Reading Reviews From Member: TidalDragon
  
419 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TidalDragonthe earth and the sky: the earth and the sky

23rd November 2014:
Adi.

I don't even know where to begin. This story is amazing? You dedicated a story to me? How about here - only bit of CC - you MUST delete this apology about the story being Draco-centric! That doesn't matter! It's totally irrelevant!

Honestly, I could go on for an absurdly long amount of time about everything I love about this story - the brilliance of the structure, the majesty of how you fused their once separate existences together into one that felt real and authentic AND allowed you to speak for and from both of their perspectives nearly simultaneously, the beautiful devices and refrains you crafted for pivotal points - I haven't read something this exceptional in a LONG time. Including from published authors.

That was about MORE than just the story and writing though. Before you even said it at the end, I already knew this story touched you deeply. And you know what? It really touched me. Brutal honesty, I didn't ever think a story about love and loss and recovery would ever REALLY hit me again. Because life, and how can a story compare to your own visceral (though very different) experiences with it? It's sad and cynical, but I just didn't think it would happen.

But today it did. Because of you. I rarely even ALMOST cry. But this story got me right there to the brink. And what makes it even more impressive is how you did it without personally experiencing so many of the gut-wrenching topics you wrote about in this piece.

I'm rambling now, and it's not even 100 percent about the story, so I'm going to stop because I just don't even have any more words to be coherent.

You are a sensational writer! You are a WONDERFUL friend! Your story is...crazily-amalgamated-string-of-superlatives! Seriously. I will never forget this.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TidalDragonHer Choice : Meeting Your Worst Nightmare

22nd November 2014:
Okey dokey!

So this chapter was quite a bit shorter - not as patient as your previous two. It's an instance where I think more description would have served you better. Even if you confine the chapter to the timeframe you have here I imagine the atmosphere when Voldemort comes would be very particular and setting that up would lend more gravity to the interaction he has with Laynie. I'd also be careful with his speech patterns.

On the whole, I thought Laynie's reaction to him was appropriately nervous and deferential (with the exception of the refusal of the Mark). Personally, I think the Mark wouldn't have come up this quickly since Voldemort is an obsessive planner who surely wouldn't have missed this (and perhaps wouldn't have marked someone he probably views as no more than a tool), but nevertheless I thought it was nice how you incorporated the curtsy, the "my Lord", and especially taking cues from her observations of Draco.

You also did a good job (as you referenced in your A/N) of portraying the Malfoys in Voldemort's presence - they'd absolutely be fearful in this time (and Voldemort already disdainful and dismissive since we're post-OotP). Well played there.

All in all, I don't think you should be worried about people being interested. Going forward it's just a matter of staying patient, consistent, and trying to polish up the description and balance and you'll be set!

Hope the feedback's been helpful! And as always, feel free to PM or re-request! I'll try not to take so long next time...

Author's Response: Hey there,
Wow I was excited to see three new reviews from you. Don't worry about the wait, your reviews are always worth waiting for. To be honest with you, I guess you can say this chapter was a bit rushed and not well thought out. It should be more thought out since it involves her first meeting with Voldemort. But I am glad you liked it besides the rush! :) I have not sat and edited this chapter again yet but I will keep your suggestions in mind when I do!
THANKS so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by TidalDragonHer Choice : Used

22nd November 2014:
Hello again! I'm going to START repaying you for being so late by reviewing through what you've got up so far (Chapter 3 as of this moment).

The best part of this chapter was the characterization of Laynie. You took the effort to not make her integration seamless despite the fact that she DOES know about magic and also to use her internal thoughts to draw continuing distinctions between her own views and those of her family. Her evolution will certainly be interesting to observe. I also thought you did a solid job with Narcissa. We know she has the capacity to love and the idea that she always wanted a daughter lends more credence to how much more warm it seemed than any of what we saw between she and Draco in canon.

I also really liked the fact that this chapter EXISTED. Again, it demonstrated good patience that a lot of authors lack, feeling that they need to omit chapters that are heavily expository and tossing the plot advancing points into one larger chapter. I think you would have lost a lot of the good work you did here had you gone that route, so it was good to see.

The one standout issue was the moment when Laynie eavesdropped and Bellatrix raised the question of whether Voldemort chose unwisely. This was odd to me because you capture her unquestioning devotion to him (and the other aspects of her personality) well throughout the rest of the chapter. It just seems unlikely Bellatrix would raise such a concern.

I'd also look out for typos in this chapter - your's (yours), accept (except) rediculous (ridiculous) and equipt (equipped).

You're making good progress so far and to answer your question from my thread directly now, it certainly seems interesting to me. I don't know that I would read it to its conclusion personally (only because it violates my OTP), but I think others without that obstacle would certainly do so!

Author's Response: Thanks so much once again, I am so glad you love this chapter and think I did well. You are right about Bellatrix, she is unquestionably devoted to Voldemort. You always give the best CC, I will revise with you suggestions. THANKS SO MUCH! :D

-Lindsey


 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragonHer Choice : A New Beginning

22nd November 2014:
Howdy! So, I tell people ten days, and then it turns into a month right? I wish I could blame NaNo (which I'm horribly behind on), but it's really just been life in general. At any rate, I'm very sorry - I'm sure I'll find some way to make it up to you ;)

On to the story! From the outset, I like the concept. It's interesting, something different from the "Harry's long-lost relative" trope and with the twist that Laynie is going to be torn between the Malfoys (who saved her) and feelings for Harry.

One of the first things I noticed, in contrast to the other story of your's that I've reviewed, is that you were more patient in this chapter with the exposition. I thought it served you well and particularly at the VERY beginning, you took even more time with description and setting things up for us - something I'd strive to carry throughout each chapter as much as possible.

If there's one thing I'd point at in particular to work on going forward, it's the expression of internal thoughts and past events. Using this line as just an example - "Quickly she looked away, remembering that her mother had always told her that a mirror told lies if you looked into it too long" - it reads rather bluntly. That doesn't make it not a good line, because I really like the connection between a mundane task, a memory of her mother, and as it develops, the weight of being an orphan that you get from this. I think by being less over about the connection though, you can make it stronger. You set yourself up perfectly for this with a reflection on her appearance. You could easily tie in some comparison between her appearance and her mother's (whether they look similar or quite different doesn't really matter) and then let the statement be the punchline. "A mirror tells lies if you look into it too long." There you also get some added personification of the mirror, which can be a nice writing device.

Hope this helps! See you next chapter!

Author's Response: Hey there,

I was so excited to see that you have reviewed. I am always beyond excited that you think I am doing well with things I haven't in my stories in the past. I am trying to be a stronger writer, so compliments like that really help me. Thank you for your CC, I will keep them in mind when I edit again! :) I am so happy you stopped by. -Lindsey


 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragonRun, Run: 1

14th November 2014:
Hello again!

First off, major props on getting not just one, but TWO entries in for this challenge! That's really something else!

This was a totally different setting, a totally different "creature" and quite a different style as well, but it was still so strong. Again, you showcased some great description and use of pacing and emotion, but the way you laid it out in this story - from the same POV - made it all coalesce even better to me.

When I reached the end, I was initially wondering how/if you were going to flip the typical "dream" trope and you did a good job of it I thought. What's particularly intriguing about it is it seems open to interpretation - either a "The Grudge"-esque possession of Adalynn or the idea that Adalynn was the girl all along both seem credible (though I prefer the first as I think it jives better with her previous dreams).

Overall, I really enjoyed this story too. Thanks for sharing it with us!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragonInto Darkness: Into Darkness

14th November 2014:
Howdy!

Pretty darn good for your first crack at horror I'd say! What I really liked was that we saw your awesome skills at setting a scene and laying a foundation in the beginning still on display! Despite the word limit, you used them very effectively to create an air of mystery from the start with the rent discrepancy, but also to create a stronger atmosphere of hope and happiness.

I thought this was really great because of how you turned what at first seemed to simply be an oddity of the house into a pathway to your MC's doom. You built the contrast nicely from the point where the wand it extinguished and the walls close in to the wet, red palm and the ominous ending. The description of the MC's plight and progress fraught with worry was really well done, particularly right before the plop downward.

Now, I just want to know who these creepy people-snatchers are, how they're hiding and what they're doing!

Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for the review :)

Since I'd never done horror before, I decided to go with what scared me the most! An MC that just wants cheaper rent (me), a creepy passage-way discovered in a pantry (one of the scariest true stories I ever heard from a real estate agent friend!), and then CLAUSTROPHOBIA! (I figured most people are freaked out by enclosed spaces)

As for the creepy people at the end, that's up for you to decide!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragonpresent, past.: 1

14th November 2014:
Howdy Lo!

Usually I'm not a huge fan of short, blocked snippets, but I thought you did a really good job with them here! I think the fact that you made them SO short and switched times and POVs really helped keep me as a reader engaged and on the edge wondering what was going to happen next.

When you transitioned to the werewolf reveal, what became the biggest strengths of the story were the description in Harry's POV and the pace and impact language in Piper's POV. The former really drove home the imagery of what took place that Piper didn't have time to capture in her latter because she was faced with sheer fear and panic so when you fused them together it made for a holistic, compelling, and carnage-filled story - great for Halloween!

Thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragonPython: Python

14th November 2014:
Howdy Sathya!

There are so many neat and intriguing things about this story that I enjoyed! First, overall, I love the way you turned a snake on a Slytherin and Death Eater and wove the connection with snakes throughout while ending symmetrically from the near-death encounter in 1962 to the end in 1997. Well done!

As far as each section goes though, I thought there was a neat highlight in almost every one. In the first from 1962, we had the incorporation of a new magical beast in the form of the Truth Snake. I thought that was quite clever, and especially that it would be kept by a family with long ties to Slytherin. You made Mulciber's mother seem quite unfeeling and even menacing with it too - that she would risk the life of her own child with so little regard...yikes.

In the corridor of Hogwarts, I thought it was interesting how you "grew" Mulciber to where he had created the equivalent of what he had been terrified of with magic and used it to torment someone else. It fit really nicely with who he was becoming at that point in time and really demonstrated the difference even five years can make.

Finally, at the end (in addition to what I've already mentioned) you left us with the ominous statements of the Ministry official that gave way to the classic chilling image of the creepy animal eyes waiting in the darkness for the kill!

Thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragonPunishment by the moonlight: Punishment

14th November 2014:
Howdy!

This was such an interesting take on the origins of Fenrir Greyback and why he enjoys preying on children in particular! That's a subject I've given a lot of thought since I decided to write him for the Saint or Sinner Challenge and it was really neat to see someone else's take. I thought the way you wove in the issues of blood purity and wizarding law was clever.

I also really enjoyed how you used pace in the piece. In the beginning it was more easy and deliberately languid which matched the dismissive attitude of your MC well, but by the end, where everything had gone wrong you moved as fast as she was frantic.

The final line about everything going silent also drove home the creep factor in the story!

Thanks for sharing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragonLove, Not War: Draco's Introduction

31st October 2014:
Howdy! Sorry I've left this until the eleventh hour. Life has been crazy for me since the pairs were posted. I promise I'll respond to your review soon too!

On to the story! I think the premise you establish here in the prologue is an interesting one (and one I'm hoping to read a little more of before the end of the day). While I'm not Draco Malfoy's number one fan by any stretch, I do think telling his story holds loads of untapped potential because if you try you can really paint him with a lot of complexity - complexity he's not really given much of in canon by Harry because of their relationship.

Still, as far as characterization goes, I think what you've painted of Draco so far is believable, and you've given him a unique voice that is similar to while still being distinct from his spoiled childhood petulance in canon. It's the voice of a changed man so to speak, so I think if that carries on throughout that's a really good thing you've crafted!

As far as the mechanics of the writing go, I thought the style was rather different. At the top Draco speaks much more straightforwardly and simply and then seems to get more complex as the chapter progresses. I don't know if that was a conscious choice because the subject-matter gets more intense (?) as the chapter moves on or if it just happened, but it was something that I noticed. I think the couple of sentences that were heavily laden with superlatives (ex: "I just so happen to have one of the oldest, dark, evil, and most hated families out there.") contributed to that impression though so maybe I'm over-keying on it. We'll see as I go forward.

Intriguing start so far! And while I'm off to work now, hopefully I'll be able to come back by for some more.

 Report Review

Review #11, by TidalDragonJust a Minute Longer: Just a Minute Longer

27th October 2014:
Howdy! Sorry for the delay!

I will start by saying that I don't think your story needs anything to be more compelling. By and large the writing is well done, especially as you progress deeper into the story. If pressed for one thing mechanics-wise, I'd probably cite balance as an area for improvement. There was an awful lot of dialogue as compared to description and internal thought and with Hermione being in a very different light than we'd ever see her in canon it makes the leap more difficult. You might also consider avoiding redundancy in the descriptions you do use and peppering them with stronger, more evocative language.

In the big picture though, the biggest issue is characterization. I think initially you made a wise choice for a Draco/Hermione fluff piece in fast-forwarding quite some distance to where they have already been married (with children) for an extended period of time. For my taste they were still far too syrupy, but the leap forward made it less difficult to deal with. The problem really arose though when you leapt back to the present. It was an interesting thing to do and had bags of potential, but for me, Hermione just caving to it after waking up stunned didn't read authentically to me. Sometimes there's more power in restraint, and I think for Hermione's character it would have made more sense for any shift in her thinking to have stayed inside her head at that point. I get that that's not what the point of your piece is though, so it's hard to really begrudge you that. I suppose I'd just suggest keeping it well into the future if you're going to do Draco/Hermione fluff - I don't think there can be fluff in the Hogwarts Era between those two based on the events of canon.

Hope the review helps!

Author's Response: Hey TidalDragon,

This review really helped, so thanks for taking the time to do it. I definitely agree with you about the Dramione fluff being pretty much impossible in the Hogwarts era, simply because there's just so much between them that is unfriendly and complicated and that has to be addressed in order for them to get to that kind of fluffy lovey-dovey place, so One-shot's are not really the place for the theme.

And I know what you mean about the excessive amounts of dialogue. I think primarily writing fanfiction is making me lazy regarding the need for descriptive language, because in my head everyone already know what they look like and what the castle is like and all that, so I don't bother. It's a problem I will most certainly have to take the time to work on. I agree about the need for more internal thought too, for the same reason.

Thanks for the review. This definitely helped and has given me some important things to focus on to make my writing better and to make me less lazy as a writer.

xx-Wolfgirl17.


 Report Review

Review #12, by TidalDragonCrossing Delicate Boundaries : Black Robes and Roses

21st October 2014:
Howdy! It's good to see you're back! I'm sorry about the lengthy delay. Work and my personal life have been madness. Now that I'm through with the excuses...on with the story.

As regards the flow of the chapter, there was really only one pure transition point for me, which was from the Ministry to the funeral. For me, it was a wee bit jarring not because of the end of the fight (which I think is absolutely right ending abruptly), but because of the way you opened the funeral (with Harry suddenly standing beside her).

As far as characterization goes, I thought Harry and Hermione attending the funeral was rather OOC personally. Not only is it unsafe for them (despite the presence of Aurors) given the crowd, it also doesn't fit for me that they would attend the funeral of someone who quite possibly would have celebrated their deaths. I think Harry and Hermione probably are forgiving people, but that's a stretch for me. Draco, likewise seemed far more selfless and reflective than in canon, which is possible given his post-war experiences, but seems to be a reach at this phase of life. After all, he'd hardly be thanking Harry when they couldn't manage more than nods in the epilogue would he? I don't know. Ron on the other hand did feel rather authentic. Beyond just displaying his temper (we know he can get angry and petulant), you pulled the emotion he must have felt after what he perceives as a betrayal by Hermione through the dialogue itself nicely too (though I would hope this affects how he acts toward Harry too because he should have similar feelings about his attendance I would think).

I think overall your increased patience with developing the endgame ship has shone through nicely, what will be key from here on out is making that development not require other characters to step excessively out of the norm.

Hope this helps! And again, glad to see you back again!

Author's Response: Hey there,
I understand that you feel I am a bit OOC. Maybe I am going overboard with their acceptance of Draco so soon. Maybe it should be a long time before they accept him. But I guess OOC is also unfortunately a part of Dramione :) I am glad you feel I am going at a good pace with the Dramione though and I hope that you feel the same in the coming chapters. :) thanks so nuch, I am glad to be back! I had horrible writers Block for a bit. :):)


 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragonBehind You: Run

20th October 2014:
Howdy Sian! First of all, thank you! It was incredibly kind of you to write me something! Second of all, I'm sorry it's taken so long to get here. I've been going a bit off the rails lately to be honest, but I'm thrilled to have made it!

Finally, let me just say that this story...was creepy and disquieting - but in a good way. I really like how you took the "truism" from the beginning and extended it through with Grindelwald. It's such an interesting take on him really because we know from the books and later interviews with JKR that a key point is that Grindelwald and Voldemort were NOT the same. Because of that it's believable that Grindelwald would actually seem less invincible and more subject to one day being forced to see himself for what he truly was.

I also just loved your writing (as usual :p). I think other than the awesome beginning you set up (chilling stuff), what I loved most was how you personified the shadow (reality?). It just added so much to the creepy, inescapable, ever-present feel - giving the ending that air of inevitability that a singularly-focused creepy story always needs.

On another note, though I don't have the kind of heavy load on my plate that Grindelwald would, I'm always hopelessly introspective and so I can totally identify with feeling haunted by decisions you've made and even just confronting yourself from time to time.

Thanks so much for this story Sian! I WILL get back to the PM soon!

Author's Response: Hey Kevin! Of course I was going to write you something, you were just one of the more difficult people to write for :P And don't worry about taking time to get here, it means a lot that you even made the time to review!

Well, I remembered you saying that you liked dark stories, so I went with that because the idea of writing some of your favourite pairings had me breaking out in a sweat :P I really wanted to build up the fact that Gellert's worst enemy was himself, that he brought about his own downfall and while he was running away from his doppelganger, he continued making the wrong decisions and becoming a worse person. In a sense the doppelganger was kind of like his conscience, and only when he finally confronted it was he able to properly show some repentance. Well, that's what I was hoping for, anyway :P It turned out a bit strange...

I'm really glad you liked the writing here, and that you think I did a good job of making it seem creepy - it's not what I'm best at, so that means a lot!

Well I hadn't even thought of the real life link, but I can see it too now that you've pointed that out - I kind of got the idea with that, in a sense. It's cool that you thought of it!

Thank you so much for this review, and I'm really pleased that you liked the story, Kevin!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragonA Force Of Wills: Purebloods

18th October 2014:
Yes, I'm alive believe it or not (and finally here). Life's been insane recently with no sign of letting up through the end of the month. I'm sorry this is so late.

This chapter was quite dialogue-y, but I thought the way you handled it was largely good despite the imbalance. You did a nice job with the tags or accompanying thoughts/observations so that we were still able to get more out of the conversations than the words themselves.

I also think you're doing a good job with painting a picture of pureblood society within the context of your story rather than beating us over the head with it. The descriptions of settings and activities has really helped in that regard.

What did strike me as rather odd was the number of brazen death threats and the attitudes all the kids (Draco, Blaise, Pansy, Millicent, etc.) had toward each other. I definitely got the spoiled rich kids one-upping vibe, but at the same time, even if they're forced together by these events, you'd get the sense that there's more genuine friendship between them than the heavy almost omnidirectional disdain. Just a thought.

 Report Review

Review #15, by TidalDragonRabbit Heart: Heart Tracks

6th October 2014:
Howdy! It's been QUITE awhile! Sorry it took me so long to get to this, life's been a bit of a nightmare recently and it's only getting crazier. I keep telling myself I'm going to make it to Christmas, but sometimes I think I'm going to pass out for sure before that happens.

ANYWAY...this was a rather simple and straightforward chapter, making it a good one to ease back into the story. James continues on with his mischief, really living up to his namesake, but I'm incredibly intrigued to see just what Albus gets up to now that he (at least ostensibly) has the map. Is there a plot wrinkle in our future? It seems the map would be quite an asset to that little creeper Dillon.

Speaking of his creepiness, it just continues to grow right there along with his boldness. Having his little horde just attack people like that is really something else.

As far as the details of the writing go, I thought you had a nice balance between the descriptions, thoughts, and dialogue. You have a real talent for that, and for accomplishing it with a minimum of fuss but still getting your ideas across eloquently. The only thing that came across as a touch off to me was this bit: "...snuck into the Slytherin shower room to charm one of the stalls to only let his brother in..." To steal his towel, wouldn't he want to make sure he only goes into one particular stall, thus locking all but one against Albus rather than making it so one specifically opened for him? I don't know, it's very late and perhaps I'm confused, but this seemed a touch off.

Even though it's been awhile, I will say I miss Wren. I hope she's alright with that little monster living off her like a leech! Hopefully she'll be around next time?

Author's Response: Hi! Welcome back to crazy rabbits!

The map would be quite an asset, you're right. But I don't want to make things too easy for these characters. I guess you'll have to see how it plays out in the end.

Thanks! I try to have some balance, and I don't like hitting people over the head with spelling out things that they could reasonably figure out on their own. On the flip side, I do tend to lack a certain clarity from time to time. I'm constantly working on that. I'm glad you thought most things were in place. Yeah, that actiony bit kind of ran away from me. I'll put that on my list of things to clean up later. Thanks!

Aww, Wren misses you too. Don't worry. I think this was the only chapter that she doesn't appear in.

Thanks so much for the incredibly lovely review! I'm sure you'll make it to Christmas in one piece. Take some time to stop and breathe. That usually helps with the not-passing-out. :)

Pix


 Report Review

Review #16, by TidalDragonUpping The Ante: Save A Broom

29th September 2014:
Howdy Lo! It's been awhile, but I'm glad to see you're back around and glad to jump into this story again!

I am enjoying the Marauders Era from a different perspective here. In Potions class we got to see a different side of Lily than in most fics in that time where she is a constant object of affection. I thought you did a good job of making her studiousness and a spot of her temper shine through while brewing the Draught of Living Death. And you did an excellent job with canon going through that receipe too - which you supplemented with era appropriate music!

The Quidditch training was also refreshing. I think it did a great job of showcasing that it IS an actual sport and requires a level of fitness to compete, not just skill. It also made for a nice opportunity to showcase an inventive new charm. Even though it's simple, I liked the Countdown Charm. When I'm writing I'm always awkwardly thinking of how wizards keep track of things like time (aside from an hourglass or something medieval) and this was a neat addition.

Of course, we return to the dynamic between Alexandra and Sirius. The thing I liked most about it was the realism of her not fawning over him or immediately beginning to melt after a few funny exchanges.

I did think Amos Diggory seemed a bit out of place here (I've always pictured him as being older, like Molly and Arthur) and that the atmosphere was a bit light given what's going on in the outside world, but it didn't detract greatly.

If outside obligations don't swallow me whole, I'll carry on once I've met my reviewing debts for my challenge.

 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragonA Force Of Wills: Half and Half

25th September 2014:
Well, I've finally made it! You probably thought I forgot about you, right? But I didn't. Just had a rather nightmarish load of work recently.

Anyway, it's really interesting to see how much your writing has evolved over time. You're so much stronger with description, word choice, and characterization now than in this piece! Still, there were ghosts of those here, especially in the beginning that I enjoyed. The attire and Greengrass family relationships were fine examples.

There were two things I found most interesting overall: (1) your main character is once again a marginalized figure, even in the circles they travel in - this seems to be theme for you and it's intriguing (I'd love to know the whys, and here particularly the mechanics of Astoria's half-blood heritage) and (2) you had an incredibly consistent pattern of not exceeding 3 lines per paragraph in this story (was there a rationale? At times it felt deliberate, to sharpen Astoria's negativity and criticisms, but other times it made things a bit unnecessarily choppy.

I'll be back for the next chapter soon as penance for being late.

Author's Response: Hello!

Hey, there! It's good to see that you have returned from the struggles of Real Life! I welcome you back with kittens and lots and lots of chocolate. :D

This was my third (Not quite sure but I'm going to have to check) fanfic and I was still trying to get into the groove of things. I'm glad that you're able to see how much my writing has evolved though, this story itself has changed a lot since this first chapter. It's up to about...24 chapters at the moment so if you kept reading, I hope you'll be able to see how my writing has improved. I've been working on this for almost two years now, can't you believe that? Hahahhaa.

There's a lot of mystery around Astoria in particular and you might not expect some of them. Her half-blood status of course is the main thing that everyone wants an answer to but I think that the truth will surprise you and won't be what you think, at least I hope it won't be.

Ah, some of the paragraphs were like that on purpose and others were just me trying to get through this monster in one piece. It's a bit choppy in places where I was trying to get the kinks out but I smoothed over a lot of those problems in later chapters. :D

Hahahah, I hope to see you again soon with a review for the next chapter. I might have you reading this one for a while until I get Transparent back up there, I'll stop by and request again soon.

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragonThe Wandering One : England

20th September 2014:
Since I've never experienced it myself it was interesting to read Victoire's experience re-acclimating to her family and "normal" life in England.

Naturally it was not quite as exciting or interesting as the other chapters have been, but I liked it nonetheless and it had a very appropriate "comfortable" feeling as Victoire experienced it.

I did notice these things..."bushy eye-browed" and "relegated" rather than "delegated" up top perhaps?

I can't believe you're almost to the last chapter! It's unbelievable! A great finish is coming to a great story I think and I can't wait to read it once it comes up!

Author's Response: Hi again!! :)

While this chapter isn't at exciting, it weirdly helped me understand Victoire better because of where she comes from and how it feels to return home. For me at least, returning home has always been so exciting for a short time and almost as invigorating as arriving in a new location, and I wanted to capture that excitement. :)

I'll go and check those out!! :)

Ahh, I know! I'm pretty surprised myself. I'm working on the last chapter, it's going to be a long one because of all the material to cover but it's a lot of fun to work on. Thanks so much for all your kind reviews and amazing support!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by TidalDragonThe Wandering One : Santorini

20th September 2014:
Hello again! I'm bouncing around like something of a mad man these days between work and writing and reviewing and everything. I promise I'll eventually catch up to the end of Sevenfold like I promised, but I couldn't pass up an opportunity to read more of this!

First things first, I noticed this odd phrase: "...a large, open area open..." double "opens", but that was the only thing really. Now on to the good stuff!

I loved the scene with the sanctuary for magical animals! What a superb idea! And Valena was entertaining, calling them babies, especially alongside Sam going so ashen. I wonder if Victoire's scarred him for life...

I also liked the seriousness with which you handled Victoire's worries about things with Sam and his still slightly fearful and tepid reaction to the magical world. I thought that was all authentic when you could have so easily fallen into the trap of making everything hunky-dory.

The next chapter with going back to England should be an interesting take and I'm excited to see what happens! Catch you there!

Author's Response: Hey Kevin! :) Ah, I definitely feel that, and don't worry about reviewing Sevenfold - it's not going anywhere any time soon! :D

I'll go and fix that! :) Thanks for pointing that out!

I'm glad you liked the sanctuary! It was so fun to imagine and to research the animals that might be in Greece - because of all the mythology there were tons of options. Haha, Valena was inspired by a Greek tourguide I met when I was there, she was so welcoming and warm and funny. Sam might have some nightmares after, though he's slowly warming up to all of these new things being thrown at him. Somehow I wonder if it would be more shocking to discover the magical world as an adult, rather than as an eleven-year old Muggleborn who has always known there was something special about them. In that way, Sam has even more to understand and adjust to than a kid going to Hogwarts for the first time.

I'm glad you found it realistic and that they were acting according to character. While this story isn't really relationship-driven, the growing relationship between Sam and Victoire was something which grew up and surprised me along with surprising them, so I'm pleased it feels natural.

Thanks so much for the great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragonDeath on the First: Chapter Four

16th September 2014:
Well-played Sian...well-played. I never considered the murderer might reference themselves by name after the introductions so that's how you tricked my method! Oh well. I'll just have to content myself with the fact that the people I was looking at were the last two ruled out. Small victories...

Anyway, I really enjoyed the story and I think you did an excellent job with it. It was an immense challenge, telling it from the murderer's POV and still tricking people about their identity. I've said before the characterizations were great, and having Harry and the Aurors walk through this measured reveal was an enjoyable finish to a well done story.

You should definitely write another mystery!

Author's Response: Hi Kevin!

Haha, well I wasn't going to give anything away in my review responses (which was REALLY hard, by the way), but I'm pretty pleased that I managed to trick your method and keep you guessing at who the murderer was. But your method did work, and was kind of what I was hoping for!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this and think I wrote it well! It definitely was a challenge to write a murder mystery from the killer's POV but still try to conceal the identity, but I'm so happy that you think it worked. Thank you for all your reviews and for keeping up with this story!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TidalDragonNym: Into Focus

13th September 2014:
Howdy!

The things I like most that you did with this are big picture. First, it explored Charlie, one of the most under-explored characters connected to a prominent family in the series. Second, it did something unique with the idea of revealing a secret - leaving the revelation until it was too late to affect the world, but turning the impact back on the person who held it.

What was most effective in terms of your writing? I think it had to be the word choice and the clarity and distinct voice you gave Charlie (a distinct voice quite different from how he's typically portrayed).

Thanks for sharing this super story for the challenge!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for such a lovely review. I've always felt like Charlie's a character worth exploring, and have a feeling this won't be the last time I write him.

I'm glad you felt it was a good interpretation of the challenge. I had slight reservations that it might not fully meet the criteria, given that the secret doesn't have an impact on the world. But the impact on Charlie is huge, and I'm really happy you like that.

Thanks so much for such a wonderful challenge! I had a lot of fun writing this.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by TidalDragonPainting Over: Painting Over

13th September 2014:
Howdy!

That was QUITE the secret! To make sure I'm reading it correctly, Rita Skeeter lost her daughter. It seems likely from your story she lost her husband (Jack?) as well and thus she became the bitter person we know from canon.

The description and internal thought in the story were impeccable, from the details of Rita painting her nails to her self-description to her unavoidable reflection on Posy. The tone and emotion were well-handled, building nicely from the tug of past pain she fights desperately to suppress and the fatigue it causes to the acknowledgment of the reality (once again) that it happened and cannot be changed.

You packed a lot into a quite short, tidy package - a commendable effort that you executed very nicely!

Thanks for sharing this story for the challenge!

Author's Response: Howdy! I'm glad you liked this story, and your challenge was so compelling I just couldn't say no to it! In my mind, Rita used to work for a smaller paper with neat, tiny articles, and took a hiatus because of her pregnancy. She was happy, and her beloved husband was supposed to be home before Posy's birth. Then she got the stillborn, and her muggle husband, Jack, was pronounced Lost at Sea. She came back to work, painting her anger in cruel slashes of articles, and worked her way up to the Prophet. So yeah, you read right :) I was worried about the execution of this all, and I'm glad to see that people enjoyed it. Thank you so much for the honorable mention, once again, and I'll PM you soon!

-Meena


 Report Review

Review #23, by TidalDragonThe Letters to No One: a girl can dream;

13th September 2014:
Howdy!

Well! This story had more than one secret and while I normally don't like the infidelity angle in stories, you did something quite different with it, with the second secret making you wonder if he really was still married or if that's a type of strange delusion Draco clings to after Pansy's death (along with her body...creepy indeed). This is the kind of mature handling of infidelity (maybe?) that I can read.

I really liked the patience you showed in developing Astoria's character though and what ended up connecting her with Draco. The description of the post office process was neat and well-executed and having them truly meet the way they did was unique.

Astoria's character was also refreshing. So many people seem to paint her as this saint who makes Draco a better person, rather than as someone who might be similar to him (part of his world so-to-speak, by which I mean pureblood high society) or even someone with her own agenda. Boy oh boy does Astoria have an agenda here, as laid out clearly in her interaction with Daphne. You make Astoria and Draco two parts of an ultimately rather disturbed pair and I liked it. Astoria is so single-minded about ascending into the Malfoy stratosphere. I'm not sure if you're a Once Upon a Time fan, but in some ways it was very Cora-esque (given her simple beginning - despite her heritage - as a postal worker).

The balance between description, dialogue, and internal thoughts was well done and the word choice excellent!

Thanks so much for participating!

 Report Review

Review #24, by TidalDragonEmpty Promises: A Lone Figure and a Dark Street

13th September 2014:
Hello again!

Well this was a much heavier turn than I was expecting. Not that it's a bad thing by any measure.

I thought the descriptions were stronger in this chapter overall, and that helped set the mood very well and it meshed nicely with Scorpius's more isolated and introspective portrayal.

Overall, the characterizations were sound too. Looking back over the whole story, I think the choice of "soldier" as a pet name was interesting and a nice touch. It proves to be excellent foreshadowing of the darkness to come and a possible future role that Scorpius could play if you re-open the story and develop it further.

If there's one thing I'd look at in this chapter it's the dialogue. Particularly in the break-up scene, it didn't feel as authentic as it could have, owing in part to the rapidity with which that was handled. I thought Scorpius's cutting line was excellent, especially versus his conflicting true emotions, but the build-up portions and dialogue made it a bit less effective than it otherwise might have been.

Overall good work though and I'm really glad I got a chance to read your story! Thanks for participating in the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #25, by TidalDragonEmpty Promises: Out of the Shadows

13th September 2014:
Howdy! I'm currently working through all the entries and I've reached yours!

I'll confess that while I've read a number of Next-Gen stories, including Scorpius/Rose tales, I don't think I've ever read a Scorpius POV. That was intriguing from the start and it only got more so as it went on.

Perhaps one of my favorite parts of this chapter was the comment that in the aftermath of the war, prejudice had essentially inverted. I've always thought that would be a very likely thing to happen and I liked that you addressed it, rather than having it just be an "all was well" world.

As far as the more detailed mechanics, I thought you did a good job overall, especially handling the balance of internal thought and dialogue in the first-person perspective. I think there's always a delicate dance when you've chosen that path of not making the character too introspective, but at the same time not overwhelming a chapter with dialogue to the point where they don't really stop and think.

I did notice one apparent typo in this otherwise great line "Her red tinted lips, from which so many promises have spilled from..." I think one of those "froms" needs to go. Another interesting point was the reveal. Based on the story up that point, the manner in which it happened seemed rather OOC for the relationship. While you make it clear in the second half of the chapter that this had been a planned reveal the initial moment was just a little off based on what preceded it, at least to me.

See you next chapter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>