Reading Reviews From Member: awesomepotter
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by awesomepotterPsyche: Prologue

30th August 2014:
Hi! Here for the Gryffindor review exchange - I'm sorry this took me so long!
I enjoyed this a lot - whilst, personally, I'd never heard of the Greek myth before, I thought it was a very well written one-shot with excellently portrayed characters. I like the personality you made for Dominique - the controlling, egotistical girl who always needs to be on top came across very strongly and the way she dominates the rest of her 'posse' was very convincing at the beginning, although I loved how some of the girls at least clearly didn't adore her as much as she thought, given the comments after she left. As a character who isn't actually featured in the original HP series, we don;t really know much about her, so having a bit of a blank canvas to work with can both be a curse and a blessing, really - you have a bit of freedom in how you portray her, but then again, sometimes this can mean that the character ends up as being incredibly random and off-putting for readers to read about. However, I think you really nailed it down well in Dominique, which can be a hard thing to do in only a one-shot. Her character is so well-defined in this that it does really make the one-shot a lot more enjoyable to read, and makes the writing engaging and overall a very well-written story. Well done!
I also like your description in the piece - especially the first sentence, which I found created a really vivid image in my head (that might sound a bit weird, but I hope not) when I read it. I thought your use of descriptive sentences was really effective in reinforcing the very different personalities of the character involved, which made it really enjoyable to read.
Overall, I really liked it and I congratulate you on a job well done! Apologies this review won't be as long as I wanted it to be, but after a while, even telling you I relly liked everything gets a little repetitive ;)
Thankyou for such a lovely one-shot!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #2, by awesomepotterRemember Me: ii. only know you've been high when you're feeling low

29th July 2014:
Hey there! Here for our review swap :)

This, admittedly, isn't the sort of thing I'd often choose to read on first inspection, but I confess that I really like this piece - the images it conjusres in my head are so vivid, and so sad at the same time. You do a great job of making us feel empathy towards Kasha, but then again I can't bring myself to feel any anger towards Teddy for causing it, although it's pretty fair to say he did. It's also a pretty unusual style you've chosen to write in, and whilst for some people it often hinders writing, in this case you really pull it off, and it even helps us to feel what Kasha's going through as if focuses not on people, or places, or description, but what's going on in her head, the raw emotion she feels. It's very effective and really helps towards creatin what is, in my view at least, an excellent piece of writing. Nothing in particular stood out to me as being OTT, out of place etc., so well done!
A very enjoyable story to read, and I thank you for the review swap!

awesomepotter xxx


(P.S. I'm sorry for such a short review, but there are only so many ways I can think of to tell you your story's awesome without getting weird :P)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much. And bearing in mind the actual chapters are only 500 words each, I'm not really going to complain about short reviews ;) this is barely even short, it's lovely and long! Thanks :D

xo


 Report Review

Review #3, by awesomepotter'Till Death Do Us Part: Just Run

6th July 2014:
This is a House Cup 2014 review!

I've been really enjoying these last few chapters! Whilst I do feel annoyed with Draco for running away from Hermione, I do (sort of) see why. I mean, he's supposed to be a Death Eater, a Pureblood Death Eater who goes out and tortures/maims/kills people, and Hermione's just announced that she is pregnant with a half-blood baby. That's a heck of a lot to deal with, and so the shock probably just got to him and he needed some time alone to think. Well, that had better be the reason, anyway, or else I really will og after him with a swinging club ;) But, seriously, once he's had some time to think, I'm sure he'll do what's best for Hermione and the baby because whilst he is still a Death Eater, he is still a good person at heart. When he talks to Narcissa at the start, I get the impression that he denies the wish for children not becuase he genuinely doesn;t want them, it's because, in his current situation, he feels he can't do right by them, and can't do what's best for them.
I'm interested to see where this thing with Evelyn is going, too - I wonder what she could be up to... hmmm... oh, and the prophecy! Did we ever hear a definitive end to that?
Anyway, really loving the story, and please update soon!

awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: HI! Long time no hear from ^__^ It's great to read your reviews again.

Yes, Draco is certainly shock b/c of everything from the war now to the past to how his father would react. He definitely cracked under pressure. Even if it isn't another reason, I decided I still want to swing a club after him LOL

Yes, you feel like Narcissa. Although a baby wasn't plan, he would love it, but the world as they know it, isn't easy. I wonder how wizards and witches had children during the 1st or 2nd canon wars!

The prophecy ended when Rabastan had his say. It was some insight, but you will never truly know.

Anyway, thanks for R&R! And I hope to hear form you again! XOXO


 Report Review

Review #4, by awesomepotterDo Not Fear the Full Moon: Harry's Home

22nd June 2014:
I've been meaning to review for a while now, but I keep forgetting! I really like this story, and I hope you keep it up. I wonder what sentence you'll give Peter - I can't wait to read about the trial (which I hope will be soon!). Lovely Harry/Sirius interaction, and I hope we'll see some more of that now they're together. Keep it up and please update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm working on the trial now and then I will wrap this story up. I'm in the middle of exams right now, so Chapter 5 might take a bit longer, but I will definitely update faster in the summer!

 Report Review

Review #5, by awesomepotterHow I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

8th June 2014:
Hey there! I'm here for our review swap on the forums, and I apologise for how long it's taken for me to get around to doing this!
I love your characterization of Lockhart - he's cocky and full of himself, but it's in a rather innocent way. As a character, I get the impression that he doesn't mean to be annoying or a complete git, he just firmly believes he's the bee's knees and doesn't underdstand why not everyone seems to agree. I always think he's a bit of a 'Tim Nice-but-Dim', and you conveyed that really well to me.
I love how you managed to include James and Sirius into this; I think you characterized them really well too. So basically, big clap for characterization ;)
I do like this because, while actually not much happens plot-wise, in the case of this story I find that that's a GOOD thing. It fits with the personality of the main character. For Gilderoy, nothing really troubles him. He just keeps pottering along in his marvellous little world, and nothing really affects him. So to have a one-shot where by the end, Lockhart has basically done... well, not a lot, does fit in with the story, and I think it really does help with the characterisation all the more. Did that sound like a backhanded compliment? I didn't mean to make it sound like one, although when I read it back aminute ago it sort of seemed like one (to me, but what do I know?). I didn't mean to! Anyway, on with the review...
You've just created an excellent piece of work here. I can't think of anything else to say apart from how wonderful it is. Your characterisation is just fabulous, creating a boy whi we really, REALLY want to hate - but we can't becuase he hasn't actually done anything wrong. I really loved this story and I can only apologise for not writing more.
Well done!
awesomepotter xxx
10/10

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you, I'm so glad you like the portrayal of Lockhart. I think you've hit the nail on the head about Lockhart being innocent about his arrogance, he's just really deluded haha. I'm so glad you enjoyed the characterisation of both him and James and Sirius.

That is very true, there essentially is no plot to this fic haha! I'm glad to hear that it fit with his personality! And no it doesn't seem like a backhanded compliment, I get what you mean. :)

I suppose apart from turning James into half a mermaid, lying about it, and cheating at Potions, he really hasn't done anything wrong. But yeah exactly, he doesn't see those things as being wrong, so you're right! :p Your review was so so lovely, thank you so much for reading and I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story! ♡


 Report Review

Review #6, by awesomepotterClementine: Clementine

7th June 2014:
Hey there! I'm here for our lovely review swap :)
I'm just going to start by congratulating you on writing in second person! You maintained it really well throughout the piece, and I think it really suits the situation because you used it so effectively. I'm terrible at second person, so big clap ;)
I really like Fleur's worries about the dress - her insecurities really show how nervous she is and also how strongly she feels for Bill all without actually stating it, especially when you talk about how confident she usually is and how easy a decision her wardrobe is most of the time. I love how she worries about the colour of the dress being the same colour as Bill's hair, only for Bill to give her an orange rose. I can't quite explain why, but I really liked that and found it quite endearingly sweet. It's funny how she seems to be confident and elegant in his presence, yet as soon as he isn't she starts overthinking things and allowing her mind to run away with itself, overthinking things.
It's really lovely how you've kept things bare, as well - leaving most of the details like places and people out of the piece so we can really focus on Fleur's thoughts and the interaction between the two main characters. Allowing us really see how Fleur is thinking during this piece definitely makes it a very interesting one-shot.
I'm afraid I will have to confess that I'm terrible at reviews, and especially the constructive criticism part. I'm usually so overawed at the standard of the writing that I simply can't think of any way in which it could be better (as I am with this one!) Congratulations on the wonderful work, I really did enjoy reading your piece. Sorry the review is so short, but like I said, I did really love it and I can;t think of any way in which I could have loved it more!

Thanks for such a lovely story,
awesomepotter xxx
10/10

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for the review and for the swap! It was so much fun to do! :)

Thanks! :) I actually really like writing in second person, and it just seemed to fit so well with this when I started writing, so I just went with it :P I'm glad you like it, though!

I'm so happy you liked Fleur - she's one of those characters people love to hate, I think, and I really loved writing her in this because Bill and Fleur are one of those couples I love. I wanted to show her as less perfect than people often show her to be, hence the dress confusion and all - plus it tied in rather neatly with the colour and emotion from the challenge, so I can't claim total credit for that ;) Haha, the orange rose - yeah, I couldn't resist! Also, again, it helped with the colour theme, so not all mine, in a sense! Omigosh, I'm so glad you liked it being so kinda stripped back, because I'm so bad at writing short things - I usually write really long things - so this was such a challenge for me.

Aww, no, no worries about any of it! This was such a lovely review to get, and such a great swap to do - so thank you again for both of them, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by awesomepotter'Till Death Do Us Part: After the Wedding

26th May 2014:
No! You're not allowed to go on a cruise and leave me waiting! You're not!


... oh, okay. I suppose you can go. But only for a little bit! And then you have to come back and keep giving me lots of lovely chapters!

I can't wait to see what they get up to on their honeymoon ;) and in my opinion (just me being my fluffy, soppy self) I thought the wedding was really well written; I really liked it! I also like how Narcissa has warmed to Hermione over the story - in my opintion she doesn't really beleve in all the Death Eater nonsense, just puts up with it (and Lucius) becuase of her heritage. Please, please tell me you're going to update before you leave! Please? Pwetty pwease?


Keep writing at the speed of light!
awesomepotter xxx

10/10

Author's Response: AW! Sorry T___T Yes, I promise when I come back I will update right away. No waiting!
I'm glad you like the wedding. It's like 1/2 and 1/2. Some like it, some thought it was dull. I thought it was slightly boring, but I couldn't do that to them and ruin their wedding. I'm not Satan.
Yes, Narcissa is caught in the middle again. Even during the first two wars, she never was officially a Death Eater.
YES! I have the last chapter before I leave in validation right now. =D

Thanks so much for R&R! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #8, by awesomepotterMoonlit Sonata: Epilogue

24th May 2014:
Ooh, I wanted a happy ending :(

I think the way you managed to capture all of the characters' misery and emotion was really good, although it would have been nice for them (especially Remus) to have maybe thought of her. Oh well, I suppose they've got other things on their minds...
Really effective and well written ending to what has been a really lovely story to read. Just a shame that it couldn't have ended more happily. I still haven't gotten over the fact that not all stories do!
Congrats on finishing a wonderful story so well,
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry about the sadness. I would have tried to make it a little happier, but I feel like that just doesn't work so well with the Marauders. When writing them, happiness outside of Hogwarts feels forced. But perhaps that's just me.

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story despite the ending! :D Thanks so much for the lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by awesomepotterAshen Petals: Chosen

14th May 2014:
Hey there! I'm here from the review swap on the forums - just thought I'd let you know ;)

I loved this one-shot, and to do this in 500 words is extremely impressive. I'd have to say that this is a young Tom Riddle - who else has such a penchant for destroying things, and such a prominent sense of superiority?
I really love the way you described the burning of the flower and the way it changes colour and crumbles as it burns. The way you've captured Riddle's mind at that point is very effective - thinking that the flower was useless, weak as it turned to ash. It really captures his view on his world, and is almost a representative of what he would become in later life, being the fire destroying and degrading everything in its path as it sweeps down the flower.
I also really liked the section where the other boy finds Riddle with the burnt flower. When the boy backs off, and Riddle almost feels hurt because he believes his power to be special and chosen, it does give is a good insight into his mind again. To me, at least, Voldemort/Tom Riddle is extremely proud and does have one major superiority complex, but it was probably partly born from rejection and misunderstanding.
I think you captured the essence of Tom Riddle (at least, I'm hoping that's who he is or I'm going to be looking pretty silly right now) very well, and I don't think it's been rushed at all. If you'd had more words in which to write it, that would have been good too, but I don't think this seemed rushed. I'm only sorry I can't give more of a balanced review and give you a couple of pointers to improve on - but then again, I'm not sorry, becuase that means I've just read a really fab piece of writing!
Well done and thankyou for giving me the pleasure of reading this,
awesomepotter xxx
(P.S. - sorry for all the typos that are probably floating around!)

10/10

Author's Response: HI! HI YOU WONDERFUL PERSON YOU~

I'm so thankful you stopped by to read and review, even if it is for the Review Exchange so...thank you. :'D

The burning flower was definitely one of my favourite parts to write in this story, it was fun picturing it and portraying it.

I agree with you on the 'almost hurt' part. Even he is human, too. He was once innocent as well. I believe most evil are from misconstrued beliefs born with pain. It's not an excuse, nor is it right, but it is still painful.

I'm neither going to confirm or negate your conclusion, but I'm happy about what you have to say about the character and that you think the story doesn't seem rushed. That's okay about the review not having much to point out, the story was short too anyway so there isn't much to address.

Again, thank you so much for reading this, I'm satisfied knowing you enjoyed the read.

Lots of Love,
~ Sevvy
*offers flowers*


 Report Review

Review #10, by awesomepotterAll the Difference : Chapter Five

30th April 2014:
Such a lovely chapter! I really hope Lily finally gets to have a rant at Petunia sometime in the future, because I think she deserves her comeuppance and a small aprt of me thinks it'd be really funny... so am I weird?
Lovely interactions between the Potters again, I just can't wait to see how they react when Harry tells them about his dealings with Voldemort. Lily's reaction to hearing how Petunia treats Harry is so realistic, I thought you got her bang-on ;)
One thing, though - I might have missed it ,and I'm sorry if I did, but what is Harry going to tell the Dursleys about not staying with them anymore if they can't be told about James and Lily's return?
Much applause (even though you can't see me, I know) and please update soon :),
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review! And everything you mentioned about Petunia and Lily, and the Dursley's finding out about the situation will be part of the next chapter or two, along with more talk about Harry and Voldemort!

 Report Review

Review #11, by awesomepotterMistletoe Mishap: Mistletoe Mishap

26th April 2014:
Wahey! Someone who's seen AVPM! It's an absolute personal fave of mine, and I always loved 'Shlongbottom' as a nickname!
Fabulous writing - I think your characterizations are excellent - and the bit with Ginny at the end made me laugh so much!
Great work!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #12, by awesomepotterBlood Ties: Transitions

26th April 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter! I think the way you wrote the Zabinis interacting with Hermione was really realistic - I'm glad she didn't just arrive and everything was just lovely and fine and like nothing ever happened - I've read a couple of fics like that in my tim, and it really ruined it for me. I hope we can see some more interaction between Hermionr and Blaise soon, because I really want to see how they're coping and how they behave around each other :)

Please update soon, because I really enjoyed it!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #13, by awesomepotter'D' is for Draco: His Unrest

21st April 2014:
I'm really enjoying this story -love a good bit of Dramione, me ;) I hope Draco will fess up soon and I can't wait to see if Hermione will try the thing with the apple peel! Loving the work so please update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! I've just sent the next bit so hopefully soon! :)

LCailan


 Report Review

Review #14, by awesomepotterOpen Your Eyes: Chapter 15

14th April 2014:
I'm really enjoying your story at the moment and I really want to see where you take this - please update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #15, by awesomepotterEngaged?!: Engaged?!

14th April 2014:
So I'm here from the review thread on the forums :)
I really liked this story, I thought all the characters were written really well, and they interacted beautifully. I'm still trying to work out what exactly happened in the end, and I thought the way you did that was very good, giving us just enough information to know something strange was going on, but not quite enough that we knew exactly what it was ;)
I did find the Ravenclaw incident very funny, as well as the unicorn - although I'm still trying to work out where it came from...
I liked that you included the ghost of Colin in it, as I thought he was a very sweet character in the books, and I was always miffed they didn't include his death in the movies.
I'm sorry, I know that I'm not the best at reviews, but all I can say is that I was impressed by your writing and found it very enjoyable to read :)
Keep it up!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #16, by awesomepotterInitiate: A Proper Welcome

9th April 2014:
Brilliant chapter as always!
I'm concerned now with the way Hydrus is treating Draco - I don't like the way it's going. I hope he will accept that he's a Gryffindor sooner rather than later, before things turn nasty.
I really like the way you're writing Draco at the minute, though - the way he's refusing to completely accept the situation is so realistic, and it does show that he's not the small adult his pureblood heritage has raised him to be. It's nice to see a more childlike, tender side to his character in your writing - it's very interesting to read.
I also like the way we see a more human side to Lucius in this chapter - he's not as cold and overpowering a character as he is in the original series. It was nice to read him feeling some guilt over Draco's sorting, even if he doesn't know all the details yet :)

Again, fab chapter and I can't wait until Sunday!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #17, by awesomepotterHarry Potter and the Fidelius Charm: The Aftermath

9th April 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter. The way grieving is written can often seem overdone and melodramatic, but can also seem too fake and characters seem to get over it in about three sentences. The way you wrote Lily and the remaining Marauders (sniff, sniff) grieving was absolutely spot on, in my opinion, so well done! Let's just hope Lily manages to feel better soon, eh?
Again, fab chapter and please update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response:

Thanks for another review awesomepotter! This chapter was the most difficult to write so far. As someone who hasn't had to deal with the death of a family member or anything like that, it was a challenge to say the least.

holytrinityHRH x


 Report Review

Review #18, by awesomepotterBlood Ties: Reunited

8th April 2014:
Hi!
I've been really enjoying this story and I'm really interested in seeing where you take this. Any ideas when the next chapter'll be up?
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Very very soon!

 Report Review

Review #19, by awesomepotterAll the Difference : Chapter Four

7th April 2014:
Aww! Such a sweet chapter! I really love they way you've written the relationship between the three Potters - Harry's tentative acceptance of the situation is really realistic, and helps us to enjoy the story so much more! I'm really loving this story so please update again soon,
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thanks!! One of my main goals was to make this unrealistic situation and the reactions to it as realistic as possible, so I'm glad to hear that it's enjoyable!

 Report Review

Review #20, by awesomepotterAll Along: Epiphany

6th April 2014:
So I'm here from the 'Review the Person Above You' thread on the forums, and can I say how impressed I was! Don't be discouraged about your writing, because the way you characterize Ron is absolutely perfect! You are clearly a very good writer when it comes to capturing what a character is really like at their core, so don't get discouraged!
Very well done again - it really was good!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Ah! Hi!!!

Thank you so much! Characterization is what I fear most when I write! So thank you for saying that!


Thanks for reading and reviewing too!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #21, by awesomepotterIf They Didn't Fall: Lessons With Dumbledore

5th April 2014:
So I started reding this story today and can I say how impressed I am! I really like this idea plot-wise and I am really enjoying reading it! I can't wait to see where you take this because I really love James and Lily Potter as characters in general, and I love reading about how they would interact with Harry, had they been alive to do so.
Keep up the good work and pleade update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'll update as soon as possible but I kinda have some writers block. Don't worry, I'll figure something out.

 Report Review

Review #22, by awesomepotterAll the Difference : Chapter Two

4th April 2014:
Okay, so I've just posted a review for chapter three but my auto correct sPelling went crazy at the end. Just to let you know, I enjoyed reading 'these three chapters', not whatever crazy thing I didn't mean to type!
SOrry about the weird review and congrats on the awesome writing,
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thank you!!! Glad you like the story so far! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by awesomepotterAll the Difference : Chapter Three

4th April 2014:
This is an amazing story, and such an original idea! I really hope you update soon because I'm really looking forward to seeing where you take this. I really enjoyed reading threat three viewers so please update soon!
awesomepotter xxx

 Report Review

Review #24, by awesomepotterSeven: Secrets, Secrets are no Fun…

4th April 2014:
Another great chapter! So, a secret, huh? I have no clue what it could be, but such a good idea to keep us all guessing! Good one :)
As to my earlier review about a banner, if you would like someone else to make one for you, you could always get one off The Dark Arts. There are pleanty of amazing graphic artists on there that would be happy to knock one out for you, no problem! You just need to follow the link on the HPFF home page and create an account. Once you're there and you have an account, scroll down the Welcome page until you reach the 'How to Request a Graphic' link, and then there's plenty of pages on the forums taking you through how to request, accept and put the banner into your description. Any questions, come fimd me on my Meet the autor page or ask on The Dark Arts!
Again, though, brilliant chapter and I hope to see more soon!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: Thank you!! and Ill consider that!

 Report Review

Review #25, by awesomepotter'Till Death Do Us Part: Kidnapped

31st March 2014:
I enjoyed this chapter so much! Like other people, I check to see if you've updated (literally - I counted) five times a day and when I see you have I squeal so loudly my brother asked if I was having some sort of seizure! I definitely didn't expect Blaise to be the one rescuing Hermione - although I'm still trying to work out how he knew where to find her - but I do think it's a very good twist. I have a horrible feeling that, after her rejection of his proposal, he might try being a bit more, er, forceful...
I read a couple of your replies to reviews, and you most definitely ARE allowed to cry! I'm usually lucky to get one review at all on my fics, ao I've actually cried at a review that said 'good work well done'! So for writing a story far better than mine you most definitely can cry!
Again, congrats and I can't wait to read more!
awesomepotter xxx

Author's Response: I have a huge grin & tears in my eyes! I love the reviews and support, it makes me so so happy I can't even begin to explain. And I LOLed about you squealing and your brother. I can only imagine!
Yes, Blaise seems to be questioned now, but I believe in the next chapter you will find out (I say I believe b/c I'm so ahead of the plot I forget what happens in what chapter).
And now that you mentioned it I intend to stop by YOUR works & review them as well. AND I'm thinking the next chapter will be up by Friday/Saturday. Fingers crossed.

XOXO


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>