

Author's Response: Thank you, Islander! I hope you enjoy the rest!

 Report Review

Review #21, by IslanderOf Ribbons and Honesty: Of Ribbons and Honesty

22nd April 2007:
Oooh, I love Luna so so so so much!! I have a crush on her (no, not on Evanna Lynch, but on Luna)! And, after writing "The Scarlett Letter", I'm quite fond of Pansy, too. I love this story so much! What a wonderful pairing. And the writing, as always, is beautiful--as beautiful as Luna (which, by the way, is very much so). Oh, how ubertastic!

Author's Response: Thank you!

I love her, too! She's such a great character, I can understand you having a crush on her. And for some reason, I've been really fond of Pansy lately, as well. She's almost a rather addicting character when she's paired with people that you don't expect.


 Report Review

Review #22, by IslanderI Fancy Oliver Wood: I Fancy Oliver Wood

15th April 2007:
Oooh! What a nice, fuzzy-warm, fluffy story! You had me grinning like an idiot at the end, with the kiss and all. And don't worry about any cliche parts--the imaginative pairing (I don't think I've read any Katie/Oliver stories other than yours) more than makes up for it. And the grammatical errors--wait I'm trying to remember if there WERE any. I don't think so. The descriptions and everything were wonderful (as always), and there were even a few light touches of humor that had be grinning even more. Great job! You've converted me into a Katie/Oliver shipper by now.

P.S. My one-shot "About the Father of Ginny's Baby" isn't up yet because ffnet has decided to misbehave. But it's also on fictionalley, if you want to read it there (though the review system really takes some getting used to).

Author's Response: Aw, thankies, Islander! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I was so worried that the cliches would be overpowering. (Although I do love a good cliche now and again when a dosage of fluff is in order!) Hooray! I'm so glad to have converted you! XD I do love this ship!

I'll be sure to be on the lookout for your new one-shot. If I find it on fictionalley, I'll hold my review. The review system there is rather frightening. Heh.


 Report Review

Review #23, by IslanderHogwarts Sanitarium: Fury of the Father

12th April 2007:
Hmmm, the premise of this story is quite original. But I'm not quite into it... It moves a bit too quickly, and the descriptions could be stronger. Maybe a bit more detail might help out--spend a bit more time with each scene and flesh out the characters a bit more. The emotion is there, but is sort of dissipates when you don't build it up properly.

Good job, though. You've obviously done some things properly, seeing as you're on the top 10 lists. Keep writing! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I know it does, and I've tried to focus more on those things in my new fanfiction that's not out yet.

 Report Review

Review #24, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: All About Us

17th March 2007:
Wow, this is seriously a really, really great story! You're really growing as an author; the characterization and buildup of proper romantic tension is a lot better than in, say, "A Maid in Malfoy Manor", which you wrote a while back. I'm uber proud of you! :D

I love Pride and Prejudice! Funny that Draco should enjoy it so much--lol! But I can see Hermione enjoying it immensely--it's her kind of novel.

Oh, and where's Harry and Ron? It's most likely not important to the story, but I'm curious. Did you figure out what happened to their future lives, or is my focus in the wrong place?

Author's Response: Thank you SO much, Islander! I'm really very glad to hear you say that... I'm really rather ashamed of A Maid in the Malfoy Manor.

I love Pride and Prejudice as well! I admit that I haven't finished reading the book, but I've seen two film adaptations of it, which my stepsister and I squee over every few weeks or so. It's definitely her kind of novel, and I thought it would be funny to have Draco enjoy it. It's ironic, too. Both Draco and Hermione are prideful and prejudiced in their own ways.

Harry and Ron? I keep meaning to bring them up at some point, but then I forget. I guess it's fun to forget about them. XD They're off being Aurors somewhere...


 Report Review

Review #25, by IslanderInconceivably Interchanged: Cold Delirium

17th March 2007:
Oops, I did it again! I fell behind, and now I have TWO chapters to read. So I'll review them both, starting with this one.

Poor Malfoy. I just had a cold/fever this past week (still have the cold, not the fever), so I feel for him. But as for the delirious talK?? *gasps and looks highly, highly interested* Oh, what does this portend? Let me go on to the next chapter and see!

Author's Response: That's alright! I've fallen behind in answering reviews. I let over forty pile up on me. XD When I wrote this, I had a cold as well (and oddly, I have one now), so I thought it would be fun to make Draco suffer along with me. Hee hee. And I couldn't resist the "delirious talk". It was a good way for me to give Hermione a push toward fancying Malfoy again. XD

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>