Reading Reviews From Member: SilverDaggers
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverDaggersStill Delicate: Awkward.

21st September 2011:
Just to reassure you, I like Tom! I also like Scorpius, but sometimes life doesn't work out how we plan (I relate to Rose on a lot of levels :P) I'm very glad you've updated, I'd actually missed the chapter before this, I think I was away, so it was a double-whammy of treat time! TIME magazine? Any chance of a link or some more details? I had a quick look but couldn't see it straight away and have a feeling it'll take a lot of trawling through... impressive though, well done! Only 6 chapters left? There has to be a happy ending, right? Right? Please? James has to sort himself out, and Rose's life will come up roses (pun intended, awful I know. Sorry) and Scorpius will get his head screwed on and work out what he wants and everything will be brill, yeah? Can't wait for the next one!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SilverDaggersAnecdotes from the Hospital Wing : Chapter Eight

19th September 2011:
Hi. Where to start, erm. Ok. I only started to read this because it was on the homepage as a recommended story, it just would never have occured to me to search for something like this. But I'm so glad I did! I love Poppy, all her indecision and agonising. She's just the right blend of concerned and no-nonsense brusqueness. And Potts makes me giggle- in a school the size of Hogwarts of course there has to be a hypochondriac! I like how you have a handle on Minerva as well, very nicely done, and Dumbledore seems spot on. And Remus, oh Remus, I just want to cuddle him. The cage! *shudders*. Bellatrix is appropriately demented, and Narcissa as a drama queen seems fitting. Andromeda has a few tricks up her sleeve it seems, and sadly we know how the rivalry between Lucius and Benjy Fenwick ends :( And I really liked the mafia comparison. It seems fittingly sinister.

I'll be interested to see where you go with this, because eight chapters in and we're only a few weeks into the first year. I assume the periods between 'glimpses' will become longer as we get to know the characters more. Because if you keep up the amazing level of detail shown so far then this is going to be a story of epic proportions! Overall I'm very much enjoying it, and looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hello. Oh wow that's an extremely long review. I feel as though I should write an equally long response. (:
Well, I'll just say THANK YOU for all the wonderful detailed comments and taking the time to write all that! I really appreciate it. And I'm awfully glad you think my characters are going alright. (:


 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverDaggersEclipse of the Sky: Burn It To The Ground

20th June 2011:
I almost wet myself with excitement when I saw you'd updated! You, and this story, are the reason I got involved with fanfiction and this site. Over the next few weeks I'm going to go back and re-read the whole thing from the beginning. In short, I'm so glad you've got your mo-jo back!

Author's Response: Thanks SilverDaggers!!! I'm REALLY glad that you enjoyed the story before and hopefully it'll be the same with the new/upcoming chapters! I have to admit it's a little daunting getting back into writing fanfiction again but I realy want to finish this sucker! lol I hope all is well with you and thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverDaggersRipples: Awakenings

7th November 2010:
I am SO glad you updated, and also very happy that you plan to continue :) as for it taking three months to get a chapter out, I've been working on one for well over a year now and it just won't go right so I completely understand! Can I just say again how much I utterly and completely love Ripples. It's so different from anything I've read before- the whole concept is amazing, and it's really interesting to see young Minerva and co., which I admit I hadn't really thought that much about. And Augusta and Roger- so much love for them! It makes it better in a way knowing that they get their family and happy ending. You're amazing and I admire you greatly so please continue to do what you're doing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by SilverDaggersHow to tame a Marauder: Recovery

19th April 2010:
I've just sat and read this entire story, only stopping for tea, and I have to say I'm amazed. The attention to detail is so spot on that I would never have guessed you weren't British. Often, even though authors have done their best, it's fairly obvious by the odd slip up, but you've avoided them all. The seasons, the geography and the research you put into Bristol, Bath etc, the rugby, Mary's accent, things like 'Mum' instead of 'Mom', the colloquial slang, the fact that James's house is a Georgian manor. And your attention to the canon detail! Inflating Aubrey's head, Hairy snout human heart, the things in the prophet. All little things that a lot of people wouldn't have thought to include, but you have and it's wonderful! And of course it makes me feel better about my own obsessive research for my epic 1970s adventure.
All that aside as well, the characterisation is spot on (or seems it to me), the boys are fantastic, you've included Peter, Laura is believably flawed, Lily isn't a screaming harpy, and the way the relationships between Lily and James and Sirius and Laura evolved made me really believe in them (which is hard as I'm fairly cynical) and Remus! Oh Remus, the poor boy breaks my heart!
Needless to say I'm eagerly awaiting an update as this is the best story I've read in ages. Really, really well done!
Dawn

Author's Response: Hi Dawn! Thanks for the review! I do love getting reviews from new people ... well, really, I love all reviews, but you know what I mean.

And I'm most impressed that you read this entire story in one go, so to speak, because I'm the first to admit that I went kinda overboard. However, like you probably noticed, we have so little real canon from that era that I wanted to include as much as I possibly could. There was a lot of research, yes, but reviews like this mean that it's paid off so thank you!

And thanks for your comments about the British-ness of the story. Again, a lot of work went into that, and I've changed a few words here and there as British readers have picked up on things, but overall again it seems successful. I'm not American so the mum/mom thing wasn't an issue, but there are different terms for quite a few things in my part of the world so it's been a bit of a labour of love to try to get it right. Again, thank you!

Finally, characterisation. I was a bit sick of the same old same old with characterisation - Sirius is a player, James asks Lily out every five minutes, Lily is prim and hates James, Peter is dumb, bumbling and/or absent - because it didn't really fit with how I'd interpreted their characters. After all, JKR has SAID that Lily didn't hate James in that scene in fifth year, so I don't know why people are persisting with that. (Sorry. Rant over. I do get frustrated sometimes, though.) I'm also very pleased that you like the development of my characters and their relationships because that's kind of my thing, character development, and it was absolutely essential if this particular story plan was going to work.

Thanks again, and I'll be posting the next chapter early Wednesday GMT.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverDaggersDelicate: Call Me Mum

4th January 2009:
I don't tend to read a lot of next-gen fic- I don't think I've quite got my head around it yet- and generally what I have read has been awfully cliched, especially when it comes to Rose and Scorpius. But this has been a different experience. I came across your story on the 'top ten' or whatever it is page, and when I realised it was teenage pregnancy (not to mention Rose and Scorpius) I was apprehensive to say the least. I think it's the way you captured the characters that won me over. Even though Rose has inherited very obvious character traits from both parents, they aren't clones of the generation before set against a Romeo and Juliet back drop. Rose's sarcasm was also a bonus, I find I relate :) The entire story was well thought out, from the detail of the main plot to all the little intricacies that made up the background (one example that comes to mind is the differences between the Scamander twins) which made it a real pleasure to read. And for once I actually like James Potter II ! I also admire the way that the whole host of Weasley relatives have very clear-cut and different characters and opinions instead of just being lumped together as 'Weasley cousins'. I also love the humour, Chastity's revelation about Fred, and Rose and Scorpius constantly goading each other. Not to mention Lily's clear authority over her brothers, and James being James 'Lily told me I'm not allowed to argue with you' and 'Chillax Mum' in boxers and socks. Classy!

Not a very coherent review I'm afraid :( but I'm incapable of much more, and the only reason I haven't reviewed every chapter is because I've read the whole thing in one night. To sum it up, there's not a lot I didn't love and I eagerly await any form of sequel! Congratulations for the Dobby award too. it's well deserved :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by SilverDaggers150 Things I Am Not Allowed to do at Hogwarts: Things 4, 5, and 6

19th November 2008:
"Sirius emitted a warrior screech as he ran, jumping clear over desks, p***s flapping wildly in the air."

I think that is the funniest thing I've read in a while. I commend you. All I want now are things 7-150 :)

Author's Response: I know... ahh god the mental imagery...

I am so sorry. I'm swamped with college crap... i've got a huge research paper for ENC and a 10 page paper for PHI and math and psychology finals coming up... college = ugh.


 Report Review

Review #8, by SilverDaggersWe Gryffies: How Aberystwyth Can Reflect A Girls Internal Strife

14th May 2008:
“Interesting clan,” remarked J.D. “Troupe of Quidditch-playing children and a kumquat-eating dog.”

Made me laugh. Like actually laugh. Out loud! Now getting strange looks from fellow occupants of room. So glad I found this story. Following James's thought process is like being on some kind of drug, but it's so entertaining!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Ah, every writer wants to write an addicting story, and I'm glad that the only side effect of WG seems to be the giggles.

 Report Review

Review #9, by SilverDaggersAll That You Can't Leave Behind: Dizzy

23rd May 2007:
Whoo, update! I'd almost forgotten about this, and then BAM there it was at the top of my favourites list. My heart aches for Lily, silly girl that she is, of course she loves James! But Sirius... well let's just say I know where she's coming from. Glad to hear that there will be regular updates from now on, I'll be waiting!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sure quite a few others did too =). Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SilverDaggersWayward Son: Interlude

27th April 2007:
I've just read the entire story instead of working, but it's ok because it's brilliant. I don't normally enjoy next generation fics because they're generally badly written and cliched but this is wonderful and your characters are all really well thought out and developed. The glimpses of Draco and Pansy also show us that life isn't always perfect in the mad world of pureblood society. Can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you liked this Next-Gen story and that you didn't think it was cliche'd - I agree, they usually are. *bites nails anxiously* But apparently mine isn't. Joy!

Yes, I was curious about the pureblood life and wanted to write a bit more about it... Glad you liked it! Hope you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SilverDaggersPetunia's Fault: Petunia's fault

24th April 2007:
I actually really like this, which surprised me because I've never thought of Lily like this before. I think in terms of characterisation, Lily was slightly too horrible, but toned down a bit I think it would be perfectly believable. I really do like it. Maybe I'll read it again and leave a more coherent review

Author's Response: Uhh, yeah, I considered she's a little over-the-top mean, but I made myself feel better, by convincing myself she's only over-the-top because she goes away to school and doesn't get a chance to be mean for most the year!!




Anyway, Thanks


Cathy.xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by SilverDaggersI Fancy Oliver Wood: I Fancy Oliver Wood

23rd April 2007:
Aw bless. Oliver is so adorably stupidly clueless and it's very fluffy and sweet and made me smile. Thanks for sharing :)

Author's Response: I love clueless!Oliver. And I'm glad that you like him, too! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by SilverDaggersThe Untold Tale: Chapter Two: The One with Yeats

20th April 2007:
Good characterisation of Remus, he's human! and again, only slight problems with the flow sometimes. Good chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review again! I'm very pleased you like our take on Remus, I'm quite fond of him myself ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by SilverDaggersThe Untold Tale: Chapter One: The One In the Beginning

20th April 2007:
'an aristocratic chap' haha, sorry that made me smile :) I like it as a first chapter, though you might want to explain why Morgan has come to Hogwarts as transfer students can be a bit Mary-Sue ish... if it's all explained a bit later though then just ignore me. She seems well developed from what we've seen of her, espceially with the self-doubt at the beginning of the chapter. There a few bits that don't quite flow as smoothly as they could but I'm assuming that as you're from Finland, English is probably your second language? Overall a good first chapter though, and if you ever want anything looked over in terms of british-isms, I'll be happy to do it, just PM me :)

Author's Response: *beams* I'm happy that you found the chap relatively good, and yes, there is a reason why Morgan is there she's not the usual transfer student ;)

I really appriciate your offer for checking the chap for british-isims, and you can be sure I'll take advantage of that *grins* I'm a native Finn myself (though lived in Canada for a while) and my co-author is Belgian, so writing in English is a bit of a challenge for us. Though for some reason or another we both write much better in English rather than our native languages..ah the irony of life :p

Thank you so much for the review, it really means a lot to us as writers!


 Report Review

Review #15, by SilverDaggersIf the Ring Fits: In which Ginny almost loses a finger

23rd March 2007:
I'm favouriting it just for this line: Come and have some soup, dear,” she addressed the young man. Escorting him, perhaps a tad forcefully, to the table, she sat him down. “You look terribly underfed.” brilliant!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much! I'm very flattered you liked it. Hehe, Mrs. Weasley is so much fun to write...kind, motherly and a tad overbearing...

 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverDaggersDry your eyes: One single moment...

14th March 2007:
I just had to comment to say that I haven't heard this song for years and all of a sudden I had a rush of memories from reading the lyrics. You probably didn't need to know that... nevermind. Poor Harry, is he going to mope? I'll have to read the rest and find out. Anyway, good job

Author's Response: I love this song, and the emotion it evokes. I'm glad to hear it has the same effect on you! I look forward to hearing your thoughts on my ending.

 Report Review

Review #17, by SilverDaggersHollow Bones and a Shallow Grave: With ot Without You

13th March 2007:
Ideas eh? I kinda want to find out what happens when Harry gets to school. Presumably he'll know Neville before Hogwarts because James gets on with Augusta? Will Ron and Hermione still be his best friends? It's a huge jump in time I know, I just thought it might be interesting to see. Anyway, another brilliant chapter, James is delightfully clueless, just how I like him, and Lily is quite brilliantly crazy. I imagine James and Sirius's reunion would possibly take place amidst copious quantities of alcohol and that they'd have a very deep, meaningful, drunken conversation that neither of them remembers the next morning, but somehow everything works out ok. You can't keep torturing them, they need each other! And I find the idea of drunken James absolutely lovely, I imagine he'd be very earnest and affectionate shortly before passing out.
In case you hadn't guessed, I love this story and how it's written, update asap!
Dawn,
sending all form of inspirational goodies and hugs and firewhisky to get you in the mood.

Author's Response: Sequel planned, most definitely. If only for the delightful possibilities that will concern James marching into school, into Snape's classroom and chewing him out publicly for bullying Harry and Neville.

He will know Neville, because James will take an interest in his upbringing - as for Ron and Hermione - well, Im of the belief that certain things are fated, and even if they don't come together in the way that they have in the books, I will have my Trio, dammit.

I have decided that I like Lily, I got a little tired of writing her as the paramount of goodness and sensible shoes, so I made her kind of...well, yes, crazy fits. I like having her be a bit cruel and cold on occasion (after all, she and Petunia were related), but she and James seem to fit together...

Oh there will always be drunken Sirius and James conversations. I think I should have a third section to this 'Present', 'Flashback' and 'Drunken Sirius and James' chapters. Both of them are too manly to attempt a serious conversation while sober, but I think I might have them try...at least for a bit. You're right about them needing each other, I don't plan to keep them apart for much longer.

Thanks so much for the review, Dawn - I wrote down some thoughts and paragraphs for the next chapter, here's hoping I get another burst of inspiration.


 Report Review

Review #18, by SilverDaggersHollow Bones and a Shallow Grave: Wicked Game

9th March 2007:
I think I've fallen in love with you. This whole thing is just so brilliant and realistic and painful and oh James, poor James, and Petunia, and the funeral and...and... oh it hurts. James needs a huge hug and some strong liqueur. His grief over the Longbottoms was wonderful as well, maybe some flashback Frank and Alice would bring their characters to life and add more angst to the ANGST. I don't know, wonderful work though. Update soon!

Author's Response: Of course. How could I resist adding fuel to the fire? James will be going through more troubling times, especially now that he's broken down the emotional barrier that has kept him from mourning properly. More Frank and Alice. I've written them before and love the characters I've decided so...they'll be back, with more Alice this time. I think it's time Harry and Neville had a playdate.

 Report Review

Review #19, by SilverDaggersThe Beginning of the End: Segue the first

28th January 2007:
I found this on my favourites list and couldn't remember what happened so I started rereading it and remembered exactly why I loved it so much in the first place! Great job :D
Though when the boys are talking about Amelia's haircut you've written Lily Potter instead of Lily Evans, in case you wanted to change it, but that's the only thing that jumped out at me.

 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverDaggersMove Along: Tainted Black

25th January 2007:
Oh no way! Poor James. I suppose the 12 re-writes are justified :P but now I want more! But James is going to be sad and hate Sirius and possibly Lily and it'll be all difficult and it's all Snape's fault! grr. Have a quick 2 week break and then straight back to writing!! because I love it
Dawn x

Author's Response: LoL, so many "poor James" reviews. I wonder how long that will last...

 Report Review

Review #21, by SilverDaggersGive Us A Kiss, Minerva!: Give Us A Kiss, Minerva!

21st December 2006:
Haha that was brilliant! I really don't have much more to say than that. You had me in stitches. *Loves on you*

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Silver. It's nice to hear such lovely comments!

 Report Review

Review #22, by SilverDaggersRemembrance: One Way or Another...

20th November 2006:
Ah Jessi how I love you, even if you are a deatheater... I've just sat here and read complicated hexagon and remembrance and no matter how weird it gets (harry and hermione?!) it's still fun. I don't quite understand the whole 'dual realities' thing though, but I'm sure I'll get it eventually.
*huggles jessi for her beautiful stories* thankyou for entertaining me!

And how on earth did sirius get to be chester? argh remind me never to mess with time if it gets this confusing.

Author's Response: *huggle* Thank you so much!! I know - H/Hr - weird and so off the rocker... But, it's necessary for something that happens later... you'll see =) Sirius/Chester - tis an interesting tale - that will be told in chapter 11. Hehehe.. maybe. =P But, yes, time travel is very messy - causes insanity *giggle*

 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverDaggersHarry Potter and the Fatal Fury: The Fatal Fury

19th November 2006:
That was brilliantly written! I think I'm in love. YOU KILLED RON!! Evil, evil evil! What will Hermione do now? I don't know what to say. I hate you for killing Ron like that, it was harsh and unexpected. But I love you for your awesome awesomeness and ability to draw me so completely in to the story.
You killed Ron... Marry me?

Author's Response: If that's a marriage proposal I'm sorry to say that I'm already taken! :-) I'm glad you're enjoying the story though.

 Report Review

Review #24, by SilverDaggersEclipse of the Sky: The Power of Anger

16th November 2006:
I'm glad everything's a bit better for you now and that you're continuing to write. I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this story, it was Eclipse of the Sky that brought me to hpff originally and I owe you a huge amount of thanks. I'm also completely in awe of your writing, it's chilling and beautiful and always keeps me on the edge of my seat. Thankyou so much!

Author's Response: Aw thanks SilverDaggers! I'm glad that all of this drabble that I write actually got you to discover the site! :) It's an excellent one, but wow...my writing is chilling? That may be one of the best compliments I've ever gotten! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #25, by SilverDaggersBecause Tomorrow Is Another Day: Because Tomorrow Is Another Day

30th October 2006:
Yay! There's not nearly enough good Sirius/Lily out there but this is great. Really in character, and really quite hot!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>