Reading Reviews From Member: Karou_Marauder
  
94 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karou_MarauderAlways: Immeasurable

14th July 2014:
Hey there!

I really like the start, how Remus describes the transmission (is that the right word?) between life and death. It's the way I'd imagine him to describe it, relating to books and stuff.

Haha, I love that little bit about the skillet. It gives us an insight to the Potters' lives and what they're characters are like, which totally fits with my headcannon.

I feel so bad for Remus, pulled out before he can live a whole life with Dora and Teddy. Teddy...gah, it's too sad! You convey that really well though, Remus's emotions and thoughts about them.

It's so sweet how James is the protector. It's an interesting side to him - I'm taking a shrewd guess that you think it was James's idea to become Animagi? That's probably wrong, but it's a nice characterisation in this story anyway.

That made no sense, did it? :P

Anyway, I love the ending scene and how they're gambling for old times' sake.

-Karou

(PS. It's really nice to be able to leave a review without worrying about the length, isn't it? :P)

Author's Response: Howdy Karou!

I'm really glad you like the transition. I wanted to do something a bit different with it that was not overused or cliche, so hopefully I did that.

And oh, the skillet. For some reason I think Lupin would've been broke before the wedding and mostly alone but would know that James would not have thought of cooking and Lily might've had other wishes so he wanted to look out for them. Honestly, it was a bit of a device to draw some lines in the characterizations of each Marauder, but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

As for James being the protector - I definitely think it was his idea to become animagi. My idea of James is that beneath the bravado and pranking, there was immense talent, loyalty, and a wealth of emotion for those who were important to him. Sirius on the other hand I view as more WYSIWYG. With his whole family situation, I imagine he would've been completely sick of not begin able to be himself and so once he was free of them he just put himself out there. And as far as the humor goes, I imagine in dark times it was his go-to coping mechanism. It inhibits him from being as close to people in those moments, but those who know him well come to accept it as a good thing and just part of who he is.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Karou_MarauderMe and my Darkness: C5, Again

14th July 2014:
Hi there!

Ooh, creepy... So Clarence is actually Bellatrix Lestrange? Weird!

One of my favourite lines is: "that sun-setty colour rampage over my eyes." I like that line.

And I wonder what Scarlet's hiding? Something that her mum told her...hm...

No the darkness is back! I was feeling so hopeful, like "oh there's colours and it's all happy" but now there's darkness again and it's sad...poor Scarlet.

I wonder what her nightmare was about?

See ya in the next chapter!

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #3, by Karou_MarauderAresto Momentum: Time is my enemy

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was really sad. I guessed it was Rowena from the library you mentioned, that was well-placed, and by the end I was guessing that the narrator was Helga? Because I think Slytherin had left by then. Tell me if I'm wrong!

It was so sad, how Rowena was calling out her daughter's name. Even though she stole the Diadem, she still wanted forgiveness. It's better that you don't say exactly what happened - even though we all know, it gives you the sense of unresolved-ness that Rowena must have felt before she died.

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #4, by Karou_MarauderWhen Potions Masters Attack: Stress Relief

12th July 2014:
Hi there! Stress relief indeed!

I love how spring brings out the couples, like it does for animals. And of course Snape is going to find that irritating, he's Snape and he can barely stand the sight of students on their own, never mind paired up with one another.

The one of the best lines: "And do not even consider trying to get anything out of the broom cupboards during springtime. The need for supplies is not worth the deep psychological scars you will receive. Even now I am considering erasing my own memory simply to be rid of the horror." SO FUNNY!! :)

McGonagall doing yoga is also hilarious, as is the fact that Snape frequently goes to her to rant. I think he secretly likes her ;)

Snape's prowling is hilarious! And the last line, " you of all people would recognise yoga when you see it" is just... Brilliant.

-Karou :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Karou_MarauderThe Unexpected Guest: The Unexpected Guest

12th July 2014:
Hi there!

This is so sad. Fred and George fics always make me tear up.

Of course Fred is going to watch his own funeral, that's just what he'll do. I love how everyone's wearing colourful robes, even Muriel. That's what Fred would want.

The banter between them, even though Fred's dead, is so weirdly normal, and it must be so strange for George to be talking to his dead twin. The love between them is obvious and shown really well. You've captured that beautifully.

And poor Weasleys... I hate how Fred's death tore them apart. They're so strong, and with him gone it's like they all lost a limb. I think George lost several.

Mischief managed, indeed. *wipes tear from cheek*

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by Karou_MarauderAll Grown Up: Looking Down

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

This is really sweet. I think you've captured Tonks's frustration at not being there for Teddy really well, and I love how Andromeda stops to curse her "for just a moment" because Andromeda is annoyed at Teddy and she's missing Tonks, but she can't stay angry at Tonks for long because Tonks is, well, Tonks. (and dead, but we'll forget that part for now ;) )

I like the way you've written them to be accepting of his "shameless snogging" and how, instead of being annoyed that he does it in public, they simply want her to love him back, as though death has changed their priorities a bit. (Well, it probably would.)

Really nice and sweet. It's quite short, but that's fine. :)

-Karou, 2014 House Cup

 Report Review

Review #7, by Karou_MarauderAlbus Potter and the Pureblood's Secret: Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

Ooh, Gemma's in trouble! Serves her right too. I'm glad John is happy with her punishment, and doesn't want to give her more. That'd be mean.

Poor Burke. I do feel bad for him, even if he is selling illegal Polyjuice Potion. Hang on, is Burke a Pureblood? Or is it the Williams' the title is referring to? Sorry, random brainwave.

Er, yeah, so I feel sorry for Burke. He's such an excellent brewer, and having that disease must be killing him. Oh, no, no, sorry - wrong wording! :P I mean he must hate being unable to brew his potions and having to rely on someone else all the time. That must suck.

Another reason why I don't want anything bad to happen to Burke is Matt. He's suffered so much and if Burke's potion was taken away from him I don't know if he could cope. Could he? Please say yes, because I want Burke to be punished for being illegal. Ugh, this is so frustrating!!!

Grr, Malfoy. He's such a show off! Although, seeing Matt completely thrash him next Charms will be awesome. Malfoy's definitely getting his come-uppance this year: first Lily, now Matt, and I'm sure Mr Eckerton will give him what he deserves ;)

As always, great chapter. Can't wait for the next one!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: She sure is! She's quite the troublemaker, and unlike John, doesn't quite know when to draw the line.

Burke's situation is very tragic. It's one of those situations that makes you question the morality of the law. Burke is in fact a pureblood, but he might not be the pureblood the title is referring to. There are quite a few purebloods in this series. Burke, John, the Willinsons, Malfoy, Neville, just to name a few.

HAHAHAHA. I love a good pun, even if it comes off in poor taste. It does suck that he can't brew, because that's what he loves doing the most.

Matt might be able to cope without the potion, but it'd be a lot harder for him than it is with it. Amy would of course do all she could to figure out the recipe if something were to happen to Burke before he passed it on.

Malfoy is a huge show-off. He always has been. But he's not the best at everything, including nonverbal spells. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Karou_MarauderA Voyage with Voldemort: Ibiza

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

Voldemort as a fashion model, and Snape as a clothes designer... I honestly never thought I'd see something like this! This was hilarious. :D

I love how their biggest rivals are Harry's Hipsters, and that Snape's wearing a Luna Lovegood t-shirt. That's so funny.

I did spot this tiny little thing though: "into the living room already to vent" I think you mean "all ready"; that would make more sense to me anyway. It's only small, though.

I knew it! Snape flipping his hair back and forth was very funny, especially when he splattered grease everywhere. I had a feeling it was a reference to that song.

Voldemort in fluorescent pink speedos...the books will never be the same.

And Quick Ways. I think I know who you mean ;)

-Karou :) 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by Karou_MarauderVisiting Daddy: Broomsticks, Soup and Visits

11th July 2014:
2014 House Cup Review

Hi there!

James is really sweet and funny, acting just like a little kid does. I especially like the part about how he flew 10 feet in the air, because a) we know he's lying, and b) I'm wondering whether he can actually measure yet. How old is he? I thought maybe five-ish.

Ginny is very Ginny-ish - totally devoted to one thing, James, and still very much in love with Harry. And I like how she told James that Harry was dead; she didn't say "he's away" or anything, she just said the truth. That's definitely something Ginny would do.

It was so sad at the end, and not telling that Harry was dead until the end definitely made it better. I like how you've done this :)

-Karou

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the kind review :)

I'm glad you like James, he was great to write about because kids are so sweet! You're spot on with the age, he got the broomstick for his 5th birthday :)

Thank you again,

PM21


 Report Review

Review #10, by Karou_MarauderThe Plan: The Plan

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

2014 House Cup Review!

Plot: Okay, now that's dealt with. I thought this was so mean of James! That's a horrible thing to do, even if Al belonged in Slytherin anyway. That prank was taken way too far. And te fact that Al actually belonged in Slytherin - total backfire on James. That was nice (but maybe not for Al).

Characterisation: James is a real naughty boy, isn't he? We get a flash of that in the Epilogue, and you've really expanded on that. Who knew he was such a prankster? But that was a bit far.

Al has some of the quietness we see in the Epilogue, but to be honest I think he's a bit too accepting of his Slytherin status. In the Epilogue, he was really really against it. I don't think he'd be that quick to accept - but that's just my opinion!

Great idea though!

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #11, by Karou_MarauderHermione Granger is going to Hogwarts : Chapter 1

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

Okay, so I want to get this out of the way first: "Dad had quickly followed, as had Filius, despite his lack of invitation into their home)"
There's a random bracket after 'home' that you don't need.

"a truly exhausting day. Hermione's had" This is in the last paragraph - I think you mean her parents?

Now that's over with, I really liked it! It's a Missing Moment-type scene. You've got Hermione's bookishness down - I love how her first bit of magic was to keep her book dry! And Flitwick seems to be his normal enthusiastic self.

I think it's funny how Hermione didn't realise her dad didn't remember, and that Flitwick had to give him his memory back. And that was a nice bit about Justin Finch-Fletchley.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by Karou_MarauderHC Event 3 - Secrets: Prompt 3 - Friendship

10th July 2014:
Hiya!

Wow. Okay, interesting way to start the story! You've shown us Draco's emotions after what happened on the Astronomy Tower very well, and we get a feeling of the self-hate he's experiencing. Though a little more Show Not Tell wouldn't go amiss. :)

Ah, Luna. Her ability to mess with someone's head rivals that of a Wrackspurt, does it not? ;) She manages to confuse Draco well and truly, and it's interesting that she thinks he's kind. I mean, he didn't kill Dumbledore, but he did let the Death Eaters in. That's not kind, is it?

Luna is such a sweet character. It's nice to think that she's the reason Draco hesitated to identify Harry. She's really interesting, and I think you've got her pretty well.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by Karou_MarauderThe Hidden Joys of Naptime: And it Starts

10th July 2014:
Hi there! This is so adorable, especially Ginny's part. "I am going to marry Harry when we are all grown up, like when we are nine. Yeah that's good. And we are going to have fourteen little boys and I am going to be a mommy." That's so cute, and just what little kids do.

I feel kinda sorry for McGonagall - Miss Minnie, really! - and having the Idea thrust upon her without proper explanation. Dumbledore's never one to reveal all his thoughts at once, but usually he explains a bit more than that!

Hermione is very Hermione-ish, even at this age. And Ron is staring at her - obvious, much? :P Malfoy, as usual, is being mean and horrible. Great characterisation!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review, Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #14, by Karou_MarauderPink cats: Pink cats

10th July 2014:
Hiya!

At first it seems relatively simple, with Umbridge wanting to find a bathroom, but then it turns out to be a bit more than a bathroom that she finds. I thought it'd be the Room of Requirement, but no! It's the Mirror of Erised. And of course she's going to see herself as Headmistress of Hogwarts. It's a position that puts her in power over children and she's been after it for a while. And then Minister for Magic, obviously - she's a very power-hungry woman.

I can't believe - well, I can - that she thought of using the room to torture more students. She's awful, isn't she?

Haha, apprehending Harry because he saw her giggling. That's one of the most stupid reasons I've ever see a detention given for - but Umbridge doesn't care, does she? No. And, I have to admit, that was a smart way to find her way back.

I think, personally, she was getting lost because Hogwarts wanted to confuse her!

I did find this: "she was already making planes". I think it's supposed to be "plans"?

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review, Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #15, by Karou_MarauderOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hiya!

Plot: I loved this! Having McGonagall get Umbridge back in such a subtle way that doesn't get Gryffindor in trouble is very satisfying :). I also liked how you showed the friendships between the Heads of Houses, and how the school looked to McGonagall to carry the weight while Dumbeldore was gone.

Characterisation: You've managed to get McGonagall pretty well; we see her dry humour as well as her devotion to her house, and the sternness for trouble-makers. Flitwick is very good too, helping out McGonagall, and Umbridge is as despicable as ever.

Other: It flows well and I didn't spot any typos or anything. I also like how Umbridge is breaking her own Decree, and that she can't complain or dock points because of it. She definitely deserves that!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review, Educational Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #16, by Karou_MarauderTeddy and Lumpy: Master Adventurer

10th July 2014:
Awww!!! Cute. :) Hi.

It was really funny when Teddy said he hated it when things are called 'grown-up'. I remember hating that too. Adults have that annoying habit of forgetting that every child thinks they should be allowed to know the Grown-Ups' Business, and Teddy is clearly no different.

"Almost." Haha.

Those pesky gnomes, always causing trouble! Young Teddy's so cute. I like how he has to explore the whole garden, and then when the gnomes come he uses that as an excuse to go all over the place.

Horklumps are so weird. I'm guessing that the spikes are how it eats, and it senses stuff through the spikes? Aw, Teddy's changing his hair colour to match the Horklump. Cute!

Oh, and Lumpy is definitely one of the most creative and superb names I've ever heard. ;)

-Karou, 2914 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hi :).

That is one thing I do remember from childhood, is just never being old enough to do grown-up things. Though, now that I am "grown-up", I'd like to be told that I'm not old enough to do certain things sometimes... ;).

Heheh, he clearly just HAD to find something to defend against the gnomes, didn't he? :p

Horklumps were fun to research, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them was a ton of help. Though, they didn't quite cover how exactly a Horklump ate...

Lumpy is an awesome name, isn't it ;).

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Karou_MarauderThe Three Ds: Devotion.

10th July 2014:
Hi there! N'awww, this was sweet. You show Ron's love for Hermione really well, in the Show Not Tell way that always works best. I also like how you portray Hermione: she's rolling in the compliments and obviously likes Rom, even when telling him off/pointing out his mistakes.

It took me a moment to work out it was from Wilkie's POV, but it worked oddly well. Not strange, I just mean I wouldn't have expected it to be from his POV. It's funny how examiners get attached to the kids they're examining, and I loved the part about him feeling like "pinching his cheek and ruffling his hair as an old and wise grandfather would do. Go get her, son." That's so cute, and shows that Wilkie has had experience in this sort of thing.

I also love the way you keep bringing it back to the 3 Ds, and then adding a new one, Devotion, at the end was so sweet.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by Karou_MarauderClementine: Clementine

10th July 2014:
Hiya!

Aw, this is cute! You've shown Fleur as insecure about her dress for the first time, which kinda foreshadows the fact that he's the one for her, as we know by the fact that they end up married. :P It's also really cute that he gets an orange rose, to match her dress. It shows he thought about it and about her a lot over lunch. Fleur's little bit of self-doubt, uncommon for her, is nicely placed too.

It's so sweet that Bill bothered to learn French just for her sake, because she's French. It again shows how much thought he's put into her and asking her to dinner. It's also kinda funny that his accent is terrible. I dunno, I just found that little part funny :P

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #19, by Karou_Marauder a goodbye in three parts: Today

10th July 2014:
Dean is now crying? So is Karou. So should everyone that reads this.

Like, seriously, I don't even know anymore. Why is your writing so perfect?! The way you've chosen your words and the simplest things carry so much power and, just, urgh. WHAI.

I can't believe you killed Luna, that's not supposed to happen. Luna is supposed to, like, live on forever in the trees and the Dirigible Plums or something! Ack.

But seriously, I've read this a few times already and each time has left me blown away. Lines like "I've added you to my ceiling" are just so perfect and so Luna, it's amazing. And that part about Luna saving people, just...

Yeah, so basically I love you and your writing and you're perfect and keep writing okay?

-Karou :) 2014 House Cup Review
(Go Gryffindor!!)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Karou_Marauderlow tide: a meditation

10th July 2014:
Hello!

The sea-theme throughout is so powerful. Water is a constant flow, an endless cycle, and that captures George's emotions so well.

That dead piece of seaweed at the start was great imagery, and you linked it well. One of the things I like here is how every tiny little thing associates with a memory to do with Fred or the Battle, and how George isn't crying he's just breathing and focusing on the constant, eternal waves and focusing on living. Fred would want that.

"Between you and the boulder are a few trails of small footprints in the sand; you wonder whether a new group of carefree children is discovering the tide, or if the impressions in the sand are faded images from the past, where you and Fred walked years ago." I particularly like this part here, and how George isn't sure whether the footprints are real or not. It shows us how he's still attached to Fred, still half-living in his memories - but he's laughing at Angelina, and we see he's not completely drowned in grief.

This is a very powerful one-shot. Every word really does count, and I think that's amazing.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hello! It's wonderful to hear you say that the sea theme is powerful. There is a certain calm in the power and cycles of the ocean, and it was no coincidence that I chose to set the fic at the beach.

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked the memories and how everything linked together from the memories to the seaweed on the shore. You picked up on all the subtle things in this story and that is so lovely to see :) Your interpretations of the story are wonderful too! I really appreciate that you called this story powerful - that's an incredible compliment. Thank you so much for your kind review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by Karou_MarauderA Hundred Bloodied Sunsets: we will remember

10th July 2014:
Hello. So I'm actually tearing up right now, because you've blown me away by the stunning word choices and similes used to convey the sadness and loss felt by every wizarding family after the war.

The sunsets and sky themes throughout are particularly powerful; the way you use times of day to indicate each individual character is amazing. I can tell which character will be next without even reading the names. And the little parts about their families and relatives afterwards are just so sad, how they're moving on but still remembering.

The parts of Harry's toast to the fallen (I'm assuming that's what it is) are brilliantly written and placed too. It's so well-worded and powerful, and you can tell he means every word of it. Particularly the phrase at the end, "We will remember them," just on its own conveys a whole bunch of feelings like sadness and regret, but also relief that the war is finally over.

This is really amazing.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by Karou_MarauderYou. (Me).: You. (Me).

10th July 2014:
Hello!

This is a really different take on Victoire (and Teddy). I suppose, in some ways, her Veela blood will make her prettier than other girls, and that could be a burden. I suppose that, just because Fleur was confident with it, doesn't mean Victoire will be.

I like the way you've put Teddy second, in italics as though he's an afterthought to her, one of the many that call for her and can't see past her face. It's nice that you don't tell us why her heart is so battered and bruised, why she turns everyone away, because it gives us a feeling of mystery and in-completeness, which is what Teddy must be feeling.

"a single tear rolls down my imperfect cheek" This is really nice, casually telling us that Teddy cells unworthy beside Victoire's beauty and perfection. And the earlier quote "My unworthy eyes" does the same.

Poor Teddy. ;)

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by Karou_MarauderVoldemort and the Epic Recession: Voldy's New Job

10th July 2014:
I think i just died of laughter.

Seriously.

Okay, just the idea of Voldemort working in Tesco's is priceless. And the fact that people come in and laugh at him, and George makes him clean up the prawn and potato salad is hilarious!

Haha, Voldemort tried to get a book deal and a film. But you have to feel for the guy. I mean, he went from famous and feared almost-ruler of the wizarding world, to Tesco's worker unable to even get a book or film. Harry keeps stealing his opportunities. Maybe this is the new plan to keep the Dark lord down.

"Mr. Riddle, you are wanted by the authorities on over five hundred counts of murder, kidnapping, fraud, extortion, theft, assault, and money laundering, and you also owe over 2 million pounds in unpaid taxes, so I'm afraid you are not eligible for unemployment benefits. Have a nice day."

I died on this bit. Just the frank tone she used to list his felonies, and the fact she just sends him off without calling the police or anyone is hilarious. The whole thing is hilarious!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

I find great amusement in picturing Voldemort doing mundane everyday things. Like, can imagine him waiting at a bus stop? Or walking a dog?

I loved writing that line, I wanted to sum up the total absurdity of the situation.

Thanks a lot!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Karou_MarauderHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

10th July 2014:
I LOVE FRED AND GEORGE!

I mean, hi.

This is such a cute little one-shot, and I was really sad-happy at the end. Of course George is going to see the shop, it's where a lot of Fred memories will have taken place, and it's the place George will associate most with Fred.

It's kinda sad that he's hopeful he is dead. I mean, if he's dead then he'll see after again, but he's leaving his kids and wife.

Also, I like how you've said that he and Fred tested out the shop before it opened to make sure it was "fun enough". That's something they'd probably do.

So yeah, this was really sad-happy. :)

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #25, by Karou_MarauderFlutter: Flutter

10th July 2014:
Hiya! This is for the House Cup and also the Review Race in the common room :)

Plot: Snitches! And Snidgets! I've always thought of latter as cute, and you've turned them into respectable and wise creatures. Which they probably are. I also like how you made Bowman into a magical smith, and that's how he was able to make a Snitch. If that's not canon, then it's my new headcanon.

Characterisation: We see Bowman's determination to help Caro - and therefore all Snidgets - and also his longing to see the girl again. What was her name, anyway? She seems very mysterious and otherworldly.

Description: You describe the Snidgets well, and you give a great description of the girl - I feel so sorry for Bowman, never knowing her name. The second person POV works really well here too.

Go Gryffindor!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>